View Full Version : Juice

31-05-2023, 08:57 PM
You favourite juice (aka ginger) from your childhood and the decade? Any long gone manufacturers (e.g. globe) you recall?

Me? American Cream Soda. 1970s. Solripe.

Bridge hibs
31-05-2023, 09:13 PM
Sun Kool Cola (red) used to enjoy a bottle of Globe pineapple juice from time to time and love ginger beer too

31-05-2023, 09:32 PM
Dunbar's Cream Soda. "Endless free supply" in my dad's shop in the 60s

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

31-05-2023, 10:01 PM
It was the Alpine Juice lorry that came by our house in the early 90s.

They had a fruit punch/cocktail flavour that was amazing.

I've always had a soft spot for red kola. Not sure why but it's always felt a bit like Edinburgh's own drink whilst Irn Bru is quite Glasgow. I know the best known brand is Barr's but still.

Had a real liking for Moray Cup when I lived in Aberdeen too. Don't think you can still get it though.

31-05-2023, 11:04 PM

I've always had a soft spot for red kola. Not sure why but it's always felt a bit like Edinburgh's own drink whilst Irn Bru is quite Glasgow. I know the best known brand is Barr's but still.

Had a real liking for Moray Cup when I lived in Aberdeen too. Don't think you can still get it though.

Think the fruit punch one was just called Mixed Fruit.

I still long for a Splicer - not many people remember them but they were effectively just opal fruits in a bar.

01-06-2023, 12:17 AM
Red Cola….had some last night at Bertie’s fish & chips restaurant.

Alfiembra
01-06-2023, 06:12 AM
Another for Red Kola especially with chips. Also used to like an ice cream float with a scoop of ice cream in a glass of American Cream Soda. Surprised nobodies mentioned Tizer yet.

McSwanky
01-06-2023, 06:24 AM
Blue Moon Lemonade from the Alpine lorry.

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
01-06-2023, 06:29 AM
I remember many years ago, every Friday myself and my Brother would visit our nana to watch Pot Black ( she had a colour tv )and she would send us down to the chippy for a bottle of red cola, black pudding suppers and she would have her supper with a glass of advocat

01-06-2023, 06:58 AM
Barrs Pineappleade was my fave.

Anyone remember Green Limes Crush - a fluorescent green version of limeade :greengrin

01-06-2023, 07:18 AM
Another one that just popped into my head was Cresta Lemonade. I'm sure there were other flavours but I only remember us buying the lemonade.

I'm sure it was utter ***** but the surfing polar bear on the bottles was pretty cool.

01-06-2023, 09:21 AM
Bon Accord Pineapple juice and the flourescent green lime juice previously mentioned were always my favourite when the lorry came round, stuff was rocket fuel, no wonder I was radge as a kid

01-06-2023, 09:50 AM
Dandelion and Burdock, loved it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 09:54 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230601/1102cd9adba8660590f44f43e0bfae65.jpg

This stuff, not seen it for a good few years. Rocket fuel.

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2023, 10:09 AM
Mcdaid's Football Special, Banana lemonade .
https://images.app.goo.gl/inMLMCCfCfNCZBLdA

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-06-2023, 10:11 AM
Mcdaid's Football Special, Banana lemonade .
https://images.app.goo.gl/inMLMCCfCfNCZBLdA

Love football special, get the in-laws to send me boxes full of it from time to time.

01-06-2023, 10:38 AM
Kwenchy Cup is up there as well, especially when turned into a Jubilee

Bridge hibs
01-06-2023, 10:42 AM
Sarsaparilla, a bit exotic for my day but I did try a few

01-06-2023, 10:46 AM
Kwenchy Cup is up there as well, especially when turned into a Jubilee

Perfect when overturned in the cup and attacked with a spoon.

01-06-2023, 10:47 AM
Tizer

Just_Jimmy
01-06-2023, 10:49 AM

Had a real liking for Moray Cup when I lived in Aberdeen too. Don't think you can still get it though.Red kola is Barrs. I'm a big fan of it. Irn Bru is still the best for me, I've never heard the East/West Coast thing about Irn Bru either.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

01-06-2023, 10:53 AM
Tizer

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2023, 10:58 AM
Love football special, get the in-laws to send me boxes full of it from time to time.

Yeah football special is hard to beat tbh . Mcdaid's football special and the banana lemonade are very popular here. Funny thing about the banana lemonade is I actually like it but don't like bananas at all . Hard to figure that one out 😂

01-06-2023, 11:59 AM
Vimto, irn bru, and cans of Pepsi

01-06-2023, 01:01 PM
Top Deck. Training for kids.

