View Full Version : GSTK v St Mirren
01-05-2023, 03:47 PM
The SPFL have decided they will not request clubs play the UK national anthem this weekend and leave it up to each individual team.
King Charles will be formally crowned on Saturday and clubs in England have been asked to play God Save The King with players standing around the centre circle. The English Premier League and English Football League have reportedly been asked to show an official portrait of the King and Queen Consort on their big screens during the tribute, with the image also being printed in match day programmes.
Does anyone know if Hibs are planning anything, asking for a friend 😂
Steven79
01-05-2023, 03:51 PM
The SPFL have decided they will not request clubs play the UK national anthem this weekend and leave it up to each individual team.
King Charles will be formally crowned on Saturday and clubs in England have been asked to play God Save The King with players standing around the centre circle. The English Premier League and English Football League have reportedly been asked to show an official portrait of the King and Queen Consort on their big screens during the tribute, with the image also being printed in match day programmes.
Does anyone know if Hibs are planing anything, asking for a friend [emoji23]Leave that kind of crap to Ibrox and Tynecastle...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
MartinfaePorty
01-05-2023, 03:52 PM
Had to check the date there. It's a no from me...
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
01-05-2023, 04:02 PM
It's not going to happen. It's not mandated by the government and the SPFL aren't requesting it so there's no way Hibs are going to run with it.
No one is obligated to do anything this weekend hard as that may be to believe with all the noise. I'll be going for a run for a couple of hours early doors, going for a pint then going to the game. With so many streaming services I have no reason to watch BBC or ITV. The coronation won't cause my Saturday to deviate from normal in anyway whatsover.
01-05-2023, 04:07 PM
I think that Toast of London "you can **** that sky high" meme will be getting a lot of use this week.
01-05-2023, 04:35 PM
It’s a no from me but maybes we should ask the Saintees their thoughts ?
01-05-2023, 04:39 PM
It’s a no from me but maybes we should ask the Saintees their thoughts ?
Nah.
StirlingHibee
01-05-2023, 04:39 PM
Leave that kind of crap to Ibrox and Tynecastle...
Whilst I agree there’s no need to mark the Coronation at a Football match, I feel obliged to remind you mate that there are plenty of Hibs fans who are pro-monarchy. Let me further remind you we are an inclusive club made up of fans from different religious faiths, different political leanings, different sexual orientations, different ethnicities etc who all happen to have one thing in common – we love Hibs!. We aim never to exclude anybody and that includes those Hibs fans who may be supporters of the monarchy
Bridge hibs
01-05-2023, 04:41 PM
Total irrelevance, I care only about hibs and 3 points on Saturday
01-05-2023, 04:51 PM
If they do, it'll be the first time in ages that I'll be booing a 'tribute' at a football match.
Please Hibs, don't do it
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 05:00 PM
Whilst I agree there’s no need to mark the Coronation at a Football match, I feel obliged to remind you mate that there are plenty of Hibs fans who are pro-monarchy. Let me further remind you we are an inclusive club made up of fans from different religious faiths, different political leanings, different sexual orientations, different ethnicities etc who all happen to have one thing in common – we love Hibs!. We aim never to exclude anybody and that includes those Hibs fans who may be supporters of the monarchy
Very very well said - I applaud you - I am a Weegie Hibby and probably will never be accepted because of this - but I love HIBS more than anyone will ever know - just ask my close family and friends - and I managed to nurture my daughter (a real Weegie as I was born in Edinburgh but left when I was 3) into the cause 😁
01-05-2023, 05:05 PM
If we do this I'm waiting outside until it's over.
Hibiza
01-05-2023, 05:15 PM
Great Post and fully agree , however we have never been a Monarchist club, all the best to the King , hope not seen here thou . Just my humble.
Scotty Leither
01-05-2023, 05:17 PM
I for one wouldn’t relish a mass forelock tugging at Easter Road, and indeed in other countries that has a monarchy it’s the Sovereign who pledges allegiance to “their” people, not the other way round.
So in the interests of egalitarianism, if the big screens at Easter Road show us a picture of Charles wearing a vintage Hibs top while making the “YLT” sign and simultaneously shouting “get it right up ye Jambo *******s”, then I might just tip my hat back in mutual respect.
If that’s not a goer, then I’d politely suggest Hibs just let it pass unannounced.
Mcbizz1998
01-05-2023, 05:17 PM
If we do this I'm waiting outside until it's over.
[emoji23]
I think you will be ok. Not a chance we will do that.
01-05-2023, 05:21 PM
[emoji23]
I think you will be ok. Not a chance we will do that.
Aye probably.
01-05-2023, 05:21 PM
So if Hibs don't "celebrate" the coronation does that mean they are excluding supporters of the monarchy.?
01-05-2023, 05:27 PM
I dinnae mine excluding royalists. I can live with that.
01-05-2023, 05:28 PM
So if Hibs don't "celebrate" the coronation does that mean they are excluding supporters of the monarchy.?Those Monarchists who feel the need to see it have the choice to stay home or some other venue that shows it. If they play the National anthem, I'm off to the bogs.....At my age it's not good to wait [emoji28]
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
01-05-2023, 05:29 PM
Sincerely hope Hibs don't get involved in any of this. If any Monarchists feel the need to celebrate they have the option to stay at home or throw a street party or whatever.
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 05:36 PM
So if Hibs don't "celebrate" the coronation does that mean they are excluding supporters of the monarchy.?
I’m dead against them playing GSTK - absolutely no need for it. I think the point being made is that there is far too many non football comments on “anti this and anti that”which are not suitable on this forum - it’s for football not religion, politics etc. Being slightly contradictory though I’m all for Anti fitba things (not HIBS things) e.g. how we detest the Poppy thieves.
01-05-2023, 05:39 PM
This is going to be one of these things where folk increasingly get themselves into a right tizz over something that there is pretty much zero prospect of happening, isn't it?
Not saying it's more likely that Andy Halliday's going to be Hibs mascot on Saturday, but it's not far off.
StirlingHibee
01-05-2023, 05:45 PM
Absolutely not and with respect mate I think you have missed the central point of my post - that we are a club of supporters from all walks of life and that it's ok to be a monarchist and follow Hibs.
01-05-2023, 05:48 PM
Very very well said - I applaud you - I am a Weegie Hibby and probably will never be accepted because of this - but I love HIBS more than anyone will ever know - just ask my close family and friends - and I managed to nurture my daughter (a real Weegie as I was born in Edinburgh but left when I was 3) into the cause 😁
Being from Glasgow doesn't mean you're not accepted. You're a Hibby. That's all that matters.
Steven79
01-05-2023, 05:49 PM
Absolutely not and with respect mate I think you have missed the central point of my post - that we are a club of supporters from all walks of life and that it's ok to be a monarchist and follow Hibs.It's okay just don't expect everyone else to get involved.
Same when football fans were expected to pay respects to the Pope.
Nothing to do with football (despite what the bigot brothers may claim)
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 05:53 PM
Being from Glasgow doesn't mean you're not accepted. You're a Hibby. That's all that matters.
Cheers - I never used to sing along to the Glasgow slum song but I still had a laugh at it - we all did - in the good old days (80s) when the Glasgow Hibbys met up under the TV gantry in the East. Just for the record I’ve never eaten a rat from a bucket but I have seen one on a park in Glasgow - it was at Hampden on 21/05/2016 🤭
01-05-2023, 05:54 PM
Don't understand that as I have many weegie Hibees in the family never an issue.
01-05-2023, 06:16 PM
I’ll be wearing my Union Jack waistcoat. 👍
01-05-2023, 06:16 PM
I'm also a weegie Hibby and there is definitely 100% a small minority of our fans that don't like or accept it unfortunately.
Steven79
01-05-2023, 06:17 PM
I'm also a weegie Hibby and there is definitely 100% a small minority of our fans that don't like or accept it unfortunately.Could be worse.
I'm a Hibs fan from Fife [emoji1787]
yonder1875
01-05-2023, 06:23 PM
Lol not a hope in hell this happens.
Simply because nobody in the real world actually cares about the ‘king’.
McSwanky
01-05-2023, 06:28 PM
Total irrelevance, I care only about hibs and 3 points on SaturdayCorrect [emoji736]
Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 06:39 PM
Correct [emoji736]
Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
Totally - but if the coronation is the sole and undisputed catalyst for HIBS to win the next 5 games and we finish 3rd then I might have to revisit my hatred of the song GSTK (it’s just a really crap song that’s all) and sing it whilst naked from the top of the East 🤭
PS - at 2am on a Monday morning that is 😂
01-05-2023, 06:43 PM
I have no problem providing we use the right version (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqrAPOZxgzU).
Just need to update the lyrics.
01-05-2023, 06:47 PM
Will no one think of the poor, wee oppressed Monarchists?
:boo hoo:
01-05-2023, 06:50 PM
Cheers - I never used to sing along to the Glasgow slum song but I still had a laugh at it - we all did - in the good old days (80s) when the Glasgow Hibbys met up under the TV gantry in the East. Just for the record I’ve never eaten a rat from a bucket but I have seen one on a park in Glasgow - it was at Hampden on 21/05/2016 🤭
Didn't you steal ma hubcaps outside ma flat in Cathcart Road?
