View Full Version : Favourite memory of attending ER but non game related.

Wakeyhibee
27-03-2023, 10:50 PM
My son loved waiting outside the main stand for the players to arrive for autographs etc.. one day he was waiting for the arrivals when the then manager Yogi Hughes spied his surname on his shirt while he was looking elsewhere and shouted "'Surname' over here".

He was starstruck as Yogi shook his hand and gave him and other kids time out. Thought that was top class from Yogi and regardless of the result that day one he remembers still now at 27.

27-03-2023, 11:32 PM
I don't know if it counts, but during the 98/99 season when we were in the second tier there was an older gentleman who appeared in the row behind ours in the FF lower, he was always immaculately dressed in jacket shirt and tie and IIRC had a walking stick. We spoke to him from time to time because he always seemed to be on his own, he was as gentlemanly in his conversation as you would expect from his appearance .... not in any way 'posh' but polite and well spoken.

He never appeared for the following season and I always wondered what became of him, probably long gone by now I suppose. He seemed so out of place amongst the sweary parents and snottery kids of the FF lower even nearly a quarter of a century later I still remember him... It makes me a wee bit sad to think that perhaps this was a lonely old guy for whom that was his one day of company every other week.

If anybody knows who he was, I would be happy to be told that theory is wrong.

27-03-2023, 11:50 PM
This one is really just for aficionados of the calendar thread (May she rest in peace, in nomine Patris et Filii etc etc).

Must have been 2006 calendar signing event at ER, maybe 07 but pretty sure it was 06, as it was the first one after the thread had started I think. There had been a fair bit of excitement on the thread that day.

Get there, in the queue, then working my way round, the players all at desks and chairs. About half a dozen players in, I get to Benji. He is sitting there with a little glass of orange diluting juice. He recognises me from the thread, gives me a big smile and tips over some of his orange juice (and signs the calendar).

I don’t know if he was put up to it or actually enjoyed the thread himself, but he was a proper ledge for that :aok:

As I say, it’s one for old fans of the calendar thread :greengrin

Edina Street
28-03-2023, 04:15 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqZ4cEfKRdg

cameronw-hfc
28-03-2023, 07:02 AM
I was mascot for this game, belter of a goal too

https://youtu.be/afOQ9j8lcX4

28-03-2023, 07:12 AM
Guy in front of me at the kiosk ordered about 10 items and the server was obviously new. He rung up the items on the till and it came up something like £6,540,900.

The guy responded with "do you have change from a ten million pound note?"

Trinity Hibee
28-03-2023, 08:56 AM
Guy in front of me at the kiosk ordered about 10 items and the server was obviously new. He rung up the items on the till and it came up something like £6,540,900.

The guy responded with "do you have change from a ten million pound note?"

28-03-2023, 09:03 AM
For some reason when I was very young about 12-13, we went through a phase of climbing into football grounds and playing football on the pitch. I am pleased to say I have scored at both ends and sat in the directors box having a smoke while humming the Hamlet tune (for the older guys).

28-03-2023, 09:11 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqZ4cEfKRdg

Not sure I would say this was my 'favourite' non football day at ER but it is my earliest memory of being there.

I've been going to games since before my 3rd birthday but obviously don't remember that but I definitely have hazy memories of the hands Off Hibs rally. The abiding memory is of my Grandad, I had never seen him so angry before or since and it's one of only 2 or 3 occasions I can recall him being really emotional.

I also have fond memories of the Hibs Kids days that used to be at the stadium. There were always players about signing autographs and posing for pictures and the like.

28-03-2023, 09:15 AM
Smell o baccy, stale alcohol and pish and brilliant one liners shouted from the terraces to relieve the tension whatever the situation and lighten the moment

Great times from a fabulously different era

Just_Jimmy
28-03-2023, 09:29 AM
"Come on ma bonny boys"

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

28-03-2023, 10:36 AM
For some reason when I was very young about 12-13, we went through a phase of climbing into football grounds and playing football on the pitch. I am pleased to say I have scored at both ends and sat in the directors box having a smoke while humming the Hamlet tune (for the older guys).

You used to be able to break into Easter Road quite easily between the East and FF stands. There was a metal gate that had a little hole at roughly waist height where the gate could be opened and that provided a perfect little foothold if you wanted to throw yourself over the top of the gate. I made a few overnight visits…

The first time I made a visit I was so pished I couldn’t remember it. It took my mates the next day to say “you claimed last night to have broken into Easter Road” for it to come rushing back.

