View Full Version : Block 7

01-04-2023, 10:46 PM
An auld fart who really likes a sing song writes: go and sing some actual Hibs songs, eh?

01-04-2023, 10:55 PM
Start your own song?

01-04-2023, 10:59 PM
Start your own song?

Quite happily. Will I get priority on Tynecastle tickets and folk demanding I get dedicated safe standing in the FFL?

01-04-2023, 11:02 PM
Quite happily. Will I get priority on Tynecastle tickets and folk demanding I get dedicated safe seating in the FFL?

If it’s “Shanks said no I don’t think so” then you’ve got my backing for all of the above.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 11:03 PM
An auld fart who really likes a sing song writes: go and sing some actual Hibs songs, eh?

Some “actual” hibs songs? Just because you don’t know the words doesn’t mean they’re not “actual” hibs songs.

01-04-2023, 11:06 PM
Some “actual” hibs songs? Just because you don’t know the words doesn’t mean they’re not “actual” hibs songs.

Words? Chief, I didn't even know the tune! By all means they can sing their own stuff but if the wider fanbase doesn't know what it is, it's hardly going to help the atmosphere.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 11:13 PM
Words? Chief, I didn't even know the tune! By all means they can sing their own stuff but if the wider fanbase doesn't know what it is, it's hardly going to help the atmosphere.

You might have a point, but by the same token what’s stopping the wider fan base learning it? Or we could just sing 4 or 5 old songs on repeat ad infinitum

02-04-2023, 12:18 AM
Or we could just sing 4 or 5 old songs on repeat ad infinitum

Works for Hearts, Celtic and Rangers

02-04-2023, 06:06 AM
They seem to just adapt generic pop songs used by fans in England to Hibs. Are there any custom designed in house?

Johnny Clash
02-04-2023, 06:14 AM
All songs are new to start with. The last few decades has seen the Hibs songbook grow impressively. Social media means songs get carried all over the world and variations then get sung . Some amazing stuff getting shared just now from the Raja Casablanca fans. Most of the stadium joins in to create a formidable atmosphere.

https://twitter.com/elijahkyama_/status/1591719599258865664?s=46&t=o_9G2XPlyMyJIy3XEF8jKQ

02-04-2023, 06:34 AM
Every clubs “ultras” who are dressed in the same costumes and singing the same songs as each over (give or take a lyric change here or there) is a contributing factor to deterioration atmospheres rather than improving them.

A handful of fans chanting generic modern terrace songs to a constant drum through a game sort of just turns into background noise, which in turn gives doesn’t really encourage others to join in.

02-04-2023, 06:47 AM
Whatever happened to the 'Allez allez' song?

It was a new song (to us) that really caught on, was around for 3 or 4 seasons then just seemed to disappear. I have vague memories of a thread on here and a bit of chat on social media that a few people were upset that the majority of fans pronounced allez as 'ally' but surely that wasn't reason to just bin it?

I don't really think the 'just start your own song' works as an argument. There's always been areas of the ground that are known to start the songs. In my youth and teens it was under the old TV gantry in the east or the old codgers with their 'Hibees' stamp stamp stamp in the old man in stand. After the new east was built there was a few years of dire atmosphere before the various singing groups were formed. Since 1875 nailed it and when they were in their pomp the atmosphere was as good as it has ever been. There were plenty new songs but they were easy to learn and often smart or funny.

I'm not sure a couple of dozen folk making a noise to the tune of Discoland (which Celtic have done for years) has the same appeal. I don't think there is even a desire for other people to start their own song. Away at Livi everytime another group tried the Block 7 guys just sang over them and cut them off. There's no real identity to the ultras groups in Scotland. They all just sing the same songs to the same beat for the same likes on social media.

02-04-2023, 07:12 AM
They try but need to get some classics in amongst the new. They seem reluctant to do so, I post the same every week. Livi was a particular low point when they deliberately tried to drown out a Hail Hail started outside of their section. The atmosphere is poorer with them at the moment, as they don’t get the wider support involved. That said, nothing stopping people outside of B7 doing something about it!

Twice yesterday Motherwell sang a song and B7 started a song to the same tune. Where’s the originality?

02-04-2023, 07:13 AM
Start your own song?