01-06-2023, 04:00 PM
At my nana's in Dalkeith Bon accord's Pineappleade straight off the truck in glass bottles, in town Globe's Sun Kool Cola and Barrs American Cream soda off the icy. At my aunties in Manchester, I think the van was Coronas and the best juice there was Dandelion and Burdock.

01-06-2023, 07:49 PM
I was a sucker for a good fizzy orange soda (I think it was Orangeade). Never was a lover of Fanta, but Orangeade always hit the spot.

I'd add Tizer too, but thankfully the wee corner shop across from my wife's mother in law still sell it!

01-06-2023, 08:24 PM
Think it was Bonn Accord who did it, but orangeade in a glass bottle off the van/truck, it was BRIGHT orange, and tasted amazing (if anyone has had Fanta in the US, it was very similar to that)

01-06-2023, 08:37 PM
Orangina.

https://www.orangina.co.uk/product_images/_orig/52.jpg

02-06-2023, 09:41 AM
Kia Ora, always remember their adverts at the pictures

Jakhog1
02-06-2023, 11:48 AM
Kia Ora, always remember their adverts at the pictures

Remember the adverts well from the 80s Also Um Bongo was a childhood favorite

StevesFamau5
02-06-2023, 01:05 PM
Tizer back int day in the blue can with the red head on it.. Absolutely legendary stuff. Then they messed about with it and now its guff.

Also, shout out to Lilt Mango & Mandarin, lovely wee brew.

Bridge hibs
02-06-2023, 02:50 PM

I remember the adverts, no chance of them appearing on “modern day” tv nowadays

Fuzzywuzzy
02-06-2023, 04:16 PM
Loved cream soda from the van. My gran always used to phone me up and asked me what I wanted from the van if I was staying at the weekend.

Always liked a can of lilt as a kid or seldom seen fresca. There was a very short lived juice called Quattro which was actually ok.

02-06-2023, 06:09 PM
Lilt

02-06-2023, 07:13 PM
Is Sunny D still a thing? It was all the craze for a while and was everywhere. Didn’t someone turn yellow from drinking too much of it, or is that an urban legend?

Quite partial to a Rhubarb Soda from Bon Accord.

02-06-2023, 07:19 PM
Lilt

I really miss proper Lilt.

It was one of a few drinks ruined after the sugar tax forced a change in recipe.

02-06-2023, 07:37 PM

It was one of a few drinks ruined after the sugar tax forced a change in recipe.

On that theme. Is Irn Bru 1901 the same as the original Irn Bru? I like 1901, the post sugar tax normal irn Bru is undrinkable. However, not sure if it’s just in my mind, but it doesn’t seem to taste as nice as pre sugar tax.

02-06-2023, 08:17 PM
On that theme. Is Irn Bru 1901 the same as the original Irn Bru? I like 1901, the post sugar tax normal irn Bru is undrinkable. However, not sure if it’s just in my mind, but it doesn’t seem to taste as nice as pre sugar tax.

1901 is the original Irn Bru recipe but not the classic hangover cure pre sugar tax recipe if that makes sense.

02-06-2023, 08:32 PM
Is Sunny D still a thing? It was all the craze for a while and was everywhere. Didn’t someone turn yellow from drinking too much of it, or is that an urban legend?

Quite partial to a Rhubarb Soda from Bon Accord.

My local Asda still sell it. No 'Florida' or 'California' variants anymore right enough - just a straight-up OJ (and a watery one at that).

02-06-2023, 08:45 PM
1901 is the original Irn Bru recipe but not the classic hangover cure pre sugar tax recipe if that makes sense.

So 1901 is different to the pre sugar tax version we all knew? Albeit it’s probably fairly close in terms of taste.

I bought the last of the pre sugar tax irn bru’s online before they expired a few years ago and was sure it tasted better than 1901. Should have done a blind taste test.

03-06-2023, 09:23 AM

The 1901 tastes similar to the pre- sugar tax Irn Bru, not sure if it’s the same recipe.

The fizziness is definitely different though, the pre- sugar tax recipe version was fizzy like the new stuff. The 1901 is a bit different.

I actually really like the 1901 recipe, tastes much more like Irn Bru used to. The new stuff is crap.

Am I right in thinking that original Coke is about the only thing that survived the sugar tax? All juice just tastes bitter but adjusted by artificial sweeteners to me now. I know all these drinks are crap and synthetic but they all taste crap and synthetic now.

