View Full Version : Queens Park new stand

25-06-2023, 11:19 AM
40 odd seats - probably just as well they failed to get promoted.

https://i.postimg.cc/L6mp9Z1V/92926682-FAD5-44-A1-A731-C3-E9-C99-BBC9-E.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

25-06-2023, 11:31 AM

https://i.postimg.cc/L6mp9Z1V/92926682-FAD5-44-A1-A731-C3-E9-C99-BBC9-E.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

TBF, there is another one opposite.

��

25-06-2023, 12:10 PM
Still 10 times better than the poppy thieves effort 😄

25-06-2023, 12:14 PM
They rented back Hampden in anticipation of a return to the big time but decided to go ahead with it in any case for next season

25-06-2023, 02:46 PM
Their fans are rightly pissed off, the board have essentially built themselves a big fancy directors box instead of the main stand which was originally planned.

25-06-2023, 02:49 PM
Seems to have been a complete shambles of a job.

Torto7
25-06-2023, 03:11 PM
Their fans are rightly pissed off, the board have essentially built themselves a big fancy directors box instead of the main stand which was originally planned.

The wonderful Leanne doing another sterling job. They've pissed away all of the money they received as well. That lassie is a slaver and I'm glad she's no longer at Easter Road.

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2023, 03:13 PM
The wonderful Leanne doing another sterling job. They've pissed away all of the money they received as well. That lassie is a slaver and I'm glad she's no longer at Easter Road.

Can’t say anything negative about Dempster, someone will be along to reply to you with a 10,000 word essay on why she’s gods gift to Scottish football.

You’re right, of course. But that doesn’t matter.

25-06-2023, 03:25 PM
Can’t say anything negative about Dempster, someone will be along to reply to you with a 10,000 word essay on why she’s gods gift to Scottish football.

The Blessed Leanne. I've got another 2,000 words to go & then I'll post the essay here.

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-06-2023, 03:27 PM
The Blessed Leanne. I've got another 2,000 words to go & then I'll post the essay here.

Done well to bash out 8000 words in 15 minutes but I eagerly await it

Bridge hibs
25-06-2023, 04:20 PM

To be fair, they have built a standing section for their Ultra, at the left

hibby rae
25-06-2023, 04:26 PM

Like most things in life the truth lies in between and it's not black and white

25-06-2023, 05:01 PM

Some of them would probably be empty

25-06-2023, 05:27 PM
That is really crap and the stand on the other side isn't much better.

I know they don't need a huge ground but surely the opportunity was there to build a proper wee old school ground with some safe standing.

cocteautwin
26-06-2023, 01:57 AM
That's a shocker. Did they get the HMFC design team on the job?

26-06-2023, 05:22 AM

What did she do so wrong at Hibs?

26-06-2023, 05:23 AM
Thats a non league league stand.

26-06-2023, 06:00 AM

Think in the main she did an excellent job for Hibs certainly in relation to the football side.

26-06-2023, 06:22 AM
Think in the main she did an excellent job for Hibs certainly in relation to the football side.

Yep, took over a club that had just been relegated and was the CEO when we won the Scottish Cup after 114 years.

Not every decision she made was the right one, as I’m sure she would admit, but the vast majority of the time she got things right.

But just like footballers, I guess it’s a matter of opinion.

26-06-2023, 07:09 AM
What did she do so wrong at Hibs?

Think it’s the off field stuff. On field she appointed folk that were good and won the cup.

Off it we had advertising boards unpaid for, rubbish corporate, a stand that was a write off and couldn’t even be given away to the NHS. Plus when we won the cup we were woefully under prepared with merchandise.

26-06-2023, 07:15 AM
Think it’s the off field stuff. On field she appointed folk that were good and won the cup.

Off it we had advertising boards unpaid for, rubbish corporate, a stand that was a write off and couldn’t even be given away to the NHS. Plus when we won the cup we were woefully under prepared with merchandise.

