View Full Version : Hibs v FC Europa 5pm Sat 8th

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 11:51 AM
Link to match. .... A legal link :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/@HibsTV

So do we reckon 2 totally different sides each half as usual for these early getting minutes in the legs games?

08-07-2023, 12:47 PM

So do we reckon 2 totally different sides each half as usual for these early getting minutes in the legs games?

That is an absolute certainty, even more so due to the heat

08-07-2023, 01:01 PM
Who's replacing Hanlon and Rocky at CB?

08-07-2023, 01:04 PM

Possibly Delferriere and Jacob McIntyre being the only 2
We are very very light in these positions, and Rocky is suspended for the first 2 league games. God knows what we’d do if Paul got injured

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 01:26 PM

Good question :confused:. Nohan Kenneh
His ability at interceptions would make me think he would be decent sweeper (not the best header of the ball - surprising given his height)

Stevenson among his many positions has been in the back of a 3 on a few occasions (maybe giving Obita chance out wide?)

But yes it does show how light we are at CH having sent one out on loan ... we must surely be prioritising this area over any other as its numbers not just quality that needs improving. Paul played a big chunk of season with injury and Rocky might need time (or worse break down:rolleyes:)

08-07-2023, 01:28 PM
We are very very light in these positions, and Rocky is suspended for the first 2 league games. God knows what we’d do if Paul got injured

I was thinking maybe Delferriere or even Kenneh, we do have megwa and Lewis who could fill in if needed.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 01:41 PM

Billy do you see much of youngsters these days? Surely we have one of them at CH worthy of taking on a trip like this when we are so light? (or maybe confidence on Fish / ANOther joining that we think we will be covered?)

08-07-2023, 01:52 PM
Billy do you see much of youngsters these days? Surely we have one of them at CH worthy of taking on a trip like this when we are so light? (or maybe confidence on Fish / ANOther joining that we think we will be covered?)

I think the young team ch blaney is away out on loan for the season?

08-07-2023, 02:04 PM

I don’t unfortunately. Blaney is a good player, no idea why he’s not in Spain, as Hibs haven’t announced him on loan this season

08-07-2023, 02:49 PM
Levitt starts.

08-07-2023, 02:49 PM
Team announced

Looks not far off our strongest team;

…………………Marshall………

Miller……Rocky…..Hanlon…..Stevenson……

……………..JDH……Newell…..

Youan…………Levitt………Obita…..

……….……….Le Fondre…..

08-07-2023, 02:51 PM
Marshall

Miller
Hanlon
Levitt
Youan
JDH
Newell
Stevenson
ALF
Obita
Rocky.

4-3-3 with Youan on the right and Obita on the left?

Really interesting that Obita doesn’t really seem to have come in as a left back and more as an attacking option

Marshall

Miller
Hanlon
Levitt
Youan
JDH
Newell
Stevenson
ALF
Obita
Rocky.

Aye, that's what I was thinking as well.

Team announced

…………………Marshall………

……………..JDH……Newell…..

……….……….Le Fondre…..

Beat me to it 😁 yes that's how I think we will line up.

08-07-2023, 02:52 PM
I don’t unfortunately. Blaney is a good player, no idea why he’s not in Spain, as Hibs haven’t announced him on loan this season

Is he possibly injured Billy? He missed the last few games of his loan last season and has been absent during preseason. He’d have surely been involved with the Dev team today if he was available.

ElginHibbie
08-07-2023, 02:54 PM
Really interesting that Obita doesn’t really seem to have come in as a left back and more as an attacking option

Would presume that'll only be until Boyle is back and then he will replace Lewis at LB... unless Lewis already seen off another competitor for that spot! Be a new record if so

08-07-2023, 02:55 PM
Team announced

…………………Marshall………

……………..JDH……Newell…..

……….……….Le Fondre…..

Can't see Marshall starting as number 1 but agree about rest, very strong. Boyle back in too.

08-07-2023, 02:57 PM
So game not on hibs tv? Just that youtube link??

08-07-2023, 03:08 PM

Pretty sure the Wycombe fans rated him more for his attacking play than his defending.

08-07-2023, 03:15 PM
So game not on hibs tv? Just that youtube link??

Yes I think so.

