View Full Version : Hibernian's greatest long shot expert
Edina Street
12-04-2023, 12:29 PM
I have done previous threads on similar subjects, and it has been really amazing hearing from some of the older generation Hibees about players of old. So far we have:
Hibernian's hardest man - John McNamee
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361375-Hibernian-s-hardest-men
Hibernian's fastest player - George McNeill
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361811-The-Ivan-Sproule-Debate
Hibernian's best tackler - Inconclusive
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361841-Hibernian-s-best-ever-tackler&highlight=
Hibernian's best header of the ball - Alan Gordon
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361926-Hibernian-s-best-header-of-the-ball&highlight=
I find it rather incredible that so far a team collectively known as "the famous five" have not yet provided a player that was the best in his category, and rather sad that most people whom were lucky enough to watch the famous five are now likely dead. For this reason I will nominate Eddie Turnbull, purely based upon the fact that Lawrie Reilly once commented that Eddie Turnbull was similar to Franck Sauzee when it came to shooting ability. How many goals did Eddie Turnbull score in around 349 appearances for Hibs? If it is the 150 that Wikipedia quotes, then Eddie Turnbull must have been a phenomenal shooter considering the majority of his goals apparently came from outside of the box.
Unfortunately, I was not alive at the time to witness those goals by Eddie Turnbull, so I will instead leave a YouTube video regarding the midfielder whom scored 111 career goals, and whom I consider to be the best that I have seen play for Hibs personally.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJmjAtyePzw
Now, according to FM 2023, free-kick taking is a seperate category, so this thread pertains to long shots from outside of the box in open play, mostly.
12-04-2023, 12:37 PM
Riordan was deadly from outside the box. The video on YouTube with all his goals is brilliant, miles better than anyone else I've seen at Hibs.
Mallan was a very good too.
DIXIHIBS
12-04-2023, 12:42 PM
I have done previous threads on similar subjects, and it has been really amazing hearing from some of the older generation Hibees about players of old. So far we have:
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361841-Hibernian-s-best-ever-tackler&highlight=
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?361926-Hibernian-s-best-header-of-the-ball&highlight=
I find it rather incredible that so far a team collectively known as "the famous five" have not yet provided a player that was the best in his category, and rather sad that most people whom were lucky enough to watch the famous five are now likely dead. For this reason I will nominate Eddie Turnbull, purely based upon the fact that Lawrie Reilly once commented that Eddie Turnbull was similar to Franck Sauzee when it came to shooting ability. How many goals did Eddie Turnbull score in around 349 appearances for Hibs? If it is the 150 that Wikipedia quotes, then Eddie Turnbull must have been a phenomenal shooter considering the majority of his goals apparently came from outside of the box.
Unfortunately, I was not alive at the time to witness those goals by Eddie Turnbull, so I will instead leave a YouTube video regarding the midfielder whom scored 111 career goals, and whom I consider to be the best that I have seen play for Hibs personally.
Now, according to FM 2023, free-kick taking is a seperate category, so this thread pertains to long shots from outside of the box in open play, mostly.
Probably not that many hibbies still around actually saw the FF so thats the reason not voted for. By all accounts they were all pretty good at everything!!
Edina Street
12-04-2023, 12:49 PM
Probably not that many hibbies still around actually saw the FF so thats the reason not voted for. By all accounts they were all pretty good at everything!!
That is very true.
But still a good number alive from the Turnbull's Tornadoes days. Will be interesting to hear if any of those stand above Franck or Deeks.
12-04-2023, 01:20 PM
Bobby Duncan.
12-04-2023, 01:36 PM
Leigh Griffiths. Best striker we've had in my lifetime. Any brains and he would have played right at the top.
Trinity Hibee
12-04-2023, 01:37 PM
Leigh Griffiths. Best striker we've had in my lifetime. Any brains and he would have played right at the top.
Seconded
12-04-2023, 01:40 PM
https://ne-np.facebook.com/TheHibsAreHere/videos/on-this-day-in-1997-pat-mcginlay-scored-this-goal-from-the-halfway-line-for-hibs/344948704024770/
12-04-2023, 01:43 PM
That free kick that wasn't given was about 40 yards out! I still can't make up my mind which was more shocking - him shooting from there or it not being given! Unsaveable.
