View Full Version : New ownership
AugustaHibs
09-04-2023, 02:35 PM
Heard rumours at the game today reps from the city group were up at the game as they are interested in adding us to their portfolio.
Anyone heard similar?
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 02:36 PM
Heard rumours at the game today reps from the city group were up at the game as they are interested in adding us to their portfolio.
Anyone heard similar?
Hope so.
09-04-2023, 02:39 PM
Hope so.
Absolutely hope not.
But I think this rumour comes from LJ mouthing off about his personal relationship with Man City, not sure there is more to it than that.
Just bear in mind that IF it happened, Hibs would never be allowed to qualify for the champions league, so there would not be a title-challenging investment in the team.
Anyone heard similar?
Wow. That would be big news. Hopefully invest money to get us going.
Isn’t that just the link up for loan players Johnson has already mentioned?
09-04-2023, 02:41 PM
Anyone heard similar?
Surely won't be interested after that today!
The City Group stuff has been doing the rounds for a while now, think it's exactly that, a rumour. If it meant keeping LJ it's a no for me.
09-04-2023, 02:41 PM
There was rumours of this a couple of months ago as one of their main guys/football directors was up at east mains
GreenGray
09-04-2023, 02:42 PM
Was there not a post about someone from the City Group attending East Mains a few times?
Can’t say I’d be surprised but not something that interests me.
Say goodbye to any soul you thought your club had.
09-04-2023, 02:43 PM
Was there not a post about someone from the City Group attending East Mains a few times?
Can’t say I’d be surprised but not something that interests me.
Say goodbye to any soul you thought your club had.
Club is soulless now tbh. Doubt it could get more devoid of soul.
plhibs
09-04-2023, 02:43 PM
If, a big if, there was any chance of this happening i'm sure todays performance would change that.
09-04-2023, 02:45 PM
If, a big if, there was any chance of this happening i'm sure todays performance would change that.I highly doubt a 90 minute football match would change anything on potential new owners /investment
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
09-04-2023, 02:46 PM
If we become a sportswashing vehicle I'm off to support Dunfermline. Sorry.
09-04-2023, 02:49 PM
Agreed. Against everything that Hibernian and really anyone in a country like ours should stand for. Horrible idea, I'd rather watch Hibs in the lowland league than win with these people in charge.
09-04-2023, 02:57 PM
If, a big if, there was any chance of this happening i'm sure todays performance would change that.
Not so sure…….probably knocked a few quid of the asking price!
09-04-2023, 03:03 PM
I couldn’t give 2 hoots who own the club, if they can improve the team and bring some enjoyment back to my visits to ER then I’m in.
09-04-2023, 03:05 PM
Couldn’t care who owns us as long as they invest in the squad and we win some games.
Clubs pretty soulless as is.
09-04-2023, 03:06 PM
I couldn’t give 2 hoots who own the club, if they can improve the team and bring some enjoyment back to my visits to ER then I’m in.
09-04-2023, 03:08 PM
👍
h1bs4life
09-04-2023, 03:10 PM
Definitely I am in 100% , 60 years watching not much success.
Few may say they would never go back but that would probably change if success followed.
One thing you could almost guarantee that investment/ success would bring more season tickets / bigger crowds.
GreenGray
09-04-2023, 03:15 PM
Few may say they would never go back but that would probably change if success followed.
One thing you could almost guarantee that investment/ success would bring more season tickets / bigger crowds.
There’s no guarantee of success though.
You’re part of a massive corporate group, almost a glorified development squad. They’d likely want to change the badge etc to fit in with their branding.
Everything wrong with modern football imo.
09-04-2023, 03:18 PM
People are deluding themselves if they think ownership by a corporate entity is going to equal greater success at the club, it’s more likely to suck up what soul is left at ER and once it’s gone, it’s hard to see how it returns.
This was the kind of thing that HSL and the share offer was intended to prevent. What a pity that it wasn’t as well received as it could have been. A huge missed opportunity for the fans to have a stake in the long term future
We’ll be sitting here in a no more than few years plotting how we can save our football club if this pish ever comes to pass.
09-04-2023, 03:20 PM
Anyone heard similar?
I was told a old a week ago that the Gordon family are looking for new owners for the Club.
They are not putting up a for sale sign but letting it be known they will listen to offers from the “ right people “.
This came from Rod Petrie who also said there was Arab money looking for a home in Scottish football but not necessarily connected to us.
Hibees1973
09-04-2023, 03:22 PM
I did hear a rumour about a new owner but it's another American guy.
Wish it was someone with direct links to Edinburgh & Hibs. Would be my preferred choice, but we have no choice.
09-04-2023, 03:23 PM
I did hear a rumour about a new owner but it's another American guy.
Wish it was someone with direct links to Edinburgh & Hibs. Would be my preferred choice, but we have no choice.
Is it a billionaire? We need big money.
09-04-2023, 03:24 PM
I was told a old a week ago that the Gordon family are looking for new owners for the Club.
They are not putting up a for sale sign but letting it be known they will listen to offers from the “ right people “.
This came from Rod Petrie who also said there was Arab money looking for a home in Scottish football but not necessarily connected to us.
I just hope that is real Arab money and nothing to do wi Dundee United.
Bring it on, now is the time.
09-04-2023, 03:25 PM
Ive heard rumours that noone will be buying us.
09-04-2023, 03:26 PM
People are deluding themselves if they think ownership by a corporate entity is going to equal greater success at the club, it’s more likely to suck up what soul is left at ER and once it’s gone, it’s hard to see how it returns.
This was the kind of thing that HSL and the share offer was intended to prevent. What a pity that it wasn’t as well received as it could have been. A huge missed opportunity for the fans to have a stake in the long term future
We’ll be sitting here in a no more than few years plotting how we can save our football club if this pish ever comes to pass.
We might be able to afford to sack garbage managers though and stop talking as if we can't afford to sack managers. Any owner with good money behind them will sack managers and CEOs if the club is going in the wrong direction. We don't have that, seems we just need to put up with it because we can't afford another change.
09-04-2023, 03:32 PM
We might be able to afford to sack garbage managers though and stop talking as if we can't afford to sack managers. Any owner with good money behind them will sack managers and CEOs if the club is going in the wrong direction. We don't have that, seems we just need to put up with it because we can't afford another change.
We've had three managers in the past 18 months? What if the owner with good money behind them happens to believe that your crap manager is the right person for the job?
Even if you can afford the change, what kind of madhoose would Hibs end up as?
09-04-2023, 03:36 PM
Sorry if posted but Brian Marwood been at training ground seemingly
09-04-2023, 03:39 PM
We've had three managers in the past 18 months? What if the owner with good money behind them happens to believe that your crap manager is the right person for the job?
Even if you can afford the change, what kind of madhoose would Hibs end up as?
Do you think Hibs isn't a mad house at the moment?
Difference there is an owner with good money can choose to back their chosen manager with signings. Some good signings.
How many managers have Aberdeen had in 18months?
MelbourneHibees
09-04-2023, 03:49 PM
The only team Arabs would be interested in buying in Scotlamd would be Rangers. (Celtic fans would reject them with their moral compass).
09-04-2023, 03:54 PM
The only team Arabs would be interested in buying in Scotlamd would be Rangers. (Celtic fans would reject them with their moral compass).
Celtics moral compass 😂
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 03:57 PM
Ah yes Celtics famous moral compass, their fans are all about socialism and that until it comes to signing players for a cut price, because that’s capitalism and they’re a bigger club
09-04-2023, 03:59 PM
Absolutely hope not.
But I think this rumour comes from LJ mouthing off about his personal relationship with Man City, not sure there is more to it than that.
Just bear in mind that IF it happened, Hibs would never be allowed to qualify for the champions league, so there would not be a title-challenging investment in the team.
Hahahahaha. Think we don’t need to worry about that regardless
09-04-2023, 04:02 PM
Peter Noone? Thought he was a with Herman being a hermit nowadays
09-04-2023, 04:07 PM
Do you think Hibs isn't a mad house at the moment?
Difference there is an owner with good money can choose to back their chosen manager with signings. Some good signings.
How many managers have Aberdeen had in 18months?
Here's a thought, maybe Hibs could back the current manager, or the previous two managers with decent signings?
I'm having a wild stab at this one, but I guess Aberdeen have had three managers (permanent managers), but who cares what they do anyway
Absolutely hope not.
Yes. I certainly would miss all our champions league games.
09-04-2023, 04:14 PM
Here's a thought, maybe Hibs could back the current manager, or the previous two managers with decent signings?
I'm having a wild stab at this one, but I guess Aberdeen have had three managers (permanent managers), but who cares what they do anyway
How would they do that? We can't even afford to sack him so how are we affording good signings?
I'm taking a stab as well. Hibs are giving out far too good contracts for average players and that is decimating our budget. JDH saying he is comfortable at Hibs backs this. That and sick note Magennis and OAP McGeady. Lengthy sentimental contracts to cup winners as well. We are a comfortable club. Nice paying long contracts and players without any real ambition. Recipe for disaster.
09-04-2023, 04:26 PM
How would they do that? We can't even afford to sack him so how are we affording good signings?
I'm taking a stab as well. Hibs are giving out far too good contracts for average players and that is decimating our budget. JDH saying he is comfortable at Hibs backs this. That and sick note Magennis and OAP McGeady. Lengthy sentimental contracts to cup winners as well. We are a comfortable club. Nice paying long contracts and players without any real ambition. Recipe for disaster.
I think you're mixing up several different issues here.
Who says we can't afford to sack LJ?
The players you mention were at the club before LJ arrived. Duds like Deferriere. Johnson, Mekersen,. Hauge, Tait, Mckay, Henderson.
The signings under Johnson have been pretty mixed too, but the damage of long contracts to the likes of Doidge, JDH, Newell and the wasted money on development players was already done before he was near Hibs.
I think the issue is that the people at the very top know very little about football. They actually paid Ben Kensell £324,000, now digest that and work out how many season tickets that represents.
09-04-2023, 04:33 PM
I think you're mixing up several different issues here.
Who says we can't afford to sack LJ?
The players you mention were at the club before LJ arrived. Duds like Deferriere. Johnson, Mekersen,. Hauge, Tait, Mckay, Henderson.
The signings under Johnson have been pretty mixed too, but the damage of long contracts to the likes of Doidge, JDH, Newell and the wasted money on development players was already done before he was near Hibs.
I think the issue is that the people at the very top know very little about football.
The club have been pushing the stability nonsense since they recruited LJ. For me that suggests we either can't afford to sack LJ due to finances or through some sort of saving face thing due to the biased "like Watford" stuff the media come out with. Aberdeen, Dundee United and whoever else can hire and sack managers but for us it's a big talking point.
McInnes sacking from Aberdeen didn't get covered the way Ross' sacking from Hibs. We'd committed a cardinal sin. Let's see how Neilsons sacking gets covered...
snedzuk
09-04-2023, 04:37 PM
Peter Noone? From Herman's Hermits?
09-04-2023, 04:39 PM
I hope so. We've become a bit of a joke under the Gordon's unfortunately.
09-04-2023, 04:41 PM
I hope so. We've become a bit of a joke under the Gordon's unfortunately.
We really haven't but you keep telling yourself that. We were as much a "joke" under STF
09-04-2023, 04:43 PM
If new ownership is imminent the present owners will not be shipping LJ.
That will be up to the new owners who will want to make their own appointment
09-04-2023, 04:43 PM
Hermit Crab is buying us?
09-04-2023, 04:52 PM
I think new ownership is needed.
Gordon family saying the right things after Ron’s death but none of them will lead the club.
