View Full Version : Why don't we get behind the team?
01-04-2023, 06:50 PM
When it's not quite working, like the first half today, why are we so quick to boo and vent our unhappiness and not try and be positive and get behind the team and give them a boost?
How does the booing help? Why don't we support?
01-04-2023, 06:52 PM
There wasn’t really much in the way of booing.
It was pish. And the support has been fantastic this season, despite it largely being pish.
Lack of effort doesn’t merit anything more than they got from the stands today.
01-04-2023, 06:53 PM
Well, I was bored to death watching a bunch of non trier's get the run around so it wasn't conducive to cheering.
You go for it, if that's your thing.
01-04-2023, 06:53 PM
When it's not quite working, like the first half today, why are we so quick to boo and vent our unhappiness and not try and be positive and get behind the team and give them a boost?
Scottish fans in general are pretty *****. Atmosphere at most games is chronic, and as you say instead of supporting teams when we go behind we tend to berate them.
Scottish national team support is the complete opposite though.
01-04-2023, 06:54 PM
Scottish fans in general are pretty *****. Atmosphere at most games is chronic, and as you say instead of supporting teams when we go behind we tend to berate then.
Scottish national team support is different when they’re doing all right. Same as most supports. Not that long ago that Hampden was regularly less than half full.
01-04-2023, 06:56 PM
Scottish fans in general are pretty *****. Atmosphere at most games is chronic, and as you say instead of supporting teams when we go behind we tend to berate them.
Scottish fans turn out in bigger moments to support their teams than anyone else in Europe. Atmosphere is a two way thing, the players have to give us something as well. We are not the problem.
gaz1875
01-04-2023, 06:56 PM
I got behind them turning up which is more than the majority of that starting line up did!!
01-04-2023, 06:58 PM
Scottish fans turn out in bigger moments to support their teams than anyone else in Europe. Atmosphere is a two way thing, the players have to give us something as well. We are not the problem.
We are very much a part of the problem, so quick to jump onto players backs when a pass doesn't work
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2023, 06:58 PM
Find these types of posts funny. Fans turn up in huge numbers over the years to be let down. Maybe folk are fed up of that? Losing at home to a sh*t Motherwell team is pretty pathetic so folk are right to be hacked off. We don’t all live in fairy land
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 06:59 PM
Paying fans have the right to express how their opinion in anyway they want too imo
01-04-2023, 07:01 PM
We are very much a part of the problem, so quick to jump onto players backs when a pass doesn't work
Pathetic post. Crowd was not even remotely part of the problem today.
If you find another set of fans in Scotland who "get behind" their players when they continually give the ball away under no pressure then good luck. It's human nature. If it's 1 or 2 players then the atmosphere will be better, But if every player is doing it then the fans will obviously be really frustrated as there appears to be no reason why it's happening.
Because the players looked like they didn’t give a ****
You want me to cheer after watching well paid pro's misplace pass after pass?
Er..naw..the fans are 10000% not the issue.
Paying fans have the right to express how their opinion in anyway they want too imo
Fundamental wrong headed thinking. If we don't get behind the team, nobody else will.
01-04-2023, 07:02 PM
You want me to cheer after watching well paid pro's misplace pass after pass?
Er..naw..the fans are 10000% not the issue.
This is so much 10000% wrong
01-04-2023, 07:03 PM
This is so much 10000% wrong
Well, from the replies to date, someone is wrong and I dont think it's me.
Cheer on.
01-04-2023, 07:04 PM
Numbers wise we are great, but if we are being totally honest the atmosphere at most of our games is absolutely brutal, and we turn on teams very quickly when things don't go our way.
Find these types of posts funny. Fans turn up in huge numbers over the years to be let down. Maybe folk are fed up of that? Losing at home to a sh*t Motherwell team is pretty pathetic so folk are right to be hacked off. We don’t all live in fairy land
Why can't you channel your energy into offering your support to a team that needs it? Getting on their back hardly ****ing helps!
Didn’t take long.
Fans fault again
01-04-2023, 07:05 PM
Well, from the replies to date, someone is wrong and I dont think it's me.
Cheer on.
Oh I will, someone needs to!
Trinity Hibee
Why can't you channel your energy into offering your support to a team that needs it? Getting on their back hardly ****ing helps!
I don’t boo at games but I certainly wasn’t happy today. Hilarious you are continuing with this going by everyone else’s replies. Maybe time to put the phone down for the night.
GreenGray
Fundamental wrong headed thinking. If we don't get behind the team, nobody else will.
Our fans get behind the team, we all buy our tickets home and away. Basically sold out today, fans have the right to express their opinion.
Fans boo’d at half time and full time which is warranted, I heard plenty of encouragement where I was sat during the game.
Sounds like you’re just trying you’re best to deflect blame from the players and manger tbh.
01-04-2023, 07:06 PM
I don’t boo at games but I certainly wasn’t happy today. Hilarious you are continuing with this going by everyone else’s replies. Maybe time to put the phone down for the night.
I just don't get it! It's not sensible or positive behaviours
01-04-2023, 07:08 PM
Have to say .. Thats complete bollocks mate. Fans weren’t the problem today , the player’s performance was. The only thing of note from the fans today was that they were booed off at half time and full time. To try and make out the fans were on the players backs today is strange .
You must be bored , but i suppose todays game could excuse that
Greenwich_Hibby
01-04-2023, 07:09 PM
Maybe the fans actually see the team is bang average and led by a clown?
