View Full Version : Grab the opportunity Hibs!

08-04-2023, 04:20 PM
Tomorrow is massive. Win and we go 2 points behind the club that's falling apart, which then sets us up beautifully for the derby next week at Easter Road where we could really send Robbie Replay into hysteria and jump above them!

Players SHOULD be extra fired up for tomorrow now.

08-04-2023, 04:38 PM
Another must win game for us.:greengrin

08-04-2023, 04:39 PM
Tomorrow is massive. Win and we go 2 points behind the club that's falling apart, which then sets us up beautifully for the derby next week at Easter Road where we could really send Robbie Replay into hysteria and jump above them!

Couldn’t agree more.

08-04-2023, 04:45 PM
Win the next 2 and it becomes a straight shoot out between the 'other 4' in the top 6.

It would be good to have a really exciting end to the season.

08-04-2023, 04:50 PM
Heart have lost their last 5 league games, and last 6 out of 7.

Then they play Hibs...

08-04-2023, 04:51 PM

Aye, but we should have been fired up for Motherwell as well and we turned in a woeful performance ... it's not as if we didn't know last Saturday that an out of form Hertz were due to visit a ground where they have a poor record and a win against Motherwell could easily have put us right up their *****.

Now we are in a position where a win at Tannadice tomorrow against the team bottom of the league puts is into a situation where we play a massively out of form Hearts next Saturday, who have lost their last 5 games, with the chance to overtake them with a win ........... to do that with an away stand full of their fans would be beyond glorious given their hubris over the last few months.

But if anybody can give me an example of where a Hibs team in that position has actually delivered in the last 30 years I'll eat my hat. There's a reason Hibs fans never have a positive outlook in these situations. For all that folk posting negatively around these situations get pelters you can hardly blame them ... it's simply a fact that we have a ton of form when it comes to blowing chances like this.

Anyway ,,,, come on the Hibees, we can do this :flag:

08-04-2023, 04:55 PM
The next week will decide whether LJ has a a future at Hibs for me.
We have a brilliant opportunity and we need to take it.

I think we will win tomorrow.

08-04-2023, 04:57 PM
It's a great opportunity for us to win tomorrow and finish the season on a high. However, having seen us in similar situations over the years, I'm not at all confident. Hope to God I'm wrong.

Donegal Hibby
08-04-2023, 05:00 PM

Totally agree that tomorrow is massive and the players should be fired up for it , even though Dundee Utd are bottom I think with the Ross county result today moving them 5 points clear of Utd they will also be fired up to try and close the gap on Ross county and it won't be a easy game be any means for us either.

DIXIHIBS
08-04-2023, 05:04 PM

Tmrow is huge. 2 wins coming up we go above hertz before the split which would be tremendous. 2 defeats and livi despite being on a bad run have 2 winnable games and we could be bottom 6, very fine margins.

Edina Street
08-04-2023, 05:08 PM

We are getting to that time of the season now, it is time for the battle cry.

"C'mon the Hibeeees, c'mon the Hibs".

Gloucester Hibs
08-04-2023, 05:13 PM
Aye, but we should have been fired up for Motherwell as well and we turned in a woeful performance ... it's not as if we didn't know last Saturday that an out of form Hertz were due to visit a ground where they have a poor record and a win against Motherwell could easily have put us right up their *****.

Now we are in a position where a win at Tannadice tomorrow against the team bottom of the league puts is into a situation where we play a massively out of form Hearts next Saturday, who have lost their last 5 games, with the chance to overtake them with a win ........... to do that with an away stand full of their fans would be beyond glorious given their hubris over the last few months.

But if anybody can give me an example of where a Hibs team in that position has actually delivered in the last 30 years I'll eat my hat. There's a reason Hibs fans never have a positive outlook in these situations. For all that folk posting negatively around these situations get pelters you can hardly blame them ... it's simply a fact that we have a ton of form when it comes to blowing chances like this.

Yep. We probably had 3 of 4 golden opportunities to deliver the coup de grâce to Levein in derbies but failed miserably each time.

First objective is securing top 6 though and a win at Tannadice should do that so that’s the only focus for just now.

Hibees1973
08-04-2023, 05:17 PM
If Hibs get beat tomorrow, next week's derby with two numpty managers will be a laugh at least.

If both of them are still there that is.

08-04-2023, 05:21 PM
Hibs and grabbing the opportunity don't really go together.

