View Full Version : Ashes 2023

14-06-2023, 12:09 PM
Bazball's irresistible force meets Smith & Labuschagne's immovable objects.

This should be one that lives up to the hype. I have a sneaky feeling the Aussies will edge it due to the aforementioned duo and an attack England will have trouble whacking around the ground. :hmmm:

14-06-2023, 06:15 PM
Bazball's irresistible force meets Smith & Labuschagne's immovable objects.

This should be one that lives up to the hype. I have a sneaky feeling the Aussies will edge it due to the aforementioned duo and an attack England will have trouble whacking around the ground. :hmmm:

I LOVE the Ashes :greengrin

I will offer up an analysis of both sides later. I do look forward to calling it absolutely wrong every couple of years!

15-06-2023, 11:53 PM
So, tomorrow sees the first ball of the 2023 Ashes (thunderstorms and that permitting :greengrin).

It's Edgbaston tomorrow, which will be a raucous venueas usual, especially come the session after tea. Instinctivelyit feels like a venue that favours the home side, but it is hoours even this century with two wins each and one draw.

The Aussies havent announed an I yet and there is only likely to be one question of who drops out as we have four fasts competing for three places. Cummins plays, thats a given. That leaves three and Im genuinely not sure which way it will go. If HAzlewood is fit I would be tempted to bring him back and play Boland, but there is a dilemna in that you dont want to bring Hazlewood back too eerly.

Starc is unlikely to be fit for all five Tests, my temptation would potentially be to play him tomorrow along with Boland and give Hazlewood a little extra time but it is really tough to call.

England have named their side and similarly to Australia, most of it rights itself. The first seven are stick-ons, it's the bowling where the debate is. England wanted flat and fast pitches this summer (which suits the Aussies too).

Given the recent weather and the fact they have back-up in Joe Root's off-spin and whatever Stokes is fit to offer, I think I would have been minded to go for four quicks - Anderson, Broad, Robinson and Wood. Instead they have decided to go with a spinner. Thats fair enough but they have taken a risk-averse approach they have not pursued with their batsmen. Moeen plays, because he is experienced. Despite not having played red ball cricket for nearly two years and having a poorish record against Australia. There are a couple of young spinners but England are reluctant to blood them.

The other issue with picking Moeen is obviously you lose a seamer. England have to play risk-averse again, because they have question-marks over the fitness of Robinson, Anderson and Stokes. This means they are going for Broad and dropping Wood, but Wood is the only genuine out-and-out fast bowler from those in contention. And they have asked for fast-friendly pitches!

Its a close one to call, with a strong chance of showers on day three and lesser so on day five. I'm minded to call it a draw with the caveat that if the Aussies bat first and bat big (or bowl first and skittle quickky), they will get a win. England, I think, will struggle to bowl out the Australians twice to secure a victory.

16-06-2023, 09:33 AM
I think the risk aversion in choosing Moeen is as much to do with his batting as bowling. He makes the tail that bit shorter. I feel a bit sorry for Ben Foakes, I'd have brought Bairstow in for Crawley and kept a proper keeper, although who opens with Duckett would be an interesting question in that circumstance. I think Broad/Anderson/Robinson over Wood are easy choices just due to the conditions. They're all perfect for seaming English wickets. Stokes' fitness is a big worry though. Will B/A/R manage to carry the load of a long Smith/Labuschagne inspired Aussie innings if there's nothing doing for Moeen?

Fascinating stuff.

16-06-2023, 10:18 AM
Stokes face was a picture after Crawley dispatched the first ball of the day to the boundary.

16-06-2023, 10:18 AM
22-1, Duckett gone.

16-06-2023, 10:36 AM
I think the risk aversion in choosing Moeen is as much to do with his batting as bowling. He makes the tail that bit shorter. I feel a bit sorry for Ben Foakes, I'd have brought Bairstow in for Crawley and kept a proper keeper, although who opens with Duckett would be an interesting question in that circumstance. I think Broad/Anderson/Robinson over Wood are easy choices just due to the conditions. They're all perfect for seaming English wickets. Stokes' fitness is a big worry though. Will B/A/R manage to carry the load of a long Smith/Labuschagne inspired Aussie innings if there's nothing doing for Moeen?

Fascinating stuff.

Foakes I do feel very sorry for. He should have been playing long before he finally got a run. If Bairstow needs to play but isn't keeping I would have given him a shot at the top of the order - I think I suggested that on here and maybe on the Guardian BTL about four years ago. Probably would have been a dsaster but it would have spelled some justice for poor Ben Foakes :greengrin

16-06-2023, 10:46 AM
22-1, Duckett gone.

Poor, poor attempt at a shot, wafting away at a ball that was drifting inexorably to the slips without any batsman intervention.

Decent enough start though. Ashes first balls have an almost mythological significance and to hit a boundary is a real fillip for the support. In fact, it was fours, first ball, off both opening bowlers. I think England may have cloned Michael Slater c.mid-nineties :greengrin

16-06-2023, 11:04 AM
Crawley comfortable and confident (so wtfdik? :greengrin) 35 no. England 66/1 after the first hour.

Aussies playing a containing game. TMS surprised.

16-06-2023, 11:23 AM
Bowled Gaaaazza :greengrin

16-06-2023, 12:06 PM
Fantastic timing and a wicket right before lunch for Boland. The session had been England's, you can't quite call it Australia's now but it's far more even. England keeping the run rate up though, it must have been over four and a half an over there.

Good session and I'm looking forward to seeing Harry Brook at the crease.

16-06-2023, 01:30 PM
Seen it all now, comical dismissal for Brook. 😯

16-06-2023, 01:37 PM
Stokes fails - England in trouble. 176/5

YJB and Root - nae pressure lads. :aok:

16-06-2023, 01:43 PM
I remember years ago listening to Geoff Boycott on TMS, saying that when you evaluate a score, in play, add two wickets and see if it still looks okay because you can lose two wickets in an instant, and in cricket it seems to happen all too regularly.

About the only sensible thing I've ever heard Boycott say. 175-3 and 176-5 are very different places to be. One more wicket and the Aussies are into the tail and suddenly there's a whole heap of attention on Moeen.

16-06-2023, 02:00 PM
I remember years ago listening to Geoff Boycott on TMS, saying that when you evaluate a score, in play, add two wickets and see if it still looks okay because you can lose two wickets in an instant, and in cricket it seems to happen all too regularly.

About the only sensible thing I've ever heard Boycott say. 175-3 and 176-5 are very different places to be. One more wicket and the Aussies are into the tail and suddenly there's a whole heap of attention on Moeen.

And, to be fair, would be about an hour and a half apart with Geoffrey batting. :greengrin

16-06-2023, 02:01 PM
59th Test match half century for Root, great player.

16-06-2023, 02:32 PM
And, to be fair, would be about an hour and a half apart with Geoffrey batting. :greengrin

Possibly longer :greengrin

16-06-2023, 03:33 PM
Bairstow joining the party now too, Aussie's looking a bit tired.

16-06-2023, 03:35 PM
100 partnership - well played Yorkshire. 282/5

Another 20 overs with this ball. Jonny to cut loose?

16-06-2023, 03:42 PM
Bairstow gone for 78.

16-06-2023, 03:43 PM
Bowled Gazza.

16-06-2023, 03:43 PM

Possibly longer :greengrin

16-06-2023, 03:45 PM
I'm loving this first day, England have been batting well, some excellent singles to keep that fun fate ticking over but it is still too early to say whether it's been their day. Let's see how the tail goes.

16-06-2023, 03:45 PM
Bairstow gone for 78.

I should've shut up. :rolleyes:

16-06-2023, 03:52 PM
I'm loving this first day, England have been batting well, some excellent singles to keep that fun fate ticking over but it is still too early to say whether it's been their day. Let's see how the tail goes.

I think the Aussies will be the happier if the pitch is as flat as the pundits reckon.

16-06-2023, 04:03 PM
Niiiice Gazza!

16-06-2023, 04:04 PM
Mo on his way, very poor shot selection.

16-06-2023, 04:11 PM
Mo on his way, very poor shot selection.

He averages 25 with the bat and 65 a wicket against Australia.

He's got a lot to prove in this series.

16-06-2023, 04:32 PM
Will Root get his ton? 🤔

16-06-2023, 04:54 PM
Will Root get his ton? 🤔

30th century for Root, the man is a robot! 😊

16-06-2023, 05:01 PM
393-8 declared, interesting.

16-06-2023, 05:08 PM
393-8 declared, interesting.

Bold move indeed, just shy of four hundred. Clearly he sees a chance to do some damage in the last half hour and move things more decisively in England's favour. And Broad vs Warner is of course, a great sub-plot.

Credit to England, they kept the run rate up, Bazball indeed. But they didn't quite boss it and a lot depends on their bowlers now.

Hats off to Joe Root as well, he's been and continues to be a great Test batsman.

16-06-2023, 05:18 PM
Ben Stokes is a total radge.

16-06-2023, 05:22 PM
Ben Stokes is a total radge.

:singing: "...He thinks he's Steve Wau-au-augh, Benny Sto-okes, he thinks he's Steve Waugh"

16-06-2023, 05:26 PM
Ollie Robinson exposing England's Achilles heel there, namely Ollie's left ankle.

If Robinson even loses 10-15% capacity that will undermine Stokes' strategy.

17-06-2023, 12:14 PM
Good morning for England. Smith, Labuschagne gone with under 100 on the board is a result. Signs of Moeen getting some joy out of the wicket just before lunch too.

17-06-2023, 04:10 PM
Khawaja gets his century (wearing a jumper! must be roasting) and is keeping the Aussies right in this.

17-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Great day's play at Edgbaston. England had set their stall out previously, scoring at five aan over and making a bold, attacjing declaration.

Day two, reflected the competion well IMO. The morning session was clearly England's, after tea was clearly Australia. The afternoon session provided something for both sides but i am calling it slightly better for Australia and England. That's because Travis Head knocked off a quickfire 50 in 60 balla,pushing the score along nicely.

England will be frustrated that they made a really good start but now face the potential of batting again,from a likely evens position, maybe even a small deficit. The new ball will be around fifteen overs old when we resume so that advantage is diminishing rapidly.

CentreForward
18-06-2023, 10:46 PM
Disappointing afternoon today with the rain but the Aussies still somehow managed to squeeze in those 2 wickets. Monday will be fascinating and weather looks better. Looks as if could be more rain Tuesday.

18-06-2023, 11:41 PM
Disappointing afternoon today with the rain but the Aussies still somehow managed to squeeze in those 2 wickets. Monday will be fascinating and weather looks better. Looks as if could be more rain Tuesday.

Yeah, for me today's winners were anyone who didn't have a bet on England to win.