01-05-2023, 06:58 PM
Would we get to sing about crushing the rebellious Scots?
As someone said we are a broad church; I don't understand how that squares with an institution
which specifically bans Catholics from the top job. I'm not Catholic as it happens, but the bare-faced
hypocrisy is astounding to me.
Would be useful for Hibs to confirm it's not happening so we can get back to whinging about more
important stuff.
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 07:02 PM
Didn't you steal ma hubcaps outside ma flat in Cathcart Road?
Aye - the gold ones on a Austin Allegro - the one with Boss and Slave at the top of the windscreens instead of names - and yup it was I who took the furry dice anaw.
Glasgow - the scariest but friendliest city in the world - you get a kicking but with accurate directions to the nearest hospital.
Had some great fun when getting home after a HIBS game - wearing a Green and white scarf - several great unwashed Weegies asking me the score - their faces of horror at them (soap dodgers) losing to say Partick Thistle - when I told them we got beat (possibly by Morton but not that I’d tell them) - priceless - laid on thick how crap we were as well - just magic - brightened up the day a tiny wee bit 🤭
01-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Aye - the gold ones on a Austin Allegro - the one with Boss and Slave at the top of the windscreens instead of names - and yup it was I who took the furry dice anaw....
Had some great fun when getting home after a HIBS game - wearing a Green and white scarf - several great unwashed Weegies asking me the score - their faces when I told them we got beat (possibly by Morton but not that I’d tell them) - priceless - laid on thick how crap we were as well - just magic - brightened up the day a tiny wee bit 🤭
I've been asked a few times when heading home from a game what the Celtc score was. They usually look a bit confused when my reply is, "dunno mate, and I honestly couldn't give a f..."
01-05-2023, 07:07 PM
The ceremony starts at 11, and I’m sure a few in attendance at Easter Road will have tuned in to watch if they so wished. Game kicks off at 3 so everyone’s a winner regardless if you watched or not.
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 07:12 PM
I've been asked a few times when heading home from a game what the Celtc score was. They usually look a bit confused when my reply is, "dunno mate, and I honestly couldn't give a f..."
Brilliant- never tried this one but sometimes I said “not sure” - cue v confused look on the frequently ugly face 😁
01-05-2023, 07:21 PM
Be great bantz for the players to assemble round the centre circle pre KO, announcer then asks everyone in the stadium to stand for the King, then have Pat Stanton march out the tunnel onto the park to take the acclaim.
When I read the thread title I thought St Mirren had got them selves a game set up against a Euro team that was worthy of a thread on here. https://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon10.png
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 07:25 PM
Be great bantz for the players to assemble round the centre circle pre KO, announcer then asks everyone in the stadium to stand for the King, then have Pat Stanton march out the tunnel onto the park to take the acclaim.
It would be absolutely epic 🤭HIBS - please take note and please let this happen with Sir David placing the crown on his napper 🤭🙏🙏🙏
01-05-2023, 07:25 PM
Does anyone know if Hibs are planning anything, asking for a friend 😂
**** me. What year is this?
01-05-2023, 08:14 PM
I applaud you. So would most Hibs fans. We are a pretty open and tolerant support I think.
01-05-2023, 08:16 PM
Those fans can also pledge allegiance to him whenever they want.
We are a club that was shunned by the establishment, an institution that bans Catholics, so no idea why we would foist the forelock tugging into a game at ER.
Let’s stick to the football and beat St Mirren.
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 08:24 PM
I applaud you. So would most Hibs fans. We are a pretty open and tolerant support I think.
Cheers for that - much appreciated 👍
Garymcl
01-05-2023, 08:40 PM
Anyway more importantly than the said thread there is a bigger event going on in the Leith area at 3pm on Saturday the mighty hibees are playing a must win game and I hope any decent hibby will be paying more attention to this game which we must win :flag::flag:
TrumpIsAPeado
01-05-2023, 08:49 PM
It would be a major flop and complete misreading of the room and would likely be drowned out by booing and jeering. Really don't see it happening tbh. Would be surprised if the fuds across the city will even bother with it either.
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 08:50 PM
Anyway more importantly than the said thread there is a bigger event going on in the Leith area at 3pm on Saturday the mighty hibees are playing a must win game and I hope any decent hibby will be paying more attention to this game which we must win :flag::flag:
Much more important for me is that event in Leith - should be a tit for tat moment anyway - they won’t play SOL at the coronation so we won’t play GSTK at ER - simples 👍
i'm also a weegie hibby and there is definitely 100% a small minority of our fans that don't like or accept it unfortunately.
ltwf 😃
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 08:53 PM
ltwf 😃
That’s it - you’re no getting my HIBS shares when I croak 🤭
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-05-2023, 09:03 PM
To be fair, I’ve had a few funny looks at ER because of my accent, especially when we play one of the smellies
That’s it - you’re no getting my HIBS shares when I croak 🤭
But I Love The Weegie Folk. 😍
01-05-2023, 09:31 PM
Much more important for me is that event in Leith - should be a tit for tat moment anyway - they won’t play SOL at the coronation so we won’t play GSTK at ER - simples 👍
Absolutely. They've removed Craig and Charlie from the Coronation playlist due to their pro Republican views. So The King can do one! :bye:
TrumpIsAPeado
01-05-2023, 09:32 PM
Absolutely. They've removed Craig and Charlie from the Coronation playlist due to their pro Republican views. So The King can do one! :bye:
All the more reason to blare their songs at Easter Road before kick off. :agree:
Whelahan 1875
01-05-2023, 09:38 PM
Will be great to enjoy a couple of hours sanctuary at ER on Saturday away from the media war that's being forced on us again this week.
If the OP is correct on the guidance in England, then I'm also looking forward to seeing the reaction at Anfield at the 5.30 Sky game, to Charles and Camilla getting put up on the big screens before the game. Should be entertaining!
Garymcl
01-05-2023, 09:42 PM
Brilliant idea play Proclaimers before the kick off half time and Sunshine on Leith at the end after we win the game :flag:shouldn’t be just for Derby victories :thumbsup:
scm70nyd1973
01-05-2023, 09:48 PM
But I Love The Weegie Folk. 😍
Too late Miss Moneypenny is getting them 👍
01-05-2023, 11:10 PM
Well, we do have American owners and on the other side of the Atlantic they seem obsessed with the royals ..... They would shoot anybody who suggested they have an unelected head of state, never mind one who gets the job as a birthright, but they seem to love the fact that we have one without a hint of irony. So you never know :greengrin
But seriously ... It's just not going to happen, any Hibs owner or CEO who thought this was a good idea would be proving themselves so out of touch with the history of the club and the social outlook of 'most' of it's supporters, that you would seriously have to ask if they have any business being involved with it.
In short, there's probably more chance of the duchy of Lancaster buying the club and 'by royal appointment' being included in the club's badge than this happening an Saturday :faf:
The Baldmans Comb
02-05-2023, 02:43 AM
Scotland just has to be the weirdest country that has ever existed to even consider such an event.
Devoid of self respect and self confidence and laughed at even by English people for being so compliant.
02-05-2023, 04:20 AM
Maybe as a compromise we can at least play the proclaimers cover of King of the Road? 😁
02-05-2023, 04:21 AM
Scotland just has to be the weirdest country that has ever existed to even consider such an event.
Devoid of self respect and self confidence and laughed at even by English people for being so compliant.
What does that actually mean?!
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 05:16 AM
What does that actually mean?!
It means he has no grasp of history. Believes Monarchy equals English and English of course equals bad.
norhfc
02-05-2023, 07:51 AM
Hibs have zero history in marking anything to do with the crown in my lifetime and I’m getting on. Hope this tradition continues this Saturday.
02-05-2023, 07:52 AM
Hibs have zero history in marking anything to do with the crown in my lifetime and I’m getting on. Hope this tradition continues this Saturday.
Can we get the crown back on the club crest if we play the anthem?
Clarence
02-05-2023, 08:10 AM
In a way we should be more thankful to the Royal family than any other institution. If they had used their great wealth to assist the famine victims in Ireland and helped alleviate their suffering, rather than treat their Irish subjects with dispassionate indifference, then our Irish ancestors may have never come over to Edinburgh in such numbers and hence Hibs may never have existed. So it’s really thanks to the Saxe-Coburg-Gotha’s that we have a club at all.
02-05-2023, 08:13 AM
Thanks for the View From North Korea.
So, a Great Leader is going to balance a piece of metal on his head & all of the people are expected to cheer simultaneously (and pledge an oath of allegiance)?
Sounds really inclusive.
I didn't get the chance to vote for Charles, did you?
DIXIHIBS
02-05-2023, 08:13 AM
Brilliant- never tried this one but sometimes I said “not sure” - cue v confused look on the frequently ugly face 😁
Must be tough being a hibby theough there but good on you. Going by this thread there's quite a few of you. Back in the 80/90s we used to play inter-branch football on saturday morning and Glasgow Hibs regularly played. Loved playing against them because they were worse than we were!!
02-05-2023, 08:27 AM
I'd rather a rousing rendition of "you can shove your coronation up your arse".
