View Full Version : Queen's Park v Dundee

JamesHFC
04-05-2023, 10:00 PM
Massive game tomorrow in the Championship. A win for Queen's Park would see them win the league.

Would be some achievement for Dempster to take them up two divisions in just two seasons.

Would be good to have a different team in the top flight, what is the situation with their stadium though. Will they continue to share with Stenhousemuir or play at Lesser Hampden? Both have very low capacities and are both played on artificial turf.

PHeffernan
04-05-2023, 10:05 PM
Massive game tomorrow in the Championship. A win for Queen's Park would see them win the league.

Would be some achievement for Dempster to take them up two divisions in just two seasons.

Would be good to have a different team in the top flight, what is the situation with their stadium though. Will they continue to share with Stenhousemuir or play at Lesser Hampden? Both have very low capacities and are both played on artificial turf.

I fear the sale of Simon Murray has sunk Queens Park.
It was almost as if they did their own legs on purpose to avoid having to deal with all the issues identified in your post.
They were poor last week and Dundee must be heavy favourites to at least draw tomorrow night which is all they need to be promoted as Champions.

In truth Dundee with their grass pitch and healthy support would be a better addition to the top league leaving only Dunfermline and Falkirk of the better supported teams to get their act together and make their way back to the top flight.

04-05-2023, 10:08 PM
Strange situation with Queens. Clearly got a lot right on the football side but a lot of their fans apparently not happy at all with the other side of things to do with the stadium etc.

04-05-2023, 10:09 PM
That league has been absolutely incredible this season. There’s not a single meaningless game tomorrow night, every team apart from Raith are fighting for something. Am I right in saying it’s on bbc alba? Best of luck to both teams.

04-05-2023, 10:11 PM
I fear the sale of Simon Murray has sunk them.
It was almost as if they did their own legs on purpose to avoid having to deal with all the issues identified in your post.
They were poor last week and Dundee must be heavy favourites to at least draw tomorrow night which is all they need to be promoted.

Tend to agree. They have relatively struggled since his departure.
Looking forward to watching this game, a lot riding on it.
I think a Dundee promotion would be better for the SPL (bigger club etc) but the romantic in me as in current size of the club the Spiders historical impact on Scottish and indeed British football, appeals.

04-05-2023, 10:29 PM
Hoping that Dundee win promotion and also that United stay up, to get another decent Derby game into the calendar.

KdyHby
04-05-2023, 10:58 PM
Am I right in saying it’s on bbc alba? Best of luck to both teams.

https://www.live-footballontv.com/live-scottish-football-on-tv.html

04-05-2023, 11:13 PM
Queens Park and their astro can get tae ****. League's emabarrassing enough with the ones already in the top flight. With that said there's always a part of me that likes to see the 'undedog' win, but the league needs to better promote itself outside the big two and another derby (providing Utd stay up) with a bigger fanbase helps.

percy veer
04-05-2023, 11:50 PM
Hoping that Dundee win promotion and also that United stay up, to get another decent Derby game into the calendar.

why they never show any other derbies anyhow

connerg
05-05-2023, 01:04 AM
My second visit to Dundee (Dens Park) in the early eighties, was a 0-3 win for Hibs. Willie Irvine got two. All three in the second half in front of the Hibs fans on the terracing and a fair chunk of the Main Stand. Freezing cold day.

One of my memories is the music at half time. Spandau Ballet, Lifeline and Zoom by Fat Larry's Band.

05-05-2023, 05:59 AM
Queen's offer the romance but they'd be just like Gretna if they got up. Respect to their fanbase but the club is too small to offer anything more than novelty next season.

It feels like party pooping but I hope Dundee win tonight.

05-05-2023, 06:01 AM
One of my memories is the music at half time. Spandau Ballet, Lifeline and Zoom by Fat Larry's Band.

Choons. Make it happen, Barrie!

05-05-2023, 06:01 AM
In truth Dundee with their grass pitch and healthy support would be a better addition to the top league leaving only Dunfermline and Falkirk of the better supported teams to get their act together and make their way back to the top flight.
And Partick Thistle.