Edina Street
12-04-2023, 01:44 PM
https://ne-np.facebook.com/TheHibsAreHere/videos/on-this-day-in-1997-pat-mcginlay-scored-this-goal-from-the-halfway-line-for-hibs/344948704024770/
Didn't Chic Charnley do exactly the same during the previous match?
12-04-2023, 01:49 PM
Griffiths couldn’t half dig a long ball. I still rate Deeks as the better striker though (again, potential to do more)
12-04-2023, 01:51 PM
Is Ivan Sproule not our greatest long shot ever?
12-04-2023, 01:52 PM
Didn't Chic Charnley do exactly the same during the previous match?
Yeah, I think it was a couple of games later. I had a look but couldn't find a video for that goal.
12-04-2023, 01:58 PM
Seeing I’m still alive:greengrin Lawrie Reilly was a wonderful header of the ball and of course much smaller than Alan Gordon. Eddie Turnbull did have a ferocious shot with a ball invariably heavier than today’s.He also took the penalties,was a hard tackler and took up great positions coming late into the box.
Edina Street
12-04-2023, 02:20 PM
Yeah, I think it was a couple of games later. I had a look but couldn't find a video for that goal.
I think Chic Charnley's half way line goal may be viewable in this video "Going for Glory". It's a long video though, and can't remember which minute.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrKmqLRsmLQ
12-04-2023, 02:28 PM
Didn't Chic Charnley do exactly the same during the previous match?His own half, just, and up the slope. League Cup game either Alloa or Albion Rovers
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
12-04-2023, 02:28 PM
Is Ivan Sproule not our greatest long shot ever?:faf:
12-04-2023, 02:35 PM
Re long shots.... Free kicks either Deeks or Leigh G. Struggling to think of someone better. Been some corkers in open play. Leigh again in the Falkirk semi, Franks volley v them and Boyle's volley versus Livvy. No one in the Tornados sticks out.
Willis1875
12-04-2023, 02:38 PM
The squiggler John Rankin
12-04-2023, 03:14 PM
His own half, just, and up the slope. League Cup game either Alloa or Albion Rovers
:agree: It was Alloa, the home game prior to McGinlay v Killie. Chico's was a tiny bit further out iirc.
12-04-2023, 03:30 PM
Stevie Mallin
Remember Chris Commons scoring a belter at Falkirk
Deeks past Plooky and another raker down the slope almost scored a second
Bobby Duncan versus Naples gets further oot every time he tells it
Sparky
Eddie The Cannonball Kid Turnbull
Best goal I've ever seen in person was Michael Stewart's volley against Aberdeen.
12-04-2023, 04:03 PM
Mallan. I’d have him back in place of Newell.
:fishin:
12-04-2023, 04:39 PM
Mallan. I’d have him back in place of Newell.
:fishin:
2/10. Poor attempt.
JamesHFC
12-04-2023, 04:47 PM
Deegan v Aberdeen. Couldn’t believe it when he did that.
Wotherspoon v Inverness was a nice goal too.
12-04-2023, 04:54 PM
Given the more “coached” structure of build up play and the predictability that often goes with it (pass, pass, pass, out wide, floaty cross which is then headed out by defender, repeat) the long range effort is becoming less frequent.
While you may not always score from a speculative effort from distance, there’s always a chance of a deflection, or keeper taking no chances and touching round post or bar for a corner. I wish we tried more of them just to mix up our usual plan of attack.
12-04-2023, 06:25 PM
How about Bobby Duncan for his 75 yard screamer against Napoli in our 5-0 win
Edina Street
12-04-2023, 06:35 PM
You're pulling my leg.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/classic-match-hibs-5-0-napoli-november-29-1967-2474150
Bobby Duncan scored his first goal for the club after just five minutes. He took a short pass from Jim Scott, and held off a couple of tackles before cracking a 25-yard left-footer high into the net.