Donegal Hibby
08-07-2023, 03:18 PM
Team news .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/team-news-fc-europa-vs-hibs

08-07-2023, 03:23 PM
Marshall

Miller
Hanlon
Levitt
Youan
JDH
Newell
Stevenson
ALF
Obita
Rocky.

Possibly a 3-5-2. Interesting that after all the debate about JJ he doesn't start and JDH does. Maybe JJ not such an LJ fav after all.

FifeHibs
08-07-2023, 03:24 PM
Henderson injured?

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 03:27 PM
Henderson injured?
Hibs supporters will get to see Dylan Levitt in action for the first time for the Club!
The midfielder signed earlier this week and will start in the middle of midfield alongside Jake Doyle-Hayes and Joe Newell.
Behind them is a back four of Lewis Miller, Rocky Bushiri, Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson, with a front three of Elie Youan, Jordan Obita and Adam Le Fondre.
David Marshall starts in goals and will captain Hibs this afternoon!

Academy youngsters Reuben McAllister, Kanayo Megwa, Jacob MacIntyre and Rudi Molotnikov are all named on the bench.
Martin Boyle is still working his way back to full fitness, so will play no part in this game, whilst Ewan Henderson and Chris Cadden both miss out due to injury.

FifeHibs
08-07-2023, 03:40 PM
Thank you, he played well 2nd half last week, just noticed he was missing

JammyDoidger
08-07-2023, 03:49 PM
Henderson injured?

Offski hopefully.

08-07-2023, 03:51 PM
YouTube stream working well. Weather looks great

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 03:51 PM
stream is up on youtube

FifeHibs
08-07-2023, 03:52 PM
Offski hopefully.

I was hoping 🤣🤞

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 03:52 PM
terrible mic sound on Boyler

King Cosell
08-07-2023, 03:53 PM
Good camera angle.

JammyDoidger
08-07-2023, 03:53 PM
Got to turn the volume right up to hear anything, even at that can't hear Boyle, looking forward to seeing Levitt!

aarsan
08-07-2023, 03:54 PM
Give him a mic ffs

08-07-2023, 03:57 PM
Hopefully they sort the sound but looks like a decent pic

08-07-2023, 03:57 PM
Possibly a 3-5-2. Interesting that after all the debate about JJ he doesn't start and JDH does. Maybe JJ not such an LJ fav after all.

It’s a team from Gibraltar. We really shouldn’t have to play a DM against them.

JammyDoidger
08-07-2023, 04:02 PM
Awww man colour clash, why man.

08-07-2023, 04:02 PM
Who on earth thought it would be a good idea to wear these strips for both teams

08-07-2023, 04:03 PM
The colour clash is gonna be annoying

Hibs playing right to left?

Massive colour clash.

Why didn’t we play in Green and white?

Love the strip but it's no good against this lot, both teams strips are too dark and similar, sounds like Boyles is sitting the other side of Marbella.

08-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Which way are we kicking off 😁 Kit clash is horrible.

JammyDoidger
This away kit will be a nightmare away to Dundee, Ross county, hearts, rangers, st Johnstone, pretty much most of the league😂

F me .... How the hell do you tell which team is which, we're in all purple and they are in dark green ... this is gonna be unwatchable :confused:

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:05 PM
like Europa strip... and our purple one

F me .... How the hell do you tell which team is which, we're in all purple and they are in dark green ... this is gonna be unwatchable :confused:

Aye it's brutal!

Get the bibs on

Picture isn't bad but the contrast and strip choice means it's a pain in the **** to see who's who.

stop the game and one of the sides change to a lighter top at least :( dark shorts and socks as well ffs

Hibs3-2
Turned off. That kit clash is ridiculous.

08-07-2023, 04:06 PM

Why were not wearing the home kit is a mystery

Very hard to tell the teams apart - especially in the sun.

Annoying.

You can barely tell these teams apart.

08-07-2023, 04:10 PM
Our normal strip would've been just fine

08-07-2023, 04:11 PM
Why were not wearing the home kit is a mystery

New away shirts to sell.

CyberSauzee
Turned off. That kit clash is ridiculous.

Getting to that point myself. Unwatchable

skyehibee
Levitt looks like he’s playing holding mid, with Doyle Hayes and newell pushing further forward not what I was expecting

My eyesight must be awesome, cause I can tell green/black from purple quite easily here!