05-05-2023, 06:17 AM
I dont think there is any "fairytale" with Queens Park.

They have a sporting director looking to recruit "local lads" but this is a long term plan. For the time being, all thats happened is Wilie Haugheys millions have bankrolled the team up the divisions.

I dislike how he thinks that he can buy whatever toy he wants (see the SFA taking his coin to keep International football at the dump that is Hampden), and as far as I am concerned he can GTF.

On the football front, Dundee would be a far better addition to the Premiership, and it would be quite a sweet result for Dundee to be promoted as Champions, and Dundee Utd to win a playoff v Queens Park.

05-05-2023, 06:27 AM

Totally agree with this though obviously Sky have more regularly chosen not to show the leagues more attractive games.

jakedance
05-05-2023, 06:27 AM
The last thing we need in the top league is another fake pitch. I hope Dundee win it.

05-05-2023, 06:41 AM
Looking forward to it. Hopefully Dundee win. The Dundee derby should be in the top league. Would be great for a city I have a lot of time for. Great place. Queens Park would offer nothing.

05-05-2023, 06:51 AM
The last thing we need in the top league is another fake pitch. I hope Dundee win it.

Queens Park do not have a "plastic" pitch. Their pitch is immaculate. The problem with them is that the stadium is too small and the lack of a support.

05-05-2023, 07:04 AM
I still owe a debt of gratitude to DFC for 1986 so come on the Dee😁

05-05-2023, 07:20 AM
Every time I think of Dundee I can't get Charlie Adam's ugly puss out of my head but he's gone now so I hope they do it. Queens Park would offer nothing to the league.

05-05-2023, 07:22 AM

Stenhousemuir is a strange temporary home for them. 25 miles from their actual true home

i wouldnt mind both them and Dundee going up. Replacing Kilmarnock and St Johnstone as I like a wee football trip to the highlands.

05-05-2023, 07:23 AM
It's actually a fantastic pitch at Lesser Hampden (not plastic). It's the rest of the stadium that doesn't really amount to much.

Godsahibby
05-05-2023, 07:58 AM
Is there anything stopping Queens from renting Hampden if they got promoted? I am sure with the possibility of 50k away fans for some games would appeal to them.

05-05-2023, 08:08 AM
It's actually a fantastic pitch at Lesser Hampden (not plastic). It's the rest of the stadium that doesn't really amount to much.
I thought they had a hybrid pitch now. I can't make my mind up who I want to win. The boom bust of Dundee or the ambition of Queen's with a Benefactor footing the bill. I've watched Queens a few times this year and they were nowhere near as good after they sold Simon Murray. From what I was told the money just couldn't be refused. Such a good league this year and shows what the top league would be like without the Uglies

05-05-2023, 08:18 AM
I thought they had a hybrid pitch now. I can't make my mind up who I want to win. The boom bust of Dundee or the ambition of Queen's with a Benefactor footing the bill. I've watched Queens a few times this year and they were nowhere near as good after they sold Simon Murray. From what I was told the money just couldn't be refused. Such a good league this year and shows what the top league would be like without the Uglies

Dundee for me, they will bring a fair crowd to ER, which helps Hibs financially

05-05-2023, 08:24 AM
I always think of Dundee as a team of cloggers.

05-05-2023, 08:28 AM
I’d like Queens Park to be promoted purely on the basis of having quite a nice strip.

05-05-2023, 08:37 AM
I always preferred Dundee to United when I stayed up there.

Following Dundee must have been a bit of a chore for folk my age, as their neighbours did well during the 80s but Dundee always felt like the “proper” local team. I went to a few derbies up there (a great game to go to) and Dundee had a strangely good record in the ones I went to.

Hibs playing United eventually ended up feeling like a bit of a personal derby as I knew so many of their fans and they tended to be the ones who talked pish, and that you’d bicker with.

So Dundee to come up, and gain the upper hand in that wonderful city for me, albeit somewhere below Hibs.