Fair points. I think it's somewhat important to remember that she probably had to prioritise at first, to rebuild the team. She inherited a real sorry mess.

Personally I much preferred supporting Hibs under her than our current lot.

26-06-2023, 07:32 AM
Fair points. I think it's somewhat important to remember that she probably had to prioritise at first, to rebuild the team. She inherited a real sorry mess.

Looks like the on field stuff for QP has been good too. She’s maybe good at appointing the right “football people” and letting them get on with it. A CEOs role is more than that though, although if good on field then the off field is overlooked - it’s when you don’t win/get promoted it comes into view.

26-06-2023, 07:51 AM

Plus the nonsense over loyalty points.

26-06-2023, 08:01 AM
Is it not just a big telly they've installed?

26-06-2023, 08:08 AM

Glad we had already built our east stand before she came phew.

26-06-2023, 08:13 AM
500 at their "test event" yesterday 🤣
What need is there for a Test Event when building something like this?

26-06-2023, 08:17 AM
They could have just stuck at 75 inch telly in its place and put a crowd picture on it.
I’m sure they could have put the actual 20 people the stand holds somewhere else in the ground

The Baldmans Comb
26-06-2023, 12:35 PM

We also had turnstiles that didn't work, you couldn't buy tickets on line and there was no first team strip sponsor on the front of the jerseys as she had disgracefully appointed her "good friend" as head of the commercial department but who instead worked on behalf of Glasgow City as she prepared her escape route.

Dempster was slowly found out over time and was found wanting with every passing year though it has to be ackknowledeged her excellent starting achievements in the first couple of years rebuilding after relegation.

26-06-2023, 01:51 PM
We also had turnstiles that didn't work, you couldn't buy tickets on line and there was no first team strip sponsor on the front of the jerseys as she had disgracefully appointed her "good friend" as head of the commercial department but who instead worked on behalf of Glasgow City as she prepared her escape route.

Dempster was slowly found out over time and was found wanting with every passing year though it has to be ackknowledeged her excellent starting achievements in the first couple of years rebuilding after relegation.

Nobody is going to get everything right all of the time. You only have to look at the criticism of the current powers at be on here for things being better off the pitch than on.

It's fair to criticise LD on some things during her tenure but ultimately we'll look back on the Scottish Cup win and a cracking season under Lennon in the Prem with a great team. Moaning about naff hospitality and other nitpicks will just look daft.

That stand is bloody ridiculous though.

26-06-2023, 01:54 PM
Nobody is going to get everything right all of the time. You only have to look at the criticism of the current powers at be on here for things being better off the pitch than on.

It's fair to criticise LD on some things during her tenure but ultimately we'll look back on the Scottish Cup win and a cracking season under Lennon in the Prem with a great team. Moaning about naff hospitality and other nitpicks will just look daft.

That stand is bloody ridiculous though.

It’s not daft when it was her job. The in field stuff was/is for others to do.

26-06-2023, 02:45 PM
It’s not daft when it was her job. The in field stuff was/is for others to do.

It was all her job, she hired and managed the Head of Football Operations. Which, as a Football Club, is kinda the main thing and what we'll look back on. If a crap, overpriced dinner experience outweighs a Scottish Cup win along with the Lennon ride when you think back over LD's tenure then you do you.

26-06-2023, 04:31 PM
It was all her job, she hired and managed the Head of Football Operations. Which, as a Football Club, is kinda the main thing and what we'll look back on. If a crap, overpriced dinner experience outweighs a Scottish Cup win along with the Lennon ride when you think back over LD's tenure then you do you.

On the pitch is the important thing and she done well in the sense that picking the right guys to run that masked all the poor work she done off the field.

26-06-2023, 04:40 PM

Budge will be seething with cringey jealousy.

WeAreHibs
26-06-2023, 05:07 PM
Budge will be seething with cringey jealousy.

Hardly! It was probably her idea😉

26-06-2023, 07:13 PM
The starting point for any building project in Scottish football is to consider what Budge would do and, if possible, ask her for advice.

