View Full Version : Famous people who have been to Easter road

Donegal Hibby
03-04-2023, 04:08 PM
Does anyone have any other names of famous people other than these that have been to Easter road ?.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/11-famous-faces-at-hibs-stadium-easter-road-in-edinburgh-from-irvine-welsh-to-elton-john-4089308

03-04-2023, 04:14 PM
Article is a bit weird in including famous footballers, it's hardly unusual.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-04-2023, 04:15 PM
Erling Haaland not in attendance for the Molde game? I know he was injured but surely he’d have traveled with the squads entourage?

03-04-2023, 04:19 PM
Rick Wakeman

Fish

John Peel

Malcolm Allison

03-04-2023, 04:25 PM
Erling Haaland not in attendance for the Molde game? I know he was injured but surely he’d have traveled with the squads entourage?

He wasn't injured. Was signing a contract with Salzburg I think.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-04-2023, 04:26 PM
He wasn't injured. Was signing a contract with Salzburg I think.

Played in the return leg though? Or am I making that up?

Trinity Hibee
03-04-2023, 04:28 PM

He did. Sure he scored a goal

03-04-2023, 04:30 PM

Yes. He was agreeing a future move.

03-04-2023, 04:30 PM
Pat Nevin

Switched from the sectarians to the good guys :greengrin

03-04-2023, 04:32 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOmI1NDQxZDU4LTdmNWYtNDVkMS1iMDE1LTNmZGI5ZD JlMTJhYzplNTkyNzg3Ni02YjJiLTQ3MWItOGFkZS1mNWQ0OWQ3 OWQ0Yzk=.jpg?crop=61%3A45%2Csmart&width=800

That Bayern shirt is one of the best football shirts of all time.

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-04-2023, 04:33 PM
Yes. He was agreeing a future move.

Ahhh okay, that makes more sense. Cheers!

03-04-2023, 04:35 PM
Elton John

03-04-2023, 04:42 PM
Katherine Zeta-Jones, John Leslie brought her along

03-04-2023, 04:42 PM
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

James Connolly

03-04-2023, 04:43 PM

I agree
Football players in football games .Who would have thunk !
Over the years there may well have been many famous faces at games ,particularly comics and actors during Festival and fringe.
I recall seeing Jimmy Tarbuck and his side kick Kenny Lynch at the Holy Ground v Liverpool in Fairs Cup tie.

Russell Hunter actor and his wife Una McLean* also an actor lived in Leith in their later years and were spotted at ER

Also i recall Una Stubbs of the famous tv comedy show"Till death to us part" fame being in the old enclosure with a Hibs scarf on.
I know younger fans here may not have a clue who i am referring too. But they all were famous in their day.

Wee Ronnie Corbett,comic actor,the famous fan of the "famous",could when he was 45 still get into tynie at the boys gate. ! Him and Jimmy Clitheroe:greengrin

* Una McLean
She had her own Hibs song:greengrin
When we sold Colin Stein to the hun for £100.000 a Scottish transfer record at the time.
We use to sing a song about it in the Cave

:singing::singing:
Colin .Colin, Colin Stein
The biggest **** you've ever seen
A hundred thousand doon the drain
Been better buying Una McLean

Older fans will remember Colin scored a hat trick on his hun debut ...guess who against ? :rolleyes:

This thread reminds me of the film version of tv show Porridge.
The Celebrity football game at the prison with no Celebrities !!

03-04-2023, 04:47 PM

Aye, if you're including football folk then in terms of fame, Jock Stein should be in there.
Guess Stuart Hogg must have been at games, but you can argue how famous is he outside egg-chasing. In the same vein, the legend that is John Rutherford is a known Hibbie.

03-04-2023, 04:49 PM
I agree
Over the years there may well have been many famous faces at games ,particularly comics and actors during Festival and fringe.
I recall seeing Jimmy Tarbuck and his side kick Kenny Lynch at the Holy Ground v Liverpool in Fairs Cup tie.

