View Full Version : Josh Campbell

05-07-2023, 12:02 PM
It will be interesting to see how he develops this year. He obviously had a ropey start to his Hibs career, albeit not helped by being in a poor Maloney team. He had many good games last season, but tailed off towards the end of the season as his energy levels dropped.

He needs to keep the forward momentum and continue his improvement as a footballer, whether that be at the Hibees or elsewhere.

05-07-2023, 12:08 PM
I thought he made a great start to his career under Jack Ross to be very fair to him. Honestly don’t think anyone came out of the Maloney spell covered in glory.

05-07-2023, 12:30 PM
Improved a bit last year and had great physical attributes but needs to get better on the ball and become more proactive.

If the rumoured interest from Italy is legit I'd cash on, otherwise he'll be a reasonable squad player for this season.

05-07-2023, 12:48 PM
Shouldn't be a nailed on starter for a team looking to really challenge for 3rd. Decent squad player though

05-07-2023, 01:03 PM
Has a lot of strengths to his game but is too often let down by his passing. We can’t get away with having both Jeggo and Campbell in midfield when they are having an off day with their passing. He also appears to have a bit of the Jekyll and Hyde about him in terms of his home and away performances. He doesn’t impose himself in games away from home as he does when playing at Easter Road, he seems to play within himself sometimes.

greenlad
05-07-2023, 01:39 PM
I'm a little surprised at some of the criticism Josh gets, and that's me speaking as someone who initially didn't see what he brought to the team.

For me he's a potentially cracking player, his first few years have been as part of a weaker midfield and I'd love to see how he'd develop in a more complete team. Great attitude and he gives goals and running power from midfield like no one we've had for years. I can't understand the keenness by some to offload him on the cheap.

tonyrougier123
05-07-2023, 02:02 PM
Arguably our best midfielder on his day. More assists and goals than the rest of the midfield. Eye for a pass pops up with goals, I really like Josh Campbell.

05-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Think he will go from strength to strength

05-07-2023, 02:26 PM
I'm a little surprised at some of the criticism Josh gets, and that's me speaking as someone who initially didn't see what he brought to the team.

For me he's a potentially cracking player, his first few years have been as part of a weaker midfield and I'd love to see how he'd develop in a more complete team. Great attitude and he gives goals and running power from midfield like no one we've had for years. I can't understand the keenness by some to offload him on the cheap.
Seem to recall there were a few on here that didn't rate Doig either.

supermcginn
05-07-2023, 02:31 PM
Shouldn't be a nailed on starter for a team looking to really challenge for 3rd. Decent squad player though

Yeah he was out the team at the end of the season and with Levitt signing his starts will probably be few and far between.

05-07-2023, 02:49 PM
LJ and his coaches clearly improved him last season. Hopefully he can improve again.

05-07-2023, 04:13 PM
Arguably our best midfielder on his day. More assists and goals than the rest of the midfield. Eye for a pass pops up with goals, I really like Josh Campbell.

Plenty more to playing midfield than goals and assists, though. Newell is twice the footballer Josh is, although Campbell does have a good habit of grabbing goals. His passing really isn't anything special at all, probably a weakness if anything. He was decent in the first half of last season, much improved. He certainly adds something.

Newell had 7 assists to Joshes 5 last season btw.

05-07-2023, 04:42 PM

Probably helped by the fact Newell takes corners.

wills
05-07-2023, 04:47 PM
Young lad with bags of energy, but think there might be a offer in for him before this transfer window closes

05-07-2023, 05:20 PM
Big season for him. Has to keep improving. Could be an international player or sold off to a lower Premiership club. All to play for JC.

tonyrougier123
05-07-2023, 05:32 PM
Plenty more to playing midfield than goals and assists, though. Newell is twice the footballer Josh is, although Campbell does have a good habit of grabbing goals. His passing really isn't anything special at all, probably a weakness if anything. He was decent in the first half of last season, much improved. He certainly adds something.

Who mentioned newell thought this was a Campbell thread?
Got to say you talk some nonsense,goals win games and if your scoring and assisting you’ve got more chance of winning games,as for his passing, some cracking through balls and ofcourse assists either crosses or squared for other
Players by Campbell. Newell still splits opinion,not that I’m making this thread about Joe newell. I like both it’s not one or the other for me. But Campbell proved his worth last season. As for twice the footballer? How would you measure that in a midfielder who’s meant to create btw? Goals assists or two feet sideways passes? Joe would blow Campbell out the water with the latter.

05-07-2023, 05:40 PM
Who mentioned newell thought this was a Campbell thread?
Got to say you talk some nonsense,goals win games and if your scoring and assisting you’ve got more chance of winning games,as for his passing, some cracking through balls and ofcourse assists either crosses or squared for other
Players by Campbell. Newell still splits opinion,not that I’m making this thread about Joe newell. I like both it’s not one or the other for me. But Campbell proved his worth last season. As for twice the footballer? How would you measure that in a midfielder who’s meant to create btw? Goals assists or two feet sideways passes? Joe would blow Campbell out the water with the latter.

Where do I even start. Midfield is about significantly more than goals or assists. Newell doesn't split opinion. The vast majority know how good he is.

I don't dislike Campbell. He's improved a lot. If his all round game reaches Newell's level, he'll be a fantastic player.

tonyrougier123
05-07-2023, 05:58 PM
Where do I even start. Midfield is about significantly more than goals or assists. Newell doesn't split opinion. The vast majority know how good he is.

I don't dislike Campbell. He's improved a lot. If his all round game reaches Newell's level, he'll be a fantastic player.
I don’t want to turn this into an argument about two players who could be huge for us next season,how about we just agree that the two bring enough to the squad to be considered good players to have in our squad,we’ve had enough guff over the years who’ve brought nothing,let’s just get behind the two of them and stop comparing.

06-07-2023, 12:00 PM
Big season for him. Has to keep improving. Could be an international player or sold off to a lower Premiership club. All to play for JC.

Yes, big season as you said, which is why I started the thread.

I feel with his energy and ability to score goals, he is the type of player that all managers would want in their team. He could compliment an already effective midfield. However, he has to work hard, the second he drops his energy levels he becomes ineffective.

06-07-2023, 12:04 PM
With Levitt in he’ll play less football for us. Levitt is a massive upgrade.

06-07-2023, 12:08 PM

If Campbell makes the international team then I’d be utterly amazed. Scotland would have to be without a whole load of midfielders before he’d be anywhere near a cap.

06-07-2023, 01:11 PM

I can’t fault the guys efforts but there’s no danger he’s getting called up or playing in the Premiership🙄

MikeyS
06-07-2023, 01:14 PM
I can’t fault the guys efforts but there’s no danger he’s getting called up or playing in the Premiership🙄

Its no happening unless he has an Northern Irish grandparent & I'd imagine we will be the biggest club he plays for. Good to have has a squad player though.

06-07-2023, 03:04 PM
Josh got 8 league goals last season, Levitt has got 5 in each of his last 2 seasons at United
I’d have Josh in my Hibs team every week

06-07-2023, 03:06 PM
Can see Josh, ending up playing in Italy and doing really well, his game is well suited for them and he could end up making Hibs a fortune, along with a very good football career.

06-07-2023, 03:10 PM
With Levitt in he’ll play less football for us. Levitt is a massive upgrade.

They are both young lads with good potential. Levitt will gain his detractors over the season from those not willing to give him time to settle and continue to learn his craft. Hes a skilfull player so to some he will be easy to push off the ball or not applying himself, he will disappear in some games but the lad can play a bit. With Jish I hope at least the majority of fans are patient hes got potential he is not the finished article.

06-07-2023, 03:23 PM
Has some top qualities in his engine, pressing, movement, shooting but his technical ability really lets him down imo, loses the ball needlessly often and doesn't have the best first touch or passing.

Don't think he'll be a starter every week this season now we've signed Levitt, if an Italian or Championship team offered us upwards of £1 million I'd definitely take it.

06-07-2023, 03:31 PM
Josh got 8 league goals last season, Levitt has got 5 in each of his last 2 seasons at United

I've not read anything about Levitt playing a number 10 role at United, so I'm not sure where this idea that he'll replace Campbell is coming from.

06-07-2023, 03:35 PM
Josh will be a workhorse in any midfield he plays in. If he continues to work hard he will have an excellent career. He's a player though that I think will always be underrated by fans and as soon as he has a few poor games there will be calls to move him on. He's struggled at the end of the season and the turnaround in opinion on here was apparent.

Hibees1973
06-07-2023, 03:36 PM

We certainly have a lot worse midfielders at the club than Campbell.

The thing about bringing in new players is that it makes the squad more competitive. Not proven yet that Levitt is better than Campbell.

It's up to Campbell to improve, score goals, be consistent and nail down a 1st team place. If he does this then Levitt will have a job on his hands to get into the 1st team.

