Bang on.
It's a start.
Donegal Hibby
27-05-2023, 08:10 PM
Well done Hibs .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-hearts-a
27-05-2023, 08:11 PM
During our 1-1 draw in the cinch Premiership at Tynecastle there were a number of incidents, but undoubtedly the most worrying relates to player safety and spectator involvement.
During the second half when Marijan Čabraja went to retrieve a ball to take a throw in front of the Wheatfield Stand, he was confronted by several supporters before he was struck by a spectator.
We have shared images, which are clear and conclusive, with senior officials at Hearts and have urged the Club to investigate this immediately. Serious actions must be taken as player safety on the pitch is paramount and this incident proves that more needs to be done to protect players.
This type of behaviour by a supporter of any club is abhorrent. We are awaiting a response from Hearts regarding this incident, so that the individual can be detected and the severest of sanctions taken against him.
Should also be shared with the authorities at Hampden.
27-05-2023, 08:14 PM
I'd also like the club to express their concern at the policing outside the ground. They had a representative looking on.
LunasBoots
27-05-2023, 08:16 PM
No player should have to put up with any physical abuse no matter what team they play for, it's just plain wrong and happens far to often. Hopefully the authorities find the culprits.
MartinfaePorty
27-05-2023, 08:16 PM
But, but, but Sportsound keep telling us its the close proximity to the players that gives the ground its 'unique' atmosphere
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
27-05-2023, 08:19 PM
Good, let's call them out. Some idiots trying to hit our players.
Should have called out the current buns too last week
27-05-2023, 08:20 PM
Tiny should be against stadium and player safety regs. No idea how they are allowed to be so close to the players.
If I was a betting man I'd wager Hibs would've been told to change Easter Road if we had had the same arrangement.
27-05-2023, 08:23 PM
Good.
Laying hands on players crosses a line and it's not on regardless of what set of fans are doing it. We acted when it was Hibs fans and Clark, time for Hearts to do the same.
27-05-2023, 08:24 PM
Brilliant. Glad we've spoke out about this.
27-05-2023, 08:27 PM
Said that at the time. Will be no danger to find the assailant.
A ban and criminal charges coming for the fud who could act like an adult watching a game of football.
DarrenSQH
27-05-2023, 08:27 PM
Well done Hibs .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/club-statement-hearts-a
Should be easy for police to find
Donegal Hibby
27-05-2023, 08:28 PM
No player should have to put up with any physical abuse no matter what team they play for, it's just plain wrong and happens far to often. Hopefully the authorities find the culprits.
Possibly one here .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/gallery/7-snaps-hearts-hibs-derby-30092844
mcohibs
27-05-2023, 08:28 PM
It's a start.
Huns next hopefully. Long overdue.
27-05-2023, 08:33 PM
absolutely poisonous in that stand the length of the pitch at Tinycastle
i remember just four or five seasons ago Lewis Stevenson taking a throw-in, went to retrieve the ball and the animals were right in his face, i immediately thought how on earth they could be like that with a thoroughly decent individual
of course the BBC say it's some type of unique 'atmosphere', what they fail to mention is it's mostly the away fans that create any atmosphere but as i said on the match thread heartz will love their fans being in very close proximity to opposing players
27-05-2023, 08:34 PM
Possibly one here .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/gallery/7-snaps-hearts-hibs-derby-30092844
Youan must be thinking wtf is this place
27-05-2023, 08:37 PM
The old terracing used to be just as close at ER but the track was widened as the various alterations and modernisation were made in the 80’s and 90’s.
27-05-2023, 08:39 PM
Good. Thugs.
Mantis Toboggan
27-05-2023, 08:40 PM
Looks like a bright lad
Donegal Hibby
27-05-2023, 08:40 PM
Youan must be thinking wtf is this place
I'd imagine Youan would have tbf . It's been happening for years there with players getting abuse ,shirts pulled on throw ins even the ref looking at VAR monitor there fans are on top of him .
Let’s see what they do or even say along the road.
27-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Here’s a better picture.
27-05-2023, 09:00 PM
Here’s a better picture.
that IS a better one, i was about to say the pervious pic only shows a freak grabbing the ball from cabraja but during the match and the TV angle looking straight down towards play i was convinced some other gimp had actually made contact with him :agree:
27-05-2023, 09:05 PM
Let’s see what they do or even say along the road.
You know what the reply will be :- they'll refer to the fairly regular occurrences at ER when objects are thrown at the hertz players when they try to take a corner in front of the bottom end of the East.
You can bet on it.
You know what the reply will be :- they'll refer to the fairly regular occurrences at ER when objects are thrown at the hertz players when they try to take a corner in front of the bottom end of the East.
You can bet on it.
More than likely.
27-05-2023, 09:08 PM
Looks like a bright lad
Looks like a young Adolf Hitler to me
27-05-2023, 09:11 PM
No images that show anything conclusive but I remember seeing the tussle. Newell dummied throwing the ball back at the fans earlier in teh game and Cadden had a wee joke with them too
https://snsgroupportal.co.uk/fotoweb/cache/v2/p/j/Archived%20Images/SPEC/2023/05/23052702/20769773.jpg.iieuvJXUMQ9jFaljQA1wymnq60jqqQrq6yqIq kiqKUhqaatGBqbLBc7tDCA.QqEgPw4_d3.jpg (http://https://snsgroupportal.co.uk/fotoweb/cache/v2/p/j/Archived%20Images/SPEC/2023/05/23052702/20769773.jpg.iieuvJXUMQ9jFaljQA1wymnq60jqqQrq6yqIq kiqKUhqaatGBqbLBc7tDCA.QqEgPw4_d3.jpg)
27-05-2023, 09:13 PM
Why is the VAR check basically in the Hearts seats ?
