View Full Version : Greatest European performance by a British club?

19-05-2023, 06:29 PM
A lot of talk this week about whether Man City’s mauling of Real Madrid is the finest performance ever by a British side in European football.

what’s the greatest in your opinion?

for me it’s the lesser greens with their team of Glaswegians against the iron defence of inter. I wasn’t alive in 1967 but I’ve watched the full match and my god that was as one sided a 2-1 as you’ll ever see. An utter hammering, and the stats bear that out.

Hibs Napoli, naturally, comes a very close second.

19-05-2023, 06:34 PM
United against Barca away and a few New Firm games earlier in the 80s

Istanbul

Villa hanging on in 82

19-05-2023, 06:38 PM
Man Utd against Juventus away in 1999 in the semi final was one of the best in my lifetime. Roy Keane with a proper captain's performance.

Liverpool's 2nd half v AC Milan must be up there as well. Again a proper captain's performance from Gerrard.

19-05-2023, 06:39 PM
Hibs away win against videoton is surely right up there

19-05-2023, 06:42 PM
Man City during the week were incredible. In my lifetime the old Rangers away to Leeds in the first Champions League was pretty impressive. As was their wins against Parma and at home to the likes of PSV under Advocaat the title genital. Man United away to Juventus in 99 was memorable too. Celtic beating Liverpool at Anfield en route to the final was a belter. There's been a few. Never seen a Real Madrid team taken apart so ruthlessly as that on Wednesday though. That tops it.

19-05-2023, 06:46 PM
West Ham United

Big Daddy v AZ Ultras

19-05-2023, 06:58 PM
Man City during the week were incredible. In my lifetime the old Rangers away to Leeds in the first Champions League was pretty impressive. As was their wins against Parma and at home to the likes of PSV under Advocaat the title genital. Man United away to Juventus in 99 was memorable too. Celtic beating Liverpool at Anfield en route to the final was a belter. There's been a few. Never seen a Real Madrid team taken apart so ruthlessly as that on Wednesday though. That tops it.

Title genital, cannae beat Auto Correct. 😀

19-05-2023, 07:25 PM
Dundee vs Cologne in 1962

19-05-2023, 07:37 PM
A lot of talk this week about whether Man City’s mauling of Real Madrid is the finest performance ever by a British side in European football.

what’s the greatest in your opinion?

for me it’s the lesser greens with their team of Glaswegians against the iron defence of inter. I wasn’t alive in 1967 but I’ve watched the full match and my god that was as one sided a 2-1 as you’ll ever see. An utter hammering, and the stats bear that out.

Hibs Napoli, naturally, comes a very close second.

Celtic in Lisbon 1967 .David v Goliath.
Immense display of football from Celtic ,I watched it on the telly (15yr old)
One of my older clerry pals was there .
One Thomas Cannon RIP
Before kings ransoms and ludicrous salaries were involved in football ,this Celtic team,totally made up of Scotsmen took on the might of Europe.
And they nearly did it again in Milan San Siro v Feyenoord 3 yrs later.
Ok enuff of Celtic.

Hibs turn :greengrin!!

Hibs V Barcelona 1961.
In the first leg at Nou camp ,final score was 4-4
Home result 3-2 to The Hibees!
Had a top English club scored 4 in the Nou Camp even back then it would have been raised in the House of Commons.!!

Hibs v Napoli 1967/68
Hibs 1-4 down after first leg ,to then go nap and demolish Napoli in the second leg at home.
Napoli who arguably had in goal the best in the world at the time .Dino Zoff were blown away.
No one team put 5 past Dino Zoff during most of his illustrious career.

"See Naples and Die !! was one headline .

Sporting Lisbon 1972/73
Sporting of Lisbon came to the Holy Ground with a 2-1 lead.
That night was just incredible Just incredidible.
It could have been a cricket score, but 6-1 it was
Total annihilation it was. Humiliation for a team who previously had not conceded 6 goals in one match in recent memory.
A Tornado hit Sporting that night.
Or should i say 11 Tornadoes.

The common thread is that on each of these great victories,it put us in the Euro limelight at that time.
Other teams sat up and took notice.
We were not Celtic or oldco.
But us and Aberdeen and the Arabs took on the best in Europe.
Those two a few years later
Pity that we unlike the other two ,just failed to get to a Europe final.
At least two occassions i thought we would/could have.

So those are my favourites/memories.
Although the Barca one which i was at/
I dont remember anything other than the spectacular colour of the grass/crowd under the floodlights,from the top of the terracing.

Those memories are followed closely by our endevours againts a top class Leeds United side we should have buried.

Twice !! 67/68 and 73/74

:singing: We've beat the champs of Europe,cos we are by far the best
As we go marchin on:singing:

19-05-2023, 07:41 PM
2002 or 2003, Arsenal needed a result against Inter to have any chance of making it to the knock-out stages. Inter had already won 3-0 in London..

Arsenal won 5-1 at the San Siro, I think it was Inter’s worst defeat at home, other than to AC, since the 1950s.

OstKurve Hibs
19-05-2023, 07:44 PM
Man Utd against Juventus away in 1999 in the semi final was one of the best in my lifetime. Roy Keane with a proper captain's performance.

Liverpool's 2nd half v AC Milan must be up there as well. Again a proper captain's performance from Gerrard.

Both great games, champions league was amazing back then.