06-07-2023, 04:01 PM
I've not read anything about Levitt playing a number 10 role at United, so I'm not sure where this idea that he'll replace Campbell is coming from.

I wouldn’t be surprised to see us tweak the shape and have Levitt and Newell as more advanced 8s. With Jeggo or a new player anchoring the midfield behind them. Remove the role that Campbell often played.

Given the number of games Campbell played as a 10 arguably he didn’t get enough goal involvements. It’s also why it’s really pointless when people compare Campbell with Newell (ie Campbell had more goals than Newell). Be as well comparing the goal tallies of Nisbet to Hanlon.

EDIT - I would also say that Levitt can replace Jeggo in some games and be more of a deep lying playmaker. He gives us loads of options in how to configure the midfield 3

10-07-2023, 08:31 AM
IMO, folk saying they would take 1 mill for Josh right now need their heads looked at, its the too wee too poor menatlity that gets us crap bids for players, Scotland is under valued and has been for years. SKY and the f,n SPFL have been underselling/buying our game for years.
Same attitude as the yoonionists that would sell oor nation oot tae, but thats for another day. Josh will go for more than 1 mill, as I said SJM and Doig would. Then again were no aw fitba managers eh.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 08:47 AM
IMO, folk saying they would take 1 mill for Josh right now need their heads looked at, its the too wee too poor menatlity that gets us crap bids for players, Scotland is under valued and has been for years. SKY and the f,n SPFL have been underselling/buying our game for years.
Same attitude as the yoonionists that would sell oor nation oot tae, but thats for another day. Josh will go for more than 1 mill, as I said SJM and Doig would. Then again were no aw fitba managers eh.

I'd want more for him too though I wouldn't be in any rush to lose him as he's on a long contract and probably the best midfielder we have that can chip in with a few goals too .

10-07-2023, 09:52 AM
We'd be nuts to sell Josh Campbell and i hope we turn down any bids for him unless it's too good a bid to turn down. He's a player who keeps on improving.

Paulie Walnuts
10-07-2023, 09:55 AM
We'd be nuts to sell Josh Campbell and i hope we turn down any bids for him unless it's too good a bid to turn down. He's a player who keeps on improving.

Would we?

He’s likely to not be part of a first choice midfield this season. If offers of around £1m come in for a guy who is likely to be on the bench when everyone’s fit and available then you take it imo.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 10:38 AM
100% agree . Unless the offers to good to turn down it would be a bad decisions to sell . He's really improved greatly under LJ and there's no reason why he won't improve more this season either. He's also on a long term contract so theres no need for us to lose Campbell who is the best goalscoring midfielder we have at our club.

10-07-2023, 11:23 AM
Josh Campbell is a useful squad player but will not be in our starting XI next season should everyone be fit. Crazy to suggest the club would turn down even half the figure quoted🙄

10-07-2023, 11:36 AM
Josh Campbell is a useful squad player but will not be in our starting XI next season should everyone be fit. Crazy to suggest the club would turn down even half the figure quoted🙄

Ok Lee.

10-07-2023, 11:39 AM
It's going to be Newell, Levitt and one other. In plenty games that will be Jeggo, in others it will be JDH or Campbell. It's good to have options.

Campbell took a step forward last season but I'm still not convinced he gets in our best 11 as it stands. He's fairly versatile though so will still play plenty football.

10-07-2023, 11:39 AM
Italian teams don't scout bad players

Paulie Walnuts
10-07-2023, 11:50 AM
Italian teams don't scout bad players

Do they not? How do they manage to keep their 100% success rate?

10-07-2023, 11:59 AM
Seem to recall there were a few on here that didn't rate Doig either.

Is there a worthwhile comparison here that I’m missing?

Josh D looked like ‘a player’ as soon as he broke into the first team squad, and not surprisingly attracted a lot of interest from other clubs. Josh C has taken longer to get to where he is now, and I still wonder about his potential.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 12:05 PM
Josh Campbell is a useful squad player but will not be in our starting XI next season should everyone be fit. Crazy to suggest the club would turn down even half the figure quoted🙄Josh Campbell is our best goalscoring midfielder at the club , who else scores goals from midfield in our team ?.The reason selling him is being discussed is because he is the most valuable midfield player we have to sell which would suggest he's obviously one of the better midfielders we have at our club . He's also the only attacking midfielder we have at the moment. If Josh Campbell betters his goalscoring record this season and hits 10 or 12 goals which helps us get 3rd place it will be worth far more to us than the £1 million some are talking about even suggesting taking half that is crazy. Campbell will be in the mix for a starting spot next season along with Levitt , Jeggo and Newell in midfield imo as he offers something totally different to our other midfielders which is GOALS.

PHeffernan
10-07-2023, 12:06 PM
Nisbet and Porteous had to be sold because they were contracted for less than a year.
Doig was sold to bring in good money.

There are currently no Hibs players of value who have less than two years on their contracts so there is no pressure to sell any of them until next summer when we will again look to sell one to fund our transfer and salary budget for new players.
My prediction is that Youan will be that man if he has a decent season.

As for Campbell, I reckon only the coaching staff and management will have an accurate idea of his ability and potential.
They have all the stats and see him every day.
I would also ignore the lazy journalism about Italian interest in Campbell on the back of the success of Ferguson, Doig and Hickey in Italy. As far as I know there is no evidence of this.
He could well become the new Mr Hibs with the contracts of Hanlon and Stevenson ending next summer.

10-07-2023, 12:09 PM
Josh Campbell is our best goalscoring midfielder at the club , who else scores goals from midfield in our team ?.The reason selling him is being discussed is because he is the most valuable midfield player we have to sell which would suggest he's obviously one of the better midfielders we have at our club . He's also the only attacking midfielder we have at the moment.

If Josh Campbell betters his goalscoring record this season and hits 10 or 12 goals which helps us get 3rd place it will be worth far more to us than the £1 million some are talking about even suggesting taking half that is crazy. Campbell will be in the mix for a starting spot next season along with Levitt and Newell in midfield imo as he offers something totally different to our other midfielders which is GOALS.

Absolutely. Box to box goalscoring midfielder, you just need to see the stats on how much he contributes in effort and impact. Yes he tailed off a little in last 6 or so games but he is young and that should be expected. If he has another strong or even better season we are talking about having another £3-4m player minimum.

Paulie Walnuts
10-07-2023, 12:18 PM
Josh Campbell is our best goalscoring midfielder at the club , who else scores goals from midfield in our team ?.The reason selling him is being discussed is because he is the most valuable midfield player we have to sell which would suggest he's obviously one of the better midfielders we have at our club . He's also the only attacking midfielder we have at the moment. If Josh Campbell betters his goalscoring record this season and hits 10 or 12 goals which helps us get 3rd place it will be worth far more to us than the £1 million some are talking about even suggesting taking half that is crazy. Campbell will be in the mix for a starting spot next season along with Levitt , Jeggo and Newell in midfield imo as he offers something totally different to our other midfielders which is GOALS.

Levitt will be expected to score goals and I fully expect him to take Josh Campbell’s place.

He’s the most valuable midfield player we have to sell (although Levitt is arguably that now) because Newell is past his peak and the rest aren’t all that. Newell is a better player, Levitt will be expected to be a better player and being better than the others is no great feat.

I suppose it comes down to whether you think 9 goals in a season is likely to be the norm from Josh Campbell going forward. I’d be very surprised if he’s anywhere near that next season and when you add that to his poor technical ability I reckon £1m would be a great deal for a player I can’t see starting every week.

10-07-2023, 12:20 PM
Absolutely. Box to box goalscoring midfielder, you just need to see the stats on how much he contributes in effort and impact. Yes he tailed off a little in last 6 or so games but he is young and that should be expected. If he has another strong or even better season we are talking about having another £3-4m player minimum.

I think he’d have to have an absolutely outstanding season to be talking about that kind of money. A season similar to the one just gone doesn’t have you close to talking about those numbers.

Campbell improved last season, hopefully he can improve again. As it stands I’m not convinced he’ll be starting every week never mind being a multi million pound player.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 12:29 PM
Exactly . If he improve's more and has a better season than the last one his value will rise and we might also benefit by qualifying for the European group game's which in itself is worth a lot of cash . It's going to be a long hard season and if we are to have any ambition's of 3rd and trying for a cup 🤞 we are going to need our better players specially when they are on a long term contract and we don't have to sell unless we are offered silly money of course and imo £500k or £1million isn't anywhere near that TBH for a player like Campbell.

10-07-2023, 12:31 PM
I think he’d have to have an absolutely outstanding season to be talking about that kind of money. A season similar to the one just gone doesn’t have you close to talking about those numbers.

Campbell improved last season, hopefully he can improve again. As it stands I’m not convinced he’ll be starting every week never mind being a multi million pound player.

