Argylehibby
09-04-2023, 04:29 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65227436

09-04-2023, 04:29 PM
Didn’t see that coming.

JJP
09-04-2023, 04:35 PM
Hearts seem determined to follow our example of sacking Jack Ross the season after we finished third. For all the praise Hearts have enjoyed in the media lately their records are very similar. Finished third, got to cup finals and then not met the expectations the following season. The difference is probably that Hearts have spent a lot more money than we did.

09-04-2023, 04:36 PM
No surprise really, difficult to survive a run like his current one, at any club with a modicum of ambition.

Cat Stanton
09-04-2023, 04:47 PM
Can we have him?

I mean obviously he's a fanny, not very good at his job, and hated by the support. But these things are all relative, and his fanniness and incompetence are arguably less than Lee Johnson's. And we always hate all our managers anyway, so that will be no different and he'll feel right at home.

09-04-2023, 04:48 PM
Strange timing just before a derby.

thebausburst
09-04-2023, 04:49 PM
Big question is why is LJ still in a job, looks like no matter how poor we get he will keep his job.

09-04-2023, 04:51 PM
Big question is why is LJ still in a job, looks like no matter how poor we get he will keep his job.

Must be change of ownership coming, as rumours suggest. Only thing that really makes sense.

Players don't look like they are fighting for him.

Donegal Hibby
09-04-2023, 04:56 PM
We were poor under our last 2 managers before LJ in fairness which would suggest we haven't got good enough players and we need a massive clear out in the summer.

09-04-2023, 04:59 PM
Aw Naw

09-04-2023, 05:02 PM
Bad news for us, maybe. They weren’t fancying their chances in the derby so much with RN still there. Their confidence will take a bit of a boost unfortunately.

09-04-2023, 05:03 PM

Not really they want a reaction and 3rd place. As it’s stands the European bounty is slipping out their hands and heading North

09-04-2023, 05:04 PM
Aw Naw
Yip guaranteed to win derby now 🙄

09-04-2023, 05:05 PM
Bad news for us, maybe. They weren’t fancying their chances in the derby so much with RN still there. Their confidence will take a bit of a boost unfortunately.

Don’t see how you get a confidence boost by playing so badly you get the manager sacked.

09-04-2023, 05:07 PM
He’s done well and they’ll regret it.

They tend to do this, short stint of success and get ahead of themselves.

They’ll be relegated again soon.

09-04-2023, 05:07 PM
Don’t see how you get a confidence boost by playing so badly you get the manager sacked.

I’m not talking about the players.

He's here!
09-04-2023, 05:08 PM
Can we have him?

I mean obviously he's a fanny, not very good at his job, and hated by the support. But these things are all relative, and his fanniness and incompetence are arguably less than Lee Johnson's. And we always hate all our managers anyway, so that will be no different and he'll feel right at home.

I imagine you're half joking but his record is actually OK despite the football being deemed pretty turgid by their fans. I'm very surprised they've sacked him.

Truth is we could (and, based on our recent appointments, probably will) do worse than appoint him.

HendoDelivered
09-04-2023, 05:08 PM
Take action and do the same thing Hibs

Silky
09-04-2023, 05:12 PM

Sounds familiar!! Since Stubbs won the Scottish Cup only 7 years ago, were on our 5th boss.

09-04-2023, 05:12 PM

This!... nothing quite like a few results to go your way before the delusions of world conquest kick in

hibstag
09-04-2023, 05:16 PM

I agree with this, their fans get delusions of grandeur at the slightest bit of form, around Christmas the current crop of now wage thieves were international class, best in their position in scotland, hertz men through and through etc etc

It’s bloody great listening to them

09-04-2023, 05:17 PM

No doubt they'll call on Robbie again in a season or so when they need someone with experience of getting out of the championship.

09-04-2023, 05:17 PM
I imagine you're half joking but his record is actually OK despite the football being deemed pretty turgid by their fans. I'm very surprised they've sacked him.

Truth is we could (and, based on our recent appointments, probably will) do worse than appoint him.

It definitely wasn't turgid.

09-04-2023, 05:29 PM
Delusions of grandeur.Totally lost the plot.

09-04-2023, 05:37 PM
Surprised at this but probably the right move for them.

Cat Stanton
09-04-2023, 05:41 PM

I did indeed say it in a jocular fashion - but only to avoid being slaughtered on here. I'm not a fan of the way he comes across, but I think he has a decent record. And as covered elsewhere on this site, our manager is a clown...

09-04-2023, 05:46 PM
Not really they want a reaction and 3rd place. As it’s stands the European bounty is slipping out their hands and heading North
Snd given it looked like third was there’s they may well have spent more in expectation third was a forgone conclusion agsin with the money attatchrd to the group stages of Europe
If they fail to get third it will be interesting to see how recruitment goes next season for them

09-04-2023, 06:22 PM

They could have a maroon traffic cone as manager and they'd still win.

09-04-2023, 06:32 PM
Seems mad, especially after they signed the young Aussie Messi in January

JOHNSON OUT, NEILSON IN!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-04-2023, 06:35 PM
As the heir apparent to Alex Ferguson (or at least he was to Hearts fans a number of weeks ago), there’s maybe a strong hint now that he’s on his way to take over at Manchester United.

09-04-2023, 06:53 PM
Does that mean he's not bringing the league title back to Tynecastle 2025?

LunasBoots
09-04-2023, 06:56 PM
Give them a boost in the Derby, no that they'll need it, always seem more up for it in these games.

09-04-2023, 06:59 PM
sad to see him go, always made me smile, him trying to sound like he had a brain and his dress style was almost in the Jack Ross league.
Robbie the jobbie, replay, we will miss you ya phanney.

09-04-2023, 07:13 PM
Whats Craig Levein up to?

Hibs4185
09-04-2023, 07:15 PM
Wonder if they’ll wait to see if Klopp gets emptied at Liverpool

Just realised Conte is still available as well, he’ll be right at home on the Piazza

LewysGot2
09-04-2023, 07:17 PM
sad to see him go, always made me smile, him trying to sound like he had a brain and his dress style was almost in the Jack Ross league.
Robbie the jobbie, replay, we will miss you ya phanney.

