View Full Version : Scottish Cup Final

Cat Stanton
02-06-2023, 03:44 PM
Yes I know - I know - that we all need Septic/Celtc to win tomorrow so we get into Europe. So logically/rationally we have to want them to win.

But honestly, I can't stand them. I can't stand everything about them, especially the resurgent IRA singing of their loathsome away support at Easter Road. So I'm pretty sure if I start watching it tomorrow, I won't be able to help myself: heart will over-rule head and I'll just want them pumped, and then pumped again! Screw Europe! Pump the f****rs!

Obviously this is all a moot point as Inverness haven't an earthly. But am I alone in my completely illogical mind set?

Steven79
02-06-2023, 03:46 PM
Yes I know - I know - that we all need Septic/Celtc to win tomorrow so we get into Europe. So logically/rationally we have to want them to win.

But honestly, I can't stand them. I can't stand everything about them, especially the resurgent IRA singing of their loathsome away support at Easter Road. So I'm pretty sure if I start watching it tomorrow, I won't be able to help myself: heart will over-rule head and I'll just want them pumped, and then pumped again! Screw Europe! Pump the f****rs!

Obviously this is all a moot point as Inverness haven't an earthly. But am I alone in my completely illogical mind set?I would much rather we were in the position where we cheer on Inverness to deny Hearts a place in Europe but it is what it is...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
02-06-2023, 03:46 PM
Yes, **** everyone else. Mon the tic (purely because it benefits hibs)

02-06-2023, 03:52 PM
Nah I want our home pumping against some Nordic team, sorry. Mon Celtic.

02-06-2023, 04:01 PM
Europe beckons and Hibs come before my loathing of the old firm. Every time.*

(*if there’s ever a situation where Celtic, or Rangers for that matter, need to beat us to stop hearts winning the league I will re-visit this statement)

02-06-2023, 04:01 PM
Head says Celtic. However, i won't be able to resist cheering the underdog if Inverness look like they're having any joy. Crazy.

I feel Celtic will be 'on it' though. Fortunately for our own ambitions!

02-06-2023, 04:02 PM
I know it’s wrong to say this, but Inverness in the group stages of the Europa Conference league, will do nothing for Scotland’s coefficient, a bit like Hearts this season in it

02-06-2023, 04:26 PM
Come on Celtic (spit). I’m not even that fussed about Europe itself as we will no doubt get pumped out early on. But qualifying for Europe will mean we won’t have to suffer LJ treating the group stages of one of only two cups we can realistically win as a training exercise again.

02-06-2023, 04:32 PM
Wee fiver on ICT to soften the blow if they somehow win

02-06-2023, 05:21 PM
It's just like the Motherwell final in 2018. I'll be ashamed wanting Celtc to win, but what can you do?

I'll fall to pieces laughing if ICT do win though, just as I did when Motherwell stuffed the orcs in the 2015 play off.

02-06-2023, 05:28 PM
Great to be back in Europe again 😏😄👌💚

Donegal Hibby
02-06-2023, 05:30 PM
If there wasn't anything for Hibs to gain I'd be for Inverness though there is so I hope Celtic pump them and have a comfortable lead early on so I can relax 😀. I hate the old firm though find myself wanting them to win more often than Lose especially against Aberdeen, hertz , St mirren etc etc . :tin hat:

Victor
02-06-2023, 05:52 PM
I am currently in Inverness, working and want a quiet night tomorrow night! So come on Celtic!!! [emoji3]

02-06-2023, 06:30 PM
The Celtic supporters are keaking themselves at the possible departure of the Australian to Spurs. Understandable. However if Supercallygoballistic and produce a major shock, I think the blow will be softened. From a selfish point of view, I want Celtic to give us a tiny taste of European football tomorrow.

02-06-2023, 06:51 PM
I could have a gun pointed at my head and be told that I'll only go free if one of Hearts, Rangers, or Celtic win, and I'd still cheer if the opposition scored a 94th minute winner.

02-06-2023, 07:15 PM
It's just like the Motherwell final in 2018. I'll be ashamed wanting Celtc to win, but what can you do?