19-05-2023, 07:52 PM
Liverpool taking 4 off Barcelona when 3-0 down after the first leg a couple of years ago

spurs won 5-0/5-1 with a Gareth bale hat trick against Inter in the San Siro

our Napoli game and Celtic 67 been mentioned a few times

Liverpool beating Roma in Rome in the European cup final

lugz
19-05-2023, 07:55 PM
Chelsea away to Barcelona 2012, went 2-0 down and a man sent off against arguably the greatest team ever, came away with a draw and won 3-2 on agg.

19-05-2023, 08:07 PM
Chelsea away to Barcelona 2012, went 2-0 down and a man sent off against arguably the greatest team ever, came away with a draw and won 3-2 on agg.

that was ridiculous. As was them going to the Final against Bayern on their own pitch in Munich, going a goal down in the 83rd minute, equalising in the 88th, then winning on pens.

i missed that game. Probably because of another match that happened a few hours earlier..

19-05-2023, 08:17 PM
Title genital, cannae beat Auto Correct. 😀

🤣

19-05-2023, 08:49 PM
I guess it depends how you want to look at it, as a performance of utter dominance, City are up there, but equally, they were the favourites, with virtually unlimited resources.

True greatness, arguably, is succeeding against the odds. If City can lose any points for that performance, it’s on that score.

19-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Hibs away win against videoton is surely right up there

Know you’re joking, but I didn’t know for many years quite how notable a win that was for us.

Don’t get me wrong, that result, and winning the tie, was exciting enough as it is - the home tie was the first time I’d seen Hibs play in Europe in my lifetime - but I had no idea that Videoton had been UEFA Cup finalists only four years earlier.

I remember a bitter wee Jambo fud from my school trying to mock Hibs fans for getting excited about the win - wish I’d had that bit of info to hand at that time.

19-05-2023, 08:59 PM
I guess it depends how you want to look at it, as a performance of utter dominance, City are up there, but equally, they were the favourites, with virtually unlimited resources.

True greatness, arguably, is succeeding against the odds. If City can lose any points for that performance, it’s on that score.

Totally agree with this - and with that in mind, surely this has to be up there?

https://www.dailypost.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/night-wrexham-afc-stunned-europe-11972680

19-05-2023, 09:06 PM
Hibs 5-0 Napoli must be up there. Way before my time, but my Dad goes on about it.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hibs-5-0-napoli-november-29-1967-2474150

19-05-2023, 09:12 PM
Fulham beating Juventus 4-1, 5-4 on aggregate, on their way to the uefa cup final.

19-05-2023, 09:35 PM
Connahs Quays beating Kilmarnock IMO.

19-05-2023, 09:52 PM
Surely Aberdeen beating Real to win the Cup winners Cup has to be up there.

19-05-2023, 10:04 PM
Spurs beating inter in the San sirocco withh Gareth bale running the show.

Rangers beating sporting club de Portugal 3-0 when they got the the uefa Cup final.

Dundee utd beating barca

Aberdeen beating Real

Hibs pumping napoli.

19-05-2023, 10:06 PM
Surely Aberdeen beating Real to win the Cup winners Cup has to be up there.

phenomenal achievement mate but I’m specifically asking about performances.

I didn’t see the aberdeen final.., was it one of the greatest performances?

Cat Stanton
19-05-2023, 10:14 PM
Pretty sad (or maybe just a reflection on age) that there is only one mention here (on a Hibs forum) of Hibs v Napoli. Astonishing performance and result.

19-05-2023, 10:14 PM

Not really, but their 3-2 win against Bayern in the quarter final was.

Cat Stanton
19-05-2023, 10:16 PM

They beat Real Madrid in a European final! What more do you want? They then won the European Super Cup a few weeks later. Yes, it was an amazing performance. And God, I feel so old.

19-05-2023, 10:22 PM
Pretty sad (or maybe just a reflection on age) that there is only one mention here (on a Hibs forum) of Hibs v Napoli. Astonishing performance and result.

Five people have mentioned it!

19-05-2023, 10:23 PM
They beat Real Madrid in a European final! What more do you want? They then won the European Super Cup a few weeks later. Yes, it was an amazing performance. And God, I feel so old.

haha fair enough mate

19-05-2023, 10:26 PM
First thought was Liverpool in Istanbul but from a Hibs point of view Hibs 6 v 1 Sporting Lisbon

Second half going down the slope 1-1 ( 2-3 on aggregate)

Eddie Turnbull switched Arthur Duncan and Alex Edwards and it was just wave after wave of relentless attacks the Portuguese could not cope

The result 6-1 sent shock waves throughout Europe

Anyone that was there will confirm it was a brilliant performance the last in front of a full cave and it was like the fans were willing the ball into the net

Barcelona Real Madrid Sporting Lisbon made a bid

Edit

Honourable mention to the Lisbon Lions every player born within 30 miles of Glasgow were a fantastic football team with pace flair power invention and an end product

19-05-2023, 11:09 PM

Rangers beating sporting club de Portugal 3-0 when they got the the uefa Cup final.

Dundee utd beating barca

Aberdeen beating Real

Hibs pumping napoli.

Spurs were beaten 4-3 by Inter on the night when Bale scored a hat trick. They were 4-0 after about half an hour, and playing with ten men tbf.

19-05-2023, 11:37 PM
Spurs comeback against Ajax a few years ago.