He looked like a yeti that slept in his car. Not in Jack Ross league :wink:

09-04-2023, 07:19 PM
He looked like a yeti that slept in his car. Not in Jack Ross league :wink:

I said almost.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin

LewysGot2
09-04-2023, 07:21 PM
I said almost.

Almost was doing a lot of heavy lifting :greengrin

09-04-2023, 07:34 PM

Not really. It just shows the gap in how each team view these games. We are happy to go into this derby, as we did the other two earlier this year, with a poor manager and low expectations. If we lose, there is a collective shrug from the club.

But for them it's not just another game - it's a must win and they will do what they must to rescue their season and give their fans something to celebrate.

09-04-2023, 07:40 PM
Strange one imo

Trinity Hibee
09-04-2023, 07:41 PM
Strange one imo

Wonder if sportsound will go on about this for months like they have with Jack Ross’ sacking

09-04-2023, 07:44 PM

Gary Locke will be wheeled out this week to get the troops fired up for the only game that counts.

09-04-2023, 07:44 PM
Strange one imo

When you’re owned by fans, you have to listen to them. Big downside of fan ownership
I never want Hibs to be fan owned, but I’d loved us to have a bigger influence in our club
Since we were sold by STF, we’ve lost our 2 Fans appointed directors on the board, and no interaction between HSL and Hibs
Surely it’s in both interests to work together

09-04-2023, 07:47 PM
The deluded ones across the road need to be careful what they wish for. They’ve made some pretty horrendous managerial appointments in recent years. Robbie Replay actually had a pretty decent record (Brora apart). My son used to work at Tynie when RR was a player and he said Neilson was a decent guy. Unlike Levein who was aloof and arrogant.

Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 08:03 PM
Not really. It just shows the gap in how each team view these games. We are happy to go into this derby, as we did the other two earlier this year, with a poor manager and low expectations. If we lose, there is a collective shrug from the club.

But for them it's not just another game - it's a must win and they will do what they must to rescue their season and give their fans something to celebrate.

There’s the problem…the past and current custodians and club officials, and sadly a good number of players don’t get the significance of this game like they do.

09-04-2023, 08:05 PM
Yikes, that’s brave

09-04-2023, 08:21 PM
How can he be sacked? Is he still the manager of the 3rd best team in Scotland by FAR?!

09-04-2023, 08:27 PM
I don't think it's that surprising.

Hearts have a budget that is geared for 3rd and the financial rewards that come with that. Hibs and Aberdeen are losing money at some rate trying to keep up, the latter has admitted as much. As it stands Hearts look like failing in their objective.

We can argue it's delusions of grandeur but they have money to spend that others don't yet are caught in the same mire of mediocrity as the rest of us. When your ambitions are one thing and your results suggest another then someone will pay the price.

09-04-2023, 08:57 PM
I don't think it's that surprising.

Hearts have a budget that is geared for 3rd and the financial rewards that come with that. Hibs and Aberdeen are losing money at some rate trying to keep up, the latter has admitted as much. As it stands Hearts look like failing in their objective.

We can argue it's delusions of grandeur but they have money to spend that others don't yet are caught in the same mire of mediocrity as the rest of us. When your ambitions are one thing and your results suggest another then someone will pay the price.

Yes the new euro 2 tournament means 3 million to 3rd spl and hearts have done a Leeds and budgeted for it asa given and it's panic stations. Wages can't afford without

HarpOnHibee
09-04-2023, 09:10 PM
I never want Hibs to be fan owned, but I’d loved us to have a bigger influence in our club

Without fan ownership we never will. The suits in the boardroom who know nothing about football will continue to oversee everything from managerial appointments to the dross we get lumbered with on the pitch.

Oh, but we're winning on the balance sheets at least, or something.

Silky
09-04-2023, 09:13 PM
Without fan ownership we never will. The suits in the boardroom who know nothing about football will continue to oversee everything from managerial appointments to the dross we get lumbered with on the pitch.

Oh, but we're winning on the balance sheets at least, or something.

There are also many fans who, in the grand scheme of things, know nothing about football. I certainly don't think it's the utopia many think it is.

09-04-2023, 09:18 PM
There are also many fans who, in the grand scheme of things, know nothing about football. I certainly don't think it's the utopia many think it is.

Plus where does the investment come from? We need dosh to move forward not just a say in the board room.

HarpOnHibee
09-04-2023, 09:19 PM

Perhaps. But it's the fans that would ultimately over see who the experts at the club are and it's the fans that would be holding them to account, rather than them being unaccountable. The club needs fresh ideas from top to bottom and we're never going to get that under the current set up.

LewysGot2
09-04-2023, 09:22 PM
Back on topic of Robbie Replay being sacked...were they maybe doing it before the derby in case he won? Winning next week would have extended his stay...or made his departure more difficult. Like us keeping Duff Jimmy past his sell by date because of a particular similar scenario 👀

Willis1875
09-04-2023, 09:23 PM
Back on topic of Robbie Replay being sacked...were they maybe doing it before the derby in case he won? Winning next week would have extended his stay...or made his departure more difficult. Like us keeping Duff Jimmy past his sell by date because of a particular similar scenario 👀

No chance!!Winning derbys is the be all and end all for them,I wish Hibs adopted a similar philosophy

09-04-2023, 09:24 PM
Plus where does the investment come from? We need dosh to move forward not just a say in the board room.

Nutshell. If you own it, it's up to you to fund it. We couldn't get HSL properly funded let alone the whole club.

09-04-2023, 09:24 PM

Who ever knows anything. A rich owner means nothing . Financial success and a good business are different things. Fan ownership at least means one person doesn't decide and protects from someone coming in from outside with no connection to team

Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 09:25 PM

The faceless Board at Easter Road have always thought they know best.

Unapproachable and remote has always been my impression of them. Bland and uninspiring, mirrored by the team on the park.

Silky
09-04-2023, 10:05 PM
Perhaps. But it's the fans that would ultimately over see who the experts at the club are and it's the fans that would be holding them to account, rather than them being unaccountable. The club needs fresh ideas from top to bottom and we're never going to get that under the current set up.

