View Full Version : Supporting our Supporters

LustForLeith
22-04-2023, 10:39 AM
Hi folks

Myself and a fellow Hibee Dave Thompson have been hosting drop ins of the Changing Room which help men tackle mental health through football.

It’s now being relaunched as Supporting Our Supporters with the first new drop in this Monday at 6pm at the Famous Five

If you’re male and fancy coming along it’s free, safe and confidential. I’m recent sessions we’ve had Yogi Hughes come along while we’ve discussed a wide range of subjects. Weirdly enough we hardly talk about Hibs! We’re hoping to have something similar for women on the future

While things haven’t gone as we’d like on the park there’s been some great stuff done by the club and the community foundation off the park.

I’ve included a link with more info. Included is Paul’s story who came along after seeing a post about the changing room on here. Thankfully he’s in a better place now than he was

https://www.hiberniancommunityfoundation.org.uk/News/supporting-our-supporters

Thanks

22-04-2023, 10:46 AM
:applause:

22-04-2023, 10:52 AM
Well played Lustforleith and Dave. A much needed community resource

22-04-2023, 11:06 AM
Absolutely fantastic work 👏

LustForLeith
23-04-2023, 05:57 PM
Just a wee bump for tomorrow 👍

LustForLeith
27-04-2023, 07:58 PM
Just to say we’ve got a walk and talk around the Easter Road pitch on Monday night. Meeting at 6pm at the famous five stand. A chance for men to tackle their mental health while doing a bit of physical activity

See you there

Gorebridge Hibb
27-04-2023, 10:04 PM
Just to say we’ve got a walk and talk around the Easter Road pitch on Monday night. Meeting at 6pm at the famous five stand. A chance for men to tackle their mental health while doing a bit of physical activity

See you there
Can you just turn up or do you need to contact someone

LustForLeith
28-04-2023, 09:46 AM
Hi mate

No need to register just turn up!

If you’d like my number before hand just DM me!

Sorted!

28-04-2023, 09:48 AM
This is uplifting to read. A superb scheme :top marks

LustForLeith
28-04-2023, 11:00 AM
This is uplifting to read. A superb scheme :top marks

Thanks for this 👍

Bridge hibs
28-04-2023, 05:43 PM
Bump, great stuff guys 👍

28-04-2023, 06:14 PM
With the added bonus you get to meet amazing people like Paul, Dave and LFL I may add…

I forget which channel but they used to have the strap line “everyone needs a place to think” well I think perhaps through COVID some folks realise “everyone needs a place to talk”.

As Bob Hoskins used to say “it’s good to talk” (if you want to) but IMO sometimes pressures of modern life get in the way of that, everyone is different, but it can be helpful to take time for yourself, be kind to yourself. Maybe give it a try, even if you think maybe this is not me and see for yourself.

LustForLeith
28-04-2023, 07:19 PM
With the added bonus you get to meet amazing people like Paul, Dave and LFL I may add…

I forget which channel but they used to have the strap line “everyone needs a place to think” well I think perhaps through COVID some folks realise “everyone needs a place to talk”.

As Bob Hoskins used to say “it’s good to talk” (if you want to) but IMO sometimes pressures of modern life get in the way of that, everyone is different, but it can be helpful to take time for yourself, be kind to yourself. Maybe give it a try, even if you think maybe this is not me and see for yourself.

Thanks for this!

LustForLeith
11-05-2023, 07:43 PM
Hi folks!

Just to say we’ve got a walk and talk this coming Monday. Meeting at Easter Road at the famous five stadium for 6pm

All gong well it’ll be around the pitch at Easter Road. A chance for men to tackle mental health while working on their physical health.

See you there

12-05-2023, 08:52 AM
Disappointing this is only for men.

