View Full Version : Trouble in Aberdeen Again

13-05-2023, 07:53 PM
Seems the young team from both sides are reigniting rivalries of old…….

https://twitter.com/martingfindlay/status/1657454726575792129?t=l8vrRAL7IVGv0_Ya6vnV6g&s=08

13-05-2023, 08:04 PM
Utterly pathetic.

Vast majority of the Hibs support were brilliant today, but a small minority of coked up ********s notable. Heard “poof” being shouted clear as day at one point too.

Stokesy's on fire
13-05-2023, 08:11 PM
Sheep got leathered..again

13-05-2023, 08:14 PM
Sheep got leathered..again

How proud we all are of these neds….

13-05-2023, 08:21 PM
How proud we all are of these neds….

Just looked like a bunch of kids on that video having a bit of a a fight with other like minded kids.

Not my cup of tea but not exactly something that all generations before them haven’t done. Not something I’m going to get too worked up about.

Hope all involved had fun and nobody got seriously hurt.

13-05-2023, 08:24 PM
Just looked like a bunch of kids on that video having a bit of a a fight with other like minded kids.

Not my cup of tea but not exactly something that all generations before them haven’t done. Not something I’m going to get too worked up about.

Hope all involved had fun and nobody got seriously hurt.

Neds being neds. No more, no less.

LewysGot2
13-05-2023, 08:38 PM
The thing is we ALL get treated like crap up there - in response to the dafties not able to go up there without being off their faces and aping generations gone by (or their version of it). The pre match searches are getting worse, indiscriminate and totally over the top for everyone else.

13-05-2023, 08:38 PM
Get a block of tickets for every away game but. Personally, I'm delighted they do because they represent our club much better than me.

Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2023, 08:42 PM
Funniest bit of these videos is the fact that nobody in them has a clue how to fight.

DIXIHIBS
13-05-2023, 08:47 PM
Get a block of tickets for every away game but. Personally, I'm delighted they do because they represent our club much better than me.

How?

13-05-2023, 08:48 PM
How?

B7 get priority.

13-05-2023, 08:50 PM
That Prime energy drink will make you do crazy things.

Wee boys.

13-05-2023, 08:52 PM
How?

Sorry, I was being sarcastic.

13-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Funniest bit of these videos is the fact that nobody in them has a clue how to fight.

I was just laughing at that too….the wayward slap punches are hilarious 😂

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-05-2023, 09:15 PM
So what? Only hurting each other, all clearly up for a scrap. They might all be built like the side of a fiver and throw punches like my 4 year old niece but it’s not harming anyone other than themselves, really. Leave them to it, they’ll grow up in their own time.

'mon the beers
13-05-2023, 09:15 PM
Seems the young team from both sides are reigniting rivalries of old…….

https://twitter.com/martingfindlay/status/1657454726575792129?t=l8vrRAL7IVGv0_Ya6vnV6g&s=08

Sorry - can someone post a link that works!!

13-05-2023, 09:19 PM
Sorry - can someone post a link that works!!

Apologies, posting from my phone so link doesn’t work. You can copy it into your browser though.

13-05-2023, 09:21 PM
The thing is we ALL get treated like crap up there - in response to the dafties not able to go up there without being off their faces and aping generations gone by (or their version of it). The pre match searches are getting worse, indiscriminate and totally over the top for everyone else.

The searches don’t bother me at all I must admit. The guy that searched me was very polite and policing was far from robust.

I’m in my 50’s mind you so maybe viewed as old duffer/low risk/non threatening territory these days.

Hillsidehibby
13-05-2023, 09:25 PM
Never liked Aberdeen Pricks. One team city. Dundee has half the population. Punch their fishing farming coupons

13-05-2023, 09:30 PM
So what? Only hurting each other, all clearly up for a scrap. They might all be built like the side of a fiver and throw punches like my 4 year old niece but it’s not harming anyone other than themselves, really. Leave them to it, they’ll grow up in their own time.

Out of interest, how would your 4 year old niece have taken it if she was unlucky enough to have been walking down the street at that time and caught up in it? They might only fight like minded people but they selfishly do so in public places.

I’ll bow out of this thread as neds being neds is about the extent of my opinion.

13-05-2023, 09:31 PM
Saw a couple of guys not in the best of nick who had obviously been turned away from turnstiles. Long way to travel to end up too wasted to get admittance.

A nice pile of fresh spew up the back of stand by someone who didn’t make make it out the back in time. Not the best sight to see while waiting for a pie :sick:

davym7062
13-05-2023, 09:33 PM
they do not represent my club

13-05-2023, 09:35 PM

Your club? Get a life.

Hillsidehibby
13-05-2023, 09:36 PM
Back in the day there was always a pagger at the bus park. Nothing new

13-05-2023, 09:43 PM
Your club? Get a life.

Weird response. Do you think it was a Hibs sponsored pagger?

It has nothing to do with the club so the poster is spot on.

