View Full Version : Craig Bellamy.
02-04-2023, 07:04 PM
I see he’s been declared bankrupt.
Mind that time he was winding up an opponent about money whilst playing for Celtic. Karmas a bitch innit.
02-04-2023, 07:06 PM
vaguely remember it, was it a hibs player at ER ? :hmmm: can't remember
02-04-2023, 07:08 PM
You could park your house in my garage
02-04-2023, 07:11 PM
Was it not a Clyde player that time they got knocked out the Scottish Cup by them?
02-04-2023, 07:14 PM
Cannae mind who it was but remember at the time thinking what a horrible wee **** and would never tire of punching him. I hope he’s having a proper hard time.
02-04-2023, 07:16 PM
I always quite liked him. Chippy sort. He was unplayable against us at ER once, phenomenal pace. The African kids academy thing clearly affected him deeply although the white saviour thing is always a bit problematic
DJ HIBBY
02-04-2023, 07:18 PM
I always quite liked him. Chippy sort. He was unplayable against us at ER once, phenomenal pace. The African kids academy thing clearly affected him deeply although the white saviour thing is always a bit problematic
His performance at Easter road that day is one of the best I’ve seen.
02-04-2023, 07:24 PM
He refused to shake GaryCaldwells hand after the game and Caldwell had a good moan about it in the papers. Fair play Craig, I thought Caldwell was a bit of a dick as well.
Cannae mind who it was but remember at the time thinking what a horrible wee **** and would never tire of punching him. I hope he’s having a proper hard time.
You'll be pleased to hear about his depression then.
https://www.marca.com/en/football/international-football/2021/09/13/613f822e22601d0f548b45d2.html
02-04-2023, 07:26 PM
after a quick google https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/23411219.ex-celtic-star-named-biggest-trash-talker-football/ it wasn't just scottish football he used his salary to wind up opposition players
Former Celtic (https://www.celticway.co.uk/news/23411001.celtic-hero-reflects-footballing-regrets-opens-future/) winger Craig Bellamy has been given the title of biggest "s***house" by ex-Aston Villa striker Gabriel Agbonlahor.
The Welshman spent the second half of the 2004-05 season on loan at the Hoops and lifted the Scottish Cup during his time in Glasgow.
And while discussing the biggest trash talkers in football Agbonlahor singled out Bellamy as the most effective.
Speaking on talkSPORT (https://talksport.com/), he said: "I think the perfect s***house is a player who can wind up a fanbase.
"Someone who can be that annoying player who goes down a lot when you know it’s going to annoy another player, talk crap to your opponent to wind him up, when you celebrate, celebrate in front of the home fans
“I loved to shoulder barge full-backs and defenders into the advertising board, I’d time it so when they were running I’d shoulder barge them right by the white line into the advertising board so you know they’re coming for you afterwards, screaming and shouting, then you know you’ve got them.
"Number one is Craig Bellamy. I’ve never seen anything like it. He’s so, so chirpy. He would hammer his own team, the opposition, I remember (former Villa centre-back) Carlos Cuellar – he cashed him off about money asking ‘what do you earn, I earn loads more than you’ – he’s that sort of player
DJ HIBBY
02-04-2023, 07:32 PM
He refused to shake GaryCaldwells hand after the game and Caldwell had a good moan about it in the papers. Fair play Craig, I thought Caldwell was a bit of a dick as well.
Still remember it took 80 mins before someone got near him, sure it was Ian Murray who eventually wiped him out
02-04-2023, 07:33 PM
https://www.marca.com/en/football/international-football/2021/09/13/613f822e22601d0f548b45d2.html
Bloke who taunted others about money is then depressed when he has no money. Ho hum.
raeburnhibs
02-04-2023, 07:34 PM
vaguely remember it, was it a hibs player at ER ? :hmmm: can't remember
Think it was Gary Caldwell?
raeburnhibs
02-04-2023, 07:35 PM
He was a totally unlikeable ******
02-04-2023, 07:37 PM
He was a totally unlikeable ******
Fair enough, each to their own, it’s not an opinion I’d go to war for or anything :greengrin
raeburnhibs
02-04-2023, 07:39 PM
Fair enough, each to their own, it’s not an opinion I’d go to war for or anything :greengrin
me neither Hibsbollah, each to their own for sure
Donegal Hibby
02-04-2023, 08:14 PM
Excellent player but didn't like his character or attitude . If he's bankrupted nobody's fault but his own and don't have a lot of sympathy for him . Didn't forget this either .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/shearer-threat-bellamy-over-text-2475152
02-04-2023, 08:18 PM
I think he infuriated me more than any other player playing against hibs once. Proper wind-up merchant and just that look about him.