19-05-2023, 11:54 PM
Let's put our team's victory over Barcelona in perspective.
1. In April 1960 The Rangers lost 12 -4 on aggregate to Eintracht Frankfurt in the semi final of the European Cup.
2. 1 month later Real M destroyed Eintracht 7 3 at Hampden in the final. That was Real's 5th win in succession and it was widely regarded as the greatest display of football ever seen.
3. In Oct 1960 Barcelona become the 1st team to beat Real M in the European Cup, 4 3 on aggregate.
4. On Dec 28 1960 Hibs go to Barcelona and draw 4 4.
5. In Feb 1961 Hibs beat Barca 3 2 to win 7 6 on aggregate. The Barca team had 1 change from the team which beat Real M.

To summarise, Barca were the 1st team to beat Real M in the European Cup, a few months later we beat Barca in the Fairs Cup. Hibs, always the first and the best.

19-05-2023, 11:56 PM
Hibs away draw in Tripolis

20-05-2023, 07:24 AM
As much as I dislike them I was swept up in all the ‘Battle of Britain’ guff in 1992 when Rangers were heading down to Leeds and going to get gubbed by the English champions Cantona, Strachan and MacAllister et al.

In certainly the only time I have wanted Rangers to win , when it didn’t benefit Hibs, two great goals from Hateley and McCoist(two of my least favourite people) shut up the Leeds fans and the English media.

Not the greatest European performance by a Scottish club perhaps but one I enjoyed.

20-05-2023, 07:41 AM
English teams beating Barcelona is mentioned a lot on this thread.
But to younger fans here.
Be in no doubt,when Hibernian took 4 off Barca at the Nou Camp,we were playing ,along with Real Madrid ,the top dogs in Europe, if not the world at the time.
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2019/06/when-hibs-put-four-goals-past-barcelona/

The aggregate score was a 7-6 win for us.
Not many teams we put 7 past, is there ?:greengrin
As Brog says, it does give a bit perspective .
A wonderful achievement for Hibernian that year to defeat a great European side.

The greatest ever European game has to be the European Cup Final 1960 at Hampden in front of 127.000 plus.
Real Madrid 7 v Eintract Frankfurt 3. My dad was there.
The game made it 5 in a row European Cup wins for Real.
The truly great Alfredo di Stefano scored in every one !

And Jimmy O'Rourke's party piece when on holiday in Spain was, if he discovered a barman was a Real fan,he would rattle of the names of the whole team of the 1960 win,plus the goalscorers in order .
In his Spanish lisp voice !
That usually got a San Miguel :greengrin

20-05-2023, 07:42 AM
As much as I dislike them I was swept up in all the ‘Battle of Britain’ guff in 1992 when Rangers were heading down to Leeds and going to get gubbed by the English champions Cantona, Strachan and MacAllister et al.

In certainly the only time I have wanted Rangers to win , when it didn’t benefit Hibs, two great goals from Hateley and McCoist(two of my least favourite people) shut up the Leeds fans and the English media.

Not the greatest European performance by a Scottish club perhaps but one I enjoyed.

I’ve always whispered it, but I enjoyed that one too. I also enjoyed Celtic knocking out Blackburn and Liverpool on their way to Seville

20-05-2023, 07:50 AM
Hearts 1-2 Birkirkara

20-05-2023, 08:06 AM

Dundee utd beating barca

Aberdeen beating Real

Hibs pumping napoli.

Spurs lost the Bale hat trick game 4-3.

ddoc
20-05-2023, 08:08 AM
1. In April 1960 The Rangers lost 12 -4 on aggregate to Eintracht Frankfurt in the semi final of the European Cup.
2. 1 month later Real M destroyed Eintracht 7 3 at Hampden in the final. That was Real's 5th win in succession and it was widely regarded as the greatest display of football ever seen.
3. In Oct 1960 Barcelona become the 1st team to beat Real M in the European Cup, 4 3 on aggregate.
5. In Feb 1961 Hibs beat Barca 3 2 to win 7 6 on aggregate. The Barca team had 1 change from the team which beat Real M.

To summarise, Barca were the 1st team to beat Real M in the European Cup, a few months later we beat Barca in the Fairs Cup. Hibs, always the first and the best.

My dad was at the 7-3 game and he told me, on numerous occasions, that it was the greatest game he had ever seen. He was born in 1911 and was a die hard Hibs supporter who seen the best of Hibs with the famous five and the tornadoes so it must have been some game.

20-05-2023, 08:12 AM
I’ve always whispered it, but I enjoyed that one too. I also enjoyed Celtic knocking out Blackburn and Liverpool on their way to Seville

Yes
It was always nice to see Scottish teams* take on and beat the English ones in competitive games.

Celtic beating Leeds 2-1 in front of 135.000 plus at Hampden in the 1970 EC semi final 2nd leg,is one of those great games.
They beat them at Elland Road as well,1-0

*Barring sevco that is.For all their rule britannia, union jack guff ,anytime they visit an English city, the zombies wreck it !

20-05-2023, 09:50 AM

Sorry, but I wanted Leeds to pump them. If ever there was an organisation that shows Scotland in a poor light it is them. I would love to see them never win anything ever again. Starting tomorrow. And you will be constantly reminded from now on about your hun sympathising ways!! No matter how fleeting.

