View Full Version : Shades of green

01-06-2023, 07:27 PM
Not had this lively debate for a while.

Hibs bottle green or emerald?

Not losing sleep over either but my vote goes to bottle green.

Wheres your preference?

01-06-2023, 07:28 PM
Bottle green. Liked it anyway but then we won the Scottish cup in it so it's now legendary.

01-06-2023, 07:33 PM
should have attached a poll :greengrin

emerald gets my vote.

Trinity Hibee
01-06-2023, 07:40 PM
Bottle

01-06-2023, 07:43 PM
Bottle green for me every day of the week :flag:

01-06-2023, 07:47 PM
Both together

01-06-2023, 07:54 PM
should have attached a poll :greengrin

emerald gets my vote.

After the cup win,there was an official poll done by the club for new kit shade of green .
2000 polled..... 75% went Emerald.
Emerald Green IS Hibernian.

:singing:We're the boys in Emerald Green
We're the best you've ever seen
and we're out to show the world what we can do:singing:

DIXIHIBS
01-06-2023, 07:59 PM
Emerald all day for me.

01-06-2023, 08:00 PM
Bottle green for me, but don’t mind alternating.

01-06-2023, 08:00 PM
After the cup win,there was an official poll done by the club for new kit shade of green .

But it wasnt for nearly the first 60 years of our existence. :)

01-06-2023, 08:05 PM
Proper emerald green.

Not some of the wishy washy variations we have had over the years.

I just don't think bottle green looks that good with a polyester top. It either looks really dull or a bit too shiny, there doesn't seem a happy medium.

OstKurve Hibs
01-06-2023, 08:27 PM
Emerald ! shouldn't even but up for debate, u shouldnt change your colours even if it just a few shades different

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 08:31 PM
Hibernia = Ireland = Emerald Isle

Therefore, Hibernian = Emerald Green

Simple.

01-06-2023, 08:32 PM
Emerald ! shouldn't even but up for debate, u shouldnt change your colours even if it just a few shades different

We were bottle green for virtually the first 60 years of our existence.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 08:34 PM
We were bottle green for virtually the first 60 years of our existence.

True, but we also wore cotton jerseys and knickerbockers for a long time

01-06-2023, 08:35 PM

i do actually like bottle green too and I wouldn’t mind it maybe one out of every five seasons

01-06-2023, 08:40 PM
Hibernia = Ireland = Emerald Isle

Therefore, Hibernian = Emerald

Canon Hannan and Michael Whelahan would be turning in their graves at the thought of changing from their Bottle Green :)

01-06-2023, 08:40 PM
But it wasnt for nearly the first 60 years of our existence. :)

Indeed
But a wee bit before my time.:greengrin
Emerald was/is always associated with Hibernian.
This constant change of strips ,3 kits,different shades of green,is an expensive racket
My user name on another forum is Emerald Harp:greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 08:44 PM
Canon Hannan and Michael Whelahan would be turning in their graves at the thought of changing from their Bottle Green :)

Solid point, should we maybe conduct a seance in St Mary’s and just ask them what they reckon?

01-06-2023, 08:45 PM
We were the first to wear the hoops and our hoops were bottle green. The imposters wore emerald hoops.

01-06-2023, 08:46 PM
Emerald every time for me

01-06-2023, 08:47 PM
Solid point, should we maybe conduct a seance in St Mary’s and just ask them what they reckon?

I talk to them regularly on a saturday night after a few.

scuttle
01-06-2023, 08:50 PM
Emerald for me

01-06-2023, 08:51 PM
i do actually like bottle green too and I wouldn’t mind it maybe one out of every five seasons
Me too,but singing
:singing:
we're the boys in bottle green
we're the best you've ever seen ...:singing:
doesn't work for me :greengrin

01-06-2023, 08:56 PM

they’d probably be even more aghast at the white sleeves

01-06-2023, 09:02 PM

If we hadnt returned to bottle green shirts no white sleeves the year before we won the cup it just wouldnt have happened :)

CB Hibs 68
01-06-2023, 09:16 PM
Okay .What exactly is the difference.Supported Hibs for nigh on sixty years .What colour are we talking about from the sixties.That has to be my favourite colour.

