View Full Version : Scottish Cup Final moved to 5.30pm KO

03-05-2023, 04:57 PM
Doesn’t affect us of course, but imagine we were in the final and got hit with this abomination?

Another example of why the armchchair fan is deemed king, and prioritised over the attending fan.

Might be the end of 3pm Cup Finals in the future.

03-05-2023, 04:59 PM
At least it’s not early. Doesn’t change how pathetic it is.

03-05-2023, 05:00 PM
It’s been moved not to clash with the FA cup final which kicks off at 3.00pm this year. Absolute disgraceful decision by the SFA

03-05-2023, 05:01 PM
A 5:30 kick off is superior to one at 3PM imho

No trains to the Highlands avaible after 7:37 though, absolute disgrace in this case

Sergio sledge
03-05-2023, 05:16 PM
No chance of me getting the train down from Inverness and back with the family for that. Last train leaves queen street less than 30mins after full time whistle.

No thought for the ICT fans at all. Typical of the SFA though.

03-05-2023, 05:16 PM
Add to that that the SFA have given an advantage to Celtic by not giving ICT the chance to sell half the ground as well.

03-05-2023, 05:18 PM
What a disgrace.

Paul1642
03-05-2023, 05:19 PM
No chance of me getting the train down from Inverness and back with the family for that. Last train leaves queen street less than 30mins after full time whistle.

No thought for the ICT fans at all. Typical of the SFA though.

Surely they will stick on an extra service. If not that’s ridiculous. SFA should have agreed this with Scotrail before the announcement.

Sergio sledge
03-05-2023, 05:19 PM
Just saw the ticket allocation as well. ICT took 14,000 fans to the last final. 8,000 with the option of another 2,000 is scandalous. At least give them the chance to sell half, even if they don't use it.

Paul1642
03-05-2023, 05:21 PM
Just saw the ticket allocation as well. ICT took 14,000 fans to the last final. 8,000 with the option of another 2,000 is scandalous. At least give them the chance to sell half, even if they don't use it.

Scottish football never fails to amaze (disappoint) me.

HarpOnHibee
03-05-2023, 05:21 PM
A 5:30 kick off is superior to one at 3PM imho

No trains to the Highlands avaible after 7:37 though, absolute disgrace in this case

What do they expect ICT fans to do if the game goes to extra time and penalties?

03-05-2023, 05:25 PM

I genuinely wonder what Celtic fans realistically think the split should be in these cases. They seem to be advocating something like 50,000/1,000.

They've become unbearable this season.

Mcbizz1998
03-05-2023, 05:25 PM
I’d be pretty pleased if it was a 17:30 kick off for us, but ICT fans might struggle to get home.

Having said that, considering it’s a treble chasing Celtic they are playing I doubt it will be an issue. Still, disgrace if a decision by the SFA.

Stubbsy90+2
03-05-2023, 05:26 PM
I genuinely wonder what Celtic fans realistically think the split should be in these cases. They seem to be advocating something like 50,000/1,000.

Only in Scotland could it be deemed acceptable to give the already overwhelming favourites a further advantage.

03-05-2023, 05:27 PM
I think Viaplay have had too big a say. Cup final should always be 3pm Saturday

03-05-2023, 05:28 PM

It’s utterly shocking. ****ing ********s.

03-05-2023, 05:33 PM

I seen one on Twitter claiming they should get at least 40000 as it’s unfair season ticket holders will miss out due to glory hunters from Inverness

Glory hunters :faf:

03-05-2023, 05:33 PM
Embarrassing decision. Stuff the greed is good final down south.

03-05-2023, 05:36 PM

I seen one on Twitter claiming they should get at least 40000 as it’s unfair season ticket holders will miss out due to glory hunters from Inverness

I've honestly hated their fans much much more than any other set of fans this season. Bunch of entitled ****wits

declan macmanus
03-05-2023, 05:39 PM
Every club in Scotland should be coming out against this.

If we don't make a stand against a move from a 3pm K.O. for the Scottish Cup Final to avoid clashing with an English game we'll never have a 3pm final again.

Absolutely disgusting decision. It is about the one fixture that is written in stone.

