View Full Version : FF Lower and Block 7

30-06-2023, 11:19 PM
On the basis that there seemed to be some talk of the FF lower becoming a safe standing section after next season I would be interested to know what the club and especially 'Block 7' intend to do in the meantime to advertise the fact .... if fact it is .... and attract / encourage folk to become part of it when it happens.

Seems to me that if this is going to become a thing then efforts to make it successful should start now and not at the end of the 23/24 season.

As I alluded to I'm not sure if this is a fact or not, but I'm sure there was talk that the club now seemed to be on board with it, I stand to be corrected of course.

01-07-2023, 12:30 AM
On the basis that there seemed to be some talk of the FF lower becoming a safe standing section after next season I would be interested to know what the club and especially 'Block 7' intend to do in the meantime to advertise the fact .... if fact it is .... and attract / encourage folk to become part of it when it happens.

Seems to me that if this is going to become a thing then efforts to make it successful should start now and not at the end of the 23/24 season.

As I alluded to I'm not sure if this is a fact or not, but I'm sure there was talk that the club now seemed to be on board with it, I stand to be corrected of course.

Hearts have designated the section behind their goals in the Gorgie Stand as their singing/ultras section for season 23/24 and are moving some season ticket holders. As usual we’ll be playing catch up to them when it comes to fan-related initiatives.

01-07-2023, 01:41 AM
As far as I’m aware Block 7 (and even as far back to the Since 1875 group) have always been very keen on moving the singing section to behind the goals in the FFL.

Whether the 13 people who sit there fancy moving their season tickets though is another matter.

01-07-2023, 08:10 AM
Hearts have designated the section behind their goals in the Gorgie Stand as their singing/ultras section for season 23/24 and are moving some season ticket holders. As usual we’ll be playing catch up to them when it comes to fan-related initiatives.

Agreed, always behind. We have been discussing the benefits of this for years and no change

kentao
01-07-2023, 08:22 AM
Hibs have included this picture in the email to promote the friendly with FC Groningen, Maybe the club are already trying to get the juices flowing for the ultras being behind the goals. I for one cant wait to see the FF Lower full of colour and voice.

01-07-2023, 08:22 AM
Im glad it's happening. Just a pity we have to wait until after next season. Should have happened years ago. Probably one of the reasons Aberdeen have attracted their record season ticket numbers. Their 'Red Shed' has been a brilliant idea.

01-07-2023, 08:23 AM
Hibs have included this picture in the email to promote the friendly with FC Groningen, Maybe the club are already trying to get the juices flowing for the ultras being behind the goals. I for one cant wait to see the FF Lower full of colour and voice.

That's what the FF lower should be like. Would be unbelievable.

01-07-2023, 09:36 AM

They tried it for the cup game against Celtc and the home end was the usual library. What other fan-related initiatives are we playing catch-up to them with? We've had a number of ultra groups over the years, they just got their act together very recently.

01-07-2023, 09:38 AM
It should have been accelerated as soon as the boys came down from the upper to the lower at half time in the cup game before covid.

Was amazing.

Regardless what section, it needs to happen sooner rather than later.

01-07-2023, 09:42 AM
I think it will start to happen across Scottish football.

Aberdeen have their 'Red Shed', Hearts are in the process of moving things around, Rangers have the Union Bears behind the goals albeit pushed out to the side a bit and Celtic fans are pushing to be moved from the corner to behind the goals in the 'Celtic End'. They trialled it at a women's game and it looked good.

If there is monetary advantage to be gained from it then Hibs aren't going to let that pass. It's up to those pushing for it to be proactive in dialogue with the club and not to do anything stupid that potentially jeopardises what currently seems to be a positive relationship with those in power at the club.

Torto7062
01-07-2023, 09:57 AM
As far as I’m aware Block 7 (and even as far back to the Since 1875 group) have always been very keen on moving the singing section to behind the goals in the FFL.

Whether the 13 people who sit there fancy moving their season tickets though is another matter.

13 people 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Steven79
01-07-2023, 10:30 AM
It should have been accelerated as soon as the boys came down from the upper to the lower at half time in the cup game before covid.

Was amazing.

Regardless what section, it needs to happen sooner rather than later.This!