The weather is in doubt for day five so it could easily go to a draw, but we are now essentially in a shoot-out, one innings each. Australia hold the advantage already taking two England wickets, plus Moeen looks like he may have done something to his spinning figure. He's bowled more than 30 overs in two days, with only four maidens - having barely touched a redball in a long time, it's hardly a surprise. Throw in Robinson, Anderson and Stokes - all always one delivery away from a trip to A+E and you can see where their vulnerabilities lie.

On the subject of Robinson, it is good to see that England's succession planning is bearing fruit. They can now claim to have a new weapons-grade throbber to take over from Stuart Broad. He was pretty graceless with Khawaja and didn't redeem himself in the post-match interview.

19-06-2023, 02:27 PM
Given up watching it. England fans with their booing and tiresome chants have turned this into a PDC darts event.

19-06-2023, 04:56 PM
Given up watching it. England fans with their booing and tiresome chants have turned this into a PDC darts event.

Thats a shame because it is gripping stuff. I’ve been to a fair number of Test venues and Edgbaston and Headingley can be a bit iffy, from mid-afternoon onwards, particularly on a Saturday. Early beers, too much sunshine is a bad combination and in the likes of the Hollies or the Western Terrace the cricket becomes a sideshow. They are also the spots that tend to be most likely to cross the line from full-voiced support into unpleasantness.

Sergio sledge
19-06-2023, 06:17 PM
On the basis of the first 4 days of this test, the series could be epic. Both sides are so evenly matched.

19-06-2023, 10:56 PM
Great day's cricket, full of ebbs and flows. England started the day with one intention, rattle off the runs to give themselves a cushion to try and bowl the Aussies out. And to a large extent they did that. The middle order coughed up the runs, despite some fine bowling, from Cummins and Lyon in particular to get the hosts up to 273 all out.

And so to the Australians, needing 281 with four sessions to play with. 281 is a not insignificant run-chase in the fourth innings, but many, including me, would feel it was their match to lose now. By the end of the day that has all changed - England perhaps ahead by the slightest of margins, but it is tiny and that reflects a belter of a contest.

England's reason to be cheerful is they have removed Labuschagne and Smith early-doors (IIRC Smith tends to grow into Ashes series though, so England should beware!). However, it is clear that Moeen isn't bowling right and it is also clear that Anderson and Robinson are not providing a cutting edge, at least so far, leaving it all on Broad. There's no new ball for 50 overs yet and the Aussies have enough batting to chase down their target.

My original prediction was a draw, edging to Australia. I think tomorrow may give us Australia, edging towards a draw. It depends on the rain, which will be heavy during the night and first thing in the morning, giving way to showers becoming less frequent as the day continues. They may simply run out of time for a decisive result, but if the weather is kind I fancy Australia to score 174 runs more than I fancy England to take seven wickets.

And finally, Test cricket is so much the product of many miniature battles, many cameos. Big praise to Scott Boland who was sent in as nightwatchman and surpassed his previous Test high score, now proudly sitting on 13 not out. And kudos to David Warner, who managed to score some runs on English soil and not be bowled by Stuart Broad. His 36 from 57 balls will hopefully be a breakthrough innings for him to play as sumptiously as he can play.

20-06-2023, 09:58 AM
No play until at least 1310.

He's here!
20-06-2023, 02:52 PM
Broad's annoying headband is enough for me to be rooting for the Aussies.

20-06-2023, 03:02 PM
Broad's annoying headband is enough for me to be rooting for the Aussies.

I didn't think he could elevate his roaster-ness until he started wearing that bandanna. His little gestures and celebrations when he takes a wicket also contribute to him being an interstellar rocket.

Cricket-wise, the Aussies could have done without losing Head there. Big onus on Khawaja, Carey and Cummins now,

20-06-2023, 03:31 PM

I didn't think he could elevate his roaster-ness until he started wearing that bandanna. His little gestures and celebrations when he takes a wicket also contribute to him being an interstellar rocket.

Cricket-wise, the Aussies could have done without losing Head there. Big onus on Khawaja, Carey and Cummins now,

And Cammy Green! Especially Cammy Green!

20-06-2023, 04:42 PM
Things have just got interesting, 209-7.

20-06-2023, 04:49 PM
Things have just got interesting, 209-7.

Test cricket in all its glory.

20-06-2023, 05:02 PM
If Carey is not out at the end it's probably a draw (even an Aussie win), if he gets out that should be enough for an England win, it's enthralling stuff though. I'm watching it in a boozer in Musselburgh, doubt they watch too many test matches in Sportsman's! 😉

New ball could be decisive.

I think that that pretty much covers everything 🙂

20-06-2023, 05:16 PM
Let's get Carey! Let's get Carey! 🙂

20-06-2023, 05:28 PM
Pendulum swings again. 😯

GRA
20-06-2023, 05:45 PM
Going right to the wire this one
.. 3 results still possible!

20-06-2023, 05:46 PM
Going right to the wire this one
.. 3 results still possible!

4?

20-06-2023, 06:14 PM
Glad that I never had a bet. 🙂

20-06-2023, 06:26 PM
That's a magical moment, after five fantastic days!

I've been a Pat Cummins fan for a long time and I am absolutely delighted for him (and nice that it came off Robinson's bowling!).

A lot to absorb from that match, and Lords isn't far away.

For now it's the tourists one, Bazball nil :greengrin

20-06-2023, 06:31 PM
Onto Scotland now.

20-06-2023, 07:02 PM
Proper test match cricket and exactly why 5 day cricket is and always will be the best form of the game

20-06-2023, 07:31 PM
Not even a cricket fan but I was glued to the last couple of hours of that

20-06-2023, 09:30 PM
Not even a cricket fan but I was glued to the last couple of hours of that

He's here!
21-06-2023, 12:14 PM
Proper test match cricket and exactly why 5 day cricket is and always will be the best form of the game

Absolutely.

21-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Was a great Test. Total contrast in styles but what a contest. Looking forward to the next!

21-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Was a great Test. Total contrast in styles but what a contest. Looking forward to the next!

Agree on that, but part of me misses the good old days when you could rely on a Test match slowly ebbing into torpitude, two long days when the only point of interest would be Henry Blofeld commenting on a lady spectator's hat.

The kind of Test match where you could nip off and unload the dishwasher or run out to post a letter or maybe even learn a challenging new language and know that all you had missed were a couple of lacksadaisical singles and an indifferent appeal for a ball clearly heading wide of off stump.

21-06-2023, 06:28 PM
Agree on that, but part of me misses the good old days when you could rely on a Test match slowly ebbing into torpitude, two long days when the only point of interest would be Henry Blofeld commenting on a lady spectator's hat.

The kind of Test match where you could nip off and unload the dishwasher or run out to post a letter or maybe even learn a challenging new language and know that all you had missed were a couple of lacksadaisical singles and an indifferent appeal for a ball clearly heading wide of off stump.

You mean Geoff Boycott making a rapid 10 before lunch.

He's here!
23-06-2023, 08:34 AM
You mean Geoff Boycott making a rapid 10 before lunch.

Chris Tavare is another who springs to mind.

23-06-2023, 06:44 PM
Chris Tavare is another who springs to mind.

I always felt a bit sorry for Chris Tavare. He could actually be pretty expansive but was asked/told to play the anchor role. Was a dull watch in that role though for England.

27-06-2023, 10:57 PM
The Second Test looms and the home of cricket beckons. Lord's it is, historically a happy hunting ground for Australia. In the last forty years the Australians have won six times here and only been beaten twice. The talismanic Steve Smith has made 215 here, eight years ago, and Mitchell Starc has claimed a five-for albeit in a ODI.

But England first, and there was only really one question to ask, with one answer generating another question. That first question was whether to employ a specialist spinner. Stokes appears to feel Moeen isn't fit enough and Ahmed would be too much of a step up right in the spotlight. So four seamers it is, the only question being who gets the fourth spot? Anderson, Broad and Robinson pick themselves (it will be interesting to see what the members' lounge make of the rather ungracious Robinson. In fourth the temptation must have been to go with Woakes. He has a tremendour record at Lord's with bat and ball. The selectors have plumped forJosh Tongue however, and there is something that is always exciting about seeing a prospective young talent having the chance to shne in such a big gam;

For Australia it boils down to one spot in the pace trio and it is widely assumed that Starc will come in for Boland. The pitch is meant to be looking somewhat green which should seal that decision. I think we will see rotation of the three seamers who aren't Pat Cummins, across the series.

Regards the weather it looks set fair for tomorrow but showers will be likely on Thursday. Days four and five look like they could offer a lot in the morning and late on in the day to the seamers. So, something for bat and ball, but some real opportunities for England.

My prediction for the first Test was a draw, with the outside chance of an Australian victory, and a firm belief that England wouldn't bowl the Aussies out twice. So, one out of three (or maybe one and a bit :greengrin). I don't think England will struggle to take 20 wickets here though I suspect they will be penalised for not meeting their overs by the officials.

This prediction? I don't think the balance of strength is such that Australia should be two up after two Tests, but that is my cagey prediction. I think Australia tend to grow into away series and I don't think Labuschagne and Smith will only be able to muster 35 runs between them as per the first Test.

29-06-2023, 01:00 AM
Science was never really my bag but I understand that one can carry out repeated observation (e.g. Australia at Lord's) and formulate a hypothesis based on the evidence of these observations (Australia are good at Lord's).

And so it was thus on day one of the Second Test. But more of that later. First, I should have known that the orange powder protesters would try to put on a show at Lord's. In hindsight, it was glaringly obvious. No doubt security is already being reviewed at Wimbledon and The Open. As regards this match, expect the Telegraph and the Mail to launch a funding campaign to build a statue of Jonny Bairstow, raggle-haired protester under one arm, with the inscription "Enough IS enough" :greengrin

The match itself, two very competive teams both really looking for a result from this Test, was very possibly decided outwith play. The orange powder dudes, along with some light showers, took up enough time to allow the conditions to improve ever so slightly for the batting side before they even took guard. But it was the coin toss that made the difference.

If Australia had won the toss and chosen to bat first, the position at stumps meant it probably still would have been their day - but with more than a chance for England. For England to win the toss and then fail to capitalise on bowling first meant that Australia definitely won the day. Without Root's two late wickets I would have been tempted to call it 0-2 in the series already.

England went with the all-seam attack and it simply wasn't incisive enough. Anderson still seems to be carrying the malaise that enveloped him at Edgbaston but at least was economical wth his bowling spells. The rest couldn't be said of his colleagues who were all going in excess of four an over. Stokes is obviously not right, though he has the ability and tenacity to be menacing even bowling his slower balls.

For Australia it was tales of redemption and tales of partnerships. David Warner, in his farewell tour of England, batted hard and batted fast to earn a well-deserved half-century. And didn't get dismissed by Broad! He and Khawaja set out a good partnership for 23 overs before Khawaja inexplicably left a ball and lost his wicket as a consequence.