He's not really that young either. 23 and 76 1st team games for Hibs, his scope for massive improvement is fairly limited. He improved last year then tailed off and I'd be curious how many people would wedge him into their starting 11 when the 'team for tomorrow' thread goes up before the 1st game of the season.

£3-4M puts him in the John McGinn and Scott Brown bracket and as much as I like him as a player he's nowhere close.

10-07-2023, 12:57 PM
Josh Campbell is our best goalscoring midfielder at the club , who else scores goals from midfield in our team ?.The reason selling him is being discussed is because he is the most valuable midfield player we have to sell which would suggest he's obviously one of the better midfielders we have at our club . He's also the only attacking midfielder we have at the moment. If Josh Campbell betters his goalscoring record this season and hits 10 or 12 goals which helps us get 3rd place it will be worth far more to us than the £1 million some are talking about even suggesting taking half that is crazy. Campbell will be in the mix for a starting spot next season along with Levitt , Jeggo and Newell in midfield imo as he offers something totally different to our other midfielders which is GOALS.

Spot on

LeithMike
10-07-2023, 12:57 PM
He's not really that young either. 23 and 76 1st team games for Hibs, his scope for massive improvement is fairly limited. He improved last year then tailed off and I'd be curious how many people would wedge him into their starting 11 when the 'team for tomorrow' thread goes up before the 1st game of the season.

£3-4M puts him in the John McGinn and Scott Brown bracket and as much as I like him as a player he's nowhere close.

He’d go in my team for tomorrow. Josh offers something all are other midfielders do not - mobility and running ahead of the ball. All are other midfielders want to sit and pass other than Levitt (although worried that LJ might want him to do that).

In my view our best midfield would be JDH (holding), Campbell (box to box) and Levitt (attacking).

10-07-2023, 01:02 PM
He’d go in my team for tomorrow. Josh offers something all are other midfielders do not - mobility and running ahead of the ball. All are other midfielders want to sit and pass other than Levitt (although worried that LJ might want him to do that).

In my view our best midfield would be JDH (holding), Campbell (box to box) and Levitt (attacking).

No offence but I'm glad LJ is picking the team

10-07-2023, 01:23 PM
No offence but I'm glad LJ is picking the team

It’s not the worst shout, with an element of logic behind it.

We can tend to be a bit ploddy in midfield, something which Campbell can improve.

Whilst I like Newell I also like JDH, most people think there’s a fair bit between them but I’m not convinced.

I’m not sure what I’d do, I’m not convinced all our midfield issues are solved by signing Levitt alone though.

10-07-2023, 01:25 PM
It’s not the worst shout, with an element of logic behind it.

We can tend to be a bit ploddy in midfield, something which Campbell can improve.

Whilst I like Newell I also like JDH, most people think there’s a fair bit between them but I’m not convinced.

I’m not sure what I’d do, I’m not convinced all our midfield issues are solved by signing Levitt alone though.

It'll be Jeggo, Newell & Levitt as first choices IMO.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 01:28 PM
Levitt will be expected to score goals and I fully expect him to take Josh Campbell’s place.

He’s the most valuable midfield player we have to sell (although Levitt is arguably that now) because Newell is past his peak and the rest aren’t all that. Newell is a better player, Levitt will be expected to be a better player and being better than the others is no great feat.

I suppose it comes down to whether you think 9 goals in a season is likely to be the norm from Josh Campbell going forward. I’d be very surprised if he’s anywhere near that next season and when you add that to his poor technical ability I reckon £1m would be a great deal for a player I can’t see starting every week.

I don't think Levitt has played to often as a attacking midfielder more a CM or as a defensive midfielder and playing him as a attacking midfielder you'd lose out in his excellent range of passing. So I'd be very surprised if he was to be played in Campbell's position in fairness

Levitt in time will become a valuable player though at the present Campbell's still worth a lot more than Levitt and that value could increase with another good season imo. Newell's only 30 and has plenty of years left at the top . It's hard to compare Newell , Campbell and Levitt as they all offer something different imo .

I think from were Campbell has come from under the time Maloney was manager the improvement has been massive with his 9 goals and excellent workrate and I actually think he will score double figures this season for us too. I think there will be alot of games Campbell will play especially at home when you have team's like Dundee sitting in deep and you need a goal threat from midfield which is something our other midfielders don't do .

I actually would be annoyed if we sold our only goalscoring midfielder for a £1million who's improving greatly and on a healthy contract . Another good season and the guy could be worth at least double your valuation and helped us finish 3rd which brings in even more financial gains .

10-07-2023, 01:29 PM

Probably.

But it wouldn’t surprise me if that combo were to lack a bit of mobility, particularly trying to break weaker teams down at home.

10-07-2023, 01:29 PM

Does Levitt actually score that many goals?

10-07-2023, 01:43 PM

In his time at Dundee United he scored 1 every 5 games. I would like to think that would improve to one every 3 or 4 games which would give us a midfielder scoring potentially 10-15 goals a season

Paloschi
10-07-2023, 01:43 PM
Josh is a fantastic player in the mould of Lewis Ferguson. His off the ball movement and late runs into the box show his footballing intelligence and he adds goals from midfield as well as terrific movement and energy. He could do with improving his passing and defensive positioning but I can see why Italian teams are looking at him at 23 years old.

He could be a future Scotland international for me and should be one of the first names on the team sheet. I'm excited to see Levitt, Newell and Campbell in midfield this season with Jeggo spoiling. I still think we need 'steel.' JDH has plenty industry and aggression but I think we need a better ball-winner who is more disciplined.

10-07-2023, 01:46 PM

I’m not so sure, Jeggo was subbed off at 58mins, 45mins and 45mins in our final 3 league fixtures while JDH played very well against Celtic and Hearts before his injury. Based on form at the end of last season JDH should be in the team ahead of him.

10-07-2023, 01:50 PM
josh Campbell is a very capable player and Hibs will one day make a good few bob from his transfer, I would think that may well be to Italy and he would fit in very well and go onto better things, for now just happy to see him in the Green and White.

10-07-2023, 02:07 PM
Josh is a fantastic player in the mould of Lewis Ferguson. His off the ball movement and late runs into the box show his footballing intelligence and he adds goals from midfield as well as terrific movement and energy. He could do with improving his passing and defensive positioning but I can see why Italian teams are looking at him at 23 years old.

He could be a future Scotland international for me and should be one of the first names on the team sheet. I'm excited to see Levitt, Newell and Campbell in midfield this season with Jeggo spoiling. I still think we need 'steel.' JDH has plenty industry and aggression but I think we need a better ball-winner who is more disciplined.

If you’re not his agent…….you should be😏

Paulie Walnuts
10-07-2023, 02:21 PM
I don't think Levitt has played to often as a attacking midfielder more a CM or as a defensive midfielder and playing him as a attacking midfielder you'd lose out in his excellent range of passing. So I'd be very surprised if he was to be played in Campbell's position in fairness

Levitt in time will become a valuable player though at the present Campbell's still worth a lot more than Levitt and that value could increase with another good season imo. Newell's only 30 and has plenty of years left at the top . It's hard to compare Newell , Campbell and Levitt as they all offer something different imo .

I think from were Campbell has come from under the time Maloney was manager the improvement has been massive with his 9 goals and excellent workrate and I actually think he will score double figures this season for us too. I think there will be alot of games Campbell will play especially at home when you have team's like Dundee sitting in deep and you need a goal threat from midfield which is something our other midfielders don't do .

I actually would be annoyed if we sold our only goalscoring midfielder for a £1million who's improving greatly and on a healthy contract . Another good season and the guy could be worth at least double your valuation and helped us finish 3rd which brings in even more financial gains .

And a season like the end of the previous one or any of his other seasons could see his value disappear completely. I’d expect Campbell’s value to be much more likely to go down than up next season.

I think people expecting Josh Campbell to start banging in double figures every season going forward are going to be a bit disappointed tbh.

10-07-2023, 02:43 PM
And a season like the end of the previous one or any of his other seasons could see his value disappear completely. I’d expect Campbell’s value to be much more likely to go down than up next season.

I think people expecting Josh Campbell to start banging in double figures every season going forward are going to be a bit disappointed tbh.

I'm not sure people will expect that, as that's getting in to the realms of unheard of for a Hibs midfielder and a bit unrealistic, but if someone had said at the start of last season that by the end of the season he'd score 9 goals, which is excellent, you wouldn't have believed it. He's come on massively under this coaching team so think we should keep an open mind on what he can achieve this season. He proved a lot of people, including myself wrong. Over all he had a very good season.

10-07-2023, 03:06 PM
I’m not so sure, Jeggo was subbed off at 58mins, 45mins and 45mins in our final 3 league fixtures while JDH played very well against Celtic and Hearts before his injury. Based on form at the end of last season JDH should be in the team ahead of him.

