View Full Version : John McGinn could have been a jambo

Bridge hibs
18-06-2023, 06:21 AM
Just watching the Curried club on youtube with Alan Stubbs and John McGinn, John says that he declined hibs a few times before Stubbs finally got him

He said he had offers from Dundee Utd and had the chance to go to the MLS, when in Santa Ponsa he said he got a call from Robbie Neilson asking him if he would come to hearts, he agreed but said Robbie never called him again 🤣 shame !! The rest is history as they say

18-06-2023, 10:23 AM
Had he went to Hearts he’d either still be there hoofing the ball up the park or playing for someone like Airdrie.

Jakhog1
18-06-2023, 10:35 AM
Had he went to Hearts he’d either still be there hoofing the ball up the park or playing for someone like Airdrie.

Very accurate , they would have ruined him and all the ability he had

18-06-2023, 10:44 AM
Think a player that good would do well anywhere. His ball winning qualities would've seen him be a star there too.

18-06-2023, 12:35 PM
Just watching the Curried club on youtube with Alan Stubbs and John McGinn, John says that he declined hibs a few times before Stubbs finally got him

He said he had offers from Dundee Utd and had the chance to go to the MLS, when in Santa Ponsa he said he got a call from Robbie Neilson asking him if he would come to hearts, he agreed but said Robbie never called him again 🤣 shame !! The rest is history as they say

remember watching that and nearly throwing up at the thought of SJM in a maroon jersey.

Just_Jimmy
18-06-2023, 12:39 PM
I've just been sick in my mouth.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
18-06-2023, 01:34 PM
remember watching that and nearly throwing up at the thought of SJM in a maroon jersey.

Thats the first time Ive watched it and had to rewind it back in case I thought I had misheard it 😵

18-06-2023, 01:52 PM
Ach, if ma auntie had baws......

h185forever
18-06-2023, 01:59 PM
Ach, if ma auntie had baws......

…..she’d be yer uncle ?

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2023, 02:18 PM
I watched it recently too BH . It really is a scary thought that Mcginn could have been playing at Tiny with the 20,000 plus in attendance :tee hee: singing ' WE'VE GOT MCGINN .. SUPER JOHN MCGINN ................ It probably would have been there best song ever too then again they probably wouldn't have thought on it as the Jambos have never really had any decent songs that are of any real quality anyhow :yamlaugh: .

18-06-2023, 02:18 PM
Pretty sure he won the League Cup for the Saintees playing against Hearts

Another year of pain without the wee cup

18-06-2023, 02:21 PM
…..she’d be yer uncle ?And also a jambo

18-06-2023, 02:25 PM
Remember reading on kickback that he wouldn't have got into their midfield.🤔

18-06-2023, 02:37 PM
McGinn loved home derbies. 1-0, 3-1, 1-0, 2-0 on his watch. He bullied them.

18-06-2023, 03:53 PM
Wonder if we’ve not followed up on players that have went onto greatness.
Sorry for venturing off the topic .

hibeg
18-06-2023, 04:48 PM
Wonder if we’ve not followed up on players that have went onto greatness.
Sorry for venturing off the topic .

I’m sure I read years ago that we released Willie Pettigrew before he went to Motherwell. He became a great player in an excellent team, won at least one Scotland cap . He was another one that got away along with Robbo

18-06-2023, 05:07 PM
I’m sure I read years ago that we released Willie Pettigrew before he went to Motherwell. He became a great player in an excellent team, won at least one Scotland cap . He was another one that got away along with Robbo

Gordon Strachan another

Just_Jimmy
18-06-2023, 06:27 PM
Gordon Strachan anotherAntonio reyes was decent too.

18-06-2023, 06:38 PM
Antonio reyes was decent too.

That Reyes chat was the best EVER thread !:top marks

18-06-2023, 07:00 PM
Keith Wright - Oh wait 😝

18-06-2023, 08:23 PM
If he'd signed for Hearts he'd be a model for extra large underpants now.

Bridge hibs
18-06-2023, 08:25 PM
If he'd signed for Hearts he'd be a model for extra large underpants now.Just wouldnt be a good fit, McGinn and jambos, Meatball with Oddballs

18-06-2023, 08:38 PM
At least if he had no one would have heard of that wee fud Devlin.

