View Full Version : Hibs should be penalised for 2016 cup final goal
Donegal Hibby
12-04-2023, 10:36 AM
According to Kenny miller the disallowed Morelos goal was a harsh decision though if that's not a goal neither should stokes have been in the cup final for a similar nudge .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/kenny-miller-offers-rangers-history-29689718
12-04-2023, 10:37 AM
Good to see they've still not got over that day yet. Imagine referencing a goal from 7 years ago. Pathetic.
12-04-2023, 10:39 AM
I'm not going to click the link but if Kenny Miller is still spewing over that then ha ****ing ha.
12-04-2023, 10:40 AM
He's a massive Hibs fan though and desperate to come back to us, etc etc.
12-04-2023, 10:40 AM
I remember being amazed at the time that goal stood. Not because I thought it was a foul but because of who the opposition were.
I've lost absolutely zero nights of sleep over it since. It's nice to be reminded that they are still raging about that day though.
12-04-2023, 10:43 AM
I remember being amazed at the time that goal stood. Not because I thought it was a foul but because of who the opposition were.
I've lost absolutely zero nights of sleep over it since. It's nice to be reminded that they are still raging about that day though.
The same in the second half when Lewis put his hands on the back of Martyn Waghorn who theatrically threw himself to the ground. Never a penalty but given the opposition surprised the ref didn’t fall over himself to give it.
12-04-2023, 10:44 AM
According to Kenny miller the disallowed Morelos goal was a harsh decision though if that's not a goal neither should stokes have been in the cup final for a similar nudge .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/kenny-miller-offers-rangers-history-29689718
every time i watch that goal, i wonder what would have been if they got the decision they normally would have..... perfectly good goal! :agree:
McSwanky
12-04-2023, 10:45 AM
Poor lad, he really didn't take that too well.
On the plus side, that gave me yet another excuse to watch the highlights from that wonderful day. Never fails to bring a tear to my eye. Thanks, Kenny! :thumbsup:
12-04-2023, 10:46 AM
Tremendous to hear he is still hurting. Same as the jambo interviewed on Sky Sports yesterday that was still going on about Neilson not being forgiven for us winning the cup. Beautiful.
Donegal Hibby
12-04-2023, 10:51 AM
every time i watch that goal, i wonder what would have been if they got the decision they normally would have..... perfectly good goal! :agree:
Yeah I was actually waiting at the time for it to be disallowed even though as you say it was a perfectly good goal . Tavernier didn't have do some moaning about it to the official who I think was John Beaton btw .
12-04-2023, 10:51 AM
Good to see they've still not got over that day yet. Imagine referencing a goal from 7 years ago. Pathetic.
Exactly!
What a slavering wee peanut anyway… difference is Stokes is up challenging for the ball when the ‘nudge’ takes place. Morelos is a cheeky shove on the ground using his hands.
Neither were fouls though.
12-04-2023, 11:05 AM
They're not the original Rangers either and the new abomination Sevco never got properly penalised for those illegal EBT's and bumping all those creditors, so it's Karma really[emoji6]
12-04-2023, 11:06 AM
Poor lad, he really didn't take that too well.
On the plus side, that gave me yet another excuse to watch the highlights from that wonderful day. Never fails to bring a tear to my eye. Thanks, Kenny! :thumbsup:
Same here. Just finished watching the highlights again and still can't control the tears.
Good to know Miller is still feeling the pain 7 years on.
Steven McLean must really regret not giving them every decision that day - he's given us nothing every Hibs game he's been in charge of since then.
Rick Rude
12-04-2023, 11:23 AM
Says it all that he had to go back 7 years to find a decision he felt that went against them.
And it all adds to the reason why no ref will be brave enough to give another decision against them for another 7 years.
Gloucester Hibs
12-04-2023, 11:30 AM
Even Andy Walker - who has no love for us - says something like “that’s absolutely allowed” in the Sky commentary.
Imagine that final was subject to VAR with Brother Beaton and Nick Walsh at the controls?! 🙈
12-04-2023, 11:41 AM
Even Andy Walker - who has no love for us - says something like “that’s absolutely allowed” in the Sky commentary.
Imagine that final was subject to VAR with Brother Beaton and Nick Walsh at the controls?! 🙈
Yeah I always remember the “you’re absolutely allowed to do that” line.
Unfortunately his other contribution I recall that day was about it being back to the “dark ages” because of our exuberance.
12-04-2023, 12:08 PM
get it right up him.
12-04-2023, 12:12 PM
Unfortunately his other contribution I recall that day was about it being back to the “dark ages” because of our exuberance.
Solidarity, brother.
12-04-2023, 12:16 PM
Solidarity, brother.
Had my best sandals on that day too.
hibstag
12-04-2023, 12:30 PM
Stokes 2nd aside I still can’t believe that the last foul went to us a last chance for the rangers to shell in a ball to the box denied
12-04-2023, 12:34 PM
He's right. Petty, but right. I didn't celebrate Stokes goal at first because I thought it would be disallowed. If Morelos goal is a foul, stokes certainly was.
I'm with you 100%. I still expect it to be ruled out and a penalty given to The Rangers instead!
