View Full Version : Jason Cummings

Donegal Hibby
11-04-2023, 08:42 AM
Wonder if he will move and were too ? Would you like to see us move for him ?.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/jason-cummings-weighs-up-central-26669785

11-04-2023, 08:44 AM
Wish him all the best, but I don't think I'd have him back here. If Nisbet moves on, and our replacement is Cummings, that'd be a massive downgrade.

Paulie Walnuts
11-04-2023, 08:50 AM
Would take him back in a heartbeat. If nothing else it would liven the club up a bit from our current dull state.

Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 08:55 AM
Since Cummings left we’ve not had that fox in the box type player so I think there is a place for him at Hibs. Saying that I can’t see him coming back to Scotland as similar to Porteous he gets too much grief from fans and the media. He seems to be thriving away from all of that.

raeburnhibs
11-04-2023, 09:00 AM
we will need goalscorers and different types of goalscorers; he scored goals, including several against the Jambos, he looks like he has got his mojo back. Plus he would liven things up around the place. Nisbet, Hope and Myko will all likely leave. Guarantee he isn't Johnsons type though

11-04-2023, 09:02 AM
From a professional viewpoint he'd be a fool to come back to Scotland. Seems to have really knuckled down in Australia, is scoring goals and playing international football. Going by his social media the lifestyle really seems to suit him too, he's having fun without attracting the trouble that occasionally followed him here.

Of course no one knows how he feels personally though. Could be that it's been a nice adventure but he wants to be a bit closer to home now.

11-04-2023, 09:03 AM
He needs to stay in Australia and carry on what he is doing. He seems to have settled to life out there, I can’t help thinking if he moved back to the U.K. he wouldn’t be successful.

11-04-2023, 09:04 AM
Shame we couldn't have him in the team for Saturday. Boyle probably the only player we have who they panic about and he's out. Cummings always scored against them even for Dundee.

Donegal Hibby
11-04-2023, 09:04 AM
Since Cummings left we’ve not had that fox in the box type player so I think there is a place for him at Hibs. Saying that I can’t see him coming back to Scotland as similar to Porteous he gets too much grief from fans and the media. He seems to be thriving away from all of that.
Agree we haven't had a fox in the box type player for along time. He's coming 28 which is a good age for a player and a forward line of Youan , Cummings and Boyle I think he'd score goals in .

11-04-2023, 09:08 AM
Would welcome him back to Easter Road no problem.

Scores goals and would give the place a lift. God knows we need it.

11-04-2023, 09:35 AM
Take him back in a heartbeat, good goalscorer and fits the club. Basics like going into the derby 1-0 up too.

11-04-2023, 09:40 AM
Do it now

11-04-2023, 09:52 AM
Absolutely not. Not good enough for us in the SPL

11-04-2023, 09:56 AM
For his sake, I hope he stays where he is. Clearly flourishing and would be a fool to leave behind what’s probably been a great restart.

11-04-2023, 10:05 AM
Think he’ll sign for Melbourne

11-04-2023, 10:22 AM
Think he’ll sign for Melbourne

Victory or City? If he goes to City he might end up back here if the City Group rumours are true.

Donegal Hibby
11-04-2023, 10:36 AM
Would welcome him back to Easter Road no problem.

Scores goals and would give the place a lift. God knows we need it.

Definitely would give the place a lift 😂😂😂.
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1589942075067596804

RossScott1991
11-04-2023, 11:02 AM
Would take him back in a heartbeat. If nothing else it would liven the club up a bit from our current dull state.

For this reason alone I’d take him back. We are going to lose some strikers. Team badly needs abit of character to it, dull manager and a dull playing squad

He's here!
11-04-2023, 11:04 AM
For his sake, I hope he stays where he is. Clearly flourishing and would be a fool to leave behind what’s probably been a great restart.

I'd agree.

CL0762
11-04-2023, 11:04 AM

Luckily we don’t play in the SPL.

11-04-2023, 11:30 AM
Luckily we don’t play in the SPL.

Act the dafty if you want. You know fine well what I mean though.

