View Full Version : Partick thistle in trouble?

Donegal Hibby
08-06-2023, 07:57 PM
Things don't look good at partick thistle and they don't seem to have any player's they can sell either . Tiffoney would probably have been there main asset and he's leaving for nothing which is a blow for them . I have respect for fans that follow clubs in Glasgow instead of becoming a old firm glory hunter like many others do . Hope they get out of the mess there in as I've never minded the Jags TBH .
https://thejagsfoundation.co.uk/reaction-to-ptfc-statement-regarding-financial-situation/

08-06-2023, 08:00 PM
Surely there pals from gorgie will help them out

08-06-2023, 09:31 PM
Never understood why Partick Thistle haven't actively pushed the club as the sane alternative to Glasgow's bigotfest. I don't mean in yer face 'support us we aint bigots' but in a more subtle way, in whatever form that may involve.

Perhaps even a subtle change to their badge to have it read 'Partick Thistle, Glasgow' in the same way as Hibs included Edinburgh in our badge at the start of the century. They could even actively push the club as the football destination for folk who don't want to be insignificant cogs in the massive corporate Ugly Sisters machine.

IMO they have missed a trick for decades by not aggressively marketing themselves as the alternative to Celtic and The Rangers and the club where religion or politics for that matter doesn't matter.

08-06-2023, 09:49 PM
They jumped in to bed with hertz, stuff them.

08-06-2023, 09:51 PM
Hope they’re able to steady the ship. Agree with those who have respect for the Jags and their supporters for turning their noses up at the widely available bigot fest in their city. I wanted them to win the playoffs.

08-06-2023, 09:58 PM
Just shows the danger of living beyond your means and relying on donations with no certainty of continuation.

Partick were supported with donations from lottery winner Colin Weir for several years but he died in 2019 and they’ve not been able to cut expenditure to meet the change in circumstances.

Maybe they were gambling on promotion to bring in the required funds to balance their books and that failed too.

Hope they come through these financial problems as I would liked to see them in the Premier division.

08-06-2023, 09:59 PM
Good.
Have a combined bake sale with the charity thieves.

TelaStella
08-06-2023, 10:01 PM
Never understood why Partick Thistle haven't actively pushed the club as the sane alternative to Glasgow's bigotfest. I don't mean in yer face 'support us we aint bigots' but in a more subtle way, in whatever form that may involve.

Perhaps even a subtle change to their badge to have it read 'Partick Thistle, Glasgow' in the same way as Hibs included Edinburgh in our badge at the start of the century. They could even actively push the club as the football destination for folk who don't want to be insignificant cogs in the massive corporate Ugly Sisters machine.

IMO they have missed a trick for decades by not aggressively marketing themselves as the alternative to Celtic and The Rangers and the club where religion or politics for that matter doesn't matter.

From attending a few Jags games over my time here in Glasgow one thing I’ve learned is they’re very happy and proud to be that very alternative you speak of. Over the last 10-15 years they’ve made a lot of progress to become the team for many an immigrant to the city, especially in particular those younger and come to Glasgow for studies, as the student population is historically based not far from Maryhill. Connecting with such people is good in the short term, many go onto build lives elsewhere and that’s the long term problem.

It’s always a tough one as to how far they push the alternative image. Especially if they were ever to be completely open about being an alternative to sectarianism which of course would then bring the other two into somewhat disrepute. Obviously they’d be right, but we know how these things can go. Being named after Partick I’m not sure what difference adding Glasgow to the name or crest would make to be honest but I don’t see anything wrong with it- see West Ham.

Bottom line is, every team not just in Glasgow, Greater Glasgow but the whole country have similar issues that relate back to the overwhelming popularity of just two clubs. Regrettably, partick just happen to be the next door neighbour and until Scottish football can fundamentally change I don’t see that getting any better. Great club, great supporters and a great asset to the community. They’ve fought for years and I really hope they fight on for many more to come.

Green Man
08-06-2023, 10:09 PM
When I studied in Glasgow I lived 5 minutes from Firhill, so went to a fair few matches and still retain a soft spot for Thistle. At the time I started watching them, the Save the Jags campaign was going as funnily enough they were in financial trouble. The Thistle fans are brilliant and I know they’ll do everything they can to rally round their club like they have done previously. Jacqui Low taking control was a disaster for the club, she ran it with scant regard for the good of the club and it’s only now she’s gone that the full extent of the problem has come to light.

08-06-2023, 11:09 PM
They should really have been suspended from football for the crime of demolishing one of the great behind goal terraces and replacing it with an open empty space of nothingness.