Only stadium I’ve seen where it’s so close and even the refs don’t look comfortable viewing it.
SFA should be telling them they need to not sell front few rows. Their fans can’t behave and action should be taken.
27-05-2023, 09:21 PM
Only stadium I’ve seen where it’s so close and even the refs don’t look comfortable viewing it.
SFA should be telling them they need to not sell front few rows. Their fans can’t behave and action should be taken.
I can't believe they get away with that. Show me another club that has its VAR in a position like that.
27-05-2023, 09:22 PM
Did Youan not get shoved as well, with Newell stepping in? What about the hot water bottle LJ mentioned?
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-05-2023, 09:32 PM
Did Youan not get shoved as well, with Newell stepping in? What about the hot water bottle LJ mentioned?
A hot water bottle at the football? **** me they’re not doing well to shake the bungalow dweller image are they?
monarch
27-05-2023, 09:43 PM
A hot water bottle at the football? **** me they’re not doing well to shake the bungalow dweller image are they?
Don’t you realise that heater systems on Rovers are pretty gash and Golf clubs can’t afford the heating to be on during committee meetings.
27-05-2023, 09:48 PM
It came from their subs
27-05-2023, 09:52 PM
I can't believe they get away with that. Show me another club that has its VAR in a position like that. Dundee United isn't that much different but the wall is a bit higher. Away fans are closest to that. Tynecastle is simply too small to deal with all that is needed in a modern stadium. Not sure it makes a great deal of difference to be honest where it is.
I'm far more concerned that players are continually touched or assaulted by fans. The front row in the away end has chicken wire over it to try and stop fans coming onto the field or contacting players. No way that is health and safety approved and looks very Heath Robinson. The front row of the home stand behind the goal should be vacant too as there isn't much difference between the ends.
27-05-2023, 09:58 PM
You'd have to be a genuine idiot to do something like that in an Edinburgh derby. You are banned for years now. ****ing idiots.
27-05-2023, 10:01 PM
Well done Hibs. We need to get all idiots out of the game.
Widhibs
27-05-2023, 10:03 PM
You can bet on it.
Correct, but the problem is inherent in Scottish football
27-05-2023, 10:05 PM
Good on Hibs.
For once, we are sticking up for ourselves.
MelbourneHibees
27-05-2023, 11:51 PM
Sure I seen some lighters etc being thrown at our players too. The SFA should throw the book at them.
HibeeMackenzie
28-05-2023, 12:09 AM
I can remember going mental about Youan standing trackside confronting the hearts fans deep into stoppage time instead of getting back into play for a restart, can only assume this is why
28-05-2023, 12:22 AM
Really glad the club have spoken out on this.
It isn't just one incident though - every time a throw in is taken opposition players have fans right on them, and there were a few incidents of them putting hands on Hibs players.
Complete BS that they can get away with this time and time again.
If nothing is done as should stick in a row or two of temporary seating for the next derby and make sure their players get a taste of their own medicine.
28-05-2023, 12:27 AM
You can bet on it.
that’s something that Hibs need to get on top of too
28-05-2023, 01:15 AM
State of that thing
KiddA
28-05-2023, 01:59 AM
You can't hide from social media, the people in this pic better keep a low profile for a while.
28-05-2023, 03:10 AM
Credit due to Cabraja for the way he handled the situation
Bang on.
Hearts should be required to remove the front 5 rows of seating from their ground to provide a safe distance between the crowd and the players.
Sure I seen some lighters etc being thrown at our players too. The SFA should throw the book at them.
At Tottenham, we enter the ground through airport style scanners.
28-05-2023, 06:49 AM
Still no apology or even acknowledgement from the tramps?
Balls firmly in their court now. I’d expect someone to get a knock at the door in the coming days however suspect he will hand himself in.
If they do nothing then we shouldn’t let this go. (I expect them to say something in the coming days though)
28-05-2023, 07:17 AM
Really glad the club have spoken out on this.
It isn't just one incident though - every time a throw in is taken opposition players have fans right on them, and there were a few incidents of them putting hands on Hibs players.
Complete BS that they can get away with this time and time again.
If nothing is done as should stick in a row or two of temporary seating for the next derby and make sure their players get a taste of their own medicine.
They need to take out the first 5 rows.
28-05-2023, 07:32 AM
Watching the highlights I noticed that the front row of seats in the Hibs stand was empty, presumably because of the past assault by a Hibs fan on Gordon.
The way things are starting to go we’ll all have big wire fences up inside tye decade.
28-05-2023, 07:41 AM
It's a start.
Much more restrained than if they'd asked me to write it, but it's a start.
h1bs4life
28-05-2023, 07:46 AM
Sure seen Youan getting pushed with Cabraja then going in to attempt to get the ball.
Every time players take throw ins they are in there ears shouting , touching there shirts it’s not just against us it is every game.