Block 7, make it so please :flag:
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 08:32 AM
So, a Great Leader is going to balance a piece of metal on his head & all of the people are expected to cheer simultaneously (and pledge an oath of allegiance)?
Sounds really inclusive.
StirlingHibee’s post and sentiment is about as inclusive as you can get. You have such a chip on your shoulder about the monarchy you start making comparisons with North Korea?
Wow! That’s pretty funny [emoji23]
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 08:39 AM
I’d rather we sing Hibs songs.
chippy
02-05-2023, 08:41 AM
As above
sauzeelegod
02-05-2023, 08:46 AM
This ✊🏼
chippy
02-05-2023, 08:46 AM
StirlingHibee’s post and sentiment is about as inclusive as you can get. You have such a chip on your shoulder about the monarchy you start making comparisons with North Korea?
Wow! That’s pretty funny [emoji23]
Why do you reckon chip on his shoulder ? If you’re true to being inclusive, you ought to at least respect someone else’s opinion even if you may disagree. Sounds like you’re using inclusivity to support your agenda
02-05-2023, 08:49 AM
Leave that pish to Celtic fans.
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 08:55 AM
Why do you reckon chip on his shoulder ? If you’re true to being inclusive, you ought to at least respect someone else’s opinion even if you may disagree. Sounds like you’re using inclusivity to support your agenda
Not my agenda at all. I couldn’t care less about the monarchy. Had a lot of respect for Elizabeth II but Charles is a fanny, that’s my only real take.
Someone who responds to a perfectly reasonable post like SH’s by comparing it with North Korea? Completely weird and clearly someone who gets far too worked up about the monarchy.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 08:57 AM
Must be tough being a hibby theough there but good on you. Going by this thread there's quite a few of you. Back in the 80/90s we used to play inter-branch football on saturday morning and Glasgow Hibs regularly played. Loved playing against them because they were worse than we were!!
Well you must’ve played against me as I played in every game. We were dire but our pool of talent was pretty limited - mibbies 15 (only 7 of which could actually kick a ball) . Best part was the huge bath (actually I think it was the primary school pool) after the game - not in a kinky sense of course but after freezing yer thruppnies off for 2 hrs it was v pleasant.
02-05-2023, 09:00 AM
I have no time for the Royal Family and find the whole thing ridiculous. I hope we don't play GSTK. BUT I also hope we don't start the above either. It was pathetic when Celtic did it at the weekend, and I'm fed up with a small but growing section of our support wanting to be like Celtic.
02-05-2023, 09:14 AM
I have no time for the Royal Family and find the whole thing ridiculous. I hope we don't play GSTK. BUT I also hope we don't start the above either. It was pathetic when Celtic did it at the weekend, and I'm fed up with a small but growing section of our support wanting to be like Celtic.
Being anti-monarchy isn’t being pro-Celtic 😂
02-05-2023, 09:15 AM
Find the whole thing utterly bizarre in this day and age. I understand there are pro-monarchy people out there and that's fair enough, but this should absolutely not be forced upon everyone. I'd be very surprised if Hibs did it, although in saying that, they were very quick to post about the death of the Queen and her husband on their social media platforms. Did we have a minutes applause after her death? I can't remember?
As somebody else said, the reaction from Anfield will be very interesting if they're forced into this gimmick.
chippy
02-05-2023, 09:16 AM
Not a lot of inclusivity on here for those of an anti monarchist position who want to air their views
02-05-2023, 09:20 AM
Not a lot of inclusivity on here for those of an anti monarchist position who want to air their views
What about just supporting Hibs and the team with our own songs. No GSTK and no anti-monarchy chants.
Sounds amazingly simple to me
02-05-2023, 09:23 AM
Find the whole thing utterly bizarre in this day and age. I understand there are pro-monarchy people out there and that's fair enough, but this should absolutely not be forced upon everyone. I'd be very surprised if Hibs did it, although in saying that, they were very quick to post about the death of the Queen and her husband on their social media platforms. Did we have a minutes applause after her death? I can't remember?
As somebody else said, the reaction from Anfield will be very interesting if they're forced into this gimmick.
I don’t really think any of it is forced on anyone to be fair.
There will be a lot of coverage as, whether you agree or disagree with the monarchy, it’s a historic event. It’s easy enough to avoid if you want to though. Even when we had the minutes applause for the queen, nobody was being forced to clap and plenty didn’t. Same this weekend, if you don’t want to watch any of the coverage, watch something else. There won’t be any reference to it at Easter Road on Saturday, I’m sure.
02-05-2023, 09:26 AM
They reckon this farce is costing between £250-300 million all in during a cost of living crisis, so they absolutely can shove it up their arse.
Just because Celtic fans have done something now means we can't do anything similar for fear of "looking like Celtic fans?".
02-05-2023, 09:28 AM
They reckon this farce is costing between £250-300 million all in during a cost of living crisis, so they absolutely can shove it up their arse.
Just because Celtic fans have done something now means we can't do anything similar for fear of "looking like Celtic fans?".
What’s it got to do with Hibs/football though? If you want to protest go and do it at a more appropriate place
02-05-2023, 09:31 AM
I don’t really think any of it is forced on anyone to be fair.
There will be a lot of coverage as, whether you agree or disagree with the monarchy, it’s a historic event. It’s easy enough to avoid if you want to though. Even when we had the minutes applause for the queen, nobody was being forced to clap and plenty didn’t. Same this weekend, if you don’t want to watch any of the coverage, watch something else. There won’t be any reference to it at Easter Road on Saturday, I’m sure.
But if we go to the game on Saturday and their image is all over the big screens and GSTK is blasted from the tanoy it is being forced on us and that's what will get peoples back up. I hope no mention of it is made at all either way and it's just like a normal pre match, no anti-monarchy songs etc. Hopefully Hibs will say what they are doing so people can make their mind up whether to go in the ground before or after it.
02-05-2023, 09:33 AM
But if we go to the game on Saturday and their image is all over the big screens and GSTK is blasted from the tanoy it is being forced on us and that's what will get peoples back up. I hope no mention of it is made at all either way and it's just like a normal pre match, no anti-monarchy songs etc. Hopefully Hibs will say what they are doing so people can make their mind up whether to go in the ground before or after it.
There won’t be any pictures on big screens or national anthem played. No way.
02-05-2023, 09:34 AM
There won’t be any pictures on big screens or national anthem played. No way.
Hopefully not.
02-05-2023, 09:38 AM
What’s it got to do with Hibs/football though? If you want to protest go and do it at a more appropriate place
Football is so much more than the product on the pitch and the songs about the team though. Normally I would be on your side here but these are unprecedented times and football gives thousands a voice that goes beyond the echo chamber of social media.
02-05-2023, 09:41 AM
When we were railroaded into an applause for Andy Goram I didn't agree with it or want to participate but I respected that others felt differently so I arrived later than usual, went for a pee when it was happening then went to my seat just as the game kicked off.
When we had a minutes applause after the Queen died I didn't want to participate but respected others felt differently so I arrived later than usual, stood in the concourse until it was over then went to my seat when it was over.
When Wallace Mercer died and there was an applause I didn't want to participate so I turned my back and stood silently.
In the unlikely event Hibs play GSTK and have Charlies face plastered all over the big screens on Saturday I won't agree with it so.....................................Well you get the picture.
I didn't feel forced to participate in any of the former minutes applause largely because I wasn't and thus chose not to, not really all that like North Korea. If there was any rendition of a song telling people where to stick the coronation then I may well join in. I wouldn't feel either forced to do so or obligated not to either. Again largely because I wouldn't be.
02-05-2023, 10:11 AM
The club have been doing some work ahead of the weekend to ensure any image of King Charles can fit into the screens.
https://i.postimg.cc/FK7RXdcY/90-F16-AD5-7449-4787-A215-29-A5-DDE0-C2-FA.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-05-2023, 10:21 AM
Not this time, sorry
02-05-2023, 10:22 AM
When we were railroaded into an applause for Andy Goram I didn't agree with it or want to participate but I respected that others felt differently so I arrived later than usual, went for a pee when it was happening then went to my seat just as the game kicked off.
When we had a minutes applause after the Queen died I didn't want to participate but respected others felt differently so I arrived later than usual, stood in the concourse until it was over then went to my seat when it was over.
When Wallace Mercer died and there was an applause I didn't want to participate so I turned my back and stood silently.
In the unlikely event Hibs play GSTK and have Charlies face plastered all over the big screens on Saturday I won't agree with it so.....................................Well you get the picture.
I didn't feel forced to participate in any of the former minutes applause largely because I wasn't and thus chose not to, not really all that like North Korea. If there was any rendition of a song telling people where to stick the coronation then I may well join in. I wouldn't feel either forced to do so or obligated not to either. Again largely because I wouldn't be.
I think the North Korea comparisons are the cult like observance for something as perverse as monarchy.
Imagine we didn’t have a monarchy then trying to convince people to have one. It’s insane.
We are being force fed this nonsense and it’s costing us (every one of us). They are rubbing oil on this guy and putting a diamond encrusted gold hat on him that is worth more than my house!
It’s madness.
I think that’s what the North Korea comparisons are about. Utter cult like madness.