You’d argue with your own jobby eh

02-04-2023, 07:16 AM
My favourite ‘ new ‘ songs ‘You’re not Rangers anymore’ ‘ If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns’ and ‘ 2-0 doon at Tiny....’

Also like the foot stomping ‘ Hibees!’ and when the young gadgies sing any old Tornadoes song

All time fav Glory Glory to the Hibees brought a tear to a glass eye 21-5-2016

Just an old fart really :greengrin

02-04-2023, 07:35 AM
Were they singing yesterday. Never heard a thing. The Arbroath Ultras were twice as noisy when I was up there on Friday than our lot normally are

02-04-2023, 07:36 AM

Supporters know the lyrics to that that song "booooo, boooo, booooooooo" ok 😁

02-04-2023, 07:39 AM
They definitely go quiet when we go behind. Can remember seeing a few messages think it was before the Rangers game about singing for 90 mins that didn't last long. Think overall they are a positive addition but certainly could do better and things like commandeering other folks seats at some games isn't really going to endear them to the wider fan base. Apologies if that seems unnecessarily harsh.

Greenio
02-04-2023, 07:48 AM
Getting a new song to stick is hard. I'm all for it though.

Has to be simple, catchy, to a time people know and then you have to do what you can to spread it which I've seen the block guys doing with little vids on social media with the lyrics spelt out.

Sometimes it just happens naturally like the allez allez one

Just cos you don't know it doesn't mean it's not worth trying to make you know it eventually

What's the alternative? No new snogs? Where's the fun in that?

jws1875
02-04-2023, 07:53 AM
This has been a complaint I've had this season. I sit in the block next to them and I wish they'd mix it up instead of constant new songs. Saying that though yesterday was a bit more of a mix and I'd say they never stopped until the 3rd goal went in.

02-04-2023, 07:55 AM
Getting a new song to stick is hard. I'm all for it though.

Has to be simple, catchy, to a time people know and then you have to do what you can to spread it which I've seen the block guys doing with little vids on social media with the lyrics spelt out.

Sometimes it just happens naturally like the allez allez one

Just cos you don't know it doesn't mean it's not worth trying to make you know it eventually

What's the alternative? No new snogs? Where's the fun in that?

The best songs always happen naturally. The most humorous ones seem to start at away days. New songs will always emerge, often from the unlikeliest of places. (The Malmo song springs to mind.)

02-04-2023, 07:56 AM
My favourite ‘ new ‘ songs ‘You’re not Rangers anymore’ ‘ If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns’ and ‘ 2-0 doon at Tiny....’

Also like the foot stomping ‘ Hibees!’ and when the young gadgies sing any old Tornadoes song

All time fav Glory Glory to the Hibees brought a tear to a glass eye 21-5-2016

Just an old fart really :greengrin

“You’re not Rangers anymore” - It’s factual, but a bit playground 6/10

“If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns” - At first glance some would argue it’s a bit of a nonsensical song given the background of a lot of the Celtic support, but with Rangers not adopting their sectarian policy and club identity steeped in bigotry until the 1920’s, without Celtic, and Hibernian’s contribution in making that happen, there’s every chance that the Irish diaspora would have adopted Rangers as their club in their new homeland and through time, would appeal to the wider glory-hunting appeal community across the country - 9/10

Foot stomping “Hibees” - a much loved perennial that deserves more regular airings. (As a ST in the west upper, the chants spiritual home, I accept responsibility as being part of the problem of not giving enough airtime to an ER retro legend) - 10/10

“2-0 at Tynie” - A true modern classic. 10/10

“Glory Glory” - wasn’t sung much when I started going in 70’s and 80’s, but saw a resurgence after being added to the pre match music choice playlists at ER before becoming a terrace favourite. Petering out a bit these days in amongst different tastes from younger fans, but one that should still stand the test of time and survive for occasional renditions - 10/10

“Mercer Song” - …

02-04-2023, 08:09 AM
“You’re not Rangers anymore” - It’s factual, but a bit playground 6/10

“If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns” - At first glance some would argue it’s a bit of a nonsensical song given the background of a lot of the Celtic support, but with Rangers not adopting their sectarian policy and club identity steeped in bigotry until the 1920’s, without Celtic, and Hibernian’s contribution in making that happen, there’s every chance that the Irish diaspora would have adopted Rangers as their club in their new homeland and through time, would appeal to the wider glory-hunting appeal community across the country - 9/10

