View Full Version : NHC Another Old Firm embarrassment
27-03-2023, 11:22 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1640462081102159875?s=46&t=fzRCiExZMJ_XTzru6wz0Fw
Shambles.
ErinGoBraghHFC
27-03-2023, 11:27 PM
https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1640462081102159875?s=46&t=fzRCiExZMJ_XTzru6wz0Fw
Shambles.
Very out of character for that club, they’re normally so sporting [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23] pond life the lot of them
Shambles."I'm sure there will be plenty people investigating that."
Maybe. Then after a few days it'll be dropped and swept under the carpet like all the rest of the bigoted weirdo stuff they revel in.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
27-03-2023, 11:37 PM
Link no wurkin
Donegal Hibby
28-03-2023, 12:50 AM
Link no wurkin
Don't know if this will work mate but I've tried to copy the link .
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1640462081102159875
28-03-2023, 05:18 AM
They really are an embarrassment to Scotland. According to the Daily Record:
Rangers Women's assistant manager Craig McPherson has sparked controversy at the end of the SWPL 1 derby with Celtic by HEADBUTTING Hoops manager Fran Alonso.
The game ended in dramatic circumstances as Celtic remained second in the league with a 99th-minute Caitlin Hayes leveller. Brogan Hay's first-half strike looked to be enough for Malky Thomson's side but both sides instead handed Glasgow City a title boost, with the leaders in pole position to win another top flight crown.
But footage emerge at full-time of former Morton player McPherson seemingly landing his head on the back of Alonso's as players shook hands in an explosive ending to the derby. A shaken Celtic manager then claimed he was branded "a little rat". He said on Sky Sports: "I did not see it as he came from behind. I do not know, I did not talk to him the whole game.
"Obviously you are disappointed to concede a goal in the last minute, I totally get it but I don't know, I was called little rat."
Thomson revealed when asked for Rangers perspective he would launch a probe into the dramatic scenes. He said: "Without me seeing it I wouldn't comment. If that is the case there will be an investigation and we will look at it."
28-03-2023, 05:52 AM
Rangers Women's assistant manager Craig McPherson has sparked controversy at the end of the SWPL 1 derby with Celtic by HEADBUTTING Hoops manager Fran Alonso.
The game ended in dramatic circumstances as Celtic remained second in the league with a 99th-minute Caitlin Hayes leveller. Brogan Hay's first-half strike looked to be enough for Malky Thomson's side but both sides instead handed Glasgow City a title boost, with the leaders in pole position to win another top flight crown.
But footage emerge at full-time of former Morton player McPherson seemingly landing his head on the back of Alonso's as players shook hands in an explosive ending to the derby. A shaken Celtic manager then claimed he was branded "a little rat". He said on Sky Sports: "I did not see it as he came from behind. I do not know, I did not talk to him the whole game.
"Obviously you are disappointed to concede a goal in the last minute, I totally get it but I don't know, I was called little rat."
Thomson revealed when asked for Rangers perspective he would launch a probe into the dramatic scenes. He said: "Without me seeing it I wouldn't comment. If that is the case there will be an investigation and we will look at it."
Guy should be booted out of football. Imagining acting like that in any game never mind a women's game. May be wrong but think he was involved in the Hibs Morton game when it kicked off under Lennon.
cocteautwin
28-03-2023, 05:54 AM
That's gotta be a sacking at the very least
28-03-2023, 06:00 AM
He’ll no doubt be made out to be the victim.
Disgusting behaviour.
28-03-2023, 06:16 AM
‘Uphold the standards that matter’
Oh, the irony.
Just seen it this morning and what a coward. Without a doubt sackable offence and should be nowhere near any type of football ever again.
To think Big Dunc got the jail for a headbutt
28-03-2023, 06:38 AM
He should hand in his resignation first thing this morning before any investigation and then let the SFA apply a suitable ban.
28-03-2023, 06:48 AM
All sounds like a bit of theatre to me. An attempt to raise interest in the women’s’ game by introducing contrived conflict and controversy between the two cheeks in the same way it works for the men’s teams.
Best ignored
28-03-2023, 07:12 AM
All sounds like a bit of theatre to me. An attempt to raise interest in the women’s’ game by introducing contrived conflict and controversy between the two cheeks in the same way it works for the men’s teams.
Best ignored
No theatre here. The hooligan clearly chases and butts the other guy on the back of the head in a fit of temper. I don’t think it will be glossed over.
28-03-2023, 07:16 AM
Butt we are a club with standards, I am sure that what Beale said recently.
28-03-2023, 07:18 AM
Lifetime ban, end off.