09-04-2023, 04:53 PM
We really haven't but you keep telling yourself that. We were as much a "joke" under STF
Sorry but allowing your son to be head of recruitment, with no experience is just criminal. He as much as LJ is responsible for the mess we’re in
Daniel 1875
09-04-2023, 04:55 PM
The City Group stuff sounds a bit far fetched and linked to LJ’s comments about players.
It remains to be seen what Kit and Ian Gordon want to do with their stake in the club after Ron’s sad passing but there are legitimate questions around the future ownership of the club.
Hibees1973
09-04-2023, 05:01 PM
The City Group stuff sounds a bit far fetched and linked to LJ’s comments about players.
It remains to be seen what Kit and Ian Gordon want to do with their stake in the club after Ron’s sad passing but there are legitimate questions around the future ownership of the club.
'LJ's comments about players'
Since the turn of the new year whenever LJ appears on TV or on the radio I switch channel.
09-04-2023, 05:03 PM
Under the current ownership I don’t doubt the club will remain safe. I don’t think they have the drive or nous to take us forward though.
We really need new ownership, or if the Gordon’s are to remain hands on we need to hear from them again. I don’t think for a second Kit wants to run a football club and I don’t think for a second Ian Gordon has the experience to do it.
09-04-2023, 05:05 PM
A bit about the clubs they currently have shares in https://www.sportingnews.com/uk/soccer/news/city-football-group-teams-man-city-owners/eqjrejqxn7q7nzqs7sazxdcx
09-04-2023, 05:06 PM
Sorry if posted but Brian Marwood been at training ground seemingly
Is he involved with the City group?
HFC93
09-04-2023, 05:07 PM
One thing I'll never get is people who say they would stop supporting Hibs if x bought us. It's an absolute nonsense.
09-04-2023, 05:09 PM
It’s Kensall who has the City group contact responsible for those 2 recommendations/loan signings.
In Johnson speak tho - Pep was on the blower to him
09-04-2023, 05:12 PM
It’s Kensall who has the City group contact responsible for those 2 recommendations/loan signings.
In Johnson speak tho - Pep was on the blower to him
It’s not, LJ has a good relationship with Brian Marwood. We were told that before LJ even joined us.
09-04-2023, 05:14 PM
One thing I'll never get is people who say they would stop supporting Hibs if x bought us. It's an absolute nonsense.
You'll never understand people having moral standards and understanding football isn't really as important as human rights?
I personally will never ever understand anyone who values a football team winning more than they do human rights. Real shame I'm in a minority.
Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 05:14 PM
Signing better players would bring in more season tickets.
A point that was made repeatedly to the previous Board and routinely ignored.
A campaign to get to 15k season tickets based on the club signing a couple of really good players that would fire the imagination of the fans would undoubtedly increase the uptake of seasons to around that number, IMO.
I’m sick and tired of watching mediocre players and untried unknowns like Kenneh and Tavares being presented to the fans as if we’ve signed Viera and Ronaldo.
Petrie and co (whose acolytes are still hanging about the club) bought cheap. As a result we had to buy twice, three times over of the same gash, and by and large we got the same gash.
Add in the fact that no dissenting voices are allowed to voice that view around Easter Road only adds to the current malaise that will see this club finish bottom 6 (again) of a **** league.
09-04-2023, 05:15 PM
Anyone heard similar?
Do you mean Rod Petrie told you or someone told you that Petrie said this?
big gogs
09-04-2023, 05:19 PM
If new ownership is imminent the present owners will not be shipping LJ.
That will be up to the new owners who will want to make their own appointment
Where is the evidence of another takeover,not doubting you .it seems to be the big talking point.
HFC93
09-04-2023, 05:30 PM
You'll never understand people having moral standards and understanding football isn't really as important as human rights?
I personally will never ever understand anyone who values a football team winning more than they do human rights. Real shame I'm in a minority.
If we won a Scottish Cup with a morally dubious owner you'd be sat at home watching Netflix? Right enough. I just don't believe anyone he says stuff like that. If the devil bought Hibs I'd still go every week.
Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 05:34 PM
I would very much doubt Petrie would commit himself to saying anything like that.
Especially since “Good morning but dinnae quote me on that” was much more his style while at Easter Road.
h1bs4life
09-04-2023, 05:46 PM
Signing better players would bring in more season tickets.
A point that was made repeatedly to the previous Board and routinely ignored.
A campaign to get to 15k season tickets based on the club signing a couple of really good players that would fire the imagination of the fans would undoubtedly increase the uptake of seasons to around that number, IMO.
I’m sick and tired of watching mediocre players and untried unknowns like Kenneh and Tavares being presented to the fans as if we’ve signed Viera and Ronaldo.
Petrie and co (whose acolytes are still hanging about the club) bought cheap. As a result we had to buy twice, three times over of the same gash, and by and large we got the same gash.
Add in the fact that no dissenting voices are allowed to voice that view around Easter Road only adds to the current malaise that will see this club finish bottom 6 (again) of a **** league.
I agree with everything you have said , I have had a season ticket in the famous five stand since it opened in 1995 and have shelved out hundreds of pounds every year no matter how crap we have been .
Not had many good seasons in all that time , seen a few decent players but hundreds of absolute dross.
We are a soft touch handing out long contracts to at best average players as well as contract extensions for sentimental reasons to players well past there best with some people loosing there #### if people suggest they should be moved on.
I liked Ron Gordon , was shocked at his passing but if the family were looking to sell up which would be perfectly understandable , I know easier said than done would like owners with a bit of money with a ruthless streak who set targets for managers , no easy long term contracts for average players , no sentiment .
Daniel 1875
09-04-2023, 05:55 PM
Under the current ownership I don’t doubt the club will remain safe. I don’t think they have the drive or nous to take us forward though.
We really need new ownership, or if the Gordon’s are to remain hands on we need to hear from them again. I don’t think for a second Kit wants to run a football club and I don’t think for a second Ian Gordon has the experience to do it.
‘We need new ownership’ means we need someone/a company to have £7m or so to buy a 67% stake in a Scottish football club though.
Where Sir Tom seemed to care about who he sold to, we’ve no guarantees the Gordons will do the same. Given the current state of the economy it’s not a given someone will have that money to part with for a football team in Scotland, and if they do have that money - who knows what type of person will win the bid?
09-04-2023, 05:58 PM
If we won a Scottish Cup with a morally dubious owner you'd be sat at home watching Netflix? Right enough. I just don't believe anyone he says stuff like that. If the devil bought Hibs I'd still go every week.
Dubious? ****ing murdering people isn't dubious.
I would no longer attend Hibs games, trust me.
Scotty Leither
09-04-2023, 05:59 PM
‘We need new ownership’ means we need someone/a company to have £7m or so to buy a 67% stake in a Scottish football club though.
Where Sir Tom seemed to care about who he sold to, we’ve no guarantees the Gordons will do the same. Given the current state of the economy it’s not a given someone will have that money to part with for a football team in Scotland, and if they do have that money - who knows what type of person will win the bid?
I really hope they’re putting feelers out, just the same Daniel. I would also hope Malcolm McPherson as Chairman is just a caretaker until a buyer is found.
09-04-2023, 06:06 PM
With the potential for European money that’s a relatively small investment for the right people.
In this case though, I’m not talking about someone coming in and throwing money at the club. I just want an owner that is driven, ambitious, knows what they’re doing and has a plan. I doubt very much if Kit Gordon ticks those boxes just now. I think under current ownership we will just drift along doing the bare minimum to survive.
HFC93
09-04-2023, 06:24 PM
Has anyone involved with the city group been convicted of murdering anyone?
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 06:26 PM
So would I tbf, maybe then we’d get our free cocaine and buckfast
09-04-2023, 06:32 PM
Club is soulless now tbh. Doubt it could get more devoid of soul.
I concur.
09-04-2023, 06:37 PM
Who is Sheikh Mansour murder accused of murdering?
I've googled but I can't find anything.
Money has goosed football anyway and we’ve done more than our bit for charity
09-04-2023, 06:50 PM
I think some wouldn’t like it morally for a while.
Until we start winning games, beating the old firm, getting in Europe and to cup finals etc.
If we did they would come back
It would all be forgotten quickly, much like Newcastle
LunasBoots
09-04-2023, 07:01 PM
Couldn't care less aslong as we are competitive on the pitch, don't think the Gordon's model is great for a club like ours, our expectations and there's are different.
09-04-2023, 07:04 PM
Until we start winning games, beating the old firm, getting in Europe and to cup finals etc.
It wouldn't matter if they didn't come back. The place would be full anyway.
09-04-2023, 07:14 PM
Who is Sheikh Mansour murder accused of murdering?
I've googled but I can't find anything.
His dreadful human rights violations have no doubt led to many deaths. Thats murder IMO.
Fair play to him, though, the sportswashing is working extremely well. A pointless discussion really. It would be one of the very few things that would make Hibs absolutely unsupportable to me. I will never change that opinion.
Yep, add in the new and younger fans who would be more inclined to support and attend Hibs games than the old firm if we had success.
Also more likely to drum up interest from abroad and have more of a global reach.
GreenGray
Problem is the chances of that happening are very slim so would only turn out badly
09-04-2023, 07:17 PM
Problem is the chances of that happening are very slim so would only turn out badly
I’m not meaning splitting the old firm, just being more competitive against them and the odd win.
Not something that isn’t achievable with the right recruitment and some money invested
HFC93
09-04-2023, 07:27 PM
His dreadful human rights violations have no doubt led to many deaths. Thats murder IMO.
Fair play to him, though, the sportswashing is working extremely well. A pointless discussion really. It would be one of the very few things that would make Hibs absolutely unsupportable to me. I will never change that opinion.
So the answer to the question 'has he actually murdered anyone' is 'no' and you've just made that up.
09-04-2023, 07:32 PM
I've no intention of trying to change your view.
Most of the clothes I wear are likely produced in countries with terrible human rights not to mention the electronics etc. I've no doubt people have died in those sweatshops, but calling it murder is a stretch.
However, I've no intention of trying to change your views.
09-04-2023, 07:35 PM
Do you support or watch any English Premier League football? Most of those clubs are owned by corporate sorts that have made a ridiculous wealth through rampant capitalism. Pretty much modern day slavery. If any of them are American owners then you also need to consider how many billions they have amassed whilst their employees likely couldn't afford to have health care and thus die younger than they should.
Working class die on average 10 years younger than rich elite in the US. West has a horrible way of judging elsewhere while we have huge injustices on our doorsteps.
09-04-2023, 07:38 PM
Hibs fans had their chance to stop this sort of stuf with HSL. It’s gone now. No point moaning about it now.
09-04-2023, 07:39 PM
It would be utterly pointless for the sole reason that if they did pump money into us and by some miracle we won the league we’d not be allowed to play in the Champions League anyway
I know the takeover would not be to the level or profile of Man City’s but the thought of Hibs becoming every Man City plastic/ hipsters second team, every social media post being jumped on by foreigners with no connection to the city or the club and Easter Road having football tourists every other week is just not for me. I’m not saying I’d stop going or that but for me things just wouldn’t be the same
09-04-2023, 07:41 PM
Supporters who’ve followed the club through thick and thin for years on end being replaced by new plastic fans wouldn’t matter? Ok!
09-04-2023, 07:42 PM
Is he involved with the City group?
Yes Managing Director of clubs
09-04-2023, 08:07 PM
It would be utterly pointless for the sole reason that if they did pump money into us and by some miracle we won the league we’d not be allowed to play in the Champions League anyway
I know the takeover would not be to the level or profile of Man City’s but the thought of Hibs becoming every Man City plastic/ hipsters second team, every social media post being jumped on by foreigners with no connection to the city or the club and Easter Road having football tourists every other week is just not for me. I’m not saying I’d stop going or that but for me things just wouldn’t be the same
There are many reasons to not be in favour of city group but missing out on champions league after winning the SPFL is not one of them. I’m very much of the cross that bridge type of person.
