View Full Version : How Do We Explain The Support Phenomenon?
22-04-2023, 07:19 AM
We’ve been pretty much in decline on the field since 2016, but there seems a passionate resurgence of interest in not just Hibs, but in some other non OF clubs in Scotland. It’s strange that this has come when the spending differential is now so great it makes it almost impossible for them to win anything.
22-04-2023, 07:23 AM
Looking at some of the poor attendances clubs had during the 80s when the only games on TV were international games, cup finals and some European games it's incredible the support clubs have now when you can watch football every day of the week. I'm currently watching Newcastle Jets Vs Central Coast Mariners
22-04-2023, 07:25 AM
Apparently killie haven't won an away game in nearly a year but have sold out their 1800 allocation at St Mirren today. Impressive
22-04-2023, 07:28 AM
Was saying that last night, watching the Ayr match. In the 80s the attendance would likely have been in the hundreds, even though it would have been cheaper relatively speaking to get in. Decent crowd last night, and that was despite it being on telly.
Clarence
22-04-2023, 07:29 AM
Nothing like a lockdown to reignite the love of getting away from the family for a few hours I suppose.
22-04-2023, 07:33 AM
We’ve been pretty much in decline on the field since 2016, but there seems a passionate resurgence of interest in not just Hibs, but in some other non OF clubs in Scotland. It’s strange that this has come when the spending differential is now so great it makes it almost impossible for them to win anything.
I think for a long time Scottish clubs lost their support to English clubs in the premiership and the champions league. I might be wrong but my perception is that people are starting to see through all that plastic touristy football and realise what they have on their door step is actually affordable and a more enjoyable experience than watching ‘perfect football’ on a screen. My boy and his pals are maybe too young at 10 but none of them have an English team, he’s asked me more times if he can go to an FC Edinburgh game and start an Ultras section than he has asked to go to a game down south.
On that, I can’t really be bothered with the whole Ultras scene but it is capturing the imagination of the younger, cooler than me kids, that may also be helping the resurgence in attendances.
22-04-2023, 07:33 AM
And all at a time when many people can stream through a device of some sort. Hard to put my finger on it, definitely a cultural shift with our younger set of fans, call them what you want, ultras etc. I’m mid 40s so not in that category but been to more away games this season than any other, combination of my daughter becoming interested and really appreciating the days out with mates, maybe the Covid years have had an impact🤔
Edina Street
22-04-2023, 07:54 AM
Perhaps a lot of clubs benefited from Rangers spell in the lower divisions. Perhaps supporters of the new generation that would have otherwise became long distance glory hunting Rangers supporters, and traitors to their local community, instead became supporters of their local clubs. Those individuals probably don't even know themselves who they are.
But to prove this theory correct, a poll would need to be conducted to find out how many Rangers supporters live in Edinburgh today (and other Scottish towns and cities), compared to pre-2012.
22-04-2023, 07:54 AM
And all at a time when many people can stream through a device of some sort. Hard to put my finger on it, definitely a cultural shift with our younger set of fans, call them what you want, ultras etc. I’m mid 40s so not in that category but been to more away games this season than any other, combination of my daughter becoming interested and really appreciating the days out with mates, maybe the Covid years have had an impact🤔
I think the Covid years have definitely had an impact. After being denied the ability to spend days out with friends we maybe all see that as having a higher priority than before.
22-04-2023, 08:03 AM
I think for a long time Scottish clubs lost their support to English clubs in the premiership and the champions league. I might be wrong but my perception is that people are starting to see through all that plastic touristy football and realise what they have on their door step is actually affordable and a more enjoyable experience than watching ‘perfect football’ on a screen. My boy and his pals are maybe too young at 10 but none of them have an English team, he’s asked me more times if he can go to an FC Edinburgh game and start an Ultras section than he has asked to go to a game down south.
On that, I can’t really be bothered with the whole Ultras scene but it is capturing the imagination of the younger, cooler than me kids, that may also be helping the resurgence in attendances.