I'll fall to pieces laughing if ICT do win though, just as I did when Motherwell stuffed the orcs in the 2015 play off.

Yep, exactly the same as 2018. We need Celtic to win the cup. Remember the Asteris Tripolis game where McGinn won the tie in Greece? Well that wouldn't have happened if Motherwell had won the Cup that year. C'mon the Celts the 'morn.

02-06-2023, 07:58 PM

Obviously this is all a moot point as Inverness haven't an earthly. But am I alone in my completely illogical mind set?

Inverness were up maroon erses during the demotion fiasco. I hope they get thrashed.

JamesHFC
02-06-2023, 08:56 PM
Be surprised if Celtic score less than 4 goals.

02-06-2023, 09:10 PM
I believe we share the indignity with Cambuslang in suffering the heaviest Cup Final defeat? Us in 1972 against Celtic and Cambuslang against Renton in 1888 with 6-1 being the scoreline.

I think we stand a good chance of seeing that unfortunate statistic being wiped clean tomorrow.

03-06-2023, 07:50 AM
I’m willing to stomach the treble gloating for the sake of a European adventure with the Hibs. Well done for beating teams with a 10th of your budget Celtic and the basket case of a club along the road from you🙄👏

03-06-2023, 07:54 AM
Hopefully a couple of early Celtic goals so I can turn it off and go and search for my passport.

03-06-2023, 08:38 AM
I can understand the OP's point of view, I always want Celtc, Rankers and Hearts to lose as well.

03-06-2023, 08:41 AM
I could have a gun pointed at my head and be told that I'll only go free if one of Hearts, Rangers, or Celtic win, and I'd still cheer if the opposition scored a 94th minute winner.

Even if Hibs benefit? Sounds like you dislike them more than you like Hibs.

03-06-2023, 08:44 AM
Celtic 1/25
Draw 13/1
Inverness 35/1

DIXIHIBS
03-06-2023, 08:48 AM
Always old firm/hertz to lose....unless it benefits hibs, so Celtic to win today please.

03-06-2023, 08:54 AM
Only Hibs matter. Whatever benefits Hibs. Wanting anything else is wrong.

03-06-2023, 09:00 AM

I think its a bit unfair that the SC runner up don’t get the Euro spot.

Happy enough that Hibs get it but it doesn’t seem right. It’s the former CWC slot, really

03-06-2023, 09:17 AM

Kind of similar view. Their smugness isn't particularly appealing. If we had done what we should have done last week would absolutely have hoped they get horsed. Happy with them to win routinely today. Hopefullly their manager leaves and they get someone rubbish in.

03-06-2023, 09:18 AM

Happy enough that Hibs get it but it doesn’t seem right. It’s the former CWC slot, really

Nah right decision to be league place imo.

03-06-2023, 09:34 AM
Not bothered in the slightest by them, they're just a football club, nothing more.

Not sure how anyone can get so worked up about another club. Just don't pay them any attention if they both you!

03-06-2023, 09:38 AM
I know it’s wrong to say this, but Inverness in the group stages of the Europa Conference league, will do nothing for Scotland’s coefficient, a bit like Hearts this season in it

Good point don't want Scotland embarrassed again :greengrin

03-06-2023, 09:41 AM
Celtic winning is what I want, but I will shed no tears if ICT win the cup.

03-06-2023, 10:16 AM
Hibs would miss out on both a European competition and the significant windfall that comes with it if Celtic don’t win today, it’s a no brainer.

IIRC, as it stands, Hearts have earned about £5m more than us from their league position and entry into Europe. That’s a gap that needs to be closed as far as possible.

03-06-2023, 10:18 AM
I believe we share the indignity with Cambuslang in suffering the heaviest Cup Final defeat? Us in 1972 against Celtic and Cambuslang against Renton in 1888 with 6-1 being the scoreline.

I think we stand a good chance of seeing that unfortunate statistic being wiped clean tomorrow.

That’s my hope as well

03-06-2023, 11:52 AM
Not bothered in the slightest by them, they're just a football club, nothing more.

Not sure how anyone can get so worked up about another club. Just don't pay them any attention if they both you!