That Inverness cup quarter final game should have made everyone aware of how good the FFL could be and it's criminal that we haven't done anything about it.

Me and my son went down from the upper to the lower in the second half and it's the most enjoyable experience I've had behind the goals.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

01-07-2023, 02:17 PM
Should have happened years ago. I'm getting on a bit now and might look a bit daft jumping about with the young ones 😆

Bridge hibs
01-07-2023, 02:27 PM
Should have happened years ago. I'm getting on a bit now and might look a bit daft jumping about with the young ones 😆No one will recognise you with your balaclava on so you will be fine 😃

01-07-2023, 02:44 PM
13 people [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]'Ken ... exaggerating for effect.... it's more like 17 :agree:

01-07-2023, 02:49 PM
With the club spending a fortune on the new hybrid pitch can we keep the bloody flares off it please.

Bridge hibs
01-07-2023, 02:53 PM
With the club spending a fortune on the new hybrid pitch can we keep the bloody flares off it please.

You just know a few are going to get launched from the away end v hearts, the rangers and celtc, just to test it eh

01-07-2023, 03:35 PM

Think that's harsh on block 7. There's probably about 20-25 of them.

Hibiza
01-07-2023, 03:41 PM
Should have happened years ago. I'm getting on a bit now and might look a bit daft jumping about with the young ones 😆

Were never too old , in the blood .

01-07-2023, 04:14 PM
You just know a few are going to get launched from the away end v hearts, the rangers and celtc, just to test it eh

And the home end

01-07-2023, 05:06 PM
If they only sing their ultras-by-numbers songs, I'm no sure it will help the atmosphere at all. There were a few signs towards the end of last season that they were maybe twigging to that, so there's hope at least.

01-07-2023, 05:19 PM
13 people 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Pish. At least 16.

01-07-2023, 05:52 PM
Thanks for the input everybody, though I wasn't really looking to see discussion on the merits of a standing area behind the goals as such, IMO enough has been done to show its very much worth giving a go and it seems that Hibs at long last agree.

I was more curious as to what folk's ideas or opinions might be as to how in the months leading up to it happening the club and Block 7 can encourage folk to become part of it. I am convinced that the move will be the making of our 'ultras' groups and that the standing section will be a success long term. But the idea has to be to make the whole of the 2000 capacity FF lower standing and from that POV the aim must be to see at the very least 1000 fans standing in that area from the word go.

I know folk have been joking on here about the current numbers in block 7 .... but I'm convinced they are the tip of a possible iceberg once a dedicated self contained part of the stadium becomes their own.

Obviously the name 'Block 7' will need to be replaced for a kick off. That aside I would like to see the club actively encourage take up of season tickets for that area well before the release of ST's for 24/25 they could even put adverts on the big screens reminding folk of what is to come throughout this season..... I like the idea of simply a ST or walk up ticket with FF lower on it and nothing else, first come first served as it were.

It would be interesting to get some input on here from folk who are currently part of Block 7.

01-07-2023, 07:48 PM
Thanks for the input everybody, though I wasn't really looking to see discussion on the merits of a standing area behind the goals as such, IMO enough has been done to show its very much worth giving a go and it seems that Hibs at long last agree.

I was more curious as to what folk's ideas or opinions might be as to how in the months leading up to it happening the club and Block 7 can encourage folk to become part of it. I am convinced that the move will be the making of our 'ultras' groups and that the standing section will be a success long term. But the idea has to be to make the whole of the 2000 capacity FF lower standing and from that POV the aim must be to see at the very least 1000 fans standing in that area from the word go.

I know folk have been joking on here about the current numbers in block 7 .... but I'm convinced they are the tip of a possible iceberg once a dedicated self contained part of the stadium becomes their own.

Obviously the name 'Block 7' will need to be replaced for a kick off. That aside I would like to see the club actively encourage take up of season tickets for that area well before the release of ST's for 24/25 they could even put adverts on the big screens reminding folk of what is to come throughout this season..... I like the idea of simply a ST or walk up ticket with FF lower on it and nothing else, first come first served as it were.

It would be interesting to get some input on here from folk who are currently part of Block 7.