The Championship has been a good league this year and I’ve enjoyed the Friday night games so it’s fitting the league has a decent spectacle lined up for it’s last game.

05-05-2023, 08:58 AM
I always preferred Dundee to United when I stayed up there.

Following Dundee must have been a bit of a chore for folk my age, as their neighbours did well during the 80s but Dundee always felt like the “proper” local team. I went to a few derbies up there (a great game to go to) and Dundee had a strangely good record in the ones I went to.

Hibs playing United eventually ended up feeling like a bit of a personal derby as I knew so many of their fans and they tended to be the ones who talked pish, and that you’d bicker with.

So Dundee to come up, and gain the upper hand in that wonderful city for me, albeit somewhere below Hibs.

The Championship has been a good league this year and I’ve enjoyed the Friday night games so it’s fitting the league has a decent spectacle lined up for it’s last game.

Did Dundee have a bigger support than United in those days?

if not it’s hard to make a case for them being the proper local team

05-05-2023, 08:58 AM
fancy Dundee to win the league and Partick Thistle to get beat by whoever the premiership side is

even Morton in 6th could get a play-off spot if they win at Cove and the ICT v Ayr game is a draw

05-05-2023, 09:33 AM
fancy Dundee to win the league and Partick Thistle to get beat by whoever the premiership side is

even Morton in 6th could get a play-off spot if they win at Cove and the ICT v Ayr game is a draw

A lot to play for in a lot of games tonight

05-05-2023, 09:39 AM

**** Queens
**** Dempster
Cmon Dundee
Queens would offer nothing in top flight

05-05-2023, 09:41 AM
**** Queens
**** Dempster
Cmon Dundee

Dundee will be right back down if they win too. Abysmal performance this season in a very poor quality championship.

Will be the lowest winning points total for something like 15 years.

linlithgowhibbie
05-05-2023, 09:47 AM
I always think of Dundee as a team of cloggers.

Phew, had to read that twice, I thought you said a "team of doggers"

05-05-2023, 09:58 AM
A lot to play for in a lot of games tonight

Hamilton could go down to league 1

top flight club just three seasons ago

Sergio sledge
05-05-2023, 09:59 AM
Is there anything stopping Queens from renting Hampden if they got promoted? I am sure with the possibility of 50k away fans for some games would appeal to them.

That would seem like a no-brainer if they get promotion. No point in playing in a stadium of 1,500 capacity when you have Hampden with its 52k capacity literally next door and not in use most of the year.

The pitch might be a problem though, the surface at Hampden is terrible. Maybe some sort of deal where Queens fund a new surface in Hampden and get use of the stadium as well for premiership matches.

I'm sort of torn with Queens, on the one hand they are very much like Gretna, the riches of a millionaire owner being used to raise them up through the divisions at an artificially quick rate. On the other hand they do seem to have much more of a solid footing and admirable ambitions than Gretna had and if they can make any sort of impact in Glasgow drawing fans away from the OF then that can only be a good thing for Scottish football as a whole.

It's going to be massively difficult though, having seen ICT up here struggle to attract fans away from their historic support of the OF it'll take a long time and a lot of work to achieve. At least Queens have their long history behind them rather than a newish club like ICT.

05-05-2023, 10:01 AM
Did Dundee have a bigger support than United in those days?

if not it’s hard to make a case for them being the proper local team

It always felt to me like Dundee had a very robust support within the city but United seemed to draw a few more in from surrounding areas.

Prior to the 80s Dundee were the prominent team, I think.

It's been pretty slim pickings for Dundee fans for over half a century now though so in a fairly small city with 2 teams I've always thought they've done well to get the support they do.

05-05-2023, 10:33 AM

Whatever Willie Haughey asks for the SFA will do for him, regardless of what it does to the Hampden pitch.

He's here!
05-05-2023, 10:40 AM
I fear the sale of Simon Murray has sunk Queens Park.
They were poor last week and Dundee must be heavy favourites to at least draw tomorrow night which is all they need to be promoted as Champions.