They’ve won about 50 Scottish Cups so what does another one matter? European football for us certainly.

03-06-2023, 11:57 AM
If ICT get into the group stages of Europe today then they ****in' deserve it.

Silky
03-06-2023, 12:01 PM
Hibs would miss out on both a European competition and the significant windfall that comes with it if Celtic don’t win today, it’s a no brainer.

IIRC, as it stands, Hearts have earned about £5m more than us from their league position and entry into Europe. That’s a gap that needs to be closed as far as possible.

We very nearly closed it. Only a couple of points in it. They could get £50m more than us, it's how they invest it. Same applies to us. I have no knowledge of how the club is run, but I guess there is nothing to stop any money earned from Europe going to, I don't know, do up ER or East Mains!

03-06-2023, 12:09 PM
We very nearly closed it. Only a couple of points in it. They could get £50m more than us, it's how they invest it. Same applies to us. I have no knowledge of how the club is run, but I guess there is nothing to stop any money earned from Europe going to, I don't know, do up ER or East Mains!

If ICT win I wonder if the tractors and diggers will be getting put back on the low loader Monday morning and Ben Kensell will be hot footing it down to B&Q to buy some bags of grass seed.

03-06-2023, 12:41 PM
Hopefully a couple of early Celtic goals so I can turn it off and go and search for my passport.

Think thats where im at. All over in 10 minutes 😀
But you never know.

Trinity Hibee
03-06-2023, 01:08 PM
Sorry if been mentioned, is there any build up to Scottish cup final and if so what channel? (Terrestrial TV, not viaplay)

Bridge hibs
03-06-2023, 01:20 PM
Sorry if been mentioned, is there any build up to Scottish cup final and if so what channel? (Terrestrial TV, not viaplay)

BBC1 mate

03-06-2023, 01:51 PM
I want Celtc to win so we get the European spot, plus that Hearts buffoon Scott Gardiner is their Chief Exec, which seals it for me......

03-06-2023, 02:11 PM
No even a discussion to be had here given what a Celtic win does for us.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 02:22 PM
Celtic to win because it helps us and ICT were more than happy to hop into bed with the cardigan brigade when it suited them. 7-0 Celtic please.

03-06-2023, 03:04 PM
They’ve won about 50 Scottish Cups so what does another one matter? European football for us certainly.

Yup.

Their fans can't possibly appreciate what it's REALLY like to win a cup.

It's the norm for them. All they experience is disappointment when they don't win it.

Same with the league.

03-06-2023, 03:08 PM
For hibs I want Celtc to win but for scottish football and a good laugh I want Inverness to win.

I won't be watching anyway, weather is too good to miss.

03-06-2023, 03:09 PM
BBC1 mate

Or bbc scotland if the other game goes to extra time and penalties 😂

HendoDelivered
03-06-2023, 03:16 PM
Full strength Celtic side minus CCV

LewysGot2
03-06-2023, 03:26 PM
Interested to the point I want Celtc to win as it is good for us. Nothing more, nothing less. I expect they'll win at a canter...ICT won't cope with Kyogo's movement.

Hillsidehibby
03-06-2023, 04:13 PM
To be honest I hate the arrogance from the pundits that Inverness don't have a chance. If it means that we don't get into Europe then i'm good with that.

03-06-2023, 04:15 PM
To be honest I hate the arrogance from the pundits that Inverness don't have a chance. If it means that we don't get into Europe then i'm good with that.

What chance do you think they have?

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 04:16 PM

Let’s be honest they’ve not a hope in hell, 3-0 within 20 mins

Donegal Hibby
03-06-2023, 04:22 PM
Let’s be honest they’ve not a hope in hell, 3-0 within 20 mins

Agree , games simply about limiting how many Celtic get for Inverness tbh .

Hillsidehibby
03-06-2023, 04:22 PM
What chance do you think they have?

Sorry for feeling the way I do. I had this crazy notion that the BBC might be a bit impartial

03-06-2023, 04:24 PM
Yup.

Their fans can't possibly appreciate what it's REALLY like to win a cup.

It's the norm for them. All they experience is disappointment when they don't win it.