Foot stomping “Hibees” - a much loved perennial that deserves more regular airings. (As a ST in the west upper, the chants spiritual home, I accept responsibility as being part of the problem of not giving enough airtime to an ER retro legend) - 10/10

“2-0 at Tynie” - A true modern classic. 10/10

“Glory Glory” - wasn’t sung much when I started going in 70’s and 80’s, but saw a resurgence after being added to the pre match music choice playlists at ER before becoming a terrace favourite. Petering out a bit these days in amongst different tastes from younger fans, but one that should still stand the test of time and survive for occasional renditions - 10/10

“Mercer Song” - …

You’re not Rangers winds up the Hun that and calling them The Rangers love it

Walking away The Rangers way another one

If it wisnae for the Hibees love it winds up the smellies reminds them of their roots and the debt they owe us robbing bassa’s

Foot stomping used to stand underneath The North Stand in the North Enclosure normally led by Frank Dougan as the Hibees started to turn the screw and it would reverberate around the ground

2-0 doon at Tiny reminds the Hearts of a lost thrown away opportunity always good for a wind up

Hector Nicol used to love it when they played it just before kick off you just knew it was game on

Forget the Mercer song

15-04-2023, 08:48 PM
Pleased to hear, and join in with, some of the older stuff today.

What was with the "hoops" banner though?

HIBS NUTS
15-04-2023, 09:37 PM
TOTAL class the banner for the hearts 15 year old today
Nice to see not all football fans, are as bad as the huns .

16-04-2023, 09:34 AM
TOTAL class the banner for the hearts 15 year old today
Nice to see not all football fans, are as bad as the huns .

Absolutely.

16-04-2023, 09:38 AM
Thought they were brilliant yesterday as were all fans. Absolutely loved the passionate atmosphere

16-04-2023, 10:59 AM

Not sure what one you’re referring to? Can’t say I saw one like you described?

Yes, good to hear some traditional chants that were embraced by large numbers around the stadium. A full Easter Road can create a terrific atmosphere for a winning occasion. The noise maybe reflected the optimism of the support in believing we would win as we dominated the game, despite the one goal advantage which on other occasions could have shredded some nerves.

A great day:flag:

16-04-2023, 11:25 AM
You’re not Rangers winds up the Hun that and calling them The Rangers love it

Walking away The Rangers way another one

If it wisnae for the Hibees love it winds up the smellies reminds them of their roots and the debt they owe us robbing bassa’s

Foot stomping used to stand underneath The North Stand in the North Enclosure normally led by Frank Dougan as the Hibees started to turn the screw and it would reverberate around the ground

2-0 doon at Tiny reminds the Hearts of a lost thrown away opportunity always good for a wind up

Hector Nicol used to love it when they played it just before kick off you just knew it was game on

Forget the Mercer song

Before thermal socks,the auld yins in the old North Stand on cauld days/nights would use the foot stomping Hibees chant cos their feet were freezin'.

Pre dates Dougan though.
He would have been in the Cave then,booming out his rugby type chants. like Oggy Oggy Oggy !
So many songs from the Cave 60s/70s would not get an airing nowadays.
No chance !! Example
We use to sing Follow !Follow! and "We'll support you ever more"
Soon dropped by Hibs fans,as they were mainly songs associated with the club in Govan that died a few years ago.
And some of the Irish folk songs died out. And i dont mean just rebel songs.
(Holy Ground and Wild Rover)
So even back then we were not that creative and just changed lyrics to other clubs tunes.
We have always sang The Celtic Song !! Grand old team!

SOL

If the young team adapted "old tunes", stuck with them a while,then older guys might catch on a bit quicker :greengrin

andrew70
16-04-2023, 12:01 PM

They had Shamrock Rovers fans over for the game.

They kept an already good atmosphere going throughout.