That heralded lunch and although Warner didn't last too long after, that merely allowed Labuschagne and Smith to bat together. Having made a grand sum of 35 between them in Bimingham, they set about making amends, with a good century partnership to position Australia just shy of 200-3. Labuschagne's dismissal would have been welcome to some tired English bowlers but their relief was short-lived. Travis Head gambolled out to the middle, with the air of a man who knew that Bazball might have gripped England in recent times but basically was just how he always played his cricket. The evening session saw Smith and Head combine for a 118-run partnership before Root got the better of him, luring him down the pitch and leaving a straightforward stumping for Bairstow.

Green was out next and Root managed to befuddle him enough to spoon a straightforward catch to Jimmy Anderson at deep mid-off. That meant Alex Carey eentered the field and he successfully and carefully negotiated 34 balls, leaving him and Smith at the crease, Smith smoothly gliding towards yet another Test century.

So, three sessions played, Australia top in all of them to be honest. The decision at the toss looks bad right now. The new ball was taken just before close of play. More showers before play tomorrow means that when play does happen we will have a slick outfield. That means that Australia could rack up boundaries by getting the slightest touch on seam deliveries. Add to that, it looks like thundersotrms over St John's Wood which may break the mugginess that Lord's is known for, and which Anderson and Broad relish exploiting.

The other bad news for England was Ollie Pope, their number three, who looked to have hurt his shoulder quite badly in fielding. One of those ones where it wasn't obvious ther than by his reaction and how he carried himself just after.

Australia don't need to do much to take this game completely away from England, they are a good way down that road already. The pressure is very firmly on the England bowlers again.

29-06-2023, 05:23 PM
Fair play to England today, they bowled the Aussies out pretty quickly. To be honest I half expected a quick collapse from England but they’ve batted well in the main. They’ve gifted a few of their wickets but I that’s how they do things these days. This England team are made of sterner stuff than previous incarnations. That said I fancy a draw which England will probably be happier with after the first day.

30-06-2023, 12:25 AM
Fair play to England today, they bowled the Aussies out pretty quickly. To be honest I half expected a quick collapse from England but they’ve batted well in the main. They’ve gifted a few of their wickets but I that’s how they do things these days. This England team are made of sterner stuff than previous incarnations. That said I fancy a draw which England will probably be happier with after the first day.

Good succinct summary. I too did not expect England to get to 188-1 but they were bold and reaped the rewards. Plus Starc and to a lesser extent Hazlewood weren't able to do much. I thought Paddy Cummins bowled very tidily though.

England being England they managed to engineer a mini-collapse and the door is nearly open to the tail - two wickets and Broad will be at the crease. For Australia a bit of cloud in the morning would be ideal, helping their pace men, and the new ball should become available during th morning session.

The need for wickets is compoinded by the loss of Lyon, for this match and potentially the series. Huge loss, as he has an almost limitless capacity to tie down one end with economical spin, allowing maximum rotation at the other end for the seamers. It is a tried and trusted formula for Australia.

For this match they can call on Head, Smith and Labuschagne to turn their arm over but faced with a choice between the three of them fit to bowl and Nathan Lyon fit to bowl, you would go with the latter every time. Anyway it looks like Todd Murphy will be back in the side for the next game and he looks a handy young cricketer

What the loss of Lyon means for me is that Australia may struggle to take 20 wickets in this match now. I think given the loss of Lyon, Australia wouldn't turn up their noses at a draw here. That leaves them needing one win from three matches to retain the urn. So to some extent it could be arguably slightly favouring England - Brook, Stokes and Bairstow can offer a lot of runs and suddenly it is the Aussies facing five seamers and the reliable Root on a third or even fourth day pitch. But it s very close to call, not in the same way as the last game, but more in a traditional "will the seamers get the Lord's clouds", ""how expensive will Starc and Hazlewood be against three fine, fine batsmen" way.

30-06-2023, 10:04 AM
Stokes gone in the first minute of the morning session.

30-06-2023, 10:39 AM
Brook goes to the short ball now for 50, 293-6, collapse on its way?

30-06-2023, 11:12 AM
Bairstow gone now too, 314-7. You've got to question England's game plan here especially when you consider the situation with Lyon.

30-06-2023, 11:21 AM
324-8

30-06-2023, 11:25 AM
325-9

30-06-2023, 11:29 AM
325 All Out. 🙄

30-06-2023, 02:07 PM
Australia 63-1, Tongue dismisses Warner again, a well deserved wicket for England. They've bowled well without much joy.

K-Zazu
30-06-2023, 08:43 PM
Bazball 😂. You win nout wi sloggin’

K-Zazu
30-06-2023, 08:45 PM
Stokes’ knee is completely gone, if he’s not going to bowl and isn’t adding much with the bat what is he a specialist captain? Could see him retiring pretty soon tbh

Sloop67
30-06-2023, 11:09 PM
It's going to take a remarkable performance from England to win this one , if they go 0-2 down then it's going to be awfully tough to win the series

01-07-2023, 01:13 AM
Another fascinating day at the Ashes, Australia on form from the get-go.

England's middle order were horrid - so much potential but they looked like they were practicing with their 9 iron and pitching wedge, lofting and lobbing straight into the hands of grateful Aussie fielders. The tail weren't slow to follow them back across the boundary rope either.

The key to Australia's success was simply a spell of short-ball theory. England didn't have answers and as a consequence Starc turned his figures from prety ugly to pretty. Cummins once again was super-economcal with his overs, I really cannot put into words how much I enjoy watching him bowl.

In many respects he is like McGrath. Their styles are very different but both showed ruthlessness in pinning batsmen down, which led them in turn to be more expansive and thus more likely to get out to other bowlers. Credit to Travis Head too, who rose to the challenge of Lyon's injury, with oustanding bowling.

The end result was that by just short of the midpoint for the match, we found ourselves in essentially a single-innings shoot-out. With Australia owning a 91-run start. Good luck with that England.

Australia then spent the rest of the day making a fairly smooth job of adding on runs. The run rate wasn't exceptional but it didnt need to be. Steady as she goes, all the time in the world, every run another grimace for England. With a lead of 221, Australia will probably only need to add 150, ideally 200. That should be doable.

So, barring a collapse in the morning by the tourists, it looks extremely likely Australia will be going to Leeds next week two games up, with a win there not just retaining the Ashes, but winning the series outright. I can't see England being as poor in match strategy and tactics for the whole series, so there will be some backlash, plus Australia will have to cope without Lyon. That being said, Steve Smith now looks like he is really settling into the tour, and Marnus will surely click into form before too long. It's ridiculously early to speculate on what will happen come thr Fourth Test, but Old Trafford has a host of good memories for Australia and they've not lost there in over 40 years. Im going to stick my neck out and call it a comfortable Aussie win already.

But back to this test, it was Australia's day (again). If the weather sits right for them they should be good for a bucket of runs but, and it's a big but, Australia have successfully made runs already in poor batting conditions. England hanging on now, by the faintest hint of their fingertips.

Sloop67
01-07-2023, 03:34 PM
England need 371 to win . Plenty of time left in the game for them get a result here if they can play sensibley and not throw their wickets away

01-07-2023, 03:50 PM
Poor shot from Crawley there.

Pressure on England big time.

01-07-2023, 03:51 PM
England need 371 to win . Plenty of time left in the game for them get a result here if they can play sensibley and not throw their wickets away

I agree with you but that''s Crawley gone, having a waft :greengrin

Be interesting to see whether (and if so, how long for) the Aussies push short-ball once Starc loses the movement he is getting just now.

01-07-2023, 04:02 PM
I agree with you but that''s Crawley gone, having a waft :greengrin

Be interesting to see whether (and if so, how long for) the Aussies push short-ball once Starc loses the movement he is getting just now.

And that movement leads to a beauty of a wicket for Starc! Pope gone now 2-13

01-07-2023, 04:04 PM

If you are unable to see this live, try and catch Starc's dismissal of Pope on the highlights or YouTube or whatever. It gets better every time it is replayed.

Sloop67
01-07-2023, 04:34 PM
I'd say that , that was probably unplayable

01-07-2023, 04:35 PM
Aussie's still getting a fair bit of movement here, no need for the short-ball threatment yet. Looks like they will retain the moral high ground as well as the Ashes :greengrin

01-07-2023, 04:37 PM
I'd say that , that was probably unplayable

:agree: And for all the right reasons. Pace, movement and almost laser-guided to middle stump.

01-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Implosion/capitulation from England after brilliant bowling from the Captain

01-07-2023, 04:48 PM
Implosion/capitulation from England after brilliant bowling from the Captain

Serious manlove from me for Pat Cummins. He is the Lewis Stevenson of cricket.

01-07-2023, 04:50 PM
Serious manlove from me for Pat Cummins. He is the Lewis Stevenson of cricket.

Tbh Aussies have some quality players who always seem to step up to the plate when it matters.

His 38 and 4 wickets in the 1st test were superb.

England bottling it big time for me.

01-07-2023, 05:20 PM
Tbh Aussies have some quality players who always seem to step up to the plate when it matters.

His 38 and 4 wickets in the 1st test were superb.

England bottling it big time for me.

Yeah. Cummins has brilliant figures but this figures against England are even better still, on the whole.

There is a lot of quality in there, you are right. Good opportunity for Murphy coming up, with three Tests pretty much guaranteed due to Lyon's injury.

Although, given Travis Head is spinning competently, they could emulate England and go with five quicks - Cummins, Starc, Hazlewood, Boland and Green! That's maybe one for the Oval :greengrin

01-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Yeah. Cummins has brilliant figures but this figures against England are even better still, on the whole.

There is a lot of quality in there, you are right. Good opportunity for Murphy coming up, with three Tests pretty much guaranteed due to Lyon's injury.

Although, given Travis Head is spinning competently, they could emulate England and go with five quicks - Cummins, Starc, Hazlewood, Boland and Green! That's maybe one for the Oval :greengrin

Lyon’s is a big loss with call and can bat a bit too!

That’s a scary bowling line up for sure.

As I mentioned they gave quality in depth and a superb batting line up too!

The best England can expect from this latest test is a draw imho but that’s at a struggle!

He's here!
02-07-2023, 10:55 AM
Starc's 'catch'. Yes or no?

02-07-2023, 11:11 AM
Clean catch. Bad VAR decision.

Ged
02-07-2023, 11:47 AM
That's the funniest run out I've seen in a long time :greengrin

02-07-2023, 12:02 PM
Stuart Broad is a bit of a twat eh

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

02-07-2023, 12:07 PM
I hate dismissals like that. It’s Bairstows fault but if you’re going to get someone out do it when they’re aware of what’s happening it’s like that one recently where the bowler took the bails of to run out the batter at the non strikers end when he was running in to bowl. It’s within the laws of the game but in a game that’s supposed to played by gentlemen it’s not something I like to see.

