View Full Version : Russeell Brand & Brian McDermott
King Cosell
07-06-2023, 07:32 PM
Brand just tweeted. They're watching the West Ham game together.
07-06-2023, 07:37 PM
Not made a single signing yet and he's off a jolly watching another team. McDermott out!!!
07-06-2023, 07:45 PM
Not made a single signing yet and he's off a jolly watching another team. McDermott out!!!
Maybe we are going to sign Rice for £100m
07-06-2023, 07:48 PM
Russell Brand has been complementary about Hibs in the past. Should be an interesting conversation.
07-06-2023, 07:50 PM
Going by tonight's game I prefer Jeggo
NC1875
07-06-2023, 07:52 PM
No thanks. Over rated 😂
badabing67
07-06-2023, 08:03 PM
Is Brian McDermott not Arsenal
07-06-2023, 08:07 PM
Russell Brand has been complementary about Hibs in the past. Should be an interesting conversation.
Think at one point he was pally with Irvine Welsh as he also like west am.
Elie Youan. Signed permanently a week after B McDermott joined. Maybe Brian came in and said stop dicking around and get the deal done. Sorted!
King Cosell
07-06-2023, 11:16 PM
Auckland Hibs
08-06-2023, 01:48 AM
Isn't his Mrs a Hibee (and her Dad)?
Alfiembra
08-06-2023, 05:47 AM
Isn't his Mrs a Hibee (and her Dad)?
Correct he’s married to Laura Gallacher sister of Kirsty. Kirsty is a patron of the Hibs ladies team and both are daughters of Bernard Gallacher who is a big Hibs fan, and apparently used to take them to games at Easter Road when they were kids
That’s not necessarily a positive as he is morphing into a reactionary, populist bigot. I fully expect him to appear on GBTV before long.
Brummie_Hibs
08-06-2023, 06:26 AM
That’s not necessarily a positive as he is morphing into a reactionary, populist bigot. I fully expect him to appear on GBTV before long.
I personally think Brand talks a lot of sense
He looks at things differently and expresses his opinion on it. Fine.
If anything, you calling him bigoted almost puts you into that bigoted bracket, as you have a dislike for him just because he is different to you.
Trinity Hibee
08-06-2023, 06:28 AM
If anything, you calling him bigoted almost puts you into that bigoted bracket, as you have a dislike for him just because he is different to you.
That’s not really how being a bigot works 😂
Folk say the same about Trump.
hibby rae
08-06-2023, 07:45 AM
Not sure pointing out replacement theory is bigoted makes someone bigoted.
https://youtu.be/IwdKm2goN3Q
08-06-2023, 07:50 AM
Happy for the Lad, his book Revolution was actually a decent read. And as has been mentioned has a wee affection for Hibs.
08-06-2023, 08:03 AM
Folk say the same about Trump.
Hopefully(and at long last) from reading US news, Dangerous Donald is about to be indicted(classified docs) by the US justice department.
Brand i dont know a lot about to opine.
But seems he is causing a bit of a debate on a number of issues/politics !
Who knows.. he might turn up at the festival and attend ER for a game !
08-06-2023, 08:11 AM
He's gone from being someone who had some interesting things to say, and did some good interviews to some sort of Alex Jones conspiracy theorist nutter, but with a bit more charm and an acting career that makes him seem more credible.
Yet again politics introduced into a football forum 😴
08-06-2023, 08:55 AM
Yet again politics introduced into a football forum
Would that be a "political football" then :greengrin
Not sure really.
Trump is never a politician.
Just a crooked and narcassistic maniac.
08-06-2023, 09:42 AM
That comment is actually so full of brown stuff it's liable to explode and make an awful mess.
Brand has been critical of corporate and establishment interests and has thus been targeted by their attack dogs in MSM - of which it seems you are an uncritical consumer.
08-06-2023, 09:53 AM
That comment is actually so full of brown stuff it's liable to explode and make an awful mess.
Brand has been critical of corporate and establishment interests and has thus been targeted by their attack dogs in MSM - of which it seems you are an uncritical consumer.
