03-05-2023, 09:14 AM
Brilliant,never fails to make me laugh out loud 😆

03-05-2023, 09:25 AM
The Jambottlers

03-05-2023, 09:31 AM
Still the funniest day in football. To think they have the cheek to bang on about Hibsing it 🤣🤣

03-05-2023, 09:44 AM
Still the funniest day in football. To think they have the cheek to bang on about Hibsing it 🤣🤣

They are just Kidding themselves 🤣

03-05-2023, 09:46 AM
And they lost the cup final as well 🤣🤣🤣🤣

03-05-2023, 09:50 AM
Have heard no Hearts fan owns a copy of Kidd A by Radiohead 😁

03-05-2023, 10:17 AM
Happy Albert Kidd day to everyone.

He's here!
03-05-2023, 10:33 AM
Happy Albert Kidd day to all.

Interesting to reflect on how early the season finished back then. Much better IMHO. These days there's barely a close season.

AltheHibby
03-05-2023, 10:41 AM
Albert Kidd is trending on Twitter as I write. 🤣

03-05-2023, 10:47 AM
Sportsound 1986

Meanwhile let’s get an update from Dens Park where it looks like Hearts have the point they need to win the League

https://youtu.be/iTEgsQz-Muw

Jakhog1
03-05-2023, 10:55 AM
I was only 8 when this glorious day happened and it is something that was ingrained in my young mind solely due too how happy my dad was when he was checking up on the scores, I'm sure the sun was shining that day as well.

03-05-2023, 11:49 AM
Intro to Sportscene from Archie McPherson on the 3rd May, 1986

'Who, way back in August blessed with the second sight of the seventh son of a seventh son could have foreseen that Hearts, on the very last day of the season would be playing for the Championship requiring only one point'

DIXIHIBS
03-05-2023, 12:21 PM

Exactly. Even their own fanzine was "always the bridesmaid". Nothing like re-writing history.

Logie Green
03-05-2023, 02:46 PM

Indeed it was. Their crowds understandably increased as the season went on which meant that many folk you didn’t realise supported them came out of the woodwork thus making the day even more glorious. The cup final the following week just planted them a few feet lower than they were after the previous weekend.

DIXIHIBS
03-05-2023, 03:00 PM
Sure there was a few renditions of "I'm forever blowing doubles" around that time😀😀

MM19
03-05-2023, 03:05 PM
I used to work in the office on a Saturday and I'm sure Radio Forth went up to Dens park that day with the Hearts supporters. I ended up listening to Radio One. After that it was down to the Hibs club and round to the match where we were playing Dundee United. The cheer when Albert Kidd scored all the players just stopped wondering what was happening. I think when he scored the second one Dundee United scored as well absolute chaos. A great day,

03-05-2023, 03:06 PM
Type in Albert Kidd song on you tube

03-05-2023, 03:17 PM

Exactly. Biggest bottle job in Scottish football history.

They threw the league away on the final day not just once but twice. "Hibsd it?" :rotflmao:

03-05-2023, 03:17 PM
The Rangers fans were cheering as well they thought scorer Kidd meant Zico Kidd for Hearts 😀

03-05-2023, 04:22 PM
Did they not lose the league in 1964 65 on goal average despite having a better goal difference than Killie and lose it in 1986 having a better goal average than Celtic?

03-05-2023, 04:27 PM
Did they not lose the league in 1964 65 on goal average despite having a better goal difference than Killie and lose it in 1986 having a better goal average than Celtic?

yep. 65 was arguably an even greater jambottling than 86

03-05-2023, 04:31 PM
Sure there was a few renditions of "I'm forever blowing doubles" around that time😀😀
The bottom certainly fell out of their world that day, at least for all of them other than CL - in his case the world was falling out of his bottom.

03-05-2023, 04:40 PM
yep. 65 was arguably an even greater jambottling than 86
Must be the only team to have achieved this,so it makes the FAMOUS for something.😆😆😆

03-05-2023, 04:45 PM
Did they not lose the league in 1964 65 on goal average despite having a better goal difference than Killie and lose it in 1986 having a better goal average than Celtic?Yes and even more heartsy is that they campaigned themselves for the rule on goal average to be changed to goal difference - and succeeded. Teeing up 1986 and their non-glorious failure. Talk about standing on a rake and shooting yourself in the foot at the same time.

Hibs only took one point fromý them that season, 0-0 draw. Which was enough.

As someone said above - the funniest thing that has ever happened in football. Relief can have that effect and I personally laughed like a drain. Dundee Utd did score soon after the second which have had something to do with Weir and Collins jumping about when the penny dropped for them. When they lost the cup final they went on the war path though, town wasn't pretty that night or Leith Walk.