02-07-2023, 12:19 PM
I hate dismissals like that. It’s Bairstows fault but if you’re going to get someone out do it when they’re aware of what’s happening it’s like that one recently where the bowler took the bails of to run out the batter at the non strikers end when he was running in to bowl. It’s within the laws of the game but in a game that’s supposed to played by gentlemen it’s not something I like to see.He threw the ball before Barstow left - all on Barstow that

He's here!
02-07-2023, 12:26 PM

Can't stand him.

He's here!
02-07-2023, 12:28 PM
Clean catch. Bad VAR decision.

I'd agree. He would have avoided grounding it afterwards if he thought the ball was still 'live'.

02-07-2023, 12:29 PM
He threw the ball before Barstow left - all on Barstow that

It is ion Bairstow, but he’s got his back to the wickets. As I said Bairstow should know better but I don’t like seeing it.

02-07-2023, 12:34 PM

He is an absolute dick. Giving Carey grief which is rich coming from him who didn't walk when he nicked the biggest edge ever in cricket history.

02-07-2023, 02:01 PM
He will probably be out as soon as I post this but watching Stokes at work here is an absolute joy.

MartinfaePorty
02-07-2023, 02:18 PM
That should be it now

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

02-07-2023, 02:19 PM
He will probably be out as soon as I post this but watching Stokes at work here is an absolute joy.

I’m switching between TDF and Ashes.

Stokes just out so any hope of victory may well be gone with 70 still to get and the bowlers now in

02-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Collapse imminent.

Sloop67
02-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Fat lady will be warming up her tonsils now , I can't see those remaining getting England over the line now It's going to be a long way back from 0-2 down

02-07-2023, 02:29 PM
See ya later Broad you prick.

02-07-2023, 02:36 PM
Was listening to a discussion regarding the Current Ashes and someone reckoned England lost the series the moment Stokes declared the first Innings of the first test too soon instead of pushing on.

Yes there are still 3 tests to go but they reckon England will be lucky to win one let alone the 3 needed to win

02-07-2023, 03:23 PM
All Bairstows fault that.

He's here!
02-07-2023, 03:34 PM
All Bairstows fault that.

I accept there was an element of controversy but it wasn't the gross injustice England are claiming. Had Bairstow done the same while wicket keeping for England he'd likely have been praised for his quick thinking.

It was also an excellent throw from the Aussie keeper.

02-07-2023, 04:07 PM
MCC issue an apology to Australia for whatever happened in the long room.

02-07-2023, 04:37 PM
A reminder why no one should ever take integrity lessons from Stuart Broad

https://youtube.com/watch?v=NSCg_aCD2KA&feature=share8

02-07-2023, 05:15 PM
Was listening to a discussion regarding the Current Ashes and someone reckoned England lost the series the moment Stokes declared the first Innings of the first test too soon instead of pushing on.

Yes there are still 3 tests to go but they reckon England will be lucky to win one let alone the 3 needed to win

I think there's a validity to that. You can certainly blame the outcome of the first Test on that.

And in a way it probably led to another moment which contributed to the second defeat. Root should have reverted back to a far less attacking approach in the first innings, but was out playing Bazball.

Obviously the coin toss was a mistake in hindsight, though it is one of those ones that if you repeated it without knowing the outcome you would make the same decision again and again.

I think the simplest explanation is the best - England are playing against the best team in the world, both objectively and subjectively. And their team isn't strong enough. More on that later.

02-07-2023, 05:18 PM
See ya later Broad you prick.

Best post on the thread :greengrin

02-07-2023, 07:12 PM
I think there's a validity to that. You can certainly blame the outcome of the first Test on that.

And in a way it probably led to another moment which contributed to the second defeat. Root should have reverted back to a far less attacking approach in the first innings, but was out playing Bazball.

Obviously the coin toss was a mistake in hindsight, though it is one of those ones that if you repeated it without knowing the outcome you would make the same decision again and again.

I think the simplest explanation is the best - England are playing against the best team in the world, both objectively and subjectively. And their team isn't strong enough. More on that later.

Yip also when Dunkley was on 98 and went for the glory shot instead of knocking it for a single and being patient. All these small things that boost the morale of the opposition.

K-Zazu
02-07-2023, 11:13 PM

Not a clean catch for me.

03-07-2023, 12:11 AM
Not a clean catch for me.

Me neither.

The Laws are clear, in his case 33.3 The act of making the catch starts at the first point of contact and continues until the fielder has complete control over the movement of the ball and his/her movement

The ball made contact with the ground before Starc had complete control of his movement, he was still sliding, therefore not a fair catch.

03-07-2023, 12:36 AM
So, end of the Second Test. Australia are 2-0 up and only once in Ashes history has a team come back form that deficit to win the series (which is ehat it would take fr England to regain the Ashes).

That team was Australia, and almost needless to say they had the benefit of a certain Don Bradman playing for them. The Don batted at number three and it is fair to say I don't expect Ollie Pope to emulate him - Bradman averaged in the nineties in that series!

England are a good side, no doubt, but they find themselves 0-2 down after two matches and that's not a pretty look. The top order are worth sticking with IMO, though Crawley hasn't been doing himself any favours. The middle order is surely untouchable - only HArry Brook is in any way vulneable and I genuinely dont think anyone is a better option. He only loses out if they give the gloves back to Ben Foakes and use Bairstow as a specialist batter and I don't see that happening yet.

In the bowling,Anderson has sadly looked every year of his age. If England persist with the short ball it will diminish him even further. His body simply can't cope. The good news comes in the shape of Josh Tongue, who has come in after a great debut and looked part of the furniture, taking on a great deal of the heavy lifting while hs at it. For England I think there are two choices, both easier to duck. First up, do they drop Anderson at Headingley (and it is almost impossible to see how they don't then bring him right back in for probably his swansong, on his homr ground at Old Trafford) and do they go back to Moeen, after an inauspicious start at Edgbaston - or blood a youngster.

For Australia, there is no denying the impact of losing Nathan Lyon, but one draw will see them retain the Ashes, one win (or restricting England to one win) will see them win the series and they will be keen to do that. It's a great opportunity for Murphy to stake a claim for 'the spinner after Lyon' slot. Given Austalia are likely to pursue the same selection approach wherever and whenever, bar occasionally a second spinner on the subcontinent, then it is a given role. The only real question is which two from Hazlewoood, Boland and Starc play. It's a little early to say yet - post-match niggles need checked out and the weather may influence the decision.

There's a reasonable chance of an England backlash at Headingley, they surely can't mae as many unforced errors as they have done so far. Nevertheless in a combined XI I would pick at least eight Aussies. Thats the difference and thats what England will have to overcome, Bazball or not.

03-07-2023, 07:15 AM
So, end of the Second Test. Australia are 2-0 up and only once in Ashes history has a team come back form that deficit to win the series (which is ehat it would take fr England to regain the Ashes).

That team was Australia, and almost needless to say they had the benefit of a certain Don Bradman playing for them. The Don batted at number three and it is fair to say I don't expect Ollie Pope to emulate him - Bradman averaged in the nineties in that series!

England are a good side, no doubt, but they find themselves 0-2 down after two matches and that's not a pretty look. The top order are worth sticking with IMO, though Crawley hasn't been doing himself any favours. The middle order is surely untouchable - only HArry Brook is in any way vulneable and I genuinely dont think anyone is a better option. He only loses out if they give the gloves back to Ben Foakes and use Bairstow as a specialist batter and I don't see that happening yet.

In the bowling,Anderson has sadly looked every year of his age. If England persist with the short ball it will diminish him even further. His body simply can't cope. The good news comes in the shape of Josh Tongue, who has come in after a great debut and looked part of the furniture, taking on a great deal of the heavy lifting while hs at it. For England I think there are two choices, both easier to duck. First up, do they drop Anderson at Headingley (and it is almost impossible to see how they don't then bring him right back in for probably his swansong, on his homr ground at Old Trafford) and do they go back to Moeen, after an inauspicious start at Edgbaston - or blood a youngster.

For Australia, there is no denying the impact of losing Nathan Lyon, but one draw will see them retain the Ashes, one win (or restricting England to one win) will see them win the series and they will be keen to do that. It's a great opportunity for Murphy to stake a claim for 'the spinner after Lyon' slot. Given Austalia are likely to pursue the same selection approach wherever and whenever, bar occasionally a second spinner on the subcontinent, then it is a given role. The only real question is which two from Hazlewoood, Boland and Starc play. It's a little early to say yet - post-match niggles need checked out and the weather may influence the decision.

There's a reasonable chance of an England backlash at Headingley, they surely can't mae as many unforced errors as they have done so far. Nevertheless in a combined XI I would pick at least eight Aussies. Thats the difference and thats what England will have to overcome, Bazball or not.

Brilliant summary.

Listening to the aftermath this morning, especially the Bairstow stumping Strauss and Morgan sum up the naivety of him.

Then you have those members in the ‘Long Room’ etc gentleman my arse. It’s went against them and within the rules yet a number took it too far!

Pat Cummings response to the question put to him about walking through that area was brilliant.

Series is gone for me

03-07-2023, 02:46 PM

Both tests could've gone either way, but the Aussies have shown their more rounded tactics to be superior, imo. Since they also have the disadvantage of playing away in alien conditions, I think it's pretty clear they have the edge in quality as well. 2 great tests though.

If England were going to rest Jimmy, they would've been better off doing it for Lord's probably, but easy to say in hindsight. I'd defo go Rehan Ahmed over Moeen. Think he's going to be a star.

03-07-2023, 02:48 PM
Brilliant summary.

Listening to the aftermath this morning, especially the Bairstow stumping Strauss and Morgan sum up the naivety of him.

Then you have those members in the ‘Long Room’ etc gentleman my arse. It’s went against them and within the rules yet a number took it too far!

Pat Cummings response to the question put to him about walking through that area was brilliant.

Series is gone for me

Agreed. :agree:

The sanctimonious codswallop from the MCC members and all is hilarious. It's "quick thinking" when it suits your team. :wink: https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/cricket/11710581/quick-thinking-foakes-stumps-balbirnie

03-07-2023, 02:56 PM
Agreed. :agree:

The sanctimonious codswallop from the MCC members and all is hilarious. It's "quick thinking" when it suits your team. :wink: https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/cricket/11710581/quick-thinking-foakes-stumps-balbirnie

Totally agree.

If you were not aware Bairstow tried the same thing
To Labuschagne earlier in the series but didn’t have the
skill to pull it off. No mention from the bitter fans about the
Spirit of the game’ on that instance.

Got to laugh at them pointing the finger elsewhere when it’s
their own failings which cost them!

03-07-2023, 03:21 PM
Totally agree.

If you were not aware Bairstow tried the same thing
To Labuschagne earlier in the series but didn’t have the
skill to pull it off. No mention from the bitter fans about the
Spirit of the game’ on that instance.