18-06-2023, 08:40 PM
My Celtic mates told me they only wanted him as a benchwarmer

Their refusal to open the biscuit tin and pay the asking price probably cost them the League that season

Fick the Hearts

18-06-2023, 10:23 PM

Their refusal to open the biscuit tin and pay the asking price probably cost them the League that season

Fick the Hearts

the one consolation about losing him was that Celtic never got him

18-06-2023, 10:40 PM

Fick the Hearts
Yes remember them saying that, now the same people are saying that if the had signed him 10 in a row would have been theirs. Apparently Rodgers was not a happy chappy at the time.

19-06-2023, 04:14 AM

Fick the Hearts

I think hiring a manager that got 3 wins in 16 at Hibs didn't help either.

19-06-2023, 05:29 AM
I think hiring a manager that got 3 wins in 16 at Hibs didn't help either.

Celtic fans point to the 2020-21 season stating that if they had SJM in their squad as a starter and at the height of his powers they would have had more of a chance of achieving their Holy Grail of Ten In A Row and ironically saving Lenny’s job

Edit:

Then again The Rangers won the League by 25 points and looked to be easing down

19-06-2023, 05:47 AM
Celtic fans point to the 2020-21 season stating that if they had SJM in their squad as a starter and at the height of his powers they would have had more of a chance of achieving their Holy Grail of Ten In A Row and ironically saving Lenny’s job

Edit:

Then again The Rangers won the League by 25 points and looked to be easing down

They also let Craig Gordon leave on a free which was absolute madness. Replaced him with a hopeless keeper they apparently paid about 5 million for.

19-06-2023, 09:37 AM
Pretty sure he won the League Cup for the Saintees playing against Hearts

Another year of pain without the wee cup

Ten years ago this weekend.
John would have been 18 and he played 82 minutes,then subbed.
Saints were 3-1 up by then.
It was Gary Locke's first game as manager .
He didnt last long after the roof fell in on Vlad and his criminal enterprise.

19-06-2023, 09:44 AM

Fick the Hearts

If McGinn had moved to Celtic i think he'd have been sold for around 20 million by now and we'd have had our sell-on. Still glad he went to Aston Villa though. Would have hated seeing him in a Celtic shirt.

19-06-2023, 10:27 AM
Ten years ago this weekend.
John would have been 18 and he played 82 minutes,then subbed.
Saints were 3-1 up by then.
It was Gary Locke's first game as manager .
He didnt last long after the roof fell in on Vlad and his criminal enterprise.

Do you not realise by now that Hearts don't want to win the wee cup?

19-06-2023, 10:47 AM
Do you not realise by now that Hearts don't want to win the wee cup?

Nae Diddy Cups for the big team,right enough

I mind back in the day,not long before the Tornadoes beat Celtic to win the Scottish League Cup,jambos were revelling in the fact they got to the Final of the All British Texaco Cup,played for by teams who failed to qualify for Europe.
They even failed to win the Failures Cup.! :greengrin

19-06-2023, 05:40 PM
… But became a cup winning legend at Hibs. Which remains his personal all time fave footballing memory unlikely to be surpassed.

Hearts also play a game usually comprising 15-a-side…

19-06-2023, 06:28 PM
I bet his sister shudders when she thinks about what might have been.

19-06-2023, 06:39 PM
… But became a cup winning legend at Hibs. Which remains his personal all time fave footballing memory unlikely to be surpassed.

Hearts also play a game usually comprising 15-a-side…

speedy_gonzales
19-06-2023, 09:10 PM
My memory is hazy at best these days, but did we get McGinn (for less than expected) after he tried to sue St Mirren after Steven Thompson kebabed his leg with a corner flag/pole?
Dunno if it's just pub folklore but I seen to recall Gilmour let John go on the cheap to save the club from a potential expensive legal battle?!?

20-06-2023, 06:25 AM
My memory is hazy at best these days, but did we get McGinn (for less than expected) after he tried to sue St Mirren after Steven Thompson kebabed his leg with a corner flag/pole?
Dunno if it's just pub folklore but I seen to recall Gilmour let John go on the cheap to save the club from a potential expensive legal battle?!?

Steven Thomson might not like football but he loves a meatball kebab :greengrin