13-05-2023, 09:44 PM
https://twitter.com/scottscb/status/1657448441356722182?t=Jv07OZ0eRtdQQz0S6wz6gg&s=08

Jeez. That was comical. The boy being lifted looked like he was greetin’ 😂

13-05-2023, 09:45 PM
Your club? Get a life.

Mine neither pathetic

13-05-2023, 09:48 PM
Is it members of Block 7. If it is can we stop giving them more priority than other supporters

'mon the beers
FFS I’m not sure what’s worse, the wee get the badge in bams or the police still trying to handcuff the boy after it’s all done.

A long way to go not to see a ball kicked eh

Your club? Get a life.

Pathetic post. Have a word.

Standing up for neds now.

Classy.

13-05-2023, 09:56 PM
The kind of brief flurry of weak blows that has been seen at games for 50 years or more.

The biggest crime really is the nick of some of the attire. Sure there’s a Primark near there. Maybe fighting to get to the joggers and hoodie racks first.

OstKurve Hibs
13-05-2023, 10:14 PM
The kind of brief flurry of weak blows that has been seen at games for 50 years or more.

The biggest crime really is the nick of some of the attire. Sure there’s a Primark near there. Maybe fighting to get to the joggers and hoodie racks first.

Agreed, how can you claim to be a hooligan while wearing skinny Jean's ?

13-05-2023, 10:24 PM
Who actually cares?

13-05-2023, 10:30 PM

I do believe its not just against us but that Aberdeen have been quite active all season.

The notion that its just like minded boys against other like minded boys is a load of crap. Seen and know of plenty of incidents over the years when scarfers have been targeted or been caught up in this kind of crap. Its all a load of bollocks at the end of the day.

13-05-2023, 10:34 PM
Pathetic post. Have a word.

Standing up for neds now.

Classy.

13-05-2023, 11:19 PM
Is it members of Block 7. If it is can we stop giving them more priority than other supporters

They’d certainly do themselves no favours with the club if it is them.

connerg
13-05-2023, 11:34 PM
Agreed, how can you claim to be a hooligan while wearing skinny Jean's ?

Have you ever watched Trainspotting?

13-05-2023, 11:39 PM
The searches don’t bother me at all I must admit. The guy that searched me was very polite and policing was far from robust.

I’m in my 50’s mind you so maybe viewed as old duffer/low risk/non threatening territory these days.

The searches today weren’t as bad as previously.

1875Sean
14-05-2023, 12:01 AM

Apart from begbie non of them are really hooligans

connerg
14-05-2023, 12:18 AM
Apart from begbie non of them are really hooligans

Renton and Sick boy were covert Hibs Boys.

Tarrahib
14-05-2023, 06:04 AM
The searches today weren’t as bad as previously.
Or not as good.

Logie Green
14-05-2023, 06:56 AM
https://twitter.com/scottscb/status/1657448441356722182?t=Jv07OZ0eRtdQQz0S6wz6gg&s=08

Jeez. That was comical. The boy being lifted looked like he was greetin’ 😂

His first ‘phone call was probably to the newsagent to say he’s unavailable to deliver today’s papers.

LeithMike
14-05-2023, 07:00 AM
The notion that this is some kind of victimless crime is nonsense. We experienced the same in reverse fixture at the Jeremiah Taproom and there were kids terrified with the fighting, smashed windows and smokebomb.

The club could certainly do more to discourage this. I’d start by saying if there are more incidents like this then the move to the FF lower for the singing section is not happening.

Might also not invite them to training. I appreciate that also punishes innocent folk but it appears that this is all happening under the ultra banner of each club.

OstKurve Hibs
14-05-2023, 07:05 AM
About a million times aye, what's your point ? Its junkies wearing skinny Jean's not fitba casuals

14-05-2023, 07:05 AM
I'm very much in the 'let youth have its fling' camp. It's mostly a harmless and rather comical spectacle. We've all been bloody fools in our younger days, showing off to our friends, trying to gain credibility. Largely a harmless rite of passage.

hibee316
14-05-2023, 07:07 AM
Honestly, the folk who think this is okay because they did it when they were kids are incredibly selfish.

If these kids arranged to fight in a field nowhere near anyone else, fine.

But they do it in public places in front of people who want nothing to do with it. They put fear into vulnerable folk, because they are too scared to actually have a proper fight.

If you are condoning this, you need to grow up.

Plenty places to fight that dont put everyone else out, and also make everyone think you are a little kid who wants to fight, but isn't brave enough.

I will ask, anyone who does this? Why don't you just have a proper fight?

14-05-2023, 07:09 AM
Young lads rucking has been a thing for generations. It happens; that's not to condone it, but it is the reality of the situation.

With CCTV, smartphones and every detail of people's lives now being documented on social media it hardly seems worth the bother now though. If the police were inclined to do so they could identify every person in the clip posted and the others all over Twitter etc. Could prove an expensive day out for a few of them in more ways than one.

Most people grow out of it fairly quickly without coming to any real harm.

BS44
14-05-2023, 07:28 AM
There was Hibs fans fighting the police at the gates on the main road that lead up to the away end

14-05-2023, 07:50 AM
It all looks a bit homoerotic.

vercol36
14-05-2023, 08:10 AM
It all looks a bit homoerotic.