09-04-2023, 08:11 PM
Hibs fans had their chance to stop this sort of stuf with HSL. It’s gone now. No point moaning about it now.
Well said. I hope the folk who went out of their way to decry the scheme are well proud of that achievement.
09-04-2023, 08:17 PM
Supporters who’ve followed the club through thick and thin for years on end being replaced by new plastic fans wouldn’t matter? Ok!
There would be about 3.
Anyway, is ER always full of plastic fans on the occasions we sell all our tickets?
And, are all new fans "plastic"?
cameronw-hfc
09-04-2023, 08:39 PM
Don't Leipzig and Salszburg have a work around for this? Sure we could get one also if they're buying a team that will possibly be in the champs league.
09-04-2023, 08:51 PM
Don't Leipzig and Salszburg have a work around for this? Sure we could get one also if they're buying a team that will possibly be in the champs league.
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/uefa-champions-league/story/4901599/uefa-president-hints-at-softening-multi-club-ownership-rule?platform=amp
Looking like rules around multi-club ownership are going to be relaxed by UEFA as it becomes more prevalent in football.
May21/05/216
09-04-2023, 08:54 PM
Absolute nonsense
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
09-04-2023, 09:09 PM
[emoji23]
Crazy talk.
09-04-2023, 09:17 PM
i just want us to consistently beat the Motherwell/Dundee UTD/Ross co/Livingstons of this league :(
please
09-04-2023, 09:26 PM
Absolute nonsense
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
To be fair, talk of the city group being interested hasn’t come out of nowhere. LJ was quoted as saying we were in talks with them about a partnership.
I think that’s all it is though, talk of buying us and competing for league titles is a result of people putting 2 and 2 together and getting 1,875.
I do think something could be brewing in the background but I also think LJ is a slaver and it could just be a couple of loan players.
18Craig75
09-04-2023, 09:28 PM
i just want us to consistently beat the Motherwell/Dundee UTD/Ross co/Livingstons of this league :(
please
We had that in a certain Mr Ross but it wasn’t enough.
09-04-2023, 09:31 PM
I remember saying at the time that these were the good times, but folk wanted more and wouldnt listen. :duck:
09-04-2023, 09:42 PM
What about that right wing brexit fanboy Jim Ratcliffe ..... He is in the running for Man United, but he already has controle of Nice FC I think it is, he has sponsored a formula 1 team and owns a cycling team, formerly team SKY or something. Rumoured to have bid for Chelsea in the past.
If he doesn't get Man United perhaps a shot at ending the Ugly Sisters domination of Scottish football might appeal to him ..... the guy is absolutely minted and seems to like his toys.
09-04-2023, 09:50 PM
Jack Ross made me bored going to ER. The cup final against St Johnstone was absolutely the most cowardly, safe and inept performance I have seen from a hibs side.
No part of me misses the Jack Ross years. For those that do they can console themselves with the 5 glorious years of JDH he left us with.
09-04-2023, 09:51 PM
A bit about the clubs they currently have shares in https://www.sportingnews.com/uk/soccer/news/city-football-group-teams-man-city-owners/eqjrejqxn7q7nzqs7sazxdcx
Thanks for sharing that. I'm all onboard for getting involved in this.
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 10:03 PM
Didn’t know NYCFC were affiliated with the Y*nkees? Does this mean that CFG have a stake of some sort in the evil empire as well then?
09-04-2023, 10:07 PM
What about that right wing brexit fanboy Jim Ratcliffe ..... He is in the running for Man United, but he already has controle of Nice FC I think it is, he has sponsored a formula 1 team and owns a cycling team, formerly team SKY or something. Rumoured to have bid for Chelsea in the past.
If he doesn't get Man United perhaps a shot at ending the Ugly Sisters domination of Scottish football might appeal to him ..... the guy is absolutely minted and seems to like his toys.
Holidayed in Edinburgh once as a child, had an Irish Wolfhound, lobby of his mansion is painted apple green. Hates Rangers but as of yet doesnt know why. Minted he'll do.
Just_Jimmy
09-04-2023, 10:07 PM
If he doesn't get Man United perhaps a shot at ending the Ugly Sisters domination of Scottish football might appeal to him ..... the guy is absolutely minted and seems to like his toys.He's a manchester guy with links to united growing up. He's not arsed about hibs in a tin pot league. Why would he be? He's not buying united anyway.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 10:09 PM
I like beer but I still won’t drink Carling. He’s never interested in Hibs, because the overall product of Scottish football is ****.
09-04-2023, 10:20 PM
There’s only a few reasons to buy a club in Scotland, certainly one outside the Old Firm;
• You’re a fan, total emotional investment
• You own bigger clubs in bigger leagues, having smaller ones you own to send players to is the in thing
• You’re convinced there’s some way for the value of the club to greatly increase
• Some sort of Mad Vlad money laundering exercise or just generally out of their depth
The first is the ideal, but very unlikely, given the likely lack of that sort of person.
The second is becoming common, but do the big EPL sides really want to send their quality prospects to Scotland? Certainly to us? Seems to me in that scenario it’d be more like our usual loan experience; the guys they know won’t make it at their level, but if they do well could be sold on to a Championship club etc.
The third one was Ron and, with all respect, I think he was wrong. There’s not some pot of money to be made or likely way to greatly ramp up the money coming into the game as a whole. Sure, if the coefficient holds up (a big if) we could maybe get semi regular European money, but it’s likely small beans for a rich guy / business. Likely needs to be a long term bet on some sort of unified European / British league coming about. So not likely.
Last one, well, Scotland has seen Vlad and others who were just out of their depth and ran clubs into the skids…
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 10:24 PM
There’s only a few reasons to buy a club in Scotland, certainly one outside the Old Firm;
• You own bigger clubs in bigger leagues, having smaller ones you own to send players to is the in thing
• You’re convinced there’s some way for the value of the club to greatly increase
• Some sort of Mad Vlad money laundering exercise or just generally out of their depth
The first is the ideal, but very unlikely, given the likely lack of that sort of person.
The second is becoming common, but do the big EPL sides really want to send their quality prospects to Scotland? Certainly to us? Seems to me in that scenario it’d be more like our usual loan experience; the guys they know won’t make it at their level, but if they do well could be sold on to a Championship club etc.
The third one was Ron and, with all respect, I think he was wrong. There’s not some pot of money to be made or likely way to greatly ramp up the money coming into the game as a whole. Sure, if the coefficient holds up (a big if) we could maybe get semi regular European money, but it’s likely small beans for a rich guy / business. Likely needs to be a long term bet on some sort of unified European / British league coming about. So not likely.
Last one, well, Scotland has seen Vlad and others who were just out of their depth and ran clubs into the skids…
You forgot vanity. Imagine being the billionaire that ended the monopoly the old firm have had on Scottish football for 40 years. Billionaires are vain and borderline sociopathic (you need to be to make that amount of money, it’s impossible without exploiting others but that’s a matter for the holy ground) so honestly I can see one giving it a go one day
09-04-2023, 10:29 PM
Jack Ross win % as Hibs manager:
v Motherwell = 38%
v Ross County = 43%
v Dun Utd = 63%
v Livingston = 43%
09-04-2023, 10:32 PM
You forgot vanity. Imagine being the billionaire that ended the monopoly the old firm have had on Scottish football for 40 years. Billionaires are vain and borderline sociopathic (you need to be to make that amount of money, it’s impossible without exploiting others but that’s a matter for the holy ground) so honestly I can see one giving it a go one day
Without at least a local connection I doubt anyone would care, certainly outside of Scotland.
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2023, 10:34 PM
Without at least a local connection I doubt anyone would care, certainly outside of Scotland.
I mean maybe but the OF is a fixture watched worldwide and it’s well documented the stranglehold they have on our game. Would be a good bragging point on their yachts whilst whipping their servants
Bronson
09-04-2023, 10:45 PM
I’m not a fan of these city group / red bull setups but this just sounds a bit self righteous to me
09-04-2023, 10:58 PM
only for some
09-04-2023, 11:02 PM
please
We did that with Jack Ross and the general consensus was that wasn’t exciting enough as someone has mentioned.
Honestly, I have not the foggiest what our strategy is going forward. We need football people in the positions that concern the footballing departments going forward, whoever that may be.
09-04-2023, 11:15 PM
yup. Partick for me if that happens, until Hibs become fan owned. I'd honestly rather support a Hibs who know who they are and run by people who genuinely care about the club than a Hibs buying their way into competing with the OF whilst helping some horrible ersewipe look good.
09-04-2023, 11:29 PM
We did that with Jack Ross and the general consensus was that wasn’t exciting enough as someone has mentioned.
No we didn’t, that’s revisionist nonsense. St Johnstone are also noticeable by their absence on the list of teams we supposedly beat consistently.
Jack Ross win % as Hibs manager:
v Motherwell = 38%
v Ross County = 43%
v Dun Utd = 63%
v Livingston = 43%
09-04-2023, 11:39 PM
It’s not necessarily the win % against teams but also how much we lose.
Johnson’s team would be far higher if they had the ability to get a draw at times. Instead it’s a run of defeats which kills confidence of players and fans.
cameronw-hfc
09-04-2023, 11:54 PM
[emoji23]
Crazy talk.
Not really. Someone else posted the link about multi club ownership rules not being as harsh, if its an easy work around can't see why it's an issue
McHibby
10-04-2023, 12:11 AM
Wow. I had no idea they were involved with so many clubs. I know it isn't breaking any rules, but owning/ having shares in that many clubs doesn't feel right somehow.
Torto7
10-04-2023, 12:12 AM
There's always the chance in the future of Scottish clubs being in the English system. With the crackdown on devolution from our overlords they'd love to further erode Scottish identity by doing this. A lot of our fans would gullibly love it as well. If you're a smart business man Edinburgh would be a great location for a Premier League club and potentially however unlikely it is could take your initial 10million investment and give you a return that would make a Tory donor blush.
Torto7
10-04-2023, 12:21 AM
The money laundering angle I dont get. There's already some seriously dodgy people involved in Scottish football. Dermot Desmond has some iffy people he calls friends in Ireland. The Rangers directors box regularly features Stevie Malcolm, Bonzo Daniels and a whole heap of paramilitary loonies. Livingston are absolutely stinking and have been for years. One thing I'd say about STF and Rod was that they kept the more dodgy people away from the club.
Laundering money seems to be the new normal. Brexit is losing the UK billions, judging by the leaks surrounding government intervention in the Newcastle Utd deal due to the potential Saudi Investment in the wider economy then it looks like football is going to become the new cocaine. Cocaine was used for cashflow replacement in the trades and high street businesses post 08 due to the credit freeze with the government turning a bind eye.
Sometimes as ****ty as it is if you can't beat them then join them.
10-04-2023, 12:22 AM
Not really. Someone else posted the link about multi club ownership rules not being as harsh, if its an easy work around can't see why it's an issue
My point was that nobody really would care about not getting in champions league so long as we won the league.
10-04-2023, 06:56 AM
The money laundering angle I dont get. There's already some seriously dodgy people involved in Scottish football. Dermot Desmond has some iffy people he calls friends in Ireland. The Rangers directors box regularly features Stevie Malcolm, Bonzo Daniels and a whole heap of paramilitary loonies. Livingston are absolutely stinking and have been for years. One thing I'd say about STF and Rod was that they kept the more dodgy people away from the club.
Laundering money seems to be the new normal. Brexit is losing the UK billions, judging by the leaks surrounding government intervention in the Newcastle Utd deal due to the potential Saudi Investment in the wider economy then it looks like football is going to become the new cocaine. Cocaine was used for cashflow replacement in the trades and high street businesses post 08 due to the credit freeze with the government turning a bind eye.