I think you're onto something here. In the impersonal world of global capitalism, represented by the corporations and media, people may be rebelling and searching for the kind of community their local clubs embody.
leftpeg
22-04-2023, 08:25 AM
A lot more women attend games now than before the introduction of all seated stadiums.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
22-04-2023, 08:40 AM
There has been a resurgence in attendance at the football, I noticed crowds on a social media post from the early 90’s. Hibs v Dundee Utd, 4000. Celtic v Dunfermline 14,000, Huns v Dundee Utd ( midweek) 32,000.
In an era of saturation coverage of football and where a whole generation or more of folk genuinely identify with an English side, it’s pretty remarkable. Even more remarkable when you consider the style of football these days, more tactical, less blood and thunder tackles, more time wasting and cheating. It’s not like the product is particularly attractive.
Mcbizz1998
22-04-2023, 08:42 AM
I’m not sure what’s happened overall but I’ve seen a real uptick in my pals getting back into hibs.
In my late teens and early 20’s we had a good group but people drifted away from it throughout our 20’s (apart from derbys and cup finals). Got to the stage where I have had season tickets on my own at times and last 2 years it’s been me and one other.
Over the last few seasons I’ve seen a lot of mates start to go more regularly for whatever reason and next year there will be 5 of us with a season ticket all sat together!
22-04-2023, 08:45 AM
I cba finding the stats, but I think Scottish football has the highest per capita attendance in Europe - even taking Rangers and Celtic out the equation.
Its impressive, especially as we have vbery high prices v Germany etc, and the product on the park is "variable".
22-04-2023, 08:49 AM
Definitely something in this.
Even at Lowland and East of Scotland level there is an ultras scene. Tranent have sizable numbers. Not condoning it but there was a bit of a battle between the Musselburgh and Haddington young teams after the game that was played at Olivebank recently in front of big numbers. Obviously the chasing each other about Musselburgh High Street isn't to be encouraged but it's young guys following their local teams and when they get past the daft stage a fair few might keep going just for the football.
My generation feels like it was a bit of a lost generation for Scottish football. So many guys I went to school with spent years in the pub watching the EPL rather than getting out and supporting Hibs, Hearts or whatever and I think our crowds around the turn of the century and beyond reflects that. A few have drifted back and it's largely at the instigation of their kids who seem to want that physical connection to football rather than watching on a screen.
The EPL is just so unrelatable now and the impact of the silly money has a trickle down effect that impacts us negatively as well. The more young guys and girls turning away from it and getting themselves to their local Scottish clubs the better. Long may it continue.
22-04-2023, 08:53 AM
I think supporting local teams is becoming more “fashionable” possibly than the glory hunting teams.
Not sure but when folk say they support X team in a different league with no actual link supporting your local club shows a bit of loyalty to the community possibly.
I think the Scottish league is pretty poor this season and continues to be boring playing for 3rd and to hope for a decent cup run.
The reality is if they had people in charge who actually knew how to run it better it would be even better.
Fans need to be congratulated for the support during tough Financial Times. Not quite sure how folk can afford the travel / food / drink and tickets to away games as it’s not cheap.
22-04-2023, 10:51 AM
A lot more women attend games now than before the introduction of all seated stadiums.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
When I emigrated in 1974 it was very unlikely that you would find yourself standing or sitting next to a woman at a game.
Now it is common.
22-04-2023, 10:56 AM
In decline on field since 2016 but have since got promoted, got to cup semi finals and finals, played in Europe on several occasions, got our highest points tally in the top flight for years under Lennon and then finished third for the first time in 16 years.
22-04-2023, 11:04 AM
In decline on field since 2016 but have since got promoted, got to cup semi finals and finals, played in Europe on several occasions, got our highest points tally in the top flight for years under Lennon and then finished third for the first time in 16 years.
Good point not been all bad since then. Pretty much guaranteed Hampden every season this one apart.
Torto7
22-04-2023, 11:07 AM
:agree: Also there's a larger female presence now than when I was going as a lad. It's good to see immigrants in the area embracing the club as well. The Hibs support is a healthy mixture from older to younger, both genders etc.