Thought it was a strange move for Murray at the time. He looks like he could be passing Queens on the way down with County.

05-05-2023, 11:17 AM
Honestly, away days at Hampden would be pretty cool as a one off.

05-05-2023, 11:28 AM
Honestly, away days at Hampden would be pretty cool as a one off.

Only been to one Queens Park v Hibs game at Hampden - League Cup game about 12-13 years ago maybe. Parked in the car park right outside! Away section was in the South Lower. Rest of Stadium deserted which made for an eerie atmosphere.

G15 Hibs
05-05-2023, 12:09 PM
Only been to one Queens Park v Hibs game at Hampden - League Cup game about 12-13 years ago maybe. Parked in the car park right outside! Away section was in the South Lower. Rest of Stadium deserted which made for an eerie atmosphere.

2007. First game defending the trophy after winning it in the March. Very much a second string team - anyone remember Torben Joneleit? Won 2-1 and only really looked anything like decent after Fletcher came on in the 2nd half. Billy Stark the Queen's manager, he'd got them promoted to what's now League 1 the previous season.

05-05-2023, 12:54 PM

You can’t rule that out can you.

davhibby
05-05-2023, 01:26 PM
Dundee will be right back down if they win too. Abysmal performance this season in a very poor quality championship.

Will be the lowest winning points total for something like 15 years.

I think Dundee only have 3 players contracted in to next season so they’d at least have the chance to bring new faces in. As you say the current squad they have would be miles off it in the top flight.

If QP go up it’s almost certain they’d be playing at Hampden next season, the national team trained at lesser in March and there have been quite a few mentions of the “Hampden Campus” from both QP and people involved with the SFA which suggests it’s pretty much a done deal. Even in the Championship they desperately need at least one stand behind the goals at lesser for the start of the season or it will be a total mess with away allocations etc.

Superfurry72
05-05-2023, 01:29 PM
A strange one for me as Lesser Hampden is literally round the corner from me, so would be handy. But the ground is very small, still looks nowhere near ready and I don't know a single person in the area who supports them. It would be very strange to have them in the SPL.

Also, one of my dearest friends was a Dundee fan, but he passed away from cancer aged just 49 just before Xmas. I would like them to go up because I know it would have made him happy.

05-05-2023, 01:31 PM
On the basis of my anti-weegie prejudice I’ll go for Dundee. From what I’ve seen of the Championship the winner will go straight back down without changing their squad for the better.

05-05-2023, 01:34 PM
Was only a couple on the after we’d won the league cup there. Sure it was close, Morais goal

05-05-2023, 03:15 PM
**** Queens
**** Dempster
Cmon Dundee

Kinda agree.

The Queens thing is a bit too Gretna for me. Also, do we really want another team from Glasgow in our league?

05-05-2023, 04:50 PM

Proper fitba.

05-05-2023, 06:08 PM
Not to fussed who goes up, would be nice for dempster and as some have said it would be nice for a Dundee Derby, not like sky would care lol

05-05-2023, 06:14 PM

They say you see what you want too see! :wink: :tee hee:

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2023, 06:30 PM
Looking forward to the game , think Dundee will win it 2-1 though cheering on Queen's park purely because of Dempster being there .

05-05-2023, 06:40 PM
Not to fussed who goes up, would be nice for dempster and as some have said it would be nice for a Dundee Derby, not like sky would care lol

If Dundee stay down they could still have a Dundee derby next season.
I wouldnt mind seeing Hamilton go down to the abyss for my own reasons.

05-05-2023, 06:51 PM
Poor defending

One nil Dundee

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

05-05-2023, 06:51 PM
Brutal defending from Boateng there.

05-05-2023, 06:52 PM
Game Over :wink:

skyehibee
05-05-2023, 06:53 PM
Cameron for Dundee looks a decent prospect

05-05-2023, 06:54 PM
With Morton beating Cove 1-0, if it’s stays like that both Ayr/Caley would miss out on a play off position

05-05-2023, 06:55 PM
Brutal defending from Boateng there.