Russell Hunter actor and his wife Una McLean* also an actor lived in Leith in their later years and were spotted at ER

Also i recall Una Stubbs of the famous tv comedy show"Till death to us part" fame being in the old enclosure with a Hibs scarf on.

Ronnie Corbett of course when he was 45 still got into tynie at the boys gate !

* Una McLean
When we sold Colin Stein to the hun for £100.000 a Scottish transfer record at the time.

Older fans will remember Colin scored a hat trick on his hun debut ...guess who against ? :rolleyes:

The Celebrity football game at the prison with no Celebrities !!

Arbroath followed up by repeating the dose against us

Thank god for Joe McBride

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-04-2023, 04:53 PM
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

James Connolly

James Connolly - how obvious is that?! Can’t believe I never thought of him pretty much straight away

03-04-2023, 04:55 PM
James Connolly - how obvious is that?! Can’t believe I never thought of him pretty much straight away

Just read his biography was always looking for the Hibs score :greengrin

03-04-2023, 04:57 PM
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

James Connolly

Well remembered,Sherlock !
Dont get more famous than those two Edinburghers.

03-04-2023, 05:02 PM
Andy, Jamie and Judy

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-04-2023, 05:03 PM
Just read his biography was always looking for the Hibs score :greengrin

Yep - pretty sure he got someone to send results to him to New York when he was over there doing his trade Union stuff? Might be wrong though

03-04-2023, 05:06 PM
Yep - pretty sure he got someone to send results to him to New York when he was over there doing his trade Union stuff? Might be wrong though

Yip received very grave news

Hearts knocked us out of the Scottish Cup

A setback

03-04-2023, 05:11 PM

We could sort the debate about keeping the hun away from the Holy Ground in one go !!
Name the Dunbar End after James Connolly :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
03-04-2023, 05:13 PM
We could sort the debate about keeping the hun away from the Holy Ground in one go !!
Name the Dunbar End after James Connolly :greengrin

It’d have my vote but I’d suspect most wouldn’t be comfortable with that - fair enough [emoji16]

03-04-2023, 05:15 PM
Brian Blessed and Miriam Margoyles would attend after green room rehearsals in the early 1980s. Usually early season games when the festival was just finishing off.

03-04-2023, 05:20 PM
In 1941, Rudolf Hess crash landed a Messerschmitt in a field a few miles away from Dungavel House, the home of the Duke of Hamilton.

According to my Grandad, he was on his way to watch a Hibs match and took a wrong turning at Newcastle.

I always suspected my Grandad of telling me strange tales when I was a kid... but you never know :wink:

03-04-2023, 05:33 PM
Aye, if you're including football folk then in terms of fame, Jock Stein should be in there.
Guess Stuart Hogg must have been at games, but you can argue how famous is he outside egg-chasing. In the same vein, the legend that is John Rutherford is a known Hibbie.I remember seeing Alf Ramsey in the main stand.

03-04-2023, 05:44 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/webimg/b25lY21zOmI1NDQxZDU4LTdmNWYtNDVkMS1iMDE1LTNmZGI5ZD JlMTJhYzplNTkyNzg3Ni02YjJiLTQ3MWItOGFkZS1mNWQ0OWQ3 OWQ0Yzk=.jpg?crop=61%3A45%2Csmart&width=800

That Bayern shirt is one of the best football shirts of all time.

And there I was thinking that Shaun Dennis was a great shout.

03-04-2023, 05:49 PM
Saw the article and thought the journalist must have had one too many at the weekend along with the editor. Poor journalism.

03-04-2023, 05:58 PM
Are infamous to be included too ?

Yuri Andropov , in early 80 ‘s was a guest at Easter Road , brought along by some Scottish Office suits.

