View Full Version : Andy McNeil

10-07-2023, 07:24 AM
🎙 NEW EPISODE🎙

Ep 209 Andy McNeil

Catch our interview with @HibernianFC 2007 CIS Cup winner, Andy McNeil!

📺 https://youtu.be/A6D-p0Km2tc

🎧 https://pod.fo/e/18aef4

10-07-2023, 08:38 AM
Great interview guys

Well worth a listen

No spoilers

Always a legend in my eyes

https://i.ibb.co/rwhd9Fx/IMG-1734.png (https://ibb.co/nLyPp67)

10-07-2023, 08:46 AM
Always have the mental recollection of McNeil being this impossibly small goalkeeper of like 5'7" or something, but he's actually one inch shorter than me (5'10") which tbf is still not ideal for that position. Pulled off some great saves even with the height disadvantage.

Bridge hibs
10-07-2023, 08:56 AM
Always have the mental recollection of McNeil being this impossibly small goalkeeper of like 5'7" or something, but he's actually one inch shorter than me (5'10") which tbf is still not ideal for that position. Pulled off some great saves even with the height disadvantage.
Goram was only 1” taller and was a cracking keeper, as the old saying goes, its not the size, its how you use it that matters

10-07-2023, 10:28 AM
He made a save against Falkirk, point blank, clawed it out from behind himself. The best save I've seen from any hibs keeper ever.

10-07-2023, 10:30 AM
Cup winning legend

10-07-2023, 10:41 AM
I always get the fear when there’s just a thread title with a name… phew ! Will give it a listen seems like a decent lad.

10-07-2023, 10:57 AM
He was unfortunate that he came in at a time when Hibs keepers were under so much scrutiny thanks to the clowns who preceded him in Zibi and the even worse Simon ****ing Brown.

Collins made a huge error when he signed MaKalambay the following season as our number 1. We needed a steady Eddie SPL keeper, Alan Combe as an example, to guide McNeil for a season or as a stop gap until something better came along. Instead we had 2 young, inexperienced keepers both making errors with the spotlight on them. Tbh I actually thought McNeil was having about his best spell in a Hibs strip when he was told he wouldn't be being kept. Given we then had to endure Graeme Smith, Mark Brown, Jakub Divis and the perma injured Graham Stack I'm not convinced he wouldn't have been a better option.

10-07-2023, 10:59 AM
I always get the fear when there’s just a thread title with a name… phew ! Will give it a listen seems like a decent lad.

He was a great guy on the interview, very honest, very down to earth and very open.

MagicSwirlingShip
10-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Speak well does Andy, listened on my walk to the station this morning. Hope to hear the 2nd part soon

10-07-2023, 02:32 PM
He was unfortunate that he came in at a time when Hibs keepers were under so much scrutiny thanks to the clowns who preceded him in Zibi and the even worse Simon ****ing Brown.

Collins made a huge error when he signed MaKalambay the following season as our number 1. We needed a steady Eddie SPL keeper, Alan Combe as an example, to guide McNeil for a season or as a stop gap until something better came along. Instead we had 2 young, inexperienced keepers both making errors with the spotlight on them. Tbh I actually thought McNeil was having about his best spell in a Hibs strip when he was told he wouldn't be being kept. Given we then had to endure Graeme Smith, Mark Brown, Jakub Divis and the perma injured Graham Stack I'm not convinced he wouldn't have been a better option.

We really have had some poor keepers

Dmas
10-07-2023, 03:40 PM
We really have had some poor keepers

Unreal how many you wipe from memory until u see a list like that written down

10-07-2023, 08:02 PM
First choice Hibs keepers in my time:
Malkowski
McNeil
S. Brown
Ma-Kalambay
Szamotulski
Stack
Smith
M. Brown
Williams
Oxley
Logan
Virtanen
Laidlaw
Marciano
Maxwell
Macey
Marshall

A truly awful list up until about when Williams comes in.

percy veer
10-07-2023, 08:09 PM

Would have been a kick in the teeth to drop mcneil and bringbin the keeper that conceded 5 in the final

10-07-2023, 08:24 PM
Would have been a kick in the teeth to drop mcneil and bringbin the keeper that conceded 5 in the final

Probably less of a kick in the teeth than replacing him with a 20 year old who had never played a 1st team game.

cameronw-hfc
10-07-2023, 08:39 PM
First choice Hibs keepers in my time:
Malkowski
McNeil
S. Brown
Ma-Kalambay
Szamotulski
Stack
Smith
M. Brown
Williams
Oxley
Logan
Virtanen
Laidlaw
Marciano
Maxwell
Macey
Marshall

A truly awful list up until about when Williams comes in.