Who would hold the fans to account if it all went wrong?

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 10:07 PM

Probably .net

09-04-2023, 10:09 PM

Rod.

HarpOnHibee
09-04-2023, 10:16 PM

How could it go wrong? The fans make the club. We'd be accountable to ourselves. The product on the park would be a direct result of the democratic decisions made by those witnessing that product. Our success would only be limited by how much we value success at the club.

HFC93
09-04-2023, 10:16 PM
Seems very harsh.

09-04-2023, 10:30 PM
Seems very harsh.

Agreed. IMHO, Neilson can count himself unlucky here. Yes, they are on a bad run, but that happens to all teams at some point, other than the Old Firm. Delusions of grandeur from that mob; what are their realistic expectations?

09-04-2023, 10:31 PM
How could it go wrong? The fans make the club. We'd be accountable to ourselves. The product on the park would be a direct result of the democratic decisions made by those witnessing that product. Our success would only be limited by how much we value success at the club.
Just take a snapshot from here as an example. Cannot agree on the colour of *****.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 10:31 PM
Agreed. IMHO, Neilson can count himself unlucky here. Yes, they are on a bad run, but that happens to all teams at some point, other than the Old Firm. Delusions of grandeur from that mob; what are their realistic expectations?

That’s what I’ve said to my hertz pals but they’re adamant he had to go? Bizarre. Captain Caveman surely had credit in the bank from last season and the start of this season

09-04-2023, 10:35 PM
That’s what I’ve said to my hertz pals but they’re adamant he had to go? Bizarre. Captain Caveman surely had credit in the bank from last season and the start of this season

You would think so, and they are still fourth just now. If they were down near the bottom, fair enough, but I think it's harsh. Still, if it proves a wrong decision, all the better :aok:

HarpOnHibee
09-04-2023, 10:35 PM
Just take a snapshot from here as an example. Cannot agree on the colour of *****.

Disagreements are not something to shrug away from. I'd be terrified if we all agreed on everything. Problem with relying on several suits to run the club is that there is nobody to disagree with them who can exert any meaningful influence over how the club is ran. Disagreement is a good thing.

Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 10:42 PM
Disagreements are not something to shrug away from. I'd be terrified if we all agreed on everything. Problem with relying on several suits to run the club is that there is nobody to disagree with them who can exert any meaningful influence over how the club is ran. Disagreement is a good thing.

You’re not even allowed to question them at an AGM. Having fan representation on the Board would bring them out in hives.

HarpOnHibee
09-04-2023, 10:47 PM
You’re not even allowed to question them at an AGM. Having fan representation on the Board would bring them out in hives.

They won't bring anybody on board who would challenge their collective ideology on how the club is operated. This will continue to be the case until we stop being so fearful of taking responsibility over our own club.

Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 11:12 PM
They won't bring anybody on board who would challenge their collective ideology on how the club is operated. This will continue to be the case until we stop being so fearful of taking responsibility over our own club.

That’s why we need new owners. HSL never gained the traction required for a number of reasons despite the continued sterling efforts of the guys that run it.

They *******s across town had to back their club, or it was going to die, hence their high take up of contributions which hasn’t really waned.

The club positioned itself under our previous owner as a safety-first, risk averse club cast in the image of our owner and carried out assiduously by his factor, Mr Petrie.

The net result of that approach was some **** awful teams with some players recruited who shouldn’t have been allowed to wash Hibs’ jerseys, let alone wear them.

The new regime have moved the dial commercially, but have deployed a recruitment model that has backfired through bringing in a standard of player similar to Petrie did.

They’ve also shunned HSL for reasons best known to themselves, and don’t look like they’ll be justifying their approach to us poor saps anytime soon.

It was sad how Gordon died at no age at all, but his family and heirs now need to move the club on to new owners, simple as that.

Torto7
10-04-2023, 12:25 AM
LJ talks pish and gets plenty wrong but I cant be @rsed changing manager again. All of Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen seem to yo-yo between managers and I'm not quite sure what they're looking to achieve. I'd give the wee slaver another couple of windows and a fit Boyle before I want rid.

10-04-2023, 12:29 AM
LJ talks pish and gets plenty wrong but I cant be @rsed changing manager again. All of Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen seem to yo-yo between managers and I'm not quite sure what they're looking to achieve. I'd give the wee slaver another couple of windows and a fit Boyle before I want rid.

It's not just Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen though. It's most of world football in general.

I'm all for giving a manager time, but surely they need to have earned that time by showing improvement on the pitch? Otherwise you're just keeping a manager because you've sacked a few recently.

I'm obviously guessing here. But I'd be pretty sure LJ has failed every target set for him at the start of the season.

Torto7
10-04-2023, 12:49 AM
It's not just Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen though. It's most of world football in general.

I'm all for giving a manager time, but surely they need to have earned that time by showing improvement on the pitch? Otherwise you're just keeping a manager because you've sacked a few recently.

I'm obviously guessing here. But I'd be pretty sure LJ has failed every target set for him at the start of the season.

I don't disagree but do we just waste money through constantly changing the coaching staff until somebody has a half decent season? It doesn't seem to guarantee success and whos to say if he stays he doesn't achieve the same? Maybe we should hold onto any compensation for new managers etc for a while and invest it in other areas.

10-04-2023, 07:23 AM
A setback for the new Alex Ferguson. Anyone think he can do a job for us?

10-04-2023, 07:31 AM
A setback for the new Alex Ferguson. Anyone think he can do a job for us?He's a bit of a BS specialist but nowhere near as good as ours so I don't think he can meet the required standard.

10-04-2023, 07:45 AM
I think I’d be baffled if I was a Hearts fan. Seems bizarre to sack him this close to the end of the season. He had credit in the bank.

I can’t tell if this is a positive or negative for next week.

I'm Spartacus
10-04-2023, 07:45 AM
He might be a slavering bam (aren't they all) but he would guarantee us top 4 IMO, I'd rather take bottom 6 than have him anywhere near us.

