Ross County: 7
Dundee Utd: 5
Motherwell: 5
St Johnstone: 5
Rangers: 0

Presented without comment.

29-05-2023, 12:01 PM
Was chatting to my Science-led mate (a United fan) to ask if it would be possible to prove cheating - Levitt in freakonomics proved it for sumo wrestling.

His reckoning was no cheating but that stat was evidence towards unconscious bias.

Refs and officials will think 2-3 times before giving against the uglies - the personal, career, family implications subconsciously or consciously come into play. Far easier to give a ****ty decision against “lesser” teams. possibly harder against the yams mibbie us but generally we’re not as feral as the hordes…

29-05-2023, 12:09 PM
Aberdeen: 13
Hibs: 12
St Mirren: 12
Livingston: 11
Celtic: 8
Hearts: 7
Kilmarnock: 7

I’d like to see your no comment and raise it by a “The no comment”

Fuzzywuzzy
29-05-2023, 12:10 PM
EPL in comparison

https://www.premierleague.com/stats/top/clubs/penalty_conceded

Torto7
29-05-2023, 12:16 PM
Was chatting to my Science-led mate (a United fan) to ask if it would be possible to prove cheating - Levitt in freakonomics proved it for sumo wrestling.

His reckoning was no cheating but that stat was evidence towards unconscious bias.

Refs and officials will think 2-3 times before giving against the uglies - the personal, career, family implications subconsciously or consciously come into play. Far easier to give a ****ty decision against “lesser” teams. possibly harder against the yams mibbie us but generally we’re not as feral as the hordes…

It's only one team benefiting. Why are Celtic lumped into this?

29-05-2023, 12:19 PM

Tend to agree, too many people lump them in together, it makes it easier to collude with the status quo when folk do this. Each erse cheek on it's own merits in all things is the way to go.

29-05-2023, 12:20 PM

Yeah, normally I'd be on board with the unconscious bias thing but the fact that Celtic are right up there with everyone else shows there's something deeper to this tbh.

Maybe one day we'll get our own calciopoli. One can dream.

Torto7
29-05-2023, 12:23 PM
Yeah, normally I'd be on board with the unconscious bias thing but the fact that Celtic are right up there with everyone else shows there's something deeper to this tbh.

Maybe one day we'll get our own calciopoli. One can dream.

I don't know why anyone acts like its a surprise. We have sectarianism throughout Scottish society. We know they're financial cheats it wouldn't be surprising to find they cheat every other way. Like Stevie G's team of over 30's having insane fitness levels. The back to back extra times were quite something to witness. Corruption is rife throughout football and Scotland is no different. One look at the Ibrox directors box shows you some of the dodgiest characters in Scottish society.

29-05-2023, 12:28 PM
What makes it more unbelievable is we have VAR there have been numerous penalty incidents involving them which have not even been looked at by VAR. Or if they have the VAR ref must be as bad as the on field ref.

29-05-2023, 12:31 PM

We’ve been given two penalties against Celtic this season.

VAR didn’t even look at the penalty claims we had at Ibrox.

29-05-2023, 12:39 PM

That is simply incredible. As others have said, the fact that Celtic are sitting high up the table is telling.

Also, this is same team that got like 12 consecutive home draws in the cup a few years back.

Also also, remember when Gordon Smith was SFA Chief Executive and then left to take up a senior role at the same team referenced above.

All just coincidence of course.

29-05-2023, 02:06 PM
That is absolutely scandelous Rangers have went the whole season not having conceded a penalty , Disgusting

29-05-2023, 02:15 PM
Utter joke been going on for years

SFA are corrupt to the core

It’s as plain as the nose on your face

Need to bring in foreign/ English Refs cannae trust the Bothwell Rutherglen and Lanark mafia

29-05-2023, 02:21 PM
When was the last time Rangers gave away a pen at Ibrox?

29-05-2023, 02:29 PM
Last time they conceded a penalty in the Premiership was in a 1-1 draw versus Aberdeen at Pittodrie January 2022

Edit :

September 2019 versus Celtic in the League at Ibrox

DIXIHIBS
29-05-2023, 02:36 PM
Last time they conceded a penalty in the Premiership was in a 1-1 draw versus Aberdeen at Pittodrie January 2022

Edit :

September 2019 versus Celtic in the League at Ibrox

4 years since they conceded a penalty at ibrox!! Dont doubt thats true but unbelievable.

29-05-2023, 02:45 PM
When was the last time Rangers gave away a pen at Ibrox?

Think Partick got one there in the cup this year?

League stats are absolutely shocking though.