01-04-2023, 07:11 PM
I think there is a bit of a rose tinted view of fans on the continent or beyond with the idea this is a Scottish thing.
I've watched a lot of football in Spain, including for close to a full season, and trust me the stuff you hear at ER is nothing compared to them when things go wrong. The Barcelona special was either 100K white hankies of surrender or just not turning up at all. Betis fans stormed the training ground when I was in Seville and had a whole neighbourhood on police lockdown and Valencia fans had their owner removed from his home and put on a flight out the country under police escort.
I certainly didn't hear Chelsea fans cheering their side on tonight when they dropped yet more points and by all accounts the Hearts support was poisonous at Rugby Park today.
You can argue 'we should be better etc etc' but fans across the world are pretty consistent with these things. Give fans something to get behind, even in defeat, and they will respond accordingly. Put in a performance like today and they will also respond, just in a different way.
PHeffernan
01-04-2023, 07:22 PM
I think it's a modern day entitlement thing.
No patience and instant gratification required.
It started very early today and continued throughout the match.
It's nothing vicious but it is a rumbling insidious collective frustration.
However, we were dreadful today and I must admit I was losing it when we left Jeggo on.
01-04-2023, 07:24 PM
It's nothing vicious but it is pretty insidious collective frustration.
However, we were dreadful and I must admit I was losing it when we left Jeggo on.
We were struggling today but I just want us to get behind the team when they need us to do so. I guess doing that isn't Hibs Class though
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2023, 07:25 PM
However, we were dreadful today and I must admit I was losing it when we left Jeggo on.
Thing is we’ve seen this too many times before. This isn’t a ‘one-off’. If folk didn’t want Hibs to win they wouldn’t turn up. Everyone is fed up of losing to pish like that Motherwell team and missing out on a huge chance to close the gap on 3rd. Aberdeen did it today. Yet again we let ourselves down
01-04-2023, 07:26 PM
What would you expect other than a rumbling of frustration watching that? It was obvious what we were watching from about two minutes in. If players give their all they’ll get backed. Today they didn’t do that.
01-04-2023, 07:28 PM
I think there is a bit of a rose tinted view of fans on the continent or beyond with the idea this is a Scottish thing.
I've watched a lot of football in Spain, including for close to a full season, and trust me the stuff you hear at ER is nothing compared to them when things go wrong. The Barcelona special was either 100K white hankies of surrender or just not turning up at all. Betis fans stormed the training ground when I was in Seville and had a whole neighbourhood on police lockdown and Valencia fans had their owner removed from his home and put on a flight out the country under police escort.
I certainly didn't hear Chelsea fans cheering their side on tonight when they dropped yet more points and by all accounts the Hearts support was poisonous at Rugby Park today.
You can argue 'we should be better etc etc' but fans across the world are pretty consistent with these things. Give fans something to get behind, even in defeat, and they will respond accordingly. Put in a performance like today and they will also respond, just in a different way.
Correct about fans on the continent. It’s all very colourful and noisy but when it’s not happening for their team it’s a lot more than a bit booing directed at their team.
I helped to kick off the East Stand Singing Section and Hibs12thMan. Those movements and the supporters involved fully understood the concept that a well-backed team performs better.
During the years 2010 and 2012, Easter Road had one of the noisiest atmospheres in the SPL. The vocal support at home was probably the only highlight under a series of uninspiring managerial appointments.
Now when we walk into Easter Road, we only hear the away support. The players get no vocal encouragement from the stands. What would it take I wonder to resurrect that backing for the team at home that we had ten years ago?
NC1875
01-04-2023, 07:32 PM
Why should we bother to turn up and cheer them when they didn’t bother to turn up. Pathetic performance.
01-04-2023, 07:36 PM
No, I can confirm that in the days before instant gratification became a thing, fans were not slow in handing out stick. If you were around ER in the 80's you'll know that.
01-04-2023, 07:37 PM
Why should we bother to turn up and cheer them when they didn’t bother to turn up. Pathetic performance.
There’s a 2 way street nature of what goes on.
The team sometimes need a bit of encouragement but equally, they need to do a bit to get the crowd involved.
I don’t blame anyone for being a bit quiet (or disgruntled) when the team are stinking the place out.
01-04-2023, 07:38 PM
I helped to kick off the East Stand Singing Section and Hibs12thMan. Those movements and the supporters involved fully understood the concept that a well-backed team performs better.
During the years 2010 and 2012, Easter Road had one of the noisiest atmospheres in the SPL. The vocal support at home was probably the only highlight under a series of uninspiring managerial appointments.
Now when we walk into Easter Road, we only hear the away support. The players get no vocal encouragement from the stands. What would it take I wonder to resurrect that backing for the team at home that we had ten years ago?
The last part is just rubbish. Would you have heard Motherwell fans if their team had put in a display like Hibs did?
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2023, 07:40 PM
Must say I can’t remember the atmosphere between 2010-12 being positive.
This team appear to have no real idea of what their style of play is. It’s good one week and absolutely dreadful the next. I’d be keen to get rid of a lot of this squad in the summer. We need new blood to freshen it up
I don't think ER is any worse than any other Scottish ground to be honest, we just don't have the fan culture for creating atmosphere at run of the mill games.
Unfortunately, the exception nowadays is probably Celtic and Rangers. The both have enormous (particularly Celtic) ultras groups with membership into the thousands.
So we only sing when we are winning? Thats a whole bunch of pathetic
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 07:41 PM
We were struggling today but I just want us to get behind the team when they need us to do so. I guess doing that isn't Hibs Class though
I heard plenty encouragement.