01-06-2023, 09:17 PM
Okay .What exactly is the difference.Supported Hibs for nigh on sixty years .What colour are we talking about from the sixties.That has to be my favourite colour.

Its only a bit of a fun chat fella. Close season and all that.

01-06-2023, 09:22 PM
Tornado green :agree:

HFC93
01-06-2023, 09:23 PM
Off topic, but 'Shades of Green' seems like a great title for a book on Erich Schaedler. Probably just me though ha.

01-06-2023, 09:30 PM
I really disliked the colour of the strip we wore in the first season under Stubbs, just didn’t look right

Emerald 100%

MikeyS
01-06-2023, 09:32 PM
I really disliked the colour of the strip we wore in the first season under Stubbs, just didn’t look right

Emerald 100%

Thats the worst Hibs strip I've ever seen, even the reallyvcrap Puma one with the "slope" on was better!

hibby67
01-06-2023, 09:51 PM
Emerald 100% not sure when this bottle green became a thing but I’m a traditionalist or as the young folk would call an old c@#t

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2023, 09:56 PM
EMERALD for me 100% :thumbsup:

01-06-2023, 10:00 PM
Emerald 100% not sure when this bottle green became a thing but I’m a traditionalist or as the young folk would call an old c@#t

:) its tradionalists who are voting bottle green seeing as we first played in it for nearly 60 years!

hibby67
01-06-2023, 10:21 PM
:) its tradionalists who are voting bottle green seeing as we first played in it for nearly 60 years!

I think we need a colour chart I can’t remember Hibs playing in bottle green until maybe the 2000’s happy to say I’m wrong but can you give me examples

01-06-2023, 10:25 PM
Emerald. The shiny 82/83 Umbro shirt should hang in a gallery.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 10:26 PM
I think we need a colour chart I can’t remember Hibs playing in bottle green until maybe the 2000’s happy to say I’m wrong but can you give me examples

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230601/0ed6ae9cee1ed5ddd1b5621bdd2bbbe9.jpg
Bottle green until 1933

01-06-2023, 10:38 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/dZqHLGvH/A5-F1-C1-DC-32-B4-4659-8-CAD-EC8-AD07-E124-C.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dZqHLGvH)

stu in nottingham
01-06-2023, 10:59 PM
I prefer the vibrancy of an emerald jersey.

02-06-2023, 07:54 AM
Me too,but singing
:singing:
we're the boys in bottle green
we're the best you've ever seen ...:singing:
doesn't work for me :greengrin
Neither does the best you've ever seen. :wink:

Bottle green for me.:not worth

02-06-2023, 07:58 AM
Bottle green looks smart but its Emerald green for me, all my best tops are that colour.

02-06-2023, 08:05 AM
I like both. I think the shirt should be emerald green most of the time, but I do like a nice darker green too. Puma did a couple of belters in bottle green.

02-06-2023, 08:05 AM
My personal feeling is that the OP did not give enough options. In light of which, here's a few more...

And if that's not enough...

https://www.colorsexplained.com/shades-of-green-color-names/

hibby67
02-06-2023, 08:08 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230601/0ed6ae9cee1ed5ddd1b5621bdd2bbbe9.jpg
Bottle green until 1933

Fair play but still think bottle green is a bit darker than these Hibs strips but
Maybe I’m a bit colour blind but I was thinking more like the puma ( Crabbies) top or the Nike (Marathon Bet) strip

Trinity Hibee
02-06-2023, 08:27 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/dZqHLGvH/A5-F1-C1-DC-32-B4-4659-8-CAD-EC8-AD07-E124-C.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dZqHLGvH)

Agree this is probably the correct colour

02-06-2023, 09:03 AM
Proper emerald green.

Not some of the wishy washy variations we have had over the years.