16-04-2023, 12:23 PM
Why the f*** the SNP?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Tully
16-04-2023, 12:26 PM
Was it no f the sfa

16-04-2023, 12:27 PM
Yes it was

16-04-2023, 12:28 PM
Was it no f the sfa

16-04-2023, 12:28 PM
yeah i was wondering why **** the SFA was sung, that's what the bigot brothers usually sing :confused:

16-04-2023, 12:29 PM
I enjoyed '**** the Gorgie' especially as most folk around me sang '**** the Tories'

16-04-2023, 12:30 PM
yeah i was wondering why **** the SFA was sung, that's what the bigot brothers usually sing :confused:

It's basically the modern day 'who's the ******* in the black', sung when the ref or linesman is a cheat.

16-04-2023, 12:38 PM
It's basically the modern day 'who's the ******* in the black', sung when the ref or linesman is a cheat.

so silly and childish and immature :greengrin

andrew70
16-04-2023, 01:59 PM
so silly and childish and immature :greengrin

Except Beaton was, again, a cheating roger hunt.

16-04-2023, 02:07 PM
Beaton lol the guys a joke, rugby tackle on Marshall, an offside freekick for Hearts he allowed to be taken in the wrong half and the two balls on the pitch farce when he decided to employ his own rule book to name but three.
Clearly models his reffing style on Brian Glover in Kes.

Helensburghhibs
16-04-2023, 02:25 PM
Beaton lol the guys a joke, rugby tackle on Marshall, an offside freekick for Hearts he allowed to be taken in the wrong half and the two balls on the pitch farce when he decided to employ his own rule book to name but three.

Beaton was once again a joke yesterday. But the offside one was the right decision and people no knowing the rules does give me some amount of sympathy for the flack officials have to deal with. Fans should really make an effort to keep up with the rules. 2 occasions yesterday where people round me were going ballistic were the offside one and 2 balls on the pitch. Both times the ref was correct.

Helensburghhibs
16-04-2023, 02:35 PM
https://twitter.com/blocksevenhibs?t=IG93N06vxDG-F5R52U4DzA&s=09

Slightly different topic. Also since 1875 group suggesting they may make a comeback this morning on twitter

16-04-2023, 02:38 PM
Beaton was once again a joke yesterday. But the offside one was the right decision and people no knowing the rules does give me some amount of sympathy for the flack officials have to deal with. Fans should really make an effort to keep up with the rules. 2 occasions yesterday where people round me were going ballistic were the offside one and 2 balls on the pitch. Both times the ref was correct.

You're spot on about the offside. The free kick used to be taken from where the player was when the ball was played forward i.e. in the opponents' half.

It changed about 5 years ago so the kick is now awarded where the offence occurs.

Therefore, if a player runs back from an offside position, the offence occurs at the spot he plays the ball which could be in his own half.

What happened with the 2 balls, though?

16-04-2023, 02:41 PM

Slightly different topic. Also since 1875 group suggesting they may make a comeback this morning on twitter

That's brilliant. Seems like we are going to finally get the singing section behind the goals in FF lower that some of us have championed for years.

Helensburghhibs
16-04-2023, 02:46 PM
You're spot on about the offside. The free kick used to be taken from where the player was when the ball was played forward i.e. in the opponents' half.

It changed about 5 years ago so the kick is now awarded where the offence occurs.

Therefore, if a player runs back from an offside position, the offence occurs at the spot he plays the ball which could be in his own half.

What happened with the 2 balls, though?

2 balls on the pitch used to be mean the game stopped automatically. That has been changed to only being stopped if it interferes with play. Yesterday 2 balls were on the pitch and people roundabout were going mental about the game being stopped. Jdh then kicked the extra ball towards play to get it stopped haha

16-04-2023, 02:50 PM
2 balls on the pitch used to be mean the game stopped automatically. That has been changed to only being stopped if it interferes with play. Yesterday 2 balls were on the pitch and people roundabout were going mental about the game being stopped. Jdh then kicked the extra ball towards play to get it stopped haha

I'm not sure how, but I didn't see the incident so thanks for the update.

Good work from JDH! 😃

16-04-2023, 02:59 PM

I’ll hold my hands up and say I had absolutely no idea about that ever changing!

And I was one of the ones ‘bemused’ by the free kick being taken in their half.

16-04-2023, 02:59 PM
That's brilliant. Seems like we are going to finally get the singing section behind the goals in FF lower that some of us have championed for years.