LustForLeith
13-05-2023, 07:04 PM

There are plans underway to have a women’s changing room/supporting our supporters thing. It’s maybe taken longer to get off the ground but there will be something similar for women

Myself and Dave who co host this did consider helping with a female version but decided against it. Here’s hoping it won’t be long before there’s more

If you’ve got any questions then give me a shout. Happy to help 👍

Hillsidehibby
13-05-2023, 07:09 PM
I had issues a few years back and thankfully got through it with a mixture of elimination, exercise and talking. I wish this was around then.

LustForLeith
25-06-2023, 10:03 AM
Hi folks

Drop in tomorrow for those interested. Meet at 6 at the famous five stand. Confidential, safe and free. A chance for many to tackle their mental health

See you there

💚

25-06-2023, 10:26 PM
Hi folks

Drop in tomorrow for those interested. Meet at 6 at the famous five stand. Confidential, safe and free. A chance for many to tackle their mental health

See you there

💚

Nice one :aok:

stu in nottingham
25-06-2023, 10:52 PM
Just admirable what you're doing lads, appreciate the support you're offering to fellow supporters. Good on you.

Bridge hibs
26-06-2023, 05:41 AM
Excellent, keep up the brilliant work you do 👍

LustForLeith
20-02-2024, 09:03 PM
Hi folks

This coming Monday 26 February sees our next Supporting Our Supporters drop in at Easter Road.

Weee meeting at 7 at the main stand. Dave and I who host this will be joined by the good folk of Longbangers!

It’s safe, confidential and free. All going well there will be some refreshments and the like.

A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football!.

See you there

💚

20-02-2024, 09:45 PM
Hi folks

This coming Monday 26 February sees our next Supporting Our Supporters drop in at Easter Road.

Weee meeting at 7 at the main stand. Dave and I who host this will be joined by the good folk of Longbangers!

It’s safe, confidential and free. All going well there will be some refreshments and the like.

A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football!.

See you there

💚

Looking forward to it.

LustForLeith
26-02-2024, 06:16 AM
Looking forward to it.

Cheers mate!

Reminder for tonight. 7pm for those who can make it.

A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football and Hibs. Meeting at the West Stand at 7pm.

It’s safe, confidential and free

26-02-2024, 07:52 AM
Cheers mate!

Reminder for tonight. 7pm for those who can make it.

A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football and Hibs. Meeting at the West Stand at 7pm.

We're going to try and record a podcast episode (derby preview) immediately after it for anyone that wants to stick around and contribute questions/watch as well.

It'll be the first time we've done this other than the live shows we did for Shortbangers so it depends on us being able to technically figure out what we need to make it work but if you're not in a rush to get home we'd love to see you there and have you hang about for half an hour or so with us.

andrew70
26-02-2024, 07:59 AM
Would have loved to have made this tonight but with the AGM and the derby this week 3 nights away from the bairn just wouldn’t work.

Have a good one.

26-02-2024, 10:51 PM
We had a great evening, not sure how many there are also on here but it was brilliant to speak to everyone and a real buzz to record an episode with a wee audience from the press room!

27-02-2024, 08:16 AM
Great night Matty enjoyed the chat and the live podcast. I hope the confidence in the room for the podcast for the Derby will be well founded.

27-02-2024, 09:11 AM
Great night Matty enjoyed the chat and the live podcast. I hope the confidence in the room for the podcast for the Derby will be well founded.

Dave shared the link to the photos you took, they were great! Nice to put a face to the name as well!

27-02-2024, 09:14 AM
Dave shared the link to the photos you took, they were great! Nice to put a face to the name as well!
You too. Keep up the great work

LustForLeith
28-02-2024, 05:58 AM
Thanks to everyone who came along!

LustForLeith
23-03-2024, 06:03 AM
Hi folks

The next SoS drop in is this Monday where we’ll be joined by Nathan Moriah-Welsh

A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football.

Meeting at the west stand at 7pm.

It’s confidential, safe and free

💚

LustForLeith
21-08-2024, 07:28 PM
Hi folks

I hope everyone is as well as can be!

There’s a drop in this coming Monday at Easter Road. A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football.