02-05-2023, 10:41 AM
Yep, the section of our support who seem to love all things Celtic and would happily turn into a mini version of them/ Green Brigade will be all over this unfortunately
Personally I couldn’t give a **** either way and have zero interest in the Royals as will the majority of us inside Easter Road at the weekend I’d wager, but I’ll be trying to escape all things Coronation on Saturday and endless renditions of a song Celtic were singing on Sunday seems a weird way to go about it.
Victor
02-05-2023, 10:48 AM
Find it strange, that in this day and age, some people believe that someone can be ‘better’ than everyone else by reason of birth and not by achievement. A lot of p**h IMO.
02-05-2023, 11:01 AM
If the club decides to play that song on Saturday I can guarantee you that they will be totally embarrassed by the reaction of the majority of our fans. I would add that if they do play the song then I will certainly consider never going back to Easter Road again. An over reaction on my part? Maybe but it’s bad enough listening to it when Sevco come calling without my club playing it through the tannoy system.
chippy
02-05-2023, 11:45 AM
What about just supporting Hibs and the team with our own songs. No GSTK and no anti-monarchy chants.
It’s supposedly a democracy , folks are free to air their views even though you may not like them. Provocations such as playing GSTK or the Windsors / mainstream media encouraging folk to verbalise some stupid allegiance is bound to cause a reaction. Football in Scotland is probably still majority supported by working class folk with little allegiance to the monarchy. We’re living through times where the constitutional future of these islands is openly contested. I don’t think I know a Hibs fan that supports the monarchy.
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 11:51 AM
Everyone can relax who dislike the monarchy. There is NO WAY in hell that Hibernian are playing GSTK over the tannoy, it’s just silly to suggest it’s even been considered by the club.
There will however be multiple songs from the young team - all of which will be carbon copies of what Celtic sing (as most of their songs are).
02-05-2023, 11:55 AM
If the club decides to play that song on Saturday I can guarantee you that they will be totally embarrassed by the reaction of the majority of our fans. I would add that if they do play the song then I will certainly consider never going back to Easter Road again. An over reaction on my part? Maybe but it’s bad enough listening to it when Sevco come calling without my club playing it through the tannoy system.
Out of curiosity do you support an English team and if so and they ‘celebrate’ the coronation would you stop supporting them??
davhibby
02-05-2023, 12:02 PM
The whole conversation is pointless as there’s only one team in Scotland that will be doing this and we all know who that will be. The vast majority in Scotland don’t like the monarchy and that will only have risen now that the Queen is gone as well.
02-05-2023, 12:09 PM
Out of curiosity do you support an English team and if so and they ‘celebrate’ the coronation would you stop supporting them??
In answer to your question no I don’t have/follow an English team. I support Hibernian Football Club.
02-05-2023, 12:26 PM
I'm a republican* and can't stand Celtic. I'd imagine there's a lot of us out there.
However, I do tend to agree with you that we should avoid singing that, as I think it would be interpreted the wrong way.
* When I say republican, I mean it in it's most basic form; being opposed to the concept of the monarchy. Nothing to do with Ireland, Sinn Fein... or Guinness.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 12:32 PM
Sounds really inclusive.
I don’t think it’s a view but instead a well set out observation of how we should think about and respect our very own Hibby family’s views, beliefs etc.
I didn’t vote for Charles but equally I didn’t get a chance to vote for Sir Tom Farmer or the late Ron Gordon - re the latter two I accepted it and backed the chosen ones of our great club.
02-05-2023, 12:49 PM
I'm as republican as they come but agree with this.
chippy
02-05-2023, 12:49 PM
I don’t think it’s a view but instead a well set out observation of how we should think about and respect our very own Hibby family’s views, beliefs etc.
I didn’t vote for Charles but equally I didn’t get a chance to vote for Sir Tom Farmer or the late Ron Gordon - re the latter two I accepted it and backed the chosen ones of our great club.
So you’ll respect the Hibs fans who may sing anti monarchist ditties on Saturday or if the ridiculous anthem is played over the tannoy ? Embracing inclusivity yes?
SickBoy32
02-05-2023, 12:50 PM
Haha if BK plays this ***** over the tannoys at Easter Road he should be chased out the club
TrumpIsAPeado
02-05-2023, 12:52 PM
So you’ll respect the Hibs fans who may sing anti monarchist ditties on Saturday or if the ridiculous anthem is played over the tannoy ? Embracing inclusivity yes?
It's not going to be played over the tannoy, so it's all hypothetical rabble anyway.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 01:04 PM
Strange response - there is no place for GSTK being played or anti Monarchy songs being sung - absolutely no need for either - just need to keep it to football related stuff - point I am making is that regardless of what our non footballing beliefs/views are, we have one common aim and that is to support the club that we all unconditionally love. Anti anything non football related makes our fans look foolish - leave that to the erse cheeks.
02-05-2023, 01:10 PM
It's not going to be played over the tannoy, so it's all hypothetical rabble anyway.
The rumour is that it will be the Heart of Midlothian flute band playing the tune, not over the tannoy 😉
02-05-2023, 01:15 PM
See we got a wee mention on TYT Sports, (The Young Turks, a medium sized US You Tube news channel). Mostly about Celtc though, just someones vid of the lizzie's in a box song from Easter Road.
https://youtu.be/mJFCTL5rxu4
Scotty Leither
02-05-2023, 01:15 PM
Being anti-monarchy isn’t being pro-Celtic 😂
Correct. Celtic had a knight of the realm on their Board not so long ago, the odious John Reid, and celebrated Celtic fan Rod the Mod is a true-blue Tory.
We’re nowt like these hypocrites, thank ****.
Fuzzywuzzy
02-05-2023, 01:21 PM
What about amending the sex pistols "god save the queen" to "king". Not as catchy but gets the point across😂
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 01:44 PM
Strange response - there is no place for GSTK being played or anti Monarchy songs being sung - absolutely no need for either - just need to keep it to football related stuff - point I am making is that regardless of what our non footballing beliefs/views are, we have one common aim and that is to support the club that we all unconditionally love. Anti anything non football related makes our fans look foolish - leave that to the erse cheeks.
02-05-2023, 02:08 PM
political leanings, beliefs and views on the monarchy are absolutely nothing to do with ethnicities, sexual orientations and genders.
the former are opinions and beliefs, the latter are existential aspects of an individual out with their conscious control.
i'd be perfectly happy for royalists, Tories and religious extremists to feel not-at-home at Hibs, and see it as a club that doesn't share their values :aok:
02-05-2023, 02:10 PM
Hope wee Dougie Ross is running the line this place will implode 😂
02-05-2023, 02:14 PM
If a section of our support do go down this road on Saturday it's not 'copying' anybody, do you think displays of anti royalty, anti coronation sentiment are exclusive to them? What's next, anybody who expresses support for the Palestinians is just copying Celtic?
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-05-2023, 02:21 PM
If a section of our support do go down this road on Saturday it's not 'copying' anybody, do you think displays of anti royalty, anti coronation sentiment are exclusive to them? What's next, anybody who expresses support for the Palestinians is just copying Celtic?
Ironic considering Celtics founding was just a cheap copy of Hibernian and the CYMS
SON OF PADDY
02-05-2023, 02:52 PM
In answer to your question no I don’t have/follow an English team. I support Hibernian Football Club.
Correct answer mate, it's only ever been the Hibs.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 03:04 PM
political leanings, beliefs and views on the monarchy are absolutely nothing to do with ethnicities, sexual orientations and genders.
the former are opinions and beliefs, the latter are existential aspects of an individual out with their conscious control.
i'd be perfectly happy for royalists, Tories and religious extremists to feel not-at-home at Hibs, and see it as a club that doesn't share their values :aok:
FFS - why don’t you chuck in Weegie Hibbys like me while you’re at it - time for me to bail out of this forum altogether with this kind of view - maybe I was bang on the effin money about not feeling quite acceptable to be a pure Hibby because of my western origins 😡
02-05-2023, 03:25 PM
FFS - why don’t you chuck in Weegie Hibbys like me while you’re at it - time for me to bail out of this forum altogether with this kind of view - maybe I was bang on the effin money about not feeling quite acceptable to be a pure Hibby because of my western origins 😡
Who's having a go at West Coast Hibs fans?
02-05-2023, 03:29 PM
What?
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 03:39 PM
I can’t imagine being so utterly sad and angry, grow up mate - people have different opinions it doesn’t make them evil.
I’ve voted Conservative in my life (also Labour), and I don’t really care about the royals but would be saddened if we ever got rid of them.
I feel perfectly at home as a season ticket holder most of my life at Hibs. It’s a football club, nothing more. If you want to make it more than that then away and support those cretins in the east end of Glasgow.
02-05-2023, 03:39 PM
Are you implying people from the West Coast are all Tory, religious fundamentalist nutters?
02-05-2023, 03:52 PM
I think what he's getting at is that we are, and should always be, a welcoming club to every background.
We can't take the piss out of Rangers' "everyone, anyone" (which is clearly bull) but then start deciding who should/shouldn't feel welcome at Easter Road because they vote a certain way or like the royal family.
And I hate that family.
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 03:56 PM
I think what he's getting at is that we are, and should always be, a welcoming club to every background.
