View Full Version : Music that reminds you of your Hibs matchday experience

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 03:12 PM
Strange as it may seem, whenever I hear "Yazz - the only way is up" it always reminds me of my boyhood matchday experience during the late 80's. Every home game without fail this song would be blazing out of the tannoy just around that time when the East Terracing was filling up and the players were returning to the dressing room after their pre-match warm up.

Does anyone else from the 80's remember "Yazz - the only way is up" being one of the songs that was pumped out of the Easter Road tannoy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjD3EVC1-zU

What music reminds you of your Hibs matchday experience?

JammyDoidger
19-03-2023, 03:16 PM
Teenage kicks and the silencers I can feel it under Mowbray.

19-03-2023, 03:39 PM

Yip, me also. John Collins used to get Alive & Kicking played pre-match.

My childhood memory is Red Red Wine......at Tynie. I remember sitting in the old centre stand for Derbies with my old man, it was mixed in those days and the local Merricks singing 'green green slime' at us. Despised the ***** ever since :dummytit:

19-03-2023, 03:42 PM
“You’re better by far, at lochinvar”

Do ads also count?

cameronw-hfc
19-03-2023, 03:42 PM
Teenage kicks

zitelli62
19-03-2023, 03:50 PM
Let me entertain you used to get played a lot.

19-03-2023, 03:51 PM
Hector Nicol

‘ Gie the baw to Reilly’

19-03-2023, 03:53 PM
You'll wet yourself at this, I always went to reserve games before I was allowed to go to away games in 62/63 so it was The Beatles PS I Love You 😮🤔😆💚👍

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 03:55 PM
You'll wet yourself at this, I always went to reserve games before I was allowed to go to away games in 62/63 so it was The Beatles PS I Love You ����������

I can't find "I Love You". Do you mean "I Love Her"?

Edit - I think you mean this one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MA5DkiVKSlM

He's here!
19-03-2023, 03:56 PM
The obvious one. Sunshine on Leith.

cameronw-hfc
19-03-2023, 03:56 PM
Hector Nicol

‘ Gie the baw to Reilly’

Think it was Hibs Aberdeen not long after he died, one the more emotional moments. Played before the game and the sound of the "gie the baw to reilly" chant was deafening.

Donegal Hibby
19-03-2023, 04:02 PM
Hibernian ( give us a goal ) :flag:.

https://youtu.be/trA_22vXxcc

19-03-2023, 04:08 PM
I can't find "I Love You". Do you mean "I Love Her"?

Edit - I think you mean this one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MA5DkiVKSlM

https://youtu.be/MA5DkiVKSlM

Lendo
19-03-2023, 04:11 PM
Will always be Teenage Kicks for me

19-03-2023, 04:17 PM
This one as well, the DJ was obviously a Beatles fan 😆

https://youtu.be/2ttGjtfQ7EA

Bridge hibs
19-03-2023, 04:18 PM
Rivers of Babylon

LithgaeHibby
19-03-2023, 04:19 PM
Late 80's / early 90s, you could guarantee hearing the following on the tannoy:

Groove Is in the Heart, Deee-Lite
I don't want a lover, Texas
Jive Bunny!

Teenage Kicks definitely reminds me of the Mowbray Era.

Besides Sunshine on Leith, I think Chelsea Dagger was played at the end of our 2007 League Cup Final win.

And of course, again apart from SoL, Freed from Desire will forever be the celebration song associated with that glorious day in 2016.

19-03-2023, 04:27 PM
Not the first game I ever attended but the first game I went to on my own...

For some bizarre reason I vividly remember the song being played over the tannoy when I took my place on the old east terracing was 'one day at a time', sung by Lena Martel.

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 04:29 PM
Not the first game I ever attended but the first game I went to on my own...

For some bizarre reason I vividly remember the song being played over the tannoy when I took my place on the old east terracing was 'one day at a time', sung by Lena Martel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDK6rO2jgao

19-03-2023, 04:34 PM
Every time I hear Slade Coz I luv you it brings back memories of travelling to away games watching the tornadoes play, Great days indeed.