28-03-2023, 10:42 AM
In the mid 2000's there was a chocolate game once a season. You got free chocolate at the game.

CL0762
28-03-2023, 10:53 AM
Getting my photo with the Scottish cup with my son and Grandad, on my birthday no less.

28-03-2023, 11:24 AM
"Come on ma bonny boys"

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Now there is a blast from the past

28-03-2023, 11:32 AM
Smell o baccy, stale alcohol and pish and brilliant one liners shouted from the terraces to relieve the tension whatever the situation and lighten the moment

Great times from a fabulously different era

Mind the older man walking up the gangways selling toffee apples out a card board box with string handles !
The auld con man use to get chipped/bruised apples in the fruit market in Market Street, as it was back then.
My Grandad worked there.

Those memories !!.... and the lump in the throat day at the HOH rally.
I was working in Northhampton/Milton Keynes area for a bit back then, but took time off to come up for the rally.

Edina Street
28-03-2023, 12:15 PM
Not sure I would say this was my 'favourite' non football day at ER but it is my earliest memory of being there.

I've been going to games since before my 3rd birthday but obviously don't remember that but I definitely have hazy memories of the hands Off Hibs rally. The abiding memory is of my Grandad, I had never seen him so angry before or since and it's one of only 2 or 3 occasions I can recall him being really emotional.

I also have fond memories of the Hibs Kids days that used to be at the stadium. There were always players about signing autographs and posing for pictures and the like.

My favourite moment from the Hands Off Hibs rally would have to be when that man ran on the pitch and sprinted towards the directors box giving it the two fingers, only to be arrested, and then released when the entire East Terracing erupted into a chorus of boos. The boos turned to cheers when the police took the handcuffs off him and released him back into the East Terracing.

Hibs07p
28-03-2023, 03:07 PM

I have visions of a baldy man sitting there chilled, running his fingers through the only strand of hair he had left. (again for the older guys).
Probably, having a Bonnington primary school game being called off at Hawkhill, instead of heading back to school, we climbed into the ground, and had an impromptu game of football at the Dunbar end, before being chased by the groundsman.

GGTTH,
Scottish Cup Winners 2016

May21/05/216
28-03-2023, 03:45 PM
Mines was my auld man taking me to European games notably Leeds utd twice juventus and Liverpool great times they were

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

h1bs4life
28-03-2023, 03:49 PM
One ancient memory and one recent memory. Way back in early 1970’s played in goals for the school in the half time evening news schools penalty kick competition. We got changed in the gym under the stand , made sure I had a ball in hand running out the tunnel and scored into the empty net at the Dunbar end . Saved a couple of pens and we went through to the next round .
Couple of years ago took part in the Football Fans in Training . Had a bit of an injury normally when the training was on one of the foundation team would walk round the pitch with anyone who couldn’t train until you went up into the offices for 2nd part . This night it was raining so I said I will walk round myself save them getting wet . For 30 mins walked round the pitch with the ‘ stadium’ to myself . What a fantastic arena it is to play football, despite being nearly 60 at the time I was like an excited school kid.

vercol36
29-03-2023, 07:43 AM
The return of the victorious League Cup team in 2007, and a bunch of us getting into the stadium by climbing up the wall and camera stand between the North and West.

Ah, youth. If I tried that now id be over in the cemetery not long after

Juice-Terry
29-03-2023, 08:19 AM
Sponor's brekkie with the team on 22 May 2016. GGTTH!

29-03-2023, 09:09 AM
Went to pick up comp tickets at Easter Road for Sporting Lisbon game only to be greeted by the whole team going out for a run. They slagged me rotten for what I was wearing,my tartan trousers and fur collared demin jacket looking back on it was a hideous combination.

29-03-2023, 11:07 AM
A bit of a cheat as I suppose it’s partially game related, but when I first took my partner to ER. Was nervous as how she’d enjoy it as she hadn’t been a football fan at all, but she absolutely loved it. Now a Hibby through and through.

Every time we wander down Easter Road, more often than not popping into Ecosse Eclair on the way and feeling lucky that it’s something we both get enjoyment out of is a highlight for me.

29-03-2023, 01:39 PM
I suppose it is game related but the occasion of my elderly father in law who was pretty ill at the time attending his last ever Hibs game with my son, his grandson, attending his first ever game on his birthday. He took great delight that he managed to go to ER with his grandson.

29-03-2023, 02:26 PM
I suppose it is game related but the occasion of my elderly father in law who was pretty ill at the time attending his last ever Hibs game with my son, his grandson, attending his first ever game on his birthday. He took great delight that he managed to go to ER with his grandson.

