Who is off then?

McKirdy
Henderson
Cabraja
Hoppe

Good starting point

27-05-2023, 01:52 PM
If someone wants to make an offer for Campbell I’d take it.

27-05-2023, 01:53 PM
Marshall first out the door.

Has he ever saved a shot by a hearts player?

27-05-2023, 01:54 PM
Who is off then?

McKirdy
Henderson
Cabraja
Hoppe

Newell

27-05-2023, 01:54 PM
Who is off then?

McKirdy
Henderson
Cabraja
Hoppe

Some of our worst players are on contracts they should never have got. Henderson the obvious one. Struggled whilst on loan in the lower leagues and boom... 3 years. McKirdy, no goals no assists this year. Can see why we thought it was a good singing. Hasn't worked out. Difficult to move him on. 3 year contract. Cabraja I'd imagine might be easier to move on. More so as he may like to play closer to home. Still he's on a 3 year contract. Some players won't want to move.

27-05-2023, 01:55 PM
That was one of the worst performances I’ve seen in a hibs jersey from Cabraja

Really? Thought he was one of the only subs who was fine. McKirdy, Hendo, and Campbell all very poor.

supermcginn
27-05-2023, 01:56 PM
Campbell hopefully

27-05-2023, 01:57 PM
Aye wouldn’t be fussed for Campbell leaving if we get offered anything

27-05-2023, 01:58 PM
Newell

Not a chance.

Wouldn’t be surprised to see JDH leave.

27-05-2023, 01:59 PM
McKirdy
Campbell
Cabraja
Newell
Henderson
JDH
Marshall
Nisbet - Might stay for more moeny it the City Group buy us!
Devlin
Hoppe
Delfierrie
Kenneh
Tavares
Bojang - if not already gone
Melkerson
Tait
Mackay
Mclelland
McGeady

Have I missed anyone? Allsoft as s**t so bye bye.

*Edit - LJ too!

27-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Newell

Got to be joking - in the running for Hibs POTY

27-05-2023, 02:04 PM

His 2nd half performance was absolutely pathetic.

Frequently seen dropping into a sweeper role deeper than Hanlon and Fish to "influence" the match.

Best midfielder was have is JDH and he's not very good or fit often enough.

27-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Johnson has made a grand total of 20 signings this season. How many would you keep for next season. For me, Boyle, Egan-Riley, Fish, Youan and Bushiri. Two of my 5 barely contributed this season through injury.
It’s a shocking return on the money spent. Are we going to let him sign another 20 players next season? Where does it end?

Cabraja
Henderson
Kenneh
Marshall
McGeady
Mclelland
Miller
Tavares
Bojang
Egan-Riley
Fish
Hoppe
Kukharevych
Schofield
Youan
Boyle
Bushiri
Devlin
Jeggo
McKirdy

hibee19
27-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Maybe right after that game isn't the best time to take a measured view of who needs cleared out.

Sent from my M2007J20CG using Tapatalk

27-05-2023, 02:06 PM
Manager as well hopefully 👍🏼

Season now finished and I'm calling this out as a pure dip**** comment. We have improved under Johnson and our league position demonstrates that beyond any shadow of a doubt.
We have a lot of eejits like you in our support who would not be satisfied if we signed the f-ing messiah as manager. Wind yer f-in necks in, admit you were wrong and give credit where it is due.

ShetlandHibby
27-05-2023, 02:08 PM
Start with that wee dwarf. Absolutely nae class.

cekim
27-05-2023, 02:08 PM
Be easier to make a list of who would we keep. You could write it on the back of a stamp.

27-05-2023, 02:09 PM
Not a chance.

Wouldn’t be surprised to see JDH leave.

JDH is a better player than Newell, we severely missed him after he went off.

27-05-2023, 02:10 PM

Think you need to take a look at yourself when talking about having “nae class”.

27-05-2023, 02:10 PM

hahahaha 😂

sorrow sorrow
27-05-2023, 02:12 PM
McKirdy,cabraja,jeggo and henderson would be a good place to start.
Just not good enough

27-05-2023, 02:12 PM
Season now finished and I'm calling this out as a pure dip**** comment. We have improved under Johnson and our league position demonstrates that beyond any shadow of a doubt.
We have a lot of eejits like you in our support who would not be satisfied if we signed the f-ing messiah as manager. Wind yer f-in necks in, admit you were wrong and give credit where it is due.

We didn’t improve as much as Aberdeen did and that’s with the manager signing 20 players.

27-05-2023, 02:13 PM
Get rid of all the injury prone. And on loan subs. Kevin. And Cadden, he's had his best years with us. Get Will fish loan extension.

27-05-2023, 02:20 PM
Sell for cash:

Campbell
Nisbet

Bin or shift on:

Magennis
McKirdy
Henderson
Tavares
Cabraja
Kenneh
Doidge
Mackay
Hoppe
Hauge
Melkerson?
Marshall?

What a ridiculous situation to be in on the transfer front...12 players who are contracted and more than likely need shifted on if we want to improve.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

27-05-2023, 02:23 PM
Big summer ahead for Brian McDermott

1875Sean
27-05-2023, 02:24 PM
Sell for cash:

Campbell
Nisbet

Bin or shift on:

Magennis
McKirdy
Henderson
Tavares
Cabraja
Kenneh
Doidge
Mackay
Hoppe
Hauge
Melkerson?
Marshall?