Jeggo played 90 mins 10 times out of 16 in the league (sent off wrongly in one of the 6 he didn't). You're right he was subbed off but players in his position are the obvious sub when we are chasing games, or opportunities arise due to red cards such as against Hearts.

10-07-2023, 03:29 PM
I’m surprised posters still write about “starting 11”. Surely that’s for the birds nowadays? It’s squad football and the 11 to start against Celtic will be different(particularly in midfield) to the 11 to start against Ross County. To do that we need players that can do a job and sometimes be on the bench.The players know they won’t start every week.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 03:31 PM

Hard to judge him on previous seasons tbh as Maloney had him basically playing as a defensive midfielder which didn't suit him at all . Your right he did hit a poor run of form towards the end of last season.

Though before that he was in fine form . One thing about Campbell is no matter what kind of form he's in he works his socks of for the team and isn't frightened to get stuck in .

Midfielder who's our 2nd joint top goalscorer and has I think 5 assist's which is pretty good for last season considering our team had problems last year with injuries and poor recruitment .

I think we will be stronger this year and i'm confident with better players like Levitt , Obita , Le Fondre and Boyle back that it's not as far fetched as you think it is to see Josh Campbell better his 9 goal tally this year and hit double figures which could increase the players value considerably from the £1 million being quoted on here tbh .

10-07-2023, 03:44 PM

As much as I would love it to happen, there's as much chance of me entering a romantic liaison with Margot Robbie as there is of Josh Campbell getting sold for anything approaching a Scott Brown sum

10-07-2023, 03:58 PM

We shouldn't need Jeggo in the majority of games if we have better players. Levitt played the role like our old Dylan. Kept the ball, and played some great passes, breaking lines etc. Some games will require a rigid stopper......the majority shouldn't.

10-07-2023, 03:59 PM
Jeggo played 90 mins 10 times out of 16 in the league (sent off wrongly in one of the 6 he didn't). You're right he was subbed off but players in his position are the obvious sub when we are chasing games, or opportunities arise due to red cards such as against Hearts.

He was subbed off against Hearts because he was playing absolutely s****.

10-07-2023, 06:17 PM

Its not really a compliment considering our other midfielders offer plenty of things Josh doesn't. Namely keep the ball, move it forward, control things.

Newell is by far our best midfielder based on last season.

JammyDoidger
10-07-2023, 06:24 PM
The Hibs Lampard.

1875Sean
10-07-2023, 06:31 PM

JDH isn’t a defensive midfielder

Fiddich
10-07-2023, 06:40 PM
Not long turned 23 years of age. Has scored some cracking goals and assists. I'd love Josh to stay at Hibs for years to come and push on. Pat Mcginlay esque. :aok:

10-07-2023, 06:43 PM
Not long turned 23 years of age. Has scored some cracking goals and assists. I'd love Josh to stay at Hibs for years to come and push on. Pat Mcginley esque. :aok:

That's the result we would all want, double figures every season would be superb, 2 years of that and his value would rocket

10-07-2023, 06:50 PM

Agreed :agree:

10-07-2023, 06:50 PM

I know but when you have 3 central midfielders who are all competent ball winners I don’t think there is any need for a defensive midfielder who is very limited in the rest of his game.

MagicSwirlingShip
10-07-2023, 07:07 PM
Just hope he keeps improving. He’s a hard worker so I fancy his chances of doing so

10-07-2023, 07:22 PM
Not long turned 23 years of age. Has scored some cracking goals and assists. I'd love Josh to stay at Hibs for years to come and push on. Pat Mcginlay esque. :aok:

That's big shoes to fill ...Mcginlay was absolutely different class for hibs for a number of years , Josh nowhere near Pat

LeithMike
10-07-2023, 07:23 PM

Best games I’ve seen him have been in that position. A couple against Hearts too. Struggles alongside Newell though.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 07:44 PM
Its not really a compliment considering our other midfielders offer plenty of things Josh doesn't. Namely keep the ball, move it forward, control things.

Josh is a different type of midfielder to Newell , JDH and the rest and I'm sure they all have qualities different to him though Josh has one valuable quality the others don't have and that's he can score goals .

10-07-2023, 07:48 PM
Josh is a different type of midfielder to Newell , JDH and the rest and I'm sure they all have qualities different to him though Josh has one valuable quality the others don't have and that's he can score goals .

He can score, yeah. His other play has to be worth it, though, which hasn't always been the case.

10-07-2023, 08:07 PM

Has Josh still got further development in him? I think he has and that he has the potential to raise his consistency and quality in what will hopefully be an improved midfield this coming season.

10-07-2023, 08:15 PM
Has Josh still got further development in him? I think he has and that he has the potential to raise his consistency and quality in what will hopefully be an improved midfield this coming season.

Consistency is what he needs to find.

If you just look at him getting 9 goals and 5 assists that looks decent at first glance. But they came across 8 games out of 41.

So whilst he had some really good games that’s 33 games where he didn’t have a direct goal contribution. It’s not to say he didn’t have other decent games but, given how high up the park he was playing most of the time, he needs to contribute more frequently. If he could play against Aberdeen at home every week (5 goals and 2 assists in the 2 games) that would be handy.

Fiddich
10-07-2023, 08:18 PM

Spot on. I too think, that Josh, has the potential to develop, into a a very classy midfielder. He has all of the attributes, to improve his game immensely. Given the correct coaching, I'm certain that Josh will deliver his potential.

Fiddich
10-07-2023, 08:22 PM
That's big shoes to fill ...Mcginlay was absolutely different class for hibs for a number of years , Josh nowhere near Pat

Josh has just turned 23, and has occasionally shone in a midfield, that has been sometimes found wanting. With us now improving upon our signing policy, Josh could easily turn into the box to box player that Pat excelled as. He's young, give him a chance and the opportunity to show us that he can deliver the potential.

10-07-2023, 08:26 PM
Consistency is what he needs to find.

If you just look at him getting 9 goals and 5 assists that looks decent at first glance. But they came across 8 games out of 41.

So whilst he had some really good games that’s 33 games where he didn’t have a direct goal contribution. It’s not to say he didn’t have other decent games but, given how high up the park he was playing most of the time. If he could play against Aberdeen at home every week (5 goals and 2 assists in the 2 games) that would be handy.

Aye, talismanic v the Dons right enough.

That said he probably scored more goals than the rest of the midfield combined. It's a invaluable asset for any club and I would say that Campbell can keep improving. You kind of hope that he would benefit from playing alongside someone who can pass the ball more incisively, like what we want/hope for from Levitt. There's a few younger Hibs midfielders that left the club too early (Eddie May, David Wotherspoon both spring to mind) and I can see why Hibs might want to take a decent fee if offered for Josh, but I would prefer that he tries to play his way into becoming a first pick at Hibs.

Fiddich
10-07-2023, 08:38 PM
Aye, talismanic v the Dons right enough.

That said he probably scored more goals than the rest of the midfield combined. It's a invaluable asset for any club and I would say that Campbell can keep improving. You kind of hope that he would benefit from playing alongside someone who can pass the ball more incisively, like what we want/hope for from Levitt. There's a few younger Hibs midfielders that left the club too early (Eddie May, David Wotherspoon both spring to mind) and I can see why Hibs might want to take a decent fee if offered for Josh, but I would prefer that he tries to play his way into becoming a first pick at Hibs.

Definitely. There's no reason to think, that Josh won't become one of the first on the pitch, if he continues to improve. Young, hungry, and has the ability to become an ER favourite.

Donegal Hibby
10-07-2023, 08:47 PM
He can score, yeah. His other play has to be worth it, though, which hasn't always been the case.
He's not only 2nd joint top goalscorer for us but he's also 2nd on assist's with 5 aswell , two behind youan and Newell who when you think about it takes most of our corners and freekick's and his workrate for the team is very good too . Overall considering last year he was moved into a more advanced role I think his contribution and play in general has been very good and probably himself and Youan are our two most improved players last season .

10-07-2023, 09:10 PM

I hope so because Newell and Jeggo don’t.

10-07-2023, 11:08 PM

Yes, but there's more to his game than scoring goals. When my mates son was going bonkers about him, I'd say "at least Campbell is the one who's taking the short going 10 years wide), or "trying the get on the end of the box in the box". .Sometimes it works, as against The Rangers. Yes, his 'other play' has to be worth it, yet until our midfield starts start to score and produce more than Campbell, then Campbell get's the start from me.

My view with Campbell is that he's developed a lot of the last 20 months. If he continues that development (any who knows if he will), then we will have a top class footballer on a hands. A hibeee too.

tonyrougier123
11-07-2023, 04:11 AM

I wouldn’t mind you listing what Josh hasn’t got our other midfielders have got 🤔.
Campbell is a well rounded midfielder.

You’re all over positivity for Josh Campbell stating he lacks in his game. List what he hasn’t got. In fact I’ll list what I see and see what’s left.