We showed plenty hibs class in the 15th and 21st minutes.
Don’t think you’re in a position to tell the paying fan how to behave.
Did you want us to clap the team off the pitch?
01-04-2023, 07:41 PM
Not sure what you were watching, there was very little booing, despite how utterly mice we were.
01-04-2023, 07:42 PM
Not sure what you were watching, there was very little booing, despite how utterly mice we were.
Plenty booing where I was sitting
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 07:43 PM
Call me a miserable ******* if you want but if hibs can’t beat Motherwell they deserve to be booed off the park for the next three weeks never mind on the day
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2023, 07:44 PM
Call me a miserable ******* if you want but if hibs can’t beat Motherwell they deserve to be booed off the park for the next three weeks never mind on the day
Just as people say we can’t be expected to beat the OF then we have to expect to beat a poor Motherwell at home
01-04-2023, 07:44 PM
I heard plenty encouragement.
We showed plenty hibs class in the 15th and 21st minutes.
Don’t think you’re in a position to tell the paying fan how to behave.
Did you want us to clap the team off the pitch?
Oh here we go, the arrogant "I pay to attend so I can be a **** if I want to" arguement? Maybe our fan's need to be challenged into why they feel like they shouldn't support the team?
01-04-2023, 07:45 PM
Give us a team good enough to get behind and we will, the current lot are utter tripe.
01-04-2023, 07:46 PM
Give us a team good enough to get behind and we will, the current lot are utter tripe.
Maybe if we gave them positive support they would perform better?
Daniel 1875
01-04-2023, 07:46 PM
How much did the vocal support help the team between 2010 and 2012? To my memory we were utterly hopeless during that time.
We finished 10th and 11th in 2011 and 2012, winning 18 league games out of 76. It’s not on the fans to help the players do their jobs better than terribly.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 07:47 PM
Just as people say we can’t be expected to beat the OF then we have to expect to beat a poor Motherwell at home
No doubt folk will say that’s an entitled point of view and maybe they’re right, but I expect hibs to win every game unless it’s against the OF. Every. Single. One.
THAT is how you win trophies, that mentality and desire and drive. The humble win **** all.
GreenGray
Oh here we go, the arrogant "I pay to attend so I can be a **** if I want to" arguement? Maybe our fan's need to be challenged into why they feel like they shouldn't support the team?
If anyone’s arrogant it’s yourself mate, telling other fans how to behave.
We’ve supported the team all season, the derby games, rangers, st Johnstone at home and today all spring to mind. And the team have let us down.
Fans pay their money, they can express their feelings.
The last part is just rubbish. Would you have heard Motherwell fans if their team had put in a display like Hibs did?
Aye you probably would have. Wouldn’t have been supportive shouts though.
Some pish gets spoken about ‘lack of support’ as if it’s unique to us. You go to Parkhead and hear nothing apart from that Green Brigade in the corner. You go to St Johnstone and you have 40 of them in the corner. At Ibrox it’s those Union Bears. And so on. The remainder of the crowd then generally react to what’s in front of them. And today, that meant there wasn’t going to be much positivity.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 07:48 PM
Well they do and they can, if you got served up your tea in a restaurant and it was manky you’d let them know, surely?
Maybe if they’d all given 100% today they’d have performed better?
If anyone’s arrogant it’s yourself mate, telling other fans how to behave.
We’ve supported the team all season, the derby games, rangers, st Johnstone at home and today all spring to mind. And the team have let us down.
Fans pay their money, they can express their feelings.
Well good for you! Am not telling people how to bez am asking why we can't be positive and support our club?
Oh and don't call me mate, its patronising.
01-04-2023, 07:49 PM
Aye you probably would have. Wouldn’t have been supportive shouts though.
Some pish gets spoken about ‘lack of support’ as if it’s unique to us. You go to Parkhead and hear nothing apart from that Green Brigade in the corner. You go to St Johnstone and you have 40 of them in the corner. At Ibrox it’s those Union Bears. And so on. The remainder of the crowd then generally react to what’s in front of them. And today, that meant there wasn’t going to be much positivity.
With the Green Brigade and UB though you're talking about groups of thousands of fans. A few thousand fans can make a hell of a noise.
The only way we will see atmosphere of any description return to ER is to have a dedicated signing section in FFL. Modern stadia and the way tickets are sold are not conducive to creating an atmosphere.
PHeffernan
01-04-2023, 07:49 PM
What would you expect other than a rumbling of frustration watching that? It was obvious what we were watching from about two minutes in. If players give their all they’ll get backed. Today they didn’t do that.
I understand the frustration.
Today was probably the worst performance since the home game against Ross County.
Nothing to do with a lack of effort, we just looked clueless on what to do with all the possession.
Keeping Jeggo on the pitch was madness. Again he was putting in the effort but he is just useless on the ball.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 07:50 PM
Well good for you! Am not telling people how to bez am asking why we can't be positive and support our club?
Positive about what though? That was ****ing ***** today and they deservedly got a doing. Excuse me for not applauding them and saying well done
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 07:50 PM
Oh and don't call me mate, its patronising.
Again, we’ve shown plenty of support all season, mate.
01-04-2023, 07:51 PM
So we only give them support if they give us everything? I assume as Hibs supporters we give them.out support without condition and especially when we can make a positive impact.
01-04-2023, 07:52 PM
Laughable, that team are full of dreadful individuals who shouldn't be anywhere near the Hibs starting 11. Fans need something to get behind and be positive about, that team doesn't even get you off your seat.