What a ridiculous situation to be in on the transfer front...12 players who are contracted and more than likely need shifted on if we want to improve.

Who is going to buy Campbell for cash?

'mon the beers
27-05-2023, 02:37 PM
We need 2 full backs, another centre half, a sitting midfielder who can pass the ball to a Hibs player, and a centre forward,

We need shot of -

Cabraja
Cadden
Jeggo
Henderson
Tavares
McKirdy
Campbell
Magennis- just never fit

Melkerson could potentially be our number 9 if Nisbet is away and Doidge could be a back up option.

LunasBoots
27-05-2023, 02:38 PM
A few need to go, we need to bring in players who can do something on the pitch far to many are too similar

27-05-2023, 02:44 PM
We need 2 full backs, another centre half, a sitting midfielder who can pass the ball to a Hibs player, and a centre forward,

We need shot of -

Cabraja
Cadden
Jeggo
Henderson
Tavares
McKirdy
Campbell
Magennis- just never fit

Melkerson could potentially be our number 9 if Nisbet is away and Doidge could be a back up option.

Doidge is gone. No way he is staying.

27-05-2023, 02:47 PM
Who is going to buy Campbell for cash?Rumours a few weeks back there are teams looking at him

HFC93
27-05-2023, 02:48 PM
Who is going to buy Campbell for cash?

Wigan tried to buy him in January

27-05-2023, 02:49 PM
No chance I'd want to get rid of Cadden

Miller and cadden we are good for the right hand side

I'd be wanting an upgrade on

Henderson
Campbell
Cabraja
Jdh (he's actually OK but we need better for the squad but I'd keep him)

A new number 9

And probably some more power and strength up top as it gives us options

We will also need atleast 1 new centre half and possibly a keeper

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

27-05-2023, 02:49 PM
Who is off then?

McKirdy
Henderson
Cabraja
Hoppe

You missed out on the manager, he needs to go as well.

27-05-2023, 02:51 PM
Probably see more of them getting contract extensions than leaving.

LJ thinks we've got a strong squad and only needs a couple of better players for options off the bench.

1875Sean
27-05-2023, 02:55 PM
Rumours a few weeks back there are teams looking at him

Sure it was more than a few weeks ago, was it not more like the start of the season when he was scoring goals, any scouts at a game recently isn’t going back to their club and say buy him

supermcginn
27-05-2023, 02:55 PM
JDH is a better player than Newell, we severely missed him after he went off.

I'd agree with that, been quite impressed with him further up the park. Newell can go anytime for me.

27-05-2023, 02:57 PM
We need 2 strikers, at least one winger, 2 midfield. 1 LB 1 CB. 2 goalies. At least.

27-05-2023, 02:57 PM
Doidge is gone. No way he is staying.
If we had to keep one to make up numbers, I’d take Doidge over Melkersen.

tamh
27-05-2023, 02:59 PM
Manager as well hopefully 👍🏼
Totally out of his depth

27-05-2023, 03:11 PM
If we had to keep one to make up numbers, I’d take Doidge over Melkersen.

I'd take neither as it stands.

Shouldn't be signing or keeping players to make up numbers. That's part of the reason why Hibs are mediocre. We've given Magennis a lenthy contract when injured and brought Devlin in to essentially give him somewhere to train.

Hibs are a soft touch and make soft decisions.

27-05-2023, 03:13 PM
Only ones worth keeping

Cadden
Stevenson
Hanlon
Fish
Miller
JDH
Boyle
Youan
Myk
Newell (just)

The rest should go.

ElginHibbie
27-05-2023, 03:16 PM
Only ones worth keeping

Cadden
Stevenson
Hanlon
Fish
Miller
JDH
Boyle
Youan
Myk
Newell (just)

The rest should go.

If including loanees not including CJ?

I'd add Rocky to that list as well

27-05-2023, 03:16 PM
I'd keep Youan, Boyle, Lewy, Hanlon.

The rest can go. Not including the loanees in this.

'mon the beers
27-05-2023, 03:17 PM
Totally out of his depth

Is he though? I would say he’s done what is expected with a bang average squad. Injuries haven’t helped at all and we now have a DOF in that will support him in the transfer market to avoid mistakes like Bojang, Tavares etc

27-05-2023, 03:20 PM
Genuinely, of the squad today 3 quarters can go imo.

Plus we have another 11 (almost) of guys injured, out on loan or not involved today who aren't good enough.

It needs to be a very busy summer at ER.

hibIBZ
27-05-2023, 03:26 PM
Cabraja
Henderson
McKirdy
Tavares
Kenneh
Kuhareych- looked good but needs to get over injuries, not sure he will be back
Hoppe- done very little to bother about trying to get back
Magennis- Good player but what's the point if he can't get fit and stay fit
McGeady-done OK, but think time is up for somebody who was a good player.
Campbell- would let go for a 6 figure offer, but decent squad player.

Nisbet I think will want a move, which is fair, he's done well for us and hopefully we get a bit of cash.
Delfierre will be away unless he is going to get game time.

For JDH and Newell read Campbell, any offer and they can go, they are OK but I imo we can do better

27-05-2023, 03:33 PM
Cabraja
Henderson
McKirdy
Tavares
Kenneh
Kuhareych- looked good but needs to get over injuries, not sure he will be back
Hoppe- done very little to bother about trying to get back
Magennis- Good player but what's the point if he can't get fit and stay fit
McGeady-done OK, but think time is up for somebody who was a good player.
Campbell- would let go for a 6 figure offer, but decent squad player.

Nisbet I think will want a move, which is fair, he's done well for us and hopefully we get a bit of cash.
Delfierre will be away unless he is going to get game time.

For JDH and Newell read Campbell, any offer and they can go, they are OK but I imo we can do better

Given his absolutely shocking record in the transfer market, do we trust Johnson with the rebuild?

27-05-2023, 03:35 PM
Given his absolutely shocking record in the transfer market, do we trust Johnson with the rebuild?

Is it shocking? He brought in Boyle, CJ, Fish, Jeggo Mykola as well.

27-05-2023, 03:37 PM

Is McDermott not going to be in charge now? We absolutely can't let whoever was in charge last summer lead this year - it's a massive job cleaning up the mess from last year and we need to get a lot of the big signings right.

I still can't believe we've spent a total of £600k+ on McKirdy and Melkerson. And our midfield is still Campbell, JDH and Newell. And 35 year old Lewis Stevenson is our 1st choice left back.

LunasBoots
27-05-2023, 03:37 PM

Yes, he has other people behind the scenes now to help with the rebuild and identifying players

AL-Qaholik
27-05-2023, 03:39 PM
Would genuinely be quicker to list those I think should stay.

Would bin;
Kensell
Johnson
Marshall
Cadden
Hanlon
McClelland
Cabraja
Jeggo
Henderson
Newell
Doyle-Hayes
Campbell
McKirdy
Tavares
Melkerson
Doidge
Hauge
Tait
Kenneh

How we’ve ended up with this squad is truly confounding.

27-05-2023, 03:45 PM
Is it shocking? He brought in Boyle, CJ, Fish, Jeggo Mykola as well.

Mykolaiv played 11 games this season. Hardly a great signing.
Jeggo isn’t a great player but he does make the team better when he plays because you need someone to do the dirty work. For what we pay, we could get better to do that job.

LewysGot2
27-05-2023, 03:46 PM
Newell

Next joke...

27-05-2023, 03:47 PM

Are all dwarfs not wee? Classless post though

badabing67
27-05-2023, 03:47 PM
McKirdy,cabraja,jeggo and henderson would be a good place to start.
Just not good enough

If you through in Marshall that would be a better place to start

27-05-2023, 03:48 PM
Mykolaiv played 11 games this season. Hardly a great signing.
Jeggo isn’t a great player but he does make the team better when he plays because you need someone to do the dirty work. For what we pay, we could get better to do that job.

Cracking player though. Not LJ's fault he got injured. If he had all his signings available we'd have finished 3rd.

27-05-2023, 04:05 PM
Cracking player though. Not LJ's fault he got injured. If he had all his signings available we'd have finished 3rd.

Surely that would apply to Aberdeen and Hearts as well though? A good place to start is not signing players who are already injured.

27-05-2023, 04:06 PM
Maybe right after that game isn't the best time to take a measured view of who needs cleared out.

Sent from my M2007J20CG using Tapatalk

Indeed. We need to strengthen & some players are just not good enough but the idea of a wholesale clearout isn't necessary (IMO) & it's not going to happen anyway. We
can't afford to clear out an entire squad & replace it with a better one.
Today was deeply annoying but, for example, I think if we'd had better options on the bench than Henderson & McKirdy we would have won that game.
Ended up 2 points behind that shower; we are not as far away as it might feel just now.

27-05-2023, 04:08 PM
Indeed. We need to strengthen & some players are just not good enough but the idea of a wholesale clearout isn't necessary (IMO) & it's not going to happen anyway. We
can't afford to clear out an entire squad & replace it with a better one.
Today was deeply annoying but, for example, I think if we'd had better options on the bench than Henderson & McKirdy we would have won that game.
Ended up 2 points behind that shower; we are not as far away as it might feel just now.

You don’t think they might also be trying to improve?

27-05-2023, 04:12 PM
Aberdeen and Hearts are going to leave us behind unless we get serious on our squad.

McGeady and Magennis are 2 scandalous signings. On paper great, in reality crippled.

Devlin? Same story.

Genuinely looks like we are handing out contracts like sweets.

Campbell did next to nothing and got a contract extension. JDH had just signed for us but got a new contract in 6months.

27-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Next joke...

I wish it was a joke. We win more games and we score more goals when Newell doesn’t play. That 2nd half today is a perfect example of how blunt we are offensively when we have him initiating our attacking play.

27-05-2023, 04:25 PM
Totally out of his depth

No he isnt

27-05-2023, 04:34 PM
I wish it was a joke. We win more games and we score more goals when Newell doesn’t play. That 2nd half today is a perfect example of how blunt we are offensively when we have him initiating our attacking play.

Correlation does not imply causation.

27-05-2023, 04:35 PM
Totally out of his depth

No he isn't

27-05-2023, 05:11 PM
Correlation does not imply causation.

I didn’t say it did. As per the 2nd sentence of my post though, anyone with a pair of eyes who has watched us over the last few years can see that using Joe Newell as our playmaker doesn’t work.

27-05-2023, 05:12 PM
There will be no clear out and we will start the first game of next season with at least one player everyone wants gone.

RossScott1991
27-05-2023, 05:17 PM
Mental to think some on here think Campbell is good enough for Scotland caps everytime he scores a couple of goals.

Maintained throughout hes gash and at best squad player. Midfield has been a problem ever since Jack Ross put Newell JDH and Campbell together v rangers and semi and they got a big win. Been unable to shift them since

27-05-2023, 05:19 PM
Mental to think some on here think Campbell is good enough for Scotland caps everytime he scores a couple of goals.

Maintained throughout hes gash and at best squad player. Midfield has been a problem ever since Jack Ross put Newell JDH and Campbell together v rangers and semi and they got a big win. Been unable to shift them since

Central midfield has been a problem since the summer of 2018.

27-05-2023, 05:25 PM
There will be no clear out and we will start the first game of next season with at least one player everyone wants gone.

Don’t

27-05-2023, 05:26 PM
I didn’t say it did. As per the 2nd sentence of my post though, anyone with a pair of eyes who has watched us over the last few years can see that using Joe Newell as our playmaker doesn’t work.

That’s because he isn’t one, whatever other strengths he may or may not have.

27-05-2023, 05:28 PM
https://youtu.be/7mPl1EHYGFA

Johnson seems to think we’ve done well.[emoji849]

Paul1642
27-05-2023, 05:32 PM
It’s safe to say that half the posters in this form seem to suffer from severe knee jerk reactions.

Of the top 6 teams we have taken the second most points behind only rangers. We just drew at Tynie, never a bad result. Onwards and upwards

27-05-2023, 05:51 PM
Don’t

It's just what we do.

HendoDelivered
27-05-2023, 05:56 PM

Seems to sounds like we could have got CJ back but his injury will keep him out for 3/4 months.

Dmas
27-05-2023, 05:56 PM

Considering we’re constantly being told how poor we’ve been and how useless the squad is and then how all conquering hearts have been the fact it’s been taken to last game is quite good IMO

Probably our best top 6 points tally in a decade, we’ve lost once in our last 6 games and those mugs haven’t beaten us in 2 now

27-05-2023, 06:37 PM

:clown:

Stubbsy90+2
27-05-2023, 06:58 PM

There was people on here the other week claiming it would be terrible business to sell him for less than £2-3m and that he had the potential to be the next John McGinn :faf:

If anyone wants to give us a half decent fee for Campbell, say north of £700k, I’d bite their hands off.

28-05-2023, 10:54 AM
Rumours a few weeks back there are teams looking at him

Doubtful they still will after they looked.

Basildon Hibs
28-05-2023, 10:58 AM
McKirdy
Campbell
Cabraja
Newell
Henderson
JDH
Marshall
Devlin
Hoppe
Delfierrie
Kenneh
Tavares
Melkerson
Tait
Mackay
Mclelland
McGeady

*Edit - LJ too!

Spot on. 👊👍

28-05-2023, 11:24 AM
The back four that started yesterday give us a decent starting point if we can get Fish back. Anyone else can go to free up space so that we can look to improve on the four from yesterday.

We need to lose at least three of Campbell, Jeggo and JDH, Kenneh and Henderson. I’m not Newell’s biggest fan but he’s better than the others. We absolutely have to sort the midfield properly.

On the basis Nisbet will be sold, I’d keep Youan and Boyle. Anyone else can go in the forward areas.

28-05-2023, 11:47 AM
Some the comments on here are ridiculous. We are nowhere near as bad as some are trying to make out. If KN scored the penalty at Aberdeen and we took one of chances yesterday we would have been third with glory and cash that comes with it. Small margins make big differences in games. I'm sure Hibs will improve next year under LJ

28-05-2023, 12:01 PM
McKirdy
Campbell
Cabraja
Newell
Henderson
JDH
Marshall
Devlin
Hoppe
Delfierrie
Kenneh
Tavares
Melkerson
Tait
Mackay
Mclelland
McGeady

*Edit - LJ too!

Would pay good money to watch you tell Devlin he is "soft as ****".

1875Sean
28-05-2023, 12:03 PM
Some the comments on here are ridiculous. We are nowhere near as bad as some are trying to make out. If KN scored the penalty at Aberdeen and we took one of chances yesterday we would have been third with glory and cash that comes with it. Small margins make big differences in games. I'm sure Hibs will improve next year under LJ

Exactly, 5 points of third, LJ already said he needs more strength from off the bench, I agree getting rid of the guys who are on loans and most who were in the bench yesterday but I doubt we will get rid of the likes of Marshall, newell etc

28-05-2023, 12:03 PM
Would pay good money to watch you tell Devlin he is "soft as ****".

How much money?

DIXIHIBS
28-05-2023, 12:24 PM
Aberdeen and Hearts are going to leave us behind unless we get serious on our squad.

McGeady and Magennis are 2 scandalous signings. On paper great, in reality crippled.

Devlin? Same story.

Genuinely looks like we are handing out contracts like sweets.

Campbell did next to nothing and got a contract extension. JDH had just signed for us but got a new contract in 6months.

Hertz were going to leave us behind this season after all the millions pouring into them. How did that work out? Scraping a draw on last game of season to stay above a very average hibs team. We played aberdeen off the park last week despite only drawing. We will improve next season i believe but no one is going to leave anyone else behind imho.

28-05-2023, 01:28 PM
I'm not even that fussed about getting fees for half of these players.

28-05-2023, 01:36 PM
I'm not even that fussed about getting fees for half of these players.

Which is lucky because…..

28-05-2023, 01:57 PM
Which is lucky because…..

OK maybe not half but a few I wouldn't be fussed if they was told they could leave and find a new club in the summer. Cabraja and Jair two for starters.

Of course business wise it don't make sense and if we do manage to get rid of a lot of fringe players etc for a fee then would be handy.

28-05-2023, 05:15 PM
Whatever happens there will be no influx of players capable of improving this team unless we can ship out at the very least 7 players. It sounds mental but it might even be the case that Melkerson and McKirdy could be offered to other clubs for nothing, OK we lose a pile of cash on them, but it might be worth it simply to free up their wages because so far they have contributed nothing and it doesn't look like that's going to change. If Melkersen had been ripping it up in Holland I'm sure we would have heard about it by now.

Even if we do keep some of the players on the lengthy lists folk have posted on this thread, for example ones on lengthy contracts its hard to shift, they have to be sat down on return to pre season training and have it made clear to them that if their 'contribution' remains at the level it has been then there's absolutely no chance of a new contract when the current one runs out.

28-05-2023, 05:44 PM
My main concern is that the ones we need to move on most, we have least chance of shifting and they’ve already been rejecting moves away on loan.

Interesting summer lies ahead. I’m convinced we actually have a few decent players and with the correct additions we could have a good season next season.

We certainly need the odd first pick as we’ll also need to replace a few significant departures but we really can’t afford to be finding ourselves with a squad as lacking in depth as the current one.

Hibiza
28-05-2023, 06:21 PM
McKirdy
Campbell
Cabraja
Newell
Henderson
JDH
Marshall
Devlin
Hoppe
Delfierrie
Kenneh
Tavares
Melkerson
Tait
Mackay
Mclelland
McGeady

*Edit - LJ too!

Spot on 👍

Donegal Hibby
28-05-2023, 08:26 PM
Agree , we have improved on last year and with better recruitment we will improve again for next year under LJ who has the team playing some really good attacking football at times this season.

31-05-2023, 08:23 AM
Released

Kevin Dabrowski

Mikey Devlin

Aiden McGeady

Tom Carter

Josh McCulloch

Returns to parent club at end of loan

CJ Egan-Riley

Will Fish

Matthew Hoppe

Mykola Kuharevich

31-05-2023, 08:24 AM
Was hoping for more but I guess player under contract are more difficult. It’s a start.

31-05-2023, 08:42 AM
^^ Pleased with this, it's a good start.

The signings of McGeady and Devlin should be a warning to the club when thinking of signing older players in future. A total waste of money.

31-05-2023, 08:43 AM

The signings of McGeady and Devlin should be a warning to the club when thinking of signing older players in future. A total waste of money.

McGeady yeah, but Devlin wasn't signed to play ahead of Hanlon and Fish.

SickBoy32
31-05-2023, 08:48 AM
McGeady yeah, but Devlin wasn't signed to play ahead of Hanlon and Fish.

You think Devlin was money well spent? (irrespective of the seemingly low wage Devlin was on)

As you say he wasn't expected to be a starter, however - if we'd signed a fit centre half in Jan, they maybe could have played at Tannadice when we lost (when CJ was at centre half, bemoaned by the manger)

Devlin was a very odd signing, and the fact it appears he's now on a pay as you play deal at Livi shows we've made an (another) error there

Hoping Brian can get this squad sorted out over the next couple months

31-05-2023, 08:56 AM
Real shame about McGeady as he is clearly quality but his body is just not up to it anymore.

Chorley Hibee
31-05-2023, 09:01 AM
Spot on 👍

Hauge too.

31-05-2023, 09:04 AM
You think Devlin was money well spent? (irrespective of the seemingly low wage Devlin was on)

As you say he wasn't expected to be a starter, however - if we'd signed a fit centre half in Jan, they maybe could have played at Tannadice when we lost (when CJ was at centre half, bemoaned by the manger)

Devlin was a very odd signing, and the fact it appears he's now on a pay as you play deal at Livi shows we've made an (another) error there

Hoping Brian can get this squad sorted out over the next couple months

Yeah I do. If Hanlon, Fish or both had got injured on top of the injury to Rocky who would have played at centre back?

It's a squad game and you need depth.

Is he on a pay as you play at Livi? I can't see that anywhere it just says he can trigger a 3 year extension.

31-05-2023, 09:07 AM
Released

Kevin Dabrowski

Mikey Devlin

Aiden McGeady

Tom Carter

Josh McCulloch

Returns to parent club at end of loan

CJ Egan-Riley

Will Fish

Matthew Hoppe

Mykola Kuharevich

It's a start.

SickBoy32
31-05-2023, 09:18 AM
Yeah I do. If Hanlon, Fish or both had got injured on top of the injury to Rocky who would have played at centre back?

Is he on a pay as you play at Livi? I can't see that anywhere it just says he can trigger a 3 year extension.

Haha in what way did he provide value for money? There was an obvious opportunity for Devlin to play at Tannadice, but he was deemed unfit - what's the point in signing him if he's not fit to play when required?

FWIW, I'd be comfortable having a core of quality players supplemented by our youth team, no need to sign unfit players to provide 'depth'

Re the pay as you play - I was just going off what scoopy had mentioned above previously, normally a good poster

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-05-2023, 09:40 AM
Real shame about McGeady as he is clearly quality but his body is just not up to it anymore.

Aye, it’s a sin because he’s clearly still got it. Was easily one of the best players that I’ve ever seen play in Scotland back in the day but his body is giving up on him now. Would be as well retiring to the boozers of Coatbridge and getting on the smokers circuit at this point, just isn’t fit often enough unfortunately because when he was he could still turn on the magic.

31-05-2023, 09:58 AM

Devlin isn't an older player, he is only 29

31-05-2023, 10:01 AM
Hope McGeady gets fit and we resign him

31-05-2023, 10:28 AM

Not going to happen.

31-05-2023, 10:34 AM
Mcgeady was an experiment which unfortunately never worked out as much as we had hoped.

Tbf he did have a few good games for us and I wish him well whatever he decides to do next.

WestStandWillie
31-05-2023, 11:36 AM

One way to see a few season tickets returned. Boy's a crock. Complete wage thief who's only interested in appearing on Celtic TV

31-05-2023, 11:45 AM
One way to see a few season tickets returned. Boy's a crock. Complete wage thief who's only interested in appearing on Celtic TV

What a crock that is.

31-05-2023, 11:47 AM
Mcgeady was an experiment which unfortunately never worked out as much as we had hoped.

Tbf he did have a few good games for us and I wish him well whatever he decides to do next.

Kind of where I am. Can't see it happening to be fair but personally wouldn't be immune to him resigning. Enjoyed watching him play

31-05-2023, 11:47 AM

A wage thief because he broke his foot and pulled a hamstring?

31-05-2023, 11:51 AM

Wage thief is chronic patter. Played more games than Boyle this season, is he a wage thief?

31-05-2023, 11:51 AM

Wage thief. The worst phrase ever to appear on hibs net.

He is injured a lot so it's right we don't re-sign him. Calling him a wage thief however is both inaccurate and so disrespectful.
I'm sure the guy would rather be fit and playing.

Stubbsy90+2
31-05-2023, 11:54 AM

An opportunity to play Devlin came along and it turned out he wasn’t fit enough so Egan-Riley played there and then the manager moaned about it.

Devlin didn’t provide and depth as he was never fit enough to play.

31-05-2023, 11:56 AM

Agree, even when he played he didn't exactly set the heather alight. Finished, well rid of what will have been a big wage.

Clarence
31-05-2023, 11:56 AM

A crock o gold?

31-05-2023, 12:03 PM

Why would anybody return their season ticket over this?

31-05-2023, 12:11 PM
Agree, even when he played he didn't exactly set the heather alight. Finished, well rid of what will have been a big wage.

Despite the fact we played our best football when the wage thief was in the team.

31-05-2023, 12:30 PM

Each to their own but I thought he was very good, and that brief spell when he was fit and contributing a few months back really helped us to turn our season around.

Donegal Hibby
31-05-2023, 12:30 PM
Totally hate the term " wage thief " . Good player who had some good performance and gave his all for our club just unfortunate with injuries and it's poor stuff imo in calling the guy wage thief. Wish him well .

31-05-2023, 12:32 PM
Totally hate the term " wage thief " . Good player who had some good performance and gave his all for our club just unfortunate with injuries and it's poor stuff imo in calling the guy wage thief. Wish him well .

I don’t agree that McGeady was one, Demetri Mitchell on the other hand….

Donegal Hibby
31-05-2023, 12:50 PM
I don’t agree that McGeady was one, Demetri Mitchell on the other hand….
I don't think I will ever understand the term " wage thief " about any player tbh . Most of the time the club wants the player and offers him a contract , it's not the players fault and even if he gets injured it's just bad luck and not the player being a thief wages . Calling a injured player a wage thief is never justifiable and always wrong imo . If I could do away with one term on the Hibs net it would be " wage thief". Absolutely hate tbh .

31-05-2023, 12:53 PM

Utter pish.

31-05-2023, 12:54 PM

Mair pish.

Groathillgrump
31-05-2023, 01:17 PM

I always laugh when I see this Season Ticket returned pish.

Has anyone on here ever returned a Season Ticket because of a player signing?

I'll wait....