I just don't think bottle green looks that good with a polyester top. It either looks really dull or a bit too shiny, there doesn't seem a happy medium.
Plymouth managed it with a dark green mate. I prefer a darker green but the best shade of green we’ve had on a Hibs top was the first one we had with Nike IMO. Shame we got relegated wearing it

��26793

02-06-2023, 09:42 AM

Beautiful colour

Trinity Hibee
02-06-2023, 09:54 AM
Plymouth managed it with a dark green mate. I prefer a darker green but the best shade of green we’ve had on a Hibs top was the first one we had with Nike IMO. Shame we got relegated wearing it

��26793

Aye that green was very nice to be fair.

02-06-2023, 10:12 AM
Johnny Cash knew !:agree:

:singing:I close my eyes and picture
The emerald of the sea
From the fishing boats at Dingle
To the shores of Donaghadee

I miss the river Shannon
And the folks at Skibbereen
The moorlands and the meddle
With their forty shades of green:singing:

These Emerald colours dont run !!:greengrin

H18S NX
02-06-2023, 10:14 AM
Most definately EMERALD

Groathillgrump
02-06-2023, 10:19 AM
I read an article on Hibs branding a few years back and the official Hibs colour given then was Pantone 356. I took a note of it because a thread like this comes up every so often. :greengrin

Hillsidehibby
02-06-2023, 10:26 AM
Neither does the best you've ever seen. :wink:

Bottle green for me.:not worth

Aye. I remember different lyrics to that line 😉

02-06-2023, 10:35 AM

02-06-2023, 10:53 AM

definitely!!

02-06-2023, 10:53 AM
Aye. I remember different lyrics to that line 😉

Me tae
An ole favourite in the Cave :greengrin
KB and ER
Sung even louder when the orange hordes came to the Holy Ground .
Too passive nowadays !
Should always be drowning their vile chants out at home games.
We did recently.

Johhny Cash wrote Forty Shades of Green
Thin Lizzy did Emerald:greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi74n-LCW3o

Hillsidehibby
02-06-2023, 11:14 AM
Me tae
An ole favourite in the Cave :greengrin
KB and ER
Sung even louder when the orange hordes came to the Holy Ground .
Too passive nowadays !
Should always be drowning their vile chants out at home games.
We did recently.

Johhny Cash wrote Forty Shades of Green
Thin Lizzy did Emerald:greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oi74n-LCW3o

👍 By the way it was always The Cave for me. None of this Cowshed nonsense 😉

DIXIHIBS
02-06-2023, 11:22 AM
👍 By the way it was always The Cave for me. None of this Cowshed nonsense 😉

Lets not open that can of worms again....

sauzeelegod
02-06-2023, 11:40 AM
Emerald

02-06-2023, 11:43 AM

You mentioned it:worms:

Cowshed for me was a derogatory term to use
Although it was an ugly structure,i agree.
A bit liked some caves :greengrin
Some of the grounds we would visit back in the 60/70s did resemble farm buildings and even council tips.
Some not even that nice !
The owner/chairman that had the cave built toyed with the idea of changing our primary kit colour :no way:

Hillsidehibby
02-06-2023, 11:51 AM

Come on. There’s no football. What else can we argue about? 😉

02-06-2023, 11:59 AM
Come on. There’s no football. What else can we argue about? 😉

Coloured football boots? McKirdy's hair colour & dress sense? The FFL? Loyalty Points?

There's a whole range of things out there to keep us amused :wink:

02-06-2023, 12:19 PM
Coloured football boots? McKirdy's hair colour & dress sense? The FFL? Loyalty Points?