He became President of the USSR a few months later.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuri_Andropov

03-04-2023, 06:00 PM
In 1941, Rudolf Hess crash landed a Messerschmitt in a field a few miles away from Dungavel House, the home of the Duke of Hamilton.

According to my Grandad, he was on his way to watch a Hibs match and took a wrong turning at Newcastle.

I always suspected my Grandad of telling me strange tales when I was a kid... but you never know :wink:

That is when the famous chant started, when old Rudolph was in jail "Go home ya hun"

03-04-2023, 06:05 PM

Yuri Andropov , in early 80 ‘s was a guest at Easter Road , brought along by some Scottish Office suits.

Well remembered :aok: He might have also visited the Commie Pool :greengrin

He was more welcome in Scotland than Thatcher ever was.

03-04-2023, 06:07 PM
I remember seeing Alf Ramsey in the main stand.

He left the game early as he thought "its all over!" :greengrin

Groathillgrump
03-04-2023, 06:20 PM
I met the director Danny Boyle in the concourse of the West Stand Upper when he was in Edinburgh filming Trainspotting 2 and have a selfie to prove it. :greengrin

03-04-2023, 06:31 PM
That is when the famous chant started, when old Rudolph was in jail "Go home ya hun"

Bridge hibs
03-04-2023, 06:43 PM
I met the director Danny Boyle in the concourse of the West Stand Upper when he was in Edinburgh filming Trainspotting 2 and have a selfie to prove it. :greengrin

I met Susan Boyle up town before a game a few years back, no way was I taking a selfie to prove it 🫣

Highwayman
03-04-2023, 06:51 PM
A classical music fan and Hibernian stalwart told me that the great Russian composer and virtuoso pianist Sergei Rachmaninoff once played a concert at Edinburgh’s Usher Hall.
Rachmaninoff was also a big football fan and he was looking to take in a match whilst he was in Edinburgh.
As it happened Hibs were playing Motherwell on the same day and Sergei took himself down to ER.
It was a dreich dull November day and unfortunately the game was equally dreich and dull ending in a
0-0 draw.
The experience depressed the great Russian so much that it moved him to compose his mournful
3rd Concerto.

Groathillgrump
03-04-2023, 06:57 PM
I met Susan Boyle up town before a game a few years back, no way was I taking a selfie to prove it 🫣

Fanforlife
03-04-2023, 06:59 PM
I agree

I know younger fans here may not have a clue who i am referring too. But they all were famous in their day.

Wee Ronnie Corbett,comic actor,the famous fan of the "famous",could when he was 45 still get into tynie at the boys gate. ! Him and Jimmy Clitheroe:greengrin

* Una McLean

The Celebrity football game at the prison with no Celebrities !!Stein made his debut for the the,s v Arbroath, scored hat trick and followed up with another one v Us in his second game for them.

davy67 +
03-04-2023, 07:49 PM
Guess Stuart Hogg must have been at games, but you can argue how famous is he outside egg-chasing. In the same vein, the legend that is John Rutherford is a known Hibbie.

I met John Rutherford at the pie stand at ER many moons ago . Obviously The Proclaimers would surely count as being famous and I'm sure Dougray Scott is a Hibs fan. Grant Stott but I'm not sure if someone who works in the club would count

03-04-2023, 09:20 PM
I met John Rutherford at the pie stand at ER many moons ago . Obviously The Proclaimers would surely count as being famous and I'm sure Dougray Scott is a Hibs fan. Grant Stott but I'm not sure if someone who works in the club would count

Yip DS sat beside him in the padded seats West Stand many moons ago.

03-04-2023, 09:20 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson

Donegal Hibby
03-04-2023, 09:33 PM
Bernard Gallagher.
Kirsty Gallagher.
Gary Anderson.
Would these have been at Easter road ?