Got to laugh at them pointing the finger elsewhere when it’s
their own failings which cost them!

Haha, hadn't seen that. :greengrin https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/cricket/12913817/bairstow-tries-same-stumping-trick-on-labuschagne

03-07-2023, 03:34 PM
Haha, hadn't seen that. :greengrin https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/cricket/12913817/bairstow-tries-same-stumping-trick-on-labuschagne

Conveniently forgotten about by them and in particular Broad who was ripping the P following the dismissal of Bairstow.

Pleasing though

03-07-2023, 07:04 PM

Brilliant. Makes those bitter English tears seem even more ludicrous than before.

03-07-2023, 07:17 PM
The spirit of cricket my ****ing arse. Only when it suits and this is now the headline covering up the inadequacies of them and the team on the pitch.

04-07-2023, 11:30 AM
The Ashes is the Old Firm of cricket. Quick to give and take offence.

06-07-2023, 12:04 AM
Must-win for England at Headingley then.

If there's one place England want to play Australia, while nursing a sense of grievance about being cheated' then it is this place.

The West Stand (the old Western Terrace) will be raucous, from the outset. When Ive been in the West, it has been in far less edgier games and it has still been a complete zoo by the start of the evening session!

England go in with with no Ollie Pope. Rather than bringing in Lawrence, ithey are boldly pushing Harry Brook up to three. Bairstow also moves up, to five. This allows Root to stay. Following Stokes at six it looks like Woakes, Moeen, Broad, Robinson and Wood - maybe some permutation with the last three. That certainlygives them lots of options bowling-wise, especially if Stokes is struggling.

Anderson and Tongue drop out, Tongue needs a rest and some rotation, Anderson has just not got into his groove snd it could be this ends up being his last series. Putting strategy aside, you would need a heart of stone not to pick Anderson for Old Trafford.

For Australia, the selection takes care of itself for 1 through 7. Murphy looks set to play as a direct replacement for Lyon. I believe he has never bowled a competitive ball on English soil - he was meant to get a few days away on this tour with a county side but for various reasons it hasn't happened. Headingley will be an experience for him! The other choice to be made is two from Starc, Hazlewood and Boland. My personal view is they will rest Hazlewood - he is not long back from injury and he has clocked up a decent number of overs already, no point risking him for the sake of it.

The weather should play its part - half-decent chance of showers in the morning, or at least the threat, giving way to sunshine for the rest of the day. That will suit the bowlers to begin with but then gives way to much more batting-friendly conditions, with Friday looking really good batting weather. Thundery showers throughout Saturday, so there will be disruption there, Sunday clear, with showers late on and Monday offering a good chance of more showers.

On that basis alone it starts to look like a draw. But I think there is a path to victory for England here. They do enjoy relative success against the Aussies in Leeds and the pitch is low-scoring by comparison to other venues. Going by the conditions at the toss, I can just about see England putting Australia into bat, taking advantage of the early conditions to really get into the top order, then using the strength in depth they have to conjure up wickets, with the aim of bowling them out in a couple of sessions. That gives them four sessions or thereabouts, in decent conditions, to pile on runs and build a healthy first innings lead, possibly looking to at least double Australia. Then its a case of taking advantage of the windows where play is permissible to work through the Australians for the second time.

That all rests on getting early wickets though. If Australia navigate through the overcast conditions first thing then we could be looking at a big total, and then three days of interruptions for them to take 20 wickets.

Obviously there are different drivers here - England need a win to have any chance of regaining the Ashes and must not lose or the Australians take the series. And they are fuelled with moral indignation, which could be a strength, could be their undoing. Australia meanwhile, know that even just one draw in the remaining three games means they keep the Ashes. As it stands I think whoever wins the coin toss may well put Australia into bat first.

So, prediction-wise, it will be a lot easier to call at lunch on day one, but at the moment I'm thinking a draw, just a little more likely than England winning.

06-07-2023, 09:22 AM
Fair bit of speculation that Mitch Marsh will come in for Cam Green this morning. We will know soon enough.

06-07-2023, 10:18 AM
Early wicket lost by the Aussies. Warner out to Broad as is the norm.

06-07-2023, 11:32 AM
61-3.

06-07-2023, 11:53 AM
ffs, play a bloody wicket keeper!

06-07-2023, 11:57 AM
Steve Smith goes - 85/4

06-07-2023, 12:51 PM
ffs, play a bloody wicket keeper!

Another ridiculous dropped catch, not like Root, usually a safe pair of hands.

06-07-2023, 02:17 PM
Robinson off injured and The Aussies starting to spray the ball about.

06-07-2023, 03:03 PM
Another ridiculous dropped catch, not like Root, usually a safe pair of hands.

... and Marsh certainly made the most of his life. :rolleyes:

06-07-2023, 03:11 PM
And another one from Root.

06-07-2023, 03:12 PM
And another one from Root.

He takes that one though! 😊

06-07-2023, 03:25 PM
Mark Wood is firing. Consistently >90mph.

Aussies would be in serious trouble without Marsh's century.

06-07-2023, 11:59 PM
Yet another great day's cricket in the series that just keeps giving.

England unsurprisingly chose to bowl, after winning the toss and by lunch would be entitled to consider things were looking very good. But if the morning belonged to England, the afternoon belonged to Australia and in particular Mitchell Marsh. Marsh, the almost incidental Test cricketer nowadays,was clearly in the squad as back-up for Cam Green. That situation could well be reversed if Marsh proceeds to pick up wickets.

Marsh, ably supported by Head, sent the run rate up massively and pulled Australia up to a respectable position before Woakes managed to dismiss them in and break open the tail. Mark Wood was then able to mop up the remainder with his blistering pace and take his thirs Test five-for. I'm chuffed for Mark Wood, he comes across as a really decent bloke and he has had a horrific time with injuries in his career.

So, with Australia all out for 263, England must have been eyeing up seeing out the rest of the day and looking forward to what should be good batting conditions tomorrow. The pitch still had something to offer though and England lost their top three cheaply. There has to be some reflection on why Brook was forced to play at three, just to allow Root to stay at four. Regardless, I think Australia need early wickets and set themselves up for a quick add-on of runs. With a risk of thunder and showers on Saturday and Monday, it really will be a case of making runs while the sun shines. At the moment that means England have the thinnest of thin edges.

07-07-2023, 10:02 AM
Root out in the first over, series finished methinks.

07-07-2023, 10:20 AM

Looks like it barring a Stokes and/or Bairstow miracle. Aussies taking their chances.

07-07-2023, 10:28 AM
Bairstow gone now, catches win matches.

07-07-2023, 11:18 AM
Wonder how another pumping will be spun as not being in the spirit of cricket!! No1 team in the world, world test champions, perennial Ashes winners both in Australia and England. That bs around spirit of the game is why England will continue to be 2nd best to the Australians.

07-07-2023, 12:00 PM
142-7 at lunch.

07-07-2023, 01:26 PM

As I mentioned earlier I think the series was done the minute Stokes declared the first innings of the first test!

07-07-2023, 01:43 PM
Not quite halfway though the second day of the Third Test and the Australians are one good innings away from retaining the Ashes and potentially winning the series.

That’s probably jinxed it but for all England’s cameos of brilliance the Australians have dominated.

07-07-2023, 01:59 PM

England ended up getting a bit closer than I was expecting.

08-07-2023, 01:10 PM
Canberra Raiders 😄

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/cricket/12916737/raiders-celebrate-in-homage-to-alex-carey

Sloop67
08-07-2023, 06:09 PM
Tricky little session for England to negotiatie here before the close of play

Sloop67
08-07-2023, 09:22 PM
England's women's team get over the line in a rain affected game to claim the T20 series 2-1 in the women's ashes to their hopes alive of winning the ashes . First series loss for Oz since 2017

He's here!
09-07-2023, 10:10 AM
Hard to see even England blowing this today. Feels as though the Aussies have thrown this test away with some poor batting.

09-07-2023, 01:18 PM
Hard to see even England blowing this today. Feels as though the Aussies have thrown this test away with some poor batting.

Think they might just have

09-07-2023, 01:21 PM
The guy in the Scarecrow outfit 😂😂

09-07-2023, 01:55 PM

Not hard to see them blowing it now!

09-07-2023, 02:17 PM
Getting harder again. Surprised the Aussies didn’t really go all in with the short stuff when Woakes came in?

09-07-2023, 02:53 PM
Series alive. Another brilliant test.

MartinfaePorty
09-07-2023, 02:58 PM
Fantastic stuff. Can't wait for the 19th.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

09-07-2023, 07:11 PM

I think I need to stop making predictions! 😊

Sloop67
09-07-2023, 07:57 PM
Who says Test Match Cricket is boring ,give a test match every time over the hit and giggle of pyjama cricket , this series has been great , so many twists and turns.

14-07-2023, 08:42 PM
Not the ashes but watching a bit of WI v India just now. Almost all over and it's only day 3.

WI 'prepare' a pitch that is turning square and which suits India perfectly. The big dude Cornwall now batting won't be running many singles that's for sure.

What an utter embarrassment WI are nowadays to test cricket.

19-07-2023, 01:37 AM
And before we know it here comes the Fourth Test!

Both teams announced early, so no speculation there. Australia look like they are cognisant of the weather and are geared up to bat, bat and bat, by finding room for Marsh and Green, at the expense of the young spinner Todd Murphy. I don't think that's a reflection on Murphy - I think it is pragmatic, a win or a draw retains the Ashes, and thats easiest done by batting through. And while it would always be unusual not to find room for a spinner, at Old Trafford, I think Australia can throw down some useful off-spin from Head, with a bit of back-up from Smith and Labuschagne. The other factor is of course that the weather should allow for good resting opportunitites for Cummins, Hazlewood and Starc, with Green and March also able to deliver spells with the ball.

For England, no surprise that Anderson comes in for Robinson in the attack. The big gamble for them comes from elevating Moeen to number three. That's a contrivance to address the fact that they wrongly put Brook in at three before, and none of the 'seniors' want to bat at first drop. It's been a while since I've had a moan about Root but he doesn't have the excuse of the captaincy to avoid moving up the order.

Moeen isn't a Test number three (cue him scoring a double century now :greengrin) and although his Test record with the bat in Manchester is okay, he desn't score runs playing that high up the order. And I can't recall him facing an attack as potent as Cummins, Starc and Hazlewood in Manchester. And he's only ever got significant runs against Australia in the 2015 series, two half-centuries, batting at eight both times.

The weather looks like it will severely dent the chances of a victor in this match, with the latter three days likely to yield little action, if any. Given Old Trafford usually offers something for the bat, then my prediction is a draw. But, big but, if Australia can win the toss they will bat and that could give them the edge. But more likely the edge to avoid a defeat rather than the edge to seal a victory.

