View Full Version : 10 years today since 4-3 semi final V Falkirk
Trinity Hibee
13-04-2023, 09:31 AM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/22049755
Have just watched the highlights of this game (link above) and there are a few chances I didn’t remember until seeing them again. Some poor decisions against us too.
Probably the maddest Hibs game I will ever attend.
13-04-2023, 09:33 AM
Brilliant day. One of my favourite days at Hampden because all the drunk day trippers left at halftime.
Tim Clancy put in one of the worst performances of a Hibs player ever. Absolutely dreadful from minute 1 to 120.
Trinity Hibee
13-04-2023, 09:38 AM
Thought that was going to be the year that year until the news of Griffiths injury started to emerge the week of the final.
And we thought we’d found a gem in Alex Harris until his injury a few months later.
13-04-2023, 09:38 AM
Brilliant day. One of my favourite days at Hampden because all the drunk day trippers left at halftime.
Tim Clancy put in one of the worst performances of a Hibs player ever. Absolutely dreadful from minute 1 to 120.
Paul Cairney also. Did he not contribute to all 3 Falkirk goals
13-04-2023, 09:39 AM
The most bizarre day out watching Hibs and I don’t think any of us will every see another day like it. I was literally head in hands borderline greeting distraught at half time 😂
13-04-2023, 09:39 AM
Clancy played like a drunk. Cairney and Robertson weren't much better.
That Griffiths goal when he got it back from the corner was just incredible.
He's here!
13-04-2023, 09:46 AM
I can't even recall him playing for us!!
We'd stayed in Glasgow the night before with it being an early KO and it was probably only the fact we were so hungover that we didn't join the many who left at 0-3. I remember being just feeling too ill and dejected to leave my seat. By FT tho we were ready to hit the pub again!
JoeT_WasTheBest
13-04-2023, 09:52 AM
My youngest son’s first ever Hibs game, he was 4.5. What a rollercoaster that game was, and what a rollercoaster it’s been since [emoji2359][emoji23]
The penalty not given at the start of the 2nd half sums up our relationship with officials.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
13-04-2023, 09:54 AM
If we think refereering is bad now...jeezy peeps.
That non-offside at the end that could've made it 4-4 was shocking. Clear as day.
13-04-2023, 10:00 AM
I was on a course with my work in Essen, Germany that day. It was a course that saw my career hurtle in a very different and productive direction.
The hotel where the course was held had a very iffy Wi-Fi and mobile network connection so I was getting updates from different sources all in a jumbled order. It was really quite funny looking back, trying to pick through toys out the pram texts, messages of hope and then the ecstasy of victory, trying to work out what was actually happening.
It’s also mad, looking back, how big the Scottish Cup monkey was that I personally carried around on my back and how much it used to sting every year when it dawned that this won’t be the year. That same feeling simply doesn’t exist for me now (and I’m sure I’m not alone).
13-04-2023, 10:03 AM
At the time that was my favourite ever Hibs game. Don't think I'd ever celebrated as hard as I did at Doyle's equaliser.
Trinity Hibee
13-04-2023, 10:03 AM
It’s also mad, looking back, how big the Scottish Cup monkey was that I personally carried around on my back and how much it used to sting every year when it dawned that this won’t be the year. That same feeling simply doesn’t exist for me now (and I’m sure I’m not alone).
Very true. Used to be a sickener getting knocked out the cup. Also the 2015 semi when we lost 1-0 Falkirk despite dominating them. Felt like it was never going to happen. Then 12 months later….
13-04-2023, 10:25 AM
At the time that was my favourite ever Hibs game. Don't think I'd ever celebrated as hard as I did at Doyle's equaliser.
Bet you celebrated just that wee bit harder three years’ later!
Green Man
13-04-2023, 10:28 AM
I remember wondering why he was shooting from there, then going daft a second later!
13-04-2023, 10:29 AM
Come on then, own up…..who left at half time?🤔 My mates were dying to get back to the pub, they’d given up but I managed to persuade to hang around for the beginning of the 2nd half, wind them up about it to this day.
Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2023, 10:33 AM
Still not quite as mad a game as 5-5 with rangers imo!
13-04-2023, 10:35 AM
Bet you celebrated just that wee bit harder three years’ later!
Just a tad!
