View Full Version : Transfer windows must be tough to manage
06-07-2023, 08:18 AM
People often say "Just buy a striker/midfielder/CH" etc, but it really must be a taxing and nerve wracking time for the vast majority of clubs. Those with wads of cash can usually get their way, but even the mega rich clubs lose out.
We express interest in player A who would be perfect for the squad, but he can't/won't commit until he sees what else is on offer.
We then look for an alternative, but we can't do much about the fee or personal terms because we're still hoping player A will sign.
Then we have our players being targeted by other clubs. The price isn't right but the player wants to go, or maybe it's the reverse. Do we have a replacement in the squad? If not, is one available.
It sounds like a nightmare to me and I'm only scratching the surface. No wonder it's so difficult to get right.
06-07-2023, 08:22 AM
Agreed. A lot of snakes and hangers on wanting their piece of the pie as well. It's a brutal few months. I try and just ignore it really. As always, we'll get a few good ones, few average, few rubbish.
06-07-2023, 06:54 PM
People often say "Just buy a striker/midfielder/CH" etc, but it really must be a taxing and nerve wracking time for the vast majority of clubs. Those with wads of cash can usually get their way, but even the mega rich clubs lose out.
We express interest in player A who would be perfect for the squad, but he can't/won't commit until he sees what else is on offer.
We then look for an alternative, but we can't do much about the fee or personal terms because we're still hoping player A will sign.
Then we have our players being targeted by other clubs. The price isn't right but the player wants to go, or maybe it's the reverse. Do we have a replacement in the squad? If not, is one available.
It sounds like a nightmare to me and I'm only scratching the surface. No wonder it's so difficult to get right.
Well said Ben 😃
06-07-2023, 09:27 PM
Piece of piss really…
Don’t sign youngsters, don’t sign auld folk, don’t sign players hibs.net posters haven’t heard of, don’t sign former hibs players, don’t sign former hearts players, don’t sign players that have ever missed a game through injury, sign players asap but don’t just sign anyone, don’t sign anyone in the last day of the season as it’s desperation and they clearly didn’t regard hibs as their first option, don’t sign anyone unless they play a position that hibs.net have outlined as a priority, and don’t sign anyone called ‘Rocky’ because then people might call him ‘Rocky’.
06-07-2023, 09:35 PM
There are so many variables, must be so difficult.
Fans go through phases too - have a squad full of British player and well moan we don’t experiment enough. Try and experiment with foreign leagues and we need more British players.
Buy players that have played Championship - league 2 and England and we say it’s lower league crap. Sign players from better leagues and all of a sudden we need to sign tried and tested players.
Sign a ball playing defensive mid like McGeough and we moan we’re too soft. Sign a ball winner like Bartley and we say he needs to be better on the ball.
Then there’s planning signings/selling folk and things completely outwith your control coming up - look at McKirdy for example.
Us as fans struggle to agree on players that are good enough or we should go for, imagine how tough it would be actually calling the shots especially when fans voice their opinion
06-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Fans go through phases too - have a squad full of British player and well moan we don’t experiment enough. Try and experiment with foreign leagues and we need more British players.
Remember being at a couple of fans forums when Duffy was in charge. They were exactly that between the first and second events.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-07-2023, 06:35 AM
The price is wrong, bitch
07-07-2023, 07:00 AM
Piece of piss really…
Don’t sign youngsters, don’t sign auld folk, don’t sign players hibs.net posters haven’t heard of, don’t sign former hibs players, don’t sign former hearts players, don’t sign players that have ever missed a game through injury, sign players asap but don’t just sign anyone, don’t sign anyone in the last day of the season as it’s desperation and they clearly didn’t regard hibs as their first option, don’t sign anyone unless they play a position that hibs.net have outlined as a priority, and don’t sign anyone called ‘Rocky’ because then people might call him ‘Rocky’.
In a (large) nutshell
07-07-2023, 08:16 AM
Piece of piss really…
:faf: :applause:
Right, where were we?
07-07-2023, 09:48 PM
:faf: :applause:
Right, where were we?
Uh, you were gonna punch me.
07-07-2023, 10:02 PM
This would make things a bit better:
£10 million transfer cap, £10,000 p/w wage cap, rising in line with inflation every season. Inclusive of all bonuses and add-ons.
Agents to be paid a flat salary by their clients, agent fees banned.
Any club trying to circumvent these rules i.e. by procuring sponsorship deals etc - automatic two year transfer ban and two-year ban from continental tournaments, reduced to one if successfully appealed. A second strike incurs the above + automatic relegation.
One transfer window in pre-season with no restrictions; window closes before the first league fixture.
Second transfer window clubs are permitted only to sign to replace a sold or injured player; players cannot be transferred between teams in the same league except in the close season.
Managers can only move to other clubs during transfer windows, with the same financial caps as above.
Any club which enters administration is automatically relegated to the league below the league they would ordinarily begin the following season in (i.e. two league drop if they finish in the relegation spot) - no appeals.
Mandatory fan ownership of clubs via the 51+49 model, with season ticket holders automatically granted a share; any votes the club casts in FA-wide meetings are decided by ballot of season ticket holders
08-07-2023, 01:56 PM
Piece of piss really…
Great post, but the highlighted bit made me laugh out loud. :greengrin:top marks
08-07-2023, 01:58 PM
Piece of piss really…
Is that the Hibs.net version of the train spotting speech Choose Life ?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
08-07-2023, 08:53 PM
Is that the Hibs.net version of the train spotting speech Choose Life ?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Funny the same thing came to my mind when writing it, but I’m nae Irvine!