We’ll be having a walk and talk around the pitch. Meeting at the west stand at 7pm

💚

21-08-2024, 09:07 PM
Hi folks

There’s a drop in this coming Monday at Easter Road. A chance for men to tackle their mental health through football.

We’ll be having a walk and talk around the pitch. Meeting at the west stand at 7pm

💚

Keep up the good work, chief.

21-08-2024, 09:12 PM
Hi folks

💚
Amazing work mate.

Hopefully this is helping those who need it.

Keep at it, it’s worth it 💚

23-08-2024, 06:31 AM
Hi folks

💚

Brilliant work 👏

23-08-2024, 06:41 AM
Hi folks

💚

thanks for doing this. Proper Hibs Class

LustForLeith
24-08-2024, 09:10 PM
Thanks folks

LustForLeith
22-01-2025, 06:02 AM
Hi folks

The first SoS drop in of 2025 is Monday 27 January.

Helping men tackle mental health through football.

We’re meeting at the famous five stand at 7pm and we’ll be in the Community Foundation hub.

It’s safe, confidential and free and open to all, not just Hibs fans

💚💚💚

22-01-2025, 06:15 AM
Hi folks

We’re meeting at the famous five stand at 7pm and we’ll be in the Community Foundation hub.

💚💚💚

Great stuff mate. Brilliant thing to do for folk.

22-01-2025, 07:44 AM
Hi folks

💚💚💚

Open to all except Women ?

22-01-2025, 08:56 AM

The Changing Room, delivered in partnership with SAMH has one goal – to promote mental health and wellbeing across both men and women through the power of the beautiful game.

The Changing Room, starting at Hibernian FC through a pilot programme, is now delivered nationally across 20 clubs.

Here's a thought,

"In Scotland, men are two-and-a-half times more likely to die by suicide. The Changing Room uses football to bring men together to tackle mental health. In the stadiums, in the stands, in fan forums and even in the queue for a pie and Bovril. We want guys to open up".

Sometimes there are gender specific issues which require a gender specific approach to support. There are all kinds of gender specific groups operating in our communities; rape crisis, survivors of sexual abuse, domestic violence support.

22-01-2025, 09:49 AM
Hi folks

💚💚💚

Great stuff.

Can you maybe also post this in the Depression and Anxiety thread? :aok:

22-01-2025, 11:26 AM

22-01-2025, 11:31 AM

In a similar way that certain womens organisations are open to all, except men.

22-01-2025, 03:19 PM

it still is. Fit Fans in Training runs both men and women’s but it was the men’s setup first.

This particular initiative It’s volunteers but it’s a start. The stats are there as mentioned but that’s not to say anyone with mental health issues is any more or less important than another.

22-01-2025, 07:01 PM

Nothing to stop you setting up & running your own mental health group for females.

LustForLeith
23-01-2025, 05:33 AM

There is a women’s changing room event that the foundation run. If interested drop them a message for more info 👍

Bridge hibs
23-01-2025, 05:41 AM

Nope, more info here after a quick google search

The Changing Room

The Changing Room, delivered in partnership with SAMH has one goal – to promote mental health and wellbeing across both men and women through the power of the beautiful game.

The Changing Room, starting at Hibernian FC through a pilot programme, is now delivered nationally across 20 clubs.

In Scotland, men are two-and-a-half times more likely to die by suicide. The Changing Room uses football to bring men together to tackle mental health. In the stadiums, in the stands, in fan forums and even in the queue for a pie and Bovril. We want guys to open up.

We all love a blether about the football, whether it’s pre-match tactics, the team selection, or post-match analysis with your pals, but men also need to get the stuff that’s bothering them off their chests – The Changing Room is here for you.

To register your interest in the next Changing Room course please contact

[email protected]

LustForLeith
28-01-2025, 01:17 PM
First SoS drop in done!

We covered a far range of topics in ninety minutes that flew on as quickly as a Hibs game!

Next one will be at the end of February!

Thanks