28-03-2023, 07:21 AM
Got to be a sacking
Horrible horrible club
28-03-2023, 07:28 AM
Aye but it's not as bad as Michael Beale letting Partick Thistle score after a breakdown in communication. That's the kind of thing you have to get really upset about.
Pond life.
28-03-2023, 07:33 AM
No surrender die, die, die and all that. Staunch.
28-03-2023, 07:47 AM
Just been on BBC Breakfast to the whole nation
Not a good look
Embarrassing
28-03-2023, 07:50 AM
**** of the highest order, always have been always will be 🤮
28-03-2023, 08:06 AM
Huns being huns, they're every bit as bad as followers of the now defunct Glasgow rangers
28-03-2023, 08:29 AM
2 points, first of all the Old Firm doesn't exist any more, it's Sevco and Celtic.
Secondly, I'm not sure how Celtic should be embarrassed by a Sevco official headbutting their head coach from behind? Blaming the 2 clubs every time one of steps out of line just causes deflection and allows the purpotrators, in this case Sevco, to escape the blame.
And by the way, if Celtic were the purpotrators I'd be saying the same thing.
28-03-2023, 08:55 AM
Imagine walking up behind someone and sticking the nut on them. Just try and comprehend that for a second. Highly worrying behavior.
28-03-2023, 09:01 AM
Needs taken out of the environment of women’s football altogether. The next time, who’s to say it won’t be a young woman he sticks the head on?
An anger management course and a lengthy ban surely awaits.
28-03-2023, 09:11 AM
He has to be sacked. Would nice if the huns issued an apology as well but I won't hold my breath for that.
Just_Jimmy
28-03-2023, 09:32 AM
Those two joining the woman's game meant it would only go one way.
They're vile.
Yes, I know this is one person from one side but it simply doesn't happen in woman's football.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
28-03-2023, 09:41 AM
Why do the bbc feel the need to put ‘headbutt’ in air quotes? And say ‘apparent’ headbutt and ‘appeared to’ headbutt?
It’s fairly clear and obvious that if it’s big, grey, got a trunk and scared of mice, it’s an elephant.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65094399
Gloucester Hibs
28-03-2023, 09:47 AM
Why do the bbc feel the need to put ‘headbutt’ in air quotes? And say ‘apparent’ headbutt and ‘appeared to’ headbutt?
It’s fairly clear and obvious that if it’s big, grey, got a trunk and scared of mice, it’s an elephant.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65094399
"West of Scotland football supporters"
28-03-2023, 10:00 AM
He has to be sacked. Would nice if the huns issued an apology as well but I won't hold my breath for that.
Nah, he was clearly provoked, the opponents were wearing green after all - what else was he supposed to do?
28-03-2023, 10:02 AM
A bit of an aside but I've heard that on here as a term the media use when they don't want to name the OF as having been involved in thuggery but does anyone have examples of it, or something like it being used?
28-03-2023, 10:09 AM
More likely they will issue a statement saying that the Rangers fans who turned up were made to stand in single file or some other nonsense to try and deflect from it.
Gloucester Hibs
28-03-2023, 10:12 AM
A bit of an aside but I've heard that on here as a term the media use when they don't want to name the OF as having been involved in thuggery but does anyone have examples of it, or something like it being used?
Was in relation to the post-2016 cup final arrests I think. Wouldn't surprise me if the articles have since been amended due to the ridiculousness of it all
28-03-2023, 10:13 AM
Got to be a sacking
Horrible horrible club
You’d get the jail for that, if it was on the street
Cowardly attack too
linlithgowhibbie
28-03-2023, 10:13 AM
It was used numerous times by the Record, Sun and BBC reporting on cases where people from the West of Scotland were found guilty in the courts for the violence after the cup final in 2016. They never had the guts to say Rangers fans.
28-03-2023, 10:32 AM
This is what happens when you try and turn the Women's game into the Mens. Calling it Old Firm rivalry and all that nonsense. These 2 clubs were formed in 2007 and 2008. They are not the OLD FIRM. If you don't try and create a totally fresh product away from all the historical rubbish it will end up in the same mess with the same songs getting sung etc. We even saw it at the recent Hibs Hearts game. You just get people turning up and treating it likes the mens games and it moves away from the family atmosphere that womens football should be pressing to create.
28-03-2023, 11:28 AM
This is what happens when you try and turn the Women's game into the Mens. Calling it Old Firm rivalry and all that nonsense. These 2 clubs were formed in 2007 and 2008. They are not the OLD FIRM. If you don't try and create a totally fresh product away from all the historical rubbish it will end up in the same mess with the same songs getting sung etc. We even saw it at the recent Hibs Hearts game. You just get people turning up and treating it likes the mens games and it moves away from the family atmosphere that womens football should be pressing to create.