01-04-2023, 07:52 PM
Pretty sure over 16k had the intention of getting behind the team today. But when that first half is on offer what the **** do you expect?! Abysmal.
01-04-2023, 07:53 PM
Again, we’ve shown plenty of support all season, mate.
Really, have we? So quick to criticise as a "support"
We should play recorded fan noise over the tannoys at home games for the full 90 minutes, we’d blow teams away at home.
My post is of course facetious, but you’ve gone looking for arguments tonight and/or chasing the Uber crown. I’ll bow out and leave you to it.
Today was probably the worst performance since the home game against Ross County.
Nothing to do with a lack of effort, we just looked clueless on what to do with all the possession.
Keeping Jeggo on the pitch was madness. Again he was putting in the effort but was just useless on the ball.
No danger can every player walk off that pitch and claim they have everything.
The way we approached the game was terrible. Lack of urgency, no tempo, lack of desire to do the basics off the ball. Lack of quality will be tolerated but lack of effort won’t be and I thought that was what we saw today.
01-04-2023, 07:54 PM
We should play recorded fan noise over the tannoys at home games for the full 90 minutes, we’d blow teams away at home.
My post is of course facetious, but you’ve gone looking for arguments tonight and/or chasing the Uber crown. I’ll bow out and leave you to it.
Wtf is the Uber crown? Am asking why we can't be positive when the team clearly would benefit from it?
01-04-2023, 07:55 PM
So we only give them support if they give us everything? I assume as Hibs supporters we give them.out support without condition and especially when we can make a positive impact.
Aye, I would have thought that is the minimum requirement.
If a player or players can’t be bothered applying themselves properly they don’t deserve anything in the way of support.
NC1875
01-04-2023, 07:55 PM
There’s a 2 way street nature of what goes on.
The team sometimes need a bit of encouragement but equally, they need to do a bit to get the crowd involved.
I don’t blame anyone for being a bit quiet (or disgruntled) when the team are stinking the place out.
I didn’t see any fight from any of them until we were 2-0 down. After that, they got plenty encouragement from what i could hear in the east, until Moatherwells 3rd anyway.
NC1875
01-04-2023, 07:58 PM
Exactly, I’ll encourage the team when i see 100% fight and commitment. I seem none of them today.
The players are the ones that need to take a look in the mirror. Not the fans
01-04-2023, 08:02 PM
Wtf is the Uber crown? Am asking why we can't be positive when the team clearly would benefit from it?
Because, as others have said, it’s a two way street. All fans, including Hibs fans, the world over don’t give blind positivity for positivity sake. Hibs give something to get behind and the fans respond in kind. If the team turn in a really abject performance the crowd will respond based on that.
01-04-2023, 08:07 PM
Because, as others have said, it’s a two way street. All fans, including Hibs fans, the world over don’t give blind positivity for positivity sake. Hibs give something to get behind and the fans respond in kind. If the team turn in a really abject performance the crowd will respond based on that.
But why not? We are supporters so why not do our best to support and aide the thing we love?
01-04-2023, 08:12 PM
But why not? We are supporters so why not do our best to support and aide the thing we love?
You are at the wind up, trying to piss fans off after they’ve had a very bad day. Reel your lure in.
01-04-2023, 08:22 PM
In my opinion we should never boo Hibs off at ht, unless we are 3/4 down. I’m sure the players know themselves when they’ve not been good enough
01-04-2023, 08:25 PM
You are at the wind up, trying to piss fans off after they’ve had a very bad day. Reel your lure in.
Am really not! I want to understand why we go to negativity and booing as a first reaction
Why can't we support?
01-04-2023, 08:27 PM
In my opinion we should never boo Hibs off at ht, unless we are 3/4 down. I’m sure the players know themselves when they’ve not been good enough
And Motherwell deserve credit today for how they played. Sometimes it's just the other team get it right
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2023, 08:56 PM
Am really not! I want to understand why we go to negativity and booing as a first reaction
Why can't we support?
Watching the game today it sounded like we were booing them off at half - time when we were only 1-0 down , it probably didn't help the players as they went off down the tunnel imo .
01-04-2023, 08:57 PM
What is the difference between booing and starting a thread that is bound to start squabbling and infighting? Condemning negativity, by being equally or more negative makes no sense.
01-04-2023, 08:59 PM
Watching the game today it sounded like we were booing them off at half - time when we were only 1-0 down , it probably didn't help the players as they went off down the tunnel imo .
I've always thought the booing at HT is pantomime stuff really. It's happened at every football ground I have ever visited for as long as I can remember. I doubt players give it a second thought.
Real targeted vitriol is probably a different matter.
Daniel 1875
01-04-2023, 09:51 PM
And Motherwell deserve credit today for how they played. Sometimes it's just the other team get it right
If Motherwell deserve the credit for how they played, surely Hibs deserve the reaction for how they played? It was atrocious - our team got it wrong.
01-04-2023, 10:34 PM
If we played like that all the time over the course of a full season I think I'd call it a day. Wasn't even that the team were that bad. It was boring as duck as well.
:top marks:
percy veer
01-04-2023, 10:39 PM
Last game against celtic , they gave it a good bash effort and desire today was terrible Doyle Hayes mates must have been at celtic Park last week for his yearly good game.
01-04-2023, 10:45 PM
What is the difference between booing and starting a thread that is bound to start squabbling and infighting? Condemning negativity, by being equally or more negative makes no sense.