09-06-2023, 01:18 AM

Forgive me, I keep reading people getting knickers in a twist.

What actually happened?

09-06-2023, 05:14 AM
Surely Hearts will help them out? Brothers in arms and all that.

09-06-2023, 05:18 AM
Great wee club, hope they can resolve their issues.

09-06-2023, 06:12 AM

Think being fair any club would have done the same to try and stop relegation and Hearts were happy to lead so why wouldn't they suppport it. Some of Hearts tactics and behaviour was certainly unedifying that is for sure though.

09-06-2023, 06:47 AM
I don't really mind the whole Hearts thing. Looking at it objectively the covid season was harsh on the teams involved (not that I can think of an obvious alternative that wouldn't have pissed off someone else). Had it been Hibs I'd have expected us to kick up a fuss too and 99.9% of people on here would be the same, whether they admit it to themselves now or not. In such situations you take allies where you can find them.

They have always struck me as a decent fanbase and a decent club. I tip my hat to anyone in the west who chooses not to support Celtic or Rangers. I met a guy the other day, his dad and brother are Hamilton fans and he supports Celtic, I instantly lost a bit of respect for him as that is the definition of a glory hunter. It's not something you can level at Partick Thistle fans.

Many on here know what it means to almost lose your club and there aren't many fanbases I would wish that on. I hope they pull through.

09-06-2023, 06:48 AM
The "good" posts, while I understand the reasoning, are poor.

Thistle is a good club with real fans. They jumped into bed with Hearts to try to stop their relegation, Hibs would have been the same had it been us.

09-06-2023, 07:26 AM
Noticed that Queens Park agreed to rent Hamdump from the SFA even although they have a purpose built Lesser Hampden in anticipation of a return to the big time but have decided to go ahead with it in any case for next season in the Championship

09-06-2023, 07:57 AM
The Partick Thistle

09-06-2023, 08:46 AM
Forgive me, I keep reading people getting knickers in a twist.

What actually happened?

They jumped on the bandwagon around the covid season about unfair relegations and promotions - them and Stranraer I think it was? - and tried to push through league reconstruction purely to save their own skins.

09-06-2023, 08:51 AM
Noticed that Queens Park agreed to rent Hamdump from the SFA even although they have a purpose built Lesser Hampden in anticipation of a return to the big time but have decided to go ahead with it in any case for next season in the Championship

Leaser Hampden capacity will only be 1000 initially

Donegal Hibby
09-06-2023, 10:08 AM
They jumped on the bandwagon around the covid season about unfair relegations and promotions - them and Stranraer I think it was? - and tried to push through league reconstruction purely to save their own skins.
That season with the outbreak of COVID was unprecedented and the season had to be called to a early end . I think if we had been in hertz position and complained partick would have sided with us too and it wasn't down to them loving hertz more just about partick's own self preservation.

Hertz caused quite a fuzz I seem to remember about it too . They were 4 points off safety and had only won 4 games out of a possible 30 that season and there was little evidence they were going to escape the drop anyhow . They'd also played the same amount of games as teams above them .

Partick on the other hand had only lost 1 in there last 5 and were only 2 points behind QotS having played a game less. With the season coming to a abrupt end there was always going to be clubs unhappy especially the ones in the relegation spots though I do have a certain sympathy for partick in they had played a game less than the team above them which might have made all the difference in there survival.

TelaStella
09-06-2023, 10:12 AM

Think the idea is to increase the original intended capacity of Lesser. They’re due to kick off the season there before moving across to the big ground at some point, ideally finishing the season back at a increased Lesser. Wonder though if this would’ve gone ahead without the addition of Dundee United and Dunfermline in next seasons league? Both with anticipated large away followings.

09-06-2023, 10:26 AM
That season with the outbreak of COVID was unprecedented and the season had to be called to a early end . I think if we had been in hertz position and complained partick would have sided with us too and it wasn't down to them loving hertz more just about partick's own self preservation.

Hertz caused quite a fuzz I seem to remember about it too . They were 4 points off safety and had only won 4 games out of a possible 30 that season and there was little evidence they were going to escape the drop anyhow . They'd also played the same amount of games as teams above them .

Partick on the other hand had only lost 1 in there last 5 and were only 2 points behind QotS having played a game less. With the season coming to a abrupt end there was always going to be clubs unhappy especially the ones in the relegation spots though I do have a certain sympathy for partick in they had played a game less than the team above them which might have made all the difference in there survival.

I’d have had sympathy for all the clubs involved if their self interest wasn’t so painfully obvious.

