29-07-2023, 05:19 PM
How was McAllister?

Flanny boy
29-07-2023, 05:26 PM
How was McAllister?
He was very good 👍

29-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Was using Twitter for updates for the first half, looked a decent first half with McAllister playing well.

Tough result but some good experience for the younger players and we got 45 minutes from Boyle.

Did anyone stake a claim for Thursday?

29-07-2023, 05:30 PM
You reckon Dylan should be dropped? 🤔

Kent this would happen :greengrin

29-07-2023, 05:30 PM
My cat’s older than most of that Hibs team today and it sounds like they did ok.

not that that means anything. Hibs don’t give youngsters a chance anymore :rolleyes:. Still fuming about Laidlaw.

29-07-2023, 05:35 PM
My cat’s older than most of that Hibs team today and it sounds like they did ok.

not that that means anything. Hibs don’t give youngsters a chance anymore :rolleyes:. Still fuming about Laidlaw.

Wouldn’t get too upset about us not giving a chance to a player that made it clear he was not signing a new deal with us because there was interest from the PL.

29-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Wouldn’t get too upset about us not giving a chance to a player that made it clear he was not signing a new deal with us because there was interest from the PL.

I know, it was his decision. Still feel he should have been given the odd game over the last year or so

Donegal Hibby
29-07-2023, 05:40 PM
How did Boyle do in his first game back?.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/boyle-its-good-to-be-back

29-07-2023, 05:44 PM
Boyle did ok. Thing that impressed me was the younger players.

Stood up well until they scored

Had a great chance at 1-0 but scuffed shot.

Cheshire Hibby
29-07-2023, 06:45 PM
Enjoyed seeing the young players. They did well for 80 minutes albeit struggling to create chances in the 2nd half.

Big thank you to Darwen Hibby and family for organising the ticket, Blackpool Hibs for sorting The Churchill Inn and taxi and Ringothedog for stopping by for a few scoops.

Donegal Hibby
29-07-2023, 06:59 PM
Boyle did ok. Thing that impressed me was the younger players.

Stood up well until they scored

Had a great chance at 1-0 but scuffed shot.
Which of the young players impressed you ? Take it McAllister is one , thought he looked really good in the last game I seen him in tbh .

29-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Was it billed as a first-team game? Sounds like a big support went down to watch what looks like mostly a youth team.

Zactly. Seems a lot of bluster for a dev game.

That we lost. I’d like to have seen our first team play them.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-07-2023, 07:29 PM
Zactly. Seems a lot of bluster for a dev game.

That we lost. I’d like to have seen our first team play them.

Yeah let’s run our first team into the ground with three games in 7 days before the league season even starts, genius idea

29-07-2023, 07:40 PM
Yeah let’s run our first team into the ground with three games in 7 days before the league season even starts, genius idea

Yep, I suspect most of those in attendance will have known exactly what to expect when they saw the fixture scheduling and will have been more than happy to see a vaguely familiar team in Hibs strips as a prop to a day on the pish by the seaside.

29-07-2023, 07:56 PM
I agree with EGB and Smartie.

I think the venue.......
The Tower.The Prom.Beach.Piers,Pleasure Beach,Winter Gardens.Trams,etc,plenty pubs.clubs and chippys and more, was an attraction for fans to travel down,whatever the line up was going to be.
As you younger guys say "Whats not to like?"

Many went down with wives/husbands/partners and kids to have a good weekend away.
My Grandson (30) just text me,he is with my greatgrandson,his pal and his two kids.
Got there Friday afternoon.They are loving it.
Lovely hotel,room and breakfast's !
Got tickets for the Pleasure Beach the morn/ Whooppee !
.And they enjoyed the match atmosphere in The Excelsior on Lytham Rd,meeting friends,old and new,and for the first time seeing young players who excited at times, and the equally young fans cheering them on.
So for my family and friends?
A great wee break enjoying the weather,the attractions and The Wee Hibees !
A good weekend for those who could not travel to, or afford Andorra trip.

Maybe next year ,we can play Burntisland Shipyard when the Shows are on !!:greengrin
Or back to Blackpool ? My lot say yea to that !

So as far as pre season friendlies go,Blackpool away aint a bad choice for fan enjoyment.
Whatever the line up is .