What next, move it because it clashes with a Beyonce gig?

darwenhibby
03-05-2023, 05:44 PM
The English cup final has been 5.00 for a while now.
This year they moved it back to 3.00pm due to trains Euston to Manchester
Now the trains are on strike down here on the day.
Via play should have been told to bolt
They knew the Scottish cup final was 3.00pm when they signed their deal

03-05-2023, 05:47 PM
Disgraceful shambles.

declan macmanus
03-05-2023, 05:48 PM

Is it Viaplay or the BBC that have asked it to move.... the BBC will be showing both games?

03-05-2023, 05:50 PM

Celtic season ticket holders put money into Celtic absolutely nothing else. They can bolt. Also get to see all their away games on tv. Same argument every year neutral venue not a home game.

03-05-2023, 05:51 PM
Who honestly gives one about the FA cup final

03-05-2023, 05:54 PM
Who honestly gives one about the FA cup final

Quite a few folk I’d imagine. Will be a much better watch than Celtic strolling past Inverness. Would probably have ended up watching more of it if they were on at the same time.

03-05-2023, 05:54 PM

heard the exact same stuff from them before our league cup final in 2021.

the only correct way is to start at 50/50 and whatever the smaller club can’t shift goes to Celtic. Anything less than that and you’re already starting off with a Cup Final at a supposedly neutral venue that resembles a home game for the old firm (whichever of the two arse cheeks it is). And in spite of what some people on here at the time thought, our failure to entirely sell out our lesser allocation on that occasion does not weaken that inherent argument in the slightest.

Oh and in regards the switch to a later kickoff time… f***ing disgrace, and an attack on tradition.

03-05-2023, 05:56 PM
Quite a few folk I’d imagine. Will be a much better watch than Celtic strolling past Inverness. Would probably have ended up watching more of it if they were on at the same time.

Fair enough wouldn't be moving our game because of it

03-05-2023, 05:59 PM
Fair enough wouldn't be moving our game because of it

Na I agree with that. Game should be at the same time it always is with the folk who actually go being the priority over people watching on TV.

EGL2000
03-05-2023, 05:59 PM

Probably likely to be just as one sided, city miles ahead of United.

03-05-2023, 06:09 PM
Evidently the contract gives Viaplay the right to choose the kick off time.TV Rights money more important than the paying customer I’m afraid.

03-05-2023, 06:16 PM
It’s been moved not to clash with the FA cup final which kicks off at 3.00pm this year. Absolute disgraceful decision by the SFA

Which was moved to allow fans an easier journey home!!!!

03-05-2023, 06:32 PM
When we won the cup in 2016 im sure the FA cup final was played after it at 5pm. Swings and roundabouts I guess.

03-05-2023, 06:42 PM
When we won the cup in 2016 im sure the FA cup final was played after it at 5pm. Swings and roundabouts I guess.

The English FA didn’t move the FA Cup to suit the Scottish Cup being at 3pm. They wouldn’t have even given it a 2nd thought and neither should the Scottish FA when it came to this year

03-05-2023, 07:13 PM
Pathetic, pathetic, pathetic, pathetic.

Devaluing our already tattered brand.

JammyDoidger
03-05-2023, 07:19 PM
To be fair I'd love a cup final at that time. The anticipation would build all day would be a great bevvy and atmosphere, better than early kick offs that's for sure.

Steven79
03-05-2023, 07:19 PM
To be fair I'd love a cup final at that time. The anticipation would build all day would be a great bevvy and atmosphere, better than early kick offs that's for sure.Not if you lived in Inverness...

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

03-05-2023, 07:25 PM
To be fair I'd love a cup final at that time. The anticipation would build all day would be a great bevvy and atmosphere, better than early kick offs that's for sure.

If it went to ET and pens, and we won, we'd not be getting back to the pubs at home until about 11.

With the exception of 2013 when was the last time the Scottish Cup Final kicked off any time other than 3pm on a Saturday?

03-05-2023, 07:32 PM
If it went to ET and pens, and we won, we'd not be getting back to the pubs at home until about 11.

With the exception of 2013 when was the last time the Scottish Cup Final kicked off any time other than 3pm on a Saturday?

what time was 2013? I can’t even remember

03-05-2023, 07:33 PM
what time was 2013? I can’t even remember

Sunday 3pm. Moved as not allowed to be on same day as champs league final. Wish UEFA had made that rule the year before.

davy67 +
03-05-2023, 07:58 PM
This is a pretty shocking but not unsurprising decision, it shows that the fans are the least important part of the game

03-05-2023, 08:01 PM

03-05-2023, 08:05 PM

Did it? Was it 2020? Take the point though..