Rock On Tommy - Happy Birthday Albert.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

03-05-2023, 04:50 PM
Notice not a peep from Hearts about extending the Premiership now they are back in the big time

03-05-2023, 05:01 PM
Notice not a peep from Hearts about extending the Premiership now they are back in the big timeIt was "long overdue" at the time given not a soul from any club has mentioned it since.

scm70nyd1973
03-05-2023, 05:28 PM

Yup -and the Poppy thieves were the main protagonists to have the rule changed after the Killie game - comedy gold 🤭 Oops - I’ve just read the post above-apologies ☹️

scm70nyd1973
03-05-2023, 05:37 PM
I used to work in the office on a Saturday and I'm sure Radio Forth went up to Dens park that day with the Hearts supporters. I ended up listening to Radio One. After that it was down to the Hibs club and round to the match where we were playing Dundee United. The cheer when Albert Kidd scored all the players just stopped wondering what was happening. I think when he scored the second one Dundee United scored as well absolute chaos. A great day,

I was living in Aberdeen at the time - had a season ticket but always went to the last game of the season. My train drew up alongside a train at Haymarket clearly heading to Dundee. HIBS scarf on so cue bedlam of Poppy Thievers giving it to me tight. I never flinched but just thought wouldn’t it be funny if they screwed up - but quickly told myself nah life can’t be that good. How much I would have given to see these muppets after the game or even since then - even now TBH.

03-05-2023, 06:03 PM
I was living in Aberdeen at the time - had a season ticket but always went to the last game of the season. My train drew up alongside a train at Haymarket clearly heading to Dundee. HIBS scarf on so cue bedlam of Poppy Thievers giving it to me tight. I never flinched but just thought wouldn’t it be funny if they screwed up - but quickly told myself nah life can’t be that good. How much I would have given to see these muppets after the game or even since then - even now TBH.

haha, a train full of delirious, sneering muppets unknowingly heading off to their miserable fate - The worst day of their hearts supporting lives.

wish I had a time machine. I’d join you on your train just to watch.

scm70nyd1973
03-05-2023, 06:17 PM
haha, a train full of delirious, sneering muppets unknowingly heading off to their miserable fate - The worst day of their hearts supporting lives.

wish I had a time machine. I’d join you on your train just to watch.

First stop would be to get off my train and on theirs so I could find out where they were going after the game - it would be fun - I’ll let you know when the said time is built - you know anyone with a flux capacitor 🤭

03-05-2023, 06:29 PM
They keep blaming St Mirren for throwing the towel in, but it was in their hands that day to win the league
Anyone got any videos of the 2 goals😀

scm70nyd1973
03-05-2023, 06:37 PM

Spooky moment - just switched on to watch the last episode of Crime TV series - Dougrsy Scott on the coach talking to a shrink about his past - first thing he mentions is Hearts bottling it at Dens on the last game of the season - brilliant timing. Also - he came out of a flat which was next to my old one (Glasgow) - that’s where I held a HIBS Party - called it the Green Party - 250 crammed into a albeit large one bed flat - full of Glasgow and a good few Edinburgh Hibbys - mental mental party 🤭

03-05-2023, 06:49 PM
They keep blaming St Mirren for throwing the towel in, but it was in their hands that day to win the league
Anyone got any videos of the 2 goals😀
First goal is around the 25 minute mark of the video :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kdff6VGZww

03-05-2023, 06:52 PM
“Indeed, what a sad little club celebrating the defeat of their rivals like a cup win. Just an excuse as they have nothing else to celebrate.”

found this wee beauty on kickback, referring to us.

amm, I’m pretty certain we’ve celebrated a cup win more recently than them. Come to think of it we’ve won both cups more recently than them!

03-05-2023, 06:54 PM
First goal is around the 25 minute mark of the video :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kdff6VGZww

Thanks HH, always smile when I see these goals go in😀

03-05-2023, 07:10 PM
Just what is this thread all about? Didn't Albert Kidd play for Dundee?

03-05-2023, 07:18 PM
Just what is this thread all about? Didn't Albert Kidd play for Dundee?
And yet still managed to become a Hibs legend...... :greengrin

03-05-2023, 07:27 PM
And yet still managed to become a Hibs legend...... :greengrin

Well, that just makes me even more confused! I don't believe it. I bet there's no documentary evidence to back this claim up, is there?

03-05-2023, 07:30 PM
Yes and even more heartsy is that they campaigned themselves for the rule on goal average to be changed to goal difference - and succeeded. Teeing up 1986 and their non-glorious failure. Talk about standing on a rake and shooting yourself in the foot at the same time.

Hibs only took one point fromý them that season, 0-0 draw. Which was enough.

As someone said above - the funniest thing that has ever happened in football. Relief can have that effect and I personally laughed like a drain. Dundee Utd did score soon after the second which have had something to do with Weir and Collins jumping about when the penny dropped for them. When they lost the cup final they went on the war path though, town wasn't pretty that night or Leith Walk.