I read it as there is going to be a fan consultation rather than them moving back as such??

16-04-2023, 03:07 PM
About bloody time. Great news.

16-04-2023, 03:15 PM
...Since 1875 group suggesting they may make a comeback this morning on twitter

That's good to hear.

Stairway 2 7
16-04-2023, 03:46 PM
Brilliant delighted if this comes to pass

16-04-2023, 04:21 PM
Before thermal socks,the auld yins in the old North Stand on cauld days/nights would use the foot stomping Hibees chant cos their feet were freezin'.

Pre dates Dougan though.
He would have been in the Cave then,booming out his rugby type chants. like Oggy Oggy Oggy !
No chance !! Example
Soon dropped by Hibs fans,as they were mainly songs associated with the club in Govan that died a few years ago.
So even back then we were not that creative and just changed lyrics to other clubs tunes.

SOL

If the young team adapted "old tunes", stuck with them a while,then older guys might catch on a bit quicker :greengrin

Yes Mick, Frank was certainly the main man under the cover at that time. I think most of the Irish rebel stuff died out when the troubles started in the late 60s.
Do you remember the song sung to the tune of The Sash?
“ Oh the Rangers sing of their Ralphy Brand and their Jimmy Miller too, but we’ve got Paddy Stanton, he’s a Bobby dazzler too.”

16-04-2023, 04:22 PM
Yes Mick, Frank was certainly the main man under the cover at that time. I think most of the Irish rebel stuff died out when the troubles started in the late 60s.
“ Oh the Rangers sing of their Ralphy Brand and their Jimmy Miller too, but we’ve got Paddy Stanton, he’s a Bobby dazzler too.”

I remember singing that.

Helensburghhibs
16-04-2023, 04:38 PM

The lads get it tight with some of the modern songs but can I just say.......that is a horrendous effort 🤣

Garymcl
16-04-2023, 04:43 PM
Get 1875 guys back big time either in ff designated section or back where they were in the east :thumbsup::flag:

16-04-2023, 05:01 PM

Well if they are they are pretty crap.

16-04-2023, 05:19 PM
This is brilliant news if Block 7 could be behind the goals.

As good as they were yesterday - having fans behind the goal with the flags and at the side will create more atmosphere.

It’s not so much an issue at games like yesterday when the stadium looks more full but other games and the FF is empty.

It was one of several reasons I haven’t renewed yet as I was fed up with the trials at youth games and no change but if they are actively looking to do it then I feel the club would be listening to fans finally.

16-04-2023, 06:15 PM

Plenty of clubs have more than one 'Ultras' group, so it might not be a bad thing if Hibs had more than one too.

The report on talks with Hibs look promising .... this could be the start of something really good :thumbsup:

16-04-2023, 06:20 PM
Plenty of clubs have more than one 'Ultras' group, so it might not be a bad thing if Hibs had more than one too.

The report on talks with Hibs look promising .... this could be the start of something really good :thumbsup:

I think we should get with the kids and start an oldies Ultra group. We just need to come up with a suitable name. :greengrin

16-04-2023, 06:37 PM

Classic film with top class actor.
I met him in the George Street Assembly Rooms press bar many moons ago:greengrin

Or Fulton Mackay in the film of Porridge. Name and number when booking .
Mr Barrowclough on VAR ,man never gets a decision correct.

16-04-2023, 06:54 PM

Well you couldnae miss or fail to hear him from the foot of St Clair Street :greengrin !!

Yes "the troubles" did have a say in it fizzling oot.
Aye, remember the "sash" tune/song now !

:singing:Oh i dont know why the rangers say that they always hate the green
for greens the finest colour that they have ever seen
They can talk aboot their Ralphie Brands and their Jimmy Millers too
But we've got Eric Stevenson ,he's a bobby dazzler too:singing:

16-04-2023, 06:56 PM

Pre dates Dougan though.
No chance !! Example

SOL

Yet another excellent and informative post for us younger ones ;)

Had no idea we sang follow follow. Gies me the boak a little though haha

16-04-2023, 07:14 PM

Cheers HV
Was saddened and angry to see a utube clip earlier my grandson put me on too
Jambo "Ultras" marching down ER yesterday, and as they turn into Bothwell Street ,they are singing Hullo Hullo and clearly singing up to our knees in Fenian blood
Doing "get intae these fenian Cs and Bs during the game. Its been filmed.
Budge should be taking action. She will certainly know about this group and likely the possible grafitti artists.
Diet Huns right enough

16-04-2023, 07:31 PM
I think we should get with the kids and start an oldies Ultra group. We just need to come up with a suitable name. :greengrin

Hibs Top Das.