Was pretty unlucky, done well to track his man and win the ball hit them accidentally stood on the ball and fell over.

Cameron is highly rated and seemed to be involved in everything so far. Heard hearts interested in him

Game Over :wink:

1-1

Game on.

What a goal

1-1

What a goal.

05-05-2023, 06:56 PM
What a goal for Queens Park!!

Simply what a goal.

Wow what a goal

Some hit

1-1

Great as I thought Dundee might just kill the game with another

Hope QP can get there noses in front

05-05-2023, 06:57 PM
game not over 1-1

pick that one out

05-05-2023, 06:57 PM
That is astonishing!!

JamesHFC
05-05-2023, 06:58 PM
Wow what a start.

2-1 wow

Take a bow son

Goal of the season contender. Beauty

2-1 Queens!!

What a game we have here.

2-1 Queen’s!

Wow

05-05-2023, 06:59 PM
Amazing opening twelve minutes

Wow. Super Scottish football

Some turn around, what a game so far.

what's gaun on man

What a game!

2 teams just going for it, great to see.

Interesting to see how Dundee react after only winning once in the last 6.

05-05-2023, 07:00 PM
Lol!

🕷️ 🕷️ 🕷️

JamesHFC
05-05-2023, 07:00 PM
what's gaun on man

Game over 😉

05-05-2023, 07:02 PM
Proper fitba!

2-2

2-2

Terrible defending

skyehibee
2-2 what a game

This is just mental haha

For a top two clash neither team can defend 😂

05-05-2023, 07:03 PM
2-2 what a ****ing game

This is mildly entertaining. :greengrin

2-2 looked offside

Boy looked well offside to me and I didn't think it was a free kick either to be honest

This is going to top our 5-5 and 6-6 games :greengrin

Both teams aren’t the biggest fans of defending are they 🤣

lol 2-2

2-2 looked offside

Aye, thought so too

LunasBoots
05-05-2023, 07:04 PM
Well offside

05-05-2023, 07:04 PM
Was 14/1 for over 4.5 goals as well. Didn't put it on cause I thought there was no chance of it happening.

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2023, 07:05 PM
2-2 . Wow , what a game so far :greengrin

05-05-2023, 07:06 PM
Well offsideNot so sure Ashcroft was but fairly tight

LunasBoots
05-05-2023, 07:06 PM
Good game, nobody can defend 😄

05-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Good game, nobody can defend 😄

Aye. I've no seen defending like this since I was at school.

LunasBoots
Not so sure Ashcroft was but fairly tight

Yeah just seen it again, close call

Boy looked well offside to me and I didn't think it was a free kick either to be honest

The games all the better though for not being stopped for a VAR decision. Much better seeing the game flow.

Dundee players seem to like a roll around, hope they get beat

05-05-2023, 07:08 PM
I think Dundee will win this by a few goals

05-05-2023, 07:14 PM
Artificial pitches are brutal. The ball is bouncing way higher on this than you'd see on a grass pitch. Both teams look pretty brutal as well to be fair to the pitch

05-05-2023, 07:16 PM
2-2 looked offside

Faddy goes "imagine having VAR here and wasting 5 mins, slowing this game down"

Never mind if the decision is right or wrong though. As long as the fast paced game continues eh

05-05-2023, 07:18 PM

Never mind if the decision is right or wrong though. As long as the fast paced game continues eh
He shouldn’t be commentating coming out with that.

05-05-2023, 07:19 PM
3-2 Dundee

3-2 Dundee

LunasBoots
2-3 Dundee

05-05-2023, 07:20 PM
Had to wait a while for that goal.

These two are stinking at defending

LunasBoots
Artificial pitches are brutal. The ball is bouncing way higher on this than you'd see on a grass pitch. Both teams look pretty brutal as well to be fair to the pitch

Yup don't need anymore in the top division

What channel is this on

05-05-2023, 07:21 PM
3-2 Dundee

Might've been handball that

LunasBoots
What channel is this on

BBC Scotland

What channel is this onBBC Scotland

05-05-2023, 07:22 PM
Games like this make me think Scottish football would be fine without the Old Firm.