08-07-2023, 04:13 PM
Doubt I'll last much longer. This is brutal trying to differentiate between the sides

08-07-2023, 04:13 PM
Get a pair of white shorts on

Donegal Hibby
08-07-2023, 04:15 PM
We should have played in our home kit . Games been spoilt 😡

I've got it on Youtube via my stick on TV hoping it would make it better, still brutal to tell who's who.

Goal ALF

what a team ;)

Goal for Alfie.

Goal hibs

08-07-2023, 04:16 PM
Alf 1-0 Hibs

Strike from Le Fondre 👏

ALF bullets us ahead.

Pinball in the box then alf scores.

1-0 Le Fondre after pinball in the box.

Hibee Daft
I prefer the woman that says 'absolutely' all the time on commentary

Up-the-slope
My eyesight must be awesome, cause I can tell green/black from purple quite easily here!
me too .. its not great but not impossible..

As has been said its strip launch promo

JammyDoidger
Good finish that.

Haha, the Europa goalie is wearing dark blue (just to really stand out).

08-07-2023, 04:17 PM
Scores ugly

Just what we’ve been missing

08-07-2023, 04:18 PM
Obita has started well outwide on the left with a couple of runs with the ball and some simple passes.

JHFC
08-07-2023, 04:19 PM
I turned my TV brightness up, its made a little bit of a difference.

Can tell the difference easily

Conj
Not sure we could have worn green when they are wearing green but I think the biggest issue is the camera is facing the sun so we are looking at the shaded side of the players so both kits look darker, close up there is no clash at all

08-07-2023, 04:20 PM

Yes from ten feet. On the standard view and distant view it’s virtually impossible.

08-07-2023, 04:20 PM
Some decent build up play on the right from Youan and Miller.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:21 PM
looks windy

Changed my picture settings so is a little bit better.

It's like watching 22 shadows running about. It's giving me a headache..

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:22 PM
newel holding his hamstring:rolleyes:

08-07-2023, 04:22 PM
i can make out david marshall easily enough

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:23 PM
campbell on?

Newell off injured

i can make out david marshall easily enoughYup and the Ref, no problems here :greengrin

As for the rest.... :-/

Newell off injured…hopefully not serious. Campbell on

Nisbet hasn't even had a touch yet

08-07-2023, 04:24 PM
Newell off injured

Oot for 6 weeks!

08-07-2023, 04:25 PM
Obita again in the thick of things attacking wise.

08-07-2023, 04:26 PM
Really like the look of Obita so far. Big unit aswel!

Obita looks quite handy.

Bridge hibs
Actually playing some decent stuff, at least I think its hibs 🤣

Obita looks a player. Can see it instantly.

Looked a pen there for challenge on Lewis to me.

08-07-2023, 04:27 PM
Really like the look of Obita so far. Big unit aswel!

Same. Constantly looking to get on the ball and run up the wing. Using the ball well when he has it. Impressed

08-07-2023, 04:29 PM
No sure about playing Youan out wide but only a friendly, I suppose.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:31 PM
looking pretty fluid for this early in prep

08-07-2023, 04:33 PM
This is impossible to follow tbh. Strips are too similar and camera doesn’t pick them out.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:34 PM
No sure about playing Youan out wide but only a friendly, I suppose.

:greengrin... just had to happen

2-0

three points in the bag now

2-0 Campbell after some good work from Youan.

Looked a pen there for challenge on Lewis to me.

Refs a homer. :greengrin

08-07-2023, 04:35 PM
2nd leg should be a non event.

JammyDoidger
08-07-2023, 04:35 PM
No coincidence Campbell scores, he's our frank lampard, boy has the knack of arriving late. Stats don't lie, he should start for us in the 10.

08-07-2023, 04:36 PM
2-0 Campbell after some good work from Youan.

Lot of pace in this Hibs squad.

08-07-2023, 04:36 PM
We’re skooshing the league this year :hyper

08-07-2023, 04:38 PM
unlucky youan

Just found out alfs name isn’t Adam

It’s glenville!

Very close there for 3.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:39 PM
interesting boyler saying effectively that Levitt will be deep playmaker

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:41 PM
Obita is already giving more thrust and balance... also looks like Lewis might actually get some defensive help

08-07-2023, 04:42 PM

Making space for Fiorini !

interesting boyler saying effectively that Levitt will be deep playmakerYeh, have to say I'm a bit surprised by that, particularly if it means relying on JDH to play further up and provide assists/goals.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
Youan's having a good game . Impressed with Obita as well .