Sometimes as ****ty as it is if you can't beat them then join them.
One of the more bonkers posts I’ve read on here for a while
10-04-2023, 07:21 AM
Johnson, Ross, Hecky… come on Hibs, you can do this
MelbourneHibees
10-04-2023, 07:26 AM
Melbourne City relatively recently were taken over by the City group. It turned off a lot of loyal Melbourne Heart fans back then. They were made to change their primary colours to the sky blue of man City (previously known for red and white stripes). Of course their name changed as well. Hibernian City anyone?
On the pitch they are on course to win their 2nd League title in a row however.
10-04-2023, 08:08 AM
Holidayed in Edinburgh once as a child, had an Irish Wolfhound, lobby of his mansion is painted apple green. Hates Rangers but as of yet doesnt know why. Minted he'll do.
Melbourne City relatively recently were taken over by the City group. It turned off a lot of loyal Melbourne Heart fans back then. They were made to change their primary colours to the sky blue of man City (previously known for red and white stripes). Of course their name changed as well. Hibernian City anyone?
City Group also took over Girona FC in Spain.
https://www.cityfootballgroup.com/media/1202/girona-fc-acquired-by-new-investors.pdf
They seem to have kept kept their name and colours. They did get relegated though.
Hibs4185
10-04-2023, 08:21 AM
City Group also took over Girona FC in Spain.
https://www.cityfootballgroup.com/media/1202/girona-fc-acquired-by-new-investors.pdf
They seem to have kept kept their name and colours. They did get relegated though.
There was a lengthy article about the city group posted, maybe on the PM board, explaining that if the team has a long history and association with a colour then the colour is Kept.
It’s only new teams or smaller teams that can be rebranded that have the city group blue.
Hibs would stay green if it happened
10-04-2023, 09:54 AM
Just you wait and see.
10-04-2023, 09:55 AM
Yes. I certainly would miss all our champions league games.
What is the point of being bought by billionaires if not to provide game changing investment in the team?
10-04-2023, 10:00 AM
Just you wait and see.
I’d be pretty sure that the numbers that would leave in protest would be far outnumbered by the number of fans, glory hunters or not, who’d turn up to watch a better performing Hibs team.
10-04-2023, 10:00 AM
What is the point of being bought by billionaires if not to provide game changing investment in the team?
I’m not entirely sure if you’re being serious or if this is a whoosh moment for me but I think there’s plenty point.
Im not interested in the a city group buying us and chucking loads of money at us, that simply isn’t happening. What we would have though is owners who know what they’re doing, want to own the club and have a strategy/plan for the future as well as an infrastructure and network that we can benefit from.
Just now I don’t think we have any of those things and while we are in safe hands in terms of the club continuing to exist, I don’t think we will kick on and progress.
10-04-2023, 12:25 PM
He's a manchester guy with links to united growing up. He's not arsed about hibs in a tin pot league. Why would he be? He's not buying united anyway.
I like beer but I still won’t drink Carling. He’s never interested in Hibs, because the overall product of Scottish football is ****.
How do you lot know what billionaires find interesting :greengrin
The guy owns a French football club who probably have about as much chance of winning their league as Hibs do going by the fact they haven't won it since the mid 70s. He isn't French or from Nice either, so roots in the area don't seem to be a make or break factor to him. He's also sunk vast amounts into an America's cup boat, a sporting event 99% of the world couldn't give a rats arse about, I wonder what his childhood link to yacht racing is.
As others have pointed out Billionaires have egos ... the sort of thing that makes guys like Richard Branson fly balloons across the Atlantic and build space ships and Elon Musk pish billions up the wall buying twitter, this is a man who has already shown his heart lies in the sporting world. Any owner who could drive a Scottish football club to break a 40 year old duopoly of our league would make headlines across the sporting world, even more so if it could make a dent in the Europa league. How many of us give a **** about baseball, but it still made the BBC news when the Red Sox finally won the world series.
If you are going to bust the Ugly sisters closed shop Hibs are exactly the team you need to buy. A big latent fanbase which could easily fill a 23,000 capacity revamped Easter Road if motivated by a good team and good results .... If you can't sell the attraction of what could be done with Hibs with the right investment you totally lack imagination ... we are most of the way to a top class stadium, most of the way to a top class training facility and we have the support .... Leading this club to winning the league could have you pressing the flesh all over the football world.
I think that makes us an extremely attractive proposition for folk with deep pockets and money to burn ..... we just need to point the right folk in our direction and sell the proposition to them.
chippy
10-04-2023, 12:37 PM
Or if HS could persuade 7000 Hibs fans to part with £1000 each in some sort of deal with the Gordon family? Im assuming HS have around 2-2500 donators. If it was an existential issue re Hibs survival would another 4-6000 Hibs fans pony up?
10-04-2023, 12:42 PM
I’m not entirely sure if you’re being serious or if this is a whoosh moment for me but I think there’s plenty point.
Im not interested in the a city group buying us and chucking loads of money at us, that simply isn’t happening. What we would have though is owners who know what they’re doing, want to own the club and have a strategy/plan for the future as well as an infrastructure and network that we can benefit from.
Just now I don’t think we have any of those things and while we are in safe hands in terms of the club continuing to exist, I don’t think we will kick on and progress.
What would that plan be, other than a guarantee we would never be allowed a chance at qualifying for the champions league, or any competition in which another city group club was involved?
10-04-2023, 12:44 PM
I’d be pretty sure that the numbers that would leave in protest would be far outnumbered by the number of fans, glory hunters or not, who’d turn up to watch a better performing Hibs team.
You’re probably right.
Most people couldn’t care less, so long as they personally see a benefit.
10-04-2023, 12:47 PM
As I’ve said elsewhere, uefa rules mean we would never be allowed to put together a title challenge if owned by city group.
Stairway 2 7
10-04-2023, 12:48 PM
A few dozen would stop going and be very vocal, thousands would replace them though. I'm sure some city fans stopped going but they are expanding their stadium again next year. Not that I think it's going to happen
Stairway 2 7
10-04-2023, 12:48 PM
As I’ve said elsewhere, uefa rules mean we would never be allowed to put together a title challenge if owned by city group.
Like the two red bull teams that are in champions league at the same time
10-04-2023, 12:49 PM
Is that really on your radar as a potential problem?
10-04-2023, 01:00 PM
Why is that
10-04-2023, 01:02 PM
Why is that
UEFA say that no one is allowed to own two or more clubs in the same competition.
10-04-2023, 01:03 PM
Is that really on your radar as a potential problem?
People are getting giddy because they think a takeover by city group would enable Hibs to become a force in Scottish football. I’m just pointing out the obvious flaw in that thinking.
10-04-2023, 01:09 PM
UEFA say that no one is allowed to own two or more clubs in the same competition.
What’s the script with the Red Bull teams?
10-04-2023, 01:09 PM
People are getting giddy because they think a takeover by city group would enable Hibs to become a force in Scottish football. I’m just pointing out the obvious flaw in that thinking.
Are they? That’s not the tone I’m getting from this thread. I’m sure most are pretty realistic to know any investment wouldn’t be Man City levels of funding. I’m getting a bit giddy at what non financial support they could offer the club in terms of ambition, strategy and the relationship with the other clubs within the group. If they can chuck a few quid our way as well then great.
Just_Jimmy
10-04-2023, 01:11 PM
How do you lot know what billionaires find interesting :greengrin
The guy owns a French football club who probably have about as much chance of winning their league as Hibs do going by the fact they haven't won it since the mid 70s. He isn't French or from Nice either, so roots in the area don't seem to be a make or break factor to him. He's also sunk vast amounts into an America's cup boat, a sporting event 99% of the world couldn't give a rats arse about, I wonder what his childhood link to yacht racing is.
As others have pointed out Billionaires have egos ... the sort of thing that makes guys like Richard Branson fly balloons across the Atlantic and build space ships and Elon Musk pish billions up the wall buying twitter, this is a man who has already shown his heart lies in the sporting world. Any owner who could drive a Scottish football club to break a 40 year old duopoly of our league would make headlines across the sporting world, even more so if it could make a dent in the Europa league. How many of us give a **** about baseball, but it still made the BBC news when the Red Sox finally won the world series.
If you are going to bust the Ugly sisters closed shop Hibs are exactly the team you need to buy. A big latent fanbase which could easily fill a 23,000 capacity revamped Easter Road if motivated by a good team and good results .... If you can't sell the attraction of what could be done with Hibs with the right investment you totally lack imagination ... we are most of the way to a top class stadium, most of the way to a top class training facility and we have the support .... Leading this club to winning the league could have you pressing the flesh all over the football world.
I think that makes us an extremely attractive proposition for folk with deep pockets and money to burn ..... we just need to point the right folk in our direction and sell the proposition to them.He has a base out in France, Monaco I think. Nice is a Nice part of the world.
Just drop him and line and see what he says? Hopefully I'm wrong and he throws us a couple of hundred million.
Stairway 2 7
10-04-2023, 01:13 PM
It's easily sorted with administration so both teams qualify OK whilst both owned by red bull. As if Radcliffe would buy man u thinking only either them or nice could be in the champs league
10-04-2023, 01:36 PM
Absolutely hope not.
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/uefa-champions-league/story/4901599/uefa-president-hints-at-softening-multi-club-ownership-rule
Think another City group team in the Conference League might be more of a worry though. :wink:
10-04-2023, 01:38 PM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11945/10921621/rb-leipzig-and-red-bull-salzburg-to-compete-in-champions-league-after-uefa-ruling
RB claim they don't own Salzburg any more and are just a sponsor. Think it's pretty complex ownership structure behind it all though. :rolleyes:
10-04-2023, 01:41 PM
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/uefa-champions-league/story/4901599/uefa-president-hints-at-softening-multi-club-ownership-rule
Think another City group team in the Conference League might be more of a worry though. :wink:
And if it doesn’t happen, Hibs will also never qualify for the champions league.
10-04-2023, 01:56 PM
yup. Partick for me if that happens, until Hibs become fan owned. I'd honestly rather support a Hibs who know who they are and run by people who genuinely care about the club than a Hibs buying their way into competing with the OF whilst helping some horrible ersewipe look good.
We had that for decades under STF, and RG certainly seemed to care. We just need to find someone else similar.
Or maybe we don't.
Maybe McPherson or Kensall will update us with a new 5 year plan or such like at the end of the season. Just need to see this one through before anything will happen I think.
10-04-2023, 02:09 PM
I'm considering putting in a bid for Hibs myself.
Just bought a house, though, so funds are a bit limited.
10-04-2023, 03:21 PM
While this story is likely not true I’d say that there is a very good chance that the club is currently but quietly up for sale. I think we’ll see some change next season.
10-04-2023, 03:31 PM
While this story is likely not true I’d say that there is a very good chance that the club is currently but quietly up for sale. I think we’ll see some change next season.
What makes you think this?
10-04-2023, 03:34 PM
I’m wondering more and more why I care about football anymore. The people running it clearly don’t care about us.
10-04-2023, 03:36 PM
Contrary to popular belief there will be plenty interest as well.
Rod Petrie stated openly at the memorial for Ron Gordon that when STF let it be known the club was up for sale that there were 'several' interested parties but RG was who they wanted to do the deal with.
We were a far more attractive prospect from when STF took over to when he sold because of the entirely rebuilt stadium and training centre. With the further upgrades to the stadium and hospitality we are probably a bit more attractive, if more expensive, still.
I've no idea if we are for sale or not but if we are then there will be plenty suitors.