Anyway. Hibs, Aberdeen, Dundee utd, Dundee, Raith and celtic have had some fabulous results and performances over the years.

20-05-2023, 10:04 AM
Other posters have mentioned the games I would have gone with. The numbers of Scottish teams that have reached a semi final or better in European tournaments is impressive
Hibs
Celtic
Rangers
The Rangers
Dundee Utd
Aberdeen
Dundee
Kilmarnock
Dunfermline

20-05-2023, 10:38 AM

The thing is that it was nowhere near a vintage "Hibs Greats" team.
Simpson thought to be at the end of his career-turned out he had a good few years left in him
Fraser converted from a forward learning to be a full back
McLelland best described as industrial-chipped a good winger
Baxter whole hearted-never stopped running
Easton very under rated centre half
Baird at end of his career-picked up from Rangers
Macleod in the first couple of years of an excellent career
Preston at the end of his career
Baker Joe
Kinloch either still in or just out of the RAF-no track record
Ormond well into his final years

The whole was definitely more than the sum of the parts.
Experience counts-our second goal was a cross from Ormond flicked on by Baird and put in by Preston.
A great night.

20-05-2023, 10:52 AM
Way before my time but Hibs Napoli has to be up there for comebacks.

Liverpool 4-0 vs Barcelona a few years ago was some achievement also.

20-05-2023, 11:49 AM
Other posters have mentioned the games I would have gone with. The numbers of Scottish teams that have reached a semi final or better in European tournaments is impressive
Hibs
Celtic
Rangers
The Rangers
Dundee Utd
Aberdeen
Dundee
Kilmarnock
Dunfermline

surely you jest sir. Why am I not seeing The Famous on your list? :confused:

20-05-2023, 12:08 PM
surely you jest sir. Why am I not seeing The Famous on your list? :confused:

Texaco Cup disnae count

hibby rae
20-05-2023, 02:35 PM

Can you comment on the performance if you've never seen it?

Liverpool vs Barca in 2019 probs for me. Special mention to our comeback against Asteris after a shaky start.

20-05-2023, 02:50 PM
Can you comment on the performance if you've never seen it?

Liverpool vs Barca in 2019 probs for me. Special mention to our comeback against Asteris after a shaky start.

You responded to a post that mentioned the Napoli game.
An educated guess,i would say that those that did mention that game here ..witnessed it !
Me included :greengrin
A few also saw the Barcelona 1961 game...I was there ! :agree:
and for good measure even more here saw the Sporting Lisbon 1972 game.:greengrin

Now witnesses to our wee run to the semi final of the European Cup in 1956 might be a bit thinner on the ground :greengrin:greengrin

When will we see the likes again?!

20-05-2023, 02:57 PM
Liverpool 3 - 3 AC Milan. Champions League final, 3-0 down at half time to a really good Milan side. Liverpool won on pens. Magical comeback with goalkeeping heroics from Dudek playing a huge part.

20-05-2023, 04:21 PM
You responded to a post that mentioned the Napoli game.
An educated guess,i would say that those that did mention that game here ..witnessed it !
Me included :greengrin
A few also saw the Barcelona 1961 game...I was there ! :agree:
and for good measure even more here saw the Sporting Lisbon 1972 game.:greengrin

Now witnesses to our wee run to the semi final of the European Cup in 1956 might be a bit thinner on the ground :greengrin:greengrin

When will we see the likes again?!
Posts like this make me very very jealous!! Great days thatvsadly we won't ever see again. Glad you and others, like my uncle, got to see them

20-05-2023, 07:14 PM
Posts like this make me very very jealous!! Great days thatvsadly we won't ever see again. Glad you and others, like my uncle, got to see them

Well i always thought like that, as i did not see the Famous Five sides that won League titles .
Had European Competitions started when the FF were in their prime and not in 1956.
Who knows. We might have been the first British side to win the European Cup.
Hearts had wonderful sides during the fifties also.The Terrible Trio of Hearts did some damage !
I think between us we played the best football in Scotland,maybe even Britain ,during that decade.
This is all what my older relatives,uncles looking back thought "what might have been"
THe war years certainly hampered Hibs of the time winning more than they did
Thats the view of those who saw and reported on them at the time .
Supposition, i know.but Hibs have produced some good times/sides ,but not always got the rewards.
Consistancy,trust and stability are some keys ... and good well managed players !:greengrin

20-05-2023, 07:42 PM
The thing is that it was nowhere near a vintage "Hibs Greats" team.
Simpson thought to be at the end of his career-turned out he had a good few years left in him
Fraser converted from a forward learning to be a full back
McLelland best described as industrial-chipped a good winger
Baxter whole hearted-never stopped running
Easton very under rated centre half
Baird at end of his career-picked up from Rangers
Macleod in the first couple of years of an excellent career.
Preston at the end of his career
Baker Joe
Kinloch either still in or just out of the RAF-no track record
Ormond well into his final years

The whole was definitely more than the sum of the parts.
Experience counts-our second goal was a cross from Ormond flicked on by Baird and put in by Preston.

A great night.

Very interesting run down of the team there ,AH
Very experienced players none the less.
That would have helped deal with Barcelona's temper fits and shenanigans.