29-07-2023, 08:00 PM
How did Delferriere play?

ChuckNor
29-07-2023, 08:03 PM
Anyone at the game able to give a decent assessment of how some of the players got on? Curious about Melkersen, Mackay, Jeggo and Delfierre

darwenhibby
29-07-2023, 08:13 PM
Enjoyed seeing the young players. They did well for 80 minutes albeit struggling to create chances in the 2nd half.

Big thank you to Darwen Hibby and family for organising the ticket, Blackpool Hibs for sorting The Churchill Inn and taxi and Ringothedog for stopping by for a few scoops.

Your welcome DD
Great to see so so many people ain’t seen for ages
Big G still needs a salad but he organised a great venue at Churchill
Going to the team Megwa Moltinkov and Mcallister ready to challenge
McIntyres will come good
Shame they tired in last 10 minutes
Saw Fish on the pitch at the end
We are going to be ok🇳🇬🇳🇬

29-07-2023, 08:15 PM
Anyone at the game able to give a decent assessment of how some of the players got on? Curious about Melkersen, Mackay, Jeggo and Delfierre

The first 3 were all pretty poor really with Delf reasonable at right back. Melkersen was played through the middle and fluffed his only chance.

The positive was the young players with Megwa at centre half the pick. Molotnikov is a strong player and in advance physically of most of the other youngsters. McAllister is growing in confidence but quite slight still.

Wollacot didnt have much to do and I dont think could have done much about the goals (viewing from the other end of the stadium). He looked confident and assured enough for the most part and prefers punching crosses away which he did effectively.

Harbottle looked a bit shaky at times but given it qas his first start and he was the most experienced in the defence iit was a tough gig for him...I think he will come good.

Bridge hibs
29-07-2023, 08:22 PM
Your welcome DD
Great to see so so many people ain’t seen for ages
Big G still needs a salad but he organised a great venue at Churchill
Going to the team Megwa Moltinkov and Mcallister ready to challenge
McIntyres will come good
Shame they tired in last 10 minutes
We are going to be ok🇳🇬🇳🇬You saw Fish on the pitch at the end ? Ffs throwing flares and smoke bombs is nothing new nowadays, but throwing fish is a new low, ban the ****ers 🤬

29-07-2023, 09:09 PM

Was it just him singing or did he have his band with him? 🤔

29-07-2023, 09:10 PM
0-3 Just unacceptable.

I'm pissed.:wink:

29-07-2023, 09:11 PM
0-3 Just unacceptable.

Hope you're having a good day G, Brucie bonus from the pub? 🤔😃

29-07-2023, 09:12 PM
0-3 Just unacceptable.

29-07-2023, 09:13 PM
Hope you're having a good day G, Brucie bonus from the pub 🤔😃

Had a good afternoon down the crazy scots bar, then back to churchills, but home now waiting for a kebab to be delivered, i may not eat it? :greengrin

29-07-2023, 09:21 PM
Had a good afternoon down the crazy scots bar, then back to churchills, but home now waiting for a kebab to be delivered, i may not eat it? :greengrin

What's the address? 😉

darwenhibby
29-07-2023, 09:58 PM
Credit to the Blackpool fans!!

They thought they’d won the champions league
Fizzin tin pot club
Town full of Huns
Who saw the Hun squaring up on his own 20 minutes into the game and getting lifted 😂😂

29-07-2023, 09:58 PM
Son is just back in the door. Had gone down with his pal and his Dad and were going to have a night of it in Blackpool. Got to their "hotel" after the game and it was absolutely filthy so they just drove straight back home again!

darwenhibby
29-07-2023, 10:02 PM

Have ordered salad??

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-07-2023, 10:14 PM
Son is just back in the door. Had gone down with his pal and his Dad and were going to have a night of it in Blackpool. Got to their "hotel" after the game and it was absolutely filthy so they just drove straight back home again!

Enough beer and he wouldn’t have noticed, 0/10 for effort

29-07-2023, 10:56 PM
2-0 Barcelona, Lopez, tremendous strike.

29-07-2023, 11:00 PM
The first 3 were all pretty poor really with Delf reasonable at right back. Melkersen was played through the middle and fluffed his only chance.