10-04-2023, 09:06 AM
Their dip in form started after they lost Gordon. Clark is very decent but not the points saver that he is. Its quite funny that they racked up points playing two games a week, now they are one, it's suggested that this is catching up with them. I still expect the spawny bastits to take something from the game regardless of how we play. I've now seen a lack of VAR intervention at times a revue should be underway to accept the game is rigged, and not in our favour.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

10-04-2023, 04:34 PM
No doubt they'll call on Robbie again in a season or so when they need someone with experience of getting out of the championship.

I’m sure they will.

And he will leave Dundee Utd or whoever he’s managing at the time without a second thought, delighted to be back at the club that continually treats him like dirt.

Also: I guess defacing the ‘Famous’ crest on the sacred plaza piazza works, eh? Expect to see more of this in future.

10-04-2023, 04:36 PM
Their dip in form started after they lost Gordon. Clark is very decent but not the points saver that he is. Its quite funny that they racked up points playing two games a week, now they are one, it's suggested that this is catching up with them. I still expect the spawny bastits to take something from the game regardless of how we play. I've now seen a lack of VAR intervention at times a revue should be underway to accept the game is rigged, and not in our favour.

Not sure Clark is very decent

DJ HIBBY
10-04-2023, 05:18 PM
Naismith in charge until end of season

10-04-2023, 05:39 PM
Naismith in charge until end of season

Legs are gone, he's past it.

10-04-2023, 06:17 PM
Legs are gone, he's past it.

Took them down, never finished above Hibs. Was a dreadful signing for them really. Glad we avoided.

I'm Spartacus
11-04-2023, 07:45 AM
Naismith.
4 days to prepare for a Derby.
Splits in the camp.
Has only ever coached wee boys.

Beautiful! Cannot wait to see his wee bald greetin' weegie face.

11-04-2023, 08:54 AM
Naismith.
Splits in the camp.

Beautiful! Cannot wait to see his wee bald greetin' weegie face.We can expect full on simulation and mobbing of the ref.

11-04-2023, 09:05 AM
Naismiths hearts to win at Easter road, with the wee runt celebrating on the touch line. Gies me the boak but that’s what will happen.

11-04-2023, 09:09 AM
Naismith.
Splits in the camp.

Beautiful! Cannot wait to see his wee bald greetin' weegie face.

Hearts will beat us regardless of who is taking the team. We all know it.

Greenio
11-04-2023, 09:12 AM
It's an awful way to prep for a derby and I hope it shows when we skelp them this weekend.

Their team is in bits and punting a manager ain't going to fix that immediately

Chip shop Joe
11-04-2023, 09:21 AM
I have to say from watching the highlights Hearts had loads of chances and didn’t look like they were playing that badly.

Sadly there is no doubt in my mind that they will beat us at the weekend. However bad they are we are much worse!

Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 09:35 AM
I have to say from watching the highlights Hearts had loads of chances and didn’t look like they were playing that badly.

Sadly there is no doubt in my mind that they will beat us at the weekend. However bad they are we are much worse!

It just seems to be the way. Just don’t see our team being as up for it as they are and as streetwise on how to play against them.

He's here!
11-04-2023, 10:17 AM

Correct I'm afraid.

Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 10:38 AM
Was listening to the radio where they were talking about neilson.

2 championship titles (none of which were his mess)
2 3rd place finishes (one of which meant European football and I think they got one or two wins?)
He’s beaten us twice at hampden. Twice in January(2x3-0) this year and twice in April last year.
Currently 9 unbeaten against us.

Realistically what else can someone achieve at a non OF team? Surely even 4th is a success given they’ve had European games to play this season too. That kind of season is a pipe dream for us.

Absolutely despise neilson but it’s as good a record anyone outside of the OF is going to get.

11-04-2023, 11:10 AM

Yip, can see the script, Robbie sacked, Nesbitt appointment, first game is against Hibs, at ER, janbos win LJ talks abut green football, ho hum

JamesHFC
11-04-2023, 12:01 PM
Hearing that Jack Ross has applied for the job.

Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 12:03 PM

Wouldn’t surprise me if he did but I’m not sure that’s an appointment the hearts fans would be keen on and not just because he was our manager.

11-04-2023, 12:07 PM

Do we?

11-04-2023, 12:08 PM

He does have a good record in derbies for Hearts :greengrin

I'm Spartacus
11-04-2023, 12:43 PM

I don't believe that.

I'm told he has a real chance of a decent permanent gig at Newcastle, there's a trial of a coaching structure at the moment and he's going to oversee the coaching of the coaches (as was in the news). He is going to have access to Eddie Howes coaching database and will implement that at Youth level so the coaches have the standard at all levels.

11-04-2023, 12:59 PM
**** the hertz

LewysGot2
11-04-2023, 01:10 PM

I didn't. Not till this post. Maybe you've just saved me bothering going or even watching the highlights on TV.

Or maybe not.

11-04-2023, 01:15 PM
I didn't. Not till this post. Maybe you've just saved me bothering going or even watching the highlights on TV.

Or maybe not.

Turns out we didn't win the Cup in 2016 as Hertz must have knocked us out.

JamesHFC
11-04-2023, 01:25 PM
I don't believe that.

I'm told he has a real chance of a decent permanent gig at Newcastle, there's a trial of a coaching structure at the moment and he's going to oversee the coaching of the coaches (as was in the news). He is going to have access to Eddie Howes coaching database and will implement that at Youth level so the coaches have the standard at all levels.

He’s only overseeing up to under 12s or 14s at the moment I think. He’s only contracted until the end of the season so perhaps keeping his options open. Don’t think Hearts would hire him anyway for a variety of reasons.

11-04-2023, 01:35 PM
Their Chief Exec spoke clearly and authoritatively about Neilson’s sacking, the circumstances leading up to it and their plans and expectations. I’d like to see similar from Hibs.

Donegal Hibby
11-04-2023, 01:40 PM
Their Chief Exec spoke clearly and authoritatively about Neilson’s sacking, the circumstances leading up to it and their plans and expectations. I’d like to see similar from Hibs.
I'd like to see DOF come in that's good at his job and improves the recruitment of players which will be beneficial for the manager.