11-04-2023, 11:35 AM

Didn’t he only play in the top league for us during that awful butcher spell, or am I remembering incorrectly?

11-04-2023, 11:43 AM
Didn’t he only play in the top league for us during that awful butcher spell, or am I remembering incorrectly?

Even in the championship he missed too many chances.

He is largely untested at top level. It’s not a risk I’d be willing to take. If this club wants to challenge for third place and Europe on a regular basis then we have to be aiming for much better strikers than Cummings.

JamesHFC
11-04-2023, 12:00 PM
I personally think he should stay in Australia. Enjoying himself, great place to live, playing for the country too.

11-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Even in the championship he missed too many chances.

He is largely untested at top level. It’s not a risk I’d be willing to take. If this club wants to challenge for third place and Europe on a regular basis then we have to be aiming for much better strikers than Cummings.

👍

Mcbizz1998
11-04-2023, 12:37 PM
Would be delighted to have him back. Great character, Scottish Cup winner and a good age.

Can’t get my head around anyone saying he wouldn’t cut it in this dog **** league. Loved a derby goal which we desperately need (Nisbet goes missing every time he plays them) and is miles ahead of McKirdy and Melkersen for a start, probably the rest as well.

We said Shankland wasn’t good enough for this league too, he might be a pen merchant but we would have been a lot better signing him than the dross we recruited whilst we all looked down our nose at him. Cummings would be the same.

11-04-2023, 01:07 PM
Would love to see him back at Hibs but even he is no that daft, he has a great lifestyle where he is, and a great country to enjoy it all in, why in hell would he want to get back here.

11-04-2023, 01:17 PM
I’m sure he’d love to come back and be called a pedo.

11-04-2023, 01:21 PM
Would love to see him back at Hibs but even he is no that daft, he has a great lifestyle where he is, and a great country to enjoy it all in, why in hell would he want to get back here.

I think you are right.

He seems well settled there and I wish him well.

11-04-2023, 04:09 PM
Would be delighted to have him back. Great character, Scottish Cup winner and a good age.

Can’t get my head around anyone saying he wouldn’t cut it in this dog **** league. Loved a derby goal which we desperately need (Nisbet goes missing every time he plays them) and is miles ahead of McKirdy and Melkersen for a start, probably the rest as well.

We said Shankland wasn’t good enough for this league too, he might be a pen merchant but we would have been a lot better signing him than the dross we recruited whilst we all looked down our nose at him. Cummings would be the same.

I think most of us knew fine well Shankland was a very good signing for Hearts and would have preferred it to be us that signed him.

Some pretended he was rubbish (and not even as good as Christian Doidge), and now kid themselves he just scores penalties.

I think you’re right that Cummings would make an impact on this team right now. Whether he’s the answer as we hopefully move forward is another matter.

I agree with you though that there’s no real reason to suggest he wouldn’t cut it in our league.

Donegal Hibby
11-04-2023, 04:33 PM
I think most of us knew fine well Shankland was a very good signing for Hearts and would have preferred it to be us that signed him.

Some pretended he was rubbish (and not even as good as Christian Doidge), and now kid themselves he just scores penalties.

I think you’re right that Cummings would make an impact on this team right now. Whether he’s the answer as we hopefully move forward is another matter.

I agree with you though that there’s no real reason to suggest he wouldn’t cut it in our league.
Some even pretend that Shankland might even have been interested in signing for us with his background. What has he 20 goals , how many were penalties btw ?

11-04-2023, 04:47 PM
Some even pretend that Shankland might even have been interested in signing for us with his background. What has he 20 goals , how many were penalties btw ?

I have no idea if he would have been interested at the time, I didn’t comment on that. What in his “background” would have stopped him, compared to any other players we’ve signed and their backgrounds?

I don’t know the stats (someone will likely be along shortly to offer them) but to pretend he’s not a good striker or is only good for scoring penalties, just because he plays for them, is playground stuff imo.

11-04-2023, 04:51 PM

What do you mean 'his background' ?

cameronw-hfc
11-04-2023, 04:55 PM
What do you mean 'his background' ?