13-04-2023, 10:38 AM
Got a taxi fare to Inverness the night before the game so didn't get back home till 8.00 am. So went to bed was knackered set the alarm to waken up to watch the start of the game slept through the alarm woke up during half time break turned the TV on couldn't believe the score. When Leigh scored jumped up punched the air breaking the lamp shade in centre of the room. Thought Alex Harris was going to be the next big thing after his performance in that game
13-04-2023, 10:41 AM
Went for a pee at 3-2. Heard the roar from outside. Ended up in a borderline homoerotic clinch with the guy stood a few feet away from me with both of us hugging each other with our belts undone. Charged back out onto the walkway to be greeted by utter bedlam.
I'm convinced the celebrations for the equaliser were more mental than the winner, that seemed almost inevitable at that point.
The bus home was split between those who saw it out and those who left at HT. When the 3rd went in I was very, very tempted to leave. Glad I didn't.
Trinity Hibee
13-04-2023, 10:43 AM
Went for a pee at 3-2. Heard the roar from outside. Ended up in a borderline homoerotic clinch with the guy stood a few feet away from me with both of us hugging each other with our belts undone. Charged back out onto the walkway to be greeted by utter bedlam.
I'm convinced the celebrations for the equaliser were more mental than the winner, that seemed almost inevitable at that point.
The bus home was split between those who saw it out and those who left at HT. When the 3rd went in I was very, very tempted to leave. Glad I didn't.
You can hear on the highlights how loud the Doyle goal celebration was. I still remember it at the game thinking where did that noise come from. Not heard that other then David Gray’s header.
13-04-2023, 10:45 AM
Indeed. The reaction to Doyle's equaliser was actually more mental than the winning goal :agree: So glad that that day I stuck with my policy of never leaving a Hibs game early .... deh get me wrong, at 3 or 4 down with 5 minutes to go I'll happily bugger off to the car, but no matter when it is in the game I won't leave if we are less than 3 behind, coz you just never know ... it's also why I was still inside Tincastle the night Joe McBride hit that late free kick to earn us a draw :greengrin
13-04-2023, 10:54 AM
Haha, i remember the misses disappearing at half time, i thought she was away for a pee and get the pies in. Next thing i get the text 'I'm in Montfords' I said i'm not leaving just yet then the goals started to come. I had to text her during extra time to tell her where to meet us.
Montfords was full of Hibs casuals by the time she got there, luckily she knew a few of them as the place erupted.
Cat Stanton
13-04-2023, 10:57 AM
If we think refereering is bad now...jeezy peeps.
That non-offside at the end that could've made it 4-4 was shocking. Clear as day.
The highlights are an advert for VAR. And I hate VAR...
13-04-2023, 10:58 AM
Forget instanbul this is the comebacks of all comebacks.
Crazy weekend as the other semi was also 4-3 AET.
Cat Stanton
13-04-2023, 10:59 AM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/22049755
Have just watched the highlights of this game (link above) and there are a few chances I didn’t remember until seeing them again. Some poor decisions against us too.
Probably the maddest Hibs game I will ever attend.
10 years ago? Jesus. Where does the time go? (Watching lots of ***** football, that's where).
I remember well my emotions at the full-time whistle: sheer delight followed by an uneasy sense of depression at the sudden realisation that I'd have to come back to Hampden to watch that lot again...
Such a shame about Harris - thought he was going to be great.
13-04-2023, 11:07 AM
I'd completely forgotten about the chance they had right after Griffiths scored the winner. I remember the one before HT that probably would have killed it but the other one is a complete blank.
JoeT_WasTheBest
13-04-2023, 11:14 AM
I remember at 90 minutes thinking ‘thank God, go away, clear our heads, come back for the replay’ only to then realise it went to extra time and potentially more pain to come!
13-04-2023, 11:17 AM
I watched it in a bar in maderia with my wife and a portuguese barman who hadn’t a clue who hibs were ( as I asked him to put the game on and he looked at me with that look WHO) . When the goals were going in for Falkirk he kept looking over at me as if to say what kind o team is this hibs. He did enjoy the game tho with the comeback by us. Jeez 10 years already and we are still pish.
13-04-2023, 11:17 AM
What a rollercoaster that day was 😄
I don’t think I’ve ever been so angry with Hibs as I was at half time that day. I was ready to leave but my Grandad convinced me to stay saying we’d win 4-3. I don’t think he even believed that tbh 😂
13-04-2023, 11:41 AM
I feel old
LithgaeHibby
Was so glad I stayed until the end. I'd never seen Hibs come back from 3 goals down in any match before. Great scenes at 3-3 never mind 4-3!
10 years? Jeez.