No. It doesn’t. It looks like a bunch of idiots bereft or any useful skills or hobbies.

Johnny Clash
14-05-2023, 08:18 AM
Imagine if they had smart phones with videos back in 1875 and our formative years just after. The violence was sometimes described in the Edinburgh newspapers as a full scale ‘Riots’ In those days the Hibs fighters were mainly Navies who came to games straight from building the railway with pick axes and shovels. When we played Celtic (aka Glashow Hibernian) after they had poached most of our team the cops couldn’t cope and they had to get soldiers down from Edinburgh Castle to control the fans. Violence is never the answer but unfortunately it happens. Villages fight villages, local schemes fight local schemes … worst of all the politicians who organise and fund the dropping of bombs and napalm on folk’s houses!

paddy1875
14-05-2023, 08:21 AM
Honestly, the folk who think this is okay because they did it when they were kids are incredibly selfish.

But they do it in public places in front of people who want nothing to do with it. They put fear into vulnerable folk, because they are too scared to actually have a proper fight.

Plenty places to fight that dont put everyone else out, and also make everyone think you are a little kid who wants to fight, but isn't brave enough.

They want to fight in public places because they’d be to scared to fight away from everyone else.

They know after a few shouts and pavement dancing there’s a good chance the police with be there shortly and there’s less chance of getting there faces rearranged good and proper.

I heard a few of them in the toilets at half time talking about it and it sounded like a scene from 300. Hugely disappointed to see it actually looked like a low budget comedy movie.

Not great patter hammering someone on the deck either.

Helensburghhibs
14-05-2023, 08:38 AM
They want to fight in public places because they’d be to scared to fight away from everyone else.

They know after a few shouts and pavement dancing there’s a good chance the police with be there shortly and there’s less chance of getting there faces rearranged good and proper.

I heard a few of them in the toilets at half time talking about it and it sounded like a scene from 300. Hugely disappointed to see it actually looked like a low budget comedy movie.

Not great patter hammering someone on the deck either.

They were all arguing in the toilets about their mates running away and not deserving to be "ultras" 🤣

paddy1875
14-05-2023, 08:46 AM
They were all arguing in the toilets about their mates running away and not deserving to be "ultras" [emoji1787]

Aye, a lot of deliberation over who actually brought them along.

Don’t think the trialists will be entering contract talks sadly.

Stokesy's on fire
14-05-2023, 09:21 AM
I do believe its not just against us but that Aberdeen have been quite active all season.

The notion that its just like minded boys against other like minded boys is a load of crap. Seen and know of plenty of incidents over the years when scarfers have been targeted or been caught up in this kind of crap. Its all a load of bollocks at the end of the day.

Aberdeen casuals are no more ASC disappeared years ago

HarpOnHibee
14-05-2023, 09:36 AM
Well that was all very powderpuff.

14-05-2023, 09:55 AM
No. It doesn’t. It looks like a bunch of idiots bereft or any useful skills or hobbies.

Both are not mutually exclusive. The idolisation of "top boys", the desire to dress alike like some kind of uniform, overtly machismo and the wish to have some man on man action whilst dancing around on the pavement like ballerinas. I rest my case m'lud.

14-05-2023, 10:06 AM
There were a group of about 10 in the pub I was in, they were certainly not “ultras” and a good few years older. Looked more like casuals to me, I originally thought Aberdeen but they were all Edinburgh accents. Last I saw was them sprinting up to Union/KingStreet. What was the bother outside the ground before the game?

Donegal Hibby
14-05-2023, 10:40 AM
Not a great image for football when we you see wee neds fighting each other and it's only one step away from proper supporters getting attacked that want nothing more than have a day out in supporting there team just .

I do think that it shouldn't be dismissed or sweeped under the carpet as it's a issue that has the potential to get much worse for ordinary decent fans and needs to be looked into before it gets even worse .

It's definitely not going to help in getting more fans to attend games like families and grandparents etc etc . It doesn't create a very good atmosphere and alot of people would find it intimidating.

Helensburghhibs
14-05-2023, 10:42 AM
There were a group of about 10 in the pub I was in, they were certainly not “ultras” and a good few years older. Looked more like casuals to me, I originally thought Aberdeen but they were all Edinburgh accents. Last I saw was them sprinting up to Union/KingStreet. What was the bother outside the ground before the game?

Before the game was definitely the self proclaimed ultras. Punches thrown with their aberdeen counterparts in the middle of families just trying to go to the game. People can say what they like but it's indefensible and just a bunch of wee fannies playing the hard men.

HarpOnHibee
14-05-2023, 10:46 AM
Before the game was definitely the self proclaimed ultras. Punches thrown with their aberdeen counterparts in the middle of families just trying to go to the game. People can say what they like but it's indefensible and just a bunch of wee fannies playing the hard men.

They should get acting lessons then. Real hard men would chew them up and spit them out if that display is anything to go by.