04-04-2023, 07:10 AM
Brian Cox

His laddie’s bought him Hearts but he has always been Hibs :greengrin

04-04-2023, 08:22 AM
I remember hearing Norman Mailer was at the big win over Dundee - when Agathe scored - in 2000, a few days before giving a festival talk. Not quite Rumble in the Jungle, but close…
The artists John Bellany and Sandy Moffat were fans from student days in the 60s and beyond. Bellany once talked about going to an East Fife game on a fishing boat from Port Seton.

leith lynx
04-04-2023, 08:38 AM
Don't know if he is classed as famous or infamous, but used to see Jimmy Boyle at ER.

04-04-2023, 08:48 AM
Bernard Gallagher.
Kirsty Gallagher.
Gary Anderson.
Would these have been at Easter road ?

Certainly Bernard back in the day, when he was not globetrotting the golf courses.
Good pals with some players.
Irving Welsh's pal,Russell Brand is a hibby.
Also this very famous supporter who is truly out of this world :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVuMoqeyxLI

04-04-2023, 08:59 AM
I've seen the late Sean Hughes at Easter Road.

Also Helen Grace - former Brookside actress (the one that was having an affair with her brother), think her real boyfriend was a Hibee at the time.

rodhibs55
04-04-2023, 10:16 AM
Margo MacDonald was a regular at ER when she was alive.

04-04-2023, 11:35 AM

Yes seen Stuart Hogg going into the west few years back

04-04-2023, 11:36 AM

Did Dougray Scott not occasionally bring Ray Winston to games

04-04-2023, 12:04 PM
Did Dougray Scott not occasionally bring Ray Winston to games

Wish he hadn't
Man could be named after one of his first films

Supports West 'Am.
Publicly supported for Brexit without a deal.
Once claimed Scotland's chief exports were "oil, whisky, tartan and tramps"
Declared bankrupt twice,yet encourages online gambling.

Dougray ,why do you hang out with this racist?.....
Dont bring him back to the Holy Ground !!
Take him to Govan :greengrin

https://www.scotsman.com/news/uk-news/ray-winstone-calls-scots-tramps-tv-quiz-show-1576967

Donegal Hibby
04-04-2023, 01:28 PM
Certainly Bernard back in the day, when he was not globetrotting the golf courses.
Good pals with some players.
Irving Welsh's pal,Russell Brand is a hibby.
Also this very famous supporter who is truly out of this world :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVuMoqeyxLI

Very good Mick :aok: . Forgot all about E. T being a Hibee . Him running around the sitting room was similar to me when SDG scored the winner in the cup final 🏆. :greengrin

Scotty Leither
04-04-2023, 02:05 PM
I remember seeing Alf Ramsey in the main stand.

Yup, sure it was a particularly feisty game v Rangers he was at, as he was reported in the press afterwards saying he thought the language being used was a “disgrace”.

04-04-2023, 02:09 PM
Yup, sure it was a particularly feisty game v Rangers he was at, as he was reported in the press afterwards saying he thought the language being used was a “disgrace”.He wrote a piece in the paper regarding the game himself. Cant remember the context but he was there to write a piece for some rag or other.

04-04-2023, 05:39 PM
Brian Cox

His laddie’s bought him Hearts but he has always been Hibs :greengrin

As amusing as that was, they missed the obvious joke of not realising there are two Dundee clubs when they are right next door to each other. Shocker.

killie-hibby
04-04-2023, 09:03 PM
Mohamed Fayed.Owned Fulham and Harrods.His son was dating Charles Windsor's first wife,now deceased.Visited Easter Road for a match round about the time Fulham built a new stand.Thought to be advising Rod Petrie on Hibs proposed new stand.

04-04-2023, 10:07 PM

Especially George Best :greengrin

Did Jane Horrocks not come to a game at ER while they were filming the gawd awful 'Sunshine on Leith' film?

04-04-2023, 10:11 PM
They missed out Sir Matt Busby

Loved our club and wanted to sign Gordon Smith

04-04-2023, 10:17 PM
Ronnie Biggs

04-04-2023, 10:24 PM
Yup, sure it was a particularly feisty game v Rangers he was at, as he was reported in the press afterwards saying he thought the language being used was a “disgrace”.