Combative
Goals
Assists
Links play
Box to box
Winner
Attitude
Contract length
Hibs lad

Still under 24 and has all that. Honestly I wonder what some folk watched for nearly a decade before that day in may but he trumps nearly all of it. Mcginn was special set the bar too high for some,but if you’re looking for traits of a good midfielder at hibs level Campbell is improving in a very inconsistent side and a team constantly dealing with injuries. Laddie never hides always 100% offered. Got scouts looking at him from top leagues. Cut him a wee bit slack lad! Your intent on mentioning newell in the same posts as well,how many midfielders does a quality team need? I’d say at least 4 of good quality to bring the middle of the park energy over the 90mins.

11-07-2023, 04:21 AM
I wouldn’t mind you listing what Josh hasn’t got our midfielders have got 🤔.
Campbell is a well rounded midfielder.

You’re all over positivity for Josh Campbell stating he lacks in his game. List what he hasn’t got. In fact I’ll list what I see and see what’s left.

Combative
Goals
Assists
Links play
Box to box
Winner
Attitude
Contract
Hibs lad

Still under 24 and has all that. Honestly I wonder what some folk watched for nearly a decade before that day in may but he trumps nearly all of it. Mcginn was special set the bar too high for some,but if you’re looking for traits of a good midfielder at hibs level Campbell is improving in a very inconsistent side and a team constantly dealing with injuries. Laddie never hides always 100% offered. Got sc

Yeah no problem. ''winner'' btw? Really. What has he won? ''Hibs lad''? For real? ''Contract''? Okay.

Doesn't read the game as well defensively, meaning he is often chasing the play.
passing and control of the game isn't as good, although improving. Weight of pass often lets him down.
dribbling isn't as good as others like Newell, who can beat a man easier
Still games totally passing him by. Isn't influential enough when the going is tough.
Decision making can leave a lot to be desired at times.

He has improved significantly after being a man down for the season before last. He needs to continue that.

tonyrougier123
11-07-2023, 07:21 AM
Yeah no problem. ''winner'' btw? Really. What has he won? ''Hibs lad''? For real? ''Contract''? Okay.

Doesn't read the game as well defensively, meaning he is often chasing the play.
passing and control of the game isn't as good, although improving. Weight of pass often lets him down.
dribbling isn't as good as others like Newell, who can beat a man easier
Still games totally passing him by. Isn't influential enough when the going is tough.
Decision making can leave a lot to be desired at times.

He has improved significantly after being a man down for the season before last. He needs to continue that.

When the going is tough? You mean when the teams losing Josh is your scapegoat get it right. “Man short”,”decision making”,”canny beat a man”. All nonsense! When the ball gets whipped in the box sometimes he’s beat every defender in the box to the ball and the goalies picking it out the net,even further forward than his striker team mates busting a gut to get in there,that’s when he’s not sending them through on goal,which by the way if our finishing was better up front last season he’d have doubled his assists,and close misses when chances created for him his numbers could’ve been impressive for any midfielder in the league. It’s good decision making that he’s even in position to get to these balls when you think about how hard he works.

He’s scored all sorts of goals,powerful headers,tap ins,technical volleys. He’s already at it in pre season. If we are a decent outfit next season Campbell will be a big player for us.

Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2023, 07:28 AM
When the going is tough? You mean when the teams losing Josh is your scapegoat get it right. “Man short”,”decision making”,”canny beat a man”. All nonsense! When the ball gets whipped in the box sometimes he’s beat every defender in the box to the ball and the goalies picking it out the net,even further forward than his striker team mates busting a gut to get in there,that’s when he’s not sending them through on goal,which by the way if our finishing was better up front last season he’d have doubled his assists,and close misses when chances created for him his numbers could’ve been impressive for any midfielder in the league. It’s good decision making that he’s even in position to get to these balls when you think about how hard he works.

He’s scored all sorts of goals,powerful headers,tap ins,technical volleys. He’s already at it in pre season. If we are a decent outfit next season Campbell will be a big player for us.

For all you claim MWs post is nonsense, your description of Josh Campbell should have us batting off massive offers for him. We’re not, so I’d suggest it’s completely over the top.

tonyrougier123
11-07-2023, 07:41 AM
For all you claim MWs post is nonsense, your description of Josh Campbell should have us batting off massive offers for him. We’re not, so I’d suggest it’s completely over the top.

Pretty sure he’s been scouted by a fair few teams. Our highlights are widely available pretty easy to revise what Campbell has done in a hibs shirt.

Johnson described him as one of the first names on the team sheet last season at one point.

If the team finds consistency a big offer will come in imo.

Josh’s contributions are backed up by our highlights, doesn’t amount to man short bad decision making and canny beat a man. So aye it’s nonsense stand by that comment.

11-07-2023, 07:42 AM
I think we were spoiled with McGinn, who was as close to a complete midfielder we’re ever going to see at this level.

We’ve wanted a goal scoring midfielder for ages, and Josh is that. He can press, he can make late runs into the box, he can help to break up counter attacks and has a level of fitness almost unmatched in the squad. Not just that, he scores goals and gets assists.

There may be a few things he can improve on but at this level that’s a given.

Josh Campbell is going to be an important player for us this season ahead, for sure.

supermcginn
11-07-2023, 07:45 AM

Yeah totally agree, Campbell was left out the team for the huge games we had at the end of the season, LJ clearly doesn't rate him as highly as TonyRougier123!

11-07-2023, 07:47 AM
Pretty sure he’s been scouted by a fair few teams. Our highlights are widely available pretty easy to revise what Campbell has done in a hibs shirt.

Johnson described him as one of the first names on the team sheet last season at one point.

Josh’s contributions are backed up by our highlights, doesn’t amount to man short bad decision making and canny beat a man. So aye it’s nonsense stand by that comment.

Highlights are good for seeing the good bits, but having been at every single game last season there were far too many games where he was ineffectual, especially given the position he played. That’s not to say he doesn’t have good attributes or didn’t improve but there is a bit of middle ground between talking about a multi million pound player and someone who doesn’t offer anything.

Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2023, 07:48 AM

Being scouted doesn’t mean you’ve had offers. Teams scout players all the time and then decide it’s not worth taking their interest any further.

Josh’s contributions are backed up by our highlights, and a lot of what MW has mentioned has been the case. If he was as you’ve described he’d been sold for millions this summer.

He’s a decent player at this level, no more, no less. He’ll likely not be part of our strongest midfield this season.

11-07-2023, 07:56 AM

More pertinently he struggled to get into our team at the business end of last season. With the exception of up top we already look stronger than last season. He'll be an important squad player but unlike Newell he won't be an 'if he's fit, he starts' type.

There is scope for further improvement in him but there is a ceiling and he isn't going to develop into a £4M player now. He remind me of Paul Hanlon in many ways. PH was always thought to be on the verge of a big move in his younger days. Indeed during Calderwood's time here he trained with an EPL club to prepare him for such. Ultimately though Paul was always good enough for us, too good for us to except a £700K bid for him but not good enough for someone to bid £2M+ which might have tempted us. I see Campbell in a similar way, too good to sell on the cheap but not good enough for someone to part with serious cash.

That's fine, clubs need players like that and he's an asset in the squad. I could be wrong but when I see people valuing him at the same or more than McGinn I wonder who they are watching tbh.

tonyrougier123
11-07-2023, 07:59 AM
Being scouted doesn’t mean you’ve had offers. Teams scout players all the time and then decide it’s not worth taking their interest any further.

Josh’s contributions are backed up by our highlights, and a lot of what MW has mentioned has been the case. If he was as you’ve described he’d been sold for millions this summer.

He’s a decent player at this level, no more, no less. He’ll likely not be part of our strongest midfield this season.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=lPa6QllAy7A&feature=share

I’ll just leave this for the naysayers 👆🏻

11-07-2023, 07:59 AM
More pertinently he struggled to get into our team at the business end of last season. With the exception of up top we already look stronger than last season. He'll be an important squad player but unlike Newell he won't be an 'if he's fit, he starts' type.

There is scope for further improvement in him but there is a ceiling and he isn't going to develop into a £4M player now. He remind me of Paul Hanlon in many ways. PH was always thought to be on the verge of a big move in his younger days. Indeed during Calderwood's time here he trained with an EPL club to prepare him for such. Ultimately though Paul was always good enough for us, too good for us to except a £700K bid for him but not good enough for someone to bid £2M+ which might have tempted us. I see Campbell in a similar way, too good to sell on the cheap but not good enough for someone to part with serious cash.

That's fine, clubs need players like that and he's an asset in the squad. I could be wrong but when I see people valuing him at the same or more than McGinn I wonder who they are watching tbh.

Who did Hanlon train with? That's a good Hibs quiz question and something I hadn't heard before.

MikeyS
11-07-2023, 08:02 AM
Still under 24 and has all that. Honestly I wonder what some folk watched for nearly a decade before that day in may but he trumps nearly all of it.

