View Full Version : Hibs summer stories
31-05-2023, 10:06 PM
While we all travel the world this summer I thought it would be great to share wee Hibs stories that happen to us over the summer.
Tonight in Palermo I saw a guy wearing a Napoli tee shirt. I had no colours on.
Said to him, well done on winning Serie A. He said are you Scottish? "Yes" I replied Hibernian or Celtic? I said Hibernian and he came over and hugged me.
Obviously everyone knows the true greens.
Please share other wee tales.
CL0762
31-05-2023, 10:57 PM
2005 summer walking through Central Park in New York, I had just turned 14.
My grandad was wearing that “BACK… in the premier league” T-shirt from a few years earlier. Horse and carriage goes past and a voice screaming “COME ON THE HIBEES”.
2005 summer walking through Central Park in New York, I had just turned 14.
My grandad was wearing that “BACK… in the premier league” T-shirt from a few years earlier. Horse and carriage goes past and a voice screaming “COME ON THE HIBEES”.
I bet you couldn't believe it, I mean **** me a talking horse. 😃
31-05-2023, 11:13 PM
I bet you couldn't believe it, I mean **** me a talking horse. 😃
:tee hee: 👍
Greenio
31-05-2023, 11:20 PM
Way out in the Australian bush in 2008. Middle of nowhere. Set up camp, just chatting round the fire, mick Dundee looking bloke appears out of nowhere with a bottle of bourbon. Says to me 'are you Scottish?' aye I said. "Mon the ****in hibees" he goes. Then just walks off!
31-05-2023, 11:30 PM
Way out in the Australian bush in 2008. Middle of nowhere. Set up camp, just chatting round the fire, mick Dundee looking bloke appears out of nowhere with a bottle of bourbon. Says to me 'are you Scottish?' aye I said. "Mon the ****in hibees" he goes. Then just walks off!
Must've been Mick Hibee instead of Dundee! 🗡️
01-06-2023, 01:24 AM
Saw a house in Sydney that had the nameplate ‘Naejambos’.
Mind you, I see it most days…..
01-06-2023, 07:00 AM
I mentioned this on it's own thread but I asked a guy on the train back from Bremen to Hamburg if he spoke English and he said "naw, Scottish". I'd obviously seen him before as I knew already that he was a Hibs fan after he spoke.
Turns out he posts on here and I'll be meeting him at a Bremen game next season!
01-06-2023, 07:37 AM
As a kid I went to Disney in Florida and the first person we saw when we got in was a guy in a Hibs top, what impressed me more was we were in the queue for some ride and someone had done a YLT sign on the wall
01-06-2023, 08:25 AM
Mid 90's, maybe 95 or 96 went to Turkey on Holiday. Out for dinner and you could see the cooks in the back, one of them was wearing the purple away top from 93, 94ish.
Dunno what my dad said to him but gifted him one of his newer tops, I was gifted a Galatasary one a few nights later
As a kid I went to Disney in Florida and the first person we saw when we got in was a guy in a Hibs top, what impressed me more was we were in the queue for some ride and someone had done a YLT sign on the wall
Have seen a few Mickey Mouse characters in a Hibs top over the years. 😃
zitelli62
01-06-2023, 10:14 AM
Mid 90's, maybe 95 or 96 went to Turkey on Holiday. Out for dinner and you could see the cooks in the back, one of them was wearing the purple away top from 93, 94ish.
Dunno what my dad said to him but gifted him one of his newer tops, I was gifted a Galatasary one a few nights later funny you should mention Turkey I was there early ninghties and behind the bar was a local wearing a proper hibs top from the league cup final the one where mcoist scored an overhead kick but he was not for giving it away.
01-06-2023, 10:38 AM
In Manny's Restaurant in Haines City Florida (where graffiti is encouraged on the road signs on the walls) there is a Hibees notation on a big green road sign.
Made my day
I was proudly sporting my Hibs top when cycling around Waiheke Island in New Zealand back in 2016 when I stopped for a well deserved lunch at Onetangi beach. The guy who served me saw my Hibs top and said "A Hibee! Are you from Edinburgh?" He was from Edinburgh and had lived in Leith and was doing a gap year working abroad. We then proceeded to have a chat about Auld Reekie and how he was living in a tent in his managers garden due to the extortionately rents on the island.
01-06-2023, 11:19 AM
Been to many bars around Europe with Hibs tops left on walls or bar roofs left by wandering Hibees
Anyway gets to Albufeira circa 2000 goes for a walk down the Strip the wee man dressed in his Hibs top shorts and socks
This random lassie appears out of nowhere ‘ Mum Dad come quick look at this wee boy in his Hibs strip he looks soooo cute !’