We can't take the piss out of Rangers' "everyone, anyone" (which is clearly bull) but then start deciding who should/shouldn't feel welcome at Easter Road because they vote a certain way or like the royal family.
And I hate that family.
Well said.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-05-2023, 04:00 PM
And I hate that family.
Surely there has to be a line with things like this though, question is where is it? Fascists? Neo-Nazis? Westboro Baptist Church style religious nutters? On the opposite side of the scale, communists? Anarchists? Now I stuck up for the guy a wee bit when he said about Weegie Hibbys maybe not being 100% accepted with my own experiences (nothing major, just a few funny looks but no one has ever actually questioned if I’m a hibs supporter to my face) but he’s being a tad dramatic here. Fans are allowed to express their opinion regardless of whether they’re at a football match or not, we don’t suddenly stop living in a democracy when we go through the turnstiles and that’s a fundamental reason why the Offensive Behaviour At Football Act was scrapped a few years back, you can’t take away peoples right to self expression just because they’ve entered a certain space.
Mcbizz1998
02-05-2023, 04:08 PM
Surely there has to be a line with things like this though, question is where is it? Fascists? Neo-Nazis? Westboro Baptist Church style religious nutters? On the opposite side of the scale, communists? Anarchists? Now I stuck up for the guy a wee bit when he said about Weegie Hibbys maybe not being 100% accepted with my own experiences (nothing major, just a few funny looks but no one has ever actually questioned if I’m a hibs supporter to my face) but he’s being a tad dramatic here. Fans are allowed to express their opinion regardless of whether they’re at a football match or not, we don’t suddenly stop living in a democracy when we go through the turnstiles and that’s a fundamental reason why the Offensive Behaviour At Football Act was scrapped a few years back, you can’t take away peoples right to self expression just because they’ve entered a certain space.
On the one hand you say we shouldn’t be welcoming to everyone and there needs to be a line (Nazi, fascist, anarchists etc) but on the other you say people are allowed to have free expression and that doesn’t change when you enter a football ground.
Who decides where the line is there? I completely agree we don’t want the groups you mention but by the same token there are posters on here who seem to want Conservative voters and Royalists away from the club.
Can’t we just keep this **** out of the football and go along and cheer on the Hibees. That’s my approach anyway.
hibby rae
02-05-2023, 04:45 PM
I'm pretty cool with communists and anarchists tbf (as an aside, the anarchists always made sure to book a room when I worked at Teviot!) :greengrin
StirlingHibee
02-05-2023, 05:07 PM
Well done mate! You’ve just won the prize for the most depressing (and worrying) post on this thread. Many Armed Forces Veterans who follow Hibs may feel an affinity towards the monarchy – and you would want for them not to feel welcome at Easter Road!! With respect mate my concern with people like you is that I suspect there are loads more people you would really like to add to your list.
02-05-2023, 05:08 PM
Thank goodness we aren’t playing Rangers on Saturday
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-05-2023, 05:09 PM
I'm pretty cool with communists and anarchists tbf (as an aside, the anarchists always made sure to book a room when I worked at Teviot!) :greengrin
I’d be a bit hypocritical not to be cool with them, was just playing devils advocate tbh
Can we express our dislike of the monarchy by waving Harry & Meghan flags? (not mine btw, I would never have a carpet like that 😃)
https://i.ibb.co/2gtfbd1/royal-wedding-2018-hand-flag-18x12.jpg (https://ibb.co/Gc2bhR4)
02-05-2023, 05:17 PM
Thank goodness we aren’t playing Rangers on Saturday
The Rangers have been given the day off and Celtic winning the title at Tiny has been moved to Sunday
DIXIHIBS
02-05-2023, 05:34 PM
Well you must’ve played against me as I played in every game. We were dire but our pool of talent was pretty limited - mibbies 15 (only 7 of which could actually kick a ball) . Best part was the huge bath (actually I think it was the primary school pool) after the game - not in a kinky sense of course but after freezing yer thruppnies off for 2 hrs it was v pleasant.
Defo would have played each other. I remember playing against you at Peffermill and they had the non kinky pool/bath. Good times.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 05:40 PM
I can’t imagine being so utterly sad and angry, grow up mate - people have different opinions it doesn’t make them evil.
I’ve voted Conservative in my life (also Labour), and I don’t really care about the royals but would be saddened if we ever got rid of them.
I feel perfectly at home as a season ticket holder most of my life at Hibs. It’s a football club, nothing more. If you want to make it more than that then away and support those cretins in the east end of Glasgow.
Well said 😁
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 05:42 PM
Are you implying people from the West Coast are all Tory, religious fundamentalist nutters?
Absolutely 🤭Nah but some Bosh types could be 😂
02-05-2023, 06:07 PM
Well done mate! You’ve just won the prize for the most depressing (and worrying) post on this thread. Many Armed Forces Veterans who follow Hibs may feel an affinity towards the monarchy – and you would want for them not to feel welcome at Easter Road!! With respect mate my concern with people like you is that I suspect there are loads more people you would really like to add to your list.
well to be perfectly honest, in terms of my own values, Armed Forces Veterans are people that I feel sympathy and empathy for, as essentially people suffering from Stockholm Syndrome, and yet are tossed out by the state that they served as soon as they are deemed not-useful-anymore, often with terrible mental health conditions. They are as much the victims as they are the de-facto perpetrators of state violence.
Hibs have always, to me, stood for something vaguely anti-authoritarian and liberationist. That's just my feeling though, not meaning to foist that on people - just expressing my preference for how I'd like to see Hibs.
R.e. Tories, I'm not saying 'if you've ever voted Tory then get out of 'my' club' by any means, I know loads of lovely people who are Tories. As an institution, though, they are one of the most rancid entities in the history of this country, perpetrators of conscious acts of societal vandalism, and I'd be absolutely delighted for their values not to be the values of the football club I support.
Again - I'm just saying that's what I'd like, I'm not saying it's the case.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 06:11 PM
Defo would have played each other. I remember playing against you at Peffermill and they had the non kinky pool/bath. Good times.
Yeah - great times - not sure if we were meant to use the “bath” TBH - iirc the water was fairly clear upon entry to the said “bath” but at exit it was v brown - a bit more brown if we were gonna be playing Hearts later that day🫢
cameronw-hfc
02-05-2023, 06:12 PM
On the one hand you say we shouldn’t be welcoming to everyone and there needs to be a line (Nazi, fascist, anarchists etc) but on the other you say people are allowed to have free expression and that doesn’t change when you enter a football ground.
Who decides where the line is there? I completely agree we don’t want the groups you mention but by the same token there are posters on here who seem to want Conservative voters and Royalists away from the club.
Can’t we just keep this **** out of the football and go along and cheer on the Hibees. That’s my approach anyway.
Anyone who thinks it will ever be possible to keep politics and football separate is too hopeful imo.
Football and politics go together like peanut butter and jam, not just in scotland as well. Look at Italy, Spain, Germany, pretty much everywhere. We just take it a lot more serious than some places, but whether I agree or disagree, football and politics have intertwined each other within the fanbases of each, either as an identity or a sticking point to make fun of each other with.
02-05-2023, 06:14 PM
And I hate that family.
ultimately, I think you're probably right. There is a line, though - obviously, people with homophobic or racist agendas aren't welcome, for example.
02-05-2023, 06:17 PM
Anyone who thinks it will ever be possible to keep politics and football separate is too hopeful imo.
Football and politics go together like peanut butter and jam, not just in scotland as well. Look at Italy, Spain, Germany, pretty much everywhere. We just take it a lot more serious than some places, but whether I agree or disagree, football and politics have intertwined each other within the fanbases of each, either as an identity or a sticking point to make fun of each other with.
I do agree with this - football is also one of the very few places working class people gather together en masse these days, and I quite like hearing the like of Liverpool fans singing anti-Tory songs - gives me a bit of hope that the turkeys might not vote for christmas again.
02-05-2023, 06:42 PM
It’s supposedly a democracy , folks are free to air their views even though you may not like them. Provocations such as playing GSTK or the Windsors / mainstream media encouraging folk to verbalise some stupid allegiance is bound to cause a reaction. Football in Scotland is probably still majority supported by working class folk with little allegiance to the monarchy. We’re living through times where the constitutional future of these islands is openly contested. I don’t think I know a Hibs fan that supports the monarchy.
Good post.
For me, the best way for the coronation to slip by would be for it to be the transition it is without there being any need to provoke a reaction from, or offend the rest of the population.
Many, dare I say a majority, don't want or need the excess of the occasion in their life and probably wouldn't excessively react but for the current overkill? Live and let live and all that.....
Can you imagine the intolerance if Republicans, or folk who just aren't comfortable with the recently exposed behaviours of the royals, wanted a day to express their view with similar exposure and government backing to what is being foisted upon us?
02-05-2023, 06:51 PM
I’ve got no idea if the people I sit next to at Easter Road are royalists, brexiteers, nationalists (Scots or UK), anti- vaxers, socialists, tories or flat-earthers.
We say hello when meeting every home game, and engagement is 100% Hibs and nothing else and what their views are on anything else between home games doesn’t really concern me one bit. Enjoyable camaraderie where the common bond is Hibs.
