View Full Version : Atmosphere after the Rangers scored

Keepthefaith
11-03-2023, 05:23 PM
been mulling over this a bit and was chatting with my mate during the first half about it too. why did it go so flat immediately after the equaliser and then never pick up? we'd had a good start to the game so there was a bit of hope that we could compete as Rangers had looked a bit nervy in my view when we'd had a go.

I've always praised Block 7 - was at the Livi game when they never stopped - but surely they could have, and should have really stirred up the crowd after the equaliser? it seemed to me that there was never really any attempt to get behind the team. was it because we knew or feared what followed? was it because SoL had been so wonderful that it compounded the despondence?

not really sure and probably a mix of the above, but I really do despair as to why it's so quiet in these moments. don't want to completely resist the atmosphere argument which then becomes the argument about moving B7 to the FF stand (which I support). it's more a question of resilience I guess and our role as fans to motivate.

I accept that the performance and calamitous defending in the second half made it tough, but for me we could have done more in the immediate aftermath of the equaliser. it's not always been this way in adversity but it's becoming more and more of a feature I fear.

11-03-2023, 05:34 PM
Tbh, we couldn't get close enough to even foul them. That will kill any atmosphere ever.

11-03-2023, 05:36 PM
been mulling over this a bit and was chatting with my mate during the first half about it too. why did it go so flat immediately after the equaliser and then never pick up? we'd had a good start to the game so there was a bit of hope that we could compete as Rangers had looked a bit nervy in my view when we'd had a go.

I've always praised Block 7 - was at the Livi game when they never stopped - but surely they could have, and should have really stirred up the crowd after the equaliser? it seemed to me that there was never really any attempt to get behind the team. was it because we knew or feared what followed? was it because SoL had been so wonderful that it compounded the despondence?

not really sure and probably a mix of the above, but I really do despair as to why it's so quiet in these moments. don't want to completely resist the atmosphere argument which then becomes the argument about moving B7 to the FF stand (which I support). it's more a question of resilience I guess and our role as fans to motivate.

I accept that the performance and calamitous defending in the second half made it tough, but for me we could have done more in the immediate aftermath of the equaliser. it's not always been this way in adversity but it's becoming more and more of a feature I fear.
Because we knew what was coming.

11-03-2023, 05:50 PM
Probably because we were chasing shadows. Complete mismatch.

11-03-2023, 05:50 PM
Tbh, we couldn't get close enough to even foul them. That will kill any atmosphere ever.

Pretty much this. Barley had a meaningful kick of the ball for the rest of the game.

11-03-2023, 06:49 PM

Maybe the crowd can give the players the lift/push they need to up the ante on the pitch?

Is it really the case that the crowd has to stay quiet when the team is struggling?

11-03-2023, 06:56 PM
If Block 7 pumped out songs the support actually know, rather than their take on whatever tune is de rigeur for ultras on tik tok, it might have kicked off.

Sure, us crumbly auld farts could have kicked the guid tunes off. We're as much to blame. But we're not being bigged up as the cheerleaders.

Maybe time for the auld team to sort this out.

Keepthefaith
11-03-2023, 07:11 PM
If Block 7 pumped out songs the support actually know, rather than their take on whatever tune is de rigeur for ultras on tik tok, it might have kicked off.

Sure, us crumbly auld farts could have kicked the guid tunes off. We're as much to blame. But we're not being bigged up as the cheerleaders.

this is also a good point. I googled Hibs Class which is where Block 7 have their current song book. tbh I was a bit underwhelmed! I do think a few of the old songs immediately after the equaliser may have just kept the atmosphere up a bit, before the capitulation. too many new songs sounding similar / unclear lyrics and not enough oomph!

as someone else said, is it not our job as fans to rally round the team? we could have done this at 1-1 whilst still positive about the start we'd made and post the SoL?

11-03-2023, 07:24 PM
Aye, they need to get over themselves a bit. Weren’t happy with others starting songs at Livi and started singing over it, pathetic. Same 3-4 TikTok songs every club sings. Some of the new songs are great, but mix it up and if the wider crowd starts singing then get behind it.

HFCbingo
11-03-2023, 07:35 PM
I don't blame the fans, was easy to sense an incoming pumping.

Keepthefaith
11-03-2023, 08:05 PM
I don't blame the fans, was easy to sense an incoming pumping.

my point is that we didn't know that immediately after they scored - the first 10 mins had been even. I guess I'm questioning why it went so flat so quickly - we'd been energised and front foot for the first 10...