Not doing one of them might help the players on the park when they need a lift?
The other one is positively asking why a good chunk of our support can't be positive.
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2023, 11:27 PM
Would like to think most fans realise that losing Boyle, Mcgeady and Youan , our 3 wide and probably best players might have a bearing on the team today and that's not including rocky , Magennis too though by all means carry on and blame the manager if it makes you feel good ! .
01-04-2023, 11:50 PM
When you're paying good money during a cost of living crisis for consistently poor performances, you're entitled to be frustrated.
ErinGoBraghHFC
01-04-2023, 11:53 PM
Would like to think most fans realise that losing Boyle, Mcgeady and Youan , our 3 wide and probably best players might have a bearing on the team today and that's not including rocky , Magennis too though by all means carry on and blame the manager if it makes you feel good ! .
I’m not blaming the manager btw but regardless of injuries etc, I’d expect hibs U19s to beat Motherwell first team and if they couldn’t I’d question why the **** not. Players were embarrassing today against a rank rotten side with a fraction of the budget. We whinge about the old firm but at the end of the day they deal with the expectation and they win the games expected of them, we don’t do that. That is a major part of why the gap is so big in recent years, we’re utter ****.
02-04-2023, 12:02 AM
I’m not blaming the manager btw but regardless of injuries etc, I’d expect hibs U19s to beat Motherwell first team and if they couldn’t I’d question why the **** not. Players were embarrassing today against a rank rotten side with a fraction of the budget. We whinge about the old firm but at the end of the day they deal with the expectation and they win the games expected of them, we don’t do that. That is a major part of why the gap is so big in recent years, we’re utter ****.
Yes, Motherwell having 2/3 of our budget is the same as Celtic having 20x our budget. Good lord.
You'd expect our u19s to beat Motherwell? Lol
We've beaten Motherwell 2 out of 3 times this season. That's about right really.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-04-2023, 12:11 AM
Yes, Motherwell having 2/3 of our budget is the same as Celtic having 20x our budget. Good lord.
You'd expect our u19s to beat Motherwell? Lol
We've beaten Motherwell 2 out of 3 times this season. That's about right really.
Yes. I would. I believe it’s called demanding high standards. Hibs should beat Motherwell every time, no excuses.
02-04-2023, 05:10 AM
I heard booing at half time and full time and the usual exploding head behind me had a field day. Other than that people around really weren’t getting on the players backs at all.
02-04-2023, 05:33 AM
Every single Hibs fan knew how important that game was to our season.
For the players to put in that performance is inexcusable and they simply did not deserve our support yesterday.
02-04-2023, 06:02 AM
Don’t understand this thread. The team got a far better support than they deserved. Motherwell scarcely needed to get off the bus to claim the three points. Hibs have been tons more frustrating this season, that long spell where we couldn’t convert a single one of the baby chances they made, but I’ve never seen them as rank rotten as this. We sat in the pub afterwards and were amazed at just how awful that performance was.
I’m usual quick to have a go at fans who give the team a hard time, but yesterday this just didn’t apply.
02-04-2023, 07:15 AM
If the players show some heart they will get backing. Battered by a team that Simple worked harder
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2023, 07:29 AM
****ing hell, now it’s the fans fault :faf:
02-04-2023, 07:32 AM
I heard booing at half time and full time and the usual exploding head behind me had a field day. Other than that people around really weren’t getting on the players backs at all.
I thought it was pretty subdued yesterday, certainly not much in the way of abuse flying around.
I think a lot of us were simply a bit shocked that the team put in such an inept performance in a game that was so important to us. The last two were basically a write off but yesterday it was as if the thought they just needed to turn up and they’d start winning again now they weren’t playing one of the big boys. You can’t show such a lack of enthusiasm for a game as the started with yesterday.
02-04-2023, 07:35 AM
I would say there was more apathy than negativity in the crowd yesterday. Almost as if there is an acceptance that the players out there are just not good enough to play for Hibs, therefore there's little point in making our feelings felt to them.
02-04-2023, 09:02 AM
Yes. I would. I believe it’s called demanding high standards. Hibs should beat Motherwell every time, no excuses.
Celtic and Rangers don't even beat everyone every time. Don't be ****ing silly.
You can demand whatever you like, it's pure fantasy. Expecting our u19 players to defeat an spl side :faf: behave honestly.
Trinity Hibee
02-04-2023, 09:05 AM
You can demand whatever you like, it's pure fantasy. Expecting our u19 players to defeat an spl side :faf: behave honestly.
They beat the rest of the teams 99% of the time. We continuously struggle against teams with smaller budgets. Yesterday a prime example. We got rid of Paul mcginn yet he strolled it yesterday
02-04-2023, 09:11 AM
They beat the rest of the teams 99% of the time. We continuously struggle against teams with smaller budgets. Yesterday a prime example. We got rid of Paul mcginn yet he strolled it yesterday
The difference in budget between us and the other teams outside the Old Firm is marginal compared to the gap between the rest of us and the Old Firm. You just can’t compare it.
Trinity Hibee
02-04-2023, 09:12 AM
The difference in budget between us and the other teams outside the Old Firm is marginal compared to the gap between the rest of us and the Old Firm. You just can’t compare it.
Can’t argue with that but also don’t think it can be argued we underachieve generally. It’s not a new thing.
02-04-2023, 09:29 AM
'Not quite working in the first half?' I'm generally a happy clapper but yesterday was beyond bad, I've rarely seen a team fail collectively and individually as Hibs did yesterday, it was Keystone Cops
without the humour, although my daughter-in-law & myself were in fact bursting out laughing at times. it really was that bad.