With those essential steps taken, all that's needed for a successful building project in Scottish football is to do the exact opposite.

TelaStella
26-06-2023, 07:46 PM

No matter what opinions there are of Dempster that may circle this forum and the wider Hibs community, I’d be astonished if anyone could disagree with your last point there and after all that’s surely what’s most important.

Rick Rude
26-06-2023, 08:20 PM
No matter what opinions there are of Dempster that may circle this forum and the wider Hibs community, I’d be astonished if anyone could disagree with your last point there and after all that’s surely what’s most important.

I'd happily disagree. The off the field was falling apart and she was more interested in how good our charity work was. We had completely abandoned the on field plan when we brought in Lennon which ended in a complete debacle. I have zero faith in her ability to turn it around. I have more faith in the current lot to have us competing. At least we now seem to learn and admit to mistakes.

TelaStella
26-06-2023, 10:22 PM
I'd happily disagree. The off the field was falling apart and she was more interested in how good our charity work was. We had completely abandoned the on field plan when we brought in Lennon which ended in a complete debacle. I have zero faith in her ability to turn it around. I have more faith in the current lot to have us competing. At least we now seem to learn and admit to mistakes.

That’s a fair assessment and we can certainly agree on some things. I’d say for whatever plan that may have been conceded to Lennon’s management, we gained arguably the most exciting season in years- undisputed if you’re born post 2000- with Europe and wins over hearts/old firm either side of that campaign too. What led after that was a disappointing, decline, offering very inconsistent thrills compared to prior, granted. Overall though I’d still stand by my point and that of the previous poster’s- that Hibs were a more enjoyable and exciting team to watch in those years under Dempster compared to post Dempster. Regrettably I’ve seen very little since to dispute that. Hopefully mate, your faith can be repaid in today’s hierarchy in the coming season and seasons ahead, giving us all many more happy memories to come.

Ggtth.

27-06-2023, 10:53 AM

Like most folk running football clubs she got some right some wrong. She took over an absolute basket case of a club, in fact on the day of her first meeting with the board there was 2000 folk in the car park pointing out just how much of a basket case it was. If someone that day had said within a few seasons we would win the cup and set a 40 year high in average attendance they would have been sectioned ...... Leeann Dempster deserves to be remembered fondly for the undoubted part she played in that.

But yeh, there was mistakes and I completely agree with criticism over the state the FF was allegedly allowed to get into, which contributed to the loss of behind the goals ... something the current owners should have on their list of things that need rectified.

The failure to cash in commercially on the cup win can't be argued with either, that was nothing short of a disaster. There's no bigger Hibs fan than me, but to this day my cup final memorabilia extends to a programme from the day and my match ticket sitting in a frame on a wall in my house. No T shirt or stuff like that, not even a fridge magnet, not a single club produced item to celebrate the biggest day in the club's history since the 1950s

27-06-2023, 11:04 AM
Demster herself observed that the lifespan of a CEO was about 5 years then things start to go stale rather than dynamic.

I liked her, and thought she was largely very good for the club at that time and we were lucky to have her particularly as she was given a way out before she’d even started after relegation, but chose to stay and contribute to rebuilding the club.

My biggest gripe was the loyalty points debacle, but in the main, I thought she was a fine CEO.

27-06-2023, 11:53 AM
A bit of background info on the stadium rebuild

The original plans were for two stands that would run the full length of the pitch on the East and West side.

They then realised that was impractical, as it would mean demolishing the office building on the south west side, so the plan was changed to a full length East Stand and an away fans stand behind the goals, at the South side.

Due to lockdown, then the original contractor going bust, the rebuild was delayed by at least 2 years.

The East Stand is finished and the foundations for the South Stand are now underway.