I wonder what you watched for 10 years before 2016! I saw, Boozy, Brown, Thomson, Stewart, Glass, Lewy, Zemmama, Shiels, Murray, Liam Miller, Craig, Allan, Fyvie & McGeouch. Campbell isn't a better player than any of them.

11-07-2023, 08:10 AM
Who did Hanlon train with? That's a good Hibs quiz question and something I hadn't heard before.

I think it was Fulham but I could be wrong.

11-07-2023, 08:17 AM
I think the problem that some people have with Josh is his versatility.

That versatility is a positive for Hibs, but perhaps not for those looking for consistently good performances in one position.

There is a parallel with Cadden, where loads of people would say he was garbage despite getting Player of the year awards etc !

patlowe
11-07-2023, 08:26 AM
I wonder what you watched for 10 years before 2016! I saw, Boozy, Brown, Thomson, Stewart, Glass, Lewy, Zemmama, Shiels, Murray, Liam Miller, Craig, Allan, Fyvie & McGeouch. Campbell isn't a better player than any of them.

I see what you mean but there was definitely a window when the central midfield was absolutely garbage (Calderwood/Fenlon/Butcher era). As you say though, we also saw a hell of a lot of quality around about it too. For me Campbell will always be a useful guy to have around (and would've been over the period mentioned) because he has good attributes and a good attitude - we're not going to get the complete midfielder so it has to be a case of blending qualities.

By the way, SJM never had the most natural ability in the world but he had/has the drive and personality to continue to meet challenges and improve. I wouldn't bet against Campbell having a good career on that basis.

11-07-2023, 08:29 AM
He wasn't fit end of season. If we had better he'd have been rested. Even at 70% he was better than the options. His form will continue to rise and fall. Be patient with him.

11-07-2023, 08:37 AM

No, I don't mean that. I mean when Hibs are up against it the game can totally pass him by.

He was dreadful during the 21/22 season.

His decision making can be awful and does let him down.

I didn't say he cannot beat a man, but it's certainly not a strength.

He's nowhere near as creative as your making out.

You're going on like he's John Mcginn. He's got a lot to improve on, which I hope he does. It's possible to like and appreciate a player while acknowledging they have flaws. He isn't a 10 at everything. All you've really said is he works really hard and scores a few goals.

11-07-2023, 08:39 AM

Indeed. He's a good way to go. Wouldn't make the bench of our 2016 side.

Key West
11-07-2023, 09:34 AM
For some it would not matter what Campbell did they have decided he is not good enough.

Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2023, 09:42 AM
For some it would not matter what Campbell did they have decided he is not good enough.

Could you point to a post where anybody said he’s not good enough?

Key West
11-07-2023, 09:51 AM
Could you point to a post where anybody said he’s not good enough?

I'm far too busy.

11-07-2023, 09:56 AM

That's not just a Josh Campbell thing though is it? Look at the amount of abuse that Lewis has had over the years and he is everything that you would want in a player who pulls on the Harp

Paulie Walnuts
11-07-2023, 09:57 AM
I'm far too busy.

In other words, nobody said he’s not good enough.

There’s a massive difference between people saying they’d take £1m or that they don’t think he’ll be part of our first choice midfield next season and saying he’s not good enough.

11-07-2023, 10:11 AM
We're going to need Josh at some point this season. Newell has already picked up an injury so he'll be playing the friendlies and European games. He's going to be an important part of the squad whether that's starting or coming off the bench. Either way i'm comfortable. Having Levitt in there will help him.

11-07-2023, 10:18 AM
Campbell gives us the athleticism, drive and running ahead of the ball Newell, JDH & Jeggo lack. Think a Campbell type player is critical to a balanced and effective midfield. I’m not sure Campbell is good enough technically to be that midfield lynchpin though and not sure he has much developing left in him.

Donegal Hibby
11-07-2023, 10:22 AM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7390732]Indeed. He's a good way to go. Wouldn't make the bench of our 2016 side.[/QUOTE

Our 2016 midfield was one of the best I've seen and all of our current midfield players would struggle to make the bench including Joe Newell. Campbell might have a way to go though out of all our midfielder's he was the one that there was the most improvement in last season .

If there were rumours of clubs wanting Newell , JDH or any of our other midfielders we wouldn't be talking about anywhere near the same money as we are Campbell which tells its own story on how important it is having a player like Campbell who scores goals from midfield which is something the rest can't do .

He's already got one in our pre season match and could possibly have had two . Important player for us who's goals could prove vital this season in our fight to get 3rd . Apart from Levitt I hope the others chip in with a few goals too though I won't get my hopes up on that tbh .

11-07-2023, 10:29 AM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7390732]Indeed. He's a good way to go. Wouldn't make the bench of our 2016 side.[/QUOTE

Our 2016 midfield was one of the best I've seen and all of our current midfield players would struggle to make the bench including Joe Newell. Campbell might have a way to go though out of all our midfielder's he was the one that there was the most improvement in last season .

If there were rumours of clubs wanting Newell , JDH or any of our other midfielders we wouldn't be talking about anywhere near the same money as we are Campbell which tells its own story on how important it is having a player like Campbell who scores goals from midfield which is something the rest can't do .

He's already got one in our pre season match and could possibly have had two . Important player for us who's goals could prove vital this season in our fight to get 3rd . Apart from Levitt I hope the others chip in with a few goals too though I won't get my hopes up on that tbh .

It's because of Campbell age and potential to improve. Newell is currently the better player.

Donegal Hibby
11-07-2023, 01:38 PM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7390787]

It's because of Campbell age and potential to improve. Newell is currently the better player.

I agree about age , potential to improve though it's also down to how he played for most of last season too imo. Newell is the better player at what he does though Josh Campbell is better than Newell at what he does . Trying to compare them is like trying to compare chalk with cheese imo .

My own opinion on our midfield is Jeggo ( DM ) , Levitt ( DM , CM ) , Newell (CM ) and Campbell (AM ) are our best midfield player's. There will be games were we won't need a defensive midfielder as we will be on top and dominating the game and games were an attacking midfielder won't play as we will need to be more defense minded in our approach.

It's a long season were everyone in the squad will probably be needed at some point . If we are going for 3rd place this season then we really need our better players to stay at the club if we can and both Campbell and Newell fall into that category for different reasons.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12677465/josh-campbells-late-volley-earns-a-point-or-hibs

Bushwoof
11-07-2023, 02:12 PM
Campbell's not the perfect midfielder. but he's far and away the best at timing his runs into the opposition penalty box. With better service (from Levitt?) he'd score even more goals than he did last year.

I wouldn't let him go at this stage of his development, he could end up worth a fair bit.

04-08-2023, 10:21 AM
Unless Hibs receive a silly offer for him I would love to see him staying at the club for the rest of his career. He is a true Hibee unlike some players who come to the club then go at the end of their contracts. He may have some poor games but overall he is an improving player scoring plenty of goals. With Darren McGregor retired from 1st team duties and Hanlon and Stevenson approaching the end of their careers we need young players who love playing for the club.

04-08-2023, 10:29 AM
Unless Hibs receive a silly offer for him I would love to see him staying at the club for the rest of his career. He is a true Hibee unlike some players who come to the club then go at the end of their contracts. He may have some poor games but overall he is an improving player scoring plenty of goals. With Darren McGregor retired from 1st team duties and Hanlon and Stevenson approaching the end of their careers we need young players who love playing for the club.

We’ll receive a bid for him this window

04-08-2023, 10:35 AM
We’ll receive a bid for him this window

Depends how he starts the season.

If he disappears back onto the bench and barely features then he probably won't (not that I expect this).

If he stays in the team and draws attention to himself by keeping on scoring then I expect we might need to field some offers.

04-08-2023, 10:45 AM
Not sure how I feel about Josh Campbell🤷🏼 I really don’t think he has the technical ability to be a top midfielder but he certainly has the knack of being in the right place at the right time to contribute with goals and his work rate is fantastic.

04-08-2023, 10:47 AM
Not sure how I feel about Josh Campbell🤷🏼 I really don’t think he has the technical ability to be a top midfielder but he certainly has the knack of being in the right place at the right time to contribute with goals and his work rate is fantastic.

That's exactly how a mate of mine who supported West Ham used to describe Kevin Nolan.

He said he had nothing about him as a midfield player other than the knack of arriving at the right time and a good finish. His scoring record for a midfielder was pretty spectacular tbf.

04-08-2023, 10:50 AM
He's a crucial part of our team. Can see him getting double figures this season. A goal scoring midfielder is worth their weight in gold.

04-08-2023, 10:56 AM
I think he's quite underrated still by some people. He's not an out and out central midfielder that plays tippy tappy passing or drops between the defence and spreads the ball wide, recycling the play etc. His talents and skills lie in him playing as a more advanced midfielder that can run wide or into the box like a second striker or winger. A very unique player that I don't think we have anyone else like, nor had for a while (McGinn could do some of it to an extent but he was more of a proper box to box midfielder.)