22-04-2023, 11:18 AM
Apparently killie haven't won an away game in nearly a year but have sold out their 1800 allocation at St Mirren today. Impressive
Glutens for punishmentTgey have no chance of a win today
22-04-2023, 11:20 AM
,Its nice to see a thread like this concentrating on a positive in Scottish football for once :aok:
It can be a bit baffling at times to get your head round how things are going when you consider we have a governing body who are so poor at promoting our game, when you have Scotland only accessible on PPV and even our biggest showpiece games bumped to ridiculous kick off times to suit TV, not least of all making ICT fans get to Hampden for a lunchtime kick off.
As folk have said, it seems there is a bit of a backlash against big money corporate football, to the extent that folk are supporting their local clubs simply for the sake of it, knowing it's chances of making a dent are as slim as they have ever been.
The 'Ultras' scene for all the harrmphing about it from some quarters has also made a wee difference, you've got young folk from most clubs now getting involved, with even the likes of Raith Rovers and Morton having their wee band of Ultras who find enjoyment in being part of that aspect of football fan culture. I think our younger fans are coming round to the idea that being there and creating an atmosphere beats watching moneyball on the telly any day, or for that matter being yet another tiny insignificant cog in the Ugly Sisters machine.
Community is a big thing as well ..... I stood outside the boozer last Saturday and watched the crowd heading to Easter Road, it was as eclectic a mix of humanity as you will see, from primary school aged boys and girls right through to pensioners both male and female .... on which point, if there's a club in the UK with a bigger proportional female support than this one I'd love to know who it is.
This is a club with a huge potential that even now has yet to be realised IMO and it would be amazing to see what could happen if we had a team on the park with a sustained period of success.
As a whole Scottish football still has a bit to go though ... the aim has to be to have the likes of Motherwell, Dundee Utd, Dundee, Killie etc and not forgetting a couple of sleeping giants in Dunfermline and Partick Thistle with average home crowds of 7,000 without counting away fans .... That would be a real breakthrough.
22-04-2023, 04:49 PM
I think it’s because practically every game in the much maligned leagues sizes means something.
The Pointer
22-04-2023, 09:16 PM
The 'Ultras' thing is interesting as it attracts young folk, probably because it's organised, noisy and has it's own unique identity within the club.
I was looking at both sets today from the South Stand and doubt any of them watched much of the game as they were all yelling at each other, but I may have been like that when I was a teenager. Trouble is, then confrontation was a real thing.
The Hibs mob in their black hoodies, flags and drum; the Saintees in their white t-shirts and black shorts, loudspeaker, flags and drum. It's all about identity, so probably a good thing for generating enthusiasm and attracting interest from the young. Auld yins may harrumph at it, but it's just a modern, more organised version of what we got up to in the 70s.
Trinity Hibee
23-04-2023, 05:39 AM
👀😂
23-04-2023, 07:32 AM
Hibs fans are a different bread.
23-04-2023, 07:45 AM
Football is much more inclusive nowadays and there appears at least, to be more good stories right now, than bad stories. IMO we seem to be more focused on growing what we have here, rather than trying to compare it against what they have down South.
Fratelli
23-04-2023, 07:47 AM
Very good…🤣
23-04-2023, 08:12 AM
I really enjoyed yesterday, despite the result.
Worth it to see a Lewis Stevenson goal alone.
23-04-2023, 08:15 AM
Lol and they won Thier first away game with Big Doidge scoring a rare goal for them The game was a sell out , and players were very nervy ,and didn’t play well .Didn’t handle the occasion as home form has been very good this season
In fact it’s been there bread and butter
23-04-2023, 08:28 AM
There are a lot of youngsters attending. More than I can ever remember. The block 7 guys/girls yesterday all looked like teenagers. Some really young. Or maybe as im getting older everyone looks really young! Also everyone seems to be wearing Stone Island gear!
23-04-2023, 08:59 AM
There are a lot of youngsters attending. More than I can ever remember. The block 7 guys/girls yesterday all looked like teenagers. Some really young. Or maybe as im getting older everyone looks really young! Also everyone seems to be wearing Stone Island gear!
Not the only gear going around yesterday.