From what I can remember it wasn’t that they were campaigning for no promotion/relegation, it was that they wanted the leagues reconstructed to suit them.

My memories from the time are a bit hazy though.

Is the champagne still on ice?

09-06-2023, 10:33 AM

League reconstruction was an idea that might have gained support from a lot of fans, even if the proposal had come from Hearts, it's discussed on here a lot. Where Hearts went wrong, as only Hearts can, was to suggest doing it for one season, showing it to be simply for the benefit of them with no thought about any long term benefits to Scottish football.

09-06-2023, 10:41 AM

Wondered why they had a flag with the Hearts crest on it when they played Ayr in the playoffs. Forgot about their love in. Delighted they didn't get promoted. Champagne on ice for another day.

09-06-2023, 10:53 AM

They were groomed.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-06-2023, 11:04 AM
Karma, **** them

09-06-2023, 11:06 AM
I also see Livi are without a shirt sponser for next season. They're down a hole already but that will be a further blow to them if they can't get anyone.

09-06-2023, 11:08 AM
League reconstruction was an idea that might have gained support from a lot of fans, even if the proposal had come from Hearts, it's discussed on here a lot. Where Hearts went wrong, as only Hearts can, was to suggest doing it for one season, showing it to be simply for the benefit of them with no thought about any long term benefits to Scottish football.

Exactly this, it was pure self interest from all the clubs pushing the proposals.

I didn't even remember that it was for one season only. What would have happened following season? 2 or even 3 relegations with clubs that might have been miles off bottom spot dragged in to the mire to protect Hearts top flight status?

**** them, and all who supported them.

09-06-2023, 11:17 AM

Wondered why they had a flag with the Hearts crest on it when they played Ayr in the playoffs. Forgot about their love in. Delighted they didn't get promoted. Champagne on ice for another day.

Most of their fans, going by the posts on their forum, thought that was embarrassing.

To me it's like the guys that turned up at a game between Hibs and St Mirren and displayed a flag with an Irish rebel leader on it... which some folk tried to explain with 'but he was a Hibs Supporter'.

You get strange people in every support.

Donegal Hibby
09-06-2023, 11:21 AM

I recently watched a Scotland match were there was a hertz flag at too ! Though I don't think that represents the vast majority of Scotland fans at the game . You will always get a few numpties carrying flags to games though that doesn't mean everyone supports or agrees with whatevers on a flag .

As to the champagne on ice for another day , I'm sure there's a lot of good people who follow partick thistle and are genuinely worried about there football club with its future not looking good , we of all fans should know how this feels tbh . Anyone from Glasgow that has turned there back on the old firm and all its vile sectarianism to follow partick thistle has my respect and I hope they come out of whatever difficult situation there in .

09-06-2023, 11:24 AM
They should really have been suspended from football for the crime of demolishing one of the great behind goal terraces and replacing it with an open empty space of nothingness.

If there's one upside to PT not winning the playoff it's the premier league being spared yet another 3 sided ground, what a sight it would be if Partick Thistle, ICT, Falkirk and Hamilton were all in the league at the same time.

Scotland's stadiums need a massive cash injection along the lines of the kind of money spent on the Commonwealth games a few years back. The only way for that to happen is for us to get a major tournament ... the men's Euros are a no go, but what about the women's Euros. For that tournament there's only a few teams going to attract crowds in excess of 10,000 where the big stadiums will be required, but that would be a perfect excuse to chuck a few quid at smaller grounds like Firhill, Falkirk, ICT Dundee and Dundee United where the less attractive games could be played.

A total of 425 million quid of public money was spent delivering the Commonwealth games, less than a quarter of that would be massive for the quality of our stadiums.

Upgrade to the shed end at Tannadice
A new main stand and renovation of the opposite stand at Dens Park.
A 4th stand at Falkirk
Renovation of the main stand and a new end stand at Firhill
A total revamp of ICT's mess.

Sounds fanciful I know, but then they spent £14,000,000 turning Hampden into a temporary athletics stadium for about 3 days with absolutely no long term benefit to the stadium after it was all put back.

09-06-2023, 11:25 AM
I recently watched a Scotland match were there was a hertz flag at too ! Though I don't think that represents the vast majority of Scotland fans at the game . You will always get a few numpties carrying flags to games though that doesn't mean everyone supports or agrees with whatevers on a flag .

