View Full Version : Man from Tranent

DanishJohn
15-06-2023, 08:57 AM
Thought I would share this because its a great story.

Its well worth watching as there is footage of a New Years day game against Hearts at Tynecastle from ( I would say about 1969/70)
In front of a much bigger crowd than we get now. I like it because you see Hibs really getting tore in with no shades of inferiority. If Hibs keepers nowadays worry about going out to punch a ball clear just watch this Hibs goalie (pretty sure its Roy Baines). Finally talking about this footage, I would say we of a certain age talk about the Tornadoes but this Hibs team also was loaded with class and steel.

Its a great video if you can forgive them by starting it with George McNeill racing a horse and trap to Campbelltown loch I wish you were whisky ! Finally, catch the two punters at the end....yep a New Years Day game.
Fastest
Go on to Youtube and look for George McNeill The Fastest Man in the World

15-06-2023, 11:12 AM

Its well worth watching as there is footage of a New Years day game against Hearts at Tynecastle from ( I would say about 1969/70)
In front of a much bigger crowd than we get now. I like it because you see Hibs really getting tore in with no shades of inferiority. If Hibs keepers nowadays worry about going out to punch a ball clear just watch this Hibs goalie (pretty sure its Roy Baines). Finally talking about this footage, I would say we of a certain age talk about the Tornadoes but this Hibs team also was loaded with class and steel.

Its a great video if you can forgive them by starting it with George McNeill racing a horse and trap to Campbelltown loch I wish you were whisky ! Finally, catch the two punters at the end....yep a New Years Day game.
Fastest

Here you go

https://youtu.be/GjYlwCZPiY4?t=45

(starts at the derby match you mentioned)

Halmyre Hibee
15-06-2023, 11:49 AM
Thanks for posting that really interesting.

wazoo1875
15-06-2023, 04:14 PM
Enjoyed that cheers for sharing.

15-06-2023, 07:29 PM
Sure I seen George playing on a Wed night at E.R. we won 10-1 or some crazy score like that, he took a couple of corners at the Dunbar end and both hit off the top of the crossbar, for weeks after we was all trying to do inswinger corners like that. May have been league cup or something like that against Hamilton or Alloa, wet windy night, but great scores.

16-06-2023, 11:42 AM
Another Man from Tranent Neil Martin

16-06-2023, 12:32 PM
Forgot that Billy McEwan must have been one of the first to wear the white boots

Thanks for posting

Feed McGraw
16-06-2023, 01:25 PM
Sure I seen George playing on a Wed night at E.R. we won 10-1 or some crazy score like that, he took a couple of corners at the Dunbar end and both hit off the top of the crossbar, for weeks after we was all trying to do inswinger corners like that. May have been league cup or something like that against Hamilton or Alloa, wet windy night, but great scores.It was 11-1 against Hamilton but I'm sure it was a Saturday 3pm kick off.

Feed McGraw
16-06-2023, 01:27 PM
Sure I seen George playing on a Wed night at E.R. we won 10-1 or some crazy score like that, he took a couple of corners at the Dunbar end and both hit off the top of the crossbar, for weeks after we was all trying to do inswinger corners like that. May have been league cup or something like that against Hamilton or Alloa, wet windy night, but great scores. Pretty sure it was a league match too.

16-06-2023, 03:02 PM
6th November 1965
Hibs beat Hamilton Academicals at Easter Road 11-1, In the Scottish League.
Goals from an OG, Joe Davis, Davie Hogg, Peter Cormack,
doubles from Jim Scott & Jimmy O'Rourke and a Eric Stevenson hat-trick gave all points to the Hibees.

Wilson, Simpson, Davis, Stanton, McNamee, Baxter, Hogg, Cormack, Scott, O'Rourke & Stevenson.

We beat Alloa 11-2 in the League Cup QF in September 1965 .George not in the line up either.
That would have been the night game .I was at both games.

Good article here on both games and Valencia games round that same time.
We got a standing ovation in Valencia .Usually they would throw things at opponents !

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-hamilton-record-league-win-19219615

Check photo of The Rebel,Eric Stevenson,sporting a truly classic strip .
Dug ran on the pitch at the Hamilton game just after The Rebel got his hatrick:greengrin
The dugs in the street ken the score !! Bob Shankly was a great manager

George McNeill was the fastest man in the world,of course.
But HibsNet poll voted Ivan as our fastest winger !!:greengrin
Of course,George didn't feature in the poll.
But agreed on the thread that he was our fastest ever winger/player.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361811-The-Ivan-Sproule-Debate

Newcastlehibby
16-06-2023, 03:42 PM
Thomson Allan the goalie I think.

16-06-2023, 03:56 PM
George McNeill’s only game for the Hibees was a 3-0 win over StJohnstone in the league on Saturday 18/12/1965

The goals coming from Alan Cousin Peter Cormack and Jimmy O’Rourke

Pretty sure he played lots of games for the Reserves

www.fitba stats.com

16-06-2023, 04:03 PM
6th November 1965
Hibs beat Hamilton Academicals at Easter Road 11-1, In the Scottish League.
Goals from an OG, Joe Davis, Davie Hogg, Peter Cormack,
doubles from Jim Scott & Jimmy O'Rourke and a Eric Stevenson hat-trick gave all points to the Hibees.

Wilson, Simpson, Davis, Stanton, McNamee, Baxter, Hogg, Cormack, Scott, O'Rourke & Stevenson.

We beat Alloa 11-2 in the League Cup QF in September 1965 .George not in the line up either.
That would have been the night game .I was at both games.

Good article here on both games and Valencia games round that same time.
We got a standing ovation in Valencia .Usually they would throw things at opponents !

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-hamilton-record-league-win-19219615

Check photo of The Rebel,Eric Stevenson,sporting a truly classic strip .
Dug ran on the pitch at the Hamilton game just after The Rebel got his hatrick:greengrin
The dugs in the street ken the score !! Bob Shankly was a great manager

George McNeill was the fastest man in the world,of course.
But HibsNet poll voted Ivan as our fastest winger !!:greengrin
Of course,George didn't feature in the poll.
But agreed on the thread that he was our fastest ever winger/player.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361811-The-Ivan-Sproule-Debate

Thanks Mick,
The old grey matter plays tricks the aulder I get, was at both them games, I do know I seen him play in a first team game, also remember the Valencia game, it may even have been a reserve game as we used to go to lots of them as well at the time.
Great team and manager just a pity about the lack of investment, the reasom Shanks left as he got sick of having to sell quality players.

16-06-2023, 07:11 PM
Thanks Mick,
The old grey matter plays tricks the aulder I get, was at both them games, I do know I seen him play in a first team game, also remember the Valencia game, it may even have been a reserve game as we used to go to lots of them as well at the time.
Great team and manager just a pity about the lack of investment, the reasom Shanks left as he got sick of having to sell quality players.

Me tae
Surprised though he only had one first team outing.
I always thought had Bob been backed better by the board he would have stayed and might have won us a trophy.

The man was scunnered at losing players.
Willie Harrower then sold his majority holdings to Tom Hart .
During Bob's time we had some wonderful/memorable European nights.
He did wonders at Dundee FC ,of course .

Crunchie
21-06-2023, 08:25 AM

Fastest
That was a great watch :aok: