View Full Version : Lewis Miller

24-05-2023, 09:02 PM
Deserves a thread of his own.

Absolutely brilliant tonight, never put a foot wrong

Defensively solid, worked hard, good on the ball and drove us forward

Also a great assist for the 4th.

Really strong, fast and just overall athletic too.

24-05-2023, 09:03 PM
If that’s a marker of what he’ll bring next season, we’ve won the jackpot

24-05-2023, 09:04 PM
His throws are freakish.

NC1875
24-05-2023, 09:05 PM
Outstanding tonight.

#2 Double Tap
24-05-2023, 09:05 PM
played very good, i had written him off, defo too soon....

24-05-2023, 09:06 PM
Scrub new right back off the ‘to do list’😎

24-05-2023, 09:06 PM
Superb. Motm.

Tbh I don't know why we have seen so little of him lately. He was good at Celtic Park too.

24-05-2023, 09:07 PM
My MOTM.

24-05-2023, 09:07 PM
Was impressed tonight with his performance, even in the first half he looked composed and not afraid to get stuck in bringing good energy and hunger to the team.

A good pre season and the position could be his and if he can play like the most weeks he will be a good player for us.

24-05-2023, 09:08 PM
Superb. Motm.

Tbh I don't know why we have seen so little of him lately. He was good at Celtic Park too.

Maybe saving him for tonight 😁

HendoDelivered
Has to be our starting right back from now on when fit

Scrub new right back off the ‘to do list’😎

This. Bizarre he's not got more game time but looks very much like we have our 1st choice RB for next season - one less position to worry about!

24-05-2023, 09:09 PM
His aggression goes a long way too, always right in amongst it.

Won a pen, got an assist, played a big part in getting Maeda sent off and just involved in loads of good play

24-05-2023, 09:10 PM
This. Bizarre he's not got more game time but looks very much like we have our 1st choice RB for next season - one less position to worry about!

Wait…is this another good find for the much slated recruitment team?!🤣

24-05-2023, 09:11 PM
He was brilliant.

There was chat on another thread about how he might be feeling, this only being his second start.

What an emphatic answer. Brilliant match for him. RB is his to lose now.

24-05-2023, 09:15 PM
Having followed his progress in Oz I was disappointed so many wrote him off early in his time here.

He had a difficult start to his time at Hibs, and travelling to the other side of the world from Sydney’s northern beaches so young probably took its toll too.

He’s grown up a lot in the last year, and surely has put to bed any doubts some expressed as to his ability to play in the SPFL.

Hopefully he gets a run of games next year and Arnie takes note and gets him in the Socceroo squad.

But for now Lewis…have a couple of schooners…

24-05-2023, 09:15 PM
He was brilliant tonight :agree:

GreenGray
24-05-2023, 09:16 PM
He was unreal. Never seen someone throw as long

Greenio
24-05-2023, 09:20 PM
Always said he's class

24-05-2023, 09:20 PM
He was unreal. Never seen someone throw as long

It’s due to all the Vegemite he eats😂

24-05-2023, 09:24 PM
Thought he got caught out leading to the penalty but had been good up til then. Brilliant second half. Pick out for the fourth best bit of quality from a full back all season.

24-05-2023, 09:28 PM
Wait…is this another good find for the much slated recruitment team?!🤣

Quite possibly, although someone needs to tell LJ given Miller has barely featured 😂😂

24-05-2023, 09:28 PM
LJ came out and said a while back it's taken him a while to adjust. Hopefully that's him ready to kick on.

24-05-2023, 09:30 PM
Excellent performance.

I'd be happy to have him as the starter next season with Cadden on the bench.

Paulie Walnuts
24-05-2023, 09:31 PM
MOTM by a mile imo.

24-05-2023, 09:33 PM
What a ****ing performance! Solid in the tackle, quick, strong, phenomenal in the air, got an assist and has the best throw in the history of the world.

Absolutely buzzing for him

Bridge hibs
24-05-2023, 09:34 PM
His throw ins are like ****ing missiles, Im sure I saw the grave stones in the cemetary duck every time he took a throw in from the East stand side 😵

24-05-2023, 09:39 PM
His throw ins are like ****ing missiles, Im sure I saw the grave stones in the cemetary duck every time he took a throw in from the East stand side 😵

Yup. We now need a forward that can win enough headers to make them count.

If he is our Delap, who is our Peter Crouch!?

24-05-2023, 09:39 PM
Unbelievable performance. That's us sorted for RB for next season, well done Lewis.

Bridge hibs
24-05-2023, 09:40 PM
Yup. We now need a forward that can win enough headers to make them count.

If he is our Delap, who is our Peter Crouch!?

Van Veen would be a good start 👍

Torto7
24-05-2023, 09:40 PM
He was good at Celtic Park as well then just went missing again. Does he have some fitness issues or something? As he looks quality when he plays.

Scotty Leither
24-05-2023, 09:43 PM
His throw ins are incredible. First half we got one in line with their box on the right side. I wondered why Newell wasn’t trotting over to take it and then Miller absolutely shelled it. He’s a big unit too. Hope he keeps it up.

ACLeith
24-05-2023, 09:43 PM
Easy MOTM decision to give it to a double goalscorer but for me he was the stand out for us. Easily MOTM

24-05-2023, 09:44 PM
My MOTM tonight. Did lots of the ugly side of the game very well but also looked really good on the ball.

24-05-2023, 09:44 PM
Said he looked a player in his first couple of appearances but got shot down.

24-05-2023, 09:49 PM
Van Veen would be a good start 👍

Or big cookie if the deal can be done

24-05-2023, 09:50 PM
I thought Lewis was excellent too.

24-05-2023, 09:50 PM
Said he looked a player in his first couple of appearances but got shot down.

Likewise.

His first two friendlies he was brilliant and then the game against norwich against a tough opposition he was brilliant again.

He, along with the rest of the team, was poor against Falkirk. I’ll add that the pitch and having Hauge infront of him an a centre back partnership of Rocky and McLellend never helped. That was before Rocky discovered his form and confidence of this season too

He’s then came on at times this season and done well and the two games he’s started against Celtic he’s been brilliant

24-05-2023, 09:56 PM
Should not be dropped for Saturday.

24-05-2023, 10:03 PM
Should have been MOTM. I was critical of him at the start of the season but he’s certainly proving me wrong now. His throw ins are bonus set pieces. I’m convinced he can put it in the box from near enough the half way line

GreenPJ
24-05-2023, 10:09 PM
Should not be dropped for Saturday.

I think if he is over his cramp he is guaranteed starter not least because I think we will have 3 or 4 injuries after tonight.

24-05-2023, 10:37 PM
We need a replacement for Cadden in the starting 11 so hopefully Miller is it

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

24-05-2023, 10:38 PM
Great performance and Delap-esque throw ins. If Newell wants to learn, there's the guy!

24-05-2023, 10:42 PM
Only need one new full back in the summer now. Outstanding tonight.

24-05-2023, 10:45 PM
I thought he looked terrible at the start of the season. Clearly he had physical attributes but looked a bit clumsy to me on the ball and looked every bit a raw experiment.

I’d never have written him off though and thought he looked like he needed to train every day with players at our level for a while before eventually being introduced to the team.

It’s great that he’s played so well and it would be genuinely fantastic if we had another first choice player already at the club.

24-05-2023, 10:57 PM
He’s got potential for sure.

24-05-2023, 10:59 PM
Best rb at the club. Goodness knows what hes been doing in training to not get a chance before now. Should be playing when available next season. Great defensively, actually tackles and prevents crosses. Noises up opposition which leads to bookings. Also good going forward given the cross for the 4th. Motm by a country mile.

Davy Mac
24-05-2023, 11:13 PM
Won every single header, looks a unit and loved how he just pushed the Sellick player sort of, aff the ball and told him tae GTF.