16-04-2023, 07:36 PM
Hibs Top Das.

Still Game

Pensioners
"Pride of Edinburgh"

16-04-2023, 07:50 PM

Did you get a reply as to why that was sung ?

16-04-2023, 07:54 PM

False Tifo

16-04-2023, 07:56 PM
False Tifo

Brilliant !! :greengrin

16-04-2023, 07:58 PM
Since the 1950s

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2023, 07:59 PM
False Tifo

[emoji23][emoji23]

16-04-2023, 08:03 PM
How would having 2 different ultra groups work????? Who organise the displays and stuff. Would since 1875 get the same ticket privilege that block 7 get.

16-04-2023, 08:08 PM

The rendition came at the culmination of a couple of Beaton’s decisions. I read it simply as a retort to the SFA refereeing dept.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-04-2023, 08:09 PM
How would having 2 different ultra groups work????? Who organise the displays and stuff. Would since 1875 get the same ticket privilege that block 7 get.

Celtic have two different ultras groups, loads of teams do

16-04-2023, 08:13 PM
Celtic have two different ultras groups, loads of teams do

They don't get on with each other though.

DIXIHIBS
16-04-2023, 08:27 PM
Well you couldnae miss or fail to hear him from the foot of St Clair Street :greengrin !!

Yes "the troubles" did have a say in it fizzling oot.
Aye, remember the "sash" tune/song now !

:singing:Oh i dont know why the rangers say that they always hate the green
for greens the finest colour that they have ever seen
They can talk aboot their Ralphie Brands and their Jimmy Millers too
But we've got Eric Stevenson ,he's a bobby dazzler too:singing:

Used to sing it on our bus all the time. We used to add at the start
Cheer up cheer up the boys will see you through
The boys who beat the rangers and the glasgow celtic too
Cheer up cheer up the boys will see you right
The boys that wear the colours, the colours green and white
Oh i dont know why....etc

Bridge hibs
16-04-2023, 08:35 PM
Since the 1950s

The Sage Brigade “we snap crackle and piss”

16-04-2023, 08:36 PM

We sang You’ll Never Walk Alone occasionally up to about 20 years ago.

I do remember “we’ll support you evermore”, usually after an unlucky defeat in a big game.

16-04-2023, 08:40 PM

Yep 👍

16-04-2023, 08:45 PM
The rendition came at the culmination of a couple of Beaton’s decisions. I read it simply as a retort to the SFA refereeing dept.

16-04-2023, 08:49 PM

A Roy L Classic :greengrin

DIXIHIBS
16-04-2023, 08:59 PM
A Roy L Classic :greengrin

He was singing it last night😀😀

16-04-2023, 08:59 PM

Well remembered ,Dixi
When we got to the line beginning..
"Oh i dont know why".. that was the start of the sash tune

We had a great "song book" back in the sixties
Then when fans started wearing hard hats and flared trousers singing nonsense like...
"come ahead if you think your hard enough "
Or "you're going home in an effing ambulance" !

The real football song lyricists just held their hands up and gave up :greengrin

We of the Levi staypress,real leather slip on shoes and Ben Sherman shirt culture :greengrin

Snazzy !!

Helensburghhibs
16-04-2023, 09:00 PM

I do remember “we’ll support you evermore”, usually after an unlucky defeat in a big game.

Always thought we'll support you evermore as a relegation/major disappointment song

Clarence
16-04-2023, 09:06 PM

Always thought us singing YNWA was a bit strange. Glad we have reverted to singing our own anthem.

16-04-2023, 09:15 PM

Back in the day most clubs sang both. Even United sang YNWA in the early 70s.

16-04-2023, 09:17 PM
Always thought us singing YNWA was a bit strange. Glad we have reverted to singing our own anthem.

Remember that we played Liverpool in the early 1970's at a time football wasn't on telly 24/7.