Donegal Hibby
What channel is this on
BBC Scotland

I agree with him. The game is better without VAR.

05-05-2023, 07:23 PM
BBC Scotland

05-05-2023, 07:23 PM
So open it could be a cricket score tonight, both teams going for it.

05-05-2023, 07:24 PM
Games like this make me think Scottish football would be fine without the Old Firm.

The only ones that care about that lot are them.

05-05-2023, 07:24 PM
I agree with him. The game is better without VAR.

The game would be better if we had competent officials.

05-05-2023, 07:27 PM
Game at Cove in danger of being abandoned due to thick fog. Used to play golf in that neck of the woods and when the fog came down the fairway you could barely see ten yards in front of you.

05-05-2023, 07:27 PM
The game would be better if we had competent officials.

I don’t disagree with that.

05-05-2023, 07:28 PM
Really enjoying the game but Al Lamont is a dreadful commentator.

05-05-2023, 07:31 PM
Really enjoying the game but Al Lamont is a dreadful commentator.

Enjoying it as well, but the quality is really poor!

Whatever team wins the league will need to improve massively or it'll be a short stay in the Premiership

05-05-2023, 07:32 PM
3-3.

Yes

3-3

JamesHFC
This game is insane 😂

This is mad

05-05-2023, 07:33 PM
Reminds me of our 5-5 game v the rangers the other year.

Insane. :greengrin

Incredible

2-2 looked offside

Agreed. Looked like he came back from an offside position. Some game though!!

05-05-2023, 07:34 PM
Owen Coyle's shouting is nippy.

Can the second half live up to that first 45 minutes, incredible stuff.

Donegal Hibby
This games absolutely bonkers 😂😂😂

05-05-2023, 07:35 PM

Whatever team wins the league will need to improve massively or it'll be a short stay in the Premiership

I wouldnt say the quality of some ofctge goals was poor. Some very questionable defending during the half I woukd agree.

Really enjoyed that.

Much better than that EPL p#sh.

The boy Fox would be far better up front! Brilliant header.

GRA
05-05-2023, 07:36 PM
Great to see both teams go for it with nothing to lose. Makes for an incredible half. More of the same in the second 45 please!

05-05-2023, 07:37 PM

Apart from probably the goal of the season. Brilliant entertainment.

05-05-2023, 07:37 PM
Pure entertainment

05-05-2023, 07:40 PM
Pure entertainment

But makes a difference when there’s lots of fans in the stadium

Skol
05-05-2023, 07:40 PM
This is how I remember football from my youth. None of this sterile tippy tippy pish we see today.

05-05-2023, 07:42 PM
Refreshing not to see a five minute VAR check after every goal. Proper end to end football with no delays the way it should be. Brilliant stuff.

Green Reaper
05-05-2023, 07:43 PM
Just seen the goals, Fox 1st goal is a peach, wtf was that defending for Dundees 3rd 😂

05-05-2023, 07:54 PM
That's was another laughable freekick right in front of the linesman

05-05-2023, 07:57 PM
4-3 Dundee

05-05-2023, 07:59 PM
That might just be it

05-05-2023, 08:00 PM
It’s a great game

Got the game on silent(listening to music) so can't hear the commentators or Coyle, very open game but 2 dreadful defences.

Chances of pitch invasion at the end ?

Donegal Hibby
4-3 Lyall Cameron . He's had a good game.

05-05-2023, 08:06 PM
4-3 Lyall Cameron . He's had a good game.

Apparently scored 10 goals from midfield. May be worth a look

HIBS NUTS
05-05-2023, 08:08 PM
great game

05-05-2023, 08:09 PM
no goal for about 10 mins

boring :(

the only side with nothing to play for= Raith Rovers lead the Harry Wraggs 2-1

05-05-2023, 08:10 PM
Raith only have 2 subs tonight. Some injury list.

05-05-2023, 08:12 PM
2-2 Raith v Partick

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2023, 08:14 PM
Think he's coming out of contract as well .