03-06-2023, 10:18 AM

https://youtu.be/wYj5o4kQsXs

03-06-2023, 11:33 AM
The 1901 tastes similar to the pre- sugar tax Irn Bru, not sure if it’s the same recipe.

The fizziness is definitely different though, the pre- sugar tax recipe version was fizzy like the new stuff. The 1901 is a bit different.

I actually really like the 1901 recipe, tastes much more like Irn Bru used to. The new stuff is crap.

Am I right in thinking that original Coke is about the only thing that survived the sugar tax? All juice just tastes bitter but adjusted by artificial sweeteners to me now. I know all these drinks are crap and synthetic but they all taste crap and synthetic now.

Original coke hasn’t changed the recipe, but the price has went up significantly, albeit cost of living has pushed it higher still

Pre sugar tax you could often get a 2l bottle for about a quid (usually in a multi buy deal), now you’re looking at £2.25 minimum for a 1.75l bottle

03-06-2023, 12:44 PM
Orangina and Sinkist (someone told me rcently this is still on the go but haven't seen it for decades) were the drinks of choice when I was wee. I can't stand fizzy orange now though, funny how your taste buds change as you get older.

03-06-2023, 01:29 PM
Orangina and Sinkist (someone told me rcently this is still on the go but haven't seen it for decades) were the drinks of choice when I was wee. I can't stand fizzy orange now though, funny how your taste buds change as you get older.

Orangina seemed a bit exotic when I was a bairn, probably just the bottle to blame. 🙂

03-06-2023, 02:19 PM
Sang’s Moray Cup, perfect with a fish supper.

Jakhog1
03-06-2023, 04:21 PM
Another drink that was a favourite as a kid was Shandy Bass, thought I was a right proper wee grown up, looked to see if they still sell it and was discontinued a few years back

03-06-2023, 09:15 PM
Another drink that was a favourite as a kid was Shandy Bass, thought I was a right proper wee grown up, looked to see if they still sell it and was discontinued a few years back

And Shandy lime, A snowball was the only thing that made you feel like you were bevvying as a bairn.

05-06-2023, 08:42 AM

They have even ditched the name now. It is now Fanta Pineapple and Grapefruit.

05-06-2023, 06:38 PM
Sang’s Moray Cup, perfect with a fish supper.

If the sugar tax didn't take this drink off market, then the Labelling would have. A cold bottle drunk with vinegary chips was just fabulous.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-09-2023, 09:33 PM
Found Bon Accord cloudy lemonade in sainsburys East Kilbride this evening, very nice

04-09-2023, 09:46 PM
Was over in NI during the summer and the wife introduced me to Club Orange. Absolutely delightful, so it is

Also taken a wee notion for the glass cheque 1901 irn bru lately. Was out on Saturday so ice cold on Sunday. T'was the business

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-09-2023, 10:03 PM
Was over in NI during the summer and the wife introduced me to Club Orange. Absolutely delightful, so it is

Also taken a wee notion for the glass cheque 1901 irn bru lately. Was out on Saturday so ice cold on Sunday. T'was the business

Club orange is class, best enjoyed with a tayto cheese and onion sandwich

05-09-2023, 07:16 AM
Club orange is class, best enjoyed with a tayto cheese and onion sandwich

Love Tayto. That trip was also the 1st time I'd tried other flavours. Salt & vinegar is so good

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-09-2023, 12:20 PM
Love Tayto. That trip was also the 1st time I'd tried other flavours. Salt & vinegar is so good

Not sure where about in Narnia it was that you were, but if it was the Derry/Strabane are then the next time you’re over you need to try McDaids Football Special. It looks like those cheap juices you see in corner shops here, or something you’d get in a high school canteen. However, it’s proper tasty. Made in Donegal I believe (poster Donegal Hibby can confirm?)

06-09-2023, 12:31 PM
Tizer

I was a sucker for a good fizzy orange soda (I think it was Orangeade). Never was a lover of Fanta, but Orangeade always hit the spot.

I'd add Tizer too, but thankfully the wee corner shop across from my wife's mother in law still sell it!

Tizer used to be magnificent in the 90's. Always had it on Xmas day for some reason. The new reformulated stuff is rank IMO:boo hoo:

Barr's Red Kola has kept most of it's magic though :cool2:

06-09-2023, 12:38 PM
So 1901 is different to the pre sugar tax version we all knew? Albeit it’s probably fairly close in terms of taste.

I bought the last of the pre sugar tax irn bru’s online before they expired a few years ago and was sure it tasted better than 1901. Should have done a blind taste test.