31-05-2023, 01:19 PM
I don't think I will ever understand the term " wage thief " about any player tbh . Most of the time the club wants the player and offers him a contract , it's not the players fault and even if he gets injured it's just bad luck and not the player being a thief wages . Calling an injured player a wage thief is never justifiable and always wrong imo . If I could do away with one term on the Hibs net it would be " wage thief". Absolutely hate tbh .

I don’t disagree about injured players, but Mitchell looked totally disinterested and seemed more about promoting his fashion line than actually playing football.

itslegaltender
31-05-2023, 01:24 PM
to me, it told me everything about McGeady (and Nisbet) that when it was our first game of the season up in Perth, they were pictured getting pished in Glasgow on the Saturday afternoon. It was a punt by Johnson and the board that failed miserably.

Widhibs
31-05-2023, 01:41 PM
Nohan Kenneh, Christian Doidge, Elias Melkersen, Daniel Mackay all returning I see.

Victor
31-05-2023, 01:51 PM
Nohan Kenneh, Christian Doidge, Elias Melkersen, Daniel Mackay all returning I see.

They’ll be returning because they have contracts, you can’t just tell contracted players they can leave as you still have to pay them. Whether or not they will be here at the start of the new season is another matter. I am sure that there will be efforts made to move some on, but paying off a contract is a last resort.

31-05-2023, 01:52 PM

As they were always going to. Whether they are still here when they return to training though...

Some of the posts on the first page of this thread are proper cringe, guess that's heavily down to how close it was after the match.

Assume it was picked up elsewhere in the thread but LJ did not sign a few of the players listed within the 20 and I doubt he had too much to do with a few others even after he was brought in.

There's still time for some players like McKirdy, Magennis, Tavares even Henderson to turn it round. Sure if we're offered something for them it'd be hard to turn down but we don't just pay them off.

31-05-2023, 01:53 PM
hahahaha 😂

Newell voted POTY by players and fans alike.

DESERVEDLY

31-05-2023, 02:46 PM
Some horrific posts on this thread.

31-05-2023, 03:16 PM
McGeady's age made his injury riddled lack of fitness/playing time highly predictable. Wasn't a "wage thief" by any stretch of the imagination though

31-05-2023, 03:23 PM

So we're not getting a seven figure sum for Elias then? Never in a million years (excuse the pun) did i think we would, but seems an utterly bizarre loan. 9 minutes or something he played?

Hibees1973
31-05-2023, 03:45 PM
McGeady must have been a signing authorised by Johnson.

Played for him Sunderland and had an horrific injury record for the last couple of years.

His age and injury record should have been red flags to the recruitment team and shouldn't have been signed.

Only positive is that he was only on a one year contract. We have loads of players who have contributed nothing who are sitting on 3-4 year contracts who will be very difficult to move on. Will be very expensive to write off the contracts for the likes of Henderson, Tavares & McKirdy.

Hibees1973
31-05-2023, 03:46 PM
So we're not getting a seven figure sum for Elias then? Never in a million years (excuse the pun) did i think we would, but seems an utterly bizarre loan. 9 minutes or something he played?

I forget about some of these players.

Home many ineffectual players do we have. Loads.

31-05-2023, 03:56 PM
We’re in a fairly bad situation where we need to upgrade a whole lot of our squad but lots of them are on big contracts.

I fear we will be paying for last summer for some time.

If you think about our starting defensive line for next season, as it stands.

Marshall (I would keep as backup).

Cadden - out for a while, but I would like better. He would have be good for the bench, some fairly strong SPFL bench player.
Miller - unsure about, verging on keep.

Hanlon -keep. Get better and get him on the bench.
Rocky - let go. Not good enough.

Stevenson - keep for the bench.
Cab - let go.

That’s what I would do with the back line. There’s no way that will be possible because you can go through the whole squad and say that.

I really do feel like it is a shambles. It’s going to cost a lot of money to propel this squad forward.

We have decent SPFL standard players who I would be totally sound with being on the bench, but to go forward I think we need better.

That’s my tuppence worth.

01-06-2023, 01:01 PM
Some horrific posts on this thread.

No kidding - some very bitter and curmudgeonly personalities out there.

01-06-2023, 01:03 PM

LJ wanted to cut the first team squad numbers to a manageable size and that's why the likes of Melkerson were farmed out. He may yet come good although I'd agree that loan won't have done much for his development.

01-06-2023, 01:13 PM
LJ wanted to cut the first team squad numbers to a manageable size and that's why the likes of Melkerson were farmed out. He may yet come good although I'd agree that loan won't have done much for his development.

I don't think he even played that much when he was on loan, sporadic sub appearances at best. Did he even score a goal in Holland?

jakeshibs
01-06-2023, 01:15 PM
His 2nd half performance was absolutely pathetic.

Frequently seen dropping into a sweeper role deeper than Hanlon and Fish to "influence" the match.

Best midfielder was have is JDH and he's not very good or fit often enough.

JDH is not good enough for hibs

01-06-2023, 01:36 PM

A loan to Dunfermline in the Championship could be a shout for him next season. I've not completely given up hope on him but he's not good enough for our first team yet.