I was going to say - I’ve not heard anything from Brand for a while but from what I recall he was pretty much the exact opposite of what he’s being charged with here.
I used to find him one of those people that I wanted to hate but couldn’t help quite liking.
08-06-2023, 10:05 AM
I was going to say - I’ve not heard anything from Brand for a while but from what I recall he was pretty much the exact opposite of what he’s being charged with here.
I used to find him one of those people that I wanted to hate but couldn’t help quite liking.
He was.
hibby rae
08-06-2023, 10:06 AM
In recent times he's began to espouse theories very popular with the far-right on his podcast, e.g. replacement theory, whether this is because he genuinely believes them or he's recognised this is a big money maker is open to question.
The link I posted previously is George Monbiot discussing how he has went from someone who legitimately criticised the capitalist world to this problematic personality.
08-06-2023, 10:16 AM
In recent times he's began to espouse theories very popular with the far-right on his podcast, e.g. replacement theory, whether this is because he genuinely believes them or he's recognised this is a big money maker is open to question.
The link I posted previously is George Monbiot discussing how he has went from someone who legitimately criticised the capitalist world to this problematic personality.
Monbiot describes him as having jumped the shark, and he definitely did when he started posting his Under the Skin podcast on a pay-to-listen platform.
"I'm leading the Revolution - to subscribers only"
08-06-2023, 10:24 AM
Was at his stand up show in Edinburgh a few years back. Enjoyed it.
08-06-2023, 10:28 AM
Brand is just easily impressed and believes the last thing he hears. Unfortunately the far right are really happy to engage with that and take advantage, while the centre and left just write him off, so his platform becomes defacto alt right.
FFS. Maybe Kirsty and the GB News team got to him and he is that impressionable.
I did enjoy him in Forgetting Sarah Marshall and Get him to the greek. That's plenty though.
With them and Logan Roy as fans, what's becoming of our club? Will it turn out that ET is a Tory party donor? :greengrin
FFS. Maybe Kirsty and the GB News team got to him and he is that impressionable.
I did enjoy him in Forgetting Sarah Marshall and Get him to the greek. That's plenty though.
With them and Logan Roy as fans, what's becoming of our club? Will it turn out that ET is a Tory party donor? :greengrin
What's ET short for?
ErinGoBraghHFC
08-06-2023, 10:57 AM
What ET short for?
Extra Terrestrial I think
ElginHibbie
08-06-2023, 11:04 AM
Extra Terrestrial I think
Thought it was cause of his wee legs
08-06-2023, 11:10 AM
😀👏 Quality!
Correct, that's the answer I was after. 😃👍
08-06-2023, 11:18 AM
Anyone who was married to Katy Perry gets my respect.
08-06-2023, 11:22 AM
Yet again politics introduced into a football forum 😴
Sucks doesn't it.
I stopped going in the Holy Ground because of the tone of it there, but it's on here almost as often.
Would that be a "political football" then :greengrin
Not sure really.
Trump is never a politician.
Just a crooked and narcassistic maniac.
Agree re Trump, certainty a crook might even suggest he's a bit nuts.
There now you've got me engaged in a political discussion :confused:
Sucks doesn't it.
I stopped going in the Holy Ground because of the tone of it there, but it's on here almost as often.
It gets tiresome, I went in the Holy Ground once, by mistake, once was enough for me, some seriously disturbed people on there and yes it's now leak onto the main forum which I've stopped coming on as much.
08-06-2023, 12:13 PM
Can we add him to the list of famous Hibs fans?
08-06-2023, 01:01 PM
So have you actually witnessed first hand Brand espousing "replacement theory"? Or is this just a case of "I heard he said she said..."?
I mentioned in a previous post re attack dogs in the MSM going for Brand (among others). I would put it to you that's more to do with covering uncomfortable truths and hence showing up MSM for the serial liars they are.
A common tactic of such shills is to throw random mud such as "right wing conspiracy theorist" in the hope that some of it sticks.
The old adage "you shouldn't believe everything you read in the papers" applies moreso now than ever!
