View Full Version : Impartiality.

12-03-2023, 09:55 PM
https://twitter.com/ClarkKe01956140/status/1634914633109700609

I posted the above link in the match day thread and I'm sure most folk have seen it. But I can't stop thinking about it. To me, it's beyond any level of interaction with an official and team. An official, who everyone knows, has ties to Sevco. I'm not as happy as Beaton is in that clip when I see my close mates.

I get the source of the video being a mental Celtic fan will cast doubt for some. But one of our group, older gent, oap, is adamant that things are bent. We've always laughed it off and claimed paranoia. The older I get and the more you witness it weekly you start to wonder.

Then you get to the whole 'well of course if the referee's are from Glasgow then they'll support one of the 'old firm' argument. To me that's pish. We have about four well know referee's that seem to get all the big games. Make it more accessible.

12-03-2023, 10:01 PM
https://twitter.com/ClarkKe01956140/status/1634914633109700609

I posted the above link in the match day thread and I'm sure most folk have seen it. But I can't stop thinking about it. To me, it's beyond any level of interaction with an official and team. An official, who everyone knows, has ties to Sevco. I'm not as happy as Beaton is in that clip when I see my close mates.

I get the source of the video being a mental Celtic fan will cast doubt for some. But one of our group, older gent, oap, is adamant that things are bent. We've always laughed it off and claimed paranoia. The older I get and the more you witness it weekly you start to wonder.

Then you get to the whole 'well of course if the referee's are from Glasgow then they'll support one of the 'old firm' argument. To me that's pish. We have about four well know referee's that seem to get all the big games. Make it more accessible.

It's just more proof if it were needed that the Scottish Football authorities are unfit for purpose. I'm pretty sure it's the same ref that was pictured drinking with Sevco fans or was it a Sevco pub? Can you imagine the English FA allowing that? No, me neither.

12-03-2023, 10:05 PM
Given the geographical domination from one particular area of Scotland of our acting top flight officials, it’s probably not physically possible to have neutral referees for games involving certain clubs.

A closed shop.

12-03-2023, 10:05 PM
It's just more proof if it were needed that the Scottish Football authorities are unfit for purpose. I'm pretty sure it's the same ref that was pictured drinking with Sevco fans or was it a Sevco pub? Can you imagine the English FA allowing that? No, me neither.

Again, the source was a Celtic fan , but pretty sure it was reported in the media.

Donegal Hibby
12-03-2023, 11:11 PM
I've brought this issue up before about Nick Walsh and John Beaton who are both out n out Huns , everyone knows this including the SFA , so why are they regularly getting to referee games involving the club they have a association with and support? . The one game I can't forget is Hibs v Huns ER and was 0-0 until Porto stuck out a leg and Kent was on his way down before making contact , Beaton of course didn't hesitate and awarded the spot kick late on in the game. I could sort of understand he had made a mistake but his reaction of laughing while pointing to the spot was anything but being a fair and impartial referee . Sadly there are probably more of these types of referee's though I do find these two particularly bad .
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/17350273.chris-sutton-online-pub-pics-valid-john-beaton-guilty-sheer-stupidity/

https://videocelts.com/2021/10/blogs/latest-news/heavily-conflicted-nick-walsh-and-his-ibrox-connections/

13-03-2023, 07:05 AM
Reading comments on FF a common reference is to Beaton and his allegiance to Rangers. These muppets get angry at the way Beaton is often hard on Rangers to cover up the fact that he is one of them. Unbelievable.

13-03-2023, 07:10 AM

Again, the source was a Celtic fan , but pretty sure it was reported in the media.

Should be booted out of Scottish football, an absolute disgrace 😡

13-03-2023, 07:14 AM
Should be booted out of Scottish football, an absolute disgrace 😡

Yet there are still some folk who think they are just terrible ref's and not bent. :rolleyes:

13-03-2023, 07:29 AM
Reading comments on FF a common reference is to Beaton and his allegiance to Rangers. These muppets get angry at the way Beaton is often hard on Rangers to cover up the fact that he is one of them. Unbelievable.Yeah, that's right. Refs are hard on Rangers....