It's everything women's football should be trying to avoid to set itself apart. The videos doing the rounds from the recent derby at Tynecastle were just embarrassing and last night's behaviour goes way beyond that.
By all means have rivalry and passion but leave the more unsavoury elements out of it.
28-03-2023, 12:19 PM
Agreed - said for a long time the worst thing the women's game could do is copy the failed mens set up.
Obviously you can't stop Huns or Tics investing but they need to be wary as there are plenty other teams in Scotland who have done more for the game in last few years.
Regarding last nights game - the incident was a shocker for the 1st ever live game on Sky Sports - add in it was the coaches birthday ??! Also surely they could have got more fans attending the game. For a 1st official game on TV it didn't look great.
As others have said will be interesting to see if Huns put out a statement of apology on their women's twitter.
28-03-2023, 12:25 PM
…there was also the insert of ‘there was wild scenes of celebration from the opposition bench’ comment, as if it were some sort of (ahem…goading) justification. It’s hardly surprising or worthy of comment normally, team celebrates getting an equalizer.
It’s clear the writer was thinking about lunches of succulent lamb.
Nutmegged
28-03-2023, 12:30 PM
To be fair it's another hun embarrassment
28-03-2023, 01:24 PM
It's everything women's football should be trying to avoid to set itself apart. The videos doing the rounds from the recent derby at Tynecastle were just embarrassing and last night's behaviour goes way beyond that.
By all means have rivalry and passion but leave the more unsavoury elements out of it.
What happened at Tiny?
28-03-2023, 01:25 PM
Agreed - said for a long time the worst thing the women's game could do is copy the failed mens set up.
Obviously you can't stop Huns or Tics investing but they need to be wary as there are plenty other teams in Scotland who have done more for the game in last few years.
Regarding last nights game - the incident was a shocker for the 1st ever live game on Sky Sports - add in it was the coaches birthday ??! Also surely they could have got more fans attending the game. For a 1st official game on TV it didn't look great.
As others have said will be interesting to see if Huns put out a statement of apology on their women's twitter.
I don't want them having more fans like that at the game tbh. Imagine if they had it at Ibrox and did the free ticket thing we did for the Hibs v Hearts game. It would all kick off. It has to try and be different. Family tickets for a tenner, make money from the stalls. Even at recent Hibs women games I've noticed an element of fans that are just like the embarrassing ones we get at our mens games. Swearing their heads off at referees etc. There has to be more to do at the games also. £8 I think It was to get into the recent Hibs game and you'd be lucky if there was 150 people there. They used to get more than that 10 years ago when they were playing at Broxburn, and at least then it was just a donation. It not just at Hibs either. Same issues at Spartans and Hearts. Fan base won't ramp up until they come up with a different product.
28-03-2023, 02:14 PM
That’ll be it. Fearing a vicious ASSAULT on all of his players, the brave and staunch coach tried to intervene by fearlessly asking his Celtc counterpart to stop being so provocatively catholic. Unfortunately he couldn’t get his attention so he simply moved his head closer in an innocent and genuine attempt to make himself heard.
Or somesuch nonsense.
28-03-2023, 02:42 PM
This is another attempt by the Sevconians to prove that Darwin's theories of evolution and natural selection are bollocks, and the unevolved, fat and squidgy pond life can still manage to grow appendages, put one foot in front of the other, move their heads in a "glasgow kiss" motion and proclaim that they is the people.
Next they will prove that black holes do exist and that there is a huge one in Govan.
28-03-2023, 03:30 PM
…there was also the insert of ‘there was wild scenes of celebration from the opposition bench’ comment, as if it were some sort of (ahem…goading) justification. It’s hardly surprising or worthy of comment normally, team celebrates getting an equalizer.
It’s clear the writer was thinking about lunches of succulent lamb.
Sounds like it. Attempting to mitigate the indefensible that is what our news and sports reporting is in this country. Cowards
28-03-2023, 03:34 PM
What happened at Tiny?
A few Hibs fans shouting abuse at Hearts fans, sticking their fingers up and giving it the GIRUY gesture. Tbf I'm sure the same was coming back from a few on the other side and the Hibs guys were just unlucky to be caught on camera and get the resulting roasting on Twitter.
It just looked so out of place at a women's game which are usually pretty family friendly and was probably an introduction to football for a few people in attendance.
28-03-2023, 03:35 PM
A few Hibs fans shouting abuse at Hearts fans, sticking their fingers up and giving it the GIRUY gesture. Tbf I'm sure the same was coming back from a few on the other side and the Hibs guys were just unlucky to be caught on camera and get the resulting roasting on Twitter.