1st 4 / 5 rows should be covered up / removed permanently was about to say how does it get safety certificate then remembered Edinburgh Council bend over backwards for them
28-05-2023, 07:53 AM
Watching the highlights I noticed that the front row of seats in the Hibs stand was empty, presumably because of the past assault by a Hibs fan on Gordon.
Wasn't Gordon was another goalie Czech boy I think who made a meal out of it can't be ersed looking up his name. One thing is though could have been serious trouble if either Marian had smacked the boy back or rolled about.
Front two of three rows minimum of that stand should be shut and should have happened years ago. Was honestly like a zoo in there yesterday.
28-05-2023, 08:15 AM
If you take a look at the first page on Kickback about this you'll see how much of a despicable bunch they are.
Barely if any saying hope they find the person. One even crediting the ref for not stopping the match and getting the police involved.
They're also taking the whataboutery route rather than acknowledge they have a problem.
If they're not going to fix it a player could Cantona them.
28-05-2023, 08:20 AM
If the SFA do what they did last year with fixtures then the opening game of the season will be at tynecastle. That will be interesting and not necessarily palatable stuff off the park once again.
28-05-2023, 08:20 AM
Noticed when the ref went to the screen there was a guy standing close to the wall giving the ref some advice in an aggressive fashion. SPFL should insist that it is moved. NO Stewards visible to stop this happening.
Two guys in high vis vests looking the other way.
28-05-2023, 08:33 AM
Can’t be hard for Hearts or any club to find this idiot. All you need is the seat number and who the season ticket/ticket was sold too.
If you look at our allocation yesterday the front rows were cordoned off. This is probably because of what happened too their goalkeeper.
So because of that action to save their players, let’s hope they cordon off their front two rows to protect opposition players.
Really hope the SFA/Police Scotland can take action and do something about this.
Rick Rude
28-05-2023, 09:11 AM
Not going to say our fans are any better or worse but at Tynecastle it comes down to opportunity. Can't be many grounds in the world you can assault a player from the comfort of your own seat. It's also been going on for years and nothing is ever said. Last game I was at there must have been 10 years ago or more and a couple of guys in that stand spent most of the game trying to spit on Hibs players taking throw ins.
28-05-2023, 09:14 AM
The Maroon balloons are moving behind the goal next season too.
The ground hasn’t been fit for purpose for years..remember going to the semi finals and thought it was a dump.
Dodgy turnstiles
Steep wheatfield exit
Slippy concourses - folk falling over.
Seat numbering wrong way round / mixed up
Front rows and VAR within touching distance of players.
Weirdo home fans feel the need to touch the opposition players.
Add in the VAR TV basically in the Wheatfield stand and you have the regular incidents at the Tiny library.
28-05-2023, 09:21 AM
Was right behind Marvin Bartley when he was warming up at Tynecastle the monkey chants and monkey gestures and racist abuse from the Hearts fans was ridiculous.
Walkerbaws
28-05-2023, 09:39 AM
It’s about time something was actually done about the conduct of supporters of all clubs tbh. It’s all good pointing the finger at each other. Yesterday was also a disgrace from our fans, I was sitting close to the disabled section, and a large number of fans standing at the railings refusing to move for people in wheelchairs in order for them to see the game. Folk arguing because they wanted to stand at the railings, and because one person is there then everyone can stand there. This in no way absolves these idiots throwing punches at players which is totally out of order and something Hearts should well look in to and ban not only that fan but the other idiot that was wrestling with the ball.
28-05-2023, 09:40 AM
Possibly one here .
That headline makes it sound like it was Cabraja that was the aggressor. Daily Record being absolute fuds again.
He's here!
28-05-2023, 09:47 AM
Tiny should be against stadium and player safety regs. No idea how they are allowed to be so close to the players.
If I was a betting man I'd wager Hibs would've been told to change Easter Road if we had had the same arrangement.
It's an awful stadium with three of the stands shoehorned into a space that isn't big enough and a pitch that's too small.
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/crime-courts/3901491/dundee-united-funso-attack/
Squeaky bum time for the jambo involved yesterday.
Rumble de Thump
28-05-2023, 10:11 AM
If Hearts were interested in sorting this out they would have done so years ago. They'll be delighted that their fans harass and abuse opposition players (as well as referees when making VAR decisions) to the extent they do, and even more delighted they've been allowed to get it away with it for so long. They simply see this 'unique atmosphere' as an advantage.
Fuzzywuzzy
28-05-2023, 10:17 AM
Some of kickback likening it to cantona😂😂
28-05-2023, 10:23 AM
The hot water bottle was launched by their less than bright reserve keeper Ross Stewart.
28-05-2023, 10:24 AM
They also want our allocation reduced to 600.
28-05-2023, 10:27 AM
They also want our allocation reduced to 600.
Yea wonder if that will happen?
28-05-2023, 10:34 AM
Yea wonder if that will happen?
Doubt it because we would just do the same to them.
28-05-2023, 10:42 AM
Tynecastle is a *****hole
28-05-2023, 11:42 AM
The Maroon balloons are moving behind the goal next season too.
The ground hasn’t been fit for purpose for years..remember going to the semi finals and thought it was a dump.
Dodgy turnstiles
Steep wheatfield exit
Slippy concourses - folk falling over.
Seat numbering wrong way round / mixed up
Front rows and VAR within touching distance of players.