HarpOnHibee
23-04-2023, 09:32 AM
A resurgence from lockdown and an increasing population size would be my bet. Numerous companies/places have folded over the past several years, giving people less options for things to do on the weekend as well.
GreenGray
23-04-2023, 09:41 AM
When I was younger it wasn’t uncommon for young people to have a Scottish team and English team. Most people who had that have now grown up and binned off their “English” team as following a Scottish team is much more accessible.
The numbers Scottish football generates are mental, especially when 99% of the teams know they go into each season with no chance of winning anything. Makes you wonder how our game would look if we had semi competent people marketing and running it.
23-04-2023, 10:02 AM
What's our average gate this season? Mind before 2016 when we were averaging around 8000.
23-04-2023, 10:15 AM
What's our average gate this season? Mind before 2016 when we were averaging around 8000.
https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/club_records_league_attendance.php
2017/18 (18,124) was the highest since 1957/58 (20,188).
Although no doubt averages were actually a lot higher than recorded back in the day due to incorrect reporting of attendances for beneficial tax purposes.
23-04-2023, 10:25 AM
https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/club_records_league_attendance.php
2017/18 (18,124) was the highest since 1957/58 (20,188).
Although no doubt averages were actually a lot higher than recorded back in the day due to incorrect reporting of attendances for beneficial tax purposes.
Cheers. Yes, 2016 gave us a massive boost.
23-04-2023, 10:26 AM
The shift in age demographic has noticeably changed and increased attendances quite noticeably, particularly away games. The “away day culture” is something that is being embraced and for younger folk it’s a great day out in another town or city with friends and like minded people, and in Scotland you’re never too far from home so it’s easy to travel around.
Plus, watching football in a football ground is a million times better than watching from home or in a pub. I think more people are realising that!
linlithgowhibbie
23-04-2023, 10:32 AM
Could the increase be down to the success of the Hibs Kids club mostly run/funded by Bill McEwan in the late 1980s/90s? If my memory is correct it was stated at the time that it was the 2nd largest Kids club in British football. Remember the Hibs Kids days/games and the South stand was full of kids.
These kids including two of mine are now late 30s early 40s and have 4 children between them ranging from 5-13 that now attend (some more than the others) with three of them having season tickets in the FF lower.
23-04-2023, 12:16 PM
Total sell out in the home end as well as the away one yesterday in Paisley
23-04-2023, 12:23 PM
Could the increase be down to the success of the Hibs Kids club mostly run/funded by Bill McEwan in the late 1980s/90s? If my memory is correct it was stated at the time that it was the 2nd largest Kids club in British football. Remember the Hibs Kids days/games and the South stand was full of kids.
These kids including two of mine are now late 30s early 40s and have 4 children between them ranging from 5-13 that now attend (some more than the others) with three of them having season tickets in the FF lower.
The Hibs Kids Christmas parties that used to be at Sunnyside in the 90s were a great day as a youngster. There were always players in attendance and it was a big event. Sure there was always an open day at ER as well that saw the players sign autographs, pose for pitctures with the Hibs Kids as well.
Willie McEwan and Sue McLernon deserve huge credit for the work they put in to Hibs Kids down the years and the young fans they nurtured in all things Hibs.
23-04-2023, 01:01 PM
:agree: Also there's a larger female presence now than when I was going as a lad. It's good to see immigrants in the area embracing the club as well. The Hibs support is a healthy mixture from older to younger, both genders etc.
"both genders.."...the woke police would have you strung up for such a potentially discriminatory statement 😂
23-04-2023, 02:55 PM
"both genders.."...the woke police would have you strung up for such a potentially discriminatory statement 😂
As an elderly gentleman I assumed the increasing number of young ladies would reduce the aggro so prevalent when i was a youngster. Gobsmacked
was I when standing in the queue for a pie in the Ormond Stand to witness a teenager cursing like a trooper & threatening to batter in the cxxtn' faces of the the
lassies serving, for some perceived insult. It may have been because they had commented on her having apparently painted her face with Crown's finest
mahogany but alas, I missed the initial exchange.
I apologised to the catering staff and emphasised that such behaviour wasn't representative of the normally decorous denizens of Leith, but they seemed
sadly unconvinced. Nearly put me off the delicious steak pie.