He must have been sitting near Blessed and Margolyes.

hibbymick
04-04-2023, 10:36 PM

Also Helen Grace - former Brookside actress (the one that was having an affair with her brother), think her real boyfriend was a Hibee at the time.

Spot on. She was the girlfriend of actor and good lochend laddie Jamie Sives.

05-04-2023, 12:06 AM
They missed out Sir Matt Busby

Loved our club and wanted to sign Gordon Smith
..and Eddie Turnbull.

05-04-2023, 12:06 AM
Ronnie BiggsA Sex Pistol? At Easter Road?

DJ HIBBY
05-04-2023, 05:56 AM

I sat next Sean Hughes at Fir Park too for one of our games, must’ve been a hibby

Alfiembra
05-04-2023, 06:48 AM
No mention of Uwe Seeler either there was a thread on here following his passing last year.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?358386-(SHC)-Uwe-Seeler-RIP&p=7034475

Hillsidehibby
05-04-2023, 08:20 AM
I said hello to Bobby Charlton in the centre stand at the Skol Trophy final

stu in nottingham
05-04-2023, 11:13 PM
Irish comedian - Andrew Maxwell.

Donegal Hibby
05-04-2023, 11:28 PM
No mention of Uwe Seeler either there was a thread on here following his passing last year.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?358386-(SHC)-Uwe-Seeler-RIP&p=7034475
I didn't know about this player or that he played at ER to be honest with you so thanks for that . I found it quite interesting checking up on this guy , what a player he was btw . Heres some footage of him for anyone thats interested.
https://youtu.be/LrcQx791gug

1875Sean
05-04-2023, 11:53 PM
Surprised they never mentioned Rooney playing at Easter road with Everton

06-04-2023, 01:18 AM
Irish comedian - Andrew Maxwell.Big hibby.

06-04-2023, 07:14 AM
I didn't know about this player or that he played at ER to be honest with you so thanks for that . I found it quite interesting checking up on this guy , what a player he was btw . Heres some footage of him for anyone thats interested.
https://youtu.be/LrcQx791gug

Yip worth repeating from the old thread that back in the olden days when Hibs were dining at the top table in Europe we were totally robbed by SV Hamburg / Ref at Easter Road

1-0 down from the first leg we scored two goals and had two good goals disallowed for offside- the Hamburg goalie wore a green jersey- and we even missed a penalty

Uwe Seeler - what a player- with the Bobby Charlton hairstyle- found himself in splendid isolation when a defender slipped going for a deflected through ball and Seeler ran through to score the all important away goal to put the Germans through

I still remember the Referee changing ends at the final whistle in preparation for extra time but the Hibs fans had already left the building

06-04-2023, 07:52 AM
Yip worth repeating from the old thread that back in the olden days when Hibs were dining at the top table in Europe we were totally robbed by SV Hamburg / Ref at Easter Road

1-0 down from the first leg we scored two goals and had two good goals disallowed for offside- the Hamburg goalie wore a green jersey- and we even missed a penalty

Uwe Seeler - what a player- with the Bobby Charlton hairstyle- found himself in splendid isolation when a defender slipped going for a deflected through ball and Seeler ran through to score the all important away goal to put the Germans through

I still remember the Referee changing ends at the final whistle in preparation for extra time but the Hibs fans had already left the building
Indeed,Billy,the phrase "we wuz robbed" could well have been invented for that game.
Effing refereeing disgrace !!
Mentioned in this article about Hibs v German clubs.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-pioneering-european-run-controversial-18261099

06-04-2023, 07:58 AM
Franz Beckenbauer. I had an old Hibs VHS released not long after the famous five stand was built. It mentions him saying the hospitality lounge was one of the best in Europe! I don't think we've ever played Bayern so can only assume it was when Raith Rovers played them at Easter Road.