Weirdo home fans feel the need to touch the opposition players.
Add in the VAR TV basically in the Wheatfield stand and you have the regular incidents at the Tiny library.
Pretty well my experience of the place as well, though the last time I was there was for the LC semi against St Johnstone.
Especially agree about the seat numbers, whatever system they use in the Gorgie stand didn't seem to correspond to what was on my ticket ... the seats seem about 2 inches narrower than the ones at ER and there's no leg room, even for a short arse like me, no wonder they can claim a capacity of 20,000 ( aye right ) for a stadium that looks like it can hold 18,000 at best.
Noticed the concourse at that end isn't enclosed, must be like a wind tunnel in the winter :faf:
As for yesterday. We have our own problems with dafties chucking things at opposition players, but that goes up a level when fans can actually lay hands on players taking throw ins ..... I'm willing to bet loads of players in the premiership have had this happen to them at that dump ... if the SPFL had any baws they would warn Hearts that any repeat will lead to the front two rows of the Wheatfield stand being closed for the following season.
LunasBoots
28-05-2023, 12:08 PM
Aye, calling desperation that a fan attacked a player, weird bunch, same posters who where going mental when the foot wad on the other foot.
28-05-2023, 12:08 PM
At Tottenham, we enter the ground through airport style scanners.
Do they confiscate lighters, keys, coins etc? If not then it wouldn’t stop these idiots. I remember AEK away when the Greek police emptied everyone’s pockets and confiscated everything that was throwable. Lighters, coins, hotel room keys, everything. Think there was one lighter doing the rounds for all the Hibby smokers during the game 🤣
Rick Rude
28-05-2023, 12:14 PM
Do they confiscate lighters, keys, coins etc? If not then it wouldn’t stop these idiots. I remember AEK away when the Greek police emptied everyone’s pockets and confiscated everything that was throwable. Lighters, coins, hotel room keys, everything. Think there was one lighter doing the rounds for all the Hibby smokers during the game 🤣
To be fair the Athens support were nice enough to throw a lot of coins and lighters back to us throughout the night.
28-05-2023, 12:30 PM
Was right behind Marvin Bartley when he was warming up at Tynecastle the monkey chants and monkey gestures and racist abuse from the Hearts fans was ridiculous.I was at hospitality in the Gorgie road end at the game Lennon got hit with the coin. That end is supposed to be the family section and the sectarian abuse being hurled was horrendous.
Still waiting for them to condone the behaviour of their fans.
MelbourneHibees
28-05-2023, 12:37 PM
Still waiting for them to condone the behaviour of their fans.
Condemn
28-05-2023, 02:16 PM
It came from their subs
Why would anyone have a hot water bottle?
28-05-2023, 02:21 PM
Why would anyone have a hot water bottle?
Presume it wasn’t a “hottie”, but a bottle of water that is hot?
28-05-2023, 02:24 PM
Stolen like?!? Typical jambos.
Torto7
28-05-2023, 02:29 PM
I was at hospitality in the Gorgie road end at the game Lennon got hit with the coin. That end is supposed to be the family section and the sectarian abuse being hurled was horrendous.
That's what Scotland is though and has been for centuries. A religious cesspit where the morons with exactly the same genetics and DNA as the group they've been programmed to hate think they're superior because the state put it into their pea brained ancestors that the taig and the cafflik is the bogey man. The most depressing thing about Hearts and the Hun is the sheer glee they get from it, it takes a certain sad sack of manure to have that be your source of self esteem in life. I don't see them as countrymen and neighbours tbh just a boil on the arse cheek of humanity.
Green Man
28-05-2023, 02:33 PM
It was an actual hot water bottle. Someone on the bench was holding it earlier in the game, then at the end it got chucked.
Cardinal G
28-05-2023, 02:34 PM
They need to address the ball boys as well, lost count of the amount of times they just sat still with ball between there legs and not moving it.
28-05-2023, 02:34 PM
It was an actual hot water bottle. Someone on the bench was holding it earlier in the game, then at the end it got chucked.
That’s comical, must be a song in this😂
28-05-2023, 02:38 PM
They need to address the ball boys as well, lost count of the amount of times they just sat still with ball between there legs and not moving it.
Is a joke to be honest to be teaching kids to in effect cheat? All clubs that tell them not to give opposition players the ball not only Hearts
28-05-2023, 05:19 PM
Is a joke to be honest to be teaching kids to in effect cheat? All clubs that tell them not to give opposition players the ball not only HeartsIt's the Hearts way, if they'll cheat the Lady Haig poppy fund out of charity money teaching kids Hearts type behaviours early on should come as no surprise.
28-05-2023, 05:26 PM
No really got an issue with the ball boys doing what they did. Would expect us to do exactly the same. Up to the ref to manage it properly and he had absolutely zero control of it in the second half.
29-05-2023, 10:53 AM
Noticed when the ref went to the screen there was a guy standing close to the wall giving the ref some advice in an aggressive fashion. SPFL should insist that it is moved. NO Stewards visible to stop this happening.
Two guys in high vis vests looking the other way.
Aye they did. To avoid any wrath from the looneys
They do need to find some "safe space" for the VAR machine to be viewed.
Where to find space in that sardine tin is the problem.
The Wheatfield need demolishing and rebuilt.Its a health hazard .
