View Full Version : Aberdeen Twitter

20-04-2023, 08:14 AM
What’s everyone’s thoughts on Aberdeen’s tweet this morning? 🤣

https://twitter.com/aberdeenfc/status/1648706770465067008?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Just for a bit of context……

https://twitter.com/mmrunner87/status/1648726573443366914?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

20-04-2023, 08:26 AM
Bit of fun. Give it a couple of hours and the seethe will be in full flight upon which the tweet will be replaced.

I've always thought that the Huns nickname was given in light of their barbaric jaunts to other cities and general behaviour.

The claim that it's somehow sectarian just doesn't carry any weight unless I've missed something obvious or otherwise.

20-04-2023, 08:34 AM
Bit of fun. Give it a couple of hours and the seethe will be in full flight upon which the tweet will be replaced.

I've always thought that the Huns nickname was given in light of their barbaric jaunts to other cities and general behaviour.

The claim that it's somehow sectarian just doesn't carry any weight unless I've missed something obvious or otherwise.
Have heard it suggested it was something to do with the Govan shipyards building ships for Germany, or using German materials or something like that.
But your take is much more apt. Bog all to do with sectarianism.

20-04-2023, 08:40 AM
Belter. Fair play to Aberdeen.

20-04-2023, 08:44 AM
Anything that remotely winds up the zombie Sevco Huns is good with me. Well done the sheep.

20-04-2023, 08:46 AM
It’s a really good effort from whoever runs the Twitter account. Big fan of it.

20-04-2023, 09:02 AM
I don't get it. :confused:

20-04-2023, 09:08 AM
I don't get it. :confused:Neither did I. The context link explains....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

20-04-2023, 09:09 AM
What’s the cartoon that features the Hun reference?

20-04-2023, 09:11 AM
For those that don't want to access the link and/or don't get the joke. Aberdeen tweeted "Let's Get Down to Business". Which is a line used in Mulan (I think) which is followed by "and defeat the Huns"

20-04-2023, 09:11 AM
Neither did I. The context link explains....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

It's a reference to a line in a Disney film?

I imagine it'll pass by a lot of people in that case.

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-04-2023, 09:13 AM
What’s the cartoon that features the Hun reference?

Mulan

Scotty Leither
20-04-2023, 09:13 AM

You’re just about spot-on, my own recollection was “Hun hordes” was a coin termed by an English journalist who witnessed their moronic behaviour first hand on one of their sojourns down south in the past, it may even have been in reference to a Fairs Cup tie against Newcastle in the late 60s.

I’ll check it out, but as others have said in the thread the epithet “Hun” has zero sectarian connotations about it, despite the revisionist pish Sevco fans and their media lap dogs spout otherwise.

20-04-2023, 10:08 AM
When I opened this I thought it was going to be about the collective whining from Aberdeen fans on the Shinnie outcome

That Graham Hunter has made a right fool of himself moaning about it and trying to slate Craig Fowler.

We’ve been shafted all season but apparently this is a great injustice that fans of all teams should rally behind. GTF

20-04-2023, 10:12 AM
Mulan

Stevie Mulan?

Mcbizz1998
20-04-2023, 10:18 AM
I thought I was stupid for not getting it. Then I realised it’s from a cartoon and I’m a grown man.

Anything that winds them up I suppose.

He's here!
20-04-2023, 10:19 AM
It's a reference to a line in a Disney film?

I imagine it'll pass by a lot of people in that case.

Yep, without a link to the cartoon how many will have any idea what that phrase refers to?

20-04-2023, 10:20 AM
Stevie Mulan?

Let's get down to business…

…to defeat NSÍ Runavík

DIXIHIBS
20-04-2023, 10:26 AM
Have heard it suggested it was something to do with the Govan shipyards building ships for Germany, or using German materials or something like that.
But your take is much more apt. Bog all to do with sectarianism.

In recent times they've defo attempted the huns=protestant thing but its total bull. Only huns are rangers huns. Dont know many protestant hibbies that have been called huns😁.

20-04-2023, 10:31 AM
I thought I was stupid for not getting it. Then I realised it’s from a cartoon and I’m a grown man.

Anything that winds them up I suppose.

Released in 1998. Are you telling me at age 6/7 you never got to watch Mulan?!