The 1901 stuff is very different to the pre sugar tax Irn Bru.

One of the main differences is no caffeine - which is perfect for me as I get bizzare bad mental crashes from caffeine.

The addition of quillaia (taken from the soap bark tree native to South America) is what makes it mentally fizzy.

1901 also has more sugar than the pre sugar tax version of Irn Bru.

All in all the perfect hangover cure :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-09-2023, 02:21 PM
Tizer used to be magnificent in the 90's. Always had it on Xmas day for some reason. The new reformulated stuff is rank IMO:boo hoo:

Barr's Red Kola has kept most of it's magic though :cool2:

Can’t beat a red kola, barrs cream soda and pineappleade is quality too

06-09-2023, 02:32 PM

I love their Cherryade

06-09-2023, 03:05 PM

I used to love their pineappleade, but I think they’ve changed the recipe since the sugar tax, not as good any more

06-09-2023, 03:09 PM
Not sure where about in Narnia it was that you were, but if it was the Derry/Strabane are then the next time you’re over you need to try McDaids Football Special. It looks like those cheap juices you see in corner shops here, or something you’d get in a high school canteen. However, it’s proper tasty. Made in Donegal I believe (poster Donegal Hibby can confirm?)

Funnily enough I was in both. Strabane for a wedding before heading north via Derry. Never came across McDaids but will look out for it in Larne when back over for Christmas

06-09-2023, 04:17 PM
After reading the thread I decided to buy a glass bottle irn bru to sit out and enjoy the sunshine with. Its been a while and have to sa......................now I remember why. Stuff is horrible. When I'm in Scotland it's full fat/sugar coke all the way. I did manage to grow a beer belly though drinking the stuff during lockdown so have cut back a bit.

06-09-2023, 08:47 PM

Barr's Cream Soda, love it, chuck in a scoop or 2 of vanilla ice cream, heavenly.

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-09-2023, 10:03 AM
Funnily enough I was in both. Strabane for a wedding before heading north via Derry. Never came across McDaids but will look out for it in Larne when back over for Christmas

Might not get it that far east but I’m not sure, only really spend a day in Belfast/Bangor/Larne etc at a time. Will defo be able to get it in corner shops and Centra’s in Derry though. Especially on main streets like the Strand Road. I can’t recommend it enough tbh, tastes like victory.

08-09-2023, 10:56 AM

I love their Cherryade

I used to love their pineappleade, but I think they’ve changed the recipe since the sugar tax, not as good any more

Pre covid my mate and I started an office Tuck Shop as everyone was moaning about the staff restaurant prices for snacks and juice. It started as a Scottish produce only venture and we stocked all the different Barrs juice flavours. After Irn Bru, Limeade was the top seller!

08-09-2023, 11:08 AM
Pre covid my mate and I started an office Tuck Shop as everyone was moaning about the staff restaurant prices for snacks and juice. It started as a Scottish produce only venture and we stocked all the different Barrs juice flavours. After Irn Bru, Limeade was the top seller!

We had an honesty box tuck shop, everything was priced and a money box was there to put your money in. In an office of only twelve of us, the cash was always short so I scrapped it.

11-09-2023, 08:45 AM
We had an honesty box tuck shop, everything was priced and a money box was there to put your money in. In an office of only twelve of us, the cash was always short so I scrapped it.

Yeah ours was similar with honestly box set up.

Although one of us was usually in proximity when folk were buying stuff but there were defintely some dodgy goings on from one or two individuals who weren't entirely honest with the whole thing. Mad that some people are like that:boo hoo:

11-09-2023, 08:52 AM
Yeah ours was similar with honestly box set up.

Although one of us was usually in proximity when folk were buying stuff but there were defintely some dodgy goings on from one or two individuals who weren't entirely honest with the whole thing. Mad that some people are like that:boo hoo:

And usually the first ones to complain that it’s been stopped, or when it’s still there, that certain options aren’t available now as there’s not enough money to replenish

11-09-2023, 03:17 PM
And usually the first ones to complain that it’s been stopped, or when it’s still there, that certain options aren’t available now as there’s not enough money to replenish

It was actually mad the mumps and moans we got in general when we hadnt had time to restock it. We were doing it out of our own time and effort going to buy stuff on lunch breaks etc, its as if people thought we were a real retailer:hilarious

Maybe a sign that they liked what we were doing:greengrin

Sloop67
13-09-2023, 05:47 AM
Middlemas's Jivaro orange