23-04-2023, 03:20 PM
I cba finding the stats, but I think Scottish football has the highest per capita attendance in Europe - even taking Rangers and Celtic out the equation.
Its impressive, especially as we have vbery high prices v Germany etc, and the product on the park is "variable".
I was speaking to a St Pauli fan whilst in Hamburg who told me that German prices aren’t what they used to be. Me and my mates paid €38 a head to sit in the corner of one of the stands at Bremen.
They do subsidise transport to games etc but tickets prices go up to €80.
Edit: Average ticket price in Bundesliga is reportedly €65
24-04-2023, 09:48 AM
I wasn’t there in Perth on Saturday but looking at the highlights it looks like an impressive Hibs turnout in both ends.
how many roughly would we have had there?
Cat Stanton
24-04-2023, 10:48 AM
There was something on the news about this recently - higher attendance per head of population in Scotland. Don't know about if you exclude Celtc and Sevco 'though - is that still true?
24-04-2023, 11:39 AM
Here's my take on it.
In the 70's and 80's, games were being played in stadia that could only really be described as ****holes. Violence at football games had also reached a peak level.
When you combine both of those factors, it's no surprise that attendances were reaching an all time low.
The rebuild of stadiums in Scotland, from the 90's onward, made attending football that bit more appealing. Also, the initiatives to make stadiums more welcoming to Families, e.g. the FF Lower and the 'Hibs Kids', has helped us build our support over the last couple of decades.
By far the biggest boom in attendances obviously happened in 2016, with the Scottish Cup win. Combined with the regular appearances in Finals and Semi-Finals, the likelihood of a sell-out at homes games persuaded a much higher number to buy a Season Ticket, to guarantee their seat..
The increased percentage of season tickets decreases the likelihood of an end of season 'dead-rubber' game getting attendances of 5k or less. Even when the actual attendance is quite low, it doesn't reflect in the 'attendance' figures announced by the club, as they count tickets sold, not the actual number of attendees.
And finally... as mentioned by a number of people already... the Covid lockdown era has definitely persuaded a lot of people to get out and try to enjoy themselves when they get the chance.
24-04-2023, 12:05 PM
Here's my take on it.
In the 70's and 80's, games were being played in stadia that could only really be described as ****holes. Violence at football games had also reached a peak level.
When you combine both of those factors, it's no surprise that attendances were reaching an all time low.
The rebuild of stadiums in Scotland, from the 90's onward, made attending football that bit more appealing. Also, the initiatives to make stadiums more welcoming to Families, e.g. the FF Lower and the 'Hibs Kids', has helped us build our support over the last couple of decades.
By far the biggest boom in attendances obviously happened in 2016, with the Scottish Cup win. Combined with the regular appearances in Finals and Semi-Finals, the likelihood of a sell-out at homes games persuaded a much higher number to buy a Season Ticket, to guarantee their seat..
The increased percentage of season tickets decreases the likelihood of an end of season 'dead-rubber' game getting attendances of 5k or less. Even when the actual attendance is quite low, it doesn't reflect in the 'attendance' figures announced by the club, as they count tickets sold, not the actual number of attendees.
And finally... as mentioned by a number of people already... the Covid lockdown era has definitely persuaded a lot of people to get out and try to enjoy themselves when they get the chance.
Enjoy themselves? This is Hibs we're talking about! :tee hee:
24-04-2023, 07:00 PM
Enjoy themselves? This is Hibs we're talking about! :tee hee:
Yeah, I should maybe re-word that
24-04-2023, 08:13 PM
Free bus travel is a wee bonus for the young team too.
Frogga
24-04-2023, 09:01 PM
Surely social media is a big part of this. Clubs have got their head around how to use it make people want to come to the games, whether it's showing clips of classic games, countdowns to big games or whatever, it makes the fans feel more connected to their club and in turn you go to more games. With social media's age demographic it tends to bring in the younger fans as well, which might explain that aspect of it.
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
24-04-2023, 09:29 PM
And the auld team.
24-04-2023, 09:38 PM
Cost of other things possibly playing a part.