02-05-2023, 06:54 PM
I’ve got no idea if the people I sit next to at Easter Road are royalists, brexiteers, nationalists (Scots or UK), anti- vaxers, socialists, tories or flat-earthers.
We say hello when meeting every home game, and engagement is 100% Hibs and nothing else and what their views are on anything else between home games doesn’t really concern me one bit. Enjoyable camaraderie where the common bond is Hibs.
02-05-2023, 07:06 PM
We say hello when meeting every home game, and engagement is 100% Hibs and nothing else and what their views are on anything else between home games doesn’t really concern me one bit. Enjoyable camaraderie where the common bond is Hibs.Just how it should be, and long may it continue.
02-05-2023, 07:13 PM
The Rangers have been given the day off and Celtic winning the title at Tiny has been moved toSunday
Deliberate decision from on high Celtic not playing on the saturday.
Hibs were champions when Lizzie ascended to the throne .
Celtic to be champions on Charlie's Coronation weekend.
Give us another Coronation Cup tourney ..and we beat Celtic in the final this time :greengrin
Oh! cue the foaming at the mouth rage of the paris bun zombies if Celtic win the title on the weekend Charlie gets a new titfer
They might trash George Square...again !!
02-05-2023, 07:34 PM
I’ve followed the Hibs for almost 70 years and it’s only in recent years that I now appear to have to fit into a certain political, religious or non religious group in order to be qualify as a real Hibs supporter.
It’s utter nonsense and I’m getting fed up with it all and I’m sure I’m not the only one.
02-05-2023, 07:39 PM
Sorry mate, but that's just bizarre... and I say that as a Hibby that lives in Glasgow.
Not one person (outside of us having a bit of a laugh) said a single word on here about 'Weegie' Hibbies.
02-05-2023, 08:17 PM
I’ve followed the Hibs for almost 70 years and it’s only in recent years that I now appear to have to fit into a certain political, religious or non religious group in order to be qualify as a real Hibs supporter.
It’s utter nonsense and I’m getting fed up with it all and I’m sure I’m not the only one.
i think you might be over-reacting to my post a bit.
02-05-2023, 08:19 PM
i totally agree.
scm70nyd1973
02-05-2023, 08:38 PM
Sorry mate, but that's just bizarre... and I say that as a Hibby that lives in Glasgow.
Not one person (outside of us having a bit of a laugh) said a single word on here about 'Weegie' Hibbies.
Agreed - not on HIBS.net - I’ve been away from Scotland for nearly 15 years - so really talking about 15yrs plus and agree it’s not been horrendous- just an underlying perception really. I just got a wee bit annoyed about a ludicrous post that’s all.
Scotty Leither
02-05-2023, 10:02 PM
The Rangers have been given the day off and Celtic winning the title at Tiny has been moved to Sunday
…and there you have how and why this pantomime is a impacting on Scottish football. Aberdeen and H**rts will now know the results of other games before they play, in a format that should see all games kicking off at the same time.
And all to pander to two teams, one team and set of fans that don’t/won’t play on the day of the Coronation and the other side that would love to play on that day so that they can be the centre of attention by the Green Brigade staging one of their stunts.
Only in Scottish football…
02-05-2023, 10:12 PM
I’ve followed the Hibs for almost 70 years and it’s only in recent years that I now appear to have to fit into a certain political, religious or non religious group in order to be qualify as a real Hibs supporter. <br>
Ach I don't think it's as cut and dried as that. From time to time folk on here, not least of all me, have occasion to express an opinion as to what the Hibs support can be categorised as socially and / or politically. Not what you have to be to be a Hibs fan, but what the dominant traits are if you look at our support as a whole. For sure we have folk with all political outlooks, hell one of my best friends, a current ST holder, is a self confessed unionist Tory, but conversely most of the other folk I go to games with are independence minded socialists, as am I. What brought us together was our support of Hibs, not our political or social outlook and certainly not religion, a subject which simply never comes up in our group.
But it has to be said, whether folk like it or not, that the majority of our support ... no not ALL but the majority ... if not independence supporters are very much of a socialist bent and I would be willing to bet most of them are not pro the monarchy .... No you don't have to be anything to be a Hibs fan, just have a love of Hibs and that's it ..... but if you want to quantify our support in social or political terms we are anything but right wing and as a rule pretty unlikely to be monarchists ..... I would contend that's pretty much undeniable and hardly a surprise in a country that is as a whole mainly socialist leaning and at best ambivalent to royalty.
So while I would agree absolutely that it shouldn't matter a toss what your politics, religion, or anything else is when it comes to supporting this club, that doesn't mean you can't look at the Hibs support as a whole and just like any other demographic use basic logic and anecdotal evidence to say that for the most part it leans one way or another socially and politically.
02-05-2023, 10:58 PM
I will 100% be joining in with the anti royal family chants on Saturday, fair enough if others don’t want to but it’s going to happen. As a club that was formed off the back of the horrendous treatment that the crown saw fit to treat our founders with I think it’s only right they be treated with the disdain they deserve. Surely there can’t be many hibs fans that are pro royal family, the nonsense belongs at ibrox.
…and there you have how and why this pantomime is a impacting on Scottish football. Aberdeen and H**rts will now know the results of other games before they play, in a format that should see all games kicking off at the same time.
And all to pander to two teams, one team and set of fans that don’t/won’t play on the day of the Coronation and the other side that would love to play on that day so that they can be the centre of attention by the Green Brigade staging one of their stunts.
Only in Scottish football…
Eh? The matches for the 2 subsequent weekends don't kick off at the same time either, as is the case just about every week of the season (except for the last day). Why all of a sudden is it such a big deal if a couple of clubs know other results before their game?
02-05-2023, 11:51 PM
I will 100% be joining in with the anti royal family chants on Saturday, fair enough if others don’t want to but it’s going to happen. As a club that was formed off the back of the horrendous treatment that the crown saw fit to treat our founders with I think it’s only right they be treated with the disdain they deserve. Surely there can’t be many hibs fans that are pro royal family, the nonsense belongs at ibrox.
Me as well mate. Though it seriously has nothing to do with what club I support. I've been against the ridiculous pantomime of royalty since I was old enough to form a rational opinion of what society should be and since then the idea of status, deference and position as a birthright has seemed to me to be totally at odds with any concept of equality, fairness or democracy. You can't pretend to want these things and at the same time support the idea of a head of state holding the position through nothing more than an accident of birth. whether that position be 'ceremonial' or not.
We now have the ridiculous farce of folk actually being asked to swear allegiance to a man and his family who the overwhelming majority of them have never met, and not just that but to do it in front of their telly ... For me that's North Korean levels of social manipulation and in all seriousness anybody who actually does it is in my opinion nothing more than a brainless idiot.
So yeh ... if there is a chant of stick your coronation up your arse on Saturday my hearty and enthusiastic participation is all but guaranteed :aok:
03-05-2023, 12:31 AM
Ach I don't think it's as cut and dried as that. From time to time folk on here, not least of all me, have occasion to express an opinion as to what the Hibs support can be categorised as socially and / or politically. Not what you have to be to be a Hibs fan, but what the dominant traits are if you look at our support as a whole. For sure we have folk with all political outlooks, hell one of my best friends, a current ST holder, is a self confessed unionist Tory, but conversely most of the other folk I go to games with are independence minded socialists, as am I. What brought us together was our support of Hibs, not our political or social outlook and certainly not religion, a subject which simply never comes up in our group.
But it has to be said, whether folk like it or not, that the majority of our support ... no not ALL but the majority ... if not independence supporters are very much of a socialist bent and I would be willing to bet most of them are not pro the monarchy .... No you don't have to be anything to be a Hibs fan, just have a love of Hibs and that's it ..... but if you want to quantify our support in social or political terms we are anything but right wing and as a rule pretty unlikely to be monarchists ..... I would contend that's pretty much undeniable and hardly a surprise in a country that is as a whole mainly socialist leaning and at best ambivalent to royalty.
So while I would agree absolutely that it shouldn't matter a toss what your politics, religion, or anything else is when it comes to supporting this club, that doesn't mean you can't look at the Hibs support as a whole and just like any other demographic use basic logic and anecdotal evidence to say that for the most part it leans one way or another socially and politically.
completely agree with all of this, and the point i was attempting to make (and ended up doing so pretty badly), was that I'm very happy with how I perceive the values of the majority of fellow Hibs supporters, as I feel it's something beyond the football that I can identify with. I would never dissuade anyone from supporting Hibs, however - even a Tory. Obviously, I'd draw the line at racists and other kinds of bigots, but, for what little it's actually worth, I fully concur with the notion that Tories and died in the wool monarchists can be good people too, and are absolutely welcome to support the Hibees :aok:
...I just don't think they should be upset when Hibs fans take the p!ss out of the monarchy if we're asked to show them respect :wink:
Mcbizz1998
03-05-2023, 05:33 AM
What I would say as a unionist, on occasion Conservative voting, centre right (anything but socialist) person is I have never even considered the political leanings of anyone at Easter Road.