It just looked so out of place at a women's game which are usually pretty family friendly and was probably an introduction to football for a few people in attendance.
Embarrassing
28-03-2023, 03:40 PM
I was incredibly relieved to find out Fran Alonso was a man. Obviously doesn't make it ok.
28-03-2023, 03:46 PM
:agree: Good post.
Hillsidehibby
28-03-2023, 05:43 PM
The media see's it as he was going to shake hands with his fellow coach and the high polish on his brown brogues caused him to slip forward and cause an unfortunate coming together.
29-03-2023, 07:45 AM
Embarrassing
Agree with that. The women’s game is a very different game to the men’s game and should be able to sustain that. No segregation; a bit of respect during and after the game; full on competitive during the game; fans attending for the entertainment value if they wish. What’s so hard about that.
This latest episode from the wanabe “old firm” coaches is nonsense but the womens rangers coach is playing the game of needing to promote aggression and hate. Ridiculous when you consider these are newly formed sports clubs and one has aligned itself with a men’s club that is only just over a decade old.
It really is theatre and best ignored otherwise it becomes endemic.
Musselbound
29-03-2023, 08:10 AM
Those two joining the woman's game meant it would only go one way.
They're vile.
Yes, I know this is one person from one side but it simply doesn't happen in woman's football.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
I think that's a good point about women's football. It's very different from the men's game in terms of less aggressive behaviour, feigning of injury, etc. So even worse that this has happened here. The headbut is clear as day and totally unprovoked with the Celtic coach completely unawares. This clown should be sacked by Rangers but I seriously doubt that will happen. He should face a heavy punishment and be thrown out of the women's game.
29-03-2023, 08:24 AM
You’d get the jail for that, if it was on the street
Cowardly attack too
Let's not get carried away.
The guy is obviously a complete tool, but it was hardly a vicious assault. Doesn't excuse it in any way, it was still a ridiculous moment.
29-03-2023, 08:31 AM
Any fallout from this at all or is everyone turning the other way?
29-03-2023, 08:33 AM
Any fallout from this at all or is everyone turning the other way?
Appears to be the latter. Will soon be yesterdays news and everyone moves on until the next embarrassment rears its head.
29-03-2023, 08:35 AM
Let's not get carried away.
The guy is obviously a complete tool, but it was hardly a vicious assault. Doesn't excuse it in any way, it was still a ridiculous moment.
Should get a football banning order.
29-03-2023, 08:54 AM
Imagine Alonso had gone down clutching his head like the Spaniard did last night at Hampden. I wonder if because he didn't react to it in a theatrical way that people aren't giving it the attention they should? It was assault. Simple as that. Do it on the street and you get lifted.
29-03-2023, 09:33 AM
Agree with that. The women’s game is a very different game to the men’s game and should be able to sustain that. No segregation; a bit of respect during and after the game; full on competitive during the game; fans attending for the entertainment value if they wish. What’s so hard about that.
This latest episode from the wanabe “old firm” coaches is nonsense but the womens rangers coach is playing the game of needing to promote aggression and hate. Ridiculous when you consider these are newly formed sports clubs and one has aligned itself with a men’s club that is only just over a decade old.
It really is theatre and best ignored otherwise it becomes endemic.
Think it’s the opposite of being best ignored - Scottish Womens football needs to make a stance and say this is totally unacceptable.
It should be used as an example of terrible behaviour by a club who seem to have such low standards for behaviour.
What was going through the Rangers coach mind - live on TV - right in front of all the players / fans..they didn’t even lose the game and on his birthday - it’s just completely ridiculous what happened.
29-03-2023, 09:49 AM
The SWPL was great for a while, entertaining and different teams competing for the league title compared to the men’s.
The OF sink their claws into it and you get stories like this, key players for other teams being swooped up, and another Glasgow dominated uncompetitive league.
It’s a crying shame. The reverse Midas effect, all the gold they touch turns to ****.
29-03-2023, 11:30 AM
Fran Alonso will tell Police Scotland he does not want to press charges against Rangers Women coach Craig McPherson, who appeared to aim a head butt at the Celtic Women head coach at the end of Monday's 1-1 draw and is the subject of a Scottish FA investigation, but the Spaniard does want an apology
30-03-2023, 07:34 AM
SFA have cited the guy now for violent conduct.
BBC still running with 'apparent' headbutt, as if we don't have a video of it.