In the meantime
One answer could be is to cover or remove a couple or 3 front rows on that stand.
Or like in the old days ,space some cops out on the track walking back and forth.
That would prevent the front row imbeciles touching players.
"mammy.Daddy touched a players bum today! What does "get a life "mean? !
Its not just the Cabraja incident, they pull players jersey,touch them,even spit from further back when we take a throw./shy
The Cabraga incident.
Its clear no ball boy is going to help,so Marijan trie to retrieve the ball that was in play from the smiley black haired Boys From Brazil lookalike .
But that sni=ggering clown wants a tug o war with the ball.
As that grapple goes on,the lunatic in the hertz top, folds his tongue in a raging fit and attempts to knock Marijans teeth out.
Not a clever laddie with all the camera exposure.
Clearly never a fighter either. Safety in numbers type.
Just a lonely wee bamstick seeking attention fae his peers,or he is mentally disturbed .
He should volunteer for counselling at the Royal Edinburgh,if that is the case. Hopefully that choice might not be in his hands now.
Aye they did. To avoid any wrath from the looneys
They do need to find some "safe space" for the VAR machine to be viewed.
Where to find space in that sardine tin is the problem.
The Wheatfield need demolishing and rebuilt.Its a health hazard .
In the meantime
One answer could be is to cover or remove a couple or 3 front rows on that stand.
Or like in the old days ,space some cops out on the track walking back and forth.
That would prevent the front row imbeciles touching players.
"mammy.Daddy touched a players bum today! What does "get a life "mean? !
Its not just the Cabraja incident, they pull players jersey,touch them,even spit from further back when we take a throw./shy
The Cabraga incident.
Its clear no ball boy is going to help,so Marijan trie to retrieve the ball that was in play from the smiley black haired Boys From Brazil lookalike .
But that sni=ggering clown wants a tug o war with the ball.
As that grapple goes on,the lunatic in the hertz top, folds his tongue in a raging fit and attempts to knock Marijans teeth out.
Not a clever laddie with all the camera exposure.
Clearly never a fighter either. Safety in numbers type.
Just a lonely wee bamstick seeking attention fae his peers,or he is mentally disturbed .
He should volunteer for counselling at the Royal Edinburgh,if that is the case. Hopefully that choice might not be in his hands now.
Removing seats would take their capacity below 20k and they will not want that…… no wait.
Most concerning thing is the lack of statement or comment from them regarding what has taken place (sorry if it’s already been addressed by them) if they choose not to say anything or comment I hope our board make sure this is addressed!
29-05-2023, 06:21 PM
Do Hearts still have their “Ultras” group or has it died it’s death?
If they were there on Saturday I’ve no idea what bit of the stadium they were in. Unless it was them freakish looking lads grappling with Crabaja?
29-05-2023, 06:27 PM
Do Hearts still have their “Ultras” group or has it died it’s death?
If they were there on Saturday I’ve no idea what bit of the stadium they were in. Unless it was them freakish looking lads grappling with Crabaja?
They are usually situated in the Roseburn stand I think so they don’t have their own section against us. I believe they have been given their own section behind the goals for next season.
hibbiedon
31-05-2023, 05:39 PM
I'd also like the club to express their concern at the policing outside the ground. They had a representative looking on.
I lodged an official. Complaint with police Scotland regarding this, they looked at video footage and agreed there was a problem and have organised a meeting with the match commander regarding this
PHeffernan
31-05-2023, 06:08 PM
You would have to tell them what you were concerned about.
31-05-2023, 06:15 PM
A really heavy hardback ideally.
31-05-2023, 07:33 PM
You would have to tell them what you were concerned about.
I and many others did. I was assured the matter would be raised at board level……
PHeffernan
31-05-2023, 07:38 PM
I and many others did. I was assured the matter would be raised at board level……
Policing outside the ground is nothing to do with the clubs.
You would have to complain to the Police about it.
31-05-2023, 08:03 PM
I lodged an official. Complaint with police Scotland regarding this, they looked at video footage and agreed there was a problem and have organised a meeting with the match commander regarding this
What was the issue? Apart from a bit of a queue and having a beer confiscated, we didnt have any problems - in fact the police were very friendly, had some banter for a change.
Paulie Walnuts
31-05-2023, 08:07 PM
No really got an issue with the ball boys doing what they did. Would expect us to do exactly the same. Up to the ref to manage it properly and he had absolutely zero control of it in the second half.
Did we not have something earlier in the season about LJ telling the ball boys to throw the ball on the pitch when the other team have possession to slow the game down? Or have I completely made that up?
31-05-2023, 08:08 PM
Did we not have something earlier in the season about LJ telling the ball boys to throw the ball on the pitch when the other team have possession to slow the game down? Or have I completely made that up?
you've made it up
Depends where outside it is tbh!
Bridge hibs
31-05-2023, 08:15 PM
Did we not have something earlier in the season about LJ telling the ball boys to throw the ball on the pitch when the other team have possession to slow the game down? Or have I completely made that up?From Lee Johnson - “If you watch Celtic ball boys, they are fantastic. They are drilled like Wimbledon ball boys!
“If they are 1-0 up with ten minutes to go, bang, two balls come on the pitch at once and it’s, ‘Oops, sorry’, Genius!