13-04-2023, 02:46 PM
I said to my pals at half time that I could see us winning it, sometimes I put football in really simplistic terms that if they scored 3 in a half then there is no reason why we can't do the same, one of the only times it actually worked that way though, only wish id have put a bet on it
13-04-2023, 03:03 PM
I'd completely forgotten about the chance they had right after Griffiths scored the winner. I remember the one before HT that probably would have killed it but the other one is a complete blank.Taylor had so many chances that day to put us away. I remember turning to my mate after that save and saying that would have killed us off. I'd no expectation of a comeback but it was clearly important.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
13-04-2023, 03:04 PM
What a day, I was there for my birthday with a few mates and my wife, we were lucky to only be 3 behind.
One if Lee Griffiths finest performances, right up there with the cup tie against Kilmarnock for impact.
guy in front of us stuck a fiver on Hibs to win at half time[emoji16]
scm70nyd1973
13-04-2023, 03:14 PM
Just a tad!
A quick rustle of a crisp bag, one verse of rah rah Hibernian and swiftly sitting down or was it a triple salco with a back summersualt endangering plastic seats and frittering with a trip to hospital whilst shouting get it right up ye ya Hun bar stewards 🤭
scm70nyd1973
13-04-2023, 03:20 PM
I can't even recall him playing for us!!
We'd stayed in Glasgow the night before with it being an early KO and it was probably only the fact we were so hungover that we didn't join the many who left at 0-3. I remember being just feeling too ill and dejected to leave my seat. By FT tho we were ready to hit the pub again!
I felt like I had a hangover at HT - I wanted to leave but as always I didn’t- I never do, not even at the 2012 final - god only knows why I’m like this. Got a superb view of the line (behind LG) of the 4th and exploded when it went in - mental game - just mental 🤭
13-04-2023, 03:22 PM
I'd be banning anyone who left at half time. :greengrin
kentao
13-04-2023, 03:27 PM
Nearly left at Half Time, Game should have been over just before half time, Ben Williams with a great save from a 1 on 1 with Lyle Taylor. Worst 1st half performance I've seen at Hampden. Thought Alex Harris got a wee bit of luck with his goal (Keeper should`ve done better). Still unsure how Doyle managed to squeeze his effort in from 25 yards and Sparkys winner in ET is one of my favorite Hibs goals. The game was an absolute roller coaster can`t believe its 10 years ago.
Partyraiser
13-04-2023, 03:45 PM
I'd be banning anyone who left at half time. :greengrin
What about anyone who left before half time?! :sick:
13-04-2023, 03:50 PM
What a rollercoaster that day was 😄
I don’t think I’ve ever been so angry with Hibs as I was at half time that day. I was ready to leave but my Grandad convinced me to stay saying we’d win 4-3. I don’t think he even believed that tbh 😂
Me too, i remember shouting to Fenlon, dont go in the changing room, keep walking dont stop and **** off straight out the door. :greengrin
13-04-2023, 03:53 PM
He should have won us a penalty , Absolute stonewaller , It was more of a penalty than the one we got from Handling falling over
JamesHFC
13-04-2023, 04:02 PM
Can’t believe that was a decade ago. Ben Williams made a fantastic save from Lyle Taylor right at the death too. The winning goal from Leigh is one of my favourites.
13-04-2023, 04:21 PM
Can’t believe that was a decade ago. Ben Williams made a fantastic save from Lyle Taylor right at the death too. The winning goal from Leigh is one of my favourites.
I’d agree re the winner, what a strike
hibstag
13-04-2023, 04:39 PM
Haha, i remember the misses disappearing at half time, i thought she was away for a pee and get the pies in. Next thing i get the text 'I'm in Montfords' I said i'm not leaving just yet then the goals started to come. I had to text her during extra time to tell her where to meet us.
Montfords was full of Hibs casuals by the time she got there, luckily she knew a few of them as the place erupted.
We went back to montfords afterwards to get Ronnies bus you could tell the difference between shellshocked what have I just seen guys who had stayed to the end and the guys all steaming who had left early
13-04-2023, 04:47 PM
Before we won the cup. This was the best game of football I've been too.
Willis1875
13-04-2023, 04:56 PM
Spent the 2nd half in The Beechwood…more fool me
Mikey_1875
13-04-2023, 05:06 PM
Left after the third. We were spending the weekend in Glasgow so got a taxi and watched the second half from the hotel bar. Safe to say we were delighted and embarrassed in equal measure!