Same with the league.

I remember in 2013, vast numbers of their supporters were outside Hampden by the time I'd left. Very odd behaviour

03-06-2023, 04:26 PM
Sorry for feeling the way I do. I had this crazy notion that the BBC might be a bit impartial

They're just saying it as they see it, as we all see it.

Impartiality doesn't require them to be delusional.

03-06-2023, 04:28 PM

Do you want them to say both teams have an equal chance?

Steven79
03-06-2023, 04:29 PM
Sorry for feeling the way I do. I had this crazy notion that the BBC might be a bit impartialWhen have the BBC ever been impartial? [emoji102]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

03-06-2023, 04:30 PM
I remember in 2013, vast numbers of their supporters were outside Hampden by the time I'd left. Very odd behaviour

They were back in Central Station before us. Could never get my head around it.

03-06-2023, 04:33 PM
Europe beckons and Hibs come before my loathing of the old firm. Every time.*

(*if there’s ever a situation where Celtic, or Rangers for that matter, need to beat us to stop hearts winning the league I will re-visit this statement)

That’s a no brainer. I’d take a random league beating to stop Hearts winning the league. Imagine how insufferable they’re be.

Mon the Tic (today only). I want a European trip.

Curried
03-06-2023, 04:33 PM
In this day and age, shirley there's no need for a plastic tifo

03-06-2023, 04:39 PM
I don’t care what it means for us, I’d love to see the Celtic supporters getting silenced here.

03-06-2023, 04:41 PM
Celtic to romp this by 3 or 4.....Europe here we come:flag:

Donegal Hibby
03-06-2023, 04:43 PM
I don’t care what it means for us, I’d love to see the Celtic supporters getting silenced here.
Don't like them myself but think the only way to silence the Celtic supporters today is by pressing the mute button on the TV controller :greengrin

03-06-2023, 04:47 PM
15 minutes 0-0 well done ICT. Now do us a favour and roll over and die 😀

03-06-2023, 04:47 PM
Celtic are very flat.

They'll win this but they have been in holiday mode for weeks. Obviously ICT haven't played either but they haven't just downed tools and will have been building to this for weeks.

For Hibs sake I want Celtic to win but it does stick in the craw a bit. It won't mean much to them, maybe a bit more because it's a 'record breaking treble' but in 15 years time time they won't remember if it was their 8th, 12th or 16th treble.

03-06-2023, 04:55 PM
The Merry Ploughboy getting belted out.

03-06-2023, 04:57 PM
Celtic could be doing with having a shot. European place on the line here eh.

03-06-2023, 05:00 PM
We can't lose. Celtic win and we're in Europe, ICT win and it'll be hilarious.

03-06-2023, 05:02 PM
Terrible game so far.

03-06-2023, 05:03 PM
More like a training game than a cup final. Dull stuff.

Bridge hibs
03-06-2023, 05:05 PM
Celtic players need to change footwear from flip flops to ****ing football boots, atrocious passing 🤬

03-06-2023, 05:06 PM
Celtic are garbage they'll be found out big time in Europe again.

03-06-2023, 05:08 PM
Can see this one going to penalties, Celtic pretty poor so far

Bridge hibs
03-06-2023, 05:08 PM
Celtic are garbage they'll be found out big time in Europe again.Big Sam Allardyce will sort them out when he takes over

03-06-2023, 05:09 PM
1 - 0 Celtic

Scrub that last post ! 😊

Game over.

That's a great goal

Phew!

Bridge hibs
Can see this one going to penalties, Celtic pretty poor so far

Only if Inverness get an equliser

03-06-2023, 05:10 PM
Right wheres my passport

LewysGot2
03-06-2023, 05:13 PM
Interested to the point I want Celtc to win as it is good for us. Nothing more, nothing less. I expect they'll win at a canter...ICT won't cope with Kyogo's movement.

Now finish the job 👏😄

03-06-2023, 05:13 PM
I know it’s a vastly different opposition but disappointing Dan Mackay has missed.

Really good semi final so hopefully he does well when he comes on

MelbourneHibees
03-06-2023, 05:15 PM
That's a great goal

You mean bang average?