14-05-2023, 11:12 AM
https://youtu.be/7j9hseLiAys

Quite apt given the Final was last night :)

Apols if this is now stuck in your brain :)

14-05-2023, 11:26 AM
Fine passing it off as harmless scrapping but eventually one child is going to get seriously hurt when it involves kicking someones head multiple times.

Lendo
14-05-2023, 11:38 AM
Fine passing it off as harmless scrapping but eventually one child is going to get seriously hurt when it involves kicking someones head multiple times.

This is where I’m at with it. It’s utterly pathetic. One day a punch will land and one of these wee ****bags, or some innocent person caught in the crossfire, will be seriously hurt or worse.

Embarrassed for all you former Stone Islanders passing it off as kids just having fun.

14-05-2023, 11:53 AM
This is where I’m at with it. It’s utterly pathetic. One day a punch will land and one of these wee ****bags, or some innocent person caught in the crossfire, will be seriously hurt or worse.

Embarrassed for all you former Stone Islanders passing it off as kids just having fun.
Can just take one punch to cause someone to crack their head and change multiple lives. Used to work with someone whose brother got a punch in a taxi queue, ended up with brain damage.

14-05-2023, 11:59 AM
Aberdeen casuals are no more ASC disappeared years ago

Who mentioned the ASC? Their wee group of ultras have had run ins with a few clubs this season.

14-05-2023, 12:09 PM

I saw how the trouble outside the game developed from start to finish. The police marched a large contingent of Hibs fans from the city centre to the ground. We happened to be walking towards Pittodrie at the same time and it was a pretty good natured group. When we turned the corner at the cemetery a small contingent of Aberdeen fans ran towards the Hibs fans intent on a scrap. A small number of our fans reacted. It’s easy to say they shouldn’t have but people don’t put much thought in to these things, it was a spur of the moment reaction. They certainly didn’t instigate anything though.

14-05-2023, 12:16 PM
I saw how the trouble outside the game developed from start to finish. The police marched a large contingent of Hibs fans from the city centre to the ground. We happened to be walking towards Pittodrie at the same time and it was a pretty good natured group. When we turned the corner at the cemetery a small contingent of Aberdeen fans ran towards the Hibs fans intent on a scrap. A small number of our fans reacted. It’s easy to say they shouldn’t have but people don’t put much thought in to these things, it was a spur of the moment reaction. They certainly didn’t instigate anything though.

Sounds like self defence from the so called Ned’s

14-05-2023, 12:37 PM
#Not My ....king Neds?

14-05-2023, 01:05 PM
Radio news saying a 20 year old arrested and police are looking to identify others.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 01:34 PM
Out of interest, how would your 4 year old niece have taken it if she was unlucky enough to have been walking down the street at that time and caught up in it? They might only fight like minded people but they selfishly do so in public places.

I’ll bow out of this thread as neds being neds is about the extent of my opinion.

She wouldn’t be caught up in it because when I take her to games, I drive. I do so because I know these types of things happen and the young laddies that tend to get caught up in this sort of thing tend to travel by train, so they can get blotto on the way there. You could make the argument I shouldn’t have to but I prefer to put the (potential) safety of my four year old niece before my thirst for a beer or two pre match. Let them get on with it they’re just wee laddies, they’ll get a sore face one day and pack it in.

14-05-2023, 01:36 PM
Radio news saying a 20 year old arrested and police are looking to identify others.

Probably the man on Union st? I was in the ground quite early, but it looked like the OK coral outside the ground with police cars everywhere, what was going on
A Hibs was bundled out of the ground with 4 stewards, think he possibly three me something, although a few coins etc were thrown as us
I must admit I didn’t feel threatened at any time

14-05-2023, 01:36 PM
She wouldn’t be caught up in it because when I take her to games, I drive. I do so because I know these types of things happen and the young laddies that tend to get caught up in this sort of thing tend to travel by train, so they can get blotto on the way there. You could make the argument I shouldn’t have to but I prefer to put the (potential) safety of my four year old niece before my thirst for a beer or two pre match. Let them get on with it they’re just wee laddies, they’ll get a sore face one day and pack it in.

What about random families traveling on said trains or our doing a bit of Saturday lunch time shopping?

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 01:42 PM
What about random families traveling on said trains or our doing a bit of Saturday lunch time shopping?

I’ve seen folk fight over toilet roll in supermarkets, I’ve seen folk stabbed and mugged on busy shopping streets, I’ve seen folk have their purses snatched etc and I’ve definitely seen people having brawls on moving trains after a night out. It happens, it’s not nice but it happens. People fight, that’s not going to change. Nowhere in the world is 100% safe and sanitised, it’s a risk you take when you leave the house to be a part of society. Unfortunately, some sections of society are less palatable than others.

14-05-2023, 01:44 PM
I’ve seen folk fight over toilet roll in supermarkets, I’ve seen folk stabbed and mugged on busy shopping streets, I’ve seen folk have their purses snatched etc and I’ve definitely seen people having brawls on moving trains after a night out. It happens, it’s not nice but it happens. People fight, that’s not going to change. Nowhere in the world is 100% safe and sanitised, it’s a risk you take when you leave the house to be a part of society. Unfortunately, some sections of society are less palatable than others.