11-03-2023, 08:58 PM
Maybe the crowd can give the players the lift/push they need to up the ante on the pitch?

Is it really the case that the crowd has to stay quiet when the team is struggling?

No one has to do anything. It's just reality.

tonyrougier123
11-03-2023, 10:02 PM

As good as it looks them bouncing around I do agree, I’m clueless what half the songs they sing are.
Us sort of auldies 😝could get a wee section going,hopefully when they move it to behind the goals🤔

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-03-2023, 10:08 PM
As good as it looks them bouncing around I do agree, I’m clueless what half the songs they sing are.
Us sort of auldies [emoji13]could get a wee section going,hopefully when they move it to behind the goals[emoji848]

Free buckfast and ching behind the goals, free travel blankets and bovril in the auldies section [emoji16] no a bad idea

#2 Double Tap
11-03-2023, 11:44 PM
i would like the singing section to split up,with a few bodies in every section round the ground, then start the chanting....get the whole stadium involved.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-03-2023, 12:05 AM
i would like the singing section to split up,with a few bodies in every section round the ground, then start the chanting....get the whole stadium involved.

Then it wouldn’t be a singing section it’d just be singing *****

#2 Double Tap
12-03-2023, 12:30 AM
Then it wouldn’t be a singing section it’d just be singing *****

Haha.
That’ll do for me.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-03-2023, 12:37 AM
Haha.
That’ll do for me.

To be fair, same. I’d rather the whole stadium joined in rather than just one wee corner of the east. Best way to do rhat imo is to move them to FFL which is a central area of the home support so it’d hopefully fan out around the rest of the ground?

12-03-2023, 06:42 AM
The atmosphere at ER has been crap for ages now.

The cup game against Hearts should have been rocking but after the opening 5-10 minutes it died away to nothing beyond a 5 minutes spell in the 2nd half when it felt like an equaliser might have been coming. I sit in the FF Upper and for pretty much the entire game all you could hear was the Hearts fans.

It's probably too easy to just blame the Block 7 guys and the songs they sing. The atmosphere at away games has been pretty good this season with the same group largely leading the singing.

12-03-2023, 07:56 AM
The atmosphere at ER has been crap for ages now.

The cup game against Hearts should have been rocking but after the opening 5-10 minutes it died away to nothing beyond a 5 minutes spell in the 2nd half when it felt like an equaliser might have been coming. I sit in the FF Upper and for pretty much the entire game all you could hear was the Hearts fans.

It's probably too easy to just blame the Block 7 guys and the songs they sing. The atmosphere at away games has been pretty good this season with the same group largely leading the singing.

We do appear to react badly to losing a goall as a fan base. We actually played pretty well in the cup tie first half too. The exodus whenever we go two or three down is poor however appreciate that isn’t a Hibs only reaction. What happened to we will support you ever more

12-03-2023, 07:59 AM
We all knew that once they got the first goal more would follow. A sense of foreboding which killed the atmosphere. They battered us.

12-03-2023, 08:00 AM
We do appear to react badly to losing a goall as a fan base. We actually played pretty well in the cup tie first half too. The exodus whenever we go two or three down is poor however appreciate that isn’t a Hibs only reaction. What happened to we will support you ever more

When opposition makes 5 substitutions at once you know it’s probably time to head off!

12-03-2023, 08:02 AM
Us sort of auldies 😝could get a wee section going,hopefully when they move it to behind the goals🤔

"We are Hibernian auldies.
We hate smoke bombs cos we cannae breathe.
And we will fart, wherever we may be.
Cos we are the ageing Hibs auldies."

12-03-2023, 09:16 AM
I guess they filled the void but it’s what happens when you delegate “atmosphere” to a group. This thread is a case in point. We shouldn’t have to rely on a group to get things going.

The best non-stop atmosphere from when I arrived early til way after the game in the East, I recall was the 3-1 game versus the Hearts when Holt scored and did his tumble and Hulk celebration. Whilst Sect43 played their part everyone was up for it and in it together. Cracking.

Hibs3-2
12-03-2023, 09:44 AM
Block 7 needs binned. Daft wee laddies who think the run the place at times. Awful songbook and only want to sing songs they created/like

12-03-2023, 09:51 AM
The exodus whenever we go two or three down is poor however appreciate that isn’t a Hibs only reaction.
On Wednesday it was understandable but it’s been really bad the past couple of years - huge exoduses sometimes with close to half an hour left. It’s ironic that the ‘2 nil down at Tynie’ song is sung so frequently prior to those clearouts- just proves what can happen.