Trinity Hibee
03-06-2023, 05:16 PM
You mean bang average?

Similar to nisbets at Motherwell. Good goal

03-06-2023, 05:23 PM
You mean bang average?

Nah, that's a great goal to be fair.

03-06-2023, 05:28 PM
Do they not do the round up of all the earlier rounds of the cup in the SC final coverage anymore? Or did I just miss it?

Always enjoyed that.

GRA
03-06-2023, 05:30 PM
The movement of Kyogo is so clever and difficult to defend against.

MelbourneHibees
03-06-2023, 05:37 PM
Nah, that's a great goal to be fair.

If your striker isn't scoring that they need dropped. There's literally only 1 thing he can do there.

03-06-2023, 05:51 PM
Game over now

GRA
03-06-2023, 05:53 PM
Europe here we come!

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 05:53 PM
Where the **** is my passport?

NC1875
03-06-2023, 05:54 PM
Offside

That looked offside to me. Goal given

Offside

Naw

Yasssss!! Hibees European tour 2023. Let's do it.

mayo hibee
03-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Onside. Europe it is.

JamesHFC
03-06-2023, 05:56 PM
Horny.

Helensburghhibs
03-06-2023, 05:56 PM
Dan mackay on

03-06-2023, 05:58 PM
Half of the supporters not even jumping about!! It’s the cup final ffs

03-06-2023, 06:05 PM
Half of the supporters not even jumping about!! It’s the cup final ffs

Im not sure how Celtic fans (or Rangers for that matter) actually get motivated. Win virtually every week playing teams with in comparision zero budget. Find it remarkable 50,000 people turn up every week to watch them.

03-06-2023, 06:07 PM
Im not sure how Celtic fans (or Rangers for that matter) actually get motivated. Win virtually every week playing teams with in comparision zero budget. Find it remarkable 50,000 people turn up every week to watch them.

Said similar on another thread a while back. Just don't get it.

03-06-2023, 06:08 PM
Most pointless cup final ever this. Inverness not going to have a shot, a corner, anything.

Green Reaper
03-06-2023, 06:10 PM

Winning a European trophy would be the only way any of rantic would get close to the experience we enjoyed in 2016

Green Reaper
03-06-2023, 06:11 PM
Dan McKay scores for Caley!

03-06-2023, 06:11 PM
Best goal of the game

Halmyre Hibee
03-06-2023, 06:12 PM
Tell Dan McKay to calm doon

wtf is Dan Mackay playing at?

Most pointless cup final ever this. Inverness not going to have a shot, a corner, anything.

Perfect timing🤣
Mind you, I think we all agreed with you 👍🏻

Get him signed....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

03-06-2023, 06:13 PM
Remind me, did we sell Dan Mackay or is he on loan at ICT? Great goal

Maybe no.

GRA
Dan mackay! Maybe not over yet...

ErinGoBraghHFC
Wtf are you doing Daniel

Helensburghhibs
🤣 would there be anything more hibs than Dan mackay getting another couple to do us out of Europe.

Helensburghhibs
Remind me, did we sell Dan Mackay or is he on loan at ICT? Great goal

Loan

03-06-2023, 06:14 PM
Well done ICT

LewysGot2
03-06-2023, 06:14 PM
Implement release clause 🙄🤣

Jesus!

NC1875
03-06-2023, 06:17 PM
wtf is Dan Mackay playing at?

You for real ? Is he meant to miss ?

03-06-2023, 06:18 PM
That should be it now

LewysGot2
03-06-2023, 06:18 PM
Thank Sauzee...

GRA
03-06-2023, 06:20 PM
At least ICT made it interesting the last few minutes. Most premier teams would have crumbled.

Play a handful of games and get into Europe, seriously?

Considering the gulf in class at least Caley kept it watchable for most of the game.

Tully
03-06-2023, 06:21 PM
Celtic in 2nd gear the whole game

03-06-2023, 06:22 PM

Sure it was a tongue in cheek comment

03-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Celtic in 2nd gear the whole game

Been in second gear for a month. Pep would never stand for it 😀

Tully
03-06-2023, 06:24 PM
Been in second gear for a month. Pep would never stand for it 😀

03-06-2023, 06:29 PM
Coglu will get a surprise if he goes to Tottenham. No shooting fish in a barrel then.