Seen his background mentioned before and never heard much more

DarrenSQH
11-04-2023, 04:58 PM

He grew up a jambo.

11-04-2023, 05:00 PM
C’mon the Cum Dog!

https://youtu.be/cCClPYtbzLk

11-04-2023, 05:29 PM
He grew up a jambo.

So did Jason Cummings.

11-04-2023, 05:32 PM
He grew up a jambo.

Not that it matters but I believe that’s false… think he simply played in their youth academy as a youngster, hence being photographed in their strip.

I’d previously heard he was a hun but don’t know if that’s true either.

11-04-2023, 05:34 PM
Not that it matters but I believe that’s false… think he simply played in their youth academy as a youngster, hence being photographed in their strip.

I’d previously heard he was a hun but don’t know if that’s true either.

My Killie supporting ex-colleague said he had FTP tattooed on his leg. Might just be Ayrshire folklore, who knows.

11-04-2023, 05:47 PM

He had done absolutely nothing at this level before this season, and literally half his goals are penalties. Kevin Nisbet has 2 less goals from open play in 2300 less minutes. 25 full games less. Myko also has a better non-penalty goals ratio. Had both been fit all season, Shankland wouldn't be mentioned on here whatsoever.

11 goals in 40 games without penalties. Thats nothing special.

In Doidges first 2 seasons at Hibs, he got 32 non penalty goals in 86 games. Again, significantly better than Shankland.

11-04-2023, 05:50 PM
He had done absolutely nothing at this level before this season, and literally half his goals are penalties. Kevin Nisbet has 2 less goals from open play in 2300 less minutes.

Kevin's goal/minutes ratio is exceptional this season.

11-04-2023, 05:50 PM
Kevin's goal/minutes ratio is exceptional this season.

👍

11-04-2023, 05:59 PM
He had done absolutely nothing at this level before this season, and literally half his goals are penalties. Kevin Nisbet has 2 less goals from open play in 2300 less minutes. 25 full games less. Myko also has a better non-penalty goals ratio. Had both been fit all season, Shankland wouldn't be mentioned on here whatsoever.

In Doidges first 2 seasons at Hibs, he got 32 non penalty goals in 86 games. Again, significantly better than Shankland.

He’d still be mentioned if people tried to claim he’s not a good player because he plays for hearts. I really like both Nisbet and Myko- not looking to change them.

But it’s laughable you’re still trying to put Christian Doidge ahead of him. It’s not like you to persist with something after making a tit of yourself.

I wonder if Hearts will be trying to swap Doidge for their best player in the summer.

11-04-2023, 06:04 PM
He’d still be mentioned if people tried to claim he’s not a good player because he plays for hearts. I really like both Nisbet and Myko- not looking to change them.

But it’s laughable you’re still trying to put Christian Doidge ahead of him. It’s not like you to persist with something after making a tit of yourself.

I wonder if Hearts will be trying to swap Doidge for their best player in the summer.

I mentioned Doidges first 2 years at Hibs. He clearly isn't that player now. He was better than Shankland by a long way then.

I don't pretend he isn't good because he plays for Hearts. I thought he was average at Dundee United too.

11-04-2023, 06:44 PM
Wonder if he will move and were too ? Would you like to see us move for him ?.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/jason-cummings-weighs-up-central-26669785

Another wee article at the side of this with M. Stewart getting stuck into Der Hun for their 'entitlement' in looking for an explanation from Hampden about having Morelos' goal chalked off..

Donegal Hibby
11-04-2023, 08:02 PM
I have no idea if he would have been interested at the time, I didn’t comment on that. What in his “background” would have stopped him, compared to any other players we’ve signed and their backgrounds?

I don’t know the stats (someone will likely be along shortly to offer them) but to pretend he’s not a good striker or is only good for scoring penalties, just because he plays for them, is playground stuff imo.
I'm not saying he's only good for scoring penalties though I think 11 of his 20 goals has came from the penalty spot and for me Nisbet is a better all round striker . His background , I heard he was a out in out Hun though some say he's hertz ( not much difference tbh ) . Anyhow I just think he is one of the them players who wouldn't be particularly happy signing for a team that plays in green shirts . I'll be honest with you in that I don't really rate him as anything special either.