Okay, APART from 2020 and 2013, when was the last time...etc?

03-05-2023, 08:26 PM
Did it? Was it 2020? Take the point though..

Okay, APART from 2020 and 2013, when was the last time...etc?

2021. So that's two out of the last three finals.

When this seasons final is played it means the last four finals will all have had different kick off times.:greengrin

03-05-2023, 08:29 PM
2021. So that's two out of the last three finals.

When this seasons final is played it means the last four finals will all have had different kick off times.:greengrin

2021 definitely?

Okay then, APART from 2013 and the world-crisis-affected finals in 2020 and 2021, when was the last time....etc?

:-)

03-05-2023, 08:36 PM
2021 definitely?

Okay then, APART from 2013 and the world-crisis-affected finals in 2020 and 2021, when was the last time....etc?

:-)

You've broken me, I give up.:greengrin

I've got every cup final programme since 1947 but can't be bothered rummaging through them at this time of night.

Out of curiosity the 2020 final kicked off at 2.15pm and the 2021 was 2.00pm. Never understood why

A cheeky answer would be 1976, Rangers v Hearts. Hearts were one down at 3.00pm, the ref started the game early because of the horrible weather and Rangers scored in the first minute.

03-05-2023, 08:39 PM

I've got every cup final programme since 1947 but can't be bothered rummaging through them at this time of night.

Out of curiosity the 2020 final kicked off at 2.15pm and the 2021 was 2.00pm. Never understood why

A cheeky answer would be 1976, Rangers v Hearts. Hearts were one down at 3.00pm, the ref started the game early because of the horrible weather and Rangers scored in the first minute.

Hearts did the same to The Huns when Robertson scored early doors.

03-05-2023, 08:43 PM
Hearts did the same to The Huns when Robertson scored early doors.

Colin Cameron?

03-05-2023, 08:53 PM

wow. That’s impressive. The whole collection must be worth a fortune

03-05-2023, 09:05 PM
Should be split 50-50 split it’s a National Cup Final

Caley could sell 25k no problem

Everything weighted against them before a ball kicked

03-05-2023, 09:07 PM

doubt it, but it should still start at 50/50

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-05-2023, 09:07 PM

No chance they could sell 25k but it’s not the point, they should have the chance to try and Celtic can be given whatever’s left over. Not as if they’d be short of buyers for any left over tickets ffs

03-05-2023, 09:12 PM
Tried the same with us League Cup Final but that was the Scottish League I suppose

Petrie!

Agree they should be given the opportunity

A long way to travel the KO time doesn’t help but previous winners and they took a decent support IIRC

03-05-2023, 09:21 PM
wow. That’s impressive. The whole collection must be worth a fortune

All in really good nick as well.

Used to buy them and would replace them with better quality ones when they came up and then sell the previous issue, took a while but am satisfied with them now.

davy67 +
03-05-2023, 09:47 PM
If the FA Cup Final goes to ET and penalties will the KO be delayed?

03-05-2023, 10:08 PM
People have the blinkers on if they think ICT are selling anything like 20k tickets. Simply not happening even if it were a 3pm kick off.
As for the kick off time. If it was us I'd love it. Appreciate I'm not trying to get back to Inverness though.

Steven79
03-05-2023, 10:09 PM
If the FA Cup Final goes to ET and penalties will the KO be delayed?Wouldn't surprise me.

Utter joke and just goes to show you were Scotland stands...

03-05-2023, 10:32 PM
Colin Cameron?

Aye, sorry, I think Robertson got brought down for the penalty.

JamesHFC
03-05-2023, 11:06 PM
Sums up Scottish football. It's genuinely atrocious.

The Baldmans Comb
03-05-2023, 11:31 PM
What an utterly 2nd rate and pathetic country Scotland can often be.

I can't think of any other country in the world where the football authorities would allow their show piece national event to be devalued in such a demeaning manner.

Nae wonder English people hold Scottish football in such contempt.

connerg
03-05-2023, 11:35 PM
Aye, sorry, I think Robertson got brought down for the penalty.

Cameron hinself got brought down for the penalty, i think. Robertson came on as a late sub.