I always remember Stack as being pretty decent, albeit injury prone.

Svengali
10-07-2023, 09:41 PM
Listening to this on holiday, Really enjoyed it.

Andy comes across very well and was very honest and balanced in his comments. Well done lads.

Think McNeil made a cracking save at 0-0 in that 2007 final, which can easily be forgotten about due to what proceeded it

The Baldmans Comb
11-07-2023, 05:28 AM
He made a save against Falkirk, point blank, clawed it out from behind himself. The best save I've seen from any hibs keeper ever.

Agreed 100%. Falkirk away midweek I think.

LewysGot2
11-07-2023, 08:05 AM
What a well-balanced, humble and articulate individual he is. Comes across as a genuinely decent guy who sees things from a range of perspectives and is comfortable in his own skin. Thanks for sharing - one of the better player podcasts I've listened to

11-07-2023, 08:08 AM

Same height as Ronnie Simpson. McNeil seems to be carving out a decent career as a coach.

11-07-2023, 08:31 AM
Agreed 100%. Falkirk away midweek I think.

Think there was a home game against St Mirren where we were 2-0 up after about five minutes, then proceeded to spend the whole second half trying to blow it.

Best set of saves I've seen from a Hibs keeper. Can't remember any specific mistakes outwith the Charlie Adam freekicks or two Hearts games mind you, or why/when he was phased out.

11-07-2023, 10:19 AM
Think there was a home game against St Mirren where we were 2-0 up after about five minutes, then proceeded to spend the whole second half trying to blow it.

Best set of saves I've seen from a Hibs keeper. Can't remember any specific mistakes outwith the Charlie Adam freekicks or two Hearts games mind you, or why/when he was phased out.

The Charlie Adam free kicks were that useless chump Brown, by far and away the worst keeper of the lot in that period. Zibi at least had a few redeeming features (and more than a handful of good games).

One of them below, cover your eyes:

https://youtu.be/ndScxHvlm_c

11-07-2023, 10:47 AM
The Charlie Adam free kicks were that useless chump Brown, by far and away the worst keeper of the lot in that period. Zibi at least had a few redeeming features (and more than a handful of good games).

I agree with almost everything you’ve said on this thread PB but Andy also made a similar mistake(s) vs Adam and also Zibi was the worst of the things imo.

Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2023, 10:50 AM

Agree re Zibi. Capable of awful blunders and because of the frequency of them he wasn’t good enough. When he wasn’t making them though he was actually a decent enough goalkeeper.

11-07-2023, 11:08 AM
Agree re Zibi. Capable of awful blunders and because of the frequency of them he wasn’t good enough. When he wasn’t making them though he was actually a decent enough goalkeeper.

He seemed to save his errors for big games and that's always going to be an issue.

The performance at Hampden was always going to be hard to forgive but to follow it up with his performance in the game when Shiels was sent off or the game when we were 2-0 up and crusing before he decided to come 16 yards for a cross and get nowhere near it meant his position was irredeemable.

He was finally dropped after that Shiels game (for McNeil) and seemed genuinely bemused it had happened. He gave an interview basically saying I don't know why I'm not wanted anymore.

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-07-2023, 11:13 AM
Szamotulski was decent in my memory. Loved McNeil but I was a wee boy back then I loved them all.

11-07-2023, 11:19 AM
Cannae really remember Andy McNeill making any clangers tbh

Now Zibi ?????????

Willis1875
11-07-2023, 11:47 AM
Cannae really remember Andy McNeill making any clangers tbh

Now Zibi ?????????

Sure he dropped an easy catch out of the air in a derby that resulted in a goal…could be mixing him up with somebody else though

11-07-2023, 11:48 AM
Sure he dropped an easy catch out of the air in a derby that resulted in a goal…could be mixing him up with somebody else though

I think you're right. At Tynie iirc

darwenhibby
11-07-2023, 11:52 AM

Was it not at Easter Road after the 2007 cup final
The game at Tynie first game of following season the orcs game him a sarcastic cheer warming up when makalamby was injured

11-07-2023, 12:05 PM

Andy Driver 2007 came for the ball and missed it in a 0-2 defeat at Tiny

11-07-2023, 01:31 PM
Was it not at Easter Road after the 2007 cup final
The game at Tynie first game of following season the orcs game him a sarcastic cheer warming up when makalamby was injured

He made a pig ear of that one too. Header from a free kick, he was in no man's land.

11-07-2023, 02:05 PM
I seem to remember Alistair Brown making a really poor mistake in the game in Vilnius, scarily enough it was 19 years ago yesterday, unbelievable! 😲

Magic trip though! 😀

11-07-2023, 02:31 PM

He seemed to save his errors for big games and that's always going to be an issue.