How cool and relaxed was Bobby Kinloch.
Resting his backside on the ball,while mayhem ensued around him!
My ,we had the audacity to outwit them in the 1st leg with the Baker switch.
They were not amused one bit.
Just outplayed,out thought and out fought.
The Battle of Easter Road in front of 50.000 is all on this link.
I still have the news clippings of the game up in the loft!
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/barca-return-recalls-1961-pitch-battle-2474086

Match report 1st Leg in Barcelona.
https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2019/06/when-hibs-put-four-goals-past-barcelona/

Glory Days !!

20-05-2023, 08:28 PM
Hibs in Europe got me thinking as the older I get the more difficult it is to remember sometimes, so here is some history on our club in Europe. Magic nights at Easter Road and overseas.

Hibs in Europe from Wikipedia

Hibernian Football Club ("Hibs") is a Scottish football club, based in the Leith area of Edinburgh. Hibernian were the first ever British club to enter an official European footballing competition, doing so in the inaugural 1955–56 season of the European Cup. They were also the first Scottish club to participate in the Fairs Cup, an unofficial forerunner of the UEFA Cup and Europa League competitions.

Hibernian reached the semi-final stage in the European Cup (1955–56) and the Fairs Cup (1960–61). They participated in European competition during the 1960s and 1970s on an almost annual basis, competing with many of the major club sides during this period. During this time, Hibernian recorded notable victories against Barcelona (1960–61), Napoli (1967–68) and Sporting Lisbon (1972–73). Since the late 1970s, Hibernian have qualified for European competition much less frequently. During the 2000s they appeared three times in the Intertoto Cup, a summer competition that offered qualification for the UEFA Cup. The club most recently participated in European competitions in the 2021–22 Europa Conference League qualifying rounds.

961–1979: Regulars
Through most of the 1960s and the 1970s, Hibernian were regular participants in European competition. Wins against select teams from Copenhagen (Stævnet)[10] and Utrecht[11] put Hibernian into the quarter-finals of the 1962–63 Fairs Cup, where they lost 6–2 on aggregate to Valencia. In the 1965–66 Fairs Cup, Hibernian met Valencia again with each team winning their home game 2–0; Valencia progressed after they won a playoff match.

Hibernian defeated Portuguese club Porto in the first round of the 1967–68 Fairs Cup, but then lost 4–1 to Napoli in the second round first leg. Napoli were the league leaders in Italy at the time, had only conceded five goals in their last six matches and had legendary goalkeeper Dino Zoff in their lineup. Despite this, Hibernian overwhelmed their Italian opponents and won 5–0 at Easter Road to win the tie 6–4 on aggregate. In the following round, Hibernian were beaten 2–1 on aggregate by Leeds United.
Italian goalkeeper Dino Zoff conceded five goals at Easter Road as Hibernian defeated Napoli in the 1967–68 Fairs Cup.
Wins against Olimpija Ljubljana and Lokomotive Leipzig in the 1968–69 Fairs Cup pushed Hibernian into a third round tie with Hamburg. Hibernian won 2–1 at home and lost 1–0 in Germany, which meant that they were eliminated by the away goals rule. In the final season (1970–71) of the Fairs Cup, Hibernian defeated Malmo 9–2 and Vitoria Guimaraes 3–2, but were then beaten 3–0 by English side Liverpool. Joe McBride scored a hat-trick in the home leg against Malmo, which set a club record for goals scored in European competition.

Hibernian entered the European Cup Winners' Cup for the first (and only) time in 1972–73, as the Scottish Cup winners (Celtic) had also won the league championship. They faced Portuguese club Sporting in the first round, and lost 2–1 in the first leg in Lisbon. Hibernian scored first in the return leg through Alan Gordon. Sporting equalised before half-time, but five goals without reply in the second half gave Hibernian a 6–1 victory on the night and 7–3 on aggregate. Jimmy O'Rourke scored a hat-trick in what was Sporting's heaviest defeat in European competition at that time. Another emphatic home win, 7–1 against Albanian club KS Besa, put Hibernian into the quarter-finals. Hibernian won 4–2 at Easter Road in the first leg against Hajduk Split, but a 3–0 defeat in Yugoslavia knocked them out of the tournament.

UEFA had taken over the operation of the Fairs Cup in 1971 and rebranded it as the UEFA Cup. Hibernian entered this competition for the first time in 1973–74. After a 3–1 aggregate win against Icelandic club Keflavík in the first round, Hibernian met Leeds United for a second time. Both games ended goalless, and Leeds won the tie after a penalty shootout. Norwegian club Rosenborg were the first round opposition in the 1974–75 UEFA Cup. After a 3–2 win in Norway, three goals in four minutes started a 9–1 rout for Hibernian (and a club record defeat for Rosenborg) in the second leg. They would progress to the second round, where they lost 8–2 to Italian club Juventus.