08-06-2023, 01:04 PM
Pending review !!:greengrin
Brummie_Hibs
08-06-2023, 01:11 PM
So have you actually witnessed first hand Brand espousing "replacement theory"? Or is this just a case of "I heard he said she said..."?
I mentioned in a previous post re attack dogs in the MSM going for Brand (among others). I would put it to you that's more to do with covering uncomfortable truths and hence showing up MSM for the serial liars they are.
A common tactic of such shills is to throw random mud such as "right wing conspiracy theorist" in the hope that some of it sticks.
The old adage "you shouldn't believe everything you read in the papers" applies moreso now than ever!
100%
08-06-2023, 01:14 PM
It gets tiresome, I went in the Holy Ground once, by mistake, once was enough for me, some seriously disturbed people on there and yes it's now leak onto the main forum which I've stopped coming on as much.
lol:greengrin
I've been disturbed since Kevin Keegan ran Scotland ragged at Wembley and getting cheated out the cup versus oldco at Hampden in 1979
I think Trump is probably a Hearts supporter. He certainly looks and behaves like one. Lies all the time and is always on the grift.
08-06-2023, 01:40 PM
I think Trump is probably a Hearts supporter. He certainly looks and behaves like one. Lies all the time and is always on the grift.
Aberdeen. He's got that northern "stauch" look about him.
08-06-2023, 02:30 PM
What's ET short for?
Eddie Turnbull :agree:
:singing:
We play for the Hibees!
We're known near an far !:singing:
hibby rae
08-06-2023, 03:41 PM
Do I pay to listen to his podcast? No.
Is George Monbiot a reputable and trustworthy source? Yes.
https://twitter.com/GeorgeMonbiot/status/1617851676341440514?lang=en
lol:greengrin
I've been disturbed since Kevin Keegan ran Scotland ragged at Wembley and getting cheated out the cup versus oldco at Hampden in 1979
I was at the 1979 game the supporters bus I was on got stoned on the way home, frightening.
Clarence
08-06-2023, 04:53 PM
I remember Russell Brand Tweeting Hibs congratulations after we came back to beat Falkirk in the semi final 10 years ago. Something about Hibs having cool fans as well I think.
Donegal Hibby
08-06-2023, 05:06 PM
I remember Russell Brand Tweeting Hibs congratulations after we came back to beat Falkirk in the semi final 10 years ago. Something about Hibs having cool fans as well I think.
Yeah I thought he did after the Falkirk semi too though this says it was after the 2016 semi .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/senior-hibs-figure-takes-in-west-ham-europa-conference-league-win-with-comedian-pal-russell-brand-4174564
08-06-2023, 05:17 PM
I was at the 1979 game the supporters bus I was on got stoned on the way home, frightening.
Just say no. 😉
Clarence
08-06-2023, 05:53 PM
Yeah I thought he did after the Falkirk semi too though this says it was after the 2016 semi .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/senior-hibs-figure-takes-in-west-ham-europa-conference-league-win-with-comedian-pal-russell-brand-4174564
We are correct
https://twitter.com/rustyrockets/status/323223911821086721?s=46&t=9pI7rUK5nuVhzP9dgYRhGQ
Just say no. 😉
Touché :greengrin
09-06-2023, 12:10 PM
Do I pay to listen to his podcast? No.
Is George Monbiot a reputable and trustworthy source? Yes.
https://twitter.com/GeorgeMonbiot/status/1617851676341440514?lang=en
In other words you have no idea what you are talking about and are talking oot yer erchie on the basis of heresay.
PS - You don't have to pay anything to hear RBs views 1st hand - he has probably thousands of hours of footage available for free on multiple outlets. I challenge you to either FIND some actual footage of RB professing to adhere to these alleged views or to wind yer neck in. Monbiot may have the ability to write quality pieces but he nevertheless writes for an organ with a long track record of spreading agenda riddled disinformation - that's who pays his wages
NB - Just read Monbiot's tweet - what a load of desperately straw clutching drivel! Anyone that dares to question a massively controversial policy that has divided a whole nation is automatically a nazi. Aye OK George....fanny!