11-04-2023, 01:43 PM

I assume they have a different doctor there now from when he was at Hearts before...?

JamesHFC
11-04-2023, 02:13 PM
Things aren’t all well at Hearts. Massive falling outs in the dressing room. Snodgrass leaving with immediate effect so I’ve been told.

Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 02:16 PM
Things aren’t all well at Hearts. Massive falling outs in the dressing room. Snodgrass leaving with immediate effect so I’ve been told.

Let’s hope so. Hopefully a win for us on Saturday and they don’t get top 4.

GreenGray
11-04-2023, 02:20 PM
It's an awful way to prep for a derby and I hope it shows when we skelp them this weekend.

Their team is in bits and punting a manager ain't going to fix that immediately

I think you'd be surprised. Changing the manager can make such a difference, just look at Aberdeen following our 6-0 win

11-04-2023, 02:23 PM
Things aren’t all well at Hearts. Massive falling outs in the dressing room. Snodgrass leaving with immediate effect so I’ve been told.Can we sign him up?

[emoji1787]

Wonder what's went on

LewysGot2
11-04-2023, 02:56 PM
Turns out we didn't win the Cup in 2016 as Hertz must have knocked us out.

The John McGinn song going round my nut for days after Tynecastle - what a waste of time that was then. Took me days to not hear it in my head on a loop...and you're saying it was all for diddly squat? The square root of hee haw?

11-04-2023, 02:59 PM

Maybe we really are heading for the "beaten by maroon traffic cones" derby.

11-04-2023, 03:35 PM

Reading his comments on the beeb he sounds like a typical arrogant yam with delusions of their own third place bigglieness

Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 03:48 PM
Reading his comments on the beeb he sounds like a typical arrogant yam with delusions of their own third place bigglieness

He does actually. Loves the sound of his own voice. Loved the limelight.

11-04-2023, 03:52 PM

Sounded like a Rover driving golf club bore to me.

Mcbizz1998
11-04-2023, 04:00 PM
Was listening to the radio where they were talking about neilson.

2 championship titles (none of which were his mess)
2 3rd place finishes (one of which meant European football and I think they got one or two wins?)
He’s beaten us twice at hampden. Twice in January(2x3-0) this year and twice in April last year.
Currently 9 unbeaten against us.

Realistically what else can someone achieve at a non OF team? Surely even 4th is a success given they’ve had European games to play this season too. That kind of season is a pipe dream for us.

Absolutely despise neilson but it’s as good a record anyone outside of the OF is going to get.

My thoughts exactly. He did quite similar, minus the record v us after he got them promoted last time. Europe and challenging near the t

They hounded him out, plane over Tynecastle etc and then appointed Cathro and that German weirdo, relegated again. Hopefully their delusions will lead to them hounding out a decent manager and back down for another tour of the seaside league.

11-04-2023, 04:02 PM
Naismiths hearts to win at Easter road, with the wee runt celebrating on the touch line. Gies me the boak but that’s what will happen.

Absolutely nowt surer [emoji2961]

Gordy M
11-04-2023, 04:48 PM
Social media (twitter) saying Snodgrass has been released due to causing issues in dressing room.

11-04-2023, 04:52 PM
Loads of sources saying the same about Snodgrass.

Wouldn’t surprise me if Johnson tried to get him in the summer.

cameronw-hfc
11-04-2023, 04:54 PM
Social media (twitter) saying Snodgrass has been released due to causing issues in dressing room.

He's never been a dodgy character so must have been a pretty massive fall out for this to happen I think.

11-04-2023, 04:55 PM
Loads of sources saying the same about Snodgrass.

Wouldn’t surprise me if Johnson tried to get him in the summer.

Please god no.

11-04-2023, 05:13 PM
I’d take him over McGeady... But having neither would probably be for the best.

11-04-2023, 05:26 PM
Please god no.

Every jambo I know says Snodgrass is done. Miles off it.

JamesHFC
11-04-2023, 05:29 PM

👍👍

11-04-2023, 05:47 PM
Not using the right soap?

11-04-2023, 05:51 PM
Just my opinion, but for me McKinley comes across as really arrogant. He'll probably be proved right though, even when Hibs do have more money and are run better than Hearts, we still don't manage to consistently finish above them or beat them regularly. So either you belive the club has been regularly mismanaged for years, or not nearly enough time has been spent on strengthening areas of the team when we really need to or successive managers have generally fallen tactically short the majority of the time we play them. I don't give a **** whether Hearts have got more money than us at the moment, we should be right up for every derby game believing we can and will beat them, and just for once getting tactics right and players doing the job they're employed to do.

11-04-2023, 06:10 PM
Just my opinion, but for me McKinley comes across as really arrogant. He'll probably be proved right though, even when Hibs do have more money and are run better than Hearts, we still don't manage to consistently finish above them or beat them regularly. So either you belive the club has been regularly mismanaged for years, or not nearly enough time has been spent on strengthening areas of the team when we really need to or successive managers have generally fallen tactically short the majority of the time we play them. I don't give a **** whether Hearts have got more money than us at the moment, we should be right up for every derby game believing we can and will beat them, and just for once getting tactics right and players doing the job they're employed to do.

5 of the last 7 years they finished below us.

LewysGot2
11-04-2023, 06:33 PM
5 of the last 7 years they finished below us.

Don't let silly things like facts get in the way of our current episode of beating ourselves before a ball is kicked 😉

11-04-2023, 06:48 PM
Don't let silly things like facts get in the way of our current episode of beating ourselves before a ball is kicked [emoji6]

Yeah yeah nit that naive however (You probably gather) I was commenting on the previous poster saying that they regularly finish above us!

LewysGot2
11-04-2023, 07:24 PM
Yeah yeah nit that naive however (You probably gather) I was commenting on the previous poster saying that they regularly finish above us!

I know :wink:

11-04-2023, 08:31 PM
Don't let silly things like facts get in the way of our current episode of beating ourselves before a ball is kicked 😉

You think I want Hibs to get beat?