And still no statement from Sevco 😂😂😂
30-03-2023, 12:10 PM
“I know it looked like a headbutt however what actually happened was I was going to sportingly shake his hand in good grace and congratulate them on a good game when i inadvertently tripped on a mole that had just emerged from underground that you can’t see on the camera, causing me to lurch forward with my head totally by accident. I know i looked angry but that’s actually the exact face i make when i have a mole-related tripping incident"
30-03-2023, 02:53 PM
I laughed when i heard that on the radio this morning.
30-03-2023, 03:21 PM
I laughed when i heard that on the radio this morning.
Also running with ‘appeared to’ headbutt.
It’s akin to saying JFK ‘appeared to’ have been shot in the head.
30-03-2023, 03:41 PM
And still no statement from Sevco [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]Don't worry, as soon as police Glasgow finish searching for an exuberant Hibby to blame the whole thing on the BBC will swiftly identify this as the deliberate assault that normal people can see it was.
Either that or in the absence of the bellend in question having a Hibs for the cup tattoo on his erse, they will out him as being a closet West of Scotland FC supporter who has infiltrated their beloved Sevco
PHeffernan
30-03-2023, 04:47 PM
The real issue here is that a man has sullied womens football with knuckle dragging man behaviour.
30-03-2023, 05:40 PM
The real issue here is that a man has sullied womens football with knuckle dragging man behaviour.Definitely.
Fran Alonso will tell Police Scotland he does not want to press charges against Rangers Women coach Craig McPherson, who appeared to aim a head butt at the Celtic Women head coach at the end of Monday's 1-1 draw and is the subject of a Scottish FA investigation, but the Spaniard does want an apology
Alonso The bigger person in all this however Sevco need to step up here and sack McPherson.
Wonder what they will do.
The governing body should ban him for life
30-03-2023, 06:32 PM
Alonso The bigger person in all this however Sevco need to step up here and sack McPherson.
Wonder what they will do.
The governing body should ban him for life
Would be unreal if the SWPL and SFA allowed him to continue in the role. At a basic level he's still coaching under 18 players.
30-03-2023, 07:01 PM
Would be unreal if the SWPL and SFA allowed him to continue in the role. At a basic level he's still coaching under 18 players.
Surely at a minimum he should be immediately suspended by his club of higher standards.
Definitely would. I cannot see how the SWPL and SFA can allow him to continue. Sets all the wrong precedence’s.
As I mentioned I would expect a statement from Sevco informing everyone that he’s been fined and relieved of his duties.
01-04-2023, 10:13 AM
I’m assuming this is another April 1st skit.
Repeated highlighting of the high Hun standards which are obviously elevated to higher bars than the rest of us.
https://i.postimg.cc/fywSSJmQ/48-C7-BAB7-87-A3-4755-BCA1-EC007-BD90-E4-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/G85mZ3XX)
What an utter clown.
01-04-2023, 10:17 AM
Repeated highlighting of the high Hun standards which are obviously elevated to higher bars than the rest of us.
https://i.postimg.cc/fywSSJmQ/48-C7-BAB7-87-A3-4755-BCA1-EC007-BD90-E4-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/G85mZ3XX)
What an utter clown.Sounds like he would dearly like to save his own skin and maybe a deal has been done with the powers that be to close it all down without any sanctions?
Either that or it's April fools day, but we are talking about the huns and Scottish football so who knows. Shame for the womens game as this could be the start of the poison taking hold
01-04-2023, 10:31 AM
What an utter clown.
How about you just resign rather than issue that embarrassing attempt to crawl further up your zombie clubs arse.
Football needs less of your type.
02-04-2023, 09:52 AM
How about you just resign rather than issue that embarrassing attempt to crawl further up your zombie clubs arse.
Football needs less of your type.
I am guessing the completely out of character and never done anything like this before is poetic licence. Should be immediately booted out of all forms of the game.
So the powers that be have set the standard for this type of behaviour. Only a 6 game suspension and it looks like he remains coaching!
Fergos
13-04-2023, 04:39 PM
So the powers that be have set the standard for this type of behaviour. Only a 6 game suspension and it looks like he remains coaching!
What a joke eh. Wonder what Duncan Ferguson thinks….
13-04-2023, 04:43 PM
Precedence set.
Unbelievable really, well, perhaps not.
13-04-2023, 04:49 PM
Beasts being beasts.
13-04-2023, 05:07 PM
The club is built on incredibly high standards , what a load o pish.
13-04-2023, 05:19 PM
How are these things calculated?
Lafferty got 10 games for calling someone a name on a night out. Totally unacceptable but there was clear provocation and it is just words at the end of the day. This guy sticks the nut on someone and gets 6 games.
Obviously Lafferty was wearing the wrong blue shirt at the time so that will be a factor but it's basically a free pass to assault someone now. 6 games is no deterrent.