The positive was the young players with Megwa at centre half the pick. Molotnikov is a strong player and in advance physically of most of the other youngsters. McAllister is growing in confidence but quite slight still.

Wollacot didnt have much to do and I dont think could have done much about the goals (viewing from the other end of the stadium). He looked confident and assured enough for the most part and prefers punching crosses away which he did effectively.

Harbottle looked a bit shaky at times but given it qas his first start and he was the most experienced in the defence iit was a tough gig for him...I think he will come good.

Be interesting to see where Megwa plays in his career, seems quite small for a centre half.

29-07-2023, 11:00 PM

Sorry, I find this quite amusing. Its Blackpool, you get what you pay for. For £40 a night the room aint going to be like a Hilton hotel. I've stayed in some hovels over the years on football trips, its only somewhere to sleep.

LewysGot2
29-07-2023, 11:23 PM
Not long back and for any dafties from Blackpool who thought they were playing our first team then pity the fools. Shirt numbers alone would have made it pretty obvious that we were playing our youth players- with no Number 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 11….never mind the rest. I think most of us who were there didn’t travel expecting to see our first team play. Fair play to the bairns we fielded for holding their own for 2/3 of the match. We only had 5 subs, all of them even mair bairns…they had enough adult players to field 2 full teams.

For us I thought we learned a lot about our academy boys and also confirmed what has been nagging worries about one or two players

The positives

Kanayo Megwa - definitely my MotM. To think he’s just a year out of high school and had to play CB today against some gie big huddies. Started on the RCB but as Riley H was looking very uncomfortable trying to fill the LCB position LJ moved Kanayo to LCB and it was the right decision. Read the game very well, was calm and intelligent- he’s too wee to be a CB but he can make it a la Stevenson at full back - he’ll surely start to feature in around the first team wider squad this season whilst continuing playing with the development squad?

Rudi M - really like this kid’s aggression, physicality and belief. I genuinely think he’s one to watch.

Reuben McA - slight 17 year old but today we saw the reasons we signed him to our development team. He looks a tidy prospect.

Horbottle is definitely the 4th choice CB based on today’s outing. Maybe he’ll settle down - let’s hope so.

In terms of a meaningful measure of the relative strength of either club today was meaningless- we all know this was not our first team. In terms of finding out who have the strength of character and physical attributes to start being looked at in terms of the future first team then I definitely think Molotnikov and Megwa are closest to that.

CentreForward
29-07-2023, 11:44 PM
I agree with EGB and Smartie.

I think the venue.......
The Tower.The Prom.Beach.Piers,Pleasure Beach,Winter Gardens.Trams,etc,plenty pubs.clubs and chippys and more, was an attraction for fans to travel down,whatever the line up was going to be.
As you younger guys say "Whats not to like?"

Many went down with wives/husbands/partners and kids to have a good weekend away.
My Grandson (30) just text me,he is with my greatgrandson,his pal and his two kids.
Got there Friday afternoon.They are loving it.
Lovely hotel,room and breakfast's !
Got tickets for the Pleasure Beach the morn/ Whooppee !
.And they enjoyed the match atmosphere in The Excelsior on Lytham Rd,meeting friends,old and new,and for the first time seeing young players who excited at times, and the equally young fans cheering them on.
So for my family and friends?
A great wee break enjoying the weather,the attractions and The Wee Hibees !
A good weekend for those who could not travel to, or afford Andorra trip.

Maybe next year ,we can play Burntisland Shipyard when the Shows are on !!:greengrin
Or back to Blackpool ? My lot say yea to that !

So as far as pre season friendlies go,Blackpool away aint a bad choice for fan enjoyment.
Whatever the line up is .

Great post !

29-07-2023, 11:57 PM
What was the Hibs support number that attended.? Looks like a brilliant weekend. 👍 🇺🇿🇺🇿

30-07-2023, 12:12 AM
How did Delferriere play?

Very good . What’s the score with him. ?

BobMilne
30-07-2023, 12:40 AM
Credit to the Blackpool fans!!

They thought they’d won the champions league
Fizzin tin pot club
Town full of Huns
Who saw the Hun squaring up on his own 20 minutes into the game and getting lifted 😂😂

Was that guy not raging due to the songs that were being sung? He was ******g fuming 😂😂

30-07-2023, 05:06 AM

Mackay was terrible. An absolute ***** bag.