11-04-2023, 09:20 PM
We're going to win and keep out absolute impostor of a manager in a job, wasting another transfer window, aren't we?

11-04-2023, 09:24 PM
We're going to win and keep out absolute impostor of a manager in a job, wasting another transfer window, aren't we?

Hope so especially the first part

11-04-2023, 09:39 PM

Short term gain you say? Right now I’ll take it.

In fact I will always take it. Wishing for a loss because it might lead to something positive doesn’t make sense to me.

12-04-2023, 08:22 AM

The Hibs job hopefully.

12-04-2023, 08:34 AM

What outcome are you hoping for?

zitelli62
12-04-2023, 08:40 AM

Must be good then.

12-04-2023, 09:07 AM
What outcome are you hoping for?

Ideally a win and then LJ to go on a mad bender and sacked for bringing hookers and ching to training on Monday.

Mcbizz1998
12-04-2023, 09:09 AM

Funny, only a few weeks ago every jambo I know was raving about him.

12-04-2023, 09:10 AM

As were some on here.

Mcbizz1998
12-04-2023, 09:13 AM
As were some on here.

Absolutely. Could we get him now? We could do worse than a short term deal for a good pro like him who has a chip on his shoulder and something to prove against Hearts.

12-04-2023, 09:23 AM
The Hibs job hopefully.

Would take him back in a heartbeat.

HFC93
12-04-2023, 09:32 AM
Was Snodgrass not amazing signing for Hearts only a few weeks ago?

12-04-2023, 09:39 AM

Well everyone has different views don't they. He was gash against us at ER.

Donegal Hibby
12-04-2023, 09:41 AM
Did you think previous transfer windows before LJ weren't wasted like ? Like Maloney's for instance when we signed guys like Mitchell and Henderson?

Paulie Walnuts
12-04-2023, 09:46 AM
The Hibs job hopefully.

Hope not.

2 bottom six finishes in 3 seasons. It would likely be a continuation of what we have now.

12-04-2023, 09:49 AM
Hope not.

2 bottom six finishes in 3 seasons. It would likely be a continuation of what we have now.

Eh, 1 bottom six finish because st Johnstone were given a hypothetical point at Ibrox for the first time in 30 years or something.

Come on. You hate the guy but there is absolutely no way you can say he finished bottom 6 twice. It literally did not happen. He was sacked long before that season finished.

Paulie Walnuts
12-04-2023, 09:52 AM
Eh, 1 bottom six finish because st Johnstone were given a hypothetical point at Ibrox for the first time in 30 years or something.

Come on. You hate the guy but there is absolutely no way you can say he finished bottom 6 twice. It literally did not happen. He was sacked long before that season finished.

He finished bottom 6 and his final season finished with us in the bottom 6. In terms of Jack Ross’ career at Hibs, he lead us to the bottom 6 twice.

12-04-2023, 09:53 AM
He finished bottom 6 and his final season finished with us in the bottom 6. In terms of Jack Ross’ career at Hibs, he lead us to the bottom 6 twice.

Genius.

Paulie Walnuts
12-04-2023, 09:54 AM
Genius.

You can dress it up however you want. What came after Jack Ross has nothing to do with him, so the position he left us in is of huge significance when looking at how he done at Hibs. That was bottom 6. Again.

If he was to come back (which he won’t be) then there’s a very good chance we’d end up bottom 6 again imo.

12-04-2023, 10:00 AM
I'd take Ross back now, he's a proven manager who's given us success in the past, and he was sacked way too early, FFS he'd just taken us to another cup final.

Remember them?

SickBoy32
12-04-2023, 10:30 AM
I'd take Ross back now, he's a proven manager who's given us success in the past, and he was sacked way too early, FFS he'd just taken us to another cup final.

Remember them?

Spot on

Won't happen however, as this would require our hapless CEO to admit to his glaring failures

SickBoy32
12-04-2023, 10:30 AM
You can dress it up however you want. What came after Jack Ross has nothing to do with him, so the position he left us in is of huge significance when looking at how he done at Hibs. That was bottom 6. Again.

If he was to come back (which he won’t be) then there’s a very good chance we’d end up bottom 6 again imo.

Strange way to look at it

He left us in a cup final

Paulie Walnuts
12-04-2023, 10:32 AM
Strange way to look at it

He left us in a cup final

I’m not sure how using Jack Ross’ time at Hibs to dictate where he left us in the league each season is a strange way to look at it.

He did leave us in a cup final. He also left in the bottom 6 and dropping like a stone.

GreenGray
12-04-2023, 11:04 AM
Not having the Jack Ross conversation again are we?

I think people's memory can become a bit blurred due to how badly we currently are.

12-04-2023, 11:47 AM

Remember them?
Yeah and the results 🙄

SickBoy32
12-04-2023, 11:58 AM
Yeah and the results 🙄

Aye, it was crap only winning 49% of games eh

Obvious failings, mainly St J - however the good certainly outweighed the bad, by any metric imo

JamesHFC
12-04-2023, 12:39 PM

Obvious failings, mainly St J - however the good certainly outweighed the bad, by any metric imo

Lost to a Championship Hearts side who didn’t really play a competitive game for half a year in a semi final. Getting battered at home by their relegation team was also brutal. Europe was no fun either.

Paulie Walnuts
12-04-2023, 12:55 PM

He wasn’t sacked for his overall record. He was sacked because he went on a horrendous run that we showed absolutely no signs of addressing. Incredibly we got worse week after week, something he also carried on at his next job after Hibs.

12-04-2023, 01:00 PM
He wasn’t sacked for his overall record. He was sacked because he went on a horrendous run that we showed absolutely no signs of addressing. Incredibly we got worse week after week, something he also carried on at his next job after Hibs.

Look at the results at the start of that bad run. Then after the break we had for covid.

He definitely did show signs of addressing it, including a brilliant performance at Hampden and beating Saints away.

12-04-2023, 01:12 PM

He didn't really have the tools to address it though after the dismal summer transfer window. There was only so much James Scott and co were going to be able to do for him at that point.

Ross needed the January transfer window and if he failed to improve things after that then he'd have deserved the sack. Instead, I think he can feel very hard done by for having been dumped when he was.