I remember thinking later when he was back playing in England/wales he’s probably not all that bad a guy really.
02-04-2023, 08:37 PM
Was it not a Clyde player that time they got knocked out the Scottish Cup by them?
Craig Bellamy has come under attack from Clyde defender Darren Sheridan. "He was on that pitch going on about how much money he was on," Sheridan told The Sun.Then he turned and said 'You will be doing my garden in the summer .
02-04-2023, 08:39 PM
Clyde player pretty sure he said something like you will be doing my garden next week
02-04-2023, 09:28 PM
Same here, he was on a different level to everyone else on the pitch that day.
02-04-2023, 09:44 PM
Was it Ian Murray who booted him up the backside at ER? And it was a proper boot up the backside too which raised a huge cheer!
Same here, he was on a different level to everyone else on the pitch that day.You could hear him on the turf above the sound of the crowd at times, like a hare running. Total ****house though.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
02-04-2023, 10:20 PM
Can’t say I’m upset to be honest. There’s probably hundreds of thousands of folk suffering depression more deserving of my sympathy.
Donegal Hibby
03-04-2023, 12:09 AM
Totally disliked the guy for years and wasn't sorry to here he was bankrupt though didn't know he had depression which changes everything for me , genuinely wish the guy well now as I would do with anyone with any illness.
03-04-2023, 12:26 AM
It was.
He told a Clyde player that he paid his gardener more than the Clyde player earned.
Murphys Touch
03-04-2023, 06:06 AM
Craig Bellamy has come under attack from Clyde defender Darren Sheridan. "He was on that pitch going on about how much money he was on," Sheridan told The Sun.Then he turned and said 'You will be doing my garden in the summer .
That whole Celtic team was like that - I played a reserve match against them and Alan Thompson gave it the same to basically a pitch of u19s!
Saw it quite a bit when Celtic would come to our ground (Livi) and I was on the ground staff duties
03-04-2023, 06:21 AM
Some player he was.
03-04-2023, 06:25 AM
Mocking opponents for making less money than you must happen a fair bit. It was one of the reasons Arteta gave for shipping Matteo Guendouzi out of Arsenal (although probably not being as good as Thomas Partey might have had something to do with it too).
Seems a bit harsh, since half the UK cabinet do it too, if the Bullingdon Club reports are anything to go by. I just want to see Guendouzi set fire to a £20 in front of a beggar and see what the Daily Mail think of that.
Yorkshire HFC
03-04-2023, 08:53 AM
I
Football fans are a nice bunch of folk.
03-04-2023, 09:37 AM
His performance at ER that day was unbelievable. How anyone can blow that much money is staggering. He’ll have earned tens of millions.
03-04-2023, 10:21 AM
His performance at ER that day was unbelievable. How anyone can blow that much money is staggering. He’ll have earned tens of millions.
That's why it seems quite unusual that it hasn't been through drink, drugs or gambling.
Although I guess wacky business ventures with unscrupulous characters can certainly be expensive.
I guess the good news is that he seems to have an excellent job at a good club on an upward trajectory and a large chunk of his life ahead of him to make amends. Many others aren't so lucky / talented. He might not have the champagne lifestyle of a millionaire footballer but if he's sensible at least he'll be very comfortable. He'll also probably gain some professional satisfaction from helping youngsters avoid the pitfalls he fell into.
03-04-2023, 12:09 PM
Mocking opponents for making less money than you must happen a fair bit. It was one of the reasons Arteta gave for shipping Matteo Guendouzi out of Arsenal (although probably not being as good as Thomas Partey might have had something to do with it too).
Seems a bit harsh, since half the UK cabinet do it too, if the Bullingdon Club reports are anything to go by. I just want to see Guendouzi set fire to a £20 in front of a beggar and see what the Daily Mail think of that.
Happens everywhere, I hate it when people use the “minimum wage” quote when referring to someone with a job title they obviously think is below themselves.
03-04-2023, 02:00 PM
Thought he was a dick from way back. There was an FA cup game on TV and Villa were playing a D4 or non league side. He was chasing a through ball, winning the sprint easily but slowed down to elbow the defender in the face. Commentators never mentioned it. Real coward.