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 04:39 PM
Every time I hear Slade Coz I luv you it brings back memories of travelling to away games watching the tornadoes play, Great days indeed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDEVVSzGZdE

19-03-2023, 04:42 PM
Angel fingers by Wizzard. Seemed to be the only single played for a couple of seasons in the 70s

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 04:52 PM

Everytime I hear this song (Downtown) I am still an eleven year old boy returning back to Edinburgh from Dundee victorious listening to Downtown on the radio in my dad's car after a 2-1 victory secured by Steve Archibald.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zx06XNfDvk0

SCHAEDYSHORTS
19-03-2023, 04:52 PM
Angel fingers by Wizzard. Seemed to be the only single played for a couple of seasons in the 70s

Magic by Pilot, I always remember from my days standing on the old East in the 70’s………& we were🇳🇬

19-03-2023, 04:53 PM
Moby porcelain 6-2 game?

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 04:57 PM
Magic by Pilot, I always remember from my days standing on the old East in the 70’s………& we were🇳🇬

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MzlK0OGpIRs

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 04:59 PM
Moby porcelain 6-2 game?

Reminds me of playing pool in The Royal Nip around the same era.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13EifDb4GYs

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:02 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNggVPi8ot8

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:11 PM
This song will forever remind me of driving through hordes of Hearts fans on Gorgie Road blazing Heartbeatz out of the window of my green Citroen Saxo whilst chanting out of the window alternate lyrics "I'm a Hibee, I'm a Hibee, I'm a Hibee". My girlfriend of the time was in the passenger seat and was in hysterics.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRV19YZh3_U

MagicSwirlingShip
19-03-2023, 05:21 PM
Hello, Hello by Oasis in the Alex Miller era.

Hey Baby by Dj Otzi, Athens match.

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:25 PM
Hello, Hello by Oasis in the Alex Miller era.

Hey Baby by Dj Otzi, Athens match.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzTQZrbboHE

19-03-2023, 05:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDEVVSzGZdE Thanks for that much appreciated

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:33 PM
Can anyone say which Hibs player got awarded with this song with alternate lyrics, and which match it was when it was first sang?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntG50eXbBtc

19-03-2023, 05:34 PM
Can anyone say which Hibs player got awarded with this song with alternate lyrics, and which match it was were it was first sang?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntG50eXbBtc

Rob Jones

i THINK :hmmm:

19-03-2023, 05:34 PM
Any time I hear the Green Day song "Time of Your Life" it reminds me of the tribute video put together when Garry O'Connor left Hibs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CnQ8N1KacJc

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:36 PM
Rob Jones

i THINK :hmmm:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TDoMh10N9A

Paul1642
19-03-2023, 05:37 PM
Teenage kicks. What a team.

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:39 PM
Teenage kicks. What a team.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S53_7epT_Zw

19-03-2023, 05:40 PM
This song will forever remind me of driving through hordes of Hearts fans on Gorgie Road blazing Heartbeatz out of the window of my green Citreon Saxo whilst chanting out of the window alternate lyrics "I'm a Hibee, I'm a Hibee, I'm a Hibee". My girlfriend of the time was in the passenger seat and was in hysterics.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRV19YZh3_U

I'm going to Clubland Live next Thursday and hope this belter will be played.

19-03-2023, 05:55 PM

They're the only ones I can clearly remember.

Do we have a song this season that gets played regularly pre-game? :confused:

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:57 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-QbaTQQga0

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 05:58 PM
Yip, me also. John Collins used to get Alive & Kicking played pre-match.

My childhood memory is Red Red Wine......at Tynie. I remember sitting in the old centre stand for Derbies with my old man, it was mixed in those days and the local Merricks singing 'green green slime' at us. Despised the ***** ever since :dummytit:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljIQo1OHkTI

HibbyStardust50
19-03-2023, 07:33 PM
Could mention lots of songs already mentioned and other classic Hibby tunes but a random shout from me would be ‘So Macho’ by Sinitta ....it was played every week for a period of time in the late 80s...me in my mid teens...always in North enclosure of the old main stand next to the tunnel...seemed to be loads of midweek league cup games...everybody seemed to give Kano constant stick...I did say it was a random memory...bit like a weird dream after eating too much cheese but I’m positive it’s real..:greengrin

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 07:46 PM
Could mention lots of songs already mentioned and other classic Hibby tunes but a random shout from me would be ‘So Macho’ by Sinitta ....it was played every week for a period of time in the late 80s...me in my mid teens...always in North enclosure of the old main stand next to the tunnel...seemed to be loads of midweek league cup games...everybody seemed to give Kano constant stick...I did say it was a random memory...bit like a weird dream after eating too much cheese but I’m positive it’s real..:greengrin

I think you're right. The Only Way Is Up is the one I most remember from the late 80's, but I think So Macho and "Black Box - Ride on Time" were others.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7DqwRKqyMk

bordergreen
19-03-2023, 09:04 PM
Mid to late 80's they used to play A-ha Take on me quite a lot before games.