10-04-2023, 03:38 PM
Or if HS could persuade 7000 Hibs fans to part with £1000 each in some sort of deal with the Gordon family? Im assuming HS have around 2-2500 donators. If it was an existential issue re Hibs survival would another 4-6000 Hibs fans pony up?
I love my club but in no reality would I part with £1000 to help buy Hibs. I am happy to continue with paying my £10 a month to HSL. If we got another 5000 fans paying £10 a month it would still take us 8 years to buy the club. No seller would wait that length of time to get their money
Scotty Leither
10-04-2023, 03:47 PM
Contrary to popular belief there will be plenty interest as well.
Rod Petrie stated openly at the memorial for Ron Gordon that when STF let it be known the club was up for sale that there were 'several' interested parties but RG was who they wanted to do the deal with.
We were a far more attractive prospect from when STF took over to when he sold because of the entirely rebuilt stadium and training centre. With the further upgrades to the stadium and hospitality we are probably a bit more attractive, if more expensive, still.
I've no idea if we are for sale or not but if we are then there will be plenty suitors.
Yup - fresh ideas ON the park would be a big plus for any putative owners plus a willingness to work with HSL would reinvigorate the support, IMO.
10-04-2023, 03:47 PM
What makes you think this?
I think the owner passing away will have changed things and it wouldn’t be surprising if his heirs are not interested in owning Hibs and would prefer to sell and collect their money.
No idea how his estate will be split but if it’s among multiple people then I think even more chance that agreement to keep Hibs is unlikely.
As PB says, there will be lots of interest and I’m not overly worried. Although on pitch it’s been a dud, off the pitch the changes RG brought in have been very positive.
10-04-2023, 03:55 PM
I think the owner passing away will have changed things and it wouldn’t be surprising if his heirs are not interested in owning Hibs and would prefer to sell and collect their money.
No idea how his estate will be split but if it’s among multiple people then I think even more chance that agreement to keep Hibs is unlikely.
As PB says, there will be lots of interest and I’m not overly worried. Although on pitch it’s been a dud, off the pitch the changes RG brought in have been very positive.
Just keeping Hibs can’t be an option.
If they want to be owners of the club then great, they need to fully embrace that and show everybody what their vision is and work hard towards ensuring the vision becomes a reality. It won’t happen without their hard work.
If they’ve got ideas of just drifting along, letting the people at the club do everything for them then that’s a disaster waiting to happen and they need to sell asap.
10-04-2023, 04:02 PM
If they want to be owners of the club then great, they need to fully embrace that and show everybody what their vision is and work hard towards ensuring the vision becomes a reality. It won’t happen without their hard work.
If they’ve got ideas of just drifting along, letting the people at the club do everything for them then that’s a disaster waiting to happen and they need to sell asap.
Agree. A sale is probably best for all parties now.
10-04-2023, 04:07 PM
Agree. A sale is probably best for all parties now.
I’d like our future owner/owners to be in and around the club everyday
No more foreign owners please
10-04-2023, 04:10 PM
I think that’s unlikely the way things seem to be going. I can’t think of any prominent Scottish businessmen these days with that kind of money willing to spend it.
chippy
10-04-2023, 04:13 PM
I love my club but in no reality would I part with £1000 to help buy Hibs. I am happy to continue with paying my £10 a month to HSL. If we got another 5000 fans paying £10 a month it would still take us 8 years to buy the club. No seller would wait that length of time to get their money
If you’re paying a tenner a month you’ve already probably contributed a few hundred. A £1000 quid in a structured deal over 3 years or so might be easier to contemplate. For the price of a washing machine I’d want to save and be a partial owner of the Hibs
10-04-2023, 04:24 PM
If you’re paying a tenner a month you’ve already probably contributed a few hundred. A £1000 quid in a structured deal over 3 years or so might be easier to contemplate. For the price of a washing machine I’d want to save and be a partial owner of the Hibs
I think the fan ownership ship has sailed for Hibs. The desire just wasn’t there for it. We just have to hope for good new owners.
10-04-2023, 04:25 PM
I think the fan ownership ship has sailed for Hibs. The desire just wasn’t there for it. We just have to hope for good new owners.
Exactly
10-04-2023, 04:35 PM
Like the owner we had before Ron:greengrin
10-04-2023, 04:41 PM
Every sympathy for the Gordon family, but the only way their continued ownership can succeed is if one of them (Ian or whoever) steps forward into the spotlight as figurehead and outlines the direction and strategy.
They can’t just stay in the background hoping everything will be ok.
10-04-2023, 04:54 PM
I think whe Ron made his final address to the fans revealing the treatment he had been having he knew it was not to be a positive outcome.
He assured the fans in his statement the that the family shared his vision going forward .
I think that is why Malcolm was appointed to be advisor to the Gordon family .
I am sure the Gordon's are wise people in terms of business acumen.
Ron had his hand in many pies over the years and all successful.
The Gordons would have learnt from or were directly involved in his US ventures.
Certainly Mrs Gordon was.
Whilst Ian was /has been criticised for his role, i dont believe he made decisions unilaterally regard signings.
I also know others have views on Malcolm being appointed.
I am sure before or at seasons end the Gordon family will communicate to the supporters their future,ongoing plans .
Ron did remind us of the Clan Gordon motto,though!
"Bide and Fecht!".....
...Stay and Fight
Not just Persevere.:greengrin
He was with us a short time and he is missed.
Mainly of course by his family,but also the supporters who had faith in Ron.
I trust in the Gordon's to do what is best for Hibernian.
chippy
10-04-2023, 05:11 PM
Sometimes life throws up second chances. If it does maybe folks will be wiser than wait for some rich person to buy a plaything in Hibs. The basic model is 5 miles away in Gorgie, with St Mirren and Motherwell not doing too shabbily either. Possibly it might take an existential crisis
hibeerealist
10-04-2023, 05:19 PM
I think whe Ron made his final address to the fans revealing the treatment he had been having he knew it was not to be a positive outcome.
He assured the fans in his statement the that the family shared his vision going forward .
The Gordons would have learnt from or were directly involved in his US ventures.
Whilst Ian was /has been criticised for his role, i dont believe he made decisions unilaterally regard signings.
I am sure before or at seasons end the Gordon family will communicate to the supporters their future,ongoing plans .
"Bide and Fecht!".....
...Stay and Fight
Good post Mick, I believe a lot of is supporters feel he same way!!
10-04-2023, 05:37 PM
"Bide and Fecht!".....
...Stay and Fight
Good post
👍
10-04-2023, 05:43 PM
"Bide and Fecht!".....
...Stay and Fight
Not saying your wrong. I have no clue what the situation is. Just that I wouldn’t be surprised if we were sold soon.
10-04-2023, 05:55 PM
Then I’d be thinking something is happening and I’m in to something good but my sentimental friend wouldn’t like it
10-04-2023, 05:57 PM
Would you stop posting on here?
I’m away to google how much it is to buy a camel.
10-04-2023, 06:14 PM
Would you stop posting on here?
I’m away to google how much it is to buy a camel.
No need. They are so rich they would give us all one each anyway.
10-04-2023, 08:12 PM
Anyone heard similar?
Not posted on here for a while as got a bit fed up lol. I didn’t want to post this but yes that’s also what I’ve been told. 4 meetings been had already
Stairway 2 7
10-04-2023, 08:16 PM
Not posted on here for a while as got a bit fed up lol. I didn’t want to post this but yes that’s also what I’ve been told. 4 meetings been had already
I wonder if they were impressed by our performance 😆
10-04-2023, 08:22 PM
I wonder if they were impressed by our performance 😆
They were probably able to knock down the asking price🙈
10-04-2023, 08:37 PM
Interesting
7Hero
10-04-2023, 08:47 PM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_Football_Group
fascinating stuff.
im in :greengrin
Hibees1973
10-04-2023, 08:50 PM
In all probability the Gordon's will sell the club sooner rather than later. I would be surprised if they still own the club this time next year.
When it was announced that they would continue Ron's legacy and his plans, what else could they say in the aftermath of Ron's death. In all reality Hibs were Ron's baby and I don't expect his wife or one of his sons to have the same appetite to own a football club as Ron did.
So, we are in a period of transition and at a bit of an impasse as far as a clear direction going forward.
I don't see any real investment being put into the playing side by the Gordon family, other than from season ticket sales and the usual revolving door of below average players leaving and coming in. Even if Joe Pasquale loses on Saturday I reckon he won't be sacked. It will be very expensive to sack another manager and his staff. If by some miracle he is sacked I do hope Kensall fronts up and resigns as well. He fired Ross, then appointed Maloney & Johnson. It's clear to everyone Ross is at least twice the manager than his two successors. After Saturday we will just stagger along until the end of the season. It will then be a bit of a waiting game over the summer and beyond when we find out who will eventually take over Hibs.
What is odd as well is that there appears to be little progress on a DOF after Kensall's statement at the end of last year. This is more evidence that there is no clear decision making or direction.
When Ron bought Hibs I understand he wrote off the clubs' debts. I may be wrong with this. However, I wonder what the bottom line is on our debts just now. Firing Ross & Maloney with their assistants would have been expensive. A lot of money has also been spent on dross. All these development players who have not got near the 1st team and others such as Melkerson, Tavares and McKirdy have hardly kicked a ball for us. There are numerous others who have done next to nothing.
When the Gordon's do sell I hope they leave the clubs' books in the same order as when Ron bought Hibs and wrote off our debts.
I can only see confusion, turmoil and inconsistent results until a new owner comes in. Many will say that's what we are like anyway. However, I do hope we are taken over by local business people and able to get the connection back with supporters again.
10-04-2023, 08:54 PM
A Scottish club makes sense for City group looking at their portfolio and Scotlands proximity to their flagship club.
10-04-2023, 08:58 PM
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_Football_Group
fascinating stuff.
im in :greengrin
Breaking News !!
Fred Flintstone buys Hibernian Football Club
Abu Dhabi Doo !:greengrin
HibeeSince85
10-04-2023, 09:04 PM
When this rumour first started to do the rounds on the PM board from Bingo(who IIRC was just connecting a few dots due to Marwood being up and some of the comments from LJ) I never thought it was going to happen. I'm starting to believe this more and more now as it starts to grow arms and legs.
I get folks reservations but surely it is going to be a much more exciting time than struggling to achieve top six.
I can't see us winning the league anytime soon if at all but it would be nice to establish ourselves as the third force in Scotland and go from there.
10-04-2023, 10:02 PM
In all probability the Gordon's will sell the club sooner rather than later. I would be surprised if they still own the club this time next year.
When it was announced that they would continue Ron's legacy and his plans, what else could they say in the aftermath of Ron's death. In all reality Hibs were Ron's baby and I don't expect his wife or one of his sons to have the same appetite to own a football club as Ron did.
So, we are in a period of transition and at a bit of an impasse as far as a clear direction going forward.
I don't see any real investment being put into the playing side by the Gordon family, other than from season ticket sales and the usual revolving door of below average players leaving and coming in. Even if Joe Pasquale loses on Saturday I reckon he won't be sacked. It will be very expensive to sack another manager and his staff. If by some miracle he is sacked I do hope Kensall fronts up and resigns as well. He fired Ross, then appointed Maloney & Johnson. It's clear to everyone Ross is at least twice the manager than his two successors. After Saturday we will just stagger along until the end of the season. It will then be a bit of a waiting game over the summer and beyond when we find out who will eventually take over Hibs.
What is odd as well is that there appears to be little progress on a DOF after Kensall's statement at the end of last year. This is more evidence that there is no clear decision making or direction.