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
03-04-2023, 04:06 PM
Although Bellamy was a bit of a tool, those preying on the finances of young naive footballers are basically ****bags.
You would hope that decent agents / managers can talk to players about the pitfalls, and hopefully stories like his/others and education for younger players helps.
03-04-2023, 04:58 PM
I wouldn’t worry. No doubt ‘The Craig Bellamy’ will emerge from bankruptcy as if nothing ever happened
03-04-2023, 08:38 PM
I’ve seen higher profile / more lauded players live, but that was honestly one of the best performances I’ve seen. Ran us absolutely ragged, non stop all day (while mouthing off a lot too!)
Great player on his day but, as an arrogant wee fud who used to taunt others on the pitch about how much he made, I've no sympathy for him whatsoever!
04-04-2023, 10:24 PM
Anybody making a joke about someone being bankrupt says more about them tbh
04-04-2023, 10:37 PM
Couldn't happen to a more deserving person. Times are really tough right now for ordinary folk, and I struggle to extend any sympathy for someone like him.
05-04-2023, 07:03 PM
I’m not sure anyone is to be honest but in what way does it say more about them than Bellamy?
05-04-2023, 07:14 PM
Totally disliked the guy for years and wasn't sorry to here he was bankrupt though didn't know he had depression which changes everything for me , genuinely wish the guy well now as I would do with anyone with any illness.
Would the vast majority of former wealthy folk who go bankrupt not get depression?
05-04-2023, 07:20 PM
Great player on his day but, as an arrogant wee fud who used to taunt others on the pitch about how much he made, I've no sympathy for him whatsoever!
It seems Craig was universally disliked by everone bar his Mother !
Goad or taunt was a trait of a former hun/hertz player back in the 70s.
He liked to goad Catholic players with....
"Are you going to chapel the morn" Or comments about confession/rosary beads.
Of course, he picked his "victims" carefully,as rather than trying to get someone sent off reacting to him, he may well have got a broken jaw after the game !
Banter,it was not !
05-04-2023, 07:25 PM
Would the vast majority of former wealthy folk who go bankrupt not get depression?
Resilience is a major topic of study when it comes to depression. Why are some people prone to it, when others from similar backgrounds and environments aren't, when faced with the same life challenges?
There's plenty academic stuff out there if you want to read it. :greengrin
05-04-2023, 08:56 PM
I’m not sure anyone is to be honest but in what way does it say more about them than Bellamy?
It’s classless. Bellamy has done a lot for charity as well so don’t really understand it.
WestCoastHibby
05-04-2023, 10:30 PM
My dad was a bankrupt over forty years ago and now he’s never got himself past it. He blames everyone and everything but himself and it’s totally blighted his life and to a lesser extent mine.
You know what 5**t happens and you move on, it’s not that important
Craig Bellamy will no doubt rise like a phoenix
06-04-2023, 05:45 AM
It’s classless. Bellamy has done a lot for charity as well so don’t really understand it.
So enjoying a bit of shadenfreude at a classless wee twat losing the very thing he was being classless about is in fact itself classless? If that’s the case count me in.
06-04-2023, 07:32 AM
Going by his statement it looks like he trusted the wrong people to help him with his finances and he's been left to pick up the pieces. There will be plenty of people in life who've used financial advisers who haven't acted in their clients' best interests and have been left in a mess.
06-04-2023, 07:35 AM
Absolutely fantastic player. A player with hype who came up from England and actually delivered. Always thought he was a twat after taunting that Clyde player about money though. He probably has more money in his account than Bellamy now. Karma and all that.
06-04-2023, 08:28 AM
Resilience is a major topic of study when it comes to depression. Why are some people prone to it, when others from similar backgrounds and environments aren't, when faced with the same life challenges?
There's plenty academic stuff out there if you want to read it. :greengrin
Haud me back. Certainly my reading of things, with several family members in teaching and social work, is that the pendulum has swung this last generation, and is still swinging, from the vast majority of schoolkids being brought up to be resilient, to far too many being non-resilient, with a consequential drain on resources which impacts on everyone else in class. My local school head talks a lot about "building resilience" when in reality they mostly either pander to the me me me snowflakes or fail to control the rebellious "what are you going to do about it" delinquents - even in primary school.