29-05-2023, 02:48 PM
[QUOTE=DIXIHIBS;7362371]4 years since they conceded a penalty at ibrox!! Dont doubt thats true but unbelievable.[/https://i.ibb.co/X5wzx4d/IMG-1624.png (https://ibb.co/FYPB4Wf)

Ómaigh-Hib
29-05-2023, 02:53 PM
Rangers conceded none? Colour me shocked - not.

29-05-2023, 03:01 PM
The comparison with the European games says it all.

29-05-2023, 04:57 PM
That is absolutely scandelous Rangers have went the whole season not having conceded a penalty , Disgusting

I bet that's also happened before. The mason in the middle suddenly losing his sight whenever the ball is near their goal :greengrin

29-05-2023, 07:16 PM
My only surprise is that Sevco didn't have one given against them once the league was decided.

They can't even be bothered to do the basics of hiding the pro-Hun bias.

Greenio
29-05-2023, 11:43 PM
I'd like to see more European refs doing games in Scotland to rid us of what I think is both conscious and unconscious bias.

They won't give too hoots about kick back or rep. Which is exactly how it should be

ErinGoBraghHFC
30-05-2023, 12:31 AM
Utter joke been going on for years

SFA are corrupt to the core

It’s as plain as the nose on your face

Need to bring in foreign/ English Refs cannae trust the Bothwell Rutherglen and Lanark mafia

Nothing wrong with Bothwell

30-05-2023, 01:39 AM
Nothing wrong with Bothwell

Well that central belt next to Glasgow where all the Refs come from The Rangers Training School you know where I mean used to be in all the Match Day Programmes eg R H Davidson Airdrie

Hated Hibs with a passion

Tiny Wharton openly admitted that teams would get nothing at Ibrox

Does Brother Beaton not work for The Rangers in some capacity or is that another Ref ?

ErinGoBraghHFC
30-05-2023, 02:22 AM
[emoji23]

Well that central belt next to Glasgow where all the Refs come from The Rangers Training School you know where I mean used to be in all the Match Day Programmes eg R H Davidson Airdrie

Hated Hibs with a passion

Tiny Wharton openly admitted that teams would get nothing at Ibrox

Does Brother Beaton not work for The Rangers in some capacity or is that another Ref ?

Trust me I know all about it, the sheer number of funny handshake gang types through here was something I wasn’t really prepared for when I moved! Airdrie, Larkhall, Law etc are properly grim places as well, **** living there even if they weren’t festering hun hives! Same goes for “Celtic” towns like Carfin and Coatbridge mind you. I don’t live in Bothwell anymore but I did used to see Scott Allan a lot, moved to a wee village a few miles from Larkhall and was woken up from a post night shift Kip with police sirens a few weeks after moving in last summer, was bother at an orange walk by all accounts. Madness.

30-05-2023, 06:04 AM

Do you have the similar stat for the number of penalties awarded to each team?

30-05-2023, 08:31 AM
Here is the final league table with the very predictable winner and loser

Received
Conceded
Net

Rangers

Hearts

Motherwell

Dundee Utd

St Johnstone

Celtic

Livingston

Ross County

Aberdeen FC

St Mirren

Kilmarnock

Hibs

Total

Chorley Hibee
30-05-2023, 08:35 AM
Penalties received (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/scottish-premiership/topErhalteneElfmeter/wettbewerb/SC1/sort/anzahl.desc)

Rangers FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/rangers-fc/startseite/verein/124)
10 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/124/saison_id/2022)

Heart of Midlothian FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/heart-of-midlothian-fc/startseite/verein/43)
10 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/43/saison_id/2022)

Aberdeen FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/aberdeen-fc/startseite/verein/370)
9 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/370/saison_id/2022)

Livingston FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/livingston-fc/startseite/verein/1241)
8 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/1241/saison_id/2022)

St. Mirren FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/st-mirren-fc/startseite/verein/465)
8 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/465/saison_id/2022)

Celtic FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/celtic-fc/startseite/verein/371)
7 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/371/saison_id/2022)

Motherwell FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/motherwell-fc/startseite/verein/987)
7 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/987/saison_id/2022)

Dundee United FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/dundee-united-fc/startseite/verein/1519)
7 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/1519/saison_id/2022)

St. Johnstone FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/st-johnstone-fc/startseite/verein/2578)
4 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/2578/saison_id/2022)

Hibernian FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/hibernian-fc/startseite/verein/903)
4 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/903/saison_id/2022)

Kilmarnock FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/kilmarnock-fc/startseite/verein/2553)
2 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/2553/saison_id/2022)

Ross County FC (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/ross-county-fc/startseite/verein/2759)
2 (https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jumplist/elfmeterschuetzen/verein/2759/saison_id/2022)

Quelle surprise...