I understand the history of the club but chose to support Hibs because they are the closest team to where I live and family/friend connections. To me it’s a football club and nothing more. My mates who come with me to games range from people who don’t care much about politics to people who are aligned pretty closely with me. None are socialist and none are nationalist. I always felt the Hibs support were just a mix of people who love the club. Sounds like to some it’s more than that and they see an overriding political identity within the support, which is fine - I just can’t say I have ever felt or experienced it.
I know we have an element of the support who seem to be anti-British and anti-monarchy but tbh always put that down to the desire to position themselves as the opposite of rangers.
I have a hearts supporting mate who frequently tells me I should have been a hearts fan based on politics. I’ve always told him that is one of the reasons I could never support his club and that it was diet hun type behaviour, to find political identity in supporting a football team. He obviously shares your opinion that the support has a broader identity, I must say I’m glad that’s never been a consideration of mine and a love for Hibs is the only binding similarity I have with the rest of the support.
chippy
03-05-2023, 06:42 AM
Excellent post
03-05-2023, 06:43 AM
What I would say as a unionist, on occasion Conservative voting, centre right (anything but socialist) person is I have never even considered the political leanings of anyone at Easter Road.
I understand the history of the club but chose to support Hibs because they are the closest team to where I live and family/friend connections. To me it’s a football club and nothing more. My mates who come with me to games range from people who don’t care much about politics to people who are aligned pretty closely with me. None are socialist and none are nationalist. I always felt the Hibs support were just a mix of people who love the club. Sounds like to some it’s more than that and they see an overriding political identity within the support, which is fine - I just can’t say I have ever felt or experienced it.
I know we have an element of the support who seem to be anti-British and anti-monarchy but tbh always put that down to the desire to position themselves as the opposite of rangers.
I have a hearts supporting mate who frequently tells me I should have been a hearts fan based on politics. I’ve always told him that is one of the reasons I could never support his club and that it was diet hun type behaviour, to find political identity in supporting a football team. He obviously shares your opinion that the support has a broader identity, I must say I’m glad that’s never been a consideration of mine and a love for Hibs is the only binding similarity I have with the rest of the support.
You shouldn't put it down to a desire to position ourselves as opposite of The Rangers, I detest everything the english govt stand for and the monarchy, its about time people got off their f,n knees and stopped their cap doffing to a bunch of over privileged wanqers, who think Scotlands a pi55 stain on the map but can steal our resources, once the oil and gas is gone the english govt will also be gone. We are the only thing keeping britain great. I honestly feel physically sick at times when people call me british. Independence may not happen in the next 5 yrs but it will definitely happen very soon, the kids will make sure of that, then we can dump the monarchy and welcome a new Scotland with hope for the future.
03-05-2023, 06:51 AM
You shouldn't put it down to a desire to position ourselves as opposite of The Rangers, I detest everything the english govt stand for and the monarchy, its about time people got off their f,n knees and stopped their cap doffing to a bunch of over privileged wanqers, who think Scotlands a pi55 stain on the map but can steal our resources, once the oil and gas is gone the english govt will also be gone. We are the only thing keeping britain great. I honestly feel physically sick at times when people call me british. Independence may not happen in the next 5 yrs but it will definitely happen very soon, the kids will make sure of that, then we can dump the monarchy and welcome a new Scotland with hope for the future.
You should go spend time in the rest of the UK, there are plenty of great places and areas and people around the place also "keeping it great".
Mcbizz1998
03-05-2023, 07:09 AM
There is no English government. You are perfectly entitled to your (extremely bitter) opinion but I don’t see why it has to be associated with hibs? That was really my point.
As a poster says above, there are many great people and places outwith Scotland around the UK. It’s pretty sad you can’t see that.
Steven79
03-05-2023, 07:22 AM
There is no English government. You are perfectly entitled to your (extremely bitter) opinion but I don’t see why it has to be associated with hibs? That was really my point.
As a poster says above, there are many great people and places outwith Scotland around the UK. It’s pretty sad you can’t see that.It's an English Government in all but name...
Mcbizz1998
03-05-2023, 07:34 AM
It's an English Government in all but name...
An English government where 50 odd Scottish Nationalist MP’s get to vote on English matters? Meanwhile the English have no say whatsoever on devolved Scottish matters. [emoji23]
Look, you can hate the english/British but let’s not be silly eh?
03-05-2023, 07:44 AM
An English government where 50 odd Scottish Nationalist MP’s get to vote on English matters? Meanwhile the English have no say whatsoever on devolved Scottish matters. [emoji23]
Also add in the the Welsh and Northern Irish ministers 😁
Look, you can hate the english/British but let’s not be silly eh?Did anyone claim to to "hate the English"?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Steven79
03-05-2023, 07:48 AM
Look, you can hate the english/British but let’s not be silly eh?English matters which very often have effects on Scottish funding and right after the 2014 referendum Cameron brought in English votes for English laws which stopped voting for everyone else in the UK Parliament.
And let's face it every Scottish, Welsh and Irish MP could vote a certain way and the English MP'S could out vote them every time.
It's an English Parliament in all but name.
Also why don't England have a devolved Parliament?
Why does Scotland, Wales and N Ireland have a secretary of state?
Think about it...
Steven79
03-05-2023, 07:49 AM
Did anyone claim to to "hate the English"?
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkI married an English woman and the kids were born in England so they can clearly stick that comment where the sun don't shine.
03-05-2023, 07:50 AM
Unless they invoke section 35 of the Scotland act to stop legislation they don’t like
Steven79
03-05-2023, 07:52 AM
Unless they invoke section 35 of the Scotland act to stop legislation they don’t likeUnlike Scotland who have no veto on English legislation that they don't like?
Surely in a "union of equals" we should?
The EU withdrawal bill being one in particular that Westminster overruled.
Mcbizz1998
03-05-2023, 08:15 AM
Unless they invoke section 35 of the Scotland act to stop legislation they don’t like
You mean the one time that’s happened in the history of devolution? To stop a radical left trans bill, forced through Hollyrood against the will of the majority of Scots which would impact equality law across the rest of the UK.
I’m comfortable with that mechanism and it’s use on this single occasion in 25 years.
03-05-2023, 08:35 AM
The direction this thread is going is exactly the reason there is no place in football for politics.
Maybe we can all just support hibs instead.
Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk
03-05-2023, 08:39 AM
Best post on the thread.
03-05-2023, 08:40 AM
This got very Holy Groundy all of a sudden.
03-05-2023, 09:24 AM
Hibs won't be daft enough to do anything regarding this on Saturday. Those wishing to do so, are best to make their way to Disneyland London, along with the other actors in this farce.
We've got a match to win.
03-05-2023, 09:43 AM
Hibs won't be daft enough to do anything regarding this on Saturday. Those wishing to do so, are best to make their way to Disneyland London, along with the other actors in this farce.
We've got a match to win.
Disneyland London?!
Steven79
03-05-2023, 09:44 AM
Disneyland London?!Come on it's obvious. [emoji1787]
03-05-2023, 09:44 AM
Come on it's obvious. [emoji1787]
Nope? 🤷
Steven79
03-05-2023, 09:46 AM
Nope? [emoji1745]This might help...26704
03-05-2023, 09:48 AM
This might help...26704
Is it amusing? Sure we do similar historical pomp and circumstance in Scotland as do many other parts of Europe.
Berwickhibby
03-05-2023, 09:58 AM
Regardless of your views on the Royals, GSTK should not be played Saturday at Easter Road. If people choose to sing the National Anthem in their own time and space that’s their prerogative. I would like to see the supporters United in cheering on the Hibees and getting 3 points.
03-05-2023, 10:08 AM
Is it amusing? Sure we do similar historical pomp and circumstance in Scotland as do many other parts of Europe.
If you want to do fancy dress on Saturday, feel free, Hibs scarf for me.
03-05-2023, 12:51 PM
As I said mate, I have no interest in the politics or ( especially ) religious views of individual fans. There is a more general discussion around individual clubs and what makes up their fan bases which is held around many clubs in the world, we like to make jokes about what constitutes yer typical Jambo, as you have alluded to here, but I have to say some of the Jambos I know are more left wing and anti monarchy than a lot of Hibbies I know, not to mention independence supporters.
It's fanciful to say sport and politics shouldn't mix, it will always be a thing and dominates stuff like bids for the world cup and Olympic games. Look at the British Olympic committee who distribute funding not on a basis of supporting each team or athlete equally, but very much target funding with a view to maximising Britain's medal haul .... if your performance drops get ready to lose your funding, you will not get money with a hope it can make you better .... Its all about what national kudos medals can bring you ....what could be more political than that?
As for Hibs and our fans, I would never want to see us get involved in politics insomuch as publicly taking sides goes. But in certain circumstances, like when things like minutes silences for stuff a lot of us are actually opposed to are foisted upon us and especially any suggestion we should pay homage to the ridiculous notion of royalty gets mentioned that changes ..... then I feel we should certainly make our feelings known.
03-05-2023, 01:16 PM
You mean the one time that’s happened in the history of devolution? To stop a radical left trans bill, forced through Hollyrood against the will of the majority of Scots which would impact equality law across the rest of the UK.
I’m comfortable with that mechanism and it’s use on this single occasion in 25 years.