Anthing less than an English victory and Australia keeps the urn. An Australian victory and they win this series in itw own right, the first in a good while. And if England win I probably won't sleep until after the Fifth Test at the Oval, for a winner-takes-all MegaTest!!!

CentreForward
19-07-2023, 11:06 PM
And before we know it here comes the Fourth Test!

Both teams announced early, so no speculation there. Australia look like they are cognisant of the weather and are geared up to bat, bat and bat, by finding room for Marsh and Green, at the expense of the young spinner Todd Murphy. I don't think that's a reflection on Murphy - I think it is pragmatic, a win or a draw retains the Ashes, and thats easiest done by batting through. And while it would always be unusual not to find room for a spinner, at Old Trafford, I think Australia can throw down some useful off-spin from Head, with a bit of back-up from Smith and Labuschagne. The other factor is of course that the weather should allow for good resting opportunitites for Cummins, Hazlewood and Starc, with Green and March also able to deliver spells with the ball.

For England, no surprise that Anderson comes in for Robinson in the attack. The big gamble for them comes from elevating Moeen to number three. That's a contrivance to address the fact that they wrongly put Brook in at three before, and none of the 'seniors' want to bat at first drop. It's been a while since I've had a moan about Root but he doesn't have the excuse of the captaincy to avoid moving up the order.

Moeen isn't a Test number three (cue him scoring a double century now :greengrin) and although his Test record with the bat in Manchester is okay, he desn't score runs playing that high up the order. And I can't recall him facing an attack as potent as Cummins, Starc and Hazlewood in Manchester. And he's only ever got significant runs against Australia in the 2015 series, two half-centuries, batting at eight both times.

The weather looks like it will severely dent the chances of a victor in this match, with the latter three days likely to yield little action, if any. Given Old Trafford usually offers something for the bat, then my prediction is a draw. But, big but, if Australia can win the toss they will bat and that could give them the edge. But more likely the edge to avoid a defeat rather than the edge to seal a victory.

Anthing less than an English victory and Australia keeps the urn. An Australian victory and they win this series in itw own right, the first in a good while. And if England win I probably won't sleep until after the Fifth Test at the Oval, for a winner-takes-all MegaTest!!!

Bit of a stop start first day but overall the better day for England. Just as you thought that the Aussie batsmen were going to get on top along came the wickets. A great day for Woakes. Tomorrow is going to be very interesting although it sadly it looks as if the weekend weather could spoil things. Draw obviously not good enough for England.

20-07-2023, 01:52 AM
Bit of a stop start first day but overall the better day for England. Just as you thought that the Aussie batsmen were going to get on top along came the wickets. A great day for Woakes. Tomorrow is going to be very interesting although it sadly it looks as if the weekend weather could spoil things. Draw obviously not good enough for England.

Yeah, I think Australia have to be disappointed/England have to be relatively pleased. Enough Aussies made starts but none were able to capitalise - though interestingly, they weren't exactly slouching with a run rate of 3.6 an over. You're spot on about Woakes. Broad will get the headlines for his 600 (and in fairness it's a great, great chievement) but Woakes broke the long batting order that Australia picked. No wickets for Jimmy Anderson but he still bowled a lot of overs and bowled them with great economy.

So, tomorrow brings the Australians back looking at 300 runs on the board plus any bonus runs they might add on. Then over to England who are betting the bank on delivering some sort of 'Bazball on steroids' and try to put Australia back in for a spell tomorrow.

I think a draw remains the likeliest, though both sides have a path to victory. England's, outlined above, feels more realistic. Australia's would involve doing over England cheaply. If I was Australia and chasing the win, I would have been tempted to game England a little, declare first thing and make the best of the early conditions. But Australia don't need to chase it, so I cant see that happening - although I'm sure it was a ploy used by Steve Waugh once or twice, in similar circumstances.

Anyways, the weather tomorrow looks set fair, so here's hoping for another great day of red-ball cricket!

20-07-2023, 12:20 PM
Yeah, I think Australia have to be disappointed/England have to be relatively pleased. Enough Aussies made starts but none were able to capitalise - though interestingly, they weren't exactly slouching with a run rate of 3.6 an over. You're spot on about Woakes. Broad will get the headlines for his 600 (and in fairness it's a great, great chievement) but Woakes broke the long batting order that Australia picked. No wickets for Jimmy Anderson but he still bowled a lot of overs and bowled them with great economy.

So, tomorrow brings the Australians back looking at 300 runs on the board plus any bonus runs they might add on. Then over to England who are betting the bank on delivering some sort of 'Bazball on steroids' and try to put Australia back in for a spell tomorrow.

I think a draw remains the likeliest, though both sides have a path to victory. England's, outlined above, feels more realistic. Australia's would involve doing over England cheaply. If I was Australia and chasing the win, I would have been tempted to game England a little, declare first thing and make the best of the early conditions. But Australia don't need to chase it, so I cant see that happening - although I'm sure it was a ploy used by Steve Waugh once or twice, in similar circumstances.

Anyways, the weather tomorrow looks set fair, so here's hoping for another great day of red-ball cricket!

Eng 61/1 at lunch, 256 behind. They've given themselves a sliver of hope. Get ahead today in good batting conditions, bowl the Aussies out cheaply tomorrow when the weather will probably favour the bowlers, hope they get enough breaks in the weather on Sunday to get any runs required. I think it's more likely they over-accelerate this afternoon, lose cheap wickets and the game will eventually peter out in the rain, but you never know.

20-07-2023, 01:19 PM
50 for Moeen. England accelerating. So far positive but not too reckless. :hmmm:

119/1, 198 behind

20-07-2023, 01:34 PM
Moeen out for 54 but has done his job as the stand in. Root hits first ball for 4. I think we can be pretty sure the game is not going to stagnate this afternoon!

20-07-2023, 02:08 PM
Crawley century. The usual heart in mouth moments but England needed quick scoring and he's certainly delivered.

20-07-2023, 02:42 PM
Tea, 239/2, now just 78 behind.

178 runs for just 1 wicket in that session!

20-07-2023, 03:03 PM
Tea, 239/2, now just 78 behind.

178 runs for just 1 wicket in that session!

That’s top darts, that is.

Crawley really has kicked on. You can also say that the short ball hasn’t really worked for the Australians and it has been a long day for them in very good batting conditions.

This last session feels momentous.

20-07-2023, 04:09 PM
That’s top darts, that is.

Crawley really has kicked on. You can also say that the short ball hasn’t really worked for the Australians and it has been a long day for them in very good batting conditions.

This last session feels momentous.

Eng take the lead! Will be 100+ ahead by the close at this rate. I think we might get a declaration first thing in the morning if it's overcast.

20-07-2023, 04:21 PM
Eng take the lead! Will be 100+ ahead by the close at this rate. I think we might get a declaration first thing in the morning if it's overcast.

Sounds eminently reasonable. It will be a delicate balancing act for sure.

Australia have really missed Nathan Lyon these last two Tests and this afternoon In particular.

As I type, Green has just snagged Crawley. Into those famous tailenders. Brook, Stokes, Bairstow…….

That wicket might be enough to make England bat a little longer tomorrow - the Met Office website will be on auto refresh in the England camp.

20-07-2023, 04:47 PM
Root had little chance of keeping that one out, almost rolled along the deck.

20-07-2023, 05:21 PM
The wickets have calmed everything down. Eng going to finish about 60 ahead. Weather forecast aside, they're well on top.

CentreForward
20-07-2023, 08:32 PM

That’s a great assessment there and we certainly got ‘Bazball on steroids today’. Brilliant innings by Crawley certainly puts England in a strong position. Wonder if Stokes will think about a declaration fairly early tomorrow or try and bat on.

20-07-2023, 10:01 PM
That’s a great assessment there and we certainly got ‘Bazball on steroids today’. Brilliant innings by Crawley certainly puts England in a strong position. Wonder if Stokes will think about a declaration fairly early tomorrow or try and bat on.

It will be a fine balancing act knowing when to declare and I suspect we will only know the right call in hindsight. When it is all said and done England need ten Australian wickets and one more run than the Aussies, so England will have to give their bowlers the opportunity to do their bit. On that basis, an instant declaration might make sense.

The latest weather news steers me towards England declaring very early. Saturday and Sunday now look to be complete wash-outs, and it looks likely to be a delayed start tomorrow with rain towards the end of the day. I think it is looking far more likely to be a draw now, so England's window to win will depend on bowling out the Aussies then chasing a target.

Sloop67
21-07-2023, 05:46 AM
It's going to be very disappointing if the wether ends up deciding the outcome of the series, it's been building up pretty nicely

21-07-2023, 08:03 AM
It's going to be very disappointing if the wether ends up deciding the outcome of the series, it's been building up pretty nicely

I think there's a decent chance of at least a few hours on Sunday but Saturday looks like a write off. Today a bit hit and miss with showers too. Fingers crossed.

He's here!
21-07-2023, 01:44 PM
Jeez, Aussies are doing their best to throw the Ashes away. Fingers crossed for heavy rain all weekend.

Sloop67
21-07-2023, 08:15 PM
[QUOTE=JeMeSouviens;7397857]:agree:

I think there's a decent chance of at least a few hours on Sunday but Saturday looks like a write off. Today a bit hit and miss with showers too. Fingers crossed.[/QUOT
Sunday is now looking like there will probably be some play

21-07-2023, 11:06 PM
Let’s be honest, weather permitting England will win this test. If they do they’ll beat Australia at the oval. It’s coming home 😂

Sloop67
23-07-2023, 12:33 PM
Looking at various weather apps, and the conditions at the golf , the prospect of any play today is very small I'd say

23-07-2023, 12:34 PM
Looking at various weather apps, and the conditions at the golf , the prospect of any play today is very small I'd say

Its pissing it down here in Blackpool, its never stopped all day.

He's here!
23-07-2023, 04:18 PM
They're about to call it a draw. Aussies retain the Ashes.

GRA
23-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Never understand why they don't have a reserve day. Also to just draw the game due to poor weather seems a cop out. Why not use something like a runs rate to decide it?

23-07-2023, 07:44 PM
Never understand why they don't have a reserve day. Also to just draw the game due to poor weather seems a cop out. Why not use something like a runs rate to decide it?

I'm somewhat disappointed with the outcome. But I think for some, probably most traditionalists, and probably me, the weather (and the nuance of the draw) is one of the many factors that makes the game so complex, often frustrating and sometimes just downright beautiful.

Managing the weather is a big part of Test captaincy. Sometimes that links to the coin toss and deciding whether to bowl first - with the right level of humidity and bowlers who can engineer some swing - and hope for early wickets during the first session of day one. Sometimes it affects the batting - a dry wicket with a hint of green still on day two, say, can be a batter's paradise.

As with this Test it also calls on your time management skills. If England declared too early at Edgbaston, they certainly should have declared in this one, especially given they knew the weather forecast.