He got put through in the 2nd half, his ball all the way but absolute shat it from their defender and stopped running

30-07-2023, 06:12 AM
Melkersen disappointing- don't see him making it at hibs
Mackay see above
Jeggo did ok, broke up the play well but needs to improve his passing

30-07-2023, 06:47 AM

Could Delferriere develop in that no.6 Jeggo position? Definitely a lot more comfortable in possession.
He's versatile but sometimes that can count against a player who doesn't nail down a specific role.

Bridge hibs
30-07-2023, 07:21 AM
Could Delferriere develop in that no.6 Jeggo position? Definitely a lot more comfortable in possession.
He's versatile but sometimes that can count against a player who doesn't nail down a specific role.Sometimes its good to have a player who can adapt to various positions when called upon although I havent seen Delfierre play, does he play full back and midfield ?

Paul Kane was quite versatile too if I remember and currently Calum Patterson at Sheff Wed, think he has been used as full back, centre half, midfield and as a makeshift forward

Paulie Walnuts
30-07-2023, 07:24 AM
How was Wollacott?

30-07-2023, 07:38 AM

I'm not too upset at the score and I think the young guys actually competed quite well, until about the last ten minutes when they appeared to run out of steam.

That’s because Blackpool brought on 11 subs with 20 to go.

30-07-2023, 08:00 AM
How was Wollacott?

Good in the main. Likes to punch rather than catch crosses though.

I'd play him Thursday.

30-07-2023, 08:15 AM
How was Wollacott?

He didn’t really have much to do. Obviously lost 3 goals and not sure if he could have done any better with any of them as they were up the other end. First thought was no he couldn’t. Pretty difficult to make any judgement on him based on yesterday.

30-07-2023, 08:49 AM
Good in the main. Likes to punch rather than catch crosses though.

I'd play him Thursday.

Sometimes you need to punch the ball away ,but always prefer a keeper who is comfortable coming out and catching a cross if they can

30-07-2023, 08:56 AM

Good to meet you after the game mate, will get your selfie printed and framed and put up on my living room wall:greengrin 10/10 on the James sit down karaoke too!

30-07-2023, 09:43 AM
Good to meet you after the game mate, will get your selfie printed and framed and put up on my living room wall:greengrin 10/10 on the James sit down karaoke too!

Cheers bud, good to meet you and your mates, never managed to say goodbye before we left. Make sure you get a decent frame.🎤🎤🤣🤣

30-07-2023, 09:45 AM
Cheers bud, good to meet you and your mates, never managed to say goodbye before we left. Make sure you get a decent frame.🎤🎤🤣🤣

How's the heed?!! 🤔

HIBS NUTS
30-07-2023, 09:59 AM
How's the heed?!! 🤔

I take it you enjoyed Blackpool HUTCHY

30-07-2023, 10:06 AM
How's the heed?!! 🤔

A bit tender matey, but we are going to finish off the weekend with an afternoon sesh to cap a fine weekend. :greengrin

30-07-2023, 10:17 AM
I take it you enjoyed Blackpool HUTCHY

Never made it unfortunately mate, was already booked to go to The Herring Queen Festival in Eyemouth when the game was announced but the train strike put paid to both trips.

30-07-2023, 10:18 AM
A bit tender matey, but we are going to finish off the weekend with an afternoon sesh to cap a fine weekend. :greengrin

Nice one, I'm hitting the high spot of Shandwicks, could be interesting with Leeds in town.

30-07-2023, 10:51 AM
Sorry, I find this quite amusing. Its Blackpool, you get what you pay for. For £40 a night the room aint going to be like a Hilton hotel. I've stayed in some hovels over the years on football trips, its only somewhere to sleep.

Cheap doesn't have to mean filthy.

30-07-2023, 10:52 AM

Depends what you're talking about I suppose 😳

30-07-2023, 10:57 AM

The filthier they are, the more expensive they are!

30-07-2023, 11:29 AM

I know but its Blackpool, you're basically hot bedding down there. All you need is a basic room with a bed to sleep in or use for a Jekyll and Hyde if you're lucky.