“But if they are behind or drawing, the ball is coming back rapid and the throws are incoming in five seconds
Johnson himself previously dubbed the tactic a stroke of genius and revealed plans to adopt a similar approach with the ball boys at Easter Road ahead of the Edinburgh derby against Hearts earlier this season.
31-05-2023, 10:08 PM
The club should be making representation on our behalf.
PHeffernan
01-06-2023, 03:31 AM
The club should be making representation on our behalf.
About what?
01-06-2023, 06:04 AM
About what?
The use of horses to control entry. People including kids being pushed from behind into them - could quite easily be done using a barrier.
I’m struggling to understand why the Match Commander would instruct the Horses to be used to control entry to the stadium. Stewarding supported by Police through a barrier system prior to entering the turnstiles is the norm.
Very high risk strategy imho
01-06-2023, 07:02 AM
I’m struggling to understand why the Match Commander would instruct the Horses to be used to control entry to the stadium. Stewarding supported by Police through a barrier system prior to entering the turnstiles is the norm.
Very high risk strategy imho
It was absolutely mental. If one of the horses had got spooked it could have caused a disaster. Officer on one of the horses was equally as confused by the approach.
Totally.
Entry to that dump has obviously been identified as a ‘pinch point’ and potential issue but to use horses in a confined area like that is strange.
I’ve never known horses to be used like this before and as I mentioned if they thought there was going to be an issue they etc they could have implemented a filtering system in an attempt to prevent issues.
As you’ve mentioned if a horse gets spooked the consequences could have been serious so why take that risk?
01-06-2023, 08:47 AM
Totally.
Entry to that dump has obviously been identified as a ‘pinch point’ and potential issue but to use horses in a confined area like that is strange.
I’ve never known horses to be used like this before and as I mentioned if they thought there was going to be an issue they etc they could have implemented a filtering system in an attempt to prevent issues.
As you’ve mentioned if a horse gets spooked the consequences could have been serious so why take that risk?
Horses have been used for the last few games at the entry point. They seem to be there to intimidate as I can't see how they could be used if there was an issue 50 yards away with hundreds of fans in between.
01-06-2023, 08:58 AM
About what?
Being treated like animals. Forcing over 3000 human beings to squeeze through a gap no more than a meter and a half between 2 horses after standing patiently in a totally unorganised rammy. This was after arriving very early, as requested. Did the 65000 Harry Styles fans half a mile away suffer the same treatment? We’re not all hooligans or flare throwing ultras. Most of us didn’t even get patted down. No wonder folk get bevvy & smoke bombs in. It was a complete shambles and all witnessed by the club’s security detail, who agreed it was way OTT.
01-06-2023, 09:00 AM
While we're at it can we set up the barriers at ER post OF/Hearts to force THEM to take a long and inconvenient route out of Leith (i.e. around Lochend Park or w/e) so that our support can get home at a normal pace? Y'know, like every other home stadium in the country? And if the police don't like that then **** it, keep away fans in for 30 minutes ala Ibrox.
It feels as though at every ground in the country we're inconvenienced for other fans, including our own stadium. Sick fed up of it.
01-06-2023, 09:04 AM
While we're at it can we set up the barriers at ER post OF/Hearts to force THEM to take a long and inconvenient route out of Leith (i.e. around Lochend Park or w/e) so that our support can get home at a normal pace? Y'know, like every other home stadium in the country? And if the police don't like that then **** it, keep away fans in for 30 minutes ala Ibrox.
It feels as though at every ground in the country we're inconvenienced for other fans, including our own stadium. Sick fed up of it.
I get why they do it that way at Easter Road. Could you imagine if we got out first and the top of Easter Road, Middletons, Mash Tun etc was full of Hibs fans as 3500 rabid Huns then had to walk up the road to their busses? It would be carnage. Get them out and away first. It’s happed for 30 odd years and ain’t going to change any time soon, unless they found an alternative spot to park their busses.
01-06-2023, 09:08 AM
I get why they do it that way at Easter Road. Could you imagine if we got out first and the top of Easter Road, Middletons, Mash Tun etc was full of Hibs fans as 3500 rabid Huns then had to walk up the road to their busses? It would be carnage. Get them out and away first. It’s happed for 30 odd years and ain’t going to change any time soon, unless they found an alternative spot to park their busses.
Agreed, but this wouldn't have been an issue if we'd moved to Straiton.
Petrie! :grr:
01-06-2023, 09:22 AM
They used to park their buses all the way down Easter Rd and along the links in the early 70s, that was fun.:tee hee: And there was many more thousands of them compared to now. :rolleyes:
PHeffernan
01-06-2023, 10:34 AM
Thanks, I missed all that. Sounds like overkill.
I was running late, arrived at 5 minutes to kick off, was right in and seated just before the start.
01-06-2023, 12:17 PM
Yes makes complete sense
Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2023, 12:18 PM
you've made it up
Judging by bridge hibs post I didn’t. I should have been clearer in my original post though that I meant when the ball was out of play, not just at random times during the game.
Peanut Shaz
01-06-2023, 12:34 PM
We came in from the Gorgie Road side and had to walk down to the bottom of the barriers and then back in the lane of barriers. We had to go past the horse and the policeman standing said "pick your moment". Not great.
02-06-2023, 01:52 PM
Judging by bridge hibs post I didn’t. I should have been clearer in my original post though that I meant when the ball was out of play, not just at random times during the game.