Paulie Walnuts
11-04-2023, 08:09 PM

He’s heading for about 25 goals this season. That’s very impressive regardless of how they come about. He’ll likely score more this season than any Hibs player in my lifetime other than Griffiths.

04-09-2023, 08:14 PM
I see he's won a cup in India already.

https://twitter.com/keepupau/status/1698539241045983502?s=20

04-09-2023, 08:53 PM
I see he's won a cup in India already.

https://twitter.com/keepupau/status/1698539241045983502?s=20
Thst strip is rank 😂

xyz23jc
04-09-2023, 09:00 PM
Thst strip is rank 😂

Jist like the EEN....Too much Maroon! :greengrin

04-09-2023, 09:08 PM
Didn’t realise it was the ol’ green and maroons he’d signed for when he went to India. Had a deep dive of their Wiki and socials a while back because I found the colour combo so offensive. Interesting move for him.

04-09-2023, 09:13 PM
Didn’t realise it was the ol’ green and maroons he’d signed for when he went to India. Had a deep dive of their Wiki and socials a while back because I found the colour combo so offensive. Interesting move for him.

Perfect homage to his unfortunate Jambo beginnings before he saw the light and became a Hibs hero.

zitelli62
04-09-2023, 09:16 PM
If monty gets the job he may be back soon.

04-09-2023, 09:46 PM
Jason Cummings - how can you not but love this guy. From opening tins of beans to panenka's and trying to shake Messi by the hand. The guy is an absolute star

Am away to watch that panenka again for the 50th billion time

05-09-2023, 07:59 AM

As much as i dont see him lasting the duration in India, I dont think we would be able to offer him a comparable package overall - perhaps another Boyle situation.

05-09-2023, 08:18 AM
As much as i dont see him lasting the duration in India, I dont think we would be able to offer him a comparable package overall - perhaps another Boyle situation.

He’s not made the Australia squad so that might influence whether he stays there long term.

05-09-2023, 08:21 AM

He was born in Glasgow and the chat is he is hard line orange hun fan.

05-09-2023, 08:26 AM

I doubt we could afford him now.

05-09-2023, 08:34 AM

I see Mohun had a player called Jobby Justin!

He's moved to Bhawanipore now, but I'd sign him purely because any insults aimed at him would just seem redundant! :greengrin

05-09-2023, 08:53 AM
He’s not made the Australia squad so that might influence whether he stays there long term.

Arnie explained at his press conference that Jason is still in his plans, but as with many others who could have expected a call up but didn’t get one….he didn’t pick him because the league hasn’t started yet and he …and others…may have played a couple of games but not at the level required.

05-09-2023, 09:37 AM
There's only 2 or 3 former players that I'd love to see back in a Hibs shirt, and Jason Cummings is most definitely one of them.

He epitomised everything that was right about that Hibs team: swagger, quality, outrageous goals, seeing the light having grown up a Jambo and many haircuts.

Always welcome at ER Jason. :aok:

Saint Hibee
05-09-2023, 09:40 AM
He was born in Glasgow and the chat is he is hard line orange hun fan.

He certainly looks like one.

s2hart
05-09-2023, 09:42 AM
I see Mohun had a player called Jobby Justin!

He's moved to Bhawanipore now, but I'd sign him purely because any insults aimed at him would just seem redundant! :greengrin

I think Jobbi is a Philippines name, my daughters nursery teacher is called Jobbi, I need to wait until she leaves before telling her the other meaning of that name!

Anyway, good to see Jason doing well in his career.

05-09-2023, 08:35 PM
There's only 2 or 3 former players that I'd love to see back in a Hibs shirt, and Jason Cummings is most definitely one of them.

He epitomised everything that was right about that Hibs team: swagger, quality, outrageous goals, seeing the light having grown up a Jambo and many haircuts.

Always welcome at ER Jason. :aok:

One of my favourite interviews was with JC and Farid after we had beaten Hearts. When JC started talking, it was obvious Farid was really struggling to understand him 😂