16-04-2023, 09:23 PM
A lot of different club fansin Scotland sang YNWA ,bar one .
And Celtic never sang "We'll support you evermore"

I suppose for us it ,YNWA ,petered out maybe when Sol starting getting more popular .early 90s
Is there a big game that sticks out or when SOL was first sang ? .
Of course, it would get played pre match over tannoy now and again.
More and more after Hands of Hibs campaign.i think

16-04-2023, 09:30 PM
Remember that we played Liverpool in the early 1970's at a time football wasn't on telly 24/7.

The old Spion Kop at Anfield use to belt out Beatles songs ,early/mid sixties
Brilliant stuff back then... The Kop swaying with :singing: Yea ! Yea ! Yea !:singing:

Liverpool band Gerry and the Pacemakers had a huge hit with YNWA and it stuck and remained a Liverpool anthem.
Celtic copied them.

WHAM
16-04-2023, 09:38 PM
A lot of different club fansin Scotland sang YNWA ,bar one .
And Celtic never sang "We'll support you evermore"

I suppose for us it ,YNWA ,petered out maybe when Sol starting getting more popular .early 90s
Is there a big game that sticks out or when SOL was first sang ? .
Of course, it would get played pre match over tannoy now and again.
More and more after Hands of Hibs campaign.i think

IIRC I would say the last time that YNWA was sung by the Hibs support may possibly be the 6-2 game against Hearts, of course it was the Hibs own version, slightly sped up with some clapping during the chorus. I was in the East that night and almost certain I can remember it.

The AEK game at Easter Road the following season was when SoL properly took off.

16-04-2023, 10:34 PM
IIRC I would say the last time that YNWA was sung by the Hibs support may possibly be the 6-2 game against Hearts, of course it was the Hibs own version, slightly sped up with some clapping during the chorus. I was in the East that night and almost certain I can remember it.

The AEK game at Easter Road the following season was when SoL properly took off.Half time at the AEK was the first time the fans really delivered it well.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

16-04-2023, 10:35 PM
Brilliant stuff back then... The Kop swaying with :singing: Yea ! Yea ! Yea !:singing:

Liverpool band Gerry and the Pacemakers had a huge hit with YNWA and it stuck and remained a Liverpool anthem.
Celtic copied them.
We used to sing a quickened up version of YNWA also when there was fighting going on some would sing you'll never walk again.

16-04-2023, 10:44 PM

Celtic copied them.

Some great footage of that 60’s Merseybeat/terrace era here -

https://youtu.be/aDG59KyX19A

16-04-2023, 11:19 PM

It’s really not hard to understand.::

16-04-2023, 11:50 PM

The AEK game at Easter Road the following season was when SoL properly took off.

No chance we sang it that night.

WHAM
17-04-2023, 12:55 AM

100% we did.

https://youtu.be/gxlB3Pq0GUc

(Approx 1hr 29mins 45secs into the video)

Apologies for being pedantic 😄

Helensburghhibs
17-04-2023, 03:31 AM

Nah no chance ,, I have never heard YNWA at easter road ,, ended before I started going in the early 90s

greenlad
17-04-2023, 04:49 AM
Nah no chance ,, I have never heard YNWA at easter road ,, ended before I started going in the early 90s

Per WHAM's evidence above it still got an airing in 2000. I've also heard it (on video) at Easter Road from the celebrations after the 1991 League Cup win.

Also remember a thunderous version being sung from the terracing as we were leaving Celtic Park after the 1993 League Cup final defeat Vs Rangers.

17-04-2023, 06:00 AM
Half time at the AEK was the first time the fans really delivered it well.

Was it not before extra time?

17-04-2023, 06:02 AM

Pretty sure we played it over the tannoy at half time during the 70s.

Helensburghhibs
17-04-2023, 06:34 AM
I do have the excuse of being young but it is amazing how the memory let's you down sometimes. I would have put my house in never having sung it at Easter Road.

Sol before extra time of the anthens game was unbelievable

17-04-2023, 08:36 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;7331292]Well remembered ,Dixi

Then when fans started wearing hard hats and flared trousers singing nonsense like...