You are right, Johnson definitely wanted the ball boys to play a part in the game management, and I've no real issue with any club doing that.
Bridge hibs
02-06-2023, 01:57 PM
You are right, Johnson definitely wanted the ball boys to play a part in the game management, and I've no real issue with any club doing that.
Its the in thing now Matty isnt it, ball boys are more involved with clubs nowadays and are well drilled
In days of yore I would have been the wee lazy ***** ****er who would just let the ball roll past me, “och wee Clifford can ****ing run for that one” I wasnt called the tortoise just for the sake of it
02-06-2023, 02:27 PM
Playing a part is fine. Cheating is another. Their ball hoys were actively hiding balls, passing them to fans in the stand and kicking 2nd balls on the park. As were their bench, which was the main cause of the rammy at the end IMO.
02-06-2023, 04:02 PM
Playing a part is fine. Cheating is another. Their ball hoys were actively hiding balls, passing them to fans in the stand and kicking 2nd balls on the park. As were their bench, which was the mss as in cause of the rammy at the end IMO.
Ah I never saw that -yeah that's beyond what's acceptable.
Chorley Hibee
02-06-2023, 04:22 PM
Still nothing from Hearts on this matter?
02-06-2023, 05:08 PM
Hearts and Hibs charged by SFA
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/hearts-hibs-hit-sfa-charges-27047240
02-06-2023, 05:23 PM
Playing a part is fine. Cheating is another. Their ball hoys were actively hiding balls, passing them to fans in the stand and kicking 2nd balls on the park. As were their bench, which was the mss as in cause of the rammy at the end IMO.
Correct
Still nothing from Hearts on this matter?
Maybe they’ve passed the details to the police & wont announce anything till they’ve been caught or maybe they’d thinking hibs won’t tell us how we deal with our fans.
if the league were involved it might be a different ending
06-06-2023, 05:58 AM
Playing a part is fine. Cheating is another. Their ball hoys were actively hiding balls, passing them to fans in the stand and kicking 2nd balls on the park. As were their bench, which was the main cause of the rammy at the end IMO.
That really is pathetic getting kids to act like that. They should be hammered for that.
06-06-2023, 05:59 AM
How has the guy who punched Cabraja not been charged yet?
No comment from Queen Budge? Pretty poor.
HibeesLittleHel
06-06-2023, 10:27 AM
Now 10 days after the Match and nothing out of Tynecastle or from the Polis. Media also mute.
Can guarantee if that had happened at ER they, the SPL/SFA and the authorities would be all over it and the media would be publishing updates every ****** day!!
Get it sorted Petrie 😡
06-06-2023, 11:05 AM
Now 10 days after the March and nothing out of Tynecastle or from the Polis. Media also mute.
Can guarantee if that had happened at ER they, the SPL/SFA and the authorities would be all over it and the media would be publishing updates every ****** day!!
Get it sorted Petrie 😡
Hoping Hibs don’t just let this go, SPL should be involved
06-06-2023, 11:25 AM
Now 10 days after the March and nothing out of Tynecastle or from the Polis. Media also mute.
Get it sorted Petrie 😡
Yep the press would have been all over it much more than has been the case here.
06-06-2023, 11:35 AM
My wife’s Jambo season ticket holding mate was over the other day. She had the audacity to blame the hibs players and thought it was a disgrace we had issued a statement about it “when what Lee Johnson did was a million times worse”. I was speechless.
06-06-2023, 04:21 PM
Hoping Hibs don’t just let this go, SPL should be involved
I'm being serious - they need to remove the first 5 rows from that tinpot stadium to make it fit for purpose.
HibeesLittleHel
08-06-2023, 11:30 AM
Still nothin’ Heartz must have several Goblins trudging through their book of Orcs trying to ID the perp! Hibs should call them out for the ******* they are!
So WHU come out pretty might right away condemning their fans behaviour stating once identified they will be banned yet our Gorgie Chums still remain silent!
08-06-2023, 02:57 PM
So WHU come out pretty might right away condemning their fans behaviour stating once identified they will be banned yet our Gorgie Chums still remain silent!
Did they ever find the guy who threw the coin at Lennon?
Dunno.
I’m really hoping the club call them out for this.
08-06-2023, 03:00 PM
Dunno.
I’m really hoping the club call them out for this.
They didn't. Utterly amazed the guy hasn't been identified
They didn't. Utterly amazed the guy hasn't been identifiedEspecially when it's known he lives at 1313 Mockingbird Lane.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
08-06-2023, 07:29 PM
Wee bit sad this to be fair , Silence from Hearts is deafening , Basically thinking it's OK from their own fans to swing punches at Hibs players , Disgusting club and sums them up ! Hibs should be upping the ante and demanding answers
A horrible vile , grubby club
Chorley Hibee
08-06-2023, 07:42 PM
Wee bit sad this to be fair , Silence from Hearts is deafening , Basically thinking it's OK from their own fans to swing punches at Hibs players , Disgusting club and sums them up ! Hibs should be upping the ante and demanding answers
A horrible vile , grubby club
It will be interesting to see what Hibs do next.
Unfortunately, I suspect it will be nothing.
I couldn't help but think our statement was an attempt to quell the anger from many (myself included) after the board's silence post the Rangers game.