I'm a big fan of him and I'm sure if you ask any of his teammates he'd be one of the names they look at as an important player for the team at the moment. We've been crying out for goals from midfield for years and we finally have someone willing to make those runs and get up onto headers etc.

04-08-2023, 11:21 AM
Last night was a bit like his time at Hibernian FC. A dodgy start, with misplaced passes, but applied himself well, grabbed two goals and was always our most advanced midfielder. Not convinced he was Man of the Match, but a decent display from Josh.

I would not be surprised if he was to move to a league higher than the SPFL. Teams in Italy will have observed that the SPFL is a good market for young Scottish players - Josh Campbell may be the next to follow Hickey, Doig and Ferguson.

04-08-2023, 11:43 AM
I'm never going to knock a goalscoring midfielder or want them replaced, but he is an odd player at times.

He had two runs at their defence in the latter stages of the game last night. I've never been less convinced that an attacking player was going to go round a defender.

04-08-2023, 11:44 AM
I'm never going to knock a goalscoring midfielder or want them replaced, but he is an odd player at times.

He had two runs at their defence in the latter stages of the game last night. I've never been less convinced that an attacking player was going to go round a defender.

TBF he looked broken at the end of the game. He must put someone amount of running in and most of it at pace.

04-08-2023, 11:59 AM
I really like young Josh.

You can tell how much it means to him as a boyhood Hibby and he just has that priceless knack of being in the right place at the right time.

Sure he could use the ball better at times and he does dive in rashly occasionally but midfielders who score regularly are like gold dust.

04-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Says a lot that LJ trusted him to stay on after picking up a yellow. I thought that at 3-0 up we’d see a couple of the yellow carded players subbed at HT. Just had Magennis v St Johnstone in my mind.

04-08-2023, 01:13 PM
Depends how he starts the season.

If he disappears back onto the bench and barely features then he probably won't (not that I expect this).

If he stays in the team and draws attention to himself by keeping on scoring then I expect we might need to field some offers.

I think its more that teams have already registered interest. I'd expect a few offers but I'd be surprised if we sell him in this window at this stage.

04-08-2023, 01:32 PM

You can tell how much it means to him as a boyhood Hibby and he just has that priceless knack of being in the right place at the right time.

Sure he could use the ball better at times and he does dive in rashly occasionally but midfielders who score regularly are like gold dust.

Totally agree

04-08-2023, 02:00 PM

Sure he could use the ball better at times and he does dive in rashly occasionally but midfielders who score regularly are like gold dust.[emoji106]definitely this. Great kid, great prospect. I've enjoyed watching him progress.

darwenhibby
04-08-2023, 05:13 PM
I think Josh Campbell is the next Lewis Stevenson for Hibs
Possibly future captain
Love his attitude and passion for Hibs

04-08-2023, 05:19 PM
I think Josh Campbell is the next Lewis Stevenson for Hibs
Possibly future captain
Love his attitude and passion for Hibs

I'm surprised there hasn't been more interest in him from other clubs, clubs love a goalscoring midfield player

04-08-2023, 05:24 PM
Love him, very underrated by some. Like others say, he scores goals

04-08-2023, 05:49 PM
I'm surprised there hasn't been more interest in him from other clubs, clubs love a goalscoring midfield player

There has been a lot of interest in him.

04-08-2023, 06:50 PM
I'm bemused by the apparent desire of some to "cash in" on Josh - he's one of our own FFS and is developing into a dream player - ie. a prolific goal scoring midfielder! WTF would we want to rush him out the door for?!? Crazy on here sometimes!

04-08-2023, 06:57 PM
I'm bemused by the apparent desire of some to "cash in" on Josh - he's one of our own FFS and is developing into a dream player - ie. a prolific goal scoring midfielder! WTF would we want to rush him out the door for?!? Crazy on here sometimes!

It really is incredible.

Last year people were desperate for Hibs to give him a long contract. I remember someone on Longbangers or another podcast asking BK and LJ to sign him up for 10 years.

They signed him till 2027 yet now folk want to get rid. Very, very strange.

04-08-2023, 06:57 PM
Josh is a proper box to box player who scores goals. A great player for us.

04-08-2023, 06:58 PM
Everyone can see he's quite limited but betterfootball wise than when he first came on the scene.

Yet after saying all that, he does the hardest thing in football well, he puts the ball in the back of the net.

I'm happy to see him continue to improve and score more goals for the club.:top marks

04-08-2023, 07:00 PM

Josh will leave us for big money. His stats speak for themselves over the last couple of seasons.

04-08-2023, 07:08 PM
Scores goals. Good enough for me really.

04-08-2023, 07:54 PM
Campbell's not the perfect midfielder. but he's far and away the best at timing his runs into the opposition penalty box. With better service (from Levitt?) he'd score even more goals than he did last year.

I wouldn't let him go at this stage of his development, he could end up worth a fair bit.

IMO Out of our current midfield, Campbell is the best prospect. With better versions of JDH and Newall, we'd be decent.

Ceebs
04-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Excellent player, know's where the goal is. Delighted he is playing and scoring. One of my first picks, week in and out.

04-08-2023, 08:11 PM
IMO Out of our current midfield, Campbell is the best prospect. With better versions of JDH and Newall, we'd be decent.

Best prospect maybe, Newell is still the best player. Showed up big time in this tie when it really mattered.

04-08-2023, 08:15 PM
Best prospect maybe, Newell is still the best player. Showed up big time in this tie when it really mattered.

Newell would be even better with better players around him, just look at how he and Boyler read each other. Josh is a good prospect and doing well for a relatively young man. JDH for me isnt good enough for where we wont to be. Although will never forget that Tynecastle win!

McGhee
04-08-2023, 08:21 PM
Josh Campbell has to be the Pat McGinlay insurrection. Despite, being slightly smaller in stature, he makes the same lung bursting runs, and is scoring vital goals. A great player.

Donegal Hibby
04-08-2023, 09:06 PM
I think unless we get offered alot of money for Campbell we should definitely keep him , anything under £2 million I'd tell any club to bolt tbh . I think Campbell will score double figures for us this season and is the best chance we have of goals from midfield which could make all the difference this year .

04-08-2023, 09:44 PM
Doyle-Hayes, Newell and Campbell have all improved massively from last season. With the addition of Levitt and Jeggo things are starting to come together.

04-08-2023, 10:09 PM

Newell is by far our best midfielder- outstanding last night.

Campbell - can’t argue with his goals

04-08-2023, 10:24 PM
Doyle-Hayes, Newell and Campbell have all improved massively from last season. With the addition of Levitt and Jeggo things are starting to come together.

Add in Youan's improvement since his first few months, dare we give LJ any credit for improving players?

Donegal Hibby
04-08-2023, 10:57 PM
Add in Youan's improvement since his first few months, dare we give LJ any credit for improving players?
Think it's a fair comment about giving LJ credit in improving certain player's tbh ,under Maloney i wanted Campbell moved on though what a improvement since he's been moved further forward .

05-08-2023, 12:04 AM
SDG has done a lot of work with Campbell.

Donegal Hibby
05-08-2023, 12:37 AM
Josh Campbell's improvement is down to the hard work of everyone at Hibs ( including his own btw ) though a lot of it is down to the manager for playing him in a position that actually suits him now !.
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2023/03/hibs-youngster-josh-campbell-buzzing-after-contract-extended/

Stanton Spence
05-08-2023, 12:55 AM

Wee bit early to say they have all massively improved ? 2 games into the season against really poor opponents

05-08-2023, 05:59 AM

Bookmarked for future reference :greengrin

I still think we need one more creative addition. Not convinced the quintet you named are good enough to be challenging for 3rd place, but happy to be proved wrong. In our favour, they just need to get the ball to Youan and Boyle and they'll create opportunities.

05-08-2023, 06:12 AM

JDH is still inconsistent and a bit rash in the challenge, always a tackle away from being sent off, needs to stay injury free for a season.
Newell looks better so far, again needs to show his talent more than just the odd game, has to start dominating games regularly.
Jeggo is a solid dependable DM.
Campbell is your midfield workhorse, box2box with a bit of everything, plus he's the only one that looks like chipping in with goals.
Levitt looks a wee bit off at the moment, can see a pass but so far the jury's out for me, hooked in the 1st game and didn't start in the return leg says it all at the moment.

I think we need another box2box type midfielder, if Campbell gets injured or is sold we have no goal threat from there.

05-08-2023, 07:05 AM
Selling Campbell, unless for silly money would be madness.
He’s the closest midfielder I’ve seen to Pat Mcginlay given his ability to score from midfield consistently.