25-10-2023, 09:51 AM
What’s everyone’s thoughts on Montgomery shaping the squad in January and the summer? More interestingly, and more positively, what youngsters are in the frame to step up to the squad and join Whittaker given it looks like Montgomery is genuine about giving youth a chance? Megwa? Aiken? Hamilton? Johnson? Macallister? Landers? O’Connor? Both Macintyre’s?

For me I’d actively be looking to move on, which is easier said than done of course, any from the following to free up wages and space in the squad: JDH, Campbell, Marshall, Tavares, Delfierre, Henderson & Mackay.

I’d give Wollacot, Harbottle, Melkerson & McKirdy (subject to when he will be available) & maybe Kenneh, though wouldn’t notice if he was in the move on list, a chance. With a view to being open to moving them on in the summer.

I’d be looking to phase out and probably move on in the summer, Hanlon, Stevenson & Doidge

25-10-2023, 09:57 AM
What’s everyone’s thoughts on Montgomery shaping the squad in January and the summer? More interestingly, and more positively, what youngsters are in the frame to step up to the squad and join Whittaker given it looks like Montgomery is genuine about giving youth a chance? Megwa? Aiken? Hamilton? Johnson? Macallister? Landers? O’Connor? Both Macintyre’s?

For me I’d actively be looking to move on, which is easier said than done of course, any from the following to free up wages and space in the squad: JDH, Campbell, Marshall, Tavares, Delfierre, Henderson & Mackay.

I’d give Wollacot, Harbottle, Melkerson & McKirdy (subject to when he will be available) & maybe Kenneh, though wouldn’t notice if he was in the move on list, a chance. With a view to being open to moving them on in the summer.

I’d be looking to phase out and probably move on in the summer, Hanlon, Stevenson & Doidge

I'd agree with most of that. Only would add if Montgomery is insisting on playing this formation, the two in the middle need to be different. Jeggo can't be one if he's serious about playing his formation and wanting to challenge at the top end of the table. Won't mention Newell as don't want a lynch mob waiting on me.

25-10-2023, 10:00 AM

Delferriere just signed a new contract.

Stubbsy90+2
25-10-2023, 10:11 AM

Agree with all that.

In terms of bringing players in, we’re desperately short of numbers/quality in centre midfield and centre half. I’d be focussing on those positions as an absolute priority in January.

25-10-2023, 12:38 PM
I think we will see 2 wide players coming in. Then a Left sided CB if we can get one. I'd like a more robust CM who can defend and quickly turn that into attack - but just can't see us getting that many in for Jan.

25-10-2023, 12:48 PM
Two central defenders should be the priority, hopefully in January but more likely be the summer.

There’s 4 or 5 players I’d like to keep for next season but not fussed about most of the squad. Hoping for a totally different team by this time next year.

Greenio
25-10-2023, 01:42 PM
Can't see much happening in Jan

Jair away maybe. Campbell too? New defensive mid in? Would be about it I feel

25-10-2023, 01:56 PM
I'd be surprised if we sign many, if anyone at all in January. We spent a huge amount in the summer.

25-10-2023, 02:13 PM
I'd be surprised if we sign many, if anyone at all in January. We spent a huge amount in the summer.

I think we will get a couple of loans in. No way we will go the whole window without a player, especially if we get to the cup final and get some cashflow going.

25-10-2023, 02:31 PM
I think we may see Campbell move on as in this system he'll struggle to get game time, JDH also purely due to never being fit and we need players to contribute, also free up a wage, Delferriere is a cool, calm DM who has just signed an extension, he'll only get better. I've been pretty disappointed with Fish since he came back and I'm not sure Rocky improves us that much if at all, Harbottle I've not seen enough of so can't comment. I'd move on Doidge and bring Melkersen back from his loan, especially if we'll play him through the middle and at least 1 wide player in to give us an option.

25-10-2023, 02:38 PM
Would be disappointed if a new centre back who can pass a ball, central midfield and a different wide option didn't come in as a minimum in January.

Need to change the ability profile of players at the back and middle of the park to play this system well. Ones who can make a call when to play short or go longer and mix it up.

25-10-2023, 02:46 PM
Spending aside, any manager will say that the January window is difficult, clubs don't want to sell for fear of getting some injuries and regretting it.

25-10-2023, 02:53 PM
I think we will get a couple of loans in. No way we will go the whole window without a player, especially if we get to the cup final and get some cashflow going.

I don’ think that NM has the first team players available to him in order to play his desired 442 shape.
We are effectively playing 424 because both Boyle and Youan are incapable of providing the necessary defensive support for 442. This means we get completely overrun in midfield and as a result have huge difficulty in retaining possession of the ball.
I think a different midfield four is the priority with Boyle and Youan then competing for the two places up front with our other strikers. Whether the revised midfield comes from promoting youngsters already at the club or bringing in others into the club is for the club to decide but I believe that is where the priority should lie for January. (Cadden returning from injury for example would do a job as wide right in midfield but would provide much better defensive cover on that side of the pitch)

25-10-2023, 03:12 PM
We will make some changes.

New manager, first window and board will support him. I expect to see additional quality in defence and goalkeeping and an attacking midfielder.