Ahh that's ok then, crack on lads. How bizarre.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 01:46 PM
Ahh that's ok then, crack on lads. How bizarre.

Can’t wrap everyone up in cotton wool forever, that’s all I’m saying. If they want to act like ten men then let them find out that they’re not. They’ll soon pack it in.

14-05-2023, 01:47 PM

Well I've seen all of them things, but I never seen an Elephant Fly.
I just feel if they really wants to fight then get some training and f---off to the Ukraine.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 01:51 PM
Well I've seen all of them things, but I never seen an Elephant Fly.
I just feel if they really wants to fight then get some training and f---off to the Ukraine.

Not quite the same, is it? It’s no coincidence that football hooliganism spikes during downturns in peoples economic fortunes, it’s a release for some people. Doesn’t excuse it, obviously, but instead of locking folk up for having a “fight” why don’t we start looking at the causes of it and demand solutions?

14-05-2023, 01:52 PM
Can’t wrap everyone up in cotton wool forever, that’s all I’m saying. If they want to act like ten men then let them find out that they’re not. They’ll soon pack it in.

So do nothing?

For me, some self policing from the fans and the club would be a start. If....and it's a big IF going by the footage I've seen, Block 7 are part of this latest problem then the club need to stop accommodating them with tickets, sections etc.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 01:58 PM
So do nothing?

For me, some self policing from the fans and the club would be a start. If....and it's a big IF going by the footage I've seen, Block 7 are part of this latest problem then the club need to stop accommodating them with tickets, sections etc.

Read above, sort the causes and it should dry up on its own.

14-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Not quite the same, is it? It’s no coincidence that football hooliganism spikes during downturns in peoples economic fortunes, it’s a release for some people. Doesn’t excuse it, obviously, but instead of locking folk up for having a “fight” why don’t we start looking at the causes of it and demand solutions?

Yes, just tell them bad boys and girls not to do that again. Our economic fortunes have no really been all that good for a few or many centuries, but hear what you say, in my experience demanding solutions gets nowhere. (Perhaps the French have the right idea?)

14-05-2023, 02:04 PM
Like I said before, the notion that this crap is just ultra on ultra or casual on casual is total bollocks.

14-05-2023, 02:09 PM

Economic fortunes? It will be the Tories fault next.

HendoDelivered
14-05-2023, 02:16 PM
Daft young laddies in Stone Island thinking they are something out of Green Street, too funny 🤣

LewysGot2
14-05-2023, 02:24 PM
Daft young laddies in Stone Island thinking they are something out of Green Street, too funny 🤣

It's definitely still the arm logo of choice for wee dafties. Avoided by anyone with any amount of common sense. Like those ridiculous goggle hats 🙊

If we are going to solve "the social problems" that easily, can interest folk in the magic beans I have to sell? 😉

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 03:01 PM
Economic fortunes? It will be the Tories fault next.

Who was PM in the 1980s at the height of the casual movement? What political party are in power at the moment? Correlation does not equal causation, but it’s not coincidence that football related violence spikes during hard times for working people.

14-05-2023, 03:06 PM
Radio news saying a 20 year old arrested and police are looking to identify others.Fair amount of weapons seized as well I believe. 26730

14-05-2023, 03:25 PM
I don't think anyone is arguing that this kind of thing is harmless or just a bit of fun but there also has to be an acknowledgement that it happens and very few of the people involved will ever see this thread far less pay any attention to it and change their behaviour accordingly. Like it or not we are a bunch of out of touch middle aged men (predominantly) who, in their eyes, have forgotten what it is to be young (and they probably have a point).

My grandad was 90 the other week. As a boy he lived with family in Gorebridge during WWII. For many years he always had an affinity for Arniston Rangers as they were the local team. He used to tell me stories of the running battles when teams from other pit towns, particularly Newtongrange Star, came to town. This would have been the 1940s so at least 2 or 3 generations ago. I daresay the old boys in the store clubs frowned on it then too. It's just something that happens when you give people something to defend and have a rivalry about. Scheme v scheme, school v school, pit v pit, Hibs v Aberdeen......

I'll wager a decent chunk of the younger lads involved yesterday didn't really want to be so. It takes a fair bit of courage to say no when you are that age though especially when the ring leaders tend to the the actual bad *******s. Easier to save face and dance about at the back even with the potential repercussions. These things have peaks and troughs. The casual era had it's heyday in the 80s when life was tough for a lot of people, same reason many turned to heroin or drink as an escape. Tough times lead to people looking for escapism and a weekend of coke and a pagger with some rival fans probably provides it for some. In 5 or 10 years the vast majority of those involved yesterday will be respectable guys thinking about taking their own bairns to games. There's no easy answer. Talking down to them will only embolden their stance, ignoring it completely isn't an option either though. It's not black and white.