24-05-2023, 11:20 PM
I know he's been injured a good part of the season, but no idea why this guy has not featured much in the last dozen games while available.

24-05-2023, 11:31 PM
I know he's been injured a good part of the season, but no idea why this guy has not featured much in the last dozen games while available.

Sure the manager has an idea as to why and also why he started him tonight.

Like others I was doubtful based on the limited showings I’d seen of him but he looked ready enough tonight.

Injuries and new surroundings have hopefully been at root of the reasons he’s not been getting game time, let’s hope he turned a corner tonight and we are all raving about him next season!

25-05-2023, 02:48 AM
He was absolutely outstanding. My MoTM

25-05-2023, 05:27 AM
Where's he been hiding?

He was excellent last night! Which made me wonder why we've not seen more of him.

25-05-2023, 05:33 AM
Where's he been hiding?

He was excellent last night! Which made me wonder why we've not seen more of him.

Taken him time to settle and adapt to the game and what is expected of him, and had some injuries. Looks like they have been coaching him well!

25-05-2023, 06:07 AM
Excellent performance from Lewis. Thought he looked great in a couple of the friendly games they wasn't really at it in the league cup games early doors. So much potential physically and could be a huge asset. His throws will be a huge asset hopefully on the subbuteo pitch on Saturday.

18Craig75
25-05-2023, 06:54 AM
Before tonight I was hoping we’d sign Behich from United if they went down. However on that performance we’re more than covered with Miller and Cadden as back up.

25-05-2023, 06:56 AM
Before tonight I was hoping we’d sign Behich from United if they went down. However on that performance we’re more than covered with Miller and Cadden as back up.

Think Behich is a left back

25-05-2023, 06:57 AM
Excellent performance from Lewis. Thought he looked great in a couple of the friendly games they wasn't really at it in the league cup games early doors. So much potential physically and could be a huge asset. His throws will be a huge asset hopefully on the subbuteo pitch on Saturday.

A throw in deep in our own half will be like getting a corner on that pitch

25-05-2023, 07:15 AM
Said a while back that far too many were writing him off after barely any time at all.

He should be our first pick RB going forward.

25-05-2023, 07:58 AM
Strong as an ox and no shrinking violet. My son said that Miller had played Aussie rules as a laddie, not sure if that's true, but he was hard as **** on the field last night, taking no nonsense from his baldy wee nippy **** Celtic opponent.

Miller was also pretty comfortable going forward and held onto the ball well. The throw ins were just awesome.

He should be starting v Hearts.

As a few have already commented on, how on earth has he not been starting recently?

Greenio
25-05-2023, 08:14 AM
Not sure if he played AFL but he's some unit.

I don't know why people never saw his talent. Even in the few games he played pre season he's clearly got it. Good touch, good vision, nice movement....you could just tell

As folk have said, maybe it was more of a psychological thing...in which case props to LJs management to hold him back until it's right. I think that part of LJ's ability is overlooked because you can't see it. But it's more important than you think.

I feel the way he's pulled McKirdy back from the brink is part of that

25-05-2023, 08:14 AM
Strong as an ox and no shrinking violet. My son said that Miller had played Aussie rules as a laddie, not sure if that's true, but he was hard as **** on the field last night, taking no nonsense from his baldy wee nippy **** Celtic opponent.

Miller was also pretty comfortable going forward and held onto the ball well. The throw ins were just awesome.

He should be starting v Hearts.

As a few have already commented on, how on earth has he not been starting recently?

Dunno about the Aussie Rules thing….AFL is not the biggest sport in Sydney, Rugby League is.
He obviously did play fitba though!

Victor
25-05-2023, 08:18 AM
He was definitely injured earlier in the season. Appeared with strapping on his thigh. Played as sub with the strapping in place and then disappeared again. Fair chance that he had a recurring injury that stopped him getting more games. His lack of game time showed last night as he was definitely cramping up before he was subbed. Hopefully fit for Saturday and can replicate last night’s star turn.