King conrad
19-03-2023, 09:14 PM
I always remember The invisible man by queen getting played before games.
Pretty sure it was around the early 90s

19-03-2023, 09:16 PM
Under the Mowbray era, the silencers, teenage kicks and one other song I can't even think of the name of. It was just a simple piano song, no lyrics at all and was played before the players walked out. If anyone cam help I'd like to find out the name.

Buc
19-03-2023, 09:38 PM
Teenage kicks and more recently Thunderstruck. However the odd one for me is Beautiful Day by U2. I am anything but a U2 fan, however it was playing as we left the old west stand after the 6-2 game and I have loved it ever since.

Trinity Hibee
19-03-2023, 09:41 PM
Alesso - Heroes played as the players came out of the tunnel season after the cup win

Callyballybe
19-03-2023, 10:00 PM
'Moving On Up' by M People, especially the start of the song. Reminds me of when I started going to ER - Must've been 93/94.

Was a simpler time, a better time...

tbfhibs2
19-03-2023, 10:27 PM
Pilot

MagicSwirlingShip
19-03-2023, 10:40 PM
Under the Mowbray era, the silencers, teenage kicks and one other song I can't even think of the name of. It was just a simple piano song, no lyrics at all and was played before the players walked out. If anyone cam help I'd like to find out the name.

Remember this!

ehf
19-03-2023, 10:54 PM
Iggy Pop’s “Lust for Life” at the start of the Stubbs era.

Davy Mac
19-03-2023, 11:07 PM
ELO - Mr Blue Sky....

19-03-2023, 11:07 PM
Strange as it may seem, whenever I hear "Yazz - the only way is up" it always reminds me of my boyhood matchday experience during the late 80's. Every home game without fail this song would be blazing out of the tannoy just around that time when the East Terracing was filling up and the players were returning to the dressing room after their pre-match warm up.

Does anyone else from the 80's remember "Yazz - the only way is up" being one of the songs that was pumped out of the Easter Road tannoy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjD3EVC1-zU

What music reminds you of your Hibs matchday experience?

Great song! theonlywayisup baby!

Just listen to the lyrics, they could have been written for the Hibees.

We've been broken down
To the lowest turn
Bein' on the bottom line
Sure ain't no fun

theonlywayisup Hibees

Davy Mac
19-03-2023, 11:11 PM
ELO - Mr Blue Sky....

Pat Staton's testimonial, shxte i'm getting old.

HendoDelivered
19-03-2023, 11:22 PM
The Silencers - I Can Feel It.

19-03-2023, 11:49 PM
Teenage Kicks
Hibees Hibernian (Colin Chisholm)

20-03-2023, 12:15 AM
"You win again" reminds me of of a lot my match day experiences! :boo hoo:

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:23 AM
Mid to late 80's they used to play A-ha Take on me quite a lot before games.

You're definitely right. I can just about see the old Hibs players doing their pre-match warm up now with Gareth Evans doing sprints up and down the wing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djV11Xbc914

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:28 AM
I always remember The invisible man by queen getting played before games.
Pretty sure it was around the early 90s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4INN0DbX4X4

20-03-2023, 08:33 AM
Sloop John B doing his prematch keepie uppies to ‘ Everything I own ‘

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:36 AM
Teenage kicks and more recently Thunderstruck. However the odd one for me is Beautiful Day by U2. I am anything but a U2 fan, however it was playing as we left the old west stand after the 6-2 game and I have loved it ever since.

I missed this game. I was a young man back then and I was in a jail cell that day for a minor driving related incident. Even worse, my father tried to record the game on VHS for me so that I could watch it that evening on the television, only to find out after full-time that the game had not recorded.

But yeah, it was a beautiful day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co6WMzDOh1o

20-03-2023, 08:39 AM
I quite enjoy the Calvin Harris one they currently play

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:39 AM
Alesso - Heroes played as the players came out of the tunnel season after the cup win

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7SouU3ECpU

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:43 AM
Iggy Pop’s “Lust for Life” at the start of the Stubbs era.

Reminds me of when Trainspotting first came out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQvUBf5l7Vw

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:46 AM
'Moving On Up' by M People, especially the start of the song. Reminds me of when I started going to ER - Must've been 93/94.