DinkyTwo
14-05-2023, 03:29 PM
Who was PM in the 1980s at the height of the casual movement? What political party are in power at the moment? Correlation does not equal causation, but it’s not coincidence that football related violence spikes during hard times for working people.

How come the vast majority of people that go to the football, manage to do so without swinging for opposition fans?

Sounds like a bad excuse for stupidly mindless behaviour.

There's loads of other ways to release a bit of stress and tension than badly fighting a group of opposition football fans in public.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

14-05-2023, 04:28 PM
Good lads. Mon the young team 👊

hibeerealist
14-05-2023, 04:29 PM

Aye it will be the Tories fault along wae everything else!!!

Jeezo

14-05-2023, 04:30 PM

I wonder if you were around when the CCS were fighting back in the day? Seriously man, it’s you that needs to grow up. It’s a bunch of wee ladies having handbags. Not the end of the world.

14-05-2023, 04:33 PM
Can just take one punch to cause someone to crack their head and change multiple lives. Used to work with someone whose brother got a punch in a taxi queue, ended up with brain damage.

Aye, I’m sure you did.

14-05-2023, 04:36 PM
Aye, I’m sure you did.

Why is that so unbelievably? Sounds fairly plausible to me.

Lendo
14-05-2023, 04:41 PM
Aye, I’m sure you did.

Posted without comment…..

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/scottish-news/1692681/shaun-woodburn-danny-swanson-edinburgh-convicted/amp/

DIXIHIBS
14-05-2023, 04:41 PM
Boys will be boys. The violence at certain games 50 years ago was way beyond a wee scuffle between some teenagers. Aberdeen boys caused a fair bit of bother down easter road way before the 6-0 game. These young lads probably see it as defending hibs in their own way. Always happened and always will.

Jay
14-05-2023, 04:44 PM
Why is that so unbelievably? Sounds fairly plausible to me.

It's very plausible. I had a trainer who previously worked in a brain injury unit. Lots of sad stories of young lads fighting. He used to say don't protect your face , that's cosmetic. Protect your head and the back of your neck. One kick or one punch was all it took.

14-05-2023, 04:55 PM
Posted without comment…..

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/scottish-news/1692681/shaun-woodburn-danny-swanson-edinburgh-convicted/amp/

Where does it say taxi queue in that article?

14-05-2023, 05:01 PM

You don't believe it's possible that fights break out in taxi queues? Seems a rather odd thing to call the poster out on.

Helensburghhibs
14-05-2023, 05:15 PM
It's very plausible. I had a trainer who previously worked in a brain injury unit. Lots of sad stories of young lads fighting. He used to say don't protect your face , that's cosmetic. Protect your head and the back of your neck. One kick or one punch was all it took.

I had a lad work for me who was on the other side. One punch guys head hit the kerb and he's no inside doing time, I believe it was culpable homicide in the end ? But certainly started off on a murder charge

14-05-2023, 05:35 PM
I had a lad work for me who was on the other side. One punch guys head hit the kerb and he's no inside doing time, I believe it was culpable homicide in the end ? But certainly started off on a murder charge

I think that's the kind of thing that will hit home with these young guys. What they could lose as a result of their actions or those of someone else.

I had a lucky escape a fair few years back. Was drinking in a pub, there was a disagreement over the puggy, I had walked out the door and the other guy followed me out and sucker punched me in the back of the head.. I instinctively spun round and lashed out and he fell and hit his head on some railings on the way down. Thankfully he was OK after a minute or 2 and tbf to him he never wanted any police involvement (I think largely because a few people saw him throw the 1st punch unprovoked and when I was totally oblivious and unable to protect myself). Was a stark wake up call though and makes you realise the consequences of a second of madness.

The thought of all your mates heading to Ibiza or on a European jaunt with Hibs whilst your are stuck in Polmont is probably as big a deterrent as there is.

LeithMike
14-05-2023, 05:55 PM
I don't think anyone is arguing that this kind of thing is harmless or just a bit of fun but there also has to be an acknowledgement that it happens and very few of the people involved will ever see this thread far less pay any attention to it and change their behaviour accordingly. Like it or not we are a bunch of out of touch middle aged men (predominantly) who, in their eyes, have forgotten what it is to be young (and they probably have a point).

My grandad was 90 the other week. As a boy he lived with family in Gorebridge during WWII. For many years he always had an affinity for Arniston Rangers as they were the local team. He used to tell me stories of the running battles when teams from other pit towns, particularly Newtongrange Star, came to town. This would have been the 1940s so at least 2 or 3 generations ago. I daresay the old boys in the store clubs frowned on it then too. It's just something that happens when you give people something to defend and have a rivalry about. Scheme v scheme, school v school, pit v pit, Hibs v Aberdeen......

I'll wager a decent chunk of the younger lads involved yesterday didn't really want to be so. It takes a fair bit of courage to say no when you are that age though especially when the ring leaders tend to the the actual bad *******s. Easier to save face and dance about at the back even with the potential repercussions. These things have peaks and troughs. The casual era had it's heyday in the 80s when life was tough for a lot of people, same reason many turned to heroin or drink as an escape. Tough times lead to people looking for escapism and a weekend of coke and a pagger with some rival fans probably provides it for some. In 5 or 10 years the vast majority of those involved yesterday will be respectable guys thinking about taking their own bairns to games. There's no easy answer. Talking down to them will only embolden their stance, ignoring it completely isn't an option either though. It's not black and white.