I blame the belt getting banned.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-04-2023, 08:31 AM
Haud me back. Certainly my reading of things, with several family members in teaching and social work, is that the pendulum has swung this last generation, and is still swinging, from the vast majority of schoolkids being brought up to be resilient, to far too many being non-resilient, with a consequential drain on resources which impacts on everyone else in class. My local school head talks a lot about "building resilience" when in reality they mostly either pander to the me me me snowflakes or fail to control the rebellious "what are you going to do about it" delinquents - even in primary school.
Yep, battering bairns is the answer. Good take. 🫣
06-04-2023, 08:41 AM
Surely can't be serious? If a teacher or anyone for that matter took a belt to my child i'd end up in jail.
06-04-2023, 08:48 AM
Surely can't be serious? If a teacher or anyone for that matter took a belt to my child i'd end up in jail.
Might be a generational thing but the belt was no big deal (not that I had to suffer it much). The personal abuse teachers put up with now is eye watering (not suggesting we bring back the belt btw...time has moved on...just saying it probably does not merit your slightly OTT reaction)
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-04-2023, 08:53 AM
Might be a generational thing but the belt was no big deal (not that I had to suffer it much). The personal abuse teachers put up with now is eye watering (not suggesting we bring back the belt btw...time has moved on...just saying it probably does not merit your slightly OTT reaction)
I don’t think reacting that way to someone assaulting your child is OTT? The best teachers I had at school were the ones that told you to **** off or gave you a bit of a slagging when you acted like a fanny. No need for a belt, the average adult should have a sharper wit than a teenager, kids respond to that kind of thing better in my experience than being leathered across the hands with a belt.
06-04-2023, 10:02 AM
Bellend must be one of the most odious wee runts to ever grace our game. The way he taunted the Clyde players about having to work a 'proper' job was very poor form. It made the result of the match all the sweeter. It's also clear it wasn't an isolated incident. As some have pointed out, Karma can be a wonderful thing.
07-04-2023, 09:53 AM
So enjoying a bit of shadenfreude at a classless wee twat losing the very thing he was being classless about is in fact itself classless? If that’s the case count me in.
Aye, you’re a helmet
wallpaperman
07-04-2023, 11:11 AM
Aye, you’re a helmet
Do you ever get dizzy up on your pedestal of virtue?
There are probably thousands of rich people across the country who go bankrupt each year due to poor decisions or bad advice.
I feel more sorry for the people they leave in the lurch and the debts that will be written off, not all of these who are owed will be wealthy people or big businesses.
07-04-2023, 12:02 PM
Do you ever get dizzy up on your pedestal of virtue?
There are probably thousands of rich people across the country who go bankrupt each year due to poor decisions or bad advice.
I feel more sorry for the people they leave in the lurch and the debts that will be written off, not all of these who are owed will be wealthy people or big businesses.
***** patter. Stick to the day job chief.
07-04-2023, 12:09 PM
Aye, you’re a helmet
Childish name calling because your opinion differs, deary me.
wallpaperman
07-04-2023, 05:34 PM
***** patter. Stick to the day job chief.
No response though to my point that bankruptcy is not a victimless process for the people on the other end of it, I’ll reserve my sympathy for them rather than some naive knob of an ex footballer.
08-04-2023, 04:31 PM
Aye, you’re a helmet
Hmmmmmmm.:aok:
08-04-2023, 09:25 PM
Forgive my ignorance on Craig Bellamy, and situations like his generally, but as someone who basically lives week to week financially I’m at a loss as to how on earth someone who earned £85k a week at the peak of his career can end up in this position?
by all accounts he didn’t squander it on partying or gambling so what happened? Just terrible investments?
08-04-2023, 09:56 PM
Forgive my ignorance on Craig Bellamy, and situations like his generally, but as someone who basically lives week to week financially I’m at a loss as to how on earth someone who earned £85k a week at the peak of his career can end up in this position?
by all accounts he didn’t squander it on partying or gambling so what happened? Just terrible investments?
Bad advice on tax,I think. He trusted a financial advisor(s) to look after his money and by the look of it they didn’t do it properly, leaving him with a huge tax bill to pay.
08-04-2023, 10:09 PM
Bad advice on tax,I think. He trusted a financial advisor(s) to look after his money and by the look of it they didn’t do it properly, leaving him with a huge tax bill to pay.
thanks