Famous Five Lions/Leaders/Legionnaires/Louts er Loyalists?? lol

01-07-2023, 09:31 PM
Famous Five Lions/Leaders/Legionnaires/Louts er Loyalists?? lol

FF Fk'ers :greengrin

01-07-2023, 09:58 PM
What’s going to be brought to the table in the FF lower that wasn’t in evidence when the group (or similar) was positioned in FF upper?

And if this doesn’t work to their favour, what section of ST holders within the stadium next should maybe not be getting too used to their favoured berth?

01-07-2023, 10:50 PM
What’s going to be brought to the table in the FF lower that wasn’t in evidence when the group (or similar) was positioned in FF upper?

And if this doesn’t work to their favour, what section of ST holders within the stadium next should maybe not be getting too used to their favoured berth?

In the FF lower they will have their own space as opposed to being 'in the road' elsewhere ... As on over the top example. the Kop at Liverpool or the Yellow wall at Dortmund, go to either self contained area and you know what to expect. Same with this ... its not block whatever, or a wee bit of a big stand... its the whole bottom deck of the FF. IMO this change of location and that fact will make a huge difference.

Season ticket holders have been moved countless times in countless stadiums. I was sitting in the FF lower from the day it opened and for a long time before that in the Coo shed ... That is until a few seasons ago when folk without kids of family section age were told they couldn't come back to the FF lower and that was me, ST holder in the FF since it opened moved out ..... know what, I lived.

Besides that, if Hibs offer the family deal throughout the stadium as a result of the change to the FF lower some FF adults at least might get the seat they've always wanted.

02-07-2023, 08:42 AM
In the FF lower they will have their own space as opposed to being 'in the road' elsewhere ... As on over the top example. the Kop at Liverpool or the Yellow wall at Dortmund, go to either self contained area and you know what to expect. Same with this ... its not block whatever, or a wee bit of a big stand... its the whole bottom deck of the FF. IMO this change of location and that fact will make a huge difference.

Season ticket holders have been moved countless times in countless stadiums. I was sitting in the FF lower from the day it opened and for a long time before that in the Coo shed ... That is until a few seasons ago when folk without kids of family section age were told they couldn't come back to the FF lower and that was me, ST holder in the FF since it opened moved out ..... know what, I lived.

Besides that, if Hibs offer the family deal throughout the stadium as a result of the change to the FF lower some FF adults at least might get the seat they've always wanted.

This is what I dont get. Can't be that many people who have sat there since it opened considering that you need to have a kid with a season ticket with you.

02-07-2023, 09:28 AM
Makes sense to have the ‘new cave’.

j'adorehibs
02-07-2023, 09:50 AM
This is what I dont get. Can't be that many people who have sat there since it opened considering that you need to have a kid with a season ticket with you.

familys span generations and have kids at different times in life - ive been there since it opened

on this subject there has been no comms with ff lower season ticket holders to date which i find odd considering block 7's announcement

nae nookies point is key - offering family prices in other parts of the stadium , also key is how people are rehoused if move does go ahead....i have a great seat behind the goals and dont particulalry want to be sat at the far end corner next to away fans ....so for me id like to be able to choose where i sit.....whats required is people signing up for standing/singing section and getting numbers confirmed and hopefully this frees up decent seats in east, west etc for those being moved - if the uptake is only those block 7 ers then theres no point.

so if the numbers can be confirmed and it looks like it will have a decent uptake then hibs can start talking to me

02-07-2023, 10:37 AM

To be fair to the recruitment team they haven done a great job at keeping flair off the pitch sine the McGinn midfield!

EGL2000
02-07-2023, 10:46 AM
Do we know if it's going to be safe standing, really hope this is the case.

DIXIHIBS
02-07-2023, 10:54 AM
familys span generations and have kids at different times in life - ive been there since it opened

on this subject there has been no comms with ff lower season ticket holders to date which i find odd considering block 7's announcement

nae nookies point is key - offering family prices in other parts of the stadium , also key is how people are rehoused if move does go ahead....i have a great seat behind the goals and dont particulalry want to be sat at the far end corner next to away fans ....so for me id like to be able to choose where i sit.....whats required is people signing up for standing/singing section and getting numbers confirmed and hopefully this frees up decent seats in east, west etc for those being moved - if the uptake is only those block 7 ers then theres no point.

so if the numbers can be confirmed and it looks like it will have a decent uptake then hibs can start talking to me

There are plenty decent seats in the east/west now, thousands in fact. No need to wait and see if any others are freed up by anyone moving to FF lower. Also it wouldnt be just B7 that would move there. Plenty others would enjoy a singing/standing area without being attached to any particular group.