That monstrosity in the photo, though... :rolleyes:

27-06-2023, 12:42 PM
48 hours after seeing a photo of that stand and i still can't decide what i think of it, it just looks so surreal :greengrin

i think it's just a huge big shoe box laying on it's side, with the lid off

27-06-2023, 12:59 PM
48 hours after seeing a photo of that stand and i still can't decide what i think of it, it just looks so surreal :greengrin

i think it's just a huge big shoe box laying on it's side, with the lid off

Seems like some sort of stand you would see in an Authoritarian regime. Few important people get the best seats stuff the ordinary folk. A terrible look to be honest.

27-06-2023, 01:03 PM
Seems like some sort of stand you would see in an Authoritarian regime. Few important people get the best seats stuff the ordinary folk. A terrible look to be honest.

i'm thinking North Korea

27-06-2023, 01:14 PM
i'm thinking North Korea

Me too only one very big seat in that stand though :greengrin

hhibs
27-06-2023, 10:59 PM
[QUOTE=Rick Rude;7380806]I'd happily disagree. The off the field was falling apart and she was more interested in how good our charity work was. We had completely abandoned the on field plan when we brought in Lennon which ended in a complete debacle. I have zero faith in her ability to turn it around. I have more faith in the current lot to have us competing. At least we now seem to learn and admit to mistakes.[/QUOTE

Same here.

Musselbound
28-06-2023, 04:58 AM
My main concern with Queens Park potentially getting promoted was such a small capacity stadium, with the new one being somewhere over the 2000 mark I believe. As it turns out they are going to be using the main Hampden stadium this season. Had they been promoted we could have seen some very big crowds there especially when their Glasgow neighbours came calling - but in the Championship? At least there will be plenty tickets available if we draw them away in one of the cups.

28-06-2023, 10:58 AM
My main concern with Queens Park potentially getting promoted was such a small capacity stadium, with the new one being somewhere over the 2000 mark I believe. As it turns out they are going to be using the main Hampden stadium this season. Had they been promoted we could have seen some very big crowds there especially when their Glasgow neighbours came calling - but in the Championship? At least there will be plenty tickets available if we draw them away in one of the cups.

The other side of that coin if you are the treasurer of one of the other premiership clubs is their tiny away support. We already have two clubs in this division in Livvi and Ross County who's usual away 'crowd' wouldn't put the seating capacity of an LRT double decker bus in danger, replacing Dundee Utd who can bring 1500 on a good day with another club barely capable of 100 would have been depressing.

Queens Park have a big advantage over practically every club in Scotland when it comes to their proximity to Hampden. By leasing the place they would have the ability to generate huge sums of money, 3 home games against the uglies could easily at a conservative estimate see them generate a total of 90,000 away fans in these 3 matches .... chuck in unlimited tickets available to the likes of Hibs Hearts and Aberdeen and their average home attendance even without making the top 6 would easily outstrip that of far bigger clubs like Motherwell or Dundee.

In a financial sense they would contribute next to nothing but gain massively if they were to make the premiership ... for that reason I would hate to see them get promoted.

30-06-2023, 11:08 PM
Tried to put Time For Heroes on just now but my ancient DVD player is in the huff.

It did make me think about first time I watched it though, in October (?) 16. Made me think about criticisms above about Cup win merch.

The merch was rubbish from the off and it didn't get better.

The DVD didn't come out for months.

I don't think they are disconnected. Based on nothing, I think Hibs didn't want to be triumphalist while the disciplinary was outstanding. In the end the case against us ran aground on a technicality.

Lea-ahn got stuff wrong. Sure. We all do. I think any failings about ker-chinging merch on the back of 21/05 might be more down to the folk who couldnae stay in the stands.

30-06-2023, 11:26 PM
Tried to put Time For Heroes on just now but my ancient DVD player is in the huff.

It did make me think about first time I watched it though, in October 16(?). Made me think about criticisms above about Cup win merch.

I don't think they are disconnected. Based on nothing, I think Hibs didn't want to be triumphalist while the disciplinary was outstanding. In the end the case against us ran aground on a technicality.

Lea-ahn got stuff wrong. Sure. We all do. I think any failings about ker-chinging merch on the back of 21/05 might be more down to the folk who couldnae stay in the stands.