I get that point of view but if it’s not right, it’s not right and shouldn’t just be tolerated as it’s what young lads do and has gone on for years.

Is the bigotry perpetrated by Celtic and Rangers not just their fans re-tracing the footsteps of their fathers and grandfathers?

We can’t have it both ways.

The behaviour and football in Scotland is regressing significantly at a time when police don’t have the resources. Certainly becoming less of a place for families.

Lendo
14-05-2023, 06:14 PM

Eh? It’s an example of the impact a single punch can have.

pollution
14-05-2023, 06:28 PM

Sorry pal, this is a nonsense observation. Unemployment is at an all time low, employers are desperate for workers at all levels of work.

To bring up a political excuse from 40 years ago is lazy and not on. I am afraid this is the level of unoriginality that pervades this site.

14-05-2023, 06:45 PM
I wonder if you were around when the CCS were fighting back in the day? Seriously man, it’s you that needs to grow up. It’s a bunch of wee ladies having handbags. Not the end of the world.

Who cares what the CCS done back in the day, these wee fannies need to grow up, go enjoy the game and go home, and yes it could be the end of the world for someone who gets hit the wrong way

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 06:45 PM
Sorry pal, this is a nonsense observation. Unemployment is at an all time low, employers are desperate for workers at all levels of work.

To bring up a political excuse from 40 years ago is lazy and not on. I am afraid this is the level of unoriginality that pervades this site.

Unemployment is at an all time low but the cost of living is at its highest relative to wages since the Second World War (or so I’ve read, can’t be arsed referencing that). And save me the “not on” patter, hardly a grievous crime to suggest that maybe folk are a bit frustrated with their standard of living atm and are looking for an outlet for their anger.

14-05-2023, 06:48 PM
Unemployment is at an all time low but the cost of living is at its highest relative to wages since the Second World War (or so I’ve read, can’t be arsed referencing that). And save me the “not on” patter, hardly a grievous crime to suggest that maybe folk are a bit frustrated with their standard of living atm and are looking for an outlet for their anger.

Absolutely nonsense

14-05-2023, 06:49 PM

What a load of garbage. If the laddies involved can afford to go to Aberdeen for a day out wearing a 400 quid jumper then they don’t have any issue with standard of living. I hardly think any of them are worrying about mortgage payments or anything either given half of them are about 14. They’re daft laddies being daft laddies which will always happen, rightly or wrongly. It’s nothing more and nothing less than that and nothing whatsoever to do with a cost of living crisis.

14-05-2023, 06:49 PM

until some child gets barged into traffic by these idiots carrying on, and hit by a car

but aye, the poster should be the one to grow up right enough :rolleyes:

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 06:51 PM
Absolutely nonsense

Ok

14-05-2023, 06:52 PM
until some child gets barged into traffic by these idiots carrying on, and hit by a car

but aye, the poster should be the one to grow up right enough :rolleyes:
Or someone decides to be a big man an carry a knife.

14-05-2023, 06:55 PM
Or someone decides to be a big man an carry a knife.

yes, a great point

theres so many things that could happen that are life changing or life threatening, but some want to wave it off as if we’re talking about young lads playing chap door run

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 06:57 PM
What a load of garbage. If the laddies involved can afford to go to Aberdeen for a day out wearing a 400 quid jumper then they don’t have any issue with standard of living. I hardly think any of them are worrying about mortgage payments or anything either given half of them are about 14. They’re daft laddies being daft laddies which will always happen, rightly or wrongly. It’s nothing more and nothing less than that and nothing whatsoever to do with a cost of living crisis.

I believe it’s called teenage rebellion, whether they’re worried about the cost of living crisis blah blah blah or not. I know most of us are a good 40 years past being teenagers but I’m not, I remember what it’s like. Bairns will rebel against anything, the police, mum and dad, the government. If it’s authority, they’ll go against it. Obviously not all kids are like this but a sizeable amount are. Look at previous subcultures from when you were younger, mods and rockers were often loaded up on drugs and fought regularly, skinheads, casuals, you name it. None of these subcultures were born from people being content with their situation, they were born from working class youth rebellion against authority. The ultras are no different, they’ll grow out of it.

14-05-2023, 07:05 PM
I believe it’s called teenage rebellion, whether they’re worried about the cost of living crisis blah blah blah or not. I know most of us are a good 40 years past being teenagers but I’m not, I remember what it’s like. Bairns will rebel against anything, the police, mum and dad, the government. If it’s authority, they’ll go against it. Obviously not all kids are like this but a sizeable amount are. Look at previous subcultures from when you were younger, mods and rockers were often loaded up on drugs and fought regularly, skinheads, casuals, you name it. None of these subcultures were born from people being content with their situation, they were born from working class youth rebellion against authority. The ultras are no different, they’ll grow out of it.