13-04-2023, 05:13 PM
The Falkirk Bairns cut through us like a knife through butter should have been more than 0-3 at Half Time I remember they missed a goalden chance to make it four just before the half time whistle
All my mates wanted to leave at Half Time but I said ‘ Naw let’s wait and see what happens’ 🤪
Pretty sure Leigh had a decent strike chalked off in the second period as well
Svengali
13-04-2023, 05:21 PM
Spent the 2nd half in The Beechwood…more fool me
Remember it well mate 😂😂. The security guy who told us all to be quiet then to be covered in pints when LG scored the winner!!
13-04-2023, 05:31 PM
I had blood vessels bursting out my neck at half time. I had blood vessels bursting out my neck when Doyle equalised. I barely had the energy to cheer when the winner went in.
I felt sorry for the Bairns. Imagine what a sickener that must have been.
13-04-2023, 05:43 PM
Bring back Craig Patterson.
Willis1875
13-04-2023, 05:53 PM
Remember it well mate 😂😂. The security guy who told us all to be quiet then to be covered in pints when LG scored the winner!!
Yes 🤣 standing at the bus stop later on drenched in lager
13-04-2023, 05:54 PM
Eoin Doyle was very under rated for us. Clever movement and decent finisher.
Still wonder what would have been if it wasn’t for Fraser Fosters wonder save from his point blank header at the start of the final.
13-04-2023, 05:55 PM
I felt sorry for the Bairns. Imagine what a sickener that must have been.
Thomson Allan and family were in the Falkirk end. I work with his son I caught up with him on the Monday and he said the first person he saw when I left was me. That apparently finished him off....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
13-04-2023, 06:00 PM
Eoin Doyle was very under rated for us. Clever movement and decent finisher.
Still wonder what would have been if it wasn’t for Fraser Fosters wonder save from his point blank header at the start of the final.
We'd have lost 3-1. We were well outclassed that day.
13-04-2023, 06:15 PM
Can't believe it's 10 years ago. Stayed to the end thankfully and probably my 2nd favourite hibs game I've attended. Unbelievable feeling as the goals went in and when we scored the winner the place went mental. My brother who is nominally a Hibby was out in Glasgow with pals, he was in a boozer near Central Station and he said that it got fuller and fuller with Hibbies around half time. He said that when the winner went in the place erupted with folk on the tables and chairs and bouncers having a pretty hard time keeping the frenzy to a minimum.
13-04-2023, 06:30 PM
At half time I was saying to everyone around us we were going to turn it round. My youngest son, 11 at the time, kept looking at me like I was mad. :greengrin
13-04-2023, 06:47 PM
What a striker Griffiths was. Was immense that day and for his spell with us. Wish he'd have screwed the nut and kept fit. He'd have been back at Hibs no doubt about it.
ErinGoBraghHFC
13-04-2023, 06:49 PM
I would’ve been 14 at the time, mind clear as day loads of folk leaving before half time, mental! Probably the most insane game of football I’ve ever seen, with LGs winner being probably one of the best goals I’ve ever saw
13-04-2023, 07:05 PM
What a striker Griffiths was. Was immense that day and for his spell with us. Wish he'd have screwed the nut and kept fit. He'd have been back at Hibs no doubt about it.
If he'd been professional, he'd have been good enough for, and stayed at, Celtic. He could've returned here many times. Signed new deals and kissed other badges. Which is of course his business.
He would've come back here when he was washed up, like he is now.
Mcbizz1998
13-04-2023, 07:26 PM
Come on then, own up…..who left at half time?[emoji848] My mates were dying to get back to the pub, they’d given up but I managed to persuade to hang around for the beginning of the 2nd half, wind them up about it to this day.
Couple of mine left at HT and watched it in the pub. They were a weird mixture of delighted and distraught when I saw them later that night.
Newry Hibs
13-04-2023, 07:47 PM
I said to my pals at half time that I could see us winning it, sometimes I put football in really simplistic terms that if they scored 3 in a half then there is no reason why we can't do the same, one of the only times it actually worked that way though, only wish id have put a bet on it
That's what my 10 year old son said to his fuming father.
Forgot about the penalty miss as well.
13-04-2023, 09:46 PM
Must have been a fantastic game for a neutral to watch . We didn`t deserve to be losing 0 v 3 but it was almost 0 v 4 . Could have finished 6 v 3 for us or 0 v 4 for them . Always thought Pat Fenlon deserved much more credit for that comeback and generally for that season ( top of league at Christmas ) . Harris was an outstanding prospect . Great goal in that game and looked good in other games too .