Football isn’t cheap, but it’s far from the most expensive way to spend your money. £17 for me and the laddie to get in to St Johnstone on Saturday. Granted it’s not as cheap as that every week. However, season ticket for me and him works out at £28 a game (and you can get it cheaper than that). These days £28 doesn’t get you very much elsewhere in terms of things to keep bairns entertained on a Saturday afternoon.
DstN75
25-04-2023, 12:27 AM
I do think the match day ‘presentation’ or ‘experience’ or whatever you want to call it has improved quite a bit as well. It certainly seems to get my 11 yr old excited even if what then happens on the pitch can be pretty turgid.
Interestingly him and his mates all have two teams - one usually being Man City, Arsenal, Man Utd or spurs - but they don’t cross over or conflict for loyalty in any meaningful way. They see the EPL as something like a marvel film. Completely remote, just something you see on a screen. And then they follow local teams with the idea that you go and watch them in person. It’s almost two different sports.
25-04-2023, 06:04 AM
I do think the match day ‘presentation’ or ‘experience’ or whatever you want to call it has improved quite a bit as well. It certainly seems to get my 11 yr old excited even if what then happens on the pitch can be pretty turgid.
Interestingly him and his mates all have two teams - one usually being Man City, Arsenal, Man Utd or spurs - but they don’t cross over or conflict for loyalty in any meaningful way. They see the EPL as something like a marvel film. Completely remote, just something you see on a screen. And then they follow local teams with the idea that you go and watch them in person. It’s almost two different sports.
I think we need a sticky thread that defines turgid.
Funkydunc
25-04-2023, 07:30 AM
There was something on the news about this recently - higher attendance per head of population in Scotland. Don't know about if you exclude Celtc and Sevco 'though - is that still true?
Sure if you take out those 2 we are 3rd behind Iceland and Holland. In a way that’s a bit skewed as well because Holland have a big 2 as well that get 50k every week, and throw in PSV who must be around the 30k mark then they have pretty much the same scenario as we do really.
25-04-2023, 07:37 AM
And the auld team.
Aye, that's not a new thing though.
Garymcl
25-04-2023, 08:05 AM
Taking in everything into consideration regarding our season our support has been brilliant so proud of the Hibees family but it is very important to keep this going to the end of the season we have 5 huge games coming up as soon as these tickets go on sale for all of them let’s sell each game out for a place and a jolly for the fans into another European trip our team still needs us in numbers and vocal backing in each and everyone of these games let’s do it :thumbsup:
25-04-2023, 08:33 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230425/eaf4bb911835497a7a6155c53a1c4e08.jpg
25-04-2023, 09:06 AM
those are incredible figures. Killie stands out though obviously they came up from the championship.
St Mirren and Livi up 27% and 24% respectively! What’s going on?!
25-04-2023, 11:42 AM
A resurgence from lockdown and an increasing population size would be my bet. Numerous companies/places have folded over the past several years, giving people less options for things to do on the weekend as well.
loads of companioes have also introduced work from home policies and 4 day weeks, might also have something to do with more folk attending, if its atrend, might be an idea to stagnate ST prices, may get waverers interested?
Trinity Hibee
25-04-2023, 11:48 AM
loads of companioes have also introduced work from home policies and 4 day weeks, might also have something to do with more folk attending, if its atrend, might be an idea to stagnate ST prices, may get waverers interested?
Think that’s a really good point. Before it was 5 days of back and forward to work so weekends were used to do various things that might have taken folk away from going to games or for those outside of edinburgh travelling in again after doing 5 trips in for work was maybe a step too far.
Now people are WFH much more and a trip out to the football on a Saturday gets you out of the house and feels less of a chore? It probably feels a bit like that for me.
I used to drive to games but I always walk to ER now. Takes me 50 mins but feels a lot more relaxing and at least if the game has been crap I’ve got my exercise in.
25-04-2023, 11:59 AM
those are incredible figures. Killie stands out though obviously they came up from the championship.
St Mirren and Livi up 27% and 24% respectively! What’s going on?!