08-04-2023, 05:22 PM
If Hibs get beat tomorrow, next week's derby with two numpty managers will be a laugh at least.

If both of them are still there that is.

We won the last El Sackio 6-0. I'll take that again 😉

Hibees1973
08-04-2023, 05:55 PM
Hibs and grabbing the opportunity don't really go together.

Indeed. A bit like Pizza and a deep fat fryer. Criminal.

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-04-2023, 05:57 PM
Indeed. A bit like Pizza and a deep fat fryer. Criminal.

False. Deep fried pizza is class.

LewysGot2
08-04-2023, 07:20 PM
Fine margins indeed - just do whatever it takes Hibs. Flukey og whatever…just do it :agree:

davym7062
08-04-2023, 07:54 PM
hibs will win tomorrow>>>> then bring on the freaks

08-04-2023, 08:08 PM
Two cup finals so should be treated as such. Need to get some momentum going

08-04-2023, 08:50 PM
Yep. We probably had 3 of 4 golden opportunities to deliver the coup de grâce to Levein in derbies but failed miserably each time.

First objective is securing top 6 though and a win at Tannadice should do that so that’s the only focus for just now.I wouldn't take it for granted that a win at Utd makes us top 6.

Thanks to St Mirren winning games they weren't expected to it means both them and Livi will be right in with a shot up to the last game.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Gloucester Hibs
08-04-2023, 09:10 PM
I wouldn't take it for granted that a win at Utd makes us top 6.

Thanks to St Mirren winning games they weren't expected to it means both them and Livi will be right in with a shot up to the last game.

We’d be 4 points clear in 6th with 2 to play and a superior goal difference. So it would realistically require Livi to win both their remaining pre-split games and us to lose them. Possible but unlikely IMO.

Hibs4185
08-04-2023, 09:20 PM
Must win, Hibs.

£10 on UTD all day.

But on this occasion 3-1 Hibs!!! GGTTH

08-04-2023, 09:43 PM
We’d be 4 points clear in 6th with 2 to play and a superior goal difference. So it would realistically require Livi to win both their remaining pre-split games and us to lose them. Possible but unlikely IMO.Not quite. They have St Johnstone and Utd, we have hearts and st Johnstone.

I could easily see Livi winning both games and if we draw one and lose one we're 7th.

And that's assuming we win tomorrow!

Goes to show how tight things are that we're looking over our shoulder at the same time as looking for 4th/3rd.

RossScott1991
08-04-2023, 10:16 PM
I wouldn’t hang my hat on Hibs winning.

Hearts dropping points
Hibs facing bottom of the league to close the gap.

What could possibly go wrong..

08-04-2023, 10:56 PM
It’s the hope that kills you

08-04-2023, 10:57 PM
Heart have lost their last 5 league games, and last 6 out of 7.

Then they play Hibs...

yep. We all know how the story ends lol.

08-04-2023, 11:00 PM
The next week will decide whether LJ has a a future at Hibs for me.
We have a brilliant opportunity and we need to take it.

I think we will win tomorrow.

Agreed. No excuses Hibs - 2 wins is a must. We are playing the side bottom of the league and one that has lost 5 on the bounce.

These are the exact games where in the past we have wilted. We need to move away from that mentality and start winning

Callyballybe
09-04-2023, 12:03 AM

Summed it up perfectly. 😂

09-04-2023, 12:41 AM
Let's just do it. Come on!

PHeffernan
09-04-2023, 03:36 AM
Agreed. No excuses Hibs - 2 wins is a must. We are playing the side bottom of the league and one that has lost 5 on the bounce.

These are the exact games where in the past we have wilted. We need to move away from that mentality and start winning

The two teams outside the OF that we have not beaten this season!

That said, I reckon we will beat Dundee Utd and be slight favourites to beat Hearts.

LewysGot2
09-04-2023, 06:22 AM
Up this early on a Sunday for Hibs...please make this worth it Hibees.

GRA
09-04-2023, 06:36 AM
I know we've lost 3 in a row but the games against the OF are free hits these days and Motherwell have hit a rich vein of form just now.

Given we're now facing the two teams in the league who've lost 5 in a row and are devoid of confidence now is the time to stand up & be counted!

Trinity Hibee
09-04-2023, 06:39 AM
I know we've lost 3 in a row but the games against the OF are free hits these days and Motherwell have hit a rich vein of form just now.