In the 1975–76 UEFA Cup, Hibernian were paired with English side Liverpool in the first round. A Joe Harper goal gave Hibernian a 1–0 win in the first leg at home, but Ray Clemence saved a penalty that could have given Hibernian a two-goal lead. This moment was to prove crucial, as Liverpool won 3–1 at Anfield to narrowly win the tie on aggregate. Liverpool went on to win the competition, with that first leg loss against being their only defeat en route. In the following season, Hibernian managed to squeeze through 1–0 in the first round of the UEFA Cup against French side Sochaux. A 2–0 home win against Swedish club Öster raised hopes of further progress, but that lead was overturned by a 4–1 defeat in the return leg.
Manager Eddie Turnbull enjoyed success with Hibernian and guided them to several European entries during the 1970s. The last of these was in the 1978–79 UEFA Cup, where they defeated Norrkoping 3–2 at home and this lead was preserved as the Swedes were held to a goalless draw in the second leg. Hibernian had been known for their attacking play under Turnbull, but he adopted more defensive tactics this season. This proved unsuccessful in the second round, as Hibernian lost 2–0 in Strasbourg. A 1–0 win for Hibernian in the return leg was therefore insufficient, and it was to be the club's last involvement in European football for 11 years.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/100-european-games
While I am at this the above is from the Hibs website and a couple of scorers are wrong, they should be as seen-

32: 02 October 1968
Hibernian 2 Olimpija Ljubljana 1 (Fairs Cup (R1 1L)
The return leg in Edinburgh is a little less straight forward with “Joe Davis” scoring both of our goals.
36: 15 January 1969
Hibernian 2 Hamburg 1 (Fairs Cup, R2 2L)
“Joe McBride” scores twice to secure victory on the night, but it’s bittersweet as we miss a penalty and have two goals chalked off as Hamburg progress on the away goals rule.
The first European game that I really remember was the game below, I had been to other before but don’t really remember them, this one I do remember.

22: 08 September 1965
Hibernian 2 Valencia 0 (Fairs Cup, R1 1L)
We are again paired with Valencia and stun ‘Los Murciélagos’ (The Bats) winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Jim Scott and John McNamee.

As for any other Scottish/British club in Europe I cannot see past the great team that jock Stein built after leaving us, to go on and win the European Cup.

Soldiersteve
20-05-2023, 08:38 PM
Celtic in Lisbon 1967 .David v Goliath.
Immense display of football from Celtic ,I watched it on the telly (15yr old)
One of my older clerry pals was there .
One Thomas Cannon RIP
Before kings ransoms and ludicrous salaries were involved in football ,this Celtic team,totally made up of Scotsmen took on the might of Europe.
And they nearly did it again in Milan San Siro v Feyenoord 3 yrs later.
Ok enuff of Celtic.

Hibs turn :greengrin!!

Hibs V Barcelona 1961.
In the first leg at Nou camp ,final score was 4-4
Home result 3-2 to The Hibees!
Had a top English club scored 4 in the Nou Camp even back then it would have been raised in the House of Commons.!!

Hibs v Napoli 1967/68
Hibs 1-4 down after first leg ,to then go nap and demolish Napoli in the second leg at home.
Napoli who arguably had in goal the best in the world at the time .Dino Zoff were blown away.
No one team put 5 past Dino Zoff during most of his illustrious career.

"See Naples and Die !! was one headline .

Sporting Lisbon 1972/73
Sporting of Lisbon came to the Holy Ground with a 2-1 lead.
That night was just incredible Just incredidible.
It could have been a cricket score, but 6-1 it was
Total annihilation it was. Humiliation for a team who previously had not conceded 6 goals in one match in recent memory.
A Tornado hit Sporting that night.
Or should i say 11 Tornadoes.

The common thread is that on each of these great victories,it put us in the Euro limelight at that time.
Other teams sat up and took notice.
We were not Celtic or oldco.
But us and Aberdeen and the Arabs took on the best in Europe.
Those two a few years later
Pity that we unlike the other two ,just failed to get to a Europe final.
At least two occassions i thought we would/could have.

So those are my favourites/memories.
Although the Barca one which i was at/
I dont remember anything other than the spectacular colour of the grass/crowd under the floodlights,from the top of the terracing.

Those memories are followed closely by our endevours againts a top class Leeds United side we should have buried.

Twice !! 67/68 and 73/74

:singing: We've beat the champs of Europe,cos we are by far the best
As we go marchin on:singing:

20-05-2023, 10:24 PM
Hibs in Europe got me thinking as the older I get the more difficult it is to remember sometimes, so here is some history on our club in Europe. Magic nights at Easter Road and overseas.

Hibs in Europe from Wikipedia

Hibernian Football Club ("Hibs") is a Scottish football club, based in the Leith area of Edinburgh. Hibernian were the first ever British club to enter an official European footballing competition, doing so in the inaugural 1955–56 season of the European Cup. They were also the first Scottish club to participate in the Fairs Cup, an unofficial forerunner of the UEFA Cup and Europa League competitions.

Hibernian reached the semi-final stage in the European Cup (1955–56) and the Fairs Cup (1960–61). They participated in European competition during the 1960s and 1970s on an almost annual basis, competing with many of the major club sides during this period. During this time, Hibernian recorded notable victories against Barcelona (1960–61), Napoli (1967–68) and Sporting Lisbon (1972–73). Since the late 1970s, Hibernian have qualified for European competition much less frequently. During the 2000s they appeared three times in the Intertoto Cup, a summer competition that offered qualification for the UEFA Cup. The club most recently participated in European competitions in the 2021–22 Europa Conference League qualifying rounds.

961–1979 (tel:961–1979): Regulars
Through most of the 1960s and the 1970s, Hibernian were regular participants in European competition. Wins against select teams from Copenhagen (Stævnet)[10] and Utrecht[11] put Hibernian into the quarter-finals of the 1962–63 Fairs Cup, where they lost 6–2 on aggregate to Valencia. In the 1965–66 Fairs Cup, Hibernian met Valencia again with each team winning their home game 2–0; Valencia progressed after they won a playoff match.