When Ron bought Hibs I understand he wrote off the clubs' debts. I may be wrong with this. However, I wonder what the bottom line is on our debts just now. Firing Ross & Maloney with their assistants would have been expensive. A lot of money has also been spent on dross. All these development players who have not got near the 1st team and others such as Melkerson, Tavares and McKirdy have hardly kicked a ball for us. There are numerous others who have done next to nothing.
When the Gordon's do sell I hope they leave the clubs' books in the same order as when Ron bought Hibs and wrote off our debts.
I can only see confusion, turmoil and inconsistent results until a new owner comes in. Many will say that's what we are like anyway. However, I do hope we are taken over by local business people and able to get the connection back with supporters again.
I wouldn’t underestimate the commitment from Ron Gordon. He did clear the debts when he arrived, albeit STF didn’t charge him much for his shareholding. And as you say bad decisions will have cost since then, plus the pandemic of course.
Yes, he was open and honest about wanting to make money, but his affection for the club seemed very genuine and I think the custodianship came first. I’ll trust the Gordon family to pass the club on in good shape - when that time comes - rather than try to rinse as much cash out of us as possible.
I can understand the DoF appointment being held up when Ron became ill, but I have limited faith in our CEO to get it right anyhow.
10-04-2023, 10:15 PM
Taken from The Scotsman report and Club website of Ron's own and his family's message to the supporters.
"In his letter to fans Ron reaffirmed his family’s commitment to the club and his family have pledged to carry on the work he was doing at the club, stating that they will ‘continue to invest in the first team, academy, women’s team, club infrastructure, and Community Foundation with pride’.
So those are the words of a man when clearly new the treatment for his illness was not ,sadly, going to be successful.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/a-message-from-the-gordon-family
Puzzled !!?
LJ and his connection to Brian Marwood has some thinking we are going to be added to Marwood's global portfolio.
Did Marwood visit East Mains 4 times (as someone stated) before or after Ron passed away ?
I would have thought that a man in his lofty position visiting Hibs training centre so many times, would have alerted some media/newspaper interest .
Did it ?
10-04-2023, 10:18 PM
I’m not sure being owned by the City Group is a guarantee of improvement or success? Melbourne seem to have done alright, Girona got relegated, don’t think New York City or anything special in the MLS…
Ultimately, what would our role be in the system? Is the idea that we would attempt to round up talented local youngsters and mix them with anyone City send us? What sort of players would come here, would they be sending future stars or just guys that haven’t ‘made it’ with them but could yet be sold to the Championship etc?
Regardless, I don’t see it being a situation focused on making Hibs particularly successful as it’s primary goal.
Greenio
10-04-2023, 10:22 PM
Don't like the idea of being owned by a global football brand.
That's just me though
10-04-2023, 10:42 PM
Taken from The Scotsman report and Club website of Ron's own and his family's message to the supporters.
"In his letter to fans Ron reaffirmed his family’s commitment to the club and his family have pledged to carry on the work he was doing at the club, stating that they will ‘continue to invest in the first team, academy, women’s team, club infrastructure, and Community Foundation with pride’.
So those are the words of a man when clearly new the treatment for his illness was not ,sadly, going to be successful.
Puzzled !!?
LJ and his connection to Brian Marwood has some thinking we are going to be added to Marwood's global portfolio.
Did Marwood visit East Mains 4 times (as someone stated) before or after Ron passed away ?
I would have thought that a man in his lofty position visiting Hibs training centre so many times, would have alerted some media/newspaper interest .
Did it ?
Lee Johnson said in the media Marwood had visited East Mains twice recently so it definitely happened. For what reasons he didn’t expand upon though.
It’s also worth remembering it was LJ who said last week about creating a partnership with the City group and listed the ways we could benefit so this isn’t pie in the sky stuff coming from excitable supporters.
There are other things as well such as LJ asking a fan at a business event how he’d feel about the club being bought over by the City group. Ben Kensell also connected with someone with connections to the city group on LinkedIn which got tongues wagging at the time.
Edit:- FWIW I’m not saying I think it’ll happen or we’re being bought over. I think it’s more likely we are getting into some partnership with them not too dissimilar to what we announced with Brighton but did nothing about. I’m pretty certain, ‘something’ is happening though.
10-04-2023, 10:48 PM
Lee Johnson said in the media Marwood had visited East Mains twice recently so it definitely happened. For what reasons he didn’t expand upon though.
It’s also worth remembering it was LJ who said last week about creating a partnership with the City group and listed the ways we could benefit so this isn’t pie in the sky stuff coming from excitable supporters.
There are other things as well such as LJ asking a fan at a business event how he’d feel about the club being bought over by the City group. Ben Kensell also connected with someone with connections to the city group on LinkedIn which got tongues wagging at the time.
Edit:- FWIW I’m not saying I think it’ll happen or we’re being bought over. I think it’s more likely we are getting into some partnership with them not too dissimilar to what we announced with Brighton but did nothing about. I’m pretty certain, ‘something’ is happening though.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/its-like-popcorn-why-lee-johnson-didnt-call-on-hibs-kids-during-bad-run-and-how-they-stand-to-benefit-from-january-rejig-4034646
“ Johnson recalls friend and colleague Brian Marwood, currently the City Football Group’s Managing Director of Global Football, visiting Hibs in the midst of the poor run of form and then coming back last month and being dumbstruck by the change in mood.
"He thought it was unbelievable. He found everyone was polite, everything was clean, the training sessions were on point and the lads are fully at it. Mykola [Kukharevych] loves it, CJ Egan-Riley – who he knows from his time at Manchester City – loves it, and that’s what I’m proud of. “
I know LJ and Marwood have a good relationship however you don’t go and visit a friend at work hundreds of miles away twice unless it’s in a professional capacity of sorts IMO.
10-04-2023, 10:57 PM
Puzzled !!?
Did it ?
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10476751/aiden-mcgeady-injury-update-hibs/
“ Who in their right mind would turn down the opportunity to have a fantastic link with top clubs?
“It’s not just younger players; we’re talking about partnerships, data transfer, sponsorship.
“The City Football Group as an example must have about 600 players — and it might be a 32-year-old who has the potential to jump into a different country. Everything is assessed.”
The fact he says it’s about a partnership, data transfer and sponsorships suggests it’s more than just loaning a few young players. How much more remains to be seen but I think LJs quotes certainly make it worthy of discussion and not written off too quickly. I’m a bit surprised the media haven’t probed more on the back of it but knowing how the media work here, that in itself adds to the suspicion.
Apologies for the old links, some people may not have seen them or picked up on them though as they were hidden away at the bottom of other articles. Seems relevant to post again seeing as the rumour gathering pace again.
Nutmegged
10-04-2023, 11:31 PM
It's end game if we're bought over by the City Group, not in the sense that we'll disappear but I think once we're in then we're in for life, I'm not sure if I'm all that comfortable with that although I'm also not saying I'm dead against it.
To be honest I'm surprised the City Group haven't bought a Scottish club already, with the relatively easy route into Europe for a decent run club you'd think it's a territory they'd see as a good opportunity for their players.
City sent guys like Paddy Roberts to Girona, we could maybe see ourselves on the end of those kind of loan signings, you'd also think they'd invest heavily in our youth development knowing they'd get first dibs on anyone showing significant promise.
I've spent 35 years watching us toil with the odd sprinkle or good form, many on here will have done much more time than that and then there's younger folk on here who'll have another 70 years of this same old same old to look forward to, the City Group might be end game in terms of ownership but if they were serious then I think I'd be all in on them in the hope they could see potential in Hibs being a Europa League club and maybe more.
11-04-2023, 05:40 AM
Are clubs in the city group even doing well? I genuinely don't know. That's the most important thing. No point being in the city group and still being mediocre.
11-04-2023, 07:15 AM
I’d be all up for it. It would give us a stability and platform to build to be at the least 3rd best.
let’s be honest we are going nowhere at the moment.
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/blog-espn-fc-united/story/4744770/if-man-citys-global-conglomeratecity-football-groupis-the-future-of-soccer-can-anyone-else-compete?platform=amp
11-04-2023, 07:18 AM
Are clubs in the city group even doing well? I genuinely don't know. That's the most important thing. No point being in the city group and still being mediocre.
Very good question
11-04-2023, 07:25 AM
Most of them seem to have won a title in last few years.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/City_Football_Group
11-04-2023, 07:47 AM
Girona are mid table in La Liga which I think is pretty good for them.
They drew 0-0 last night with Barcelona at the Neu Camp.
Up-the-slope
11-04-2023, 07:50 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/its-like-popcorn-why-lee-johnson-didnt-call-on-hibs-kids-during-bad-run-and-how-they-stand-to-benefit-from-january-rejig-4034646
“ Johnson recalls friend and colleague Brian Marwood, currently the City Football Group’s Managing Director of Global Football, visiting Hibs in the midst of the poor run of form and then coming back last month and being dumbstruck by the change in mood.
"He thought it was unbelievable. He found everyone was polite, everything was clean, the training sessions were on point and the lads are fully at it. Mykola [Kukharevych] loves it, CJ Egan-Riley – who he knows from his time at Manchester City – loves it, and that’s what I’m proud of. “
I know LJ and Marwood have a good relationship however you don’t go and visit a friend at work hundreds of miles away twice unless it’s in a professional capacity of sorts IMO.
Maybe hes another whos got himself a Scottish Burd :dunno:
11-04-2023, 07:53 AM
Girona mid-table in La Liga, Troyes in relegation trouble in Ligue 1, Lommel bottom half of second tier in Belgium, Palermo mid-table Serie B.
Those are the European clubs, other than Man City.
No crazy investment, although improvements at most and early days at Palermo, with a handful of loans between the various teams each season, with the exception of the Italians just now.
Approached Breda in Holland but met with stiff opposition from fans.
11-04-2023, 08:12 AM
Girona mid-table in La Liga, Troyes in relegation trouble in Ligue 1, Lommel bottom half of second tier in Belgium, Palermo mid-table Serie B.
Those are the European clubs, other than Man City.
No crazy investment, although improvements at most and early days at Palermo, with a handful of loans between the various teams each season, with the exception of the Italians just now.
Approached Breda in Holland but met with stiff opposition from fans.
doesn’t sound all that appetising tbh
Trinity Hibee
11-04-2023, 08:15 AM
It's end game if we're bought over by the City Group, not in the sense that we'll disappear but I think once we're in then we're in for life, I'm not sure if I'm all that comfortable with that although I'm also not saying I'm dead against it.
To be honest I'm surprised the City Group haven't bought a Scottish club already, with the relatively easy route into Europe for a decent run club you'd think it's a territory they'd see as a good opportunity for their players.
City sent guys like Paddy Roberts to Girona, we could maybe see ourselves on the end of those kind of loan signings, you'd also think they'd invest heavily in our youth development knowing they'd get first dibs on anyone showing significant promise.
I've spent 35 years watching us toil with the odd sprinkle or good form, many on here will have done much more time than that and then there's younger folk on here who'll have another 70 years of this same old same old to look forward to, the City Group might be end game in terms of ownership but if they were serious then I think I'd be all in on them in the hope they could see potential in Hibs being a Europa League club and maybe more.
That’s a good point about being in it for life. Not having the option to leave a system if it’s not working for us doesn’t sound appealing. Being part of a group where resources are shared doesn’t scream they are focussed on Hibs.
Stairway 2 7
11-04-2023, 08:18 AM
doesn’t sound all that appetising tbh
All teams have improved Troyes, Palermo and Lommel have had a promotion. Think the equivalent for us would be from mid table to regular top 4. They won't blast millions but would increase a level
11-04-2023, 08:22 AM
Steve Bould at Lommel and Edinburgh is a lovely city lol
11-04-2023, 08:26 AM
The City Group are also behind improving infrastructure of clubs.
Even recently it was announced New York City were going to build a new stadium costing £780 million.