The performance at Hampden was always going to be hard to forgive but to follow it up with his performance in the game when Shiels was sent off or the game when we were 2-0 up and crusing before he decided to come 16 yards for a cross and get nowhere near it meant his position was irredeemable.

He was finally dropped after that Shiels game (for McNeil) and seemed genuinely bemused it had happened. He gave an interview basically saying I don't know why I'm not wanted anymore.

All of Zibby's howlers weren't just in any big games - they only came against Hearts. Two in the Semi. Two in the Zemamma game the following season. One in the "pub team" game on boxing day when we lost 3-2. And one in the Benji's first goal game. All of them almost unbelievable in their execution.

And they were so bad it seems a bit funny. And they all came during the Romanov era. And Romanov was without doubt one of the most corrupt individuals to be involved with Scottish Football.

Strange that Zibby was ok against everyone other than Hearts. Or was it? :cb

Murphys Touch
11-07-2023, 10:58 PM
Know Andy since we were kids and just a top guy really - down to Earth, humble and as someone said, very comfortable in his own skin.

Years since I met them but lovely, devoted parents too!

Andy was a cracking keeper, made mistakes yeah but looking at that minging list….a lot less than the rest of them.

Was a cracking outfield player too btw and his distribution certainly helped us play some cracking football in the early Collins era. He would be well saughton after in todays age of the sweepa keepa

Great listen - All the best to our cup winning keeper

12-07-2023, 06:16 AM
Far better keeper than some of the other disasterclasses of that era. Simon Brown being the worst and also seemingly an arrogant prick. Anyone remember Tony Caig? Performance in a home pumping to Dunfermline should've seen him extradited to Mars

12-07-2023, 10:51 AM

Aye, came for an easy cross in front of the rose burn and dropped it. Turned in by some hearts player

12-07-2023, 11:16 AM
All of Zibby's howlers weren't just in any big games - they only came against Hearts. Two in the Semi. Two in the Zemamma game the following season. One in the "pub team" game on boxing day when we lost 3-2. And one in the Benji's first goal game. All of them almost unbelievable in their execution.

And they were so bad it seems a bit funny. And they all came during the Romanov era. And Romanov was without doubt one of the most corrupt individuals to be involved with Scottish Football.

And Zibby is originally from the eastern part of Poland, only four hours drive from Kaunus... home of Mad Vlad's Lithuanian club

Coincidence?

GRA
12-07-2023, 11:33 AM

Not always against Hearts. I have this memory of him scuffing a goal kick straight to an ICT striker, who had all the time in the world to round him and score, in a boxing day defeat in 2005 (IIRC).

I like the interview though. Andy seems like a thoroughly decent guy who has made a good life for himself in the Far East.

13-07-2023, 01:35 PM
Very good interview, Glad he seems to be doing well

13-07-2023, 01:40 PM
Has his accent changed since going away. I met him a few times at Lochend youth and he didn't have that Dougray Scott twang. Good interview.

13-07-2023, 02:11 PM
Not always against Hearts. I have this memory of him scuffing a goal kick straight to an ICT striker, who had all the time in the world to round him and score, in a boxing day defeat in 2005 (IIRC).

Rings a bell that one, but all keepers will make the occasional error. To make SIX high profile howlers against the one team though is a bit weird.....

And Zibby is originally from the eastern part of Poland, only four hours drive from Kaunus... home of Mad Vlad's Lithuanian club

Coincidence?

Exactly :greengrin

18-07-2023, 09:02 AM
Did anyone listen to the 2nd part of the interview - all about the cup final in 2007?

18-07-2023, 09:04 AM

I like the interview though. Andy seems like a thoroughly decent guy who has made a good life for himself in the Far East.

Also threw one in to give Kilmarnock a last minute equaliser in Collins' first game.

mayo hibee
18-07-2023, 09:11 AM
Was unlucky that he didn't grow another few inches. It's basically impossible to be a modern day professional keeper at a good standard unless you're at least 6 foot 1 now. Even if you don't have any clangers you just won't be able to save shots that bigger keepers can get to. At 5 foot 10/11 McNeil hadn't a hope unfortunately.

MagicSwirlingShip
18-07-2023, 10:05 AM
Did anyone listen to the 2nd part of the interview - all about the cup final in 2007?

Didn’t see it getting uploaded on my Apple Podcasts?

18-07-2023, 11:30 AM
Didn’t see it getting uploaded on my Apple Podcasts?