Was a simpler time, a better time...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkHOVJINRD8

20-03-2023, 08:46 AM
The first record that sticks in my mind was 24 hours from Tulsa by Gene Pitney in 1963. It was the first time I had been allowed to travel to a Rangers game at Easter Road on my own and it was playing over the tannoy pre match. Every time I hear it I immediately think back to that day. After that it has to be Dusty Springfield's You don't have to say you love me and of course all the Liverpool sounds of the early to mid 60s. A brilliant time to be following the Hibs.

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:48 AM
Pilot

It's magic?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASGgn8bNQuA

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:50 AM
ELO - Mr Blue Sky....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQUlA8Hcv4s

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:53 AM
The Silencers - I Can Feel It.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-QbaTQQga0

20-03-2023, 08:55 AM
For a while we always put Sheena Is A Punk Rocker on the jukebox in The Brunswick before heading down to ER via Dizzie Lizzie's. Happy days!

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:56 AM
"You win again" reminds me of of a lot my match day experiences! :boo hoo:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xviuC-0FwQ0

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 08:58 AM
Sloop John B doing his prematch keepie uppies to ‘ Everything I own ‘

Bread?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_21cZe2eO_I

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 09:00 AM
The first record that sticks in my mind was 24 hours from Tulsa by Gene Pitney in 1963. It was the first time I had been allowed to travel to a Rangers game at Easter Road on my own and it was playing over the tannoy pre match. Every time I hear it I immediately think back to that day. After that it has to be Dusty Springfield's You don't have to say you love me and of course all the Liverpool sounds of the early to mid 60s. A brilliant time to be following the Hibs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zugy2rkSM7g

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 09:05 AM
For a while we always put Sheena Is A Punk Rocker on the jukebox in The Brunswick before heading down to ER via Dizzie Lizzie's. Happy days!

We used to do the opposite direction.

Easter Road Stadium >>>>> Royal Nip >>>>> Clan Tavern >>>>> Dizzie Lizzie's >>>>> Gladstone's

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCW7Aw8ugOI

20-03-2023, 09:05 AM
I've always remembered Eddy Grant's Electric Avenue getting played a lot, but about 20 years or so after the song was out.

Edina Street
20-03-2023, 09:07 AM
I've always remembered Eddy Grant's Electric Avenue getting played a lot, but about 20 years or so after the song was out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuwxZSIS__4

Bobo
20-03-2023, 11:48 AM
I seem to remember Donna Summer's, MacArthur Park, being played at nearly every home game in the late 70's. I always think of Easter Road when I hear it being played.

https://youtu.be/hDD7t2Mj_aQ

BonnieFitbaTeam
20-03-2023, 12:50 PM
Roy Orbison. I think it was, "You Got It"

20-03-2023, 01:09 PM

Remember that played a lot late 80s too.

Sometimes by Erasure was played a lot when I was a kid.

The DJ around then was a Runrig fan as they got played a lot pre match much to my annoyance!... 😔

A favourite was after a derby win at ER. Think it was the 3-1 game in 2000 in which Franck scored a header and lost four teeth. EEN ran an article days before about the first gay Hibs supporters club. Cue the Jambos and their hilarious gay chant 'banter' until we took the lead. Soon as the full time whistle went the DJ put on YMCA to wind them up even more. Remember folk conga-ing out the Famous Five to it, hand movements and all as the Gorgie hordes traipsed off. 😂

20-03-2023, 01:14 PM
Bread?

Ken Boothe

20-03-2023, 01:34 PM
Bread?

Classic Bread
I have the vinyl album and cd,
Reminds me dearly of my wife more than the Hibs when i hear it these days.

you sheltered me from harm
kept me warm, kept me warm
you gave my life to me
set me free, set me free
the finest years i ever knew
is all the years i had with you

20-03-2023, 02:04 PM
I'm the Urban Spaceman by The Bongo Dog Doo-Dah Band was adopted by many fans of clubs and also scheme gangs of the day circa 1968/70ish
Lyrics would be adapted to suit particular club/gang
Very popular it was ,cos it was catchy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=olGXtohOs7c

We're the Edinburgh Hibees baby.we got class
Hibees ya bass

Yes i admit whoever penned that must have sat up all night,running out of pencils and full waste paper baskets.

Thee are other verses, but i guess most know them and a bit cringy now.
But it was all fun for us teenagers at the time.
No one got hurt..... except the other mob!!