05-05-2023, 08:18 PM

Yeah, it is a hybrid pitch. I probably didn't explain that properly.

05-05-2023, 08:23 PM

Hearts are supposedly showing an interest.

05-05-2023, 08:24 PM
5-3 Dundee

Dundee back in the top flight.

3-5, cracking goal

05-05-2023, 08:25 PM
Great finish.

5-3 Dundee

Well that's that, then.

I watched their game last week against Cove, and never in a million years did i think they could score 5 goals in one game.:greengrin

05-05-2023, 08:26 PM
Great finish.
Top notch

JamesHFC
05-05-2023, 08:27 PM

Hopefully we do better up there next season. Our last three games away to them have been brutal.

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2023, 08:28 PM
Great finish by Mccowan. Been a entertaining game :greengrin

05-05-2023, 08:31 PM
Don't mind Dundee, got a decent support and are a miss in the premier.

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-05-2023, 08:32 PM
Good as this game has been, the most entertaining part has been the bloke who’s painted his entire ****ing head blue. Not even the right shade of blue either, what a guy.

LunasBoots
05-05-2023, 08:32 PM
Pretty deserved, look like they'll need a lot of additions in the Premiership mind you

05-05-2023, 08:34 PM
bummer for Morton.... ICT 1 Ayr 2

FT Arbroath 0 Hamilton 0, looks like the great escape for Hamilton, Cove will go down on GD

JamesHFC
05-05-2023, 08:38 PM
Coyle being escorted off by Bowyer 😂

LunasBoots
05-05-2023, 08:38 PM
Slagging off the pitch invasion 😄 funny commentators

chippy
05-05-2023, 08:39 PM
Exuberance eh. Fan invasions ok for some

05-05-2023, 08:39 PM
Cracking game o fitba

05-05-2023, 08:40 PM
“Ideally you want the fans to celebrate in the terracing and not on the field of play”

🤣🤣 shut up you moron.

05-05-2023, 08:40 PM
Dundee deserved to win. Will go straight back down.

LunasBoots
05-05-2023, 08:41 PM
Pitch invasions are like the end of the world in Scotland for some reason but promotion in England it's 'look at these amazing scenes', can BBC Scotland not just enjoys scenes of joy

05-05-2023, 08:41 PM
Queens park finish 3rd

Partick finish 4th ahead of Morton on GD

05-05-2023, 08:42 PM
Absolute bonkers of a league. 10 mins to go Ayr Utd were out of the play offs, score a goal and end up 2nd!

Rumble de Thump
05-05-2023, 08:42 PM
Queens Park fans somehow managing not to go onto the pitch to attack celebrating Dundee fans.

05-05-2023, 08:44 PM
Slagging off the pitch invasion 😄 funny commentators

Put themselves in a strange position of saying no one wants to see it but then stating it shows the passion of Scottish fans. It's not for me but at the same time I've no real issue with it. Let them enjoy their night.

Crunchie
05-05-2023, 08:48 PM
Welcome back Dundee I, hope it's County who trade places with them.

05-05-2023, 08:48 PM
26711https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhAQABAIAAAAAAAP///yH5BAEAAAAALAAAAAABAAEAAAIBRAA7

05-05-2023, 08:53 PM
I quite liked the thought of Queens Park getting promoted until I watched that.

Would be another Killie/Livi in the league, very similar to Abroath too.

Rubbish pitch and punt it forward to the big physical forward. Nothing wrong with it but still.

05-05-2023, 08:57 PM
Massive congratulations to scruffy Hearts barsteward Paul Hartley on both teams he’s managed this season being relegated. Impressive.

05-05-2023, 09:11 PM
Massive congratulations to scruffy Hearts barsteward Paul Hartley on both teams he’s managed this season being relegated. Impressive.I got a lot of sharn on Twitter when he went to Hartlepool and slagged him off Wish I'd put a bet on them going down but some schadenfreude with both [emoji3]

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

05-05-2023, 09:31 PM
Mental game o' fitba, fair enjoyed it. How absolutely Scottish fitba from the 1950s was two folk using ladders tae watch the game over the wall, absolutely brilliant :greengrin

Depending on how results go we could have 4 derbies in the premiership next season if Ayr United come up and St Johnstone go down.