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-04-2023, 10:35 AM
Released in 1998. Are you telling me at age 6/7 you never got to watch Mulan?!

I’d be phoning childline to retrospectively get my parents sorted out if they never got me Mulan on dvd as a bairn.

20-04-2023, 11:03 AM
Yep, without a link to the cartoon how many will have any idea what that phrase refers to?

Lewis Stevenson got it.

20-04-2023, 11:09 AM
I think the phrase has came back about due to a viral video of a child singing along to it in theatre

https://twitter.com/ctpaul90/status/1648728221989449729?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

20-04-2023, 12:11 PM
When's the statement coming out?

hibby rae
20-04-2023, 12:31 PM
Mulan

"To my mind that's Eddie Murphy's third best film"

HFC93
20-04-2023, 12:35 PM
If you're patter requires someone to have seen the Disney film Mulan to get it then you need to review your patter.

Fuzzywuzzy
20-04-2023, 12:42 PM
"To my mind that's Eddie Murphy's third best film"

I have an high expectation that trading places and Beverly hills cop are in there

20-04-2023, 12:45 PM
Aberdeen are a weird club.

20-04-2023, 12:50 PM

Aberdeen clearly aren’t going to post a link to it.

They knew people out there would know what it meant and right enough a lot did by replying to the tweet with the clips of the film/phrase and it then making sense to everyone else.

The first 5 replies all explain it.

Torto7
20-04-2023, 12:51 PM
Nice to see a club showing no fear of them and their odious ****my support. I wish Hibs had shown a backbone after all of the sectarian abuse members of our staff have received from them for being catholic.

20-04-2023, 12:55 PM
When's the statement coming out?"See us, we're no huns n'that, anyone saying it are septuagenerian, secretion, secretariat, err whatever it's religious hatred so gonnae no dae that, only us huns fae the sevconian sect are allowed to spout like wot we said above

No surrender (except when we give up our club to liquidate it to avoid debts obviously)

Awra best"

Wee Wullie Bluenose.

Torto7
20-04-2023, 01:04 PM
"See us, we're no huns n'that, anyone saying it are septuagenerian, secretion, secretariat, err whatever it's religious hatred so gonnae no dae that, only us huns fae the sevconian sect are allowed to spout like wot we said above

No surrender (except when we give up our club to liquidate it to avoid debts obviously)

Awra best"

Wee Wullie Bluenose.

20-04-2023, 01:44 PM
I think the phrase has came back about due to a viral video of a child singing along to it in theatre

https://twitter.com/ctpaul90/status/1648728221989449729?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

20-04-2023, 01:50 PM
There’s no equivalence between a mildly perjorative nickname and the tidal wave of sectarian filth that spews from the Rangers. We all know where the problem lies.

The Huns are known in popular culture as a marauding horde. Just like you see whenever the peepl come to town.

Silly Huns.

20-04-2023, 06:27 PM
.....and my guess is that after being skelped at the weekend, Rangers twitter will have some equally (non) amusing response.

20-04-2023, 07:22 PM
The 'Marauding Huns' headline was actually from an article describing the Rangers Fans' visit to Wolves in 1961

Their next visit to the English Midlands was a 'friendly' against Villa in 1976, which had to be abandoned part way though because of the behaviour of said Huns.

https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aston-villa-rangers-violence-hooligans-7899872

21-04-2023, 09:47 AM
There is absolutely no doubt that the campaign (by some) to band the term “Hun” as a sectarian slur is simply to try and present the narrative that sectarianism in Scotland is a two-way street, and to take some of the heat away from the usage of the “Fenian” slur.

Most right thinking people won’t be fooled, and it’s usage should be encouraged, not demonised.

22-04-2023, 08:37 AM
[QUOTE=Keith_M;7333846]The 'Marauding Huns' headline was actually from an article describing the Rangers Fans' visit to Wolves in 1961

Their next visit to the English Midlands was a 'friendly' against Villa in 1976, which had to be abandoned part way though because of the behaviour of said Huns.
Despised everywhere they go and with good reason
Huns,Orcs. Sums their fans up that when they won their first top title a couple of seasons ago, they fought with each other.
Every club has a minority of ********s but there decent fans are in the minority.