JammyDoidger

Hibs version of Billy Gilmour..

08-07-2023, 04:43 PM
Youan looks very sharp

Obita looks like he’ll be a good option on the left. Very athletic and comfortable with the ball, good movement. Would like to see him a bit deeper

08-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Yeh, have to say I'm a bit surprised by that, particularly if it means relying on JDH to play further up and provide assists/goals.

It won’t be a surprise to folk who have watched him play, one of his best attributes is his long range passing from deep.

Is obita the man to knock Stevenson out the team

Playing some nice stuff

Hibs4185
newel holding his hamstring:rolleyes:

Just trying to stop his transfer going through

dunfyhibby
08-07-2023, 04:46 PM

He looks really comfortable and composed on the ball

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:49 PM

Not a LB so no... but does add to flexibility / possible rotation of formations. i know its early but much better rotation in midfield too.

Defo need CH additions though as 1 injury away from a crisis there

08-07-2023, 04:52 PM
Really comfortable first half there for Hibs, I'm not sure the level of this club but they don't look great.

Youan and Miller have worked really well on the right with Obita impressing on the left.

Levitt has kept control the ball effortlessly at times and I don't think Marshall will have an easy 45 minutes of football.

Would expect a lot of changes so hopefully the 2nd half team can repeat a comfortable and dominating 45 minutes.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 04:52 PM
Team for second half? (and white strip)

08-07-2023, 04:53 PM
Not a LB so no... but does add to flexibility / possible rotation of formations. i know its early but much better rotation in midfield too.

Defo need CH additions though as 1 injury away from a crisis there

he's been a leftback most of his career...

08-07-2023, 04:54 PM
Not a bad run out so far. Echo the sentiments about Youan and Obita.

08-07-2023, 04:54 PM
Levitt playing deeper than I would have expected

08-07-2023, 04:55 PM
hopefully another few goals down the slope

08-07-2023, 04:56 PM
Really comfortable first half there for Hibs, I'm not sure the level of this club but they don't look great.

Youan and Miller have worked really well on the right with Obita impressing on the left.

Levitt has kept control the ball effortlessly at times and I don't think Marshall will have an easy 45 minutes of football.

Would expect a lot of changes so hopefully the 2nd half team can repeat a comfortable and dominating 45 minutes.

They only lost 1-0 to Portsmouth during the week.

Up-the-slope
Paul & Lewis S looking lean and fit,, must be a managers dream. I remember the old days when players would come back like an old sack and take weeks to get into any kind of shape. Such good role models to have at the club. Can see Lewis enjoying playing with Obita in front of him

It won’t be a surprise to folk who have watched him play, one of his best attributes is his long range passing from deep.Utd fans I spoke with said he played his best football in their first season with him as a 10

08-07-2023, 04:57 PM
No Lewis might get a number of games in his best position midfield.

08-07-2023, 04:58 PM
Would be surprised if it was 11 changes.

Can see Hanlon staying on and maybe Obita moving to left back

………..Wollacott…….

Megwa…..Delferriere….Hanlon……Obita…..

…………………Jeggo….Kenneh

Melkersen…..Mcallister…Mackay….

……………………Doidge…..,

08-07-2023, 04:58 PM

Witch! Witch! Ban him! Ban him!

😄

08-07-2023, 04:59 PM

Mmmm... Hope that's not set in stone. Would like to see DL given a chance in the no.10 position.
A stroll in the sun so far, although JDH is his usual grumpy self.
Miller and Obita add good physicality.
A load of changes to come to no doubt. A change of strip would be welcome too.

08-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Levitt playing deeper than I would have expected

A ball playing DM to replace Jeggo. Progress.

08-07-2023, 05:00 PM
They only lost 1-0 to Portsmouth during the week.
They played our potential opponents Vikingur in a europa conference league qualifier last year and lost 3-1 on aggregate so similar level to what we can expect.

WillowbraeHibby
08-07-2023, 05:01 PM
Witch! Witch! Ban him! Ban him!