As to the champagne on ice for another day , I'm sure there's a lot of good people who follow partick thistle and are genuinely worried about there football club with its future not looking good , we of all fans should know how this feels tbh . Anyone from Glasgow that has turned there back on the old firm and all its vile sectarianism to follow partick thistle has my respect and I hope they come out of whatever difficult situation there in .

I had a neighbour in Mount Florida that's from a Celtc mad family but supports Thistle, for the exact reason you quoted.

KdyHby
09-06-2023, 11:47 AM
Went through to Thistle v County with my brother and nephew, all Hibs season ticket holders. Was so nice to be at a Glasgow match without the OF baggage. All fans were warm and welcoming, surprised at the number of Celtc fans we chatted to along to support Thistle, nae huns were encountered.

09-06-2023, 11:48 AM

Excellent post which I entirely agree with.

09-06-2023, 04:11 PM
Good wee club. Decent fans and a good away trip.

Missed out the top league IMO.

Donegal Hibby
09-06-2023, 04:28 PM
Good wee club. Decent fans and a good away trip.

Missed out the top league IMO.
I was actually for them in the play-offs and going by watching the two games I still think they would have offered more to the Scottish premier league than Ross county TBH .

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-06-2023, 05:44 PM
Most of their fans, going by the posts on their forum, thought that was embarrassing.

To me it's like the guys that turned up at a game between Hibs and St Mirren and displayed a flag with an Irish rebel leader on it... which some folk tried to explain with 'but he was a Hibs Supporter'.

Totally different things altogether, you know that though

10-06-2023, 06:08 AM
I was actually for them in the play-offs and going by watching the two games I still think they would have offered more to the Scottish premier league than Ross county TBH .

The more teams outside the central belt the better for me. I’m not so sure that a team on its financial backside is a good addition either.

10-06-2023, 07:50 AM
Ian MaCall can give them the proceeds from his amazing book he kept banging on about that was going to shed light on the whole Hearts and Partick relegation season. If he ever writers it that is.

He was on Sportsound every day slagging off every other club Chairman that didn't agree them.

As a club, they didn't give a stuff about any other side in the leagues. Screw them.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2023, 09:52 AM
The more teams outside the central belt the better for me. I’m not so sure that a team on its financial backside is a good addition either.
Would prefer a trip to partick thistle over Ross county myself . Aye , partick's financial situation isn't good though if they had of won the play-offs that might of helped them . Over the two play-off games I thought partick were good to watch and tried to play football the right way , I can't say the same about watching Ross county this season as I think the way they try and play isn't nice to watch tbh .

10-06-2023, 10:13 AM
Meh. Yet another football club in financial trouble through mismanagement.

They will survive. Another spell in league 1 if it comes to it will be their destination.

Caversham Green
10-06-2023, 10:34 AM
I can see why the Jags Foundation are unhappy - there's some rather misleading accounting going on in their accounts to 31 May 2022.

There was a donation of £1,716,300 showing in the P&L, but that was all used to refurbish the stadium so the comparable costs don't appear in the P&L. That means that instead of the reported £1.5m profit their operating loss was a bit over £200,000.

They've also revalued the stadium to £14,000,000 which is an uplift of the donation plus £7,783,700 - a total of £9.5m. That makes the balance sheet look rather healthier (£14.3m bottom line) than it has any right to be (IMO).

None of that is illegal but it does make the headline figures much better than the underlying circumstances.

Having said all that, I don't think Thistle look in any immediate danger.

AliboyFC
13-06-2023, 06:27 PM

You talking about the James Connelly SC flag? My local club south shields has a flag with him on he gets about :greengrin

13-06-2023, 07:24 PM

This but with a swear word.

17-06-2023, 01:29 PM
I don't really mind the whole Hearts thing. Looking at it objectively the covid season was harsh on the teams involved (not that I can think of an obvious alternative that wouldn't have pissed off someone else). Had it been Hibs I'd have expected us to kick up a fuss too and 99.9% of people on here would be the same, whether they admit it to themselves now or not. In such situations you take allies where you can find them.

They have always struck me as a decent fanbase and a decent club. I tip my hat to anyone in the west who chooses not to support Celtic or Rangers. I met a guy the other day, his dad and brother are Hamilton fans and he supports Celtic, I instantly lost a bit of respect for him as that is the definition of a glory hunter. It's not something you can level at Partick Thistle fans.

Many on here know what it means to almost lose your club and there aren't many fanbases I would wish that on. I hope they pull through.

We now live in a world where a sociopathic disregard for the wider picture and making up facts to suit whatever situation you find yourself in has become accepted and even expected. No thanks.

I’d like to think that we would not have behaved in such a manner.