It’s available to subscribers mate -
longbangers.hubwave.net

Hibs3-2
18-07-2023, 11:56 AM

Anywhere to listen to this?

18-07-2023, 09:07 PM
Anywhere to listen to this?

As DH said it’s for subscribers, however I will be releasing it to everyone on Wednesday next week, that’ll give a short period of exclusivity to the subscribers. We’ve had a few requests from subscribers to share it because of the topics we covered with Andy, and i felt that was the right thing to do.

cameronw-hfc
18-07-2023, 09:26 PM
As DH said it’s for subscribers, however I will be releasing it to everyone on Wednesday next week, that’ll give a short period of exclusivity to the subscribers. We’ve had a few requests from subscribers to share it because of the topics we covered with Andy, and i felt that was the right thing to do.

Do you have the option on Spotify to be a subscriber or is it on another app these ones get released. Interested in paying for the extra stuff but not sure how(bit crap with anything PC related😂)

18-07-2023, 09:45 PM
Do you have the option on Spotify to be a subscriber or is it on another app these ones get released. Interested in paying for the extra stuff but not sure how(bit crap with anything PC related😂)

I’ll PM you :aok:

cameronw-hfc
18-07-2023, 09:48 PM
I’ll PM you :aok:

Cheers mate

19-07-2023, 03:16 AM
Really enjoyed part 1, great listen :aok:

Interesting that Andy said that Zibi was absolutely brilliant in training. Convincing me even more that Zibi was taking bungs off Romanov:whistle:

19-07-2023, 07:43 AM
Really enjoyed part 1, great listen :aok:

Interesting that Andy said that Zibi was absolutely brilliant in training. Convincing me even more that Zibi was taking bungs off Romanov:whistle:

It was when he was talking about Mowbray loving Zibi because he was aggressive coming for the ball and so he didn't mind that he'd throw one in now and again, that makes sense when you think about Mowbray's attitude to players trying things but I would never have thought about that at the time.

21-07-2023, 07:44 AM
It was when he was talking about Mowbray loving Zibi because he was aggressive coming for the ball and so he didn't mind that he'd throw one in now and again, that makes sense when you think about Mowbray's attitude to players trying things but I would never have thought about that at the time.

Yeah, I remember Zibi succesfully coming for a few crosses far out at Ibrox then setting up attacks with quick throw outs in the 3-0 Sproule game.

Still never understand why Mowbray gave him a renewed contract though, horrendous decision:rolleyes:

25-07-2023, 12:48 PM
Yeah, I remember Zibi succesfully coming for a few crosses far out at Ibrox then setting up attacks with quick throw outs in the 3-0 Sproule game.

Still never understand why Mowbray gave him a renewed contract though, horrendous decision:rolleyes:

It was an awful decision!

Part 2 of Andy's interview where he talks about the cup win will be available early tomorrow morning (around 6am) - was previously just got subscribers but is now going out free.

25-07-2023, 01:50 PM

Was the contract extension not right before Mowbray left as well? Great leaving present. I remember McLeish did the similar. Lumbered us with the Tank right before he swanned off to Ibrox.

26-07-2023, 08:00 AM
Here is part two of the interview, where Andy talks about that CIS Cup win.

https://pod.fo/e/18f7f3

Watch out for a great interview with the original holder of the Matty Jack role, which will be in podcast players first thing tomorrow morning.

26-07-2023, 09:55 AM

Was it not three years also

MagicSwirlingShip
26-07-2023, 03:54 PM
Here is part two of the interview, where Andy talks about that CIS Cup win.

https://pod.fo/e/18f7f3

Watch out for a great interview with the original holder of the Matty Jack role, which will be in podcast players first thing tomorrow morning.

That was class, really enjoyed both parts of that interview.

Interesting his thoughts on brain development and youngsters developing at different rates, also the stupidity of some players 🤣

Bravo gents

26-07-2023, 05:42 PM
That was class, really enjoyed both parts of that interview.

Interesting his thoughts on brain development and youngsters developing at different rates, also the stupidity of some players 🤣

Bravo gents

Cheers! I'm sure I say this after every interview we do, but that was one of my favourites.

Matty Jack tomorrow is class as well.

Bridge hibs
26-07-2023, 06:53 PM
Bit of a long shot Matty but do you think you would ever be able to get Conrad Logan on for a chat, would love that ?

26-07-2023, 08:29 PM
Bit of a long shot Matty but do you think you would ever be able to get Conrad Logan on for a chat, would love that ?

If I can find a way to get in touch with him, I'll certainly try!

Bridge hibs
26-07-2023, 08:39 PM
If I can find a way to get in touch with him, I'll certainly try!Nice one 👍