😄

Up-the-slope
Jeggo / Kenneh be very surprised even as training game he plays 2 holding / spoiling midfielders when system has been fluid and looking to create quickly even from deep?

Tully
My sons at the game and says colours of stripes hard to distinguish so no just the telly pictures

Thought Obita looks a player, early doors and against crappy opponents but positive nonetheless

08-07-2023, 05:02 PM
No coincidence Campbell scores, he's our frank lampard, boy has the knack of arriving late. Stats don't lie, he should start for us in the 10.

Good call. I've not thought of this before but it's pretty obvious that's where he should be headed, if we've any sense.

08-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Youan looking levels above and some nice moves from Obita down the left, the give and go with Stevenson was nice.
Hopefully a good sign too that ALF is still a dangerous guy in the box.

08-07-2023, 05:04 PM
Thought Obita looks a player, early doors and against crappy opponents but positive nonetheless

Early days like you say but looks far better than Cabraja and I never minded him.

A lot more athletic and plays with far greater intensity, good movement and a good touch and left foot by the looks of it.

Cabraja had a ridiculously inconsistent left foot imo which never seemed to suit the type of player he was meant to be

08-07-2023, 05:06 PM
Youan doing his usual why beat one man when you can beat 3 at times, but he's played well so far, his tracking back improved in the 2nd half of last season and he's been good at that today as well. Obita looks good as well, pretty impressed with him so far.

Hope Newell is ok, probably just not taking any risks. Europa have a couple of tidy players, but really we are strolling this a bit, wonder how they managed to keep Portsmouth down to just one goal?

One thing though ..... we've got the ball down the sides a number of times without finding anybody with the ball in, the Campbell goal aside, still something we need to improve on.

woody47
08-07-2023, 05:06 PM
One thing for the commentary team…. It’s Gibraltarian not Gibraltan. 😊

08-07-2023, 05:07 PM
My sons at the game and says colours of stripes hard to distinguish so no just the telly pictures
Tell him to pass it on to the management. Just seen the teams back on nothing has changed😡

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 05:08 PM
Miller & JDH both off... as red card cantidates :greengrin

Megwa for miller, Jeggo for JDH and McAllister for Levitt.

Youan looks top drawer. Obita looking very good too. Great finish from ALF.

Tell him to pass it on to the management. Just seen the teams back on nothing has changed😡

Just needed shorts changing that would have helped.

08-07-2023, 05:09 PM
Melkersen arriving late to the second half and replacing Obita.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 05:09 PM
looking forward to see Reuben play and also if the Melky Bar Kid has progressed

08-07-2023, 05:12 PM
Anyone else lost audio on youtube stream?

08-07-2023, 05:15 PM
Gottae feel for Boyler in that heat, having to stick a sleeping bag over his heid whenever he wants to say something.

08-07-2023, 05:16 PM
Gottae feel for Boyler in that heat, having to stick a sleeping bag over his heid whenever he wants to say something.

08-07-2023, 05:16 PM
I’d sub Youan before one of there players breaks his leg

08-07-2023, 05:17 PM

Get Rudi on.

08-07-2023, 05:18 PM
Another shocker on Youan

08-07-2023, 05:19 PM

And there it is.

Been a few meaty challenges gone in this half, someone tell them it's a bloody friendly.

This is a friendly isn’t it?

Apparently same thing happened in theirast game against Portsmouth. Dirty *******s.

****ing get him off LJ

Just walk off, **** this

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 05:20 PM
where VAR :greengrin

08-07-2023, 05:23 PM
Get Jeggo to return the favour tenfold.

08-07-2023, 05:24 PM
six subs :)

08-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Kenneh straight to CH, a position he should be comfortable at.

Stairway 2 7
08-07-2023, 05:27 PM
Problem with playing no marks in a friendly, some want to do a professional player for a story

An unusual defence

Doidge Time

08-07-2023, 05:28 PM
An unusual defence

Shows we need bodies in.

08-07-2023, 05:30 PM
An unusual defence

No idea what formation we’re playing

Kenneh and Delf centre back.

Mackay on the right and Megwa left?

Campbell, Jeggo, Mccalister and Rudi somewhere in the middle with Doidge and Melkersen up top I think.

If that is the case I feel a bit for Mackay being chucked in at essentially right back

08-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Kenneh looking very composed at the back, maybe the position for him.