12-04-2023, 01:16 PM
We lost a final and a semi final to St Johnstone and a semi final to a lower league Hearts. His record against Rangers, Celtic and Hearts was poor and he left us tumbling down the league.

If that's success, deary me standards are low.

He's here!
12-04-2023, 01:17 PM

I see his contract is being terminated early.

If he has been, as alleged, such a disruptive dressing room presence, it seems odd to have ditched Neilson first.

JamesHFC
12-04-2023, 01:20 PM
I see his contract is being terminated early.

If he has been, as alleged, such a disruptive dressing room presence, it seems odd to have ditched Neilson first.

Neilson fell out with a lot of players.

He's here!
12-04-2023, 01:21 PM
We lost a final and a semi final to St Johnstone and a semi final to a lower league Hearts. His record against Rangers, Celtic and Hearts was poor and he left us tumbling down the league.

If that's success, deary me standards are low.

I agree the St Johnstone and Hearts displays were hugely disappointing but at least he was getting us to Hampden consistently and he did oversee a memorable semi-final win over the huns. If standards were low then they've fallen through the floor now as we've been nowhere near putting a cup run together.

Trinity Hibee
12-04-2023, 01:28 PM
I agree the St Johnstone and Hearts displays were hugely disappointing but at least he was getting us to Hampden consistently and he did oversee a memorable semi-final win over the huns. If standards were low then they've fallen through the floor now as we've been nowhere near putting a cup run together.

Think we played St J 6 times that season and lost 4 (2 at hampden), drew 1 and won 1. Unbelievable really that he didn’t figure out a way to beat them other than a last min pen at start of season. That Scottish cup final is the worst one we’ve had I think. Even though our record wasn’t great I still thought we’d win it. But nope…

12-04-2023, 01:48 PM
Not having the Jack Ross conversation again are we?

I think people's memory can become a bit blurred due to how badly we currently are.

Sacked Ross, is that the limit of our imagination and ambition?

12-04-2023, 01:55 PM

Remember them?

Agree

12-04-2023, 01:59 PM
Agree

You shouldnt really, what we want is cup finals, hampden every season and mythical Brazil like football, you know the type of stuff we are all used to most seasons. :faf:

12-04-2023, 02:05 PM
You shouldnt really, what we want is cup finals, hampden every season and mythical Brazil like football, you know the type of stuff we are all used to most seasons. :faf:

Yep absolutely no doubt his cup record was very good and the squad imo was improving. At least had us punching our weight. Ridiculously harsh sacking

12-04-2023, 03:15 PM
Naismith taking cheap shots at Neilson in his first press conference.
He's a horrible wee tosspot.

12-04-2023, 03:22 PM

On what basis could he be doing that? Obnoxious little rat. How he appears to have got involved at Scotland level beggars belief

12-04-2023, 03:46 PM
On what basis could he be doing that? Obnoxious little rat. How he appears to have got involved at Scotland level beggars belief

Going on about how they won't be sitting on one goal leads anymore.

Rumble de Thump
12-04-2023, 03:51 PM
Yep absolutely no doubt his cup record was very good and the squad imo was improving. At least had us punching our weight. Ridiculously harsh sacking

We were emptied out of the cups by teams we should have beaten.

12-04-2023, 03:53 PM

After a long search for a new manager they realised the right man was at the club already.........

12-04-2023, 04:31 PM
After a long search for a new manager they realised the right man was at the club already.........

Aye he fits their template perfectly.

12-04-2023, 05:24 PM

Keepthefaith
12-04-2023, 07:55 PM
have folk really forgotten about how bad the football was under ross? he was bailed out by Boyle on many occasions, the semi against the rangers a prime example. I was actually one of those who supported him week after week despite the results but dear god lets have a reality check of just how bad it eventually became.

and for those who think Johnson's post match interviews aren't any good, they're an awful lot better than we got under ross who took bland to a new level!

12-04-2023, 08:05 PM
have folk really forgotten about how bad the football was under ross? he was bailed out by Boyle on many occasions, the semi against the rangers a prime example. I was actually one of those who supported him week after week despite the results but dear god lets have a reality check of just how bad it eventually became.

and for those who think Johnson's post match interviews aren't any good, they're an awful lot better than we got under ross who took bland to a new level!

I think the "football was bad under Ross" is a bit of a myth.

Hard to comment on the season we weren't at games, but I thought a few of the away performances in particular were particularly good.

The form at the end was grim and indefensible (even with the odd bright spot like the win over Rangers at Hampden) but at the start of the season when he had Magennis fit, we looked pretty good for a month or two.

I didn't have many complaints at the time.

Although in fairness to Johnson, I'd say that when his team is on song, it's a fairly energetic and watchable style of football we play.

Keepthefaith
12-04-2023, 08:15 PM

Hard to comment on the season we weren't at games, but I thought a few of the away performances in particular were particularly good.

The form at the end was grim and indefensible (even with the odd bright spot like the win over Rangers at Hampden) but at the start of the season when he had Magennis fit, we looked pretty good for a month or two.

Although in fairness to Johnson, I'd say that when his team is on song, it's a fairly energetic and watchable style of football we play.

I don't think it is a myth - my point I guess is that he had the luxury of a fit and firing Boyle, which automatically injects excitement - johnson hasn't had that luxury. I was a ross sympathiser but I would say at their best, Johnson's style is more attractive than ross. I also agree that a fit magennis makes a big difference to our midfield as he is way above anything else at the moment from an attacking midfielder perspective

12-04-2023, 09:14 PM

Turgid would be a word that sums up how dul and unadventurous it could get under Ross. He never had the guile or belief to roll the dice and risk it, way too much safety first.

JamesHFC
12-04-2023, 09:17 PM

His style of play was pretty dull at Dundee Utd. Sunderland fans were frustrated with his team parking the bus a lot of the time.

13-04-2023, 06:57 AM
We were an exciting counter attacking team under Ross - particularly when that right-side overload was working.

We didn't have consistent trickery or vision though. Scott Allan's illness now see him at Arbroath and we missed out on Ross' targets in those areas unfortunately.