06-04-2023, 08:07 AM
Indeed,Billy,the phrase "we wuz robbed" could well have been invented for that game.
Effing refereeing disgrace !!
Mentioned in this article about Hibs v German clubs.

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hibs-pioneering-european-run-controversial-18261099
Still remember Joe McBride’s hat-trick on his home debut against Lokomotiv Leipzig

Colin who ?

Did Alex Scott get sent off for retaliation?

Weirdly the thing I remember most about the Hamburg game was their grey socks with black and white squares at the top that they still wear to this day

06-04-2023, 08:43 AM
Franz Beckenbauer. I had an old Hibs VHS released not long after the famous five stand was built. It mentions him saying the hospitality lounge was one of the best in Europe! I don't think we've ever played Bayern so can only assume it was when Raith Rovers played them at Easter Road.

The Hospitality and Function Suites in the FF were top drawer hopefully they can be returned to their former glory

06-04-2023, 09:22 AM
Alex ferguson?

06-04-2023, 09:34 AM
Stuart Hogg is a huge Hibs fan and had a season ticket whilst he was playing in Scotland.

06-04-2023, 11:57 AM
The Hospitality and Function Suites in the FF were top drawer hopefully they can be returned to their former glory

Hibs played Bayern in a friendly, early 60’s, before Beckenbauer’s time. Sure we won.... just checked. Won 3-0 60-61 season. We also played the, at ER in 1958, haven’t found the score for that one though.

06-04-2023, 12:51 PM
I was convinced I once saw the late Bobby Moore at the other end of the main stand back in the early 90s. He was wearing a camel coat and I thought at the time I must be mistaken. I did discover later that he was receiving treatment at the Western General at the time and I still wonder if it was him.

06-04-2023, 01:14 PM
Hilderaldo Luiz Bellini played in the Vasco friendly at ER in 1956 (and in the World Club Championship fixture against us in 1953.)

Brazil World Cup Winners captain in 1958, legend over there with a statue at the entrance to the Maracana.

06-04-2023, 01:38 PM
I was convinced I once saw the late Bobby Moore at the other end of the main stand back in the early 90s. He was wearing a camel coat and I thought at the time I must be mistaken. I did discover later that he was receiving treatment at the Western General at the time and I still wonder if it was him.

You did
I too remember when Bobby was staying in Edinburgh while attending the cancer unit at the WGH.

Article re Bobby at the Western.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/real-life/widow-england-hero-bobby-moore-2651902

After Joe Baker, he was one of Jimmy O's favourite players.
Bobby was a true World Class player as Pele acknowledged
I saw Bobby play at Wembley and respectfully remember the songs we sang about him
Bobby was held in high esteem by the then Tartan Army .
So much so, he had TWO songs we sang in his honour.
One after Bobby was accused of stealing jewelry in the Bogota Bracelet incident, when he was locked up in Columbia for four days during Englands prep for Mexico 70.

Not quite a Lennon/McCartney composition,but it sounded good with 65.000 plus Scots at Wembley giving it laldy !

To the tune of clementine:greengrin

:singing:Where's your bracelet, where's your bracelet,where's your bracelet, Bobby Moore ?
It's in your handbag,in your handbag,in your handbag,Bobby Moore (repeat):singing:

Bobby Moore ....A true legend of football

Fanforlife
06-04-2023, 01:48 PM
Hibs played Bayern in a friendly, early 60’s, before Beckenbauer’s time. Sure we won.... just checked. Won 3-0 60-61 season. We also played the, at ER in 1958, haven’t found the score for that one though.
Sure ive read somewhere that we have played Bayern 4 times and beat them 4 times including scoring 7 in one game,like you though i cant find said article 🥺

06-04-2023, 01:59 PM
Sure ive read somewhere that we have played Bayern 4 times and beat them 4 times including scoring 7 in one game,like you though i cant find said article ��

Some footage on this wonderful film from Hibernian Retro

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFeYSJVaYxk

Plus check the old slope, packed old huge main terracing(East), Puskas,Gento and the great Willie Hamilton !!