There's a whole range of things out there to keep us amused :wink:

We discussed many shades of Green.
Could our not so noisy neighbours who aspire to have a 20.000 seater stadium and told us they would be 20 points plus ahead of us this season past ,have many shades of maroon to discuss !:cb

02-06-2023, 12:24 PM
Could our not so noisy neighbours who aspire to have a 20.000 seater stadium and told us they would be 20 points plus ahead of us this season past ,have many shades of maroon to discuss !:cbI've had a look at a rainbow, not even on it, maroon is never a colour. However if you mix a respectable quality dog turd with red and indigo you might just get there[emoji6]

02-06-2023, 12:40 PM
Could our not so noisy neighbours who aspire to have a 20.000 seater stadium and told us they would be 20 points plus ahead of us this season past ,have many shades of maroon to discuss !:cb

They could always discuss this one, Mick :greengrin

02-06-2023, 12:59 PM

Ah! The dear old Opal Fruits :greengrin

:singing:"made to make you mouth water !:singing:

Dont forget the fruit gums, mum !:greengrin

02-06-2023, 01:04 PM

It always make me think of this..

You can just imagine Hyacinth Bucket sitting down at that table, after being dropped off at the Tea Room in her husband's Rover.

02-06-2023, 01:10 PM

26836Ah yes, the Battenburg, legacy from their cake baking days, or was it a fondant fancy?

Conj
02-06-2023, 01:36 PM

More like Fruit Salads than Opal Fruits, is it not?

02-06-2023, 02:30 PM
More like Fruit Salads than Opal Fruits, is it not?

Jeez, that takes me back
4 a penny, wiz it no.

02-06-2023, 02:36 PM
It always make me think of this..

You can just imagine Hyacinth Bucket sitting down at that table, after being dropped off at the Tea Room in her husband's Rover.

Of course
The Marzipan Maroons
Might have thought the Battenberg would be more a sevco thing
The Hun Monarchic Dynasty

Victor
02-06-2023, 05:55 PM
Jeez, that takes me back
4 a penny, wiz it no.

1 for a farthing?

02-06-2023, 06:07 PM
Lets go bottle. It’s ours, it’s better.

02-06-2023, 06:10 PM
Emerald is my favourite.

02-06-2023, 06:33 PM

Fruit salad sweets.

BegbieHSC
02-06-2023, 06:42 PM
Emerald always

03-06-2023, 01:56 PM
Shamrock Green?

Donegal Hibby
03-06-2023, 02:07 PM
Shamrock Green?
That must be fifty shades of green now !

03-06-2023, 02:21 PM
ORaffertys motor car was forty shades of green.

03-06-2023, 03:28 PM
ORaffertys motor car was forty shades of green.

Was it an Irish Rover?:greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZXnJ4UYh40

Lee "Johnson's motor car" would also be green :greengrin

Green Reaper
03-06-2023, 03:36 PM

Can't forget cabbage green, plus bogey green, gill green and gangrene 😁

03-06-2023, 03:40 PM
Mixu 6-2 colour for me all day long…

03-06-2023, 03:41 PM

Juniper Green.

Bobo
03-06-2023, 04:24 PM

You could also have back green 😁

Seriously though, it's Emerald for me 🇳🇬🇳🇬

HendoDelivered
03-06-2023, 04:36 PM
Emerald. But I do like the bottle green numbers we’ve had 🏆

Hibs1969
03-06-2023, 04:39 PM
Juniper Green.
Camberwick Green

03-06-2023, 04:43 PM
Camberwick Green

Trumpton 2 Camberwick Green 1
Thriller of a game

03-06-2023, 04:48 PM
Emerald all day for me.

Seconded here:aok:

03-06-2023, 04:52 PM
Emerald is what I think of Hibs wearing. But bottle green makes for a nice strip.

03-06-2023, 04:57 PM
You just dont get this level of debate on kickback. ,"what colour of s***e should we play in this season? Maroon or maroon

Green Reaper
03-06-2023, 05:03 PM
You just dont get this level of debate on kickback. ,"what colour of s***e should we play in this season? Maroon or maroon

It's quality, they will be green with envy, that's another one, envy green 😁

03-06-2023, 06:27 PM
Bottle green looks smart but its Emerald green for me, all my best tops are that colour.

Gotta be emerald. With white sleeves.

04-06-2023, 11:43 AM
https://images.app.goo.gl/cYRmWHEhinWmTT3p7
This all day long

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

04-06-2023, 11:49 AM
Mix it up. I love Hibs in all their lush, verdant incarnations.