Given we're now facing the two teams in the league who've lost 5 in a row and are devoid of confidence now is the time to stand up & be counted!

Without wanting to be doom and gloom we said the same last week and didn’t turn up. If they do it again today then big questions need asked and that will be the end of finishing top 4.

09-04-2023, 06:49 AM
If we don’t win today it’ll not be down to LJ. The players are far superior to the Utd ones it’s time they turned up and showed their talent by putting 2 or 3 past them with no reply.

Trinity Hibee
09-04-2023, 06:58 AM
If we don’t win today it’ll not be down to LJ. The players are far superior to the Utd ones it’s time they turned up and showed their talent by putting 2 or 3 past them with no reply.

Completely agree

09-04-2023, 07:08 AM

I'm not sure, LJ needs to set them up with more potency than he did last week where we had far too many defensive players in the line up.

Youan being back makes a big difference as he brings some pace ace creativity to the team. I expect Newell will start as well.

I do agree that the players have to be at it though, the manager carb set them up perfectly but if they have the attitude they showed last week then we'll lose.

Mikey_1875
09-04-2023, 07:36 AM
Next couple of games are do or die for our season. We passed up a big opportunity last week so we simply have to take this one against bottom of the league today.

I’m not brimming with confidence for it but I think if we can get the first goal then we won’t be caught.

Greenio
09-04-2023, 07:39 AM
I think McKirdy will start given how much Hibs have been pushing his story in the press this week

Really really need to win this game.

Hearts are in free fall (actually enjoying their imploding a lot!) But everyone else around us seem to be up for this run in so we need to match their hunger for what is still a very achievable 3rd place finish.

Looking forward to the match... although not guna lie, still bricking it that we'll fall short as we did last week.

Youan back is a big plus...he should be chomping at the bit to rekindle the form he had before his suspension

Mon the Hibs!

09-04-2023, 07:40 AM

I think we will win but I disagree about our players being far superior to United’s. They need the win so will play a more open game against us than we are used to, we should be able to exploit that. All down to the players attitude today.
I’d like to see McKirdy start today.

09-04-2023, 08:18 AM

It's the Hoppe that kills You(an)

09-04-2023, 08:20 AM
I think we will win but I disagree about our players being far superior to United’s. They need the win so will play a more open game against us than we are used to, we should be able to exploit that. All down to the players attitude today.

Hope McKirdy isn't even on the team coach.

09-04-2023, 08:32 AM
It’s absolutely crucial we win today and take the opportunity that has opened up, we rarely ever do that. If we take a win into the Hearts game knowing 3 points next week gets us above them I think we’ll do it. We simple can’t blow this chance. 🤞🤞🤞

Trinity Hibee
09-04-2023, 08:42 AM
It’s absolutely crucial we win today and take the opportunity that has opened up, we rarely ever do that. If we take a win into the Hearts game knowing 3 points next week gets us above them I think we’ll do it. We simple can’t blow this chance. 🤞🤞🤞

Logically and looking at the table this should be a win but we all know how this scenario has gone in the past.

HibbyDave
09-04-2023, 02:04 PM
Played three, lost two, drew one v D Utd this season.
Criminal.
They should be well adrift and we should be clear in third but that’s not the Hibs way is it?

Trinity Hibee
09-04-2023, 02:05 PM
Played three, lost two, drew one v D Utd this season.
Criminal.
They should be well adrift and we should be clear in third but that’s not the Hibs way is it?

Nope. Any time there is something to play for wee **** the bed (bar 2016 SC final). Even if we are playing teams way below us in the league

09-04-2023, 02:12 PM

I have never quoted myself on here since I joined in 2007 ............ But when you are right you are right .... f'ing HIBS !!!!

09-04-2023, 02:29 PM
Logically and looking at the table this should be a win but we all know how this scenario has gone in the past.

Exactly like today.

09-04-2023, 05:22 PM
Another must win game for us.:greengrin

Agreed... but how many of those do we actually win?. Over 50 years of supporting Hibs, that's probably a handfull... and I'm not exaggerating

09-04-2023, 05:27 PM

Glossing over the McKirdy request, I think we got our answer about any thoughts of superiority…
Dundee Utd are having a miserable season but ask their fans if they’d take
anyone from our starting XI, with the exception of Nisbet. Not sure there would be much interest.

09-04-2023, 05:42 PM
So we have our answer It begets belief how many teams needing a win when on a poor run but get it against us