03-06-2023, 06:30 PM
Why is the trophy being presented on the pitch?

DIXIHIBS
03-06-2023, 06:32 PM

Cause theres nae fans stopping them😁😁

DIXIHIBS
Sure it was a tongue in cheek comment

You got the euro bus booked yet?

Trinity Hibee
Cause theres nae fans stopping them😁😁

Keyser Sauzee
03-06-2023, 06:33 PM
Is that Rod Petrie dishing out the medals??

Trinity Hibee
Is that Rod Petrie dishing out the medals??

Yep

Well done Hibs. Europe, look out 😄

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-06-2023, 06:34 PM

Ideally yes

03-06-2023, 06:35 PM

Mickey Mouse association, has Hampden changed since 2016 when we won?

03-06-2023, 06:36 PM
Youan MacKay and Boyle up front next season is a must.

03-06-2023, 06:36 PM
Celtic's 41st Scottish Cup. 41st. We've won it three times 😂

Trinity Hibee
03-06-2023, 06:37 PM
Celtic's 41st Scottish Cup. 41st. We've won it three times 😂

McGregor has also won 5 trebles. Ridiculous. Scottish football is ****ed

LunasBoots
03-06-2023, 06:37 PM
Loan

That's good, he actually looks to have something about him

03-06-2023, 06:39 PM
Youan MacKay and Boyle up front next season is a must.

He's quick, strong and can score, hopefully LJ gives him a chance to stake his claim for a starting spot, this season's loan will have done his development a world of good.

03-06-2023, 06:41 PM
Why did Joe Hart sound Australian?!

03-06-2023, 06:43 PM
Celtic players on the pitch wishing it was Sunshine on Leith being belted out.

Trinity Hibee
03-06-2023, 06:46 PM
Jane Lewis’ question are dreadful.

Pre match to ange - “how important are the fans today?” F’in really!! A final against ICT

The same pish questions with zero thought

03-06-2023, 06:47 PM
Celtic players on the pitch wishing it was Sunshine on Leith being belted out.

They will be singing it next season taking it for their own 😀

03-06-2023, 06:50 PM
They will be singing it next season taking it for their own 😀

They do have history of theft, you're right!

03-06-2023, 06:50 PM
Coglu will get a surprise if he goes to Tottenham. No shooting fish in a barrel then.
The only reason Rangers were able to overtake Celtic even for one season was that Neil Lennon got offered the job after his interim spell. He’s always prone to losing a dressing room after an initial reaction and my word he made a mess of it.

For most of the last fifteen years in terms of playing squad Celtic have been streets ahead of anyone else. It’s tough to judge a manager from any success at Celtic.

03-06-2023, 06:51 PM
Play a handful of games and get into Europe, seriously?

Was it not Queens getting in for 08/09 that prompted that? They put in far from the worst Scottish performance in the early rounds of Euroball.

It's worked out for us again, which is great, but I'm not against the runner up getting a space if the winner already has one.

Flanny boy
03-06-2023, 06:52 PM
Why did Joe Hart sound Australian?!
That’s what I was wondering as well,strange

03-06-2023, 06:54 PM
That’s what I was wondering as well,strange

Steve 'Dutch' McLaren and Joey 'French' Barton syndrome? :greengrin

Cat Stanton
03-06-2023, 07:14 PM

Well in fairness, judging by the length of thread dedicated to The Rangers fans and songs, a lot of people are quite rightly concerned about the poisonous influence on society that both halves of the Old Firm have. So I think it's reasonable to get a bit "worked up". Unless you don't give a **** about the society you are part of?

plhibs
03-06-2023, 07:27 PM
Mickey Mouse association, has Hampden changed since 2016 when we won?

I was thinking about how dark and unfriendly Hampden looked for supporters after watching the FA cup game. Modern stadiums look so bright and open today. I know Hampden is old but it's a disgrace for a national stadium.