20-03-2023, 02:16 PM
Did Wee Mickey no get booked for singing ‘ Jingle Bells’ to the Hearts players on New Year’s Day ?

20-03-2023, 07:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umO-o7-s3Xc
try this from around 4mins - I remember it hit me in the chest at a game once and searching for it in the past.

20-03-2023, 10:17 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umO-o7-s3Xc
try this from around 4mins - I remember it hit me in the chest at a game once and searching for it in the past.Nah, that's not it.

Calvin
20-03-2023, 10:57 PM
I remember when Franck Sauzee was captain, and perhaps manager too, they played La Marseillaise before the games. I remember as a 9 year old being slightly confused when the announcer said "that was the French national anthem in honour of the captain" but it would have been the first time I ever heard that song.
Then again, I was not as confused then as I was when I moved to Brisbane and the Brisbane Lions AFL song started up to exactly the same tune.

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 06:45 AM
Did Wee Mickey no get booked for singing ‘ Jingle Bells’ to the Hearts players on New Year’s Day ?

I read in a Hibs book that a player ran around the Tynecastle pitch during the 7-0 singing jingle bells. Can't remember which player it was.

21-03-2023, 06:50 AM
Interesting topic. Whenever I hear Texas ‘I don’t want a lover’ it reminds me of going to ER in my early days with my old man.

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 06:55 AM
Requiem for a Dream - Clint Mansell

I remember during Pat Fenlon's reign Requiem for a Dream got played before matches. This was just around the time that Noreagaaa and Achnar's conspiracy theory documentary The Arrivals was going viral on the internet to the sound of Clint Mansell's music. I do actually enjoy listening to Clint Mansell's music, but I did not think it was appropriate for a football atmosphere. I was also surprised to hear the song get played at Easter Road considering its association with The Arrivals.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Im6wqgSjV74

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 06:59 AM
I remember when Franck Sauzee was captain, and perhaps manager too, they played La Marseillaise before the games. I remember as a 9 year old being slightly confused when the announcer said "that was the French national anthem in honour of the captain" but it would have been the first time I ever heard that song.
Then again, I was not as confused then as I was when I moved to Brisbane and the Brisbane Lions AFL song started up to exactly the same tune.

This?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJsAguWQvdQ

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 07:02 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvR1YgT7QYs

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 07:05 AM
Interesting topic. Whenever I hear Texas ‘I don’t want a lover’ it reminds me of going to ER in my early days with my old man.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhfSeUqfoP4

21-03-2023, 07:34 AM
I read in a Hibs book that a player ran around the Tynecastle pitch during the 7-0 singing jingle bells. Can't remember which player it was.

Alex Mickey Edwards Hearts players complained to JP Gordon asking him to book him

Hibs spent most of the game trying to set up a goal for him

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 08:18 AM
Just remembered another late 1980's song that used to get pumped out of the Easter Road tannoy. It was probably blaring out during the Hibs v Celtic tear gas game as the stadium filled up to almost crushing point due to the board's ridiculous decision to make the game pay at the gate.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJ-E5Z6tnX8

21-03-2023, 10:08 AM
Black Betty by Ram Jam. Got played a few times in the late 70's I recall it's rocky riffs echoing round a near empty Easter Road before some of our less attractive fixtures :greengrin

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 12:04 PM
Black Betty by Ram Jam. Got played a few times in the late 70's I recall it's rocky riffs echoing round a near empty Easter Road before some of our less attractive fixtures :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLMday-cXbc

21-03-2023, 12:24 PM
Changing the subject slightly but who remembers Tynecastle in the 60s when the pre match entertainment was Scottish country dance music over the tannoy and the Salvation Army band?

Edina Street
21-03-2023, 12:34 PM
Changing the subject slightly but who remembers Tynecastle in the 60s when the pre match entertainment was Scottish country dance music over the tannoy and the Salvation Army band?

No doubt "My Heart's Desire" was one of them!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttEmJmDaRUs

21-03-2023, 01:55 PM

For some reason I ended up at Tynecastle for a game back in the late 70s ..... I'm pretty sure it was a 2nd division game against Kilmarnock and if I recall correctly Jim Jefferies broke his leg in that game. Anyway we were in the ground about 10 minutes before kick off and for near enough all of it the tannoy played some sort of Italian mandolin music .... even back then I thought it was bizarre, not to mention slightly depressing, no wonder Jambos are such a miserable lot :greengrin