Nice memory.

29-03-2023, 08:18 PM
Sponor's brekkie with the team on 22 May 2016. GGTTH!

This for me as well. What a day.

29-03-2023, 08:31 PM
Probably Easter Holls 73 jumping on a bike with my mate and cycling to ER to see if we could watch a training session. All the kids were eventually allowed into the old enclosure. Johnny Hamilton and Jimmy O'Rourke chatted for a wee bit at the end. I was completely starstruck.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

fiolex1
29-03-2023, 09:40 PM
Son was going to Kenya with the Boys Brigade to help with project Steadfast and managed to get the club to donate some old stock of kids tops, shorts and socks ( 20 strips or so). Went to the South stand offices and met a great guy who gave me the kits. Unfortunately can’t remember the guys name. Was blown away with the clubs generosity . Turkish airlines also offered to double the luggage quota and my son was able to take the whole lot to Kenya. Should be plenty wee Hibby’s running about Oloolua Ngong
https://www.projectstedfast.co.uk/ Unfortunately no pictures of the kids in their kits but gives a flavour of what the Bonnyrigg and Loanhead BB’s have managed to achieve.

darwenhibby
29-03-2023, 10:24 PM
I’m hoping it’s going to be this Saturday
My dad moved to Lancashire 50 years ago and never gets to ER as much as he’d like
One of my sons organised corporate in pioneers for his 80th during lockdown
He’s soon to be 83 and at the early stages of Alzheimer’s
All he’s spoke about for weeks is going on Saturday
6 of us will be there to make a day of it.
Hopefully the Hibs make it an even more special day with a win for him
GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬

1875godsgift
29-03-2023, 10:26 PM
My dad moved to Lancashire 50 years ago and never gets to ER as much as he’d like
GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬

Hope you have a great day mate, regardless of the result! :flag:

darwenhibby
29-03-2023, 10:42 PM
Hope you have a great day mate, regardless of the result! :flag:

Nice one pal
He is still fit enough to take advantage of the all inclusive package
If Petrie was still here he’d be In meltdown by 3 o’clock 😉🍺🇳🇬

30-03-2023, 04:56 PM
For many years I went to ER with my dear father in law, but the clearest memory is mid week games when I would meet him at the top of the steps to the East terrace, always a smile and a wave when he saw me.

30-03-2023, 06:17 PM
Came to one of the father's day events a few years ago with my laddie, he hadn't been to ER before as he isn't into football but was a good day

30-03-2023, 06:53 PM
GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬

Christ is it 13 years since we went to his 70th? :confused:

darwenhibby
30-03-2023, 08:10 PM
Christ is it 13 years since we went to his 70th? :confused:

Yeah in June G
Time flies

Potty78
30-03-2023, 09:16 PM
Enjoyed the quiz they had yearly in one of the suits behind the goal.

30-03-2023, 09:20 PM
I did the “football fans in training” thing the year it was shelved due to covid.

Lost a stone, which I’ve never put back on. I later lost another stone which I have put back on though.

If they ever run it again, I’d highly recommend it, it was great fun.

Hibeesforever
30-03-2023, 09:28 PM
My moment of fame was walking up the tunnel and walking past the dugouts with 30 minutes left in a relegation match against Kilmarnock...the Famous Five stand wouldn't let me in with my season ticket, so went to the main entrance and was amazed to take my seat in the main stand...such an adrenalin rush, atmosphere was superb,the team were rubbish, I should have gone on as a sub, would have done a better job!

Johnny Clash
30-03-2023, 09:43 PM
Won the London Hibs raffle, Burns night in 2017 when we had the Scottish cup on display. The prize was ‘winner plus one’ to play in Hibs supporters v Hibs supporters game at end of season on the sacred turf. I hobbled up to collect the prize voucher on crutches having shredded my knee at a gig after-show party. Glad to say my son and his mate played. Pat Stanton was their manager. Brilliant day at Easter Road.

31-03-2023, 01:27 PM
Back in Edinburgh after the 2007 league cup final, saw the team bus drive down Leith Walk, then we headed to the stadium to see the team show off the trophy.

It turned out that only people who’d got access to ER ahead of the match were allowed in, so me and many, many others did what the unwashed do and rushed the South Stand to force our way in.

First and only time I’ve been in that stand - the graffiti is very, very rude about us. :greengrin

31-03-2023, 01:48 PM
Parading the League cup at ER in 2007