08-07-2023, 05:32 PM

You think? He almost gave me a heart attack with some of his play when he just came on 🤣

08-07-2023, 05:34 PM
You think? He almost gave me a heart attack with some of his play when he just came on 🤣

Tbf he was bit exposed, still don't think he's good enough though.

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 05:34 PM
No idea what formation we’re playing

Kenneh and Delf centre back.

Mackay on the right and Megwa left?

Campbell, Jeggo, Mccalister and Rudi somewhere in the middle with Doidge and Melkersen up top I think.

If that is the case I feel a bit for Mackay being chucked in at essentially right back

Yup thats it.. interesting Megwa swapping sides. I reckoned that Kenneh should be decent at CH (more chance there than midfield at the moment)
4-4-2 with 4 playing a dimond with JJ at bottom of it

08-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Got to wonder what Ethan Laidlaw is thinking seeing all his mates and teammates playing for the first team and he’s still not signed anywhere

08-07-2023, 05:38 PM
Been pretty average this half. Too many subs.

cameronw-hfc
Not been in it much but Doidge looking a lot more mobile than last season.

oor josh hits the post

08-07-2023, 05:40 PM
McAllister seems pretty decent.

08-07-2023, 05:41 PM

The difference in the use of the ball, both speed and accuracy has been massive

08-07-2023, 05:42 PM
Utd fans I spoke with said he played his best football in their first season with him as a 10

They might have said that but it’s not true. Dun Utd rarely played with someone in the number 10 role under Coutts and when they did it would have been Harkes or Pawlett.

08-07-2023, 05:43 PM

Pre season friendly, you'll always get loads of subs, got to get minutes into their legs.

Stubbsy90+2
08-07-2023, 05:46 PM
Might have been mentioned already but is it just me or are these two strips impossible to distinguish between on this stream.

Edit: just went back to the start of the thread. Glad I’m not alone :greengrin

08-07-2023, 05:46 PM
Pre season friendly, you'll always get loads of subs, got to get minutes into their legs.

Yes I know just would have been nice to see the same flow to the play.

King Cosell
08-07-2023, 05:47 PM
5,710 watching. Good turnout.

08-07-2023, 05:52 PM
Megwa is a player - every time I’ve seen him he’s impressed

Up-the-slope
08-07-2023, 05:53 PM
5,710 watching. Good turnout.

5700 still trying to work out which way Hibs are shooting

churchie16
08-07-2023, 05:53 PM
Wouldn’t write off kennehs hibs career just yet hopefully the loan move done him a bit good far better on the ball and mobile than some that play his position

08-07-2023, 05:56 PM
2-0 ft

08-07-2023, 05:57 PM
Hope Newell injury not too bad.

Decent run out in terms of minutes etc.

08-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Can't really complain about that and Johnson will be happy with that, minutes in the legs of everybody and a comfortable 2-0 win.

Could of been a lot more and thought McAllister done well for himself second half.

Bournemouth will be tougher task but you can only play what you have in front of you.

08-07-2023, 05:59 PM
That was a hard watch. Who's idea was it to play in such similar kits FFS.

08-07-2023, 06:01 PM

He’s got great feet.

Bridge hibs
08-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Thought the young lads done well, I like Megwa and think he could be a good one, looks quite composed and confident on the ball

08-07-2023, 06:06 PM
Kind of all turned into a bit of nothing after half time to be honest. F'in daft challenge on Youan, have to wonder what was going through the boys heid, don't even know if the ref booked him.

Boiling hot and a fiery pitch probably didn't help, but some of our passing was definitely of the pre season variety in the 2nd half and we nearly lost a goal to a simple ball over the top from midfield to a forward somehow in yards of space right through the middle, good save by Jojo to be fair.

On to the next game.

Donegal Hibby
08-07-2023, 06:12 PM
I thought Youan was excellent and Obita looks a player too . Think Alf will score goals for us. Young lads McAllister and Megwa looked good . Hope Newell's injury isn't to serious. Good workout for our team and lots to be positive about 👍

08-07-2023, 06:14 PM
I thought Youan was excellent and Obita looks a player too . Think Alf will score goals for us. Young lads McAllister and Megwa looked good . Hope Newell's injury isn't to serious. Good workout for our team and lots to be positive about ��

Absolutely. Levitt, although playing deeper than I thought he would, also looked good. Definitely looks to get the ball up the pitch and into dangerous spaces far more often. Impressed after a few days with the team.