09-06-2023, 01:29 PM
Just say no. 😉
Superb !
The great quote created by Nancy Reagan back in the 80s
Brummie_Hibs
09-06-2023, 04:05 PM
In other words you have no idea what you are talking about and are talking oot yer erchie on the basis of heresay.
PS - You don't have to pay anything to hear RBs views 1st hand - he has probably thousands of hours of footage available for free on multiple outlets. I challenge you to either FIND some actual footage of RB professing to adhere to these alleged views or to wind yer neck in. Monbiot may have the ability to write quality pieces but he nevertheless writes for an organ with a long track record of spreading agenda riddled disinformation - that's who pays his wages
NB - Just read Monbiot's tweet - what a load of desperately straw clutching drivel! Anyone that dares to question a massively controversial policy that has divided a whole nation is automatically a nazi. Aye OK George....fanny!
Professor John Campbell is also now being lambasted for his change in views on the whole Covid saga. He was lauded, but now he is being attacked because his views are no longer aligned with the narrative.
THIS IS NOT TO START A COVID DEBATE
For those who don't know who he was - he had a YouTube channel that was very popular during Covid. He is a working medical professor (non-Govt), and he would provide updates on the UK strategy, backing it up by looking at research papers and the stats around the world - helping provide the public with more in-depth details on what was being said by the Govt. He was pretty much behind it all. I actually thought he'd be Knighted or something.
Then the scientific facts started to not really align with the strategy, and he started voicing concerns, to the point now where he is very, very critical of what happened and is happening - especially now that new data is starting to come out. In fact he recently got a temporary ban on YouTube (He used to have a YouTube award as a popular contributor!)
He’s got to be a supporter of the hun. He’s sprayed himself orange for goodness sake!
Do you think Katie Perry is a Hibby, then?
10-06-2023, 07:22 PM
Superb !
The great quote created by Nancy Reagan back in the 80s
Zammo never got the credit he deserved.
10-06-2023, 07:57 PM
Probably not
I was a bit old for Grange Hill in mid 80s ! (i googled Zammo!)
But certainly the cast championed the "Just Say No" campaign.
Of course,Nancy did not create the phrase,but she too campaigned in US Schools.
Opioids/fentanyl is the curse today over there.
Vapes and cocaine here.... in schools !
I once got 6 of the best at school for having an effin 5 pack of Bristol:cb
Double handers,too.. ooya! x6 :greengrin
Does Russell Brand still take drugs,or has he abstained ?
Right... he's hardly gonna say so.
10-06-2023, 08:21 PM
Do you think Katie Perry is a Hibby, then?
Is Katy Perry's faither in law a Hibs fan? If so, I'd say aye, she's a massive Hibby. 😄
10-06-2023, 08:40 PM
Probably not
I was a bit old for Grange Hill in mid 80s ! (i googled Zammo!)
But certainly the cast championed the "Just Say No" campaign.
Of course,Nancy did not create the phrase,but she too campaigned in US Schools.
Opioids/fentanyl is the curse today over there.
Vapes and cocaine here.... in schools !
I once got 6 of the best at school for having an effin 5 pack of Bristol:cb
Double handers,too.. ooya! x6 :greengrin
Does Russell Brand still take drugs,or has he abstained ?
Right... he's hardly gonna say so.
I recently watched the coverage of Nancy Reagan's talk about it. Gotta hand it to her, it still strikes a chord all these years later.
Brand, as far as I know, has been sober and clean for probably 20 years now. He's always been open about his drug problems and wrote a couple of books on it. Fair play to him for this as well.
Being the right age for Grange Hill, I thankfully missed out on the belt or similar!!
11-06-2023, 02:02 AM
Is Katy Perry's faither in law a Hibs fan? If so, I'd say aye, she's a massive Hibby. 😄
I don’t think Orlando Bloom’s da is a hibby
11-06-2023, 08:33 AM
Grange Hill is where I took it from. 🙂