Memories !!

Donegal Hibby
06-04-2023, 09:26 PM
Some footage on this wonderful film from Hibernian Retro

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFeYSJVaYxk

Plus check the old slope, packed old huge main terracing(East), Puskas,Gento and the great Willie Hamilton !!

Memories !!
Just after watching the footage you put on . Beating real Madrid and Bayern Munich ( good 3rd goal by Tommy Preston) Some great European results. Really enjoyed that , think I'll watch it again :greengrin . Thanks Mick :aok:

06-04-2023, 09:46 PM
Just after watching the footage you put on . Beating real Madrid and Bayern Munich ( good 3rd goal by Tommy Preston) Some great European results. Really enjoyed that , think I'll watch it again :greengrin . Thanks Mick :aok:

Good on ye, DH
Hibs great league winning side of 1950 played Bayern in a challenge match and won 6-1...... In Munich !!

They were known as Munich Bayern in the "old days"

07-04-2023, 08:17 PM
You did
I too remember when Bobby was staying in Edinburgh while attending the cancer unit at the WGH.

Article re Bobby at the Western.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/real-life/widow-england-hero-bobby-moore-2651902

After Joe Baker, he was one of Jimmy O's favourite players.
Bobby was a true World Class player as Pele acknowledged
I saw Bobby play at Wembley and respectfully remember the songs we sang about him
Bobby was held in high esteem by the then Tartan Army .
So much so, he had TWO songs we sang in his honour.
One after Bobby was accused of stealing jewelry in the Bogota Bracelet incident, when he was locked up in Columbia for four days during Englands prep for Mexico 70.

Not quite a Lennon/McCartney composition,but it sounded good with 65.000 plus Scots at Wembley giving it laldy !

To the tune of clementine:greengrin

:singing:Where's your bracelet, where's your bracelet,where's your bracelet, Bobby Moore ?
It's in your handbag,in your handbag,in your handbag,Bobby Moore (repeat):singing:

Bobby Moore ....A true legend of football

this song amuses me much more than it should :greengrin:faf:

hibeg
08-04-2023, 06:09 PM

Hibs won 3-0 on 22 Sept 1958. Goals from Turnbull, Allison and an og

10-04-2023, 06:00 PM
Ian Blackford

Just appeared on Reporting Scotland with a signed Hibs baw behind him 😀

Johnny Clash
10-04-2023, 07:32 PM
Bob Crow, General Secretary of the RMT trade union. Bob saw Hibs twice. On both occasions we beat Rangers. Once at Easter Road. Visited the Hibs Supporters club before the game and were in the East stand, section 43 - Bob went flying when Hibs scored. Then at Hampden when Hibs won on penalties , February 2004. He loved the banter at the games. The following day our special conference made a decision in Glasgow that resulted in RMT being expelled from the Labour Party. A great week!!

random sub
10-04-2023, 10:21 PM
John Hannah sat a couple of rows in front of me once, in the old east. It was old times and the stand was jumping but he left at half time. Researching for his part in Rebus perhaps.

Pat Nevin is another.

10-04-2023, 10:53 PM
Alan Shearer played his first game for Blackburn against us in a friendly we won 3-2 I think, and I'm sure he did his coaching badges at ER too, or 1 of them anyway. I think Fabio Capello did as well, although somebody would need to confirm that for me.

JamesHFC
10-04-2023, 11:06 PM
Italy’s euro winners Immobile, Insigne, Verratti & Florenzi all played at ER against Scotland U’21s back in 2012.

Hanlon, Wotherspoon, McGeough, Allan & Feruz all played for Scotland.

Italians won 4-1.

Purple & Green
11-04-2023, 09:34 PM

Norman Tebbit, too.