05-05-2023, 09:37 PM
Mental game o' fitba, fair enjoyed it. How absolutely Scottish fitba from the 1950s was two folk using ladders tae watch the game over the wall, absolutely brilliant :greengrin

Depending on how results go we could have 4 derbies in the premiership next season if Ayr United come up and St Johnstone go down.

Some purists would say that St Johnstone going down would rob us of their derby against United. The Arabs weren't much to talk about until the 80s.

Keepthefaith
05-05-2023, 09:39 PM

Rubbish pitch and punt it forward to the big physical forward. Nothing wrong with it but still.

Ermm they were playing at ochilview weren't they?

Don't disagree about the league being better with Dundee promoted though, thought they were the better team

05-05-2023, 10:46 PM

That's not their pitch though.

05-05-2023, 11:10 PM
That's not their pitch though.

True but is there not some debate about where they’d be playing their home games next season?

PHeffernan
06-05-2023, 12:39 AM
Dundee will be 7th best supported in our league next season so a good addition.
All they need is some players. Only 3 contracted for next season.

Hopefully Dunfermline can start making their way back next season.

06-05-2023, 06:35 AM
Watched most of it this morning, cracking entertainment. Always enjoy a wee trip up to Dundee.

Crunchie
06-05-2023, 09:17 AM
Mmm, would rather travel to Dingwall than Dundee myself. Decent day out when the match is played on a Saturday.
I'd rather we get the bigger teams back into the top flight and the Dundee derby is usually a good watch. Think of the memories trips to Dens Park give our neighbours anaw :greengrin

snedzuk
06-05-2023, 10:10 AM
Good as this game has been, the most entertaining part has been the bloke who’s painted his entire ****ing head blue. Not even the right shade of blue either, what a guy.

Did he set it alight though.

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-05-2023, 10:33 AM
Did he set it alight though.

He did not, Bojang 1 - 0 weird Dundee fan

06-05-2023, 10:49 AM
Welcome back Dundee I, hope it's County who trade places with them.

Would rather it was Kilmarnock and their crap plastic pitch. Sadly Livi are safe.

06-05-2023, 10:50 AM
I didn’t realise Gary Bowyer was the son of Ian Bowyer. He had a helluva career at Nottingham Forest

06-05-2023, 11:03 AM
I didn’t realise Gary Bowyer was the son of Ian Bowyer. He had a helluva career at Nottingham Forest

I remember feeling really old when I read that, having remembered Ian Bowyer as a player and panini stickers legend.

He didn’t really feel old enough to have a son as old as Gary.

06-05-2023, 12:47 PM
I just caught the second half last night. Great game and hats off to the referee who allowed the teams to be very physical but kept it in line. It was like watching football again with hardly any play acting, time wasting or cheating and two teams going hammer and tong at each other. If we could get that type of game but with the better quality of player in the top league it would be a great watch. Unfortunately half the teams set up to not get beat, time waste and cheat and the refs are either with agenda or without a clue. That game would have been destroyed by most refs who officiate in the top league.

06-05-2023, 01:49 PM
I just caught the second half last night. Great game and hats off to the referee who allowed the teams to be very physical but kept it in line. It was like watching football again with hardly any play acting, time wasting or cheating and two teams going hammer and tong at each other. If we could get that type of game but with the better quality of player in the top league it would be a great watch. Unfortunately half the teams set up to not get beat, time waste and cheat and the refs are either with agenda or without a clue. That game would have been destroyed by most refs who officiate in the top league.

It’s a great point about the referee.

They don’t often get praise - but he had a role in that being the spectacle that it was.

I was also originally pro VAR but after watching our version of it, then watching a game without it again, I know what I prefer.

Easy to say with hindsight though and a different opinion would be available had a team been denied promotion by a refereeing call that was clearly wrong.