Hibernian defeated Portuguese club Porto in the first round of the 1967–68 Fairs Cup, but then lost 4–1 to Napoli in the second round first leg. Napoli were the league leaders in Italy at the time, had only conceded five goals in their last six matches and had legendary goalkeeper Dino Zoff in their lineup. Despite this, Hibernian overwhelmed their Italian opponents and won 5–0 at Easter Road to win the tie 6–4 on aggregate. In the following round, Hibernian were beaten 2–1 on aggregate by Leeds United.
Italian goalkeeper Dino Zoff conceded five goals at Easter Road as Hibernian defeated Napoli in the 1967–68 Fairs Cup.
Wins against Olimpija Ljubljana and Lokomotive Leipzig in the 1968–69 Fairs Cup pushed Hibernian into a third round tie with Hamburg. Hibernian won 2–1 at home and lost 1–0 in Germany, which meant that they were eliminated by the away goals rule. In the final season (1970–71) of the Fairs Cup, Hibernian defeated Malmo 9–2 and Vitoria Guimaraes 3–2, but were then beaten 3–0 by English side Liverpool. Joe McBride scored a hat-trick in the home leg against Malmo, which set a club record for goals scored in European competition.

Hibernian entered the European Cup Winners' Cup for the first (and only) time in 1972–73, as the Scottish Cup winners (Celtic) had also won the league championship. They faced Portuguese club Sporting in the first round, and lost 2–1 in the first leg in Lisbon. Hibernian scored first in the return leg through Alan Gordon. Sporting equalised before half-time, but five goals without reply in the second half gave Hibernian a 6–1 victory on the night and 7–3 on aggregate. Jimmy O'Rourke scored a hat-trick in what was Sporting's heaviest defeat in European competition at that time. Another emphatic home win, 7–1 against Albanian club KS Besa, put Hibernian into the quarter-finals. Hibernian won 4–2 at Easter Road in the first leg against Hajduk Split, but a 3–0 defeat in Yugoslavia knocked them out of the tournament.

UEFA had taken over the operation of the Fairs Cup in 1971 and rebranded it as the UEFA Cup. Hibernian entered this competition for the first time in 1973–74. After a 3–1 aggregate win against Icelandic club Keflavík in the first round, Hibernian met Leeds United for a second time. Both games ended goalless, and Leeds won the tie after a penalty shootout. Norwegian club Rosenborg were the first round opposition in the 1974–75 UEFA Cup. After a 3–2 win in Norway, three goals in four minutes started a 9–1 rout for Hibernian (and a club record defeat for Rosenborg) in the second leg. They would progress to the second round, where they lost 8–2 to Italian club Juventus.

In the 1975–76 UEFA Cup, Hibernian were paired with English side Liverpool in the first round. A Joe Harper goal gave Hibernian a 1–0 win in the first leg at home, but Ray Clemence saved a penalty that could have given Hibernian a two-goal lead. This moment was to prove crucial, as Liverpool won 3–1 at Anfield to narrowly win the tie on aggregate. Liverpool went on to win the competition, with that first leg loss against being their only defeat en route. In the following season, Hibernian managed to squeeze through 1–0 in the first round of the UEFA Cup against French side Sochaux. A 2–0 home win against Swedish club Öster raised hopes of further progress, but that lead was overturned by a 4–1 defeat in the return leg.
Manager Eddie Turnbull enjoyed success with Hibernian and guided them to several European entries during the 1970s. The last of these was in the 1978–79 UEFA Cup, where they defeated Norrkoping 3–2 at home and this lead was preserved as the Swedes were held to a goalless draw in the second leg. Hibernian had been known for their attacking play under Turnbull, but he adopted more defensive tactics this season. This proved unsuccessful in the second round, as Hibernian lost 2–0 in Strasbourg. A 1–0 win for Hibernian in the return leg was therefore insufficient, and it was to be the club's last involvement in European football for 11 years.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/100-european-games
While I am at this the above is from the Hibs website and a couple of scorers are wrong, they should be as seen-

32: 02 October 1968
Hibernian 2 Olimpija Ljubljana 1 (Fairs Cup (R1 1L)
The return leg in Edinburgh is a little less straight forward with “Joe Davis” scoring both of our goals.
36: 15 January 1969
Hibernian 2 Hamburg 1 (Fairs Cup, R2 2L)
“Joe McBride” scores twice to secure victory on the night, but it’s bittersweet as we miss a penalty and have two goals chalked off as Hamburg progress on the away goals rule.
The first European game that I really remember was the game below, I had been to other before but don’t really remember them, this one I do remember.

22: 08 September 1965
Hibernian 2 Valencia 0 (Fairs Cup, R1 1L)
We are again paired with Valencia and stun ‘Los Murciélagos’ (The Bats) winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Jim Scott and John McNamee.

As for any other Scottish/British club in Europe I cannot see past the great team that jock Stein built after leaving us, to go on and win the European Cup.

reading this history shows just how many unfortunate if-only’s we had in Europe over those years. Play off defeats, away goals agony, missed penalties… and of course the Hajduk Split disaster after pounding them at home.

and then there was AEK Athens, which still hurts a little today

22-05-2023, 02:26 PM
Aberdeen for me.