There are a few good essays by Stuart Hall (sociologist and cultural theorist rather than disgraced presenter) and Ian Taylor on football hooliganism, Thatcherism and a general demonisation of the working classes that predates her.

People might dismiss it as nonsense, as is their right, but it is a subject that has been taken seriously on an academic level in the past. Might be of interest to you if it's an idea you'd like to read further on.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-05-2023, 07:07 PM
There are a few good essays by Stuart Hall (sociologist and cultural theorist rather than disgraced presenter) and Ian Taylor on football hooliganism, Thatcherism and a general demonisation of the working classes that predates her.

People might dismiss it as nonsense, as is their right, but it is a subject that has been taken seriously on an academic level in the past. Might be of interest to you if it's an idea you'd like to read further on.

I’ll give them a read, sounds interesting. I’ve seen studies on the subject in the past but the author slipped my mind, very possible it’s the same ones.

14-05-2023, 07:47 PM

University of Leicester have or certainly had Sociology in Sport course which focused on football hoologanism. Here was one of the sociologist involved. Think the other was a John Williams.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/obituaries/eric-dunning-death-pioneer-sociology-sport-norbert-elias-civilising-process-a8823641.html

14-05-2023, 07:53 PM

For me it will be mostly just following the fashion of the times. The Ultras seem to have caught kids imaginations and they are just playing out their version. I wouldn't rule out teh current political situation and a world devoid of hope particularly for the young as part of the reason though.

It may seem harmless looking at wee fannies throw a few weak punches but it won't stop there and the next game the fighting will be that wee bit worse until someone really gets hurt. I want this type of behaviour nowhere near the club. I'd be happy to see them all banned for significant periods and if they are part of Block 7 then the club needs to distance themselves from that group.

nairn hibee
14-05-2023, 08:05 PM
In the 80s , 4 of us went to Aberdeen to see hibs ,we got jumped on the way back to the railway station,someone ran up behind my brother and smashed a bottle on his head ,he was out cold .4 or 5 years later he started taking seizures,which devolved into a brain tumour .my mother asked the surgeon if it would have been caused by that .he said it was quite possible ( not definite though).he died with it in 2000 aged 37 .totally unprovoked attack ,I wonder what the guy who did it would think now.

14-05-2023, 08:10 PM
In the 80s , 4 of us went to Aberdeen to see hibs ,we got jumped on the way back to the railway station,someone ran up behind my brother and smashed a bottle on his head ,he was out cold .4 or 5 years later he started taking seizures,which devolved into a brain tumour .my mother asked the surgeon if it would have been caused by that .he said it was quite possible ( not definite though).he died with it in 2000 aged 37 .totally unprovoked attack ,I wonder what the guy who did it would think now.

Pretty shocking story that

14-05-2023, 11:28 PM
Certainly becoming less of a place for families.

More families attending football than at any time in history.

connerg
15-05-2023, 02:58 AM
Who cares what the CCS done back in the day, these wee fannies need to grow up, go enjoy the game and go home, and yes it could be the end of the world for someone who gets hit the wrong way

If you went to away games in the 80's you'd be delighted the CCS were there and on your side.

15-05-2023, 04:42 AM
If you went to away games in the 80's you'd be delighted the CCS were there and on your side.

Luckily for me I wasn't

15-05-2023, 05:34 AM

Haha load of pish

15-05-2023, 06:15 AM

Ah the romanticisation of thuggery 😁

15-05-2023, 06:42 AM

True heroes.

15-05-2023, 09:09 AM

Singapore. Safest I’ve felt ever.

They have brutal laws and punishment and are basically fascists.

But safe it is. Zero crime.

15-05-2023, 09:43 AM

I did go to away games in the 80s and this is utter pish.

Can you remember the crowds in the 80s mate? 4, 5, 6 thousand at some games at Easter Road, if you want a return to those days stick up for these neds, cause the only effect they will have is to drive families away.

Block 7 have been mentioned. I have no idea if they were involved or not, but if they did have anything to do with this my enthusiastic support for them will evaporate quicker than an ice cube in a furnace.

Paulie Walnuts
15-05-2023, 09:48 AM
All hail the CCS.

Ffs, they were all ****ing morons as well.

15-05-2023, 10:27 AM
All hail the CCS.

Ffs, they were all ****ing morons as well.

I await the usual "would you say that to a morons face" comment shortly 😂

15-05-2023, 10:36 AM
The eywis been mentality is a pretty poor excuse for moronic behaviour associated with football culture. We all get that young bams will act like fuds, but it's not acceptable. We all suffer from the stigma of a minority pastime and of course it does tarnish footballs reputation. For those that don't enjoy our sport, it gives more power to their prejudices.

15-05-2023, 10:41 AM
Both are not mutually exclusive. The idolisation of "top boys", the desire to dress alike like some kind of uniform, overtly machismo and the wish to have some man on man action whilst dancing around on the pavement like ballerinas. I rest my case m'lud.

Are you saying the video is basically just a gay porn movie?