30-07-2023, 11:56 AM

30-07-2023, 12:06 PM

All about the add ons

30-07-2023, 12:18 PM

I'm not saying anymore, what goes on on tour ...!!! 😁

30-07-2023, 12:20 PM
I'm not saying anymore, what goes on on tour ...!!! 😁

Does the Hilton do extras ?

30-07-2023, 12:28 PM
Does the Hilton do extras ?

That's hibbyradges end of the market. 😉

Wakeyhibee
30-07-2023, 12:35 PM
How was Wollacott?

Looked really comfortable on the ball under pressure. Couldn't really fault him for any of the goals. I'd start him Thursday. Looks like a keeper who'll give his back 4 confidence.

30-07-2023, 12:39 PM
Tbf some of them are absolutely vile, I went a few years back with a wee group of pals and the place we stayed was absolutely rotten. Never been up as sharp and out the place after a day on the bevvy, it was minging. Nobody expects the Ritz but there’s no excuse for the rooms not being at the very least clean and sleepable

Went down again with my ex a few years back to do the pleasure beach etc, walked into the hotel we had booked and the reception area was a hole but the guy running the place was nice so we thought give it the benefit of the doubt til we see the room… got to the room and there wasn’t a hope in hell I was staying there and I’m as far from a snob as you’ll find, I left and booked us an air b and b

30-07-2023, 12:47 PM
That's hibbyradges end of the market. 😉

I have stayed in the Blackpool Hilton many times, but I didn't even pay for breakfast never mind any other extras!

30-07-2023, 12:52 PM
I have stayed in the Blackpool Hilton many times, but I didn't even pay for breakfast never mind any other extras!

I stay in a Hilton hotel regularly and they're not all that. Only a name.

30-07-2023, 12:56 PM
Tbf some of them are absolutely vile, I went a few years back with a wee group of pals and the place we stayed was absolutely rotten. Never been up as sharp and out the place after a day on the bevvy, it was minging. Nobody expects the Ritz but there’s no excuse for the rooms not being at the very least clean and sleepable

Went down again with my ex a few years back to do the pleasure beach etc, walked into the hotel we had booked and the reception area was a hole but the guy running the place was nice so we thought give it the benefit of the doubt til we see the room… got to the room and there wasn’t a hope in hell I was staying there and I’m as far from a snob as you’ll find, I left and booked us an air b and b

I guess it just depends what your standards are. Last time I was there which was 5 months ago the place I was in was fine, marginally better than a hovel but it I dont give a **** really. I'm only kipping there.

The room I had in Athens never even had a window and had gas cookers propositioning you every time you walked out the door.

30-07-2023, 01:05 PM
I stay in a Hilton hotel regularly and they're not all that. Only a name.

Some are better than others. The one at Gateshead has a cracking executive lounge and some of them give you grub too.

I met Billy Connolly in the Glasgow Hilton and I saw someone nicking a bottle of vodka from it. Nicking free vodka! Unbelievable.

30-07-2023, 01:38 PM

Place I stayed last night was £45 a night. Basic but well decorated, fresh and spotless. Tbh I felt I was undercharged by about £20, even without a breakfast.

Stayed in a place in Blackpool during the covid unlockdown and it was a disgrace. Broken furniture, wallpaper hanging off, damp, filthy sheets and mattresses and a toilet that didn't flush. They were taking £70 a night and we lasted a night before looking elsewhere.

Like you I'm not a snob by any stretch but I'm not sleeping in someone else's pish. If the place I stayed last night can maintain decent standards at under £50 a night then it's proof that it is doable.

30-07-2023, 01:42 PM
Some are better than others. The one at Gateshead has a cracking executive lounge and some of them give you grub too.

I met Billy Connolly in the Glasgow Hilton and I saw someone nicking a bottle of vodka from it. Nicking free vodka! Unbelievable.

I stay in the same one in central Condon and its defo not the best, I much prefer a Holiday Inn.

30-07-2023, 01:45 PM
I stay in the same one in central Condon and its defo not the best, I much prefer a Holiday Inn.

Blackpool is better than Croydon! 😂

I used to live near there, in Selhurst.