LJ has to take some of the blame, we were set up all wrong, Hoppe was just in the way, Nisbet got no service & when LJ did change it at the beginning of the second half, he put McKirdy on
who spent that second half getting in the way of Cadden.
What LJ is not to blame for is the utter individual ineptitude of almost the entire team. Most couldn't control the ball, think we gave the ball away about 20 times in the first 10 minutes, everything was so
slow and laboured, from the number of passes which went straight to a 'Well player to the problems players seemed to have just passing to each other.
Yesterday was not about the fans, they are entitled to expect basic competence...
02-04-2023, 09:37 AM
We beat twice Motherwell twice this season. They beat us once. That's seriously about right mate. We've beat Livi twice, they've beat us once. We've beat St Mirren twice, they've beat us once. We've beat Kilmarnock twice, they've beat us once. Same with Aberdeen actually, and they spend more. Hibs are never ever going to win 99% against these mobs. It's 2/3 or maybe 3/4. That is good and would see us consistently up the league.
Now, if we'd managed that 2/3 ratio over Dundee United, Ross county, st Johnstone, we would/will be 3rd or 4th.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-04-2023, 11:17 AM
Of course they don’t but 99% of the time they do. Why shouldn’t our U19s be able to beat them? It’s only ****ing Motherwell. If the fans demanded a bit more from the team then we’d finish 3rd a hell of a lot more often than we do currently. Case in point, hearts derby record. It’s drilled into their players that losing to hibs is unacceptable, as a result, they rarely do. We’re a soft touch and we roll over and accept whatever pish we’re served up year after year and lazily blame the manager when **** hits the fan
02-04-2023, 11:35 AM
Couple of things; The old firm might not beat everyone all of the time but look at the fall out when they lose. Their fans don't simply accept it lol.
I was at the Scotland game V Spain and the atmosphere wasn't anywhere near as good as it should have been. It was very flat for a majority of the game and considering we were beating Spain the place should have been bouncing. Imagine Easter Road if we were beating a top side 2-0. Then Imagine Hampden if Scotland were getting beat 3-1 from Cyprus.
Like I said before. It wasn't even that we were bad/rubbish yesterday. There was just nothing there from the players and the whole game was just boring as duck. We didn't even put up a fight and if that trend were to continue, then I'd be worrying about fans stopping going to games.
02-04-2023, 11:50 AM
We beat twice Motherwell twice this season. They beat us once. That's seriously about right mate. We've beat Livi twice, they've beat us once. We've beat St Mirren twice, they've beat us once. We've beat Kilmarnock twice, they've beat us once. Same with Aberdeen actually, and they spend more. Hibs are never ever going to win 99% against these mobs. It's 2/3 or maybe 3/4. That is good and would see us consistently up the league.
Now, if we'd managed that 2/3 ratio over Dundee United, Ross county, st Johnstone, we would/will be 3rd or 4th.
And if my auntie had bawz......
02-04-2023, 12:20 PM
Of course they don’t but 99% of the time they do. Why shouldn’t our U19s be able to beat them? It’s only ****ing Motherwell. If the fans demanded a bit more from the team then we’d finish 3rd a hell of a lot more often than we do currently. Case in point, hearts derby record. It’s drilled into their players that losing to hibs is unacceptable, as a result, they rarely do. We’re a soft touch and we roll over and accept whatever pish we’re served up year after year and lazily blame the manager when **** hits the fan
Yes. The fans demanding more is all we're missing. ****ing hell.
Our under 19s should beat Motherwells u19s. Not their ****ing first team. Absolutely laughable thing to say. As stupid as I've ever seen on here. Seriously, think about it.
What exactly are you doing to demand better? I'm sure you'll be full of ideas.
Kevin Nisbet, I demand you score a hatrick next weekend. No excuses.
Lets see what happens
02-04-2023, 12:25 PM
Sean Goss had the ball at his feet walking in the first half. I don’t think that warrants getting behind the team
Hibees1973
02-04-2023, 12:30 PM
Because the squad and management is weak.
Given our budget, as well as probably Hearts & Aberdeen is there really a big difference in quality between our squad and the likes of Motherwell/Ross County/Kilmarnock.
We are getting seriously sold short as supporters. It's clear as a support we contribute more financially than some of the other teams around us but is there really much difference in quality on the park. I think not.
Poor management and recruitment is killing the club and this Hibs team is mediocre at best.
From what I saw yesterday they deserve all the criticism aimed at them. The board, Johnson & the team.
I will always support Hibs by attending and watching them. What I am not prepared to do is blindly sit and accept what I saw yesterday. Make me sick when I know the likes of McKirdy & Henderson are picking up a wage at our expense.
02-04-2023, 12:31 PM
This team and manager will let us down more often than not and are very hard to like. There’s been so many poor results this season and it’s only early April.
Falkirk of League 1 away
Morton at home
Aberdeen 4-1
Celtic 6-1
Ross County 2-0
Hearts 3-0 x2
The rangers performance
St. Johnstone home
Motherwell 1-3
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-04-2023, 12:32 PM
Our under 19s should beat Motherwells u19s. Not their ****ing first team. Absolutely laughable thing to say. As stupid as I've ever seen on here. Seriously, think about it.
Lets see what happens
Right, I didn’t say that’s all we’re lacking.
It’s laughable right now, yes. But it shouldn’t be, we should be operating in a different ****ing stratosphere to these diddy teams.