13-04-2023, 10:29 PM
Come on then, own up…..who left at half time?🤔 My mates were dying to get back to the pub, they’d given up but I managed to persuade to hang around for the beginning of the 2nd half, wind them up about it to this day.
I left at half time. Was just so scunnered from the year before. After that final and this was how they treated us.
We hired a taxi for the day and we’re back at the Harp and Castle for the final whistle.
Felt stupid to have not kept the faith, but just felt brow beaten from the final the year before.
Still theme the choices in life.
Still had a great night celebrating another final.
Cat Stanton
13-04-2023, 10:42 PM
Must have been a fantastic game for a neutral to watch . We didn`t deserve to be losing 0 v 3 but it was almost 0 v 4 . Could have finished 6 v 3 for us or 0 v 4 for them . Always thought Pat Fenlon deserved much more credit for that comeback and generally for that season ( top of league at Christmas ) . Harris was an outstanding prospect . Great goal in that game and looked good in other games too .
We weren't top of the league at Christmas. And I struggle to give Pat Fenlon credit for anything...
14-04-2023, 12:59 AM
Cant believe we are 3 pages into this and no one has mentioned Alex Harris yet! It was a sensational performance from him in that 2nd half. The way he ended the season it really looked like we had a top player emerging. Edit - just seen someone did mention him :greengrin
The noise and celebrations after Doyle's equaliser were unbelievable, up there with the best ive witnessed.
I walked out with 2 others due to the tear before, went to revolution where we meant a charming hen party, very smug for about 10 minutes when the phones started beeping.
Ended up in th Renfield bar I think and had a fabulous rest of of the game but god I’ve never been allowed to live it down
I laugh now
Outstanding day out.
I was there with a full car from Yorkshire!
Some wanted to leave at HT. We stayed and talked about the game for years.
Just watched the highlights again. 👌
14-04-2023, 06:46 AM
Sensational game. Bizarre all goals scored at end of the ground I was at. Some horrible decisions all going against us bar the soft pen on Handling. Same linesman let's them a shot from clear offside position and rules out a legitimate goal for us. Head was all over the place after the game so many emotions in one game. Winning goal fit to win any game. :flag:
Just_Jimmy
14-04-2023, 07:10 AM
I remember texting my mate who was am Aberdeen supporter at half time, and saying as bad as we were I didn't feel we were out it. That if we scored early in the second half I felt we'd win.
It was absolute bedlam.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
DIXIHIBS
14-04-2023, 07:35 AM
Crazy day. No idea why at the time but somehow felt we could get back in to the game. While plenty left there was still a lot stayed. Be interesting to see how many would stay nowadays...not many.
14-04-2023, 11:46 AM
Alex Harris’s greatest game for Hibs
14-04-2023, 11:52 AM
Alex Harris’s greatest game for Hibs
That or the 2-1 at Tynecastle a couple weeks later.
hibbydog
14-04-2023, 12:02 PM
Brilliant day.
From utter despair to total jubilation, when the winner went in I was jumping around hugging folk I don’t even know.
And I had a beer that night with my great pal who is no longer with us.
Everyone knew we didn’t have a chance in the final, but the moment when we went from 3-0 down to 4-3 up was fantastic
Heady times
14-04-2023, 12:11 PM
Crazy day. No idea why at the time but somehow felt we could get back in to the game. While plenty left there was still a lot stayed. Be interesting to see how many would stay nowadays...not many.
Agree- the mass clearances when we got 2 or 3 goals down in the past couple of years are much more obvious than in the past. This game was the 1st I can remember when it was actually amazing to see so many people leave very early. Now you expect it.
Everyone has the right to disappear when they like, but you do occasionally get games like this or the one on 2016 at Tynecastle that you really don't want to miss! A lot of folk even missed Boyle's equaliser at ER this season.
It did feel like we could get back into this one for some strange reason and I don't think I've ever felt to elated when Doyle's equaliser went in - relief and also knowing there was only going to be one winner thereafter!
14-04-2023, 04:55 PM
Interesting to look back at the squads. Falkirk had 3 or 4 players who have gone onto really solid careers…. Fulton at Swansea still, Lyle Taylor, obviously Kingsley and to a lesser extent Alston and McGrandles
Time not been kind to the likes of Cairney, Harris, Handling. Robertson was pretty much finished after he left Hibs.
itslegaltender
14-04-2023, 04:59 PM
Doyle goal for me was the crazy moment. i almost ended up on the pitch.
hailhail22
14-04-2023, 05:45 PM
I left at half time, not a drunk day tripper though….. the celebrations on the streets were amazing 😁 great day out