22-05-2023, 02:40 PM
Aberdeen for me. Only time Real have lost in a European Cup final

Liverpool beat them in 1980/81 final

22-05-2023, 02:53 PM

Stand corrected.
Still Adeen 4 me

22-05-2023, 04:27 PM

Inter and Benfica beat them in the 60's too.

22-05-2023, 05:17 PM
I watched Rangers73 on amazon. It starts with a pompous poem about the "footballing arts" then the Rangers team of the time go on to tell viewers, taking great delight, that they won the CWC by booting anything on the park that moved, sometimes even the ball itself.

So not them.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

22-05-2023, 05:56 PM
I watched Rangers73 on amazon. It starts with a pompous poem about the "footballing arts" then the Rangers team of the time go on to tell viewers, taking great delight, that they won the CWC by booting anything on the park that moved, sometimes even the ball itself.

So not them.

When oldco won the CWC in Barcelona 1972 ,the hordes invaded the pitch before the final whistle.
Exuberance probably
However oldco where under the cosh in the final minutes of the game.
On the subject of cosh or coshes !
The hordes fought a running battle with the Spanish cops on the pitch.A few had busted heids that day.
Orange blood flowed.
Spanish cops were certainly up to their knees in it :greengrin
John Greig got handed the cup in a room under the stand and brought it home in his suitcase !

My memory is the TV news showing them parading the cup round the track at Ibrox,the players on the back of a flat bed coal lorry.
Oh and John Greig,Edinburgh born and a boyhood hertz fans,leaning on the cab roof of the lorry.leading the masses on the terraces in a rendition of the sash,played by a flute band marching in front.

22-05-2023, 05:58 PM
When oldco won the CWC in Barcelona 1972 ,the hordes invaded the pitch before the final whistle.
Exuberance probably
The hordes fought a running battle with the Spanish cops on the pitch. A few had busted heids that day.
Orange blood flowed. Spanish cops where up to their knees in it :greengrin
John Greig got handed the cup in a room under the stand and brought it home in his suitcase !

My memory is the TV news showed them parading the cup round the track at Ibrox,the players on the back of a flat bed coal lorry.

Oh and John Greig, Edinburgh born and a boyhood hertz fans,leading the masses on the terraces in a rendition of the sash,played by a flute band marching in front of the lorry.Then we hammered them 3-Zip (going on 8) a few weeks later.

Never a "football" team in their puff.

22-05-2023, 06:12 PM
Then we hammered them 3-Zip (going on 8) a few weeks later.

Never a "football" team in their puff.

During the Tornadoes era ,we rarely lost to them.A few cup semis included.Turnbull hated them.
You are correct ,they kicked their way round Europe that season. The team that is !
The hordes got a kicking too.
The ones that did some research before going to Spain might have thought EL CID was the Barcelona cops!!

The final was a bit of a war,i recall.
And Dynamo were pressing the hun back in final minutes.
Hence the hordes invading the pitch before time up.

Anyway,its a forgettable and not a "greatest european performance" imo :greengrin
Not near the scale of Celtic and Aberdeens achievements in Europe.
Or the Arabs !!

22-05-2023, 07:08 PM
Inter and Benfica beat them in the 60's too.

right, so apart from Inter, Benfica and Liverpool, Aberdeen are the only team to ever beat Real in a European Final :greengrin

22-05-2023, 07:10 PM
right, so apart from Inter, Benfica and Liverpool, Aberdeen are the only team to ever beat Real in a European Final :greengrin

They're the last to do it, which is where the confusion arises.

23-05-2023, 01:20 AM
Nottingham Forest being back-to-back European champions is incredible. Nottingham Forest!

23-05-2023, 01:39 PM
When Hibs wiped the floor with former German champions Rot Weiss Essen in 2005.

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Football%3A+ANNIVERSARY+WALTZ%3B+RW+Essen+0+Hibs+3 +Hibs+thump+Rot-Weiss...-a0134335660

23-05-2023, 01:50 PM
Nottingham Forest being back-to-back European champions is incredible. Nottingham Forest!

With an outstanding manager/coach ..and a fair sprinkling of Scottish players ! :greengrin:aok:

23-05-2023, 01:58 PM
When Hibs wiped the floor with former German champions Rot Weiss Essen in 2005.

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Football%3A+ANNIVERSARY+WALTZ%3B+RW+Essen+0+Hibs+3 +Hibs+thump+Rot-Weiss...-a0134335660

Brilliant trip that one!

23-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Exuberance probably
The hordes fought a running battle with the Spanish cops on the pitch.A few had busted heids that day.
Orange blood flowed.
Spanish cops were certainly up to their knees in it :greengrin

My memory is the TV news showing them parading the cup round the track at Ibrox,the players on the back of a flat bed coal lorry.
Oh and John Greig,Edinburgh born and a boyhood hertz fans,leaning on the cab roof of the lorry.leading the masses on the terraces in a rendition of the sash,played by a flute band marching in front.
The Rangers must be only team to lose a penalty shoot out but still progress to the next round.

24-05-2023, 02:37 PM
When i first started getting into football dundee united v barcelona home and away ties when they got beat by IFK

24-05-2023, 03:31 PM
When i first started getting into football dundee united v barcelona home and away ties when they got beat by IFK

They did it twice.

At that time the only team to have done that in European competition. The record stood for many years.... not sure if it's still the case.