We aren’t going anywhere fast under the current set up so would be all for working with others and improving the whole club.
Could you imagine if LJ is the one to sort the deal out ? Does that explain why his position seems so safe ?
11-04-2023, 08:28 AM
The City Group are also behind improving infrastructure of clubs.
Even recently it was announced New York City were going to build a new stadium costing £780 million.
We aren’t going anywhere fast under the current set up so would be all for working with others and improving the whole club.
Have you been inside the new hospitality areas at ER recently?
Its not correct to state that we are not going anywhere fast, commercial turnover is massively up.
On the pitch is an issue.
Posh Swanny
11-04-2023, 08:34 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/football/2020/jan/11/brian-marwood-pep-guardiola-manchester-city-football-group
This article is from a few years ago but gives an interesting insight into the philosophy of CFG. Postecoglu at Yokohama when it was written, so a bit on him too.
Interesting that they embrace the idea of giving a manager time to embed a new playing style, even in the face of intense pressure. That sort of thing would never catch on here! 😂
Mcbizz1998
11-04-2023, 08:37 AM
Not sure about the city group stuff. Being part of a portfolio of clubs where players are loaned all over the place doesn’t sound that good.
Would prefer we found a new owner who had a sole focus on our club.
11-04-2023, 08:42 AM
Not sure about the city group stuff. Being part of a handful of clubs where players are loaned all over the place doesn’t sound that good.
Would prefer we found a new owner who had a sole focus on our club.
The number of Hibs fans happy to see our club become someone else’s ***** is really quite concerning.
11-04-2023, 08:44 AM
After thinking about it, i find the city group stuff a bit soulless to be honest. I'd be worried we'd lose a bit of our identity. Not quite Red Bull Edinburgh territory but still not too keen. I do think we need new ownership though. We're stagnating right now and the one chink of light that may or may not have driven us forward (Ron) isn't here anymore. Said it before but it all feels very pre 2016 to me now.
11-04-2023, 08:48 AM
The number of Hibs fans happy to see our club become someone else’s ***** is really quite concerning.
that’s where I am.
I can understand people being completely and utterly fed up with the rubbish we’ve got, football is supposed to be an entertaining distraction from the stress of our daily lives… but this just sounds all so plastic.
Hibs are a proud Edinburgh community going back to 1875, not just one more asset in the portfolio of a group of human rights abusers.
11-04-2023, 08:55 AM
After thinking about it, i find the city group stuff a bit soulless to be honest. I'd be worried we'd lose a bit of our identity. Not quite Red Bull Edinburgh territory but still not too keen. I do think we need new ownership though. We're stagnating right now and the one chink of light that may or may not have driven us forward (Ron) isn't here anymore. Said it before but it all feels very pre 2016 to me now.
I think it’s a bit unfair to say that before we know all the details.
City group have done a lot to improve the communities of the clubs they invest in for example. There’s no suggestion of them coming in and throwing money around at players, they just want to improve clubs by doing things the right way and having a really effective infrastructure.
I’m happy to remain open minded until we get more meat on the bones. I still think it sounds like there’s an element of LJ using it as leverage to keep his job next season so there’s every chance his quotes were over egging the possibility of a relationship.
11-04-2023, 09:29 AM
Agreed
It just would not be the Hibs we’re all accustomed to, we’d be just another name in a portfolio.
The thought of it makes me a wee bit sad, and I really hope it doesn’t come to fruition. As another poster said once you’re in with them you’re in with them for good.
11-04-2023, 09:30 AM
When it comes down to it any new owner is going to make us more 'corporate'. We only have to look at the focus since Ron Gordon bought us. The vast majority of the improvements have been in areas that sees a tangible cash return on the investment. Upgrade hospitality and hike the prices, big screens to increase ad revenue, new advertising boards to do likewise, player sponsorship prices increased to take them out of reach of most of your average punter and make them more business targeted etc etc. Indeed a lot of that stuff was lauded on here and elsewhere as being the right approach. That's not to say there aren't benefits to your average punter as well but the driving force is to make more money.
I have no doubt Ron Gordon was a genuinely nice man, I also don't disbelieve he bought us in part because he wanted to own a football club. However he was a businessman and like a few of the new breed of owners in Scottish football there was a belief that previous owners in Scottish football had missed a trick and there was a huge untapped pot of money that they couldn't see. Whether you believe that successful busnessmen in their own right like Tom farmer, Stewart Milne and Eddie Thompson were blind to this or whether you believe guys like Ron Gordon and Mark Ogren were and are mistaken is another debate of course. The point remains though that there was an underlying desire to maximise revenue from football clubs in Scotland and among other things that means both squeezing fans for more cash and becoming more corporate.
Does it make a huge difference if that corporate shift happens under the stewardship of one individual or as part of a bigger footballing portfolio? The City Group seem pretty good at what they do and they appear to try and engage with and invest in the communities their clubs are based in as well. Of course there are moral questions about the sportswashing and the regimes that fund these entities and they should be heard. In terms of becoming 'soulless' or 'corporate' though? We are already a fair way down that road anyway.
I'll add that's not to say I like it but it's the way football is going or rather has gone and it's going to continue with or without Hibs. In an ideal world i'd like to see HSL get at least their 25.1% of shares and preferably a whole lot more and the fans have a level of control but there has proven to be no appetite for that among Hibs fans so really it's the 'corporate' path or nothing for us.
11-04-2023, 09:42 AM
When it comes down to it any new owner is going to make us more 'corporate'. We only have to look at the focus since Ron Gordon bought us. The vast majority of the improvements have been in areas that sees a tangible cash return on the investment. Upgrade hospitality and hike the prices, big screens to increase ad revenue, new advertising boards to do likewise, player sponsorship prices increased to take them out of reach of most of your average punter and make them more business targeted etc etc. Indeed a lot of that stuff was lauded on here and elsewhere as being the right approach. That's not to say there aren't benefits to your average punter as well but the driving force is to make more money.
I have no doubt Ron Gordon was a genuinely nice man, I also don't disbelieve he bought us in part because he wanted to own a football club. However he was a businessman and like a few of the new breed of owners in Scottish football there was a belief that previous owners in Scottish football had missed a trick and there was a huge untapped pot of money that they couldn't see. Whether you believe that successful busnessmen in their own right like Tom farmer, Stewart Milne and Eddie Thompson were blind to this or whether you believe guys like Ron Gordon and Mark Ogren were and are mistaken is another debate of course. The point remains though that there was an underlying desire to maximise revenue from football clubs in Scotland and among other things that means both squeezing fans for more cash and becoming more corporate.
Does it make a huge difference if that corporate shift happens under the stewardship of one individual or as part of a bigger footballing portfolio? The City Group seem pretty good at what they do and they appear to try and engage with and invest in the communities their clubs are based in as well. Of course there are moral questions about the sportswashing and the regimes that fund these entities and they should be heard. In terms of becoming 'soulless' or 'corporate' though? We are already a fair way down that road anyway.
I'll add that's not to say I like it but it's the way football is going or rather has gone and it's going to continue with or without Hibs. In an ideal world i'd like to see HSL get at least their 25.1% of shares and preferably a whole lot more and the fans have a level of control but there has proven to be no appetite for that among Hibs fans so really it's the 'corporate' path or nothing for us.
Not much to disagree about there. Without things like salary caps or draft systems, European football is just a corporate game and has been for years. The teams with the biggest salary budgets win the most games. There is very little deviation from that. And Hibs are no different from any other club.
11-04-2023, 09:44 AM
Agreed
It just would not be the Hibs we’re all accustomed to, we’d be just another name in a portfolio.
The thought of it makes me a wee bit sad, and I really hope it doesn’t come to fruition. As another poster said once you’re in with them you’re in with them for good.
I think you’re a good poster Sean and I agree with you a lot but I don’t really get this. We’ve been ***** for most of our lives, there’s talk of a significant player in the football world with a pretty strong track record of success (realise it’s not 100% success rate) and there’s people turning their nose up at it as it just wouldn’t be like Hibs? This would be a great opportunity to kick on and if we’re pumping Hearts 4-0 I can assure you I will care not a jot that it’s not like the ‘old Hibs’ that we have grown accustomed too.
I think there’s comparables with the off field stuff and the changes RG made, RG made a huge difference to us off the park but people seemed to resent it, again saying it doesn’t feel like Hibs and that people can’t relate to the club now.
Unfortunately if we tried to keep doing things the way we have always done them in the past we will never get anywhere, especially with Hearts and Aberdeen spending significantly more money. We would maybe have the odd third place finish but that would likely be followed by years of pish after it.
If we want to compete and bear in mind the financial gap is only going to get bigger as hearts and Aberdeen get group stages European money then we need to do something different. We tried the HSL thing but there was no appetite for it, nobody is likely to come in and pump in x million a year to match Hearts and Aberdeens spending power so something like this could just be a good solution.
Absolutely nothing wrong with trying to be successful, I do think there’s undertones of posts where people seem to resent it though and think we should almost just know our place in the food chain.
Mon the Hibs
11-04-2023, 10:22 AM
I don’t think the city group owning us would change our identity as much as people would think.
We would have the obvious affiliation and access to more players which would see us get more players on loan from City plus other clubs probably like Toryes etc.
But deeper than that we would then be privy to all of their data on players, we can’t underestimate how big that would be for the club as we’d be able to cover far more players in more detail.
Players would like the thought of coming to a team that’s part of the city group as I imagine some would then like to think there’s a chance if they do well the could get a better move from itZ
It would be seen as exciting and alot of promise for players.
We have everything there in terms of stadium, training facilities, fans, location.
All we need is an owner with a real knowledge and contacts in the football world. That’s exactly what they would bring.
I don’t think on a day to day or week to week basis we’d feel any less ‘Hibs’.
11-04-2023, 10:28 AM
Assuming there's no change to name or colours and the only difference is going to be things getting better, I'm all for it.
I'm 45 now, hopefully have a lot of years left to watch Hibs and it would be just great i the majority of them weren't mostly misery with the odd highlight every now and again.
11-04-2023, 10:30 AM
I don’t think the city group owning us would change our identity as much as people would think.
We would have the obvious affiliation and access to more players which would see us get more players on loan from City plus other clubs probably like Toryes etc.
But deeper than that we would then be privy to all of their data on players, we can’t underestimate how big that would be for the club as we’d be able to cover far more players in more detail.
Players would like the thought of coming to a team that’s part of the city group as I imagine some would then like to think there’s a chance if they do well the could get a better move from itZ
We have everything there in terms of stadium, training facilities, fans, location.
All we need is an owner with a real knowledge and contacts in the football world. That’s exactly what they would bring.
I’m not so sure. If we kept winning every week and winning derbies it might feel a lot less like Hibs.
11-04-2023, 10:33 AM
Assuming there's no change to name or colours and the only difference is going to be things getting better, I'm all for it.
I'm 45 now, hopefully have a lot of years left to watch Hibs and it would be just great i the majority of them weren't mostly misery with the odd highlight every now and again.
Totally agree. Some folk are going in way too deep with this Hibs identity thing.
11-04-2023, 10:37 AM
I’m watching your podcast just now Matty, only just started but Colin is talking about the culture of the club. I completely agree with the point about the poor culture at Hibs where we just accept defeat.
If we were to get in bed with the City group, I don’t think there’s much chance they would suffer that and I suspect there would be a long overdue shift in mindset at the club.
11-04-2023, 10:41 AM
I wonder if the Gordon’s would keep a % still in the club however sell enough so the city group would be majority shareholders?
11-04-2023, 10:42 AM
I’m watching your podcast just now Matty, only just started but Colin is talking about the culture of the club. I completely agree with the point about the poor culture at Hibs where we just accept defeat.