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

13-03-2023, 08:23 AM
Every now and again we hear comments from pundits and others that it would be good if players during their careers took up reffing courses and minor games.

Not in Scotland !:no way:

Andy"two one"Halliday and his pal big Kyle Laffatme running lines, then moved to VAR after getting abused at ER and CP.
They then gently get to grips with VAR and Andy says to Kyle" av goat the hang o this" to assist newco in the dubious penalty claims'
We arra peepil! Yes ! Nae comebacks !!
The very thought!

They would need to take a lie detector test,post match
Live on Telly !!:greengrin

13-03-2023, 09:13 AM
Every now and again we hear comments from pundits and others that it would be good if players during their careers took up reffing courses and minor games.

Not in Scotland !:no way:

Andy"two one"Halliday and his pal big Kyle Laffatme running lines, then moved to VAR after getting abused at ER and CP.
They then gently get to grips with VAR and Andy says to Kyle" av goat the hang o this" to assist newco in the dubious penalty claims'
We arra peepil! Yes ! Nae comebacks !!
The very thought!

They would need to take a lie detector test,post match
Live on Telly !!:greengrin
My dad played a junior level for a number of years then took up refereeing.He was told that because of his age he would only be able to join the Scottish Junior football referees association and he would go no further
He only scored 100% in his referees exam. He told me of the west coast mafia many years ago. I also worked beside a guy who was a linesman at premier league games who was constantly being passed up for getting top matches in favour of West Coast refs

13-03-2023, 11:09 AM
My dad played a junior level for a number of years then took up refereeing.He was told that because of his age he would only be able to join the Scottish Junior football referees association and he would go no further
He only scored 100% in his referees exam. He told me of the west coast mafia many years ago. I also worked beside a guy who was a linesman at premier league games who was constantly being passed up for getting top matches in favour of West Coast refs

It’s not the first time we’ve read if such a scenario, and appears to have been the case for many years.

A ludicrous situation.

Pete70
13-03-2023, 11:33 AM
Move along, nothing to see here.

13-03-2023, 12:10 PM

Surprisingly decent pub that! 😲

13-03-2023, 12:11 PM
Lets get the foreign refs back. When the Scottish refs went on strike they referreed the matches and were so much better than the Scottish ones.

13-03-2023, 12:30 PM
Copied this before. This is what we are dealing with.

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/16114571.investigation-referees-blow-whistle-unrest/

13-03-2023, 12:33 PM
Lets get the foreign refs back. When the Scottish refs went on strike they referreed the matches and were so much better than the Scottish ones.

They refereed a grand total of 4 games over the course of one weekend and were met with a huge degree of goodwill from fans meaning they were not going to have the same pressures on them. I’m pretty sure that if they had been here for an extended period that goodwill would eventually have evaporated and they would have been getting the same pelters as our domestic officials.

Torto7
13-03-2023, 12:49 PM
Is Hugh Bigot Dallas still in charge of the refs?

13-03-2023, 01:12 PM
They refereed a grand total of 4 games over the course of one weekend and were met with a huge degree of goodwill from fans meaning they were not going to have the same pressures on them. I’m pretty sure that if they had been here for an extended period that goodwill would eventually have evaporated and they would have been getting the same pelters as our domestic officials.
100% correct. I'd add too that such was the press interest at the time, the players were on their best behaviour too. In their entire careers, I'd imagine that those referees rarely officiated easier matches than they did that weekend.

13-03-2023, 01:12 PM
Is Hugh Bigot Dallas still in charge of the refs?
No but one of his acolytes is.