Rock On Tommy - Happy Birthday Albert.

An interesting fact from that 64/65 season is that Dundee pumped hearts 7-1 at Tynecastle at the end of February, contributing massively to their ultimate goal average loss of the league. So Dundee have stitched them up twice and arguably completed the hat-trick in 2020 :greengrin

scm70nyd1973
03-05-2023, 07:42 PM
An interesting fact from that 64/65 season is that Dundee pumped hearts 7-1 at Tynecastle at the end of February, contributing massively to their ultimate goal average loss of the league. So Dundee have stitched them up twice and arguably completed the hat-trick in 2020 :greengrin

Now I know this we might have to alter the lyrics of “we are Hibernian FC etc etc to “…... we hate Jam Tarts but we thank Dundee - “ mibbies naw 🤔 Just a bit of a shame Dundee rhymes with FC ☹️

connerg
03-05-2023, 09:00 PM

In the 85/86 season they lost 6-2 to St Mirren in Paisley. That put a big dent in their goal difference. :greengrin

Newry Hibs
04-05-2023, 06:36 AM
Anyone remember a t-shirt of sir Albert. It was just his hair and moustache on a green shirt. Nothing else.

04-05-2023, 07:01 AM
Pretty sure we had an Albert Kidd Supporters Bus that used to leave from the Fountainbridge area or was that a whoosh moment ? 😀

Edit:

From the Dundee Arms IIRC

04-05-2023, 07:33 AM
“Indeed, what a sad little club celebrating the defeat of their rivals like a cup win. Just an excuse as they have nothing else to celebrate.”

amm, I’m pretty certain we’ve celebrated a cup win more recently than them. Come to think of it we’ve won both cups more recently than them!Any mention of the proliferation of maroon balloons cutting around Edinburgh the week before the game wearing their League champions Tee shirts?

I had to sit opposite one at work, he ended up featuring in one of their most commonly used greeting face photos right at the end of the game[emoji23]

04-05-2023, 08:14 AM
Big Sandy Clark wouldn’t shake Sir Alberts hand at a function a few years ago still bitter lol

04-05-2023, 08:18 AM
Big Sandy Clark wouldn’t shake Sir Alberts hand at a function a few years ago still bitter lol

He says he "got over it" and moved on" :greengrin

He also said had he not missed a sitter in a 0-0 derby that season "Hertz wooda one the league":na na:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-defeat-at-dens-in-86-was-like-losing-a-loved-one-says-sandy-clark-2787311

His son followed in his footsteps and lost a cup final !!

"Chip of the old block" :greengrin

04-05-2023, 08:25 AM

amm, I’m pretty certain we’ve celebrated a cup win more recently than them. Come to think of it we’ve won both cups more recently than them!I do remember them celebrating Griffiths getting injured like they had scored a goal. Weirdos.

scm70nyd1973
04-05-2023, 09:03 AM
Pretty sure we had an Albert Kidd Supporters Bus that used to leave from the Fountainbridge area or was that a whoosh moment ? 😀

Edit:

From the Dundee Arms IIRC

The Glasgow HIBS supporters branch was temporarily renamed the AK supporters branch - I’ve still got the snippet from the Evening Times showing the meeting time 😂

Trinity Hibee
04-05-2023, 10:15 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/celtic/latest-celtic-news/i-knew-he-was-still-hurting-over-1986-albert-kidd-tells-sandy-clark-get-over-hearts-title-failure-1419660

And then 30 years later his son gets beat in the Scottish cup final by Hibs via a last minute winner!!!

😂😂😂😂

Hibs1969
04-05-2023, 11:02 AM
Someone has been tinkering with Wikipedia…….

connerg
05-05-2023, 12:40 AM
He says he "got over it" and moved on" :greengrin

He also said had he not missed a sitter in a 0-0 derby that season "Hertz wooda one the league":na na:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-defeat-at-dens-in-86-was-like-losing-a-loved-one-says-sandy-clark-2787311

His son followed in his footsteps and lost a cup final !!

"Chip of the old block" :greengrin

Sandy Clark was sacked by St Johnstone after a defeat by Hibs too.

05-05-2023, 07:45 AM
One of my mates plays guitar with the mighty Suns of Albert, a fine Hibs supporting band who were moved to pay tribute to Sir Albert of Kidd.

https://youtu.be/woHBG0RM9kM

05-05-2023, 08:37 AM
Seven minutes of misery :faf:

05-05-2023, 08:38 AM
https://youtu.be/awpKBTmGV1g

Diddy Doddie being sick.

05-05-2023, 08:51 AM
https://youtu.be/awpKBTmGV1g

Diddy Doddie being sick.

Sick, sick, sick.

Where was Levein that day, there was an urban myth about him being stuck in a Dundee toilet for the first half, perhaps I’ve forgotten the full story.