Funnily enough I am not, once is too often for me regardless of my thoughts on the legislation. The legislation went through our parliament as is required. The MSP’s who voted were in the majority. Are you saying we should have a public vote for every piece of legislation that the public doesn’t like. If that was the case nothing would happen in the UK parliament as the Tory’s did not get over 50% of the electorate voting for them.
03-05-2023, 01:18 PM
Funnily enough I am not, once is too often for me regardless of my thoughts on the legislation. The legislation went through our parliament as is required. The MSP’s who voted were in the majority. Are you saying we should have a public vote for every piece of legislation that the public doesn’t like. If that was the case nothing would happen in the UK parliament as the Tory’s did not get over 50% of the electorate voting for them.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gender_Recognition_Reform_(Scotland)_Bill#:~:text= The%20bill%20was%20voted%20on,and%204%20members%20 not%20voting.
03-05-2023, 01:34 PM
Yup, I'm with you mate ...... I'm happy to see democracy trashed and ridden roughshod over just so long as I get my way. If you think this hasn't set a precedent for further and more frequent use of this undemocratic sledgehammer and possibly next time to crush something you ARE in favour of then you need to open your eyes.
So yeh, enjoy your victory ... take my words for it, its a pyrrhic one.
03-05-2023, 02:37 PM
This guy, and many like him don't give a stuff for the Monarchy. :aok:
https://youtu.be/2W2eyFQC-K4
TrumpIsAPeado
03-05-2023, 02:39 PM
If only the Monarchy felt any kind of affinity for veterans, perhaps they wouldn't be out on the streets cold and hungry with untreated trauma. Gold crowns and carriages though. Well worth the tax payers expense.
Berwickhibby
03-05-2023, 06:23 PM
If only the Monarchy felt any kind of affinity for veterans, perhaps they wouldn't be out on the streets cold and hungry with untreated trauma. Gold crowns and carriages though. Well worth the tax payers expense.
I blame the Government for that lack of support to veterans that have struggled since leaving. Both Labour and Tory Governments have neglected ex Service Personnel’s welfare
TrumpIsAPeado
03-05-2023, 06:36 PM
I blame the Government for that lack of support to veterans that have struggled since leaving. Both Labour and Tory Governments have neglected ex Service Personnel’s welfare
It's not the Government that the armed forces are made to pledge allegiance to, it's the monarchy. The non-elected monarchy also sits above the Government in the chain of power and are quite happy to be showered in tax payers money while their loyal soldiers rot on the streets.
Mcbizz1998
03-05-2023, 07:03 PM
Yup, I'm with you mate ...... I'm happy to see democracy trashed and ridden roughshod over just so long as I get my way. If you think this hasn't set a precedent for further and more frequent use of this undemocratic sledgehammer and possibly next time to crush something you ARE in favour of then you need to open your eyes.
So yeh, enjoy your victory ... take my words for it, its a pyrrhic one.
I don’t believe it will. It was enacted as the bill directly impacts equality law in the rest of the UK.
As for enjoying ‘my victory’, I will and so will women all across Scotland.
Berwickhibby
03-05-2023, 07:30 PM
It's not the Government that the armed forces are made to pledge allegiance to, it's the monarchy. The non-elected monarchy also sits above the Government in the chain of power and are quite happy to be showered in tax payers money while their loyal soldiers rot on the streets.
It’s the Government that sends the military into conflict…not the monarchy. The monarchy are great with service personnel and those who have served respect them. By the way look how much the Royals earn for the treasury and how much is provided as the Royal purse. Over 80% goes into the treasury. Out of the sovereign grant, salaries of staff etc are paid. King Charles is also streamlining the Royals and the money raised on TV alone exceeds the cost of the coronation.
03-05-2023, 10:24 PM
I don’t believe it will. It was enacted as the bill directly impacts equality law in the rest of the UK.
As for enjoying ‘my victory’, I will and so will women all across Scotland.
Yeh and next time it will impact something else UK wide, like something that affects the 'internal market' legislation for example, that bill that has no more purpose than to stop devolved governments doing something the UK parliament disagrees with, even if it is within that parliaments competence to do so under the devolution settlement.
What effect the GRR bill has on women's rights is an argument I will leave to women to comment on, what the majority of them say is fine by me. I am not arguing in support of or against the GRR legislation ... what I very much am arguing about is Westminster vetoing a bill passed by the Scottish parliament on a matter which was within it's competence to pass legislation on. A parliament I made a democratic vote to elect a member to only to have that vote rendered utterly meaningless by another government with absolutely no democratic mandate or legitimacy in Scotland.
So you believe what you like mate .... but if you seriously think use of this tool by Westminster will end here you have paid no attention to politics in this country for the last 15 years. Yes, you may well think this is a good thing because you are currently on the ( for want of a better expression ) winning side .... how are you going to feel when you are on the losing side ... when you think Holyrood has passed a law you are totally in favour of and it is vetoed by a government next to nobody in Scotland voted for? Because that's the issue here, not the GRR bill.
03-05-2023, 10:55 PM
Playing it would be the best pre match entertainment we've had for a while. :greengrin
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-05-2023, 10:58 PM
Playing it would be the best pre match entertainment we've had for a while. :greengrin
I can’t actually argue with that but I can suggest better pre match entertainment - The Queen Is Dead by The Smiths, God Save The Queen by the Sex Pistols and Elizabeth My Dear by The Stone Roses on repeat.
03-05-2023, 11:14 PM
I can’t actually argue with that but I can suggest better pre match entertainment - The Queen Is Dead by The Smiths, God Save The Queen by the Sex Pistols and Elizabeth My Dear by The Stone Roses on repeat.
Tame stuff mate .... Check out a song called 'Gardyloo' by Gutterblood featuring bonny prince Bob on You tube .... it's hilarious :greengrin
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-05-2023, 11:16 PM
Tame stuff mate .... Check out a song called 'Gardyloo' by Gutterblood featuring bonny prince Bob on You tube .... it's hilarious :greengrin
Oh yes I know, that’s for the players running out [emoji2]
04-05-2023, 12:30 PM
Yeh and next time it will impact something else UK wide, like something that affects the 'internal market' legislation for example, that bill that has no more purpose than to stop devolved governments doing something the UK parliament disagrees with, even if it is within that parliaments competence to do so under the devolution settlement.
What effect the GRR bill has on women's rights is an argument I will leave to women to comment on, what the majority of them say is fine by me. I am not arguing in support of or against the GRR legislation ... what I very much am arguing about is Westminster vetoing a bill passed by the Scottish parliament on a matter which was within it's competence to pass legislation on. A parliament I made a democratic vote to elect a member to only to have that vote rendered utterly meaningless by another government with absolutely no democratic mandate or legitimacy in Scotland.
So you believe what you like mate .... but if you seriously think use of this tool by Westminster will end here you have paid no attention to politics in this country for the last 15 years. Yes, you may well think this is a good thing because you are currently on the ( for want of a better expression ) winning side .... how are you going to feel when you are on the losing side ... when you think Holyrood has passed a law you are totally in favour of and it is vetoed by a government next to nobody in Scotland voted for? Because that's the issue here, not the GRR bill.
Great post totally agree
twiceinathens
04-05-2023, 02:51 PM
Do I think the anthem should be played?
No
What will I do if it is played?
Sit on my backside and ignore it.
Silence is better than any childish attempt at disruption
archie
04-05-2023, 03:25 PM
How about we just go to the game, cheer the team and leave the outside world outside!
Berwickhibby
04-05-2023, 04:12 PM
How about we just go to the game, cheer the team and leave the outside world outside!
100% agree
04-05-2023, 04:24 PM
depends if the outside world is blasting through the tannoys, really
archie
04-05-2023, 04:29 PM
depends if the outside world is blasting through the tannoys, really
I don't want that either.
Stairway 2 7
04-05-2023, 04:39 PM
The anthem won't be played and you can easily ignore the coronation. Stick on Netflix or listen to music, go to the game, watch the games after it in the pub. Its louder on here about the coronation than in the real world, then again I hardly ever watch live TV.
F the king 3 nil Hibernian on Saturday
Steven79
04-05-2023, 09:40 PM
The anthem won't be played and you can easily ignore the coronation. Stick on Netflix or listen to music, go to the game, watch the games after it in the pub. Its louder on here about the coronation than in the real world, then again I hardly ever watch live TV.
F the king 3 nil Hibernian on SaturdayCan we the tax payers avoid paying for it?
While they live a life of luxury at our expense...
05-05-2023, 02:25 PM
Actually, the DJ should stick it on and after the first few bars take it off again and say ... ha ha got yeez ... It would be hilarious :greengrin
TrumpIsAPeado
05-05-2023, 02:41 PM
Actually, the DJ should stick it on and after the first few bars take it off again and say ... ha ha got yeez ... It would be hilarious :greengrin
"Legal quota met" :agree:
06-05-2023, 06:59 AM
Then go straight in to Born Slippy.
EH6 Hibby
06-05-2023, 08:24 AM
Could not agree more with this post.
Fuzzywuzzy
07-05-2023, 08:28 AM
Did many/any clubs in Scotland play gstk before their matched yesterday? I couldn't make the game yesterday but as there wasn't a standalone thread I'm guessing we never