Benny Brazil
08-07-2023, 06:20 PM
Absolutely. Levitt, although playing deeper than I thought he would, also looked good. Definitely looks to get the ball up the pitch and into dangerous spaces far more often. Impressed after a few days with the team.

Was impressed with his reading of the game, always seemed to know where to be or where the ball was

08-07-2023, 08:02 PM
Didn't see the game how did dylan get on?

08-07-2023, 08:12 PM
I didn't see the game but they strips are nothing alike

Must've been the camera/sun [emoji1787]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230708/dae454489214a81653b1e752ac6db568.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

08-07-2023, 08:17 PM
Many fans did we have at the game?

08-07-2023, 08:18 PM
I didn't see the game but they strips are nothing alike

Must've been the camera/sun [emoji1787]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230708/dae454489214a81653b1e752ac6db568.jpg

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
It was near enough impossible to see who was who. The camera was pointed into the Sun so the players were just silhouettes.

08-07-2023, 08:27 PM
Many fans did we have at the game?

dude commentating reckoned approx 100

08-07-2023, 08:36 PM
dude commentating reckoned approx 100

Well done to every one of them

08-07-2023, 09:32 PM

Still better than jeggo tho.

Donegal Hibby
08-07-2023, 09:47 PM
Hope Newell injury not too bad.

Decent run out in terms of minutes etc.
Hopefully it's just a tweak and nothing serious. We were lucky today we didn't lose Youan too , that was a shocking challenge on him .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/elie-youan-avoids-horror-hibs-30422515

08-07-2023, 10:20 PM

Far too deep for my liking, he’s a forward thinking player as opposed to JDH who always seems to look for a backward pass. It’s like Villa playing SJM in that position and taking his influence out of the game. Just a friendly and many more games to go but I don’t think that’s a good use of him in that position.

08-07-2023, 10:24 PM
Far too deep for my liking, he’s a forward thinking player as opposed to JDH who always seems to look for a backward pass. It’s like Villa playing SJM in that position and taking his influence out of the game. Just a friendly and many more games to go but I don’t think that’s a good use of him in that position.

JDH was all forward today. Levitt was very cool under pressure. Huge difference when both went off. Having players that can rotate is hugely important when we play against teams that sit in.

08-07-2023, 10:48 PM
JDH was all forward today. Levitt was very cool under pressure. Huge difference when both went off. Having players that can rotate is hugely important when we play against teams that sit in.

In general JDH likes to play backwards, I can remember one today when the whole team were on attack, he was on the wing at the 18 yard box and chose to pass it back into our own half. Obviously he doesn’t always do it but I’d rather have Dylan playing further forward than JDH. I think his goals, assists and general ability to beat a man and find a defence cutting pass is better than JDH. It’s not even a close comparison TBH.

08-07-2023, 10:50 PM

There were a couple of passes Levitt made from deep where he took 3 or 4 of their players out the game. We’ve been lacking that in a deeper position for ages. Too often, with the midfielders we’ve had, it’s been 20 passes to go nowhere. When you see us being linked with the likes of Fiorini that makes more sense if we intend to play with Levitt a bit deeper. From what Boyle mentioned and Johnson talking afterwards about him having the ability to ‘orchestrate’ a game, I expect the role he played today to be his role. I don’t think it means he’ll not be allowed to get in to advanced areas but I don’t think he’ll be playing as a 10.

08-07-2023, 10:58 PM
There were a couple of passes Levitt made from deep where he took 3 or 4 of their players out the game. We’ve been lacking that in a deeper position for ages. Too often, with the midfielders we’ve had, it’s been 20 passes to go nowhere. When you see us being linked with the likes of Fiorini that makes more sense if we intend to play with Levitt a bit deeper. From what Boyle mentioned and Johnson talking afterwards about him having the ability to ‘orchestrate’ a game, I expect the role he played today to be his role. I don’t think it means he’ll not be allowed to get in to advanced areas but I don’t think he’ll be playing as a 10.

I still think it’s similar to SJM being played deep at Villa when he has much more impact further forward. There’s no way I’d play JDH further forward than Levitt, it seems completely wrong to me unless as you say there are other signings on the cards that fits the remit. It was just a friendly after all, maybe just easing him in slowly, who knows.