30-05-2023, 08:59 AM
Quelle surprise...

The penalty "goal difference" is therefore thus:

Rangers: +10
Hearts: +3
Dundee Utd: +2
Motherwell: +2
St Johnstone: +1
Celtic: -1
Livingston: -3
Aberdeen: -4
St Mirren: -4
Kilmarnock: -5
Ross County: -5
Hibs: -8

30-05-2023, 09:34 AM
The penalty "goal difference" is therefore thus:

Rangers: +10
Hearts: +3
Dundee Utd: +2
Motherwell: +2
St Johnstone: +1
Celtic: -1
Livingston: -3
Aberdeen: -4
St Mirren: -4
Kilmarnock: -5
Ross County: -5
Hibs: -8

I edited my post to include a table. The biggest surprise to me is Celtic. They won the league at a canter, scored 22 more goals than The Rangers, 47 more than Hearts and 49 more than Aberdeen but still got less penalties awarded than those three teams. They also conceded far less than most of the league and significantly less than The Rangers and more than 20% of the goals they conceded were pens. Call it what you like in terms of officials but there is no doubt that there is bias or corruption in favour of The Rangers and that then extends to Hearts by association at the other side Celtc and by association us get the pooey end of the stick. It would make a great study for an academic to see if you could prove some sort of bias using much better stats that included xG etc.

Stubbsy90+2
30-05-2023, 09:37 AM

Received
Conceded
Net

Rangers

Hearts

Motherwell

Dundee Utd

St Johnstone

Celtic

Livingston

Ross County

Aberdeen FC

St Mirren

Kilmarnock

Hibs

Total

And the most ridiculous part of it is that we all could have told each other who the top 2 would be before the season even started.

30-05-2023, 10:42 AM
Hardly a surprise. It’s never going to change.

McSwanky
30-05-2023, 03:01 PM
Observations:

1. It's a very small sample size. Are stats available for the last, say, 5 seasons? That would build a better picture.
2. You'd expect the better teams to give away fewer and receive more penalties. Imagine that's what Sevco would counter this with, although the Celtic stat seems to be a massive outlier if that's the case.
3. **** the Hearts.
4. **** the Rangers.
5. **** the Celtic.

30-05-2023, 03:34 PM

Received
Conceded
Net

Rangers

Hearts

Motherwell

Dundee Utd

St Johnstone

Celtic

Livingston

Ross County

Aberdeen FC

St Mirren

Kilmarnock

Hibs

Total

Did we not win two pens against Celtic this season and three against Aberdeen?

30-05-2023, 03:45 PM
The statistics only show part of the story. You really need to see the pictured of some of the penalty claims to get a true picture of the level of cheating that has gone on for the hun

30-05-2023, 03:50 PM
Observations:

1. It's a very small sample size. Are stats available for the last, say, 5 seasons? That would build a better picture.
2. You'd expect the better teams to give away fewer and receive more penalties. Imagine that's what Sevco would counter this with, although the Celtic stat seems to be a massive outlier if that's the case.
3. **** the Hearts.
4. **** the Rangers.
5. **** the Celtic.

Here are the net scores since we came up. Hearts missing a season through relegation. In those 6 season The Rangers have been awarded 12 more pens than anyone else in this group of teams and conceded 11 less than the rest. The Rangers have conceded a total of 7 penalties in the last 5 seasons at a time Celtic have dominated the league. The only other team to have went a season without conceding a pen is predictably Hearts. The Jambos have also been awarded more penalties per game than Celtic over this period which seems incredible.

There is now doubt in my mind that referees still roll trousers up and shake hands in a strange way. If your were exceptionally kind you could have said unconscious bias but VAR has blown that myth out the water imo. What would be more interesting is seeing when and in what circumstances penalties are awarded and conceded. Penalties are not really my biggest gripe though. Bookings are how referees bias the games and some are absolutely ridiculous in their leniency towards The Rangers while booking the slightest touch of the opposition.

17/18
18/19
19/20
20/21
21/22
22/23
Net Total

Hibs

Hearts

The Rangers

Celtic

Aberdeen

31-05-2023, 03:48 AM
The statistics only show part of the story. You really need to see the pictured of some of the penalty claims to get a true picture of the level of cheating that has gone on for the hun

Yep, would love to see a video comprised of all the penalties teams should have had this season against the huns.