01-06-2023, 12:13 PM
:not worth :greengrin
01-06-2023, 12:40 PM
On holiday in New Zealand about 13 years ago and on the way to a beach in the Auckland area a van passed me and the logo on the van was the hibs crest with the name of the business instead of the “Hibernian” and “Edinburgh”.
I was in Barcelona just after we had won The Cup.
I was wearing a Hibs t-shirt enjoying a drink and a jambo came over and congratulated me on our win. Later that day we were about to do the tour of the Nou Camp and a tour guide came over and said what a great game, Sunshine on Leith and all that.
Few days later in Madrid the same happened at the Bernabeu Stadium.
No free tours at either!
01-06-2023, 01:12 PM
Was in Estoril on holiday late 70s. Went to Lisbon to visit the statue of christ the redeemer, on the way up to it from the harbour went into a small bar. It had a few football things on the walls. The couple who owned the bar recognising our accents asked what football team we supported we said Hibernian to which we were both given warm handshakes buy the Benfica supporting owners, who commented on our famous victory over Sporting
Don't believe you. 😃
https://images.app.goo.gl/rbXx4LntYJtvukAN8
SJNB Hibby
01-06-2023, 01:35 PM
In the week after we beat Killie in the LC Final, I was going thru Security at Montreal airport, wearing a Hibs polo shirt. Middle Eastern guy checking bags looks closely at the badge and says "Hibernian....they are good team" Just trying to humour him, and get thru to my flight, I say "yes, very good" to which he replies "They win cup....5-1" I look at him in amazement, and he says---"I am from Morocco" Cue two dafties chanting "who's Zemamma" in a Security zone
Hillsidehibby
01-06-2023, 01:50 PM
Camping in France a while back and took the kids canoeing. My son had a Hibs top on. The young guy in the rental hut was a Hibby so we got the canoes for free
01-06-2023, 04:27 PM
Went for a Brad Pitt in a pub in Bremen and there was a big Hibs sticker above the cubicle door.
There was also a nightclub called ****all, which I felt was overly optimistic.
Edit - the starred out bit starts with "sh" and rhymes with "bag".
01-06-2023, 04:37 PM
In New York on 5th Avenue, the wife is wearing a Hibs beanie.
Random bloke walking the other way says"'mon the Hibees"
Made my day
01-06-2023, 04:37 PM
Went for a Brad Pitt in a pub in Bremen and there was a big Hibs sticker above the cubicle door.
There was also a nightclub called ****all, which I felt was overly optimistic.
Edit - the starred out bit starts with "sh" and rhymes with "bag".
Thanks would never have got that
Bridge hibs
01-06-2023, 05:04 PM
Not hibs but a few years ago in a schemie resort in Majorca (we got a cheaper than chips deal) I saw an old beer bellied guy wearing a the rangers top, salmon pink shorts and green hooped socks. His elderly Wife appeared better dressed, she was topless so it was difficult to see if she was wearing socks 🫣
Auckland Hibs
01-06-2023, 06:40 PM
Have loads of random stories from my travels but my favorite..
Perth, WA back in 2001 I was standing at a bus stop waiting to head back into town wearing my Hibs top. A bus stopped (not the one I was waiting on) and the driver shouts me over, he tells me he's a Hibee and we have a quick chat.
He then tells me jump on board and shouts to the other passengers that the bus is taking a "quick detour" to drop a good Hibee into town (it was a 15 min trip). We chatted all the way and he wouldn't accept my fare. God knows that the other passengers must have thought being hijacked to drop me off in town!
darwenhibby
01-06-2023, 06:46 PM
18 years ago I walked into the hotel bar in Menorca and Hendo delivered was in a Hibs away top trying his best to win the kiddies disco dancing competition 😉🇳🇬
To be fair his old man was good company watching the football with a beer
01-06-2023, 07:42 PM
In the week after we beat Killie in the LC Final, I was going thru Security at Montreal airport, wearing a Hibs polo shirt. Middle Eastern guy checking bags looks closely at the badge and says "Hibernian....they are good team" Just trying to humour him, and get thru to my flight, I say "yes, very good" to which he replies "They win cup....5-1" I look at him in amazement, and he says---"I am from Morocco" Cue two dafties chanting "who's Zemamma" in a Security zone
Probably saw us in South Morocco :)