30-07-2023, 01:49 PM
Blackpool is better than Croydon! 😂

I used to live near there, in Selhurst.

The Hilton hotel I stay in is at Angel/Islington. Also stay in a Holiday inn at Bloomsbury. Both nice areas but I prefer the holiday inn when I'm down there.

30-07-2023, 01:52 PM
Suprised no ones mentioned premier inns 😁

30-07-2023, 01:53 PM

I like him, he can play CH or DM, came form a good team at Liege and played 19 games for MVV Maastricht before coming to us, he seems very comfortable on the ball.

30-07-2023, 01:54 PM
The Hilton hotel I stay in is at Angel/Islington. Also stay in a Holiday inn at Bloomsbury. Both nice areas but I prefer the holiday inn when I'm down there.

I used to stay in The LSE building at Rosebery Avenue when I went down to UP for West Ham games, some great pubs around there.

A wee bit of trivia, the photos in the opening credits of OF&H were taken at the street market just up from Angel Station (Chapel Market).

30-07-2023, 01:59 PM
I used to stay in The LSE building at Rosebery Avenue when I went down to UP for West Ham games, some great pubs around there.

A wee bit of trivia, the photos in the opening credits of OF&H were taken at the street market just up from Angel Station (Chapel Market).

Thats right, its roughly 100yds from the hotel I stay at in at Angel.

30-07-2023, 02:00 PM
Thats right, its roughly 100yds from the hotel I stay at in at Angel.

The Agricultural was a great pub there, I believe that it's a jazz bar now, nice! 😁

30-07-2023, 02:54 PM

31-07-2023, 10:50 AM
Now that I've calmed down a bit :-) I wanted write a more balanced post on the Hibs Fans at the weekend.

For a friendly match, I thought the atmosphere was amazing, There was singing from the Hibs end for the vast majority of the match, so the one thing you can't criticise is the backing from the fans.

My missus and me had a great time before and after the match and met some rally nice Blackpool Fans, who escorted us to the tram when we got a bit lost (OK, may a bit p1ssed ;))

I realise this is going to be controversial, but my one (and only) complaint would be that there are some supporters that need to think a bit more about how their behaviour affects other folk.

The area underneath the stand was absolutely filled with smoke and, while I didn't see it, I was told by some of the stewards that it was fans setting off flares in that area, and that a couple of supporters needed first aid as a result. I know my wife was struggling a bit and had to leave the queue at the kiosk.

I'm not really getting what this would achieve, other than looking for reactions on TikTok or whatever. :dunno:

Chorley Hibee
31-07-2023, 10:55 AM
Now that I've calmed down a bit :-) I wanted write a more balanced post on the Hibs Fans at the weekend.

For a friendly match, I thought the atmosphere was amazing, There was singing from the Hibs end for the vast majority of the match, so the one thing you can't criticise is the backing from the fans.

My missus and me had a great time before and after the match and met some rally nice Blackpool Fans, who escorted us to the tram when we got a bit lost (OK, may a bit p1ssed ;))

I realise this is going to be controversial, but my one (and only) complaint would be that there are some supporters that need to think a bit more about how their behaviour affects other folk.

The area underneath the stand was absolutely filled with smoke and, while I didn't see it, I was told by some of the stewards that it was fans setting off flares in that area, and that a couple of supporters needed first aid as a result. I know my wife was struggling a bit and had to leave the queue at the kiosk.

I'm not really getting what this would achieve, other than looking for reactions on TikTok or whatever. :dunno:

My issue is why they keep doing all this stuff under the stand (Tynecastle is the same)?

Get outside and do it, so everyone can see you, and create some noise,colour etc that inspires the team and the rest of the support.

Doing it in a confined space (particularly with flares, smoke bombs etc) is a ****ing nonsense and potentially endangering others.

I was down at Blackpool on Sunday with family, and was particularly concerned about the events under the stand at half time, given I had 4 children with me who all needed the toilet/fed etc.

Could hardly see anything at one stage due to smoke.

31-07-2023, 11:01 AM
I was down at Blackpool on Sunday with family, and was particularly concerned about the events under the stand at half time, given I had 4 children with me who all needed the toilet/fed etc.

Could hardly see anything at one stage due to smoke.

I thought that it would've been quite quiet. 😉