Torto7
13-03-2023, 01:16 PM

That just says it all. Its a cosy wee club of like minded bigots

13-03-2023, 01:38 PM
Referees in Scotland should be prohibited from officiating any match that involves/could impact a team that they have at any point attended a match of in their lifetime (and their immediate rivals). Lying about having attended a match of any team they officiate would be a dismissable offense.

If your immediate response to this is "then none of the referees we have now would be able to officiate Old Firm games!" - good. That's the point.

13-03-2023, 01:52 PM
It used to be easy to find the list of current referees and what association they belonged to. Seems like the SFA are even hiding that information now.

13-03-2023, 01:52 PM
Referees in Scotland should be prohibited from officiating any match that involves/could impact a team that they have at any point attended a match of in their lifetime (and their immediate rivals). Lying about having attended a match of any team they officiate would be a dismissable offense.

If your immediate response to this is "then none of the referees we have now would be able to officiate Old Firm games!" - good. That's the point.

Suits me. I then couldn't referee a Hibs or Hearts game but I could make sure the The Rangers lost their derbies.

13-03-2023, 02:29 PM
It used to be easy to find the list of current referees and what association they belonged to. Seems like the SFA are even hiding that information now.From Jim's article posted above, a wee bit out of date but doubtful the pattern has changed.

"seven current Fifa referees, three belong to the*Glasgow*association, with Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire each having two. He further states that the last*Edinburgh*Fifa referee was Calum Murray, who came off the list in 2013. The last Ayrshire referee was in 2007, in Fife it was 2000, and*Aberdeen*1999."

13-03-2023, 02:34 PM
From Jim's article posted above, a wee bit out of date but doubtful the pattern has changed.

"seven current Fifa referees, three belong to the*Glasgow*association, with Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire each having two. He further states that the last*Edinburgh*Fifa referee was Calum Murray, who came off the list in 2013. The last Ayrshire referee was in 2007, in Fife it was 2000, and*Aberdeen*1999."

Think that's referring to the FIFA list - I'm wondering about all of the referees officiating at top level in Scotland and what percentage of them are from outwith Glasgow and Lanarkshire.

hibsforeurope
13-03-2023, 02:42 PM
Each top flight club should have to employ a referee team (Ref, Lino x2, 4th official) these 12 teams make up the pool that are used each week. obviously they can't ref their own team but it might bring some accountability to the situation.

MartinfaePorty
13-03-2023, 03:41 PM

I have no idea which team Crawford Allan supports, but he did work in Edinburgh for RBS for a number of years, so he shouldn't have a west coast bias. I was working late one night when I heard him giving an interview to the in-house magazine and he was so up himself it was unreal. When he first became a Grade 1 official some colleagues of his I played football with were less than complementary about him. By sheer coincidence, I happened to be at his first ever top flight game as a ref (I think it was St Mirren v St Johnstone) and both teams booed him off as he was so bad!

13-03-2023, 04:09 PM
I have no idea which team Crawford Allan supports, but he did work in Edinburgh for RBS for a number of years, so he shouldn't have a west coast bias. I was working late one night when I heard him giving an interview to the in-house magazine and he was so up himself it was unreal. When he first became a Grade 1 official some colleagues of his I played football with were less than complementary about him. By sheer coincidence, I happened to be at his first ever top flight game as a ref (I think it was St Mirren v St Johnstone) and both teams booed him off as he was so bad!

Clancy lives and works in Edinburgh too. They probably class him as an 'Edinburgh' ref even though it is as clear as day he has a west coast bias.

One of the best refs I remember was John Underhill. An Englishman who lived/worked in the Edinburgh area. I think the fact he wasn't brought up in Scotland helped him.

13-03-2023, 06:44 PM
Think that's referring to the FIFA list - I'm wondering about all of the referees officiating at top level in Scotland and what percentage of them are from outwith Glasgow and Lanarkshire.

Think there are none out with three refereeing associations of Glasgow, East Renfrewshire and Lanarkshire which seems fair. :greengrin