It’s not my job to have the ideas, I have my own job, the people at the club need to come up with the ideas to turn the general direction of the club around.
Don’t be an arse you know that’s not what I’m saying.
He's here!
02-04-2023, 01:00 PM
Lets see what happens
I don't think anyone seriously expects us to beat the likes of Motherwell every time but in a home game against them it's not unreasonable to suggest we should be regarded as strong favourites.
Yes you'll always get the odd off day but yesterday wasn't one of those. It was just one of many off-days, just even more 'off' than they usually are. It's impossible to go into a Hibs game these days with any degree of confidence because the team simply don't engender any confidence among the fans that they will learn from such inept performances. They might improve briefly but you know the next dreadful display is just around the corner.
02-04-2023, 01:17 PM
Right, I didn’t say that’s all we’re lacking.
It’s laughable right now, yes. But it shouldn’t be, we should be operating in a different ****ing stratosphere to these diddy teams.
It’s not my job to have the ideas, I have my own job, the people at the club need to come up with the ideas to turn the general direction of the club around.
Don’t be an arse you know that’s not what I’m saying.
Its laughable full stop. Our first team would batter Celtic and Rangers u19s. Motherwells first team would batter our u19s. That will never change.
The people at the club have been failing since they took over. We let them away with it, they continue to fail. Hibs ownership is in a very worrying position right now. We have people top to bottom with no record of success in football, no idea what to do to properly move us forward etc.
You need realistic expectations. Hibs aren't going to get to some level where they never lose to Motherwell. The fact Hearts/Aberdeen etc can manage that either proves this, despite them spending far more than us.
02-04-2023, 01:23 PM
We couldnt all get behind the team when we were 3rd, we needed some mythical Brazil style of football for that.
We've now got a support that will only support the club if it's A, winning, and B, winning in style.
02-04-2023, 01:27 PM
We couldnt all get behind the team when we were 3rd, we needed some mythical Brazil style of football for that.
We've now got a support that will only support the club if it's A, winning, and B, winning in style.
16,000 folk turned up to support the team and were let down yesterday. And that’s despite us winning very often this season, and even more rarely winning in style.
02-04-2023, 01:32 PM
16,000 folk turned up to support the team and were let down yesterday. And that’s despite us winning very often this season, and even more rarely winning in style.
There is a difference between turning up, and turning up and supporting the team, but i suppose you know that.
02-04-2023, 01:35 PM
There is a difference between turning up, and turning up and supporting the team, but i suppose you know that.
And what happens when folk stop turning up altogether.
02-04-2023, 01:47 PM
I think the support have been incredibly supportive this season despite how pish it is. I don’t really get the criticism of the crowd yesterday. A wee bit of a reaction to the performance at half time and full time was as bad as it got.
How did you think the crowd was yesterday? Did you really think it was particularly lacking in support?
02-04-2023, 01:57 PM
Yep. Pretty much the case.
Jack Ross the season we finished 3rd had us regularly beating the smaller sides.
Kilmarnock - 3 wins from 3 games
Hamilton 3 wins from 3 games - Hamilton had the audacity to score twice at Easter Road so this had some unhappy IIRC. We still won 3-2.
Aberdeen - 2 wins, 2 losses - about right really. Won up there to secure 3rd.
Livi - 2 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss - The ****ing meltdown on here after Livi beat us at home was a top 10 all time .net meltdown
Dundee United - 4 wins, 1 draw (including Scottish cup semi) - The meltdown on Hibs.net after the 1-1 draw was unreal. We played absolutely brilliantly, but our forwards had a nightmare day. I remember the quotes ''we'll never finish 3rd with Christian Doidge up front'' and ''Aberdeen would never have a striker like Doidge''
*Spoiler* Doidge would go on to score the winner, against Aberdeen, to secure 3rd place.
St Mirren - 3 games, 3 wins
Ross county - 3 games, 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss - Not a great record. Dreadful performance at ER in a 2-0 loss.
Motherwell - 4 games, 2 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss - Crazy meltdown after we ****ing BEAT them in the cup quarter final, because we'd lost a 2-0 lead.
So, from those teams, we got 20 wins, 5 losses. Absolutely exceptional record. Hibs will not do better anytime soon.
Now, this season wasn't flawless. We had a very poor record vs St Johnstone. It totally ****ed up everything for us really. 1 win, 4 defeats, 2 of which were at Hampden. Win those 2, Jack Ross has a statue and a stand named after him. In his only full season.
Semi final defeat to Hearts was another disaster. Which it really ****ing was. Nisbet scores the pen, and we win. We were the better side, but that one hurt. Big negative against Ross absolutely.
League cup, we easily won 4/4 in our group, despite half the squad being on international duty. We then struggled but did beat both Dundee and Alloa (****ing meltdown again after that game, folk were expecting a 4-0 rout I think).
Scottish cup, got to the final. Only close game was the Motherwell one.
3rd place, a final and a semi final. A really positive season, yet many people weren't happy with the playstyle, which wasn't anywhere near as bad as made out, and obviously the cup defeats.
That summer, our genius recruitment team, led by the owners son, totally and utterly let Jack Ross down. We signed Doyle Hays for the first team. Oh, and James Scott to replace Doidge, who was a key player the season before, after his injury. James didn't score until April. One of the poorest players to ever play for Hibs. Dreadful. That was it. Now that owners son is actually the bloody owner. Despite this, a covid outbreak, and some horrible decisions and luck against us, Jack had us in another final. He was sacked instead of being allowed to manage it.