02-07-2023, 11:14 AM
There are plenty decent seats in the east/west now, thousands in fact. No need to wait and see if any others are freed up by anyone moving to FF lower. Also it wouldnt be just B7 that would move there. Plenty others would enjoy a singing/standing area without being attached to any particular group.

Indeed. Has to be made absolutely clear that this wouldn't be simply an 'ultras' section but simply for anybody who likes to stand and ideally have a bit of a sing song :greengrin

davhibby
02-07-2023, 11:20 AM
Aberdeen didn’t even have a block 7 style group before they made the decision to move the family section for their red shed last season. After one year of it growing organically I’m sure I read that there’s now a waiting list for season tickets in the red shed because it’s sold out already.

They should be trialling this properly in the european and cup games this season - full lower tier with unreserved “seats” singing section. Would give a chance for an early idea of the appetite for it but also for people to see the difference it would make to the atmosphere

jakedance
02-07-2023, 11:48 AM
When it happens it will be a great success. It’s just the right size for our club and it will sell out easily. I’d like to see all the radges and bams, and those of us happy enough to stand with them, in there and the rest of the stadium stewarded strictly to be welcoming and family friendly.

nickwhibs
02-07-2023, 11:59 AM
Absolutely in favour of this and would certainly relocate to that section to be part of it.

Hibiza
02-07-2023, 11:59 AM
Would be great to have a packed , lower
FF Stand. No disrespect to the current season ticket holders , surely they can join in or be placed elsewhere ( in the best long term interests).

02-07-2023, 12:22 PM

I've no doubt there are a few families similar but it really can't be that many.

02-07-2023, 12:37 PM
I've no doubt there are a few families similar but it really can't be that many.

In my case I was part of a family group with my pals kids when the family section opened. When they grew up they were almost immediately followed by another set of kids belonging to another one of my mates .... in spite of having no football going kids of my own I was in the family section as part of both groups until just a few years ago.

02-07-2023, 12:40 PM
Aberdeen didn’t even have a block 7 style group before they made the decision to move the family section for their red shed last season. After one year of it growing organically I’m sure I read that there’s now a waiting list for season tickets in the red shed because it’s sold out already.

They should be trialling this properly in the european and cup games this season - full lower tier with unreserved “seats” singing section. Would give a chance for an early idea of the appetite for it but also for people to see the difference it would make to the atmosphere

It certainly made a difference at the Borussia Dortmund game and that was with the West and South stands more or less completely empty.

13-07-2023, 02:23 PM
Singing section in the FFL for this seasons European games. Good news.

6-2MAGIC
13-07-2023, 02:36 PM
They need to do something behind the goals whether its a standing section or back to how it used to be and have it packed out. Looks absolutely terrible in person and especially on tv when its half-empty even in big games

13-07-2023, 02:49 PM
Singing section in the FFL for this seasons European games. Good news.

Full details here:

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/singing-section-to-be-trialled-in-european-fixtures

Brilliant move from Hibs.

13-07-2023, 02:51 PM
Full details here:

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/singing-section-to-be-trialled-in-european-fixtures

Yeah it really is. Lets hope we progress through the qualifying rounds.

Garymcl
13-07-2023, 02:59 PM
In the longer term I’m up for giving up my seat as a season ticket holder to this idea as long as I get a decent seat elsewhere anything that helps the atmosphere at our ground :thumbsup:

13-07-2023, 03:02 PM
Full details here:

Super stuff from Hibs, now it's up to those who espouse a permanent safe standing area in the FF lower to come out and be part of the trial matches. FFS don't make a liar out of me after me beating my gums in favour of this for years :greengrin

At 63 years old I'm a wee bit long in the tooth to be part of it myself ... but rather than take up my ST seat in the FF upper for these games .... hopefully more than one ... I'll grab a seat in the East to get a view of whatever the singing section come up with, make it good guys. :greengrin