04-05-2023, 02:29 AM

I think the tv contract that was signed gives the broadcaster the right to chose kick off time

rossevenil
04-05-2023, 04:26 AM
Scottish Cup and FA Cup used to always be on at the same time back in the day,,difference was Only 4 TV channels and BBC Scotland showed our final and England had theirs,unless you lived in the borders you watched your own one.
Now do we think they would be having a 5.30 kick off if it was the old firm in final? Police Scotland would have a hairy fit at the idea of all day drinking before hand!!! As already mentioned this has been pushed by viaplay as they know their revenue for final has already dropped because its not the final they hoped for when they signed contract and with FA Cup on cooncil tv its not even a tough decision which 1 to watch

Trinity Hibee
04-05-2023, 05:29 AM
Folk really need to stop signing up to viaplay. It’s probably the worst of all the sports PPV channels. Hate the fact they have all the Scotland games now too.

04-05-2023, 06:13 AM
Cameron hinself got brought down for the penalty, i think. Robertson came on as a late sub.

IIRC Fulton got brought down for the penalty, Robertson never got on at all. Jeffries promised him he would get on but he never made it, he was stripped ready to go on but the ref blew the final whistle before it could happen

James Stephen
04-05-2023, 06:16 AM
Agree this is a rubbish decision.

But is it much different to Hibs choosing to move a huge game to a worse ko time to make a few more quid from tv viewers, which many on here supported?

Its the same principle, and if its Ok for Hibs to maximise income, why not for the SFA too?

04-05-2023, 06:34 AM

But is it much different to Hibs choosing to move a huge game to a worse ko time to make a few more quid from tv viewers, which many on here supported?

Its the same principle, and if its Ok for Hibs to maximise income, why not for the SFA too?

But it doesn't bring in a single extra penny for the SFA.

04-05-2023, 06:36 AM

Strongbow must be melting my brain! 🍻

04-05-2023, 06:40 AM

The SFA get sweet FA extra income so not comparable

Trinity Hibee
04-05-2023, 06:45 AM

But the reasoning behind it is the same in that it’s being moved in favour of those who watch on TV rather than those who go to the game so there is a comparison to be made.

It’s nothing new all of this when you take a step back. This has been happening for years only this time it impacts the biggest game of the season. At the end of the current deal the teams/league need to have offered alternatives to the crap KO times and crap TV coverage. We have to be able to come up with something better

declan macmanus
04-05-2023, 06:46 AM

It is comparable as it could be argued that the SFA got extra money up front by giving Viaplay the right to choose KO times in their contract.

Both were and are shocking decisions that give no thought to the fans who go to games.

04-05-2023, 07:19 AM
There ARE three trains running (7pm 7:30pm and 9:40) that will get some Caley fans home.

It’s still outrageous though.

First 2 of those trains are no good for a 5.30 kick off.

04-05-2023, 07:21 AM

Apologies, you’re right.

04-05-2023, 07:21 AM
There ARE three trains running (7pm 7:30pm and 9:40) that will get some Caley fans home.

It’s still outrageous though.

The 7pm and 7.30 are too early as the game doesn’t finish until 7.15

The 9.40 gets them home at 12.14 the next day as it’s a train to Aberdeen and then an overnight stay before getting a train from there to Inverness

04-05-2023, 07:25 AM

The 9.40 gets them home at 12.14 the next day as it’s a train to Aberdeen and then an overnight stay before getting a train from there to Inverness

Sorry, misunderstood the Trainline app. Journey time 14 hours should have been a clue :greengrin

04-05-2023, 08:16 AM

Thats an absolute shambles.

Scottish Football at its finest.

04-05-2023, 08:20 AM
From a selfish point of view if it was me I’d like the half 5 kick off - but the reason for it being pushed back is a disgrace though IMO

04-05-2023, 08:31 AM
Scottish Cup and FA Cup used to always be on at the same time back in the day,,difference was Only 4 TV channels and BBC Scotland showed our final and England had theirs,unless you lived in the borders you watched your own one.
Now do we think they would be having a 5.30 kick off if it was the old firm in final? Police Scotland would have a hairy fit at the idea of all day drinking before hand!!! As already mentioned this has been pushed by viaplay as they know their revenue for final has already dropped because its not the final they hoped for when they signed contract and with FA Cup on cooncil tv its not even a tough decision which 1 to watch
Used to watch the Scottish cup final on the big colour tele and the English final on the wee black & white portable at the same time. Aww those were the days.