The real football song lyricists just held their hands up and gave up :greengrin

We of the Levi staypress,real leather slip on shoes and Ben Sherman shirt culture :greengrin

Snazzy !![/QUOTE You forgot the one “there’s more of us than you”

17-04-2023, 08:44 AM
100% we did.

https://youtu.be/gxlB3Pq0GUc

(Approx 1hr 29mins 45secs into the video)

Apologies for being pedantic 😄

Wow! I'm stood standing well corrected!

Thanks for finding that. My memory is obviously pish! :hilarious

17-04-2023, 08:46 AM
Almost certain we sang YNWA late on, maybe after full time as well, the day Dundee United relegated us in 1998.

Green Man
17-04-2023, 08:51 AM
I can remember singing YNWA at the 2001 semi final v Livi.

17-04-2023, 09:24 AM
Was it no f the sfa

Yes it was

Need to get my ears syringed.....:brickwall

17-04-2023, 11:01 AM
Whatever happened to the 'Allez allez' song?

It was a new song (to us) that really caught on, was around for 3 or 4 seasons then just seemed to disappear. I have vague memories of a thread on here and a bit of chat on social media that a few people were upset that the majority of fans pronounced allez as 'ally' but surely that wasn't reason to just bin it?

The tannoy played a recording of Hibs fans chanting that just after the full time (before ET) whistle had blown in the relegation play-off, seconds after Hamilton scored their equaliser.

My pet theory is that killed it.

17-04-2023, 08:21 PM
No chance we sang it that night.There is every chance as it was sung in the East Stand at half time. Pretty good rendition too given the tannoy wasn't playing it. AEK fans enjoyed it as well.

17-04-2023, 08:24 PM
Was it not before extra time?Maybe. Wasn't at the end of the game I remember that much. Definitely sung that night though.

17-04-2023, 09:10 PM
Talks ongoing for relocation (24/25)

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-fans-group-block-seven-reveals-breakthrough-in-crunch-talks-with-easter-road-chiefs-4106166?fbclid=IwAR1DltRudsd3Dfhw8LoJEugsT6o2A9n_j _s72-iFz36dMeOTgBbzeaN6nEk

17-04-2023, 09:25 PM
Maybe. Wasn't at the end of the game I remember that much. Definitely sung that night though.

Think it was just before extra time

percy veer
17-04-2023, 09:57 PM
Almost certain we sang YNWA late on, maybe after full time as well, the day Dundee United relegated us in 1998.

Yeah that where i remember it from.

17-04-2023, 10:31 PM
Talks ongoing for relocation (24/25)

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-fans-group-block-seven-reveals-breakthrough-in-crunch-talks-with-easter-road-chiefs-4106166?fbclid=IwAR1DltRudsd3Dfhw8LoJEugsT6o2A9n_j _s72-iFz36dMeOTgBbzeaN6nEk

Hope this happens.

18-04-2023, 11:00 AM

Yep I remember it! Now proven by video footage.

18-04-2023, 12:12 PM
Well remembered ,Dixi

Snazzy !!

Did we also sing a Rod Stewart song as well, Sailing maybe, can’t remember if any words were changed though.

18-04-2023, 12:34 PM
Did we also sing a Rod Stewart song as well, Sailing maybe, can’t remember if any words were changed though.

We certainly did and yes, the words changed a bit in the singing.

Johnny Clash
19-04-2023, 09:30 PM
Maybe. Wasn't at the end of the game I remember that much. Definitely sung that night though.

I also think we sang SoL before extra time.
Was disappointed the official Hibs video of the AEK games didn’t show this.
I heard it was to avoid paying royalties.
It must have been filmed though but I’ve seen no footage anywhere.

03-05-2023, 03:20 PM
Hearts moving supporters from directly behind the Gorgie Stand goal to allow their "ultra" fans a chance to add atmosphere to the stadium from next season.

Hibs have been slow to sort this and now another season wasted when we should have done it about 3 years ago.

PHeffernan
03-05-2023, 03:39 PM
Hearts moving supporters from directly behind the Gorgie Stand goal to allow their "ultra" fans a chance to add atmosphere to the stadium from next season.

Hibs have been slow to sort this and now another season wasted when we should have done it about 3 years ago.

A global pandemic had just kicked off 3 years ago so why should the club have started it then?