12-04-2023, 07:16 PM
Does this count?
https://youtu.be/fJ4o4_c-ODE
12-04-2023, 07:18 PM
His own half, just, and up the slope. League Cup game either Alloa or Albion Rovers
Defo Alloa and I had gone to the loo and missed , still never seen it
Roxyhibee
12-04-2023, 07:25 PM
Riordan. Incredible shot on him - didn’t he score twice in a game from free kicks outside the box, one with his right, one with his left.? Think it was the season there was no cameras..
delbert
12-04-2023, 07:47 PM
Regarding the best tackler, I’d nominate Erich Schaedler, when he tackled you, you stayed tackled and I’m guessing a few of the wingers who bounced off the side walls or nearest terracing might second that nomination !
DickieDastardly
12-04-2023, 08:21 PM
Astonished Pa Kujabi has not been quoted, the self appointed Roberto Carlos.
Must win the longest run up for a shot if nothing else….
12-04-2023, 08:40 PM
Naw it was nearer 85 yards😁
13-04-2023, 11:59 AM
Mark Oxley scored from a fair distance.
Edina Street
13-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Riordan was deadly from outside the box. The video on YouTube with all his goals is brilliant, miles better than anyone else I've seen at Hibs.
Mallan was a very good too.
This video here? Nine minutes of magic.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkIwGqI3nlA
Edina Street
13-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Mark Oxley scored from a fair distance.
So did Andy Goram.
13-04-2023, 12:18 PM
Barry Prenderville.
Not a great scorer of goals but a scorer of a great goal.
Allegedly. I missed as I was away for a pie.
13-04-2023, 12:57 PM
Griffiths, Sauzee and Mallan.
Mallan's number of goals from distance were unreal:
https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1355986587314745347?t=jRin6MOfZ1kRXtJc8XVzJQ&s=19
13-04-2023, 03:08 PM
So did Andy Goram.I witnessed both. Andy's was down the slope and about 5 minutes after Beastie had concussed their goalie [emoji1787].
13-04-2023, 04:04 PM
Deek’s against St Mirren at Paisley, absolute screamer from way outside the box, sure it was when Yogi was manager.
Sauzee's free kick v Falkirk and Griffiths's 2 free kick v the Merricks are fairly recent ones that stand out but I remember a goal from Bobby Smith, shooting up the slope towards the Dunbar End and from around the halfway line,it was some strike.
13-04-2023, 06:23 PM
Sauzee's free kick v Falkirk and Griffiths's 2 free kick v the Merricks are fairly recent ones that stand out but I remember a goal from Bobby Smith, shooting up the slope towards the Dunbar End and from around the halfway line,it was some strike.
Me too. It was against the Huns and The Girvan Lighthouse never even seen it. Great strike.
That's right, it was a draw. My memory is that the goal came almost straight from the HT kick off but maybe I'm wrong?
13-04-2023, 06:37 PM
That's right, it was a draw. My memory is that the goal came almost straight from the HT kick off but maybe I'm wrong?
Must have been this game. https://fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=77951
Donegal Hibby
13-04-2023, 09:07 PM
It was between Griffith's and mallan . Mallan gets my vote .Remember this one and think it got goal of the season.
https://youtu.be/WldzAFWkf7E
13-04-2023, 09:27 PM
Any older fans remember a goal scored against Celtic in mid / late 70s by a defender we had called Derek Spalding ? Probably his only goal for us . Downhill and helped by a galeforce wind but must have been from about halfway line . Can still remember view from the Cave . He was a decent player , went to USA I think .
CL0762
13-04-2023, 09:42 PM
Griffiths for me.
That 12/13 season some of the goals he scored were outrageous.
13-04-2023, 11:25 PM
Sauzee, Riordan, Griffiths.
Pat McGinlay was good at thumping a good number of goals in from just outside the box too.
Edina Street
14-04-2023, 05:45 AM
Any older fans remember a goal scored against Celtic in mid / late 70s by a defender we had called Derek Spalding ? Probably his only goal for us . Downhill and helped by a galeforce wind but must have been from about halfway line . Can still remember view from the Cave . He was a decent player , went to USA I think .