That summer, and the decisions made after it (sacking Ross, hiring Shaun Maloney, then bloody sacking him) set us back years.
02-04-2023, 02:15 PM
Its laughable full stop. Our first team would batter Celtic and Rangers u19s. Motherwells first team would batter our u19s. That will never change.
The people at the club have been failing since they took over. We let them away with it, they continue to fail. Hibs ownership is in a very worrying position right now. We have people top to bottom with no record of success in football, no idea what to do to properly move us forward etc.
You need realistic expectations. Hibs aren't going to get to some level where they never lose to Motherwell. The fact Hearts/Aberdeen etc can manage that either proves this, despite them spending far more than us.
Our 18s and dev squad couldn't even beat motherwell 18s and dev squad during the week so not sure how a bunch of u 19s would of beat motherwells first team yesterday.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-04-2023, 02:58 PM
Our 18s and dev squad couldn't even beat motherwell 18s and dev squad during the week so not sure how a bunch of u 19s would of beat motherwells first team yesterday.
I’m not saying they would have, what I’m saying is hibs should aspire to be of the standard where that is entirely plausible. A bit of ambition wouldn’t go amiss.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-04-2023, 03:01 PM
Jack Ross the season we finished 3rd had us regularly beating the smaller sides.
Hamilton 3 wins from 3 games - Hamilton had the audacity to score twice at Easter Road so this had some unhappy IIRC. We still won 3-2.
Livi - 2 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss - The ****ing meltdown on here after Livi beat us at home was a top 10 all time .net meltdown
Dundee United - 4 wins, 1 draw (including Scottish cup semi) - The meltdown on Hibs.net after the 1-1 draw was unreal. We played absolutely brilliantly, but our forwards had a nightmare day. I remember the quotes ''we'll never finish 3rd with Christian Doidge up front'' and ''Aberdeen would never have a striker like Doidge''
*Spoiler* Doidge would go on to score the winner, against Aberdeen, to secure 3rd place.
Ross county - 3 games, 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss - Not a great record. Dreadful performance at ER in a 2-0 loss.
Motherwell - 4 games, 2 wins, 1 draw, 1 loss - Crazy meltdown after we ****ing BEAT them in the cup quarter final, because we'd lost a 2-0 lead.
So, from those teams, we got 20 wins, 5 losses. Absolutely exceptional record. Hibs will not do better anytime soon.
Now, this season wasn't flawless. We had a very poor record vs St Johnstone. It totally ****ed up everything for us really. 1 win, 4 defeats, 2 of which were at Hampden. Win those 2, Jack Ross has a statue and a stand named after him. In his only full season.
Semi final defeat to Hearts was another disaster. Which it really ****ing was. Nisbet scores the pen, and we win. We were the better side, but that one hurt. Big negative against Ross absolutely.
League cup, we easily won 4/4 in our group, despite half the squad being on international duty. We then struggled but did beat both Dundee and Alloa (****ing meltdown again after that game, folk were expecting a 4-0 rout I think).
3rd place, a final and a semi final. A really positive season, yet many people weren't happy with the playstyle, which wasn't anywhere near as bad as made out, and obviously the cup defeats.
That summer, our genius recruitment team, led by the owners son, totally and utterly let Jack Ross down. We signed Doyle Hays for the first team. Oh, and James Scott to replace Doidge, who was a key player the season before, after his injury. James didn't score until April. One of the poorest players to ever play for Hibs. Dreadful. That was it. Now that owners son is actually the bloody owner. Despite this, a covid outbreak, and some horrible decisions and luck against us, Jack had us in another final. He was sacked instead of being allowed to manage it.
That summer, and the decisions made after it (sacking Ross, hiring Shaun Maloney, then bloody sacking him) set us back years.
Cant argue with any of this, to be fair.
02-04-2023, 03:41 PM
The day we lost that semi to Hearts Ross was finished. Not saying it's right or I agree with it, but in the eyes of many fans he was done.
The weather at that game looked like the worse I've ever seen a football game played in. Literally never seen anything like it. If I remember correctly we had Glasgow based punters saying there's absolutely no way the game should be going ahead. It made the game a complete lottery.
02-04-2023, 03:50 PM
The day we lost that semi to Hearts Ross was finished. Not saying it's right or I agree with it, but in the eyes of many fans he was done.
The weather at that game looked like the worse I've ever seen a football game played in. Literally never seen anything like it. If I remember correctly we had Glasgow based punters saying there's absolutely no way the game should be going ahead. It made the game a complete lottery.
Yeah, it was extremely difficult to recover from that really. That day really did come down to the finest of margins. Incredible save from Gordon when we were well on top. We should've had a penalty in the last minute of normal time as well. We got one in ET, and Nisbet, whos father passed away days prior, hits the bar. We absolutely could've beat Lennons mess of a Celtic side in the final too.
Every bad spell Lee Johnson has brings mentions of prior results too. Alan Stubbs won the bloody Scottish cup, and he cant get mentioned without hearing about his struggles in the league (which were mainly due to horrendous injuries and fatigue). Honestly, I think Hibs fans make it very difficult for managers to succeed here,
02-04-2023, 04:31 PM
Resurrect the Singing Section in Section 43?
I always thought it was much more enjoyable then, as it was more than just a small group of teenagers joining in with the songs.
Helensburghhibs
02-04-2023, 05:24 PM
Get back to a signing fan group rather than an "ultras" that's the difference .