The Wireless
08-07-2023, 11:05 PM
Totally agree with this analysis. Levitt is quality and linked from back to front. So good that this lad has been brought in as you could see he is a step up.Biggest compliment I could give the starting XI today was their willingness to work hard for each other in extreme conditions and the omens look encouraging for the season ahead. It was noticeable our new signings have given us a physicality which I have not seen for years. Early days but a very promising start.

08-07-2023, 11:25 PM
I still think it’s similar to SJM being played deep at Villa when he has much more impact further forward. There’s no way I’d play JDH further forward than Levitt, it seems completely wrong to me unless as you say there are other signings on the cards that fits the remit. It was just a friendly after all, maybe just easing him in slowly, who knows.

I thought he went in deep at times but it wasn’t as if he was restricted to just sitting in there. One of my pet hates in football is midfielders being labelled as a 6 or a 10 or whatever (even though I did it in my last post). If we’ve got a good out and out central midfielder who can go and get on the ball and get us playing but still rotate and step forward when the time is right then it’ll really benefit us as a team. Particularly with the wide players we have we need to get the ball moving up the park quicker than we’ve seen in recent seasons.

MikeyS
08-07-2023, 11:42 PM
I thought he went in deep at times but it wasn’t as if he was restricted to just sitting in there. One of my pet hates in football is midfielders being labelled as a 6 or a 10 or whatever (even though I did it in my last post). If we’ve got a good out and out central midfielder who can go and get on the ball and get us playing but still rotate and step forward when the time is right then it’ll really benefit us as a team. Particularly with the wide players we have we need to get the ball moving up the park quicker than we’ve seen in recent seasons.

Totally agree, just let the good players go out and trust them to be good players. Too many fixated on cm, dm, am Football Manager positions!

08-07-2023, 11:56 PM

Spot on. He’s not Scott Alan but he may be what we need in the vast majority of games.

09-07-2023, 10:21 AM
If he can stay clear of niggling injuries then I'm thinking Miller will become a very good player for us this season, him and Boyle/Youan will cause a lot of teams problems on the right side.

Seems a confident lad also.

09-07-2023, 12:01 PM
I was also surprised to see DL being played so deep but I can understand the rationale. A couple of his turns and movement forward were top class.
FWIW, I'm not a fan of either Jeggo or Kenneh, but I thought, after 1st few minutes, they settled in and did well. We have to remember not one of our finishing 11 will probably be an automatic starter this season. Also if you take Doidge and Jeggo out the average age of our other 8 outfield finishers was probably in the teens!
PS, I liked McAllister, unusually for a leftie not afraid to use his right foot.

09-07-2023, 06:03 PM
Kind of all turned into a bit of nothing after half time to be honest. F'in daft challenge on Youan, have to wonder what was going through the boys heid, don't even know if the ref booked him.

Boiling hot and a fiery pitch probably didn't help, but some of our passing was definitely of the pre season variety in the 2nd half and we nearly lost a goal to a simple ball over the top from midfield to a forward somehow in yards of space right through the middle, good save by Jojo to be fair.

On to the next game.

Boy got a yellow, but was lucky. Our bench less than amused at tackle

09-07-2023, 06:06 PM
There were some meaty challenges for a friendly. It was roasting watching, players did well to play in that heat

09-07-2023, 06:07 PM
Boy got a yellow, but was lucky. Our bench less than amused at tackle

Absolute shocker of a challenge.

09-07-2023, 06:10 PM
Absolute shocker of a challenge.

It was ridiculous. I thought he went ti do Youan

09-07-2023, 06:15 PM
Any news on Newell injury?

09-07-2023, 06:17 PM
Any news on Newell injury?

Sat with ice pack on after he came off, looked like a strain. Hopefully nothing to concern. It was extremely hot too, so hopefully taken off as precaution

09-07-2023, 06:30 PM
Sat with ice pack on after he came off, looked like a strain. Hopefully nothing to concern. It was extremely hot too, so hopefully taken off as precaution

Yeah hopefully just precautionary. No point taking any risks in a friendly.

11-07-2023, 10:32 PM
Bournemouth have knocked back a request from LJ to push back KO time a couple of hours after reports it will be approx 40c at 6PM