The sceptic in me says we’re all counting tickets sold not actual attendance at the game🤔
25-04-2023, 12:01 PM
The skeptic in me says we’re all counting tickets sold not actual attendance at the game[emoji848]
Isn’t that the way it should be?
25-04-2023, 12:02 PM
The skeptic in me says we’re all counting tickets sold not actual attendance at the game🤔
well, I don’t know, but it’s certain that Hibs have had some massive away supports this season which is helping boost the averages of the smaller clubs
25-04-2023, 12:04 PM
The table has stated attendance figures, just wondering if club’s previously quoted bums on seats as opposed to tickets sold thus the increase. I’m not bothered either way.
HarpOnHibee
25-04-2023, 12:08 PM
I agree, but stagnating prices doesn't appear to be a thing these days.
25-04-2023, 03:13 PM
The sceptic in me says we’re all counting tickets sold not actual attendance at the game🤔
Hibs definitely do report tickets sold these days, but it's been that way for a while so the % change vs last season should be accurate. I don't know about all the other clubs, but Hearts and Celtic were definitely reporting tickets sold years before us. My impression was that by the time we adopted it, it had become standard.
IMO both figures should be reported. Tickets sold is obviously needed for tax etc and is of some interest to fans because it represents the club's income from a certain game. The number of people who were actually present should be part of the historical record of the game just like the line-ups, scorers etc.
That said, I assume clubs wouldn't be keen on publicising the precise number of folk who didn't turn up despite having paid for a ticket.
26-04-2023, 10:32 AM
Sevco attendance falling like a stone. Diddy wee club IMO
26-04-2023, 11:31 AM
Arrrggh bloody SNP :offski:
26-04-2023, 11:49 AM
These numbers look good but they are slightly misleading as they are not comparing like for like periods.
5 of our 16 home games (31%) so far this season have been category A (Celtic, Rangers of Hearts) compared to just 4 of our 19 home games (21%) last season due to finishing bottom 6.
26-04-2023, 12:29 PM
Impressive numbers across the board. There will be a number of factors but I think the post lockdown era may be the biggest factor with youngsters in particular and fans in general showing greater appreciation for the joys of spontanaity, human interaction and intense atmosphere provided by live sport. A silver lining from a horrific two years that must never be allowed to be repeated.
27-04-2023, 10:45 AM
I used to drive to games but I always walk to ER now. Takes me 50 mins but feels a lot more relaxing and at least if the game has been crap I’ve got my exercise in.
Peak happy clapper. Keep the glass half full!
27-04-2023, 10:48 AM
Impressive numbers across the board. There will be a number of factors but I think the post lockdown era may be the biggest factor with youngsters in particular and fans in general showing greater appreciation for the joys of spontanaity, human interaction and intense atmosphere provided by live sport. A silver lining from a horrific two years that must never be allowed to be repeated.
If you are sitting on the cure to all possible future pandemics, please share.
27-04-2023, 12:34 PM
Some people enjoy the misery :agree:
Dr_Regal
27-04-2023, 02:07 PM
Time to fill in the corners?
06-08-2023, 09:16 PM
I’ll admit I’m trying to take my mind off todays result but there’s been some cracking crowds in Scotland this weekend.
In addition to our own impressive (and long suffering) support, aberdeen took over 4k to livvy in a total crowd of 5600 (for comparison, the same fixture last season got less than half that), there was over 7k at McDiarmid, a very respectable 6500 at Dens Park, oh and nearly a thousand more at rugby park than the corresponding fixture last year.
Whatever’s causing it, Scottish football attendances look set to continue on an upwards trajectory
07-08-2023, 09:00 AM
Couldn't the season on season increase be explained by a recovery in numbers after lockdown? Maybe a comparison to 2018/19 would be more informative? That said our crowds in the last few years have definitely been much higher than they used to be. I think having only 17,000 home seats may help in this regard. Once crowds get to a certain level, if you want to guarantee yourself a ticket in an area you want, you will almost certainly have to buy a season ticket. So when we are getting 8 or 9 thousand most people will have the confidence that they can pay as you go, if they are say 13 or 14 thousand you probably need a ST and so that pushes crowds up a bit further. Once you have a ST, you go to more games also.