On a personal level, I'm frustrated - if the weather was fair I would have spent most of the day with either the radio -TMS or ABC - on, or maybe just watching on TV, but that's the way it goes, especially in Manchester.

On the plus side, there has been some great cricket in this series, and a great WTC between Australia and India preceding it.

I think Austalia have earned the right to retain the Ashes. While England have played some brilliant cricket, its never really felt they were imposing themselves on the series to the full extent. While England outbatted Australia, my takeaway of the key knocks would be they belonged to Australia - Khawaja, Smith, Marsh and Labuschagne repectively.

On the bowling front it has been pretty even - Broad stood out the most, but beind him Cummins and Starc were strongest. Given Australia had to cope with the loss of Lyon - who contributes around 40% of their overs - then the tourists edged this for me.

Regardless, it sets us up for a great finale on Thursday. England will not want to lose a series, any series, let alone against the Australians. The Aussies see an opportunity to win the series for the first time in ages and that will mean a lot to players like Warner and Smith who may not tour in England again, let alone Cummins, who can continue his almost-vertical trajectory in cricket greatness by captaining a winning Ashes side away from home. Bring it on!

He's here!
24-07-2023, 10:22 AM
I'm somewhat disappointed with the outcome. But I think for some, probably most traditionalists, and probably me, the weather (and the nuance of the draw) is one of the many factors that makes the game so complex, often frustrating and sometimes just downright beautiful.

Managing the weather is a big part of Test captaincy. Sometimes that links to the coin toss and deciding whether to bowl first - with the right level of humidity and bowlers who can engineer some swing - and hope for early wickets during the first session of day one. Sometimes it affects the batting - a dry wicket with a hint of green still on day two, say, can be a batter's paradise.

As with this Test it also calls on your time management skills. If England declared too early at Edgbaston, they certainly should have declared in this one, especially given they knew the weather forecast.

On a personal level, I'm frustrated - if the weather was fair I would have spent most of the day with either the radio -TMS or ABC - on, or maybe just watching on TV, but that's the way it goes, especially in Manchester.

On the plus side, there has been some great cricket in this series, and a great WTC between Australia and India preceding it.

I think Austalia have earned the right to retain the Ashes. While England have played some brilliant cricket, its never really felt they were imposing themselves on the series to the full extent. While England outbatted Australia, my takeaway of the key knocks would be they belonged to Australia - Khawaja, Smith, Marsh and Labuschagne repectively.

On the bowling front it has been pretty even - Broad stood out the most, but beind him Cummins and Starc were strongest. Given Australia had to cope with the loss of Lyon - who contributes around 40% of their overs - then the tourists edged this for me.

Regardless, it sets us up for a great finale on Thursday. England will not want to lose a series, any series, let alone against the Australians. The Aussies see an opportunity to win the series for the first time in ages and that will mean a lot to players like Warner and Smith who may not tour in England again, let alone Cummins, who can continue his almost-vertical trajectory in cricket greatness by captaining a winning Ashes side away from home. Bring it on!

Yep, Stokes definitely needs to reflect on the decision to keep batting for so long on day 3 when a weekend washout seemed a near certainty.

The Aussies do deserve a lot of credit for the way they handled a brief but very testing spell of play on Saturday tho. Kind of deserved the draw off the back of that IMHO.

24-07-2023, 08:10 PM
England must be feeling gutted they haven’t won the series. It’s always a rollercoaster but this series was Englands to win, the ridiculous declaration in the first test and the suicidal batting at Lords have cost them the chance of a famous series win. Australia at this point have completely gone and all England had to do was be in the running at the Oval. There was always going to be at least one test that was weather effected and the minute you go 2-0 down after 2 tests you’re relying on more than you can control. It’s a disappointing way to decide an Ashes series but you have to hand it to Australia, they stuck in there and ignored the hype, something a few of the English players would do well to learn from.

25-07-2023, 09:10 AM
England must be feeling gutted they haven’t won the series. It’s always a rollercoaster but this series was Englands to win, the ridiculous declaration in the first test and the suicidal batting at Lords have cost them the chance of a famous series win. Australia at this point have completely gone and all England had to do was be in the running at the Oval. There was always going to be at least one test that was weather effected and the minute you go 2-0 down after 2 tests you’re relying on more than you can control. It’s a disappointing way to decide an Ashes series but you have to hand it to Australia, they stuck in there and ignored the hype, something a few of the English players would do well to learn from.

Good summary. The Aussies weren't at their best but performed in crucial moments. Labuschagne's dogged century in the gloom sealing the deal. England blew it in a fit of hubris or over exceitement or whatever it was at Edgbaston.

25-07-2023, 06:30 PM
There are always questions after a defeat. Thats the same in any sport. Im English and love my cricket. This is the most exciting English cricket team Ive ever seen. Full throttle. They are scaring the living daylights out every Test team in the world. England get it right firing on all cylinders will anhilate the opposition. Occasionally it wll go wrong playing so attackingly but as a fan of English cricket i dont care. I can more than put up with the odd defeat to play the way this team plays. Australia are the best test team in the world and they have been put through the mill and they know it.

27-07-2023, 10:00 AM
Aussies to go 3-1 up. Best of the conditions for bowling, and a more balanced attack with Murphy in. Last Ashes Test for nearly two and a half years but we have a five-parter for England in India in a few months and and the small matter of a World Cup before that :greengrin

28-07-2023, 11:27 AM
Geoffrey Boycott would’ve been proud of that innings by Labuschagne.

He's here!
28-07-2023, 06:06 PM
I really cannot stand Stuart Broad.

28-07-2023, 07:47 PM
Geoffrey Boycott would’ve been proud of that innings by Labuschagne.

I may be well off the mark with this but it did cross my mind that Australia had gone back to first principles and asked thenselves WWSWD (What would Steve Waugh do)?

Waugh was an outstanding batsman, a very tidy bowler before his back stopped him and a top fielder, whether in the slips or more often, at square leg or fine leg. But most importantly he is among the few contenders for greatest ever Test captain, probably is the greatest - albeit with a team that sometimes changed but was literally full of true cricketing greats from i to XI.

What made Waugh special was that he had the ingredients, but he worked out the right strategy and tactics to meet his objective - of Australia reigning supreme over every other Test side.

And in a situation like this, where England are pushing their new style, I can see how Steve Waugh would deliberately tell his batsmen to play slow and grind out the runs and eat up the time. That frustrates the English and taxes them as well - a day in the field is not easy, let alone a day bowling. And reducing the time increases the risk tolerance when England do bat, maing it more likely the boundary riders will have catches to make.

Cummins doesn't have the batsmen that Waugh had at his disposal but his bowling unit is on any given day, probably the strongest in the world. The trick is reducing the pressure on them by limiting the batting window for England. Hence slow runs and cautious batting from the Aussies.

That's the theory at least. And I might be wrong and Australia aren't batting against journeyman bowlers - despite the English dressing room resembling a scene from MASH!

28-07-2023, 07:54 PM

I have nothing but the utmost respect for his achievements as a bowler, and I can't dislike his carefree batting approach at 10 or 11.

But it is simply scientifically impossible to like him, or at least his on-field persona.

Whether it is his silly smug gestures when he takes a wicket, his surly backchat to the umpires when he is denied a wicket, or just his stupid 'Karate Kid baddy' headband, he brings it on himself really.

28-07-2023, 10:02 PM
I may be well off the mark with this but it did cross my mind that Australia had gone back to first principles and asked thenselves WWSWD (What would Steve Waugh do)?

Waugh was an outstanding batsman, a very tidy bowler before his back stopped him and a top fielder, whether in the slips or more often, at square leg or fine leg. But most importantly he is among the few contenders for greatest ever Test captain, probably is the greatest - albeit with a team that sometimes changed but was literally full of true cricketing greats from i to XI.

What made Waugh special was that he had the ingredients, but he worked out the right strategy and tactics to meet his objective - of Australia reigning supreme over every other Test side.

And in a situation like this, where England are pushing their new style, I can see how Steve Waugh would deliberately tell his batsmen to play slow and grind out the runs and eat up the time. That frustrates the English and taxes them as well - a day in the field is not easy, let alone a day bowling. And reducing the time increases the risk tolerance when England do bat, maing it more likely the boundary riders will have catches to make.

Cummins doesn't have the batsmen that Waugh had at his disposal but his bowling unit is on any given day, probably the strongest in the world. The trick is reducing the pressure on them by limiting the batting window for England. Hence slow runs and cautious batting from the Aussies.

That's the theory at least. And I might be wrong and Australia aren't batting against journeyman bowlers - despite the English dressing room resembling a scene from MASH!
That’s a hell of a theory and one I’d probably go along with if this was a test match with something riding on it. I know there’s no such thing as a dead rubber in an ashes series but surely this was Australia’s chance to counter bazball. They won the toss and bowled England out for under 300. If it wasn’t for the tail wagging they were looking at a deficit. Everything seems a bit upside down at the moment but I really thought the Aussies would’ve come out swinging given they’ve got nothing to lose.

28-07-2023, 11:16 PM
That’s a hell of a theory and one I’d probably go along with if this was a test match with something riding on it. I know there’s no such thing as a dead rubber in an ashes series but surely this was Australia’s chance to counter bazball. They won the toss and bowled England out for under 300. If it wasn’t for the tail wagging they were looking at a deficit. Everything seems a bit upside down at the moment but I really thought the Aussies would’ve come out swinging given they’ve got nothing to lose.

I think that's the key though - they retain the Ashes no matter the outcome, but a draw means they have won a series in England (2-1) for the first time in 20 years.

Winning an away series in the Ashes (as opposed to just retaining the urn) is a huge deal in the Australian psyche.

He's here!
29-07-2023, 08:49 PM
I think that's the key though - they retain the Ashes no matter the outcome, but a draw means they have won a series in England (2-1) for the first time in 20 years.

Winning an away series in the Ashes (as opposed to just retaining the urn) is a huge deal in the Australian psyche.

They'll toil to get a draw now, let alone a win in this match. Any rain forecast?

29-07-2023, 09:13 PM
They'll toil to get a draw now, let alone a win in this match. Any rain forecast?

A bit :greengrin

29-07-2023, 09:16 PM

Without having checked the weather forecast i'm not entirely convinced that The Aussie's can't win this. If Warner can turn up for a change things could become quite interesting.

Hopefully not though.

29-07-2023, 10:22 PM

He's retiring from cricket at the culmination of this test.

He's here!
30-07-2023, 09:04 AM
Without having checked the weather forecast i'm not entirely convinced that The Aussie's can't win this. If Warner can turn up for a change things could become quite interesting.

Hopefully not though.

If England's final pair take the lead past 400 there's no way the Aussies will get close. If there's enough rain to reduce play by a few hours they could possibly stay in long enough to earn the draw and thus a series win.