The same as Scotland games on the tele then, we got Border tv and didn't get the Scottish games or Scotsport but my Auntie the next street down got STV so had to pile round to hers to watch.

Scandalous decision to play the final at 5.30 but money talks as we know.

percy veer
04-05-2023, 09:39 AM
What do they expect ICT fans to do if the game goes to extra time and penalties?

Supporters bus? Instead of a train

Steven79
04-05-2023, 09:41 AM
Supporters bus? Instead of a train8000 tickets with say 50 per bus that's a fair amount of buses...

percy veer
04-05-2023, 09:41 AM
Never understood why people moan so much about travelling to a final, some people fly all over the world just to attend a hibs final, organise a bus and get on with it... its a final after all.

Trinity Hibee
04-05-2023, 10:01 AM
Never understood why people moan so much about travelling to a final, some people fly all over the world just to attend a hibs final, organise a bus and get on with it... its a final after all.

That’s all well and good. I’m sure there will be ICT and Celtic fans doing just that but when you are asking thousands (10k?) of fans from Inverness to travel down and attempt to get home at a time like that it’s pretty justifiable to not be happy with it.

Fans who live abroad will accept they’ll have a big journey to get a game.

Sergio sledge
04-05-2023, 10:32 AM

So people shouldn't complain about the national governing body for football in this country actively making it more difficult for fans of a team in their showpiece final to get to and from the game? They should be making it as easy as possible for as many fans to get to and from the game rather than making it as hard as possible.

There are no trains that can be used and no regular bus services so the only two options are to drive or arrange a coach. There's not exactly many options for organising coaches up here and the fact that there are two cruise ships docking in Invergordon that weekend means a lot of the ones that would be available are already booked to take tourists from the boat to see Nessie....

Not everyone drives and to be honest the A9 is a nightmare of a road and pretty dangerous, so trains are the safest and most comfortable option. I took 4 kids down to the semi final on the train last weekend, leaving the house at 6am and getting back at 8.30pm, it was £70 return for all of us Inverness to Mount Florida, which is cheaper than fuel would have been and avoids all the hassle of finding parking near Hampden.

We'll be there as long as there isn't a mad rush on tickets, but it looks like we'll have to drive down and back on the day rather than the more relaxing journey on the train. My wife needs the car that day so I'll have to hire a vehicle. Thankfully hiring and electric car is pretty cheap now, so I can do that for not much more than the train would have been.

Unless Scotrail stick a football special on, but I can imagine that will be difficult to do with all the sections of single track up here meaning adding extra trains is pretty difficult to do.

04-05-2023, 11:18 AM

Yes was thinking Robbo didn't start that game. Adam scored second

04-05-2023, 11:19 AM
Sorry, misunderstood the Trainline app. Journey time 14 hours should have been a clue :greengrin

snedzuk
04-05-2023, 12:01 PM

They moved it due to trains, and weve moved ours so fans wont be able to get a train home. Terrific.

04-05-2023, 12:39 PM
Absolutely no way this would have happened if it had been an OF final.
Can you imagine how disgusting it would have been? Trouble everywhere.

Which just goes to show they just make it up as they go along.

connerg
04-05-2023, 04:07 PM
Strongbow must be melting my brain! 🍻

It was 25 years ago and it's not a Hibs game so don't be too hard on yourself. Drinking Strongbow though :confused:

05-05-2023, 04:59 PM
Drinking Strongbow though :confused:

Why? Because they used to sponsor Hearts? I'm not asking anyone else to drink it although plenty folk seem to.

06-05-2023, 08:01 PM
Could be worse. Spanish cup final just kicking off now in Sevilla. Only about 1100 mile round trip for the Osasuna fans lol.

06-05-2023, 08:07 PM
Could be worse. Spanish cup final just kicking off now in Sevilla. Only about 1100 mile round trip for the Osasuna fans lol.

Real Madrid 1-0 up already after 2 minutes. Imagine travelling all that distance only for that to happen lol.

06-05-2023, 10:31 PM

Just because other countries are bigger than Scotland doesn't make it ok!

07-05-2023, 08:14 AM
Just because other countries are bigger than Scotland doesn't make it ok!

And the 10pm kick off??? I get because of the heat but game didn't finish till midnight and then thousands of people had to travel 570 miles home. To be fair. They did put on some football specials after the game. Took 6 to 7 hours though.