I seriously doubt that to be honest. If I had my way Hibs would re release that DVD with an extra half hour of after match exuberance included :greengrin

01-07-2023, 06:27 AM

It did make me think about first time I watched it though, in October (?) 16. Made me think about criticisms above about Cup win merch.

The DVD was well worth the wait. It is absolutely excellent.

Gloucester Hibs
01-07-2023, 06:43 AM

That resembles something they’d watch the jousting from in Game of Thrones

ChuckNor
01-07-2023, 07:56 AM
The stadium Queens Park have built is an absolute disaster. That team will eventually play in the top division due to the healthy backing it has received from a rich owner. How he went from what was previously a decent stadium design to that is mad. Too much money and not enough sense. Have any football journalists asked the club why they went with this design?

01-07-2023, 08:18 AM
I have always wondered if the long term plan was to return to Hampden with Lesser becoming a top notch training facility. Certainly that is how it has worked out.

Steven79
01-07-2023, 10:31 AM
I have always wondered if the long term plan was to return to Hampden with Lesser becoming a top notch training facility. Certainly that is how it has worked out.That's what I'm wondering.

Does seem that way...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Steven79
01-07-2023, 10:32 AM
That resembles something they’d watch the jousting from in Game of Thrones[emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

01-07-2023, 06:15 PM

The previous plan for that side was for it to look like this...
(which surely looks a lot better than that monstrosity)

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-07-2023, 06:18 PM
What I don’t understand is why they didn’t make it literally a miniature version of Hampden, that’d have been cool

Bridge hibs
01-07-2023, 06:23 PM
What I don’t understand is why they didn’t make it literally a miniature version of Hampden, that’d have been cool

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt does, a ****ing mess

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-07-2023, 06:26 PM
It does, a ****ing mess

Well yes. But you know what I meant.

dchibs
01-07-2023, 06:38 PM
They must have taken advice from Budge and forgot to order the seats.

Bridge hibs
01-07-2023, 06:50 PM
Well yes. But you know what I meant.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI did and Im sure you know what I meant, one **** hole is enough without the need for a miniature ****hole beside the larger ****hole

Kinda like on holiday where you have a bidet beside the cludgie

They should have moved up the road to their original ground, Cathkin Park, they could have removed a few trees and chucked that horrific wee stand in and Bobs yer granny, job done

TelaStella
01-07-2023, 07:01 PM
I did and Im sure you know what I meant, one **** hole is enough without the need for a miniature ****hole beside the larger ****hole

Kinda like on holiday where you have a bidet beside the cludgie

They should have moved up the road to their original ground, Cathkin Park, they could have removed a few trees and chucked that horrific wee stand in and Bobs yer granny, job done

Hampden and lesser are “***** holes” but moving to Cathkin Park is an upgrade aye? Especially if they take the stand that’s the cause of the controversy with them? Don’t get it.

Bridge hibs
01-07-2023, 07:10 PM
Hampden and lesser are “***** holes” but moving to Cathkin Park is an upgrade aye? Especially if they take the stand that’s the cause of the controversy with them? Don’t get it.

I wasnt being serious about Cathkin

02-07-2023, 09:28 PM
I have always wondered if the long term plan was to return to Hampden with Lesser becoming a top notch training facility. Certainly that is how it has worked out.They sold the ground and have no rights to play there. They'll be forking out loads in rent. More if they get to the Premiership.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

02-07-2023, 10:37 PM
They sold the ground and have no rights to play there. They'll be forking out loads in rent. More if they get to the Premiership.

And the SFA will pay for exclusive use of Lesser Hampden

archie
02-07-2023, 10:46 PM

The DVD was an absolute labour of love and was brilliant. I've shown it to friends and family from abroad who rave about it.

02-07-2023, 10:48 PM
And the SFA will pay for exclusive use of Lesser HampdenThe two aren't connected. The sales were done before QP considered becoming professional.
Why would the SFA need exclusive access to LH? QP presumably train there as a full time team.