30-07-2023, 09:22 AM
If England's final pair take the lead past 400 there's no way the Aussies will get close. If there's enough rain to reduce play by a few hours they could possibly stay in long enough to earn the draw and thus a series win.

I hope your opening sentence transpires to be correct.

30-07-2023, 09:23 AM

Why? Has had an amazing career

He's here!
30-07-2023, 10:59 AM
Why? Has had an amazing career

Can't argue with that. It's his on-field persona, as Mibbes Aye explains so eloquently above, that is so repellent.

He's here!
30-07-2023, 11:01 AM
I hope your opening sentence transpires to be correct.

Think it's been raised before but it's interesting how the 'anyone but England' approach which many Sots adopt to international sport doesn't seem to apply so much to cricket.

30-07-2023, 11:26 AM
Think it's been raised before but it's interesting how the 'anyone but England' approach which many Sots adopt to international sport doesn't seem to apply so much to cricket.

Spent many a dreich day during School Summer holidays watching the cricket, Scotland were pretty much non existent as a cricket team (that could easily be sheer ignorance on my part) so that rivalry wasn't there.

The batsman's Holding the bowlers Willey and such like. 😳

30-07-2023, 01:15 PM

Hopefully not though.

I think we've reached the interesting stage. 🤔

30-07-2023, 02:26 PM
Weather looking like England's best bowler so far. 😁

He's here!
30-07-2023, 02:35 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/cricket/66354237

Warner did well to deal with this!

He's here!
30-07-2023, 02:38 PM
Spent many a dreich day during School Summer holidays watching the cricket, Scotland were pretty much non existent as a cricket team (that could easily be sheer ignorance on my part) so that rivalry wasn't there.

Yeh, I guess the lack of genuine rivalry is a big reason. I used to watch a lot of those 70s/80s Tests too and remember supporting England (slim pickings v the terrifying West Indies back then!) but for some reason I quite like seeing them get beat these days - while perversely I now quite like the England football team, having for many years wanted them beaten in every game they played!

30-07-2023, 02:47 PM
England are not really scotlands rivals at cricket. That's why we mostly want England to win. Although to be honest, most folk who love cricket just love cricket and are happy to see good teams win. Although when Scotlabd do play England there is clearly only one team I want to see win!!

30-07-2023, 03:48 PM
England are not really scotlands rivals at cricket. That's why we mostly want England to win. Although to be honest, most folk who love cricket just love cricket and are happy to see good teams win. Although when Scotlabd do play England there is clearly only one team I want to see win!!

I must be the exception, I've no interest in anyone playing England winning whether they are better or not. Except Scotland.

30-07-2023, 03:50 PM

It’s one of the many things I like about cricket.

30-07-2023, 04:41 PM
At this stage I'm thinking of calling it Marnus Labuschagne as man of the match and I'm a little more than half-serious :greengrin

England's biggest vulnerability in this series and going into today has been the durability of their bowling. They have a significantly old attack. All but one of them are carrying, or are just back from injury. The remaining player is playng through what must be the most incredibly emotional lens of knowing ithese are his last overs overs in cricket.

To be bowling a ninth time in five Tests in lttle more than a month, against the world chmpions? And then have Marnus make you bowl the equivalent of more than thirteen overs to him alone, for no significant gain or loss? It's no wonder the English bowlers will be feeling it in their legs this second innings.

Australianow find themselves with one day and 249 runs to chase, England one day and ten wickets. Both eminently doable but Australia in a far better place now than when they took the field facing 384 runs to win.

The weather looks set to prevail however - as it stands there is a chance of play but the best of the days eweather won't be until the third session, which should be enough to deny either side victory in this match.

So, as it stands, it looks like a draw here and a series victory for Australia. And that's a hige accomplishment - Australia have only won an Ashes series in England fourteen times. Doing that here will put Paddy Cummins in some illustrious company to say the least.

He's here!
30-07-2023, 05:58 PM
At this stage I'm thinking of calling it Marnus Labuschagne as man of the match and I'm a little more than half-serious :greengrin

England's biggest vulnerability in this series and going into today has been the durability of their bowling. They have a significantly old attack. All but one of them are carrying, or are just back from injury. The remaining player is playng through what must be the most incredibly emotional lens of knowing ithese are his last overs overs in cricket.

To be bowling a ninth time in five Tests in lttle more than a month, against the world chmpions? And then have Marnus make you bowl the equivalent of more than thirteen overs to him alone, for no significant gain or loss? It's no wonder the English bowlers will be feeling it in their legs this second innings.

Australianow find themselves with one day and 249 runs to chase, England one day and ten wickets. Both eminently doable but Australia in a far better place now than when they took the field facing 384 runs to win.

The weather looks set to prevail however - as it stands there is a chance of play but the best of the days eweather won't be until the third session, which should be enough to deny either side victory in this match.

So, as it stands, it looks like a draw here and a series victory for Australia. And that's a hige accomplishment - Australia have only won an Ashes series in England fourteen times. Doing that here will put Paddy Cummins in some illustrious company to say the least.

It was still a big ask of those Australian openers to make sure they bedded in and were still there at today's close. They surprised me a little.

Out of interest how many Ashes series have England won in Australia?

30-07-2023, 06:33 PM
It’s one of the many things I like about cricket.

I remember watching England in the 2005 Ashes and it was impossible not, at least in part, to will them on, though if anything that series shouldn't have gone to a team, it should have gone to Shane Warne - such an incredible performance from him.

I have a soft spot for Australia because that's where I fell in love with the game but cricket is so much more than two nations playing against one another.

The joy of cricket is in its nuance, and that's why Test matches are the highest form of the sport IMO.

30-07-2023, 06:50 PM
It was still a big ask of those Australian openers to make sure they bedded in and were still there at today's close. They surprised me a little.

Out of interest how many Ashes series have England won in Australia?

i think it is about the same, but the majority of those were more than a hundred years ago, a lot of them would have been in the 19th century!

I agree, it showed toughness on the part of the openers today (that feeds into my Steve Waugh narrative :greengrin). Khawaja, despite my longstanding criticisms of him has shown himself to be a rather sticky player and Warner, despite his terrible for, in England, was alwas going to shine through at some point.

30-07-2023, 08:05 PM

I've got no idea what the score is but, Mo may well be a huge difference, same as Nathan I suppose.by being missing.

30-07-2023, 08:11 PM
One of my best memories of watching cricket was in a pub in Cologne on the way to Essen for the European Cup 50th anniversary game, it was bouncing.

30-07-2023, 09:44 PM
I wasn't the only one feeling Steve Waugh all over this Test :greengrin

Three great paragraphs in a Barnay Ronay piece in the Guardian, the last one a perfect summary of the English bowling today:

The debate around England’s approach, free jazz versus old truisms, is perhaps best embodied by the idea of a giant Steve Waugh head floating over the Vauxhall End, the lines around its Steve Waugh eyes – the “crow’s feet” celebrated by the Grade Cricketer podcast – deepening with every affront to orthodoxy.

In this context Sunday was like an all-day Steve Waugh spa facial, the lines around that vast baggy green-clad super-ego easing and softening with every landmark ticked off in a measured, high‑craft opening partnership between David Warner and Usman Khawaja; the crinkles easing with each nick though an absent second slip, a grimace of a smile starting to spread at every bisecting of the umbrella field.

At times England’s bowling lineup looked like what it is here: a TV pundit, an injured bloke, an injured radio summariser, a dutiful wizard, an ageing red-zoned speed freak and a 41-year-old celebrating his birthday.

He's here!
31-07-2023, 08:51 AM
I wasn't the only one feeling Steve Waugh all over this Test :greengrin

Three great paragraphs in a Barnay Ronay piece in the Guardian, the last one a perfect summary of the English bowling today:

Ronay also questioning the timing of Broad's retirement announcement:

"Why not just retire the day after the series ends? It is hard to imagine a more distracting way of doing this, a day of potentially era-defining Test cricket recast as the launch of a new media brand.
"There will be cries that one of England’s great Test bowlers needs a chance to wave goodbye. But why? This is not the Love Island finale. It’s a brilliantly engaging Test series with a knife-edge finish to come. Spare us the Viking funeral, just for now."

31-07-2023, 10:38 AM
Both openers gone, 141-2

31-07-2023, 11:05 AM
169-3

Sloop67
31-07-2023, 11:06 AM
3 down now . If England can nick another one out before lunch then it's game on

31-07-2023, 11:13 AM
3 down now . If England can nick another one out before lunch then it's game on

Looks like some rain coming this afternoon ...

31-07-2023, 12:27 PM
Ben Stokes, what have you done? :rolleyes:

31-07-2023, 12:51 PM
Ben Stokes, what have you done? :rolleyes:

Unbelievable Jeff 😳

31-07-2023, 01:11 PM
Players came on, no play took place before they went off again due to rain.

31-07-2023, 01:20 PM
Players came on, no play took place before they went off again due to rain.

Judging by the met office radar, I think we're going to lose the afternoon session. So there would be something like 30-35 overs for the Aussies to knock off 146 or England to get 7 wickets. Odds on the draw I think now.

31-07-2023, 04:00 PM
Just when you think the Aussies are starting to cruise, Eng get 2 quick wickets!

5 wickets or 110 more runs.

31-07-2023, 04:00 PM
Plenty of overs, they got back on quicker than I thought they would.

31-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Another one down, the dangerman Marsh. Still 110 for the tail to get. Not impossible though?

31-07-2023, 04:12 PM
I wonder how Ben Stokes is feeling after that drop earlier.

31-07-2023, 04:12 PM
277-7

31-07-2023, 04:31 PM
8 wickets down.

GRA
31-07-2023, 04:34 PM
Oz collapse. Looks like a drawn series.

31-07-2023, 05:06 PM
Tail wagging! 61 to win or 2 wickets.

31-07-2023, 05:10 PM

.. and any half-decent Scottish player played for England :greengrin

Mike Denness... arguably Tony Greig.....

... and that's about it. :cb

31-07-2023, 05:11 PM
329-9

31-07-2023, 05:16 PM
.. and any half-decent Scottish player played for England :greengrin

Mike Denness... arguably Tony Greig.....

... and that's about it. :cb
Douglas Jardine

31-07-2023, 05:20 PM
Been a great ashes. One of the best ever for me.

31-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Broad takes the final wicket 👏

31-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Been a great ashes. One of the best ever for me.

Very much so, quite tremendous entertainment!

31-07-2023, 06:04 PM
And once again test match cricket shows just how exciting it is and why it will always be the pinnacle of the sport. Great series

He's here!
31-07-2023, 06:31 PM
Rain worked in England's favour this time round but they'll feel they deserved to draw the series.

I was, overall, a bit disappointed by Australia. Not as mentally resilient as I expected and I'd suggest England maybe overestimated them. In saying that, the loss Lyon so early in the series was a major blow for the tourists.