05-08-2023, 07:15 AM

Bizarre comment about Newell - il admit I've been critical of Joe in past but under LJ he's been by far and away our best and most consistent performer - was superb on Thursday

Stokesy's on fire
05-08-2023, 07:16 AM
Campbell is only going to get better ane better we have a special player and sadly a lot of fans dont seem to see that.

05-08-2023, 07:38 AM
Josh Campbell's improvement is down to the hard work of everyone at Hibs ( including his own btw ) though a lot of it is down to the manager for playing him in a position that actually suits him now !.
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2023/03/hibs-youngster-josh-campbell-buzzing-after-contract-extended/

Apart from Maloney did other managers play him as a deep midfielder? Even Shaun only played him there a few times.

05-08-2023, 07:48 AM
Bizarre comment about Newell - il admit I've been critical of Joe in past but under LJ he's been by far and away our best and most consistent performer - was superb on Thursday

Yep.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2023, 07:54 AM

He was excellent on Thursday. MOTM by an absolute mile.

Key West
05-08-2023, 08:09 AM
Find weaknesses in the players you don't like, strengths in those you do like covers a fair amount of the posts,support all the players with fairness and context,its Hibs not Manchester City.

Donegal Hibby
05-08-2023, 09:18 AM
Apart from Maloney did other managers play him as a deep midfielder? Even Shaun only played him there a few times.
Seeing as he was loaned out at Airdrie , Arbroath and Edinburgh city I'm not sure B were his other managers were playing him . Think he scored a few goals for Edinburgh city so it's possible they were playing him further up too.

I think in the 4 months or so Shaun Maloney was manager he played him mostly in a deeper role at us were he looked to be a player that was poor and struggling TBH .

05-08-2023, 09:23 AM
Seeing as he was loaned out at Airdrie , Arbroath and Edinburgh city I'm not sure B were his other managers were playing him . Think he scored a few goals for Edinburgh city so it's possible they were playing him further up too.

I think in the 4 months or so Shaun Maloney was manager he played him mostly in a deeper role at us were he looked to be a player that was poor and struggling TBH .

Played 4/5 times as the DM under Shaun. It’s just been over played tbh. He’s a versatile player and even LJ has played him RB RW LM

05-08-2023, 09:25 AM
Josh had a lot of critics but fair play to him he’s worked hard and proven those critics wrong. I’m a big fan of him and I’m excited to see how he continues to develop.

He could be a very important player for us.

05-08-2023, 09:26 AM
Played 4/5 times as the DM under Shaun. It’s just been over played tbh. He’s a versatile player and even LJ has played him RB RW LM

His passing is definitely not good enough to play deeper IMO. The chaos he creates is much better further forward. Hard player to defend against.

05-08-2023, 09:34 AM
I like Campbell and great to see him off to a flyer. But this “goals from midfield” thing is misleading.

Some people post about how he gives us “goals from midfield” and Newell and others don’t. Campbell is playing a different position and is tasked with getting in the box. The others are not.

When we finished 3rd we had goals from Doidge, Nisbet and Boyle. People moaned about no goals from midfield. Now we play a different way and we’ll get goals from Campbell, whoever is number 9 and Boyle. We’re no better off now that we have “goals from midfield”

05-08-2023, 09:35 AM
I like Campbell and great to see him off to a flyer. But this “goals from midfield” thing is misleading.

Some people post about how he gives us “goals from midfield” and Newell and others don’t. Campbell is playing a different position and is tasked with getting in the box. The others are not.

When we finished 3rd we had goals from Doidge, Nisbet and Boyle. People moaned about no goals from midfield. Now we play a different way and we’ll get goals from Campbell, whoever is number 9 and Boyle. We’re no better off now that we have “goals from midfield”

Youan, Vente, Boyle and Campbell. That’s one extra player chipping in regularly.

05-08-2023, 09:37 AM
Youan, Vente, Boyle and Campbell. That’s one extra player chipping in regularly.

I agree - Youan is better than Murphy was

That’s not my point though. It’s 4 players in Jack Ross’s system and 4 in Lee Johnson’s. Goals from midfield is not a factor. Campbell is virtually a forward

05-08-2023, 09:45 AM
I agree - Youan is better than Murphy was

That’s not my point though. It’s 4 players in Jack Ross’s system and 4 in Lee Johnson’s. Goals from midfield is not a factor. Campbell is virtually a forward

I don't understand this argument.

Pat McGinlay scored something like 1 in 5 for Hibs. From midfield.

Just like Pat, Josh is a midfielder who makes runs into the box when he gets the chance and contributes goals, around the same rate actually.

Remove him from the team and we remove a goal threat from midfield.

05-08-2023, 09:47 AM

And Doidge

05-08-2023, 09:51 AM
I don't understand this argument.

Pat McGinlay scored something like 1 in 5 for Hibs. From midfield.

Just like Pat, Josh is a midfielder who makes runs into the box when he gets the chance and contributes goals, around the same rate actually.

Remove him from the team and we remove a goal threat from midfield.

Ok. Pat McGinlay typically played left or central in a flat 4 midfield. 4-4-2

He scored from centre midfield at a time when there were 2 out and out forwards in the team. Paul Hartley did that for Hearts in a 4-4-2.

Campbell plays as a number 10 basically. He has 2 central midfielders behind him. To continue the McGinlay comparison, Josh Campbell is playing more like the Darren Jackson position. You expect and demand that a player in that role scores goals.

If he was playing in the role JDH played the other night and he popped up with 2 goals, that would be a massive success. That would be “goals from midfield” IMO.

I’m not criticising Campbell here. He’s doing great. I’m pointing out that people are fixated on “goals from midfield” and it’s a red herring.

05-08-2023, 10:36 AM
Josh Campbell has to be the Pat McGinlay insurrection. Despite, being slightly smaller in stature, he makes the same lung bursting runs, and is scoring vital goals. A great player.Certainly the first since Russel for getting regular goals. Similar in the the midfield back then had the much maligned Brian Hamilton who kept things tight at the back allowing Pat to do the marauding.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
05-08-2023, 11:28 AM
He's went from a player who has looked poor that most of us wouldn't have minded being moved on under Maloney to a good goalscoring midfielder that most fans don't want to lose. I think a lots down to a more attacking style of football and good management of the player tbh . Difference between Campbell under Maloney and LJ is night and day imo .

16-12-2023, 06:31 PM
You'll probably have noticed that I'm quite a fan of Josh Campbell.

But, he isn't a right back. He's not a defensive midfielder. His best position has to be a player that sits in and around the striker. So WTF did we bring him on as a right back. The change was Whittaker for Miller and then Campbell for the anonymous Youan.

PS: I felt that we started the second half on the front foot and were building up some momentum, only for that to be given up by the most ridiculous back pass by Josh. Under zero pressure, he inexplicably fired a pass back to Marshall that was so miscued it almost hit the corner flag, from the half way line, giving away a corner. We lost all momentum after that.

16-12-2023, 06:33 PM
You'll probably have noticed that I'm quite a fan of Josh Campbell.

But, he isn't a right back. He's not a defensive midfielder. His best position has to be a player that sits in and around the striker. So WTF did we bring him on as a right back. The change was Whittaker for Miller and then Campbell for the anonymous Youan.

PS: I felt that we started the second half on the front foot and were building up some momentum, only for that to be given up by the most ridiculous back pass by Josh. Under zero pressure, he inexplicably fired a pass back to Marshall that was so miscued it almost hit the corner flag, from the half way line, giving away a corner. We lost all momentum after that.

Agree no idea Whittaker didn't come on then Josh could have come on later as he has a goal in him.

16-12-2023, 08:08 PM
His concession of a corner from the half way line was spectacular.

Victor
17-12-2023, 08:23 AM
I don’t think Campbell looked interested yesterday. Probably not happy playing right back, but that is no excuse for apathy. Overall I don’t think he fits into the new system. I may be wrong, but he may be angling for a move soon.

17-12-2023, 08:25 AM
I don’t think Campbell looked interested yesterday. Probably not happy playing right back, but that is no excuse for apathy. Overall I don’t think he fits into the new system. I may be wrong, but he may be angling for a move soon.

There are a few things you can aim at Josh but never that imo. Quite simply isn't a right back. He came in a few weeks back and was good so should be played further forward. Him or Rudi should have been playing where Jair was late on in that central role.

17-12-2023, 09:08 AM
There are a few things you can aim at Josh but never that imo. Quite simply isn't a right back. He came in a few weeks back and was good so should be played further forward. Him or Rudimentary should have been playing where Jair was late on in that central role.

:greengrin deffo should have brought on that Rudimentary lad.

17-12-2023, 09:11 AM
:greengrin deffo should have brought on that Rudimentary lad.

Don't you just love predictive text or old age or both :greengrin

17-12-2023, 09:13 AM
Don't you just love predictive text or old age or both :greengrin

It’s a yes to both for me Jim ! :greengrin