Donegal Hibby
12-04-2023, 12:38 PM
Best two lines of them all was the commentators " It's Liam Henderson to D-E - L - I - V - E - R " . They've only gone and done it , they have only gone and WON THE SCOTTISH CUP ..... magical words :greengrin. :flag:
12-04-2023, 12:40 PM
And his shove on McGregor wasn't?
Edina Street
12-04-2023, 01:07 PM
More disturbing than Kenny Miller's opinion imao is the fact that the referee and his family at the Auld Firm match received threats.
the whistler and his family receiving vile threats that have been reported to Police Scotland.
12-04-2023, 01:10 PM
Still fresh in my mind is Rangers' title winning game at ER in 2010 where Hibs were denied a penalty following a push on Riordan in the box, followed almost immediately by a disallowed goal for us after Nish committed an identical push on one of their players in scoring.
Miller played in that game and I assume had no complaints with either decision.
hibsfan7
12-04-2023, 01:30 PM
Well if that is the case then i should have been a penalty to hibs as halliday had his arms round david gray just before the header
12-04-2023, 01:34 PM
He's a massive Hibs fan though and desperate to come back to us, etc etc.
Wait… do you think he could still do a job for us?
12-04-2023, 01:36 PM
I believe VAR has now awarded the Cup Win to (The) Rangers.
Ach well, it was nice while it lasted.
12-04-2023, 01:39 PM
Probably seriously considering this
Just_Jimmy
12-04-2023, 01:48 PM
Ach well, it was nice while it lasted.Nah... it's only been 7 years, far too soon for VAR to make a decision. Its still pending.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
12-04-2023, 02:41 PM
Cmon Keith , don't be giving them any ideas now 🤫😂😂
12-04-2023, 02:52 PM
I'll take that if VAR awards the 2012 to us. The original error is that Black should have been red carded, a back dated smack in the pus for Craig Thompson wouldn't e bad either.....
12-04-2023, 04:10 PM
Miller gets far too much media roles. He’s a failed manager and coach, but turns up every week on some programme or another
darwenhibby
12-04-2023, 04:16 PM
I'll take that if VAR awards the 2012 to us. The original error is that Black should have been red carded, a back dated smack in the pus for Craig Thompson wouldn't e bad either.....
Don’t forget the foul by Pakujabi that was outside the box at 2-1
12-04-2023, 04:22 PM
To be fair to the plastic faced Hun ****, I think the point he's making is that both goals should have been allowed.
12-04-2023, 04:27 PM
One of my favourite bits of 2016 was Doddie the Diddy trying to start a campaign to get us banned from Europe. Comedy gold. :greengrin
12-04-2023, 04:43 PM
Cmon Keith , don't be giving them any ideas now 🤫😂😂
aberhibsfc
12-04-2023, 05:39 PM
Miller, what a bitter wee bitch. Such gratitude to the club who launched your career.
If we're talking fairness, The Rangers Football Club shouldn't even exist.
12-04-2023, 06:09 PM
Interesting that he has to go back to 2016 for a dodgy refereeing decision to disallow a goal whereas we've had several this season.
Rangers get enough decisions as we all know but imo there was nothing wrong with Morelos goal.
12-04-2023, 07:06 PM
Love that they are still hurting.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
dchibs
12-04-2023, 07:35 PM
How many penalties have sevco had and given against during those seven years KENNY?
12-04-2023, 09:57 PM
Don’t forget the foul by Pakujabi that was outside the box at 2-1I hadn't, hence the slap in the pus [emoji3]
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
12-04-2023, 10:13 PM
Absolutely delighted that this still haunts him. 2016 will last forever in their minds too :aok:
12-04-2023, 11:06 PM
It's World Class whatabouttery.
13-04-2023, 02:11 AM
Nah... it's only been 7 years, far too soon for VAR to make a decision. Its still pending.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Have patience. The decision about the clear penalty in the first game in the 1979 final series hasn't come through yet. Once it does David Gray's position in history will be under threat.
Is there any video of it? The game was live at the time.
13-04-2023, 07:07 AM
Dry your ****ing eyes!
Nail on head. Brilliant that glorious win for us still irks him. GTF Kenny :greengrin
snedzuk
13-04-2023, 07:09 AM
John Blackley should never have been sent off at Ibrox for fouling Tommy McLean that time - the orange flag / orange arse one. If Miller wants to go back so can I.
13-04-2023, 07:15 AM
I always get the impression Miller thinks he's more clever than he is and lets his mouth run away with him at times.
13-04-2023, 07:21 AM
I always get the impression Miller thinks he's more clever than he is and lets his mouth run away with him at times.
Unfortunately having played for both the OF allows him the perfect platform at the BBC to say whatever he wants.
Is there any video of it? The game was live at the time.27 secs
https://youtu.be/5GNIcayXleU
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
13-04-2023, 08:38 AM
Is there any video of it? The game was live at the time.https://youtu.be/5GNIcayXleU
Penalty incident near end of video.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
13-04-2023, 08:51 AM
John Blackley should never have been sent off at Ibrox for fouling Tommy McLean that time - the orange flag / orange arse one. If Miller wants to go back so can I.
Not forgetting John McDonald's blatant dive at ER in 1980? to get an undeserved equalising penalty after a Gordon Rae screamer from about 40 yards. Where where you then Kenny Miller?