If we were to get in bed with the City group, I don’t think there’s much chance they would suffer that and I suspect there would be a long overdue shift in mindset at the club.
Bingo you seem to have a grasp on them. Obviously apart from Pep, what sort of managers do they appoint
11-04-2023, 10:42 AM
I'd quite like a sky blue strip :greengrin
11-04-2023, 10:44 AM
In the case of Man City I think the ownership have actually shown a degree of sensitivity to the history of the club and the area.
Their kit this season was inspired by Colin Bell and his era and they had the away kit last year inspired by Hacienda. They've really driven forward the existing City in the Community in Manchester and more widely they appear to have a huge youth community football scheme in every area they invest in a club as well as in other communities across the world. Of course a degree of cynicism about the motivation for such things is justified.
We need an expansion of HTC and there is still work to be done on the stadium. If that was funded and we got a 'Pat Stanton strip' then is a trade off that means HTC is renamed the Etihad Hibernian Traning Complex and we have a sky blue goalkeeper top really that big a deal?
It's obviously all speculation and I'd like to see a whole lot more meat on the bones but I think the complete rebranding, colour changes etc are for the newer teams. Clubs like us with a real heritage and tradition would be left well alone in regards to our identity.
SickBoy32
11-04-2023, 10:44 AM
Have you seen the other clubs within the group - particularly in Europe?
Looks to me as though they accept defeat too (even more so in the cases of the Belgian / French sides than ourselves)
Anyway - let's hope this is just latest nonsense spouted from our slaver of a manager
ErinGoBraghHFC
11-04-2023, 10:45 AM
Bingo you seem to have a grasp on them. Obviously apart from Pep, what sort of managers do they appoint
Pellegrini, Mancini, Eriksson, Mark Hughes. Not a terrible bunch, clear progression from manager to manager imo
11-04-2023, 10:48 AM
Although I'm not against the club becoming part of the City Group, I'm not too sure your last sentence would be true. Girona got relegated. Troyes are struggling.
That wikipedia page on them says that the clubs are made to use the same style of play above all else and have access to a database of tactics (which I assume are approved City Group tactics). As we saw with Maloney, certain ways of playing might suit a top level team but not necessarily a team in the Scottish league. In a sense I think that way of playing becomes more important to the Group than results themselves for every club other than Man City.
11-04-2023, 10:48 AM
I wonder if the Gordon’s would keep a % still in the club however sell enough so the city group would be majority shareholders?
City group ownership % of each club seems to vary quite a lot, the lowest % they own is about 20% of the Japanese club I think.
I’m not sure how the ownership model of Hibs currently looks but could they buy 20%?
11-04-2023, 10:49 AM
Pellegrini, Mancini, Eriksson, Mark Hughes. Not a terrible bunch, clear progression from manager to manager imo
That’s all Man City, more interested in the smaller clubs they own
11-04-2023, 10:50 AM
I'd be more interested in the type of managers they appoint at Troyes, Girona and Palermo.
Edit: Eriksson and Hughes were appointed before they were owned by the Abu Dhabi based folk. Mancini was appointed before the City Group came into existence (though under the Abu Dhabi ownership).
11-04-2023, 10:52 AM
They had Postecoglu at their Australian or Japanese club I think. Maybe should whisper this around here but I really like him, I think he’s a terrific manager and if there was a pound shop version of him in their group somewhere we could get I’d be delighted with that.
11-04-2023, 10:53 AM
I'd be more interested in the type of managers they appoint at Troyes, Girona and Palermo
Troyes manager is Patrick Kisnorbo.
Hearts ****. City Group out!
Steve Bould is the Lommel manager, his experience primarily seems to be with Arsenal youths. Girona is guy called Michel who has managed another couple of Spanish clubs.
ErinGoBraghHFC
11-04-2023, 10:57 AM
I'd be more interested in the type of managers they appoint at Troyes, Girona and Palermo
Girona manager is Míchel was relieved of his duties by Huesca last year with the team sitting in last place of La Liga.
Troyes manager is Patrick Kisnorbo, formerly manager of Melbourne (so maybe moved by the ownership due to good results? Don’t know. He did win the A-League with Melbourne in 2021, though)
Palermo manager is Eugenio Corini who left Brescia by mutual consent after losing in the Serie B promotion playoffs last season, he officially signed a contract with Palermo less than a month later.
11-04-2023, 11:00 AM
Troyes manager is Patrick Kisnorbo.
Hearts ****. City Group out!
Steve Bould is the Lommel manager, his experience primarily seems to be with Arsenal youths. Girona is guy called Michel who has managed another couple of Spanish clubs.
I’ve enjoyed spending 5 minutes there looking at the managers of these clubs, There’s 2 or 3 that have moved over from Womans football.
They seem to like to use young modern coaches rather than old heads although there is exceptions to that (like Steve Bould)
Lee Marvin
11-04-2023, 11:08 AM
I love all this ' it wouldn't be the Hibs I'm accustomed too.'
Aye, we might actually end up good for a change. I'm all for it, bar stupid name/colour changes.
11-04-2023, 11:10 AM
Des Buckingham is the manager of Mumbai City who are owned by the City Group.
38 years old and from England, been coaching since 2004 including time at Oxford, Wellington Phoenix, Stoke, New Zealand and Melbourne City.
Seems to be getting rave reviews at Mumbai’s City and with being English, knowledge of various leagues and links to city group it would be really interesting to see if we did get taken over by them and Lee was sacked if he’s someone we’d go for.
The city group obviously tracked him and rated him enough to get him in at Melbourne before eventually giving him his own managers position at Mumbai.
11-04-2023, 11:11 AM
Doubt it. City group would want as much control as possible.
11-04-2023, 11:12 AM
Doubt it. City group would want as much control as possible.
Going by the other clubs they’re involved with their shareholder % varies quite a bit from what I can see with some others remaining in some capacity.
I can just see the Gordon family maybe wanting to keep some involvement in the club for Ron.
11-04-2023, 11:15 AM
Going by the other clubs they’re involved with their shareholder % varies quite a bit from what I can see with some others remaining in some capacity.
I can just see the Gordon family maybe wanting to keep some involvement in the club for Ron.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230411/8ff22cebfe3c9c118236d685bf022046.jpg
11-04-2023, 11:16 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230411/8ff22cebfe3c9c118236d685bf022046.jpg
So you agree it varies?🤣
11-04-2023, 11:22 AM
So you agree it varies?[emoji1787]
Yes, I was just too lazy to type and was doing something else.[emoji23]
11-04-2023, 11:23 AM
Always surprised me one of the oil rich brigade haven't come in and bought a non old firm Scottish club. It's a quick way to the champions league. Only two teams you need to beat and with a bit of investment that would be possible. Mad Vlad almost did it with Hearts and they were a basket case.
11-04-2023, 11:32 AM
Reality is the days of Jimmys double glazing owning and sponsoring a club are gone. Everyone wants the fantasy local to come and save the club but football has moved on.
It’s a bit like the old east stand. If many fans had their way it would still be there.
Stadium improvements and new hospitality was long over due.
Hibs are an attractive club especially with the land and training ground.
That’s why I think fan ownership has a glass ceiling with donations.
Hibs should be aiming to be competitive in the Europe group stages conference etc rather than just trying to qualify for them.
If we bring more money into the club and start winning more games and bigger games especially derbies the stadium will be full again.
Our current structure needs a revamp as it’s currently in decline so any help from a world successful operation is more than welcome.
Even increasing our global appeal alongside the other clubs could do the club wonders.
11-04-2023, 11:35 AM
Always surprised me one of the oil rich brigade haven't come in and bought a non old firm Scottish club. It's a quick way to the champions league. Only two teams you need to beat and with a bit of investment that would be possible. Mad Vlad almost did it with Hearts and they were a basket case.
I think it's the prestige/ego thing.
I've said it before. To win the EPL you need to spend hundreds of millions (I think Man Utd may even have spent over a billion since Fergie left and aren't close). You then have to spend a huge chunk more to win the Champions League, in that regard you look at what Man City and PSG have spent and only the former have come close. An investment in Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen could probably see you win the league for between £80M and £120M, access to the CL riches before the real spending has to start if you want to be competitive in that.
In that regard you could argue buying a Scottish team saves you hundreds of millions. But.....is there the same gravitas in owning Hibs as there is Manchester United? Even if the 'fairytale' captures the imagination it still doesn't have the same prestige as owning one of the really big guns. When money is no object then the billionaires are probably happy enough to spend the extra to show off the shiniest trinket.
Hibee_Craig7062
11-04-2023, 11:51 AM
Hermit Crab is buying us?
Hard enough task getting him to buy a round, never mind a football club ;-)
11-04-2023, 12:03 PM
Hard enough task getting him to buy a round, never mind a football club ;-)
You are round. Never mind me buying one. [emoji23]
Fuzzywuzzy
11-04-2023, 12:05 PM
Is there any kind of credible information to back this up or is it all based on loan deals that city group members were at the game
11-04-2023, 12:24 PM
Is there any kind of credible information to back this up or is it all based on loan deals that city group members were at the game
See page 7 of this thread for the source.
11-04-2023, 12:25 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10476751/aiden-mcgeady-injury-update-hibs/
“ Who in their right mind would turn down the opportunity to have a fantastic link with top clubs?
“It’s not just younger players; we’re talking about partnerships, data transfer, sponsorship.
“The City Football Group as an example must have about 600 players — and it might be a 32-year-old who has the potential to jump into a different country. Everything is assessed.”
SickBoy32
11-04-2023, 12:29 PM
All I see there is the usual LJ spin / BS - all 3 emboldened words are just meaningless waffle IMO
I'm also not sure that the manager would be overly involved in terms of a takeover ?!
The reality is our manager is on his last legs - and shouldn't be here for the kick off next season. He's just trying to give the impression that he's in control and planning for next year
11-04-2023, 12:33 PM
All I see there is the usual LJ spin / BS - all 3 emboldened words are just meaningless waffle IMO
I'm also not sure that the manager would be overly involved in terms of a takeover ?!
The reality is our manager is on his last legs - and shouldn't be here for the kick off next season. He's just trying to give the impression that he's in control and planning for next year
If we sack him then the Kyle Walker season loan is off and it’s all our fault.
11-04-2023, 12:40 PM
I think there’s definitely potential that is the case and he is over egging his involvement in a link up to make it look like everything will be better next season, I think a lot of his comments are about self preservation.
I’m fairly sceptical if there’s a take over happening, I think it’s more likely to be a partnership of sorts like they’ve got with some Bolivian club but I do think something is happening.
Only think that I think is lending weight to being a takeover or investment is it’s pretty unusual for the City group to get involved with another club without investing in them, Brian Marwood has made at least a couple of trips to East Mains and I personally think the Gordon’s would be keen to sell if they could.
11-04-2023, 01:03 PM
I think it's the prestige/ego thing.
I've said it before. To win the EPL you need to spend hundreds of millions (I think Man Utd may even have spent over a billion since Fergie left and aren't close). You then have to spend a huge chunk more to win the Champions League, in that regard you look at what Man City and PSG have spent and only the former have come close. An investment in Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen could probably see you win the league for between £80M and £120M, access to the CL riches before the real spending has to start if you want to be competitive in that.
In that regard you could argue buying a Scottish team saves you hundreds of millions. But.....is there the same gravitas in owning Hibs as there is Manchester United? Even if the 'fairytale' captures the imagination it still doesn't have the same prestige as owning one of the really big guns. When money is no object then the billionaires are probably happy enough to spend the extra to show off the shiniest trinket.
Pat Nevin said this all about 10 or 12 years ago, made a whole lot of sense then, and makes a whole lot of sense now.