13-04-2023, 07:35 AM
It's much better now to not have cups to worry about, or win any big games.

13-04-2023, 08:15 AM
His style of play was pretty dull at Dundee Utd. Sunderland fans were frustrated with his team parking the bus a lot of the time.

I think Sunderland fans got fed up with his tendency to try to hang on for a one goal win - and inevitably get pegged back, leading to them drawing too many games when they were trying to get out of league one.

Even though we weren't at the games I certainly had no problem with our miserly defensive record at the start of the season we finished third.

And I just don't remember watching games thinking I wasn't being entertained, although during his final season, after the promising start, I remember thinking clearly that the team and the results weren't good enough. I certainly wasn't enjoying it at that point.

It certainly didn't grind my gears like Maloney's "every man back at every corner" or "how many weeks have we gone without a shot on goal now"?

13-04-2023, 08:22 AM

Exactly BH. Mathie shafted him by being greedy on the Doig transfer front when he had 3-4 players lined up. Without those funds we ended up with yet another poor summer transfer window.

Of course he wasn’t totally blameless but much better than the 2 managers we’ve had since.

13-04-2023, 08:36 AM
I think Sunderland fans got fed up with his tendency to try to hang on for a one goal win - and inevitably get pegged back, leading to them drawing too many games when they were trying to get out of league one.

Even though we weren't at the games I certainly had no problem with our miserly defensive record at the start of the season we finished third.

And I just don't remember watching games thinking I wasn't being entertained, although during his final season, after the promising start, I remember thinking clearly that the team and the results weren't good enough. I certainly wasn't enjoying it at that point.

It certainly didn't grind my gears like Maloney's "every man back at every corner" or "how many weeks have we gone without a shot on goal now"?

It’s all subjective so no right or wrong answer. However during that Covid season of 3rd I often drifted away to do other things in the house, or simply not watch games at all as they often felt like a chore to watch. It was successful but a lopsided team with a midfield we sacrificed for gains elsewhere as well a slow build up. That’s not the kind of football I enjoy, successful or not.

Bushwoof
13-04-2023, 02:30 PM
JR's brand of football made Bertie Auld's look entertaining.

13-04-2023, 03:04 PM
JR's brand of football made Bertie Auld's look entertaining.Not even close. Auld's was awful.

13-04-2023, 03:07 PM

You obviously never watched Hibs under Auld

13-04-2023, 03:09 PM
No it didn't.

13-04-2023, 03:11 PM

Agreed. Jack Ross always getting us to semis and finals was a nightmare compared to getting pumped out early.

13-04-2023, 03:21 PM
I don't think it is a myth - my point I guess is that he had the luxury of a fit and firing Boyle, which automatically injects excitement - johnson hasn't had that luxury. I was a ross sympathiser but I would say at their best, Johnson's style is more attractive than ross. I also agree that a fit magennis makes a big difference to our midfield as he is way above anything else at the moment from an attacking midfielder perspective

I loved it. He had a bad run. But there was plenty really good games under Jack. There have also been good games under LJ. LJ teams have turned into possession teams though, which isn't how he started. Its was all about getting the ball forward quickly and attacking at pace. We've went back to just holding onto the ball for a while before just giving it away with a poor pass. I wish he'd stick with an idea / identity and just try and get better at it. Stop changing formations / style.

13-04-2023, 03:25 PM

Can tell you didn't watch us much.

13-04-2023, 03:41 PM
Naismith talking like he’s already got the gig on a permanent basis.

I hope they do stick with him, he’s a prefect match, and their fans won’t like it all!

13-04-2023, 03:59 PM

I hope they do stick with him, he’s a prefect match, and their fans won’t like it all!

He is comfortably the least likeable person in Scottish fitba.

13-04-2023, 05:02 PM

I like him more than I like Alfredo Morelos.

13-04-2023, 05:24 PM

Alan McGregor will be disappointed.

13-04-2023, 07:21 PM
I like him more than I like Alfredo Morelos.

I don't.

13-04-2023, 07:22 PM
Alan McGregor will be disappointed.

Good.

Stonewall
13-04-2023, 07:49 PM

You are more than pushing it here.

13-04-2023, 07:50 PM

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1646451527093985285?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

I think that’s a terrible interview from him. Absolute slaver.

13-04-2023, 08:08 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1646451527093985285?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

It's horrendous.

Shame we're not in better shape right now because you could easily see them falling to pieces if we made a decent start to the game on Saturday.

I smell blood - I just don't know whether it's theirs or ours.

13-04-2023, 08:09 PM
That is spectacularly bad from Naismith. What a total slaver.

13-04-2023, 08:12 PM

How does he have the authority to get rid of Snodgrass?
Very strange.

13-04-2023, 08:15 PM
What did Snodgrass do?

ErinGoBraghHFC
13-04-2023, 08:20 PM
What did Snodgrass do?

Caught ****ging Naismiths sister-wife I heard

13-04-2023, 08:22 PM

It looks like he doesn’t grasp he’s been given the job on a short term basis to give the team a lift to secure 3rd. Talking about performances being the important thing, comparing his situation to postecoglu while bringing through youngsters etc……

Nobody goes on about style of football more than me but even I get that we’re at the results only stage of the season.

If he communicates that badly with his team he’ll struggle as a manager. Doesn’t guarantee anything this weekend or course unfortunately.

13-04-2023, 08:35 PM

😂😂 what a cretin.

And people call OUR manager David Brent?!

13-04-2023, 08:43 PM
😂😂 what a cretin.

And people call OUR manager David Brent?!

I don’t think you could accuse Naismith of being like Brent in that interview, probably the opposite, whatever that is.

I think he was like a tired, drunk, incoherent toddler that hasn’t really grasped using proper sentences yet.

13-04-2023, 08:48 PM
I don’t think you could accuse Naismith of being like Brent in that interview, probably the opposite, whatever that is.

I think he was like a tired, drunk, incoherent toddler that hasn’t really grasped using proper sentences yet.

His havering about Snodgrass absolutely made me think of a neddy version of Brent.

But I do prefer your version.