"The Cave".
Which part of the stadium did this refer to?
14-04-2023, 06:30 AM
"The Cave".
Albion Road end ,now known,of course, as Famous Five Stand
Concrete structure that our then owner Tom Hart had built.
He owned a building company, so i guess it was "spare" concrete from other contracts !!
I was a Cave regular in my teens .
Lots of activity went on in there . Singing and fighting.!
Other fans invading and sometimes the polis getting bother trying to lift someone !
No civilian stewards back then.So PC Onyerway had to earn his overtime.
Not like today.
No supporter segregation then. To use the modern term ..
" A good match day experience" !:greengrin
Happy Days!
:singing:
1 2 3 4 5 !
If you want to stay alive
Keep out The Cave ! :singing:
First photo on this link
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/edinburghs-easter-road-16-pictures-from-the-1950s-and-1960s-show-how-much-the-hibs-ground-has-changed-3415059
The club eventually had the Cave seated with benches.
(Polis involved likely, after one big pagger too many for them) and entry prices were increased.
So many Cave-ites dispersed to other parts of the ground.
Some footage of an empty Cave ! And it use to get packed at "big games"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqvQTxKp5Ag
Must have been this game. https://fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=77951
That's the game but the shot was further out than the quoted 25 yards.
14-04-2023, 11:33 AM
"The Cave".
Ah the good old days
Ref in good position full backs on both posts
https://i.ibb.co/fkcnQPG/824-C3-EB8-4314-49-B4-8-DA1-57-D04-A29774-E.png (https://ibb.co/PcS9tfz)
14-04-2023, 11:48 AM
Jimmy O’Rourke 35 yard postage stamp Drybrough Cup Final 5-3 wasn’t too shabby
14-04-2023, 12:25 PM
That's the game but the shot was further out than the quoted 25 yards.
https://youtu.be/3huJkvyQgtY
14-04-2023, 12:40 PM
Ah the good old days
Ref in good position full backs on both posts
https://i.ibb.co/fkcnQPG/824-C3-EB8-4314-49-B4-8-DA1-57-D04-A29774-E.png (https://ibb.co/PcS9tfz)
Nice one,Billy.Spot the ball !
A game on a dreich damp day at the Holy Ground against a club ,who like Third Lanark,no longer exist .
Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2023, 12:52 PM
Riordan. Incredible shot on him - didn’t he score twice in a game from free kicks outside the box, one with his right, one with his left.? Think it was the season there was no cameras..
I’ve seen it mentioned a few times on here about riordan taking set pieces with his left sometimes but I don’t remember that at all. Did it actually ever happen?
14-04-2023, 01:32 PM
I’ve seen it mentioned a few times on here about riordan taking set pieces with his left sometimes but I don’t remember that at all. Did it actually ever happen?
Could score left foot right foot and head no problem but free kicks were predominantly his preferred trusty right foot
14-04-2023, 01:46 PM
Hibs had a rugged left half called John Baxter in the early sixties. I can recall two left foot hammer shots against Third Lanark and I think Aberdeen.
CL0762
14-04-2023, 02:04 PM
Being the Riordan enthusiast as a child, I seem to remember him taking corners with both feet when he first properly broke through under Williamson.
Don’t remember him scoring free kicks with his left though.
14-04-2023, 02:05 PM
Hibs had a rugged left half called John Baxter in the early sixties. I can recall two left foot hammer shots against Third Lanark and I think Aberdeen.
What a cracking memory you have !
John answered to two nicknames.
"Chinny" and "Stanley":greengrin
He did have a left foot rocket of a shot.
Only picture i could find of John, apart from a team photo, is this one from The Herald ,marking John's passing.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/opinion/13194648.john-baxter/
Wonderful strip,too
Goodness, we had some good, but hard players back when John was at the Holy Ground.
Of course, many players of John's age then did their National Service in the forces.
So that would toughen them up !
The British Army could put out a team of full internationals back then.
Tough cookies back then when life was rough:agree::greengrin
The Cup hoodoo continued for John in the "one that got away"
John had a hand,or should i say foot in this game.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMzuq-Rde10