IMHO, they saw this as an opportunity to get people back onside, and show they could fight the club's corner so to speak.
What they didn't consider was Hearts being the ****my outfit they are and remaining silent on the matter.
Surely it's about time for an update from the club on the matter?
zitelli62
08-06-2023, 08:30 PM
I couldn't help but think our statement was an attempt to quell the anger from many (myself included) after the board's silence post the Rangers game.
IMHO, they saw this as an opportunity to get people back onside, and show they could fight the club's corner so to speak.
What they didn't consider was Hearts being the ****my outfit they are and remaining silent on the matter.
Don't know if this is a police matter or not maybe that's why they have been silent on the matter if not surely hibs will report this to the police as it was an assault and takes it out of hearts hands.
I would suggest it will be a Police matter and regardless that lot should have came out, condoned the incident and that they were supporting the Police to identify those responsible….. blah blah!
zitelli62
08-06-2023, 08:58 PM
I would suggest it will be a Police matter and regardless that lot should have came out, condoned the incident and that they were supporting the Police to identify those responsible….. blah blah!
True just wasn't sure if police were involved but you right a statement saying the person responsible will be banned but nothing disgusting club.
08-06-2023, 09:02 PM
What are you expecting the club to do? They made a statement condemning what happened and quite rightly so.
They aren't going to give a running commentary on it.
PHeffernan
08-06-2023, 11:13 PM
What are you expecting the club to do? They made a statement condemning what happened and quite rightly so.
It's funny seeing everyone wanting this matter played out publicly.
A belief that if they are not reading about it that it's somehow not being dealt with.
It's a matter for the two clubs and the player and if the Police are dealing with it they won't want the clubs babbling in public about it until it is resolved.
Chorley Hibee
09-06-2023, 07:20 AM
If Hearts are ignoring the matter, then I expect Hibs to call them out on it.
There's no point in the original statement if you're then going to back down when they ignore it.
When the Dundee Utd fan laid hands on an Aberdeen player earlier in the season, he was identified within hours and dealt with by both the club and authorities.
This idea it's all going on behind closed doors is nonsense IMHO. I don't believe for one minute Hearts have taken any action against the individuals involved, and I expect Hibs to respond should they continue to ignore the incident.
Chorley Hibee
09-06-2023, 07:27 AM
It's funny seeing everyone wanting this matter played out publicly.
A belief that if they are not reading about it that it's somehow not being dealt with.
It's a matter for the two clubs and the player and if the Police are dealing with it they won't want the clubs babbling in public about it until it is resolved.
Almost a fortnight now and still nothing.
How difficult can it be to find those involved?
Considering there's countless clear pictures of them in circulation, and they're occupying ticketed seats that have their details attached on a database.
Any other club would have condemned the incident immediately and vocally said they would assist in any investigation and subsequent punishment.
This is Hearts though.
If the police were dealing with it, there would have been arrests made by now and we'd have heard about it.
I don't believe anything is happening.
11-06-2023, 12:24 PM
Considering there's countless clear pictures of them in circulation, and they're occupying ticketed seats that have their details attached on a database.
Any other club would have condemned the incident immediately and vocally said they would assist in any investigation and subsequent punishment.
This is Hearts though.
If the police were dealing with it, there would have been arrests made by now and we'd have heard about it.
It's quite incredible that Hearts have said nothing
and even more incredible that Hibs - or the authorities - have not called them out for it.
11-06-2023, 12:31 PM
and even more incredible that Hibs - or the authorities - have not called them out for it.
Nothing increadible about it, this is Scotland in 2023.
12-06-2023, 08:22 AM
Hibs made a public statement.
We dont know what has been said and done in the background so far, Hibs might have spoken to them privately.
Also, Hibs may know that the police are looking into this and are about to pick people up.
Based on our initial statement, I dont see this just disappearing - despite what the WW1 winners might hope for.
PHeffernan
12-06-2023, 12:51 PM
This is Hearts though.
The issue is why do you or I need to be told what's happening.
Only the player and the club need to be kept informed of progress.
The club can update us at a later date if and when they feel it is appropriate.
Chorley Hibee
12-06-2023, 12:56 PM
The issue is why do you or I need to be told what's happening.
Only the player and the club need to be kept informed of progress.
The club can update us at a later date if and when they feel it is appropriate.
I don't think it's unreasonable to ask why there hasn't been an update on the matter, considering Hibs went public with their concerns in the first place.
If all this supposedly takes place behind closed doors, as many are suggesting, then there was absolutely no need for the public statement in the first place - as surely it could have been conducted in the manner you, and others, seem to think it is now being managed.
I genuinely hope you're correct on the matter, but I can't help but feel Hearts, and the police, aren't interested in dealing with it.
If I'm right, Hibs should be pursuing this vigorously and demanding answers.
PHeffernan
12-06-2023, 01:03 PM
I don't think it's unreasonable to ask why there hasn't been an update on the matter, considering Hibs went public with their concerns in the first place.
If all this supposedly takes place behind closed doors, as many are suggesting, then there was absolutely no need for the public statement in the first place - as surely it could have been conducted in the manner you and others seem to think it is now being
If I was being cynical I would say the matter is being kept under wraps until after The SFA disciplinary hearing regarding the after match fracas.
The hearing for both clubs will take place on June 29th.