25-05-2023, 08:56 AM
He is only 22 looking forward to him getting a run of games next season his long throws are off the scale

25-05-2023, 09:04 AM
He was definitely injured earlier in the season. Appeared with strapping on his thigh. Played as sub with the strapping in place and then disappeared again. Fair chance that he had a recurring injury that stopped him getting more games. His lack of game time showed last night as he was definitely cramping up before he was subbed. Hopefully fit for Saturday and can replicate last night’s star turn.

Yep, There was 100% times he came on injured/not match fit too which probably never helped.

Think it was in the 6-0 game v Aberdeen he came on and looked like he could hardly run

25-05-2023, 09:06 AM
All Hibs full backs should be called Lewis ! Club rule !!

skyehibee
25-05-2023, 09:11 AM
He was brilliant, much better than cadden and should be starting more.

25-05-2023, 09:41 AM
I’d be telling him now to make sure he comes back in the best condition possible because he’ll be starting next season as our right back. Give him a proper shot at it and it’s up to him now.

25-05-2023, 11:41 AM
Got caught out for first goal with ball in behind but that's a mistake that can be easily ironed out in the future so nothing too much to worry about.

His pace, power, physique, aerial ability and technique are all (on the basis of last night) absolutely brilliant. Looks like a very good player.

25-05-2023, 11:59 AM
All Hibs full backs should be called Lewis ! Club rule !!

I like it.

Do we rename the positions "left Lewis" and "right Lewis" just in case any future incomer hasn't had the good fortune to be christened Lewis?

25-05-2023, 12:03 PM
Very impressed last night. Looks very athletic, got forward well and his throw ins will be a great asset. He's still young and very inexperienced at this level so I think people need to be prepared for him making mistakes as he learns his trade but very hopeful that we've won a watch with this lad.

25-05-2023, 12:17 PM
Looking forward to his 50 yard throw-ins next season. Am I right, you can score directly from a throw-in?

25-05-2023, 12:27 PM
Looking forward to his 50 yard throw-ins next season. Am I right, you can score directly from a throw-in?

No, would be a goal kick (or a corner to the opposition if you manage to throw it in your own net).

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 12:59 PM

Nope.

25-05-2023, 01:00 PM
No, would be a goal kick (or a corner to the opposition if you manage to throw it in your own net).

Just have to hope the keeper tries to save it and fumbles it into the net (a la Bain with Youan's 1st).

I reckon if he keeps chucking them from almost at the halfway line to around the penalty spot it'll only be a matter of time before he gets an assist.

25-05-2023, 01:19 PM
I like it.

Do we rename the positions "left Lewis" and "right Lewis" just in case any future incomer hasn't had the good fortune to be christened Lewis?

Lewis and Rewis

hibee1875
25-05-2023, 01:58 PM
Superb. Motm.

I think he’s still a little tactically unaware and can get caught in no man’s land a little.

Noticed Mcallister coaching him through the game a bit and LJ was going mad at him after their pen.

Something he can definitely improve on through and I’d like to see him start at RB next season

25-05-2023, 03:38 PM
Lewis and Rewis

Surely Roois :greengrin

25-05-2023, 04:05 PM
I think he’s still a little tactically unaware and can get caught in no man’s land a little.

Noticed Mcallister coaching him through the game a bit and LJ was going mad at him after their pen.

Something he can definitely improve on through and I’d like to see him start at RB next season

To be fair Maeda would have been offside if Hanlon wasn't a yard behind the other defenders.

snedzuk
26-05-2023, 11:46 AM
Watch the way he takes two long strides to get that deft left foot cross in for Hanlon to score - pretty nifty for a right back to be that two footed.

(Hat tip to Youan as well - volley with the left / rocket with the right!)

yerauldda
26-05-2023, 01:22 PM
See he's been claiming we're going to win and that Edinburgh will be painted green. I know that's not everyone's cup of tea but absolutely love that attitude.

26-05-2023, 03:56 PM
I like it.