12-03-2023, 10:46 AM
On Wednesday it was understandable but it’s been really bad the past couple of years - huge exoduses sometimes with close to half an hour left. It’s ironic that the ‘2 nil down at Tynie’ song is sung so frequently prior to those clearouts- just proves what can happen.

That game at Tynecastle did have a bit of a different feel to it though.
Most fans will have a good sense of whether a game is gone or not. The exodus at Hampden when 3-0 down to Falkirk was one major exception mind you.

I used to be a ‘stay till the bitter end at all costs’ advocate but now see no real point in hanging around if the games goosed.

12-03-2023, 10:49 AM
Most fans will have a good sense of whether a game is gone or not. The exodus at Hampden when 3-0 down to Falkirk was one major exception mind you.

I used to be a ‘stay till the bitter end at all costs’ advocate but now see no real point in hanging around if the games goosed.

I generally always stay to the end and did so the other night (it was great for beating the traffic, everyone was gone so I flew up the road).

It's probably just self indulgent nonsense on my part but I just don't want to give the opposition fans the satisfaction, particularly the likes of Rangers. I draw the line at applauding the team after a performance like Wednesday right enough as 2 people sat in front of me decided to do.

12-03-2023, 10:52 AM
I generally always stay to the end and did so the other night (it was great for beating the traffic, everyone was gone so I flew up the road).

It's probably just self indulgent nonsense on my part but I just don't want to give the opposition fans the satisfaction, particularly the likes of Rangers. I draw the line at applauding the team after a performance like Wednesday right enough as 2 people sat in front of me decided to do.

If I’m being honest, one reason is that I don’t want to be that guy sat on his own in a sea of empty seats with the TV camera zooming in on your misery much to the amusement of your non Hibs supporting friends!

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-03-2023, 12:32 PM
Block 7 needs binned. Daft wee laddies who think the run the place at times. Awful songbook and only want to sing songs they created/like

Brutal take that

12-03-2023, 05:00 PM
That game at Tynecastle did have a bit of a different feel to it though.

Aye, it certainly had a different feel to the Rangers game and I agree it was masochism to sit it out on Wednesday, but not in other games it's happening in. The ground emptied very quickly for instance when Hearts scored their 2nd in the cup game- fair enough we know what happened in the end but we were dominating that game and a quickish goal would have had us right back in it. Comebacks are generally unlikely, but they do happen often.

12-03-2023, 06:12 PM

It's probably just self indulgent nonsense on my part but I just don't want to give the opposition fans the satisfaction, particularly the likes of Rangers. I draw the line at applauding the team after a performance like Wednesday right enough as 2 people sat in front of me decided to do.Out of the country so not there but I would have stayed if I was. That's just my way. I'll applaud or not applaud depending on the result but never boo. If the team's been humped - deserved or not - those guys already know how the fans feel and booing won't make me feel any better.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

12-03-2023, 06:16 PM
Aye, it certainly had a different feel to the Rangers game and I agree it was masochism to sit it out on Wednesday, but not in other games it's happening in. The ground emptied very quickly for instance when Hearts scored their 2nd in the cup game- fair enough we know what happened in the end but we were dominating that game and a quickish goal would have had us right back in it. Comebacks are generally unlikely, but they do happen often.

I really don't want to sit and watch our rivals have a brilliant time in our stadium. We lost both games by 3 goals. I left both with 10 minutes to go, and I would again.

Just once, I'd like us to be 3-0 up with 10 to go, and watch them leaving.

12-03-2023, 06:21 PM
At the Livi game, I much preferred the singing starting in the opposite end to where Block7 were sitting. It seems much more natural and the fans were singing songs that the rest of the support actually knows,

TBH, I can't be arsed with the ongoing competition between the various so called 'Ultras' groups, as it comes over as more about them than just supporting the team.

12-03-2023, 07:22 PM

Agreed

12-03-2023, 07:43 PM
The atmosphere came right out the place when we conceded an equalizer pretty much straight from kick off, predictably from the award of a penalty. From that point we weren't getting near them - as someone else said not close enough to foul them. I was surprised by how poor it was so quickly being honest, but I didn't feel in the mood myself to join in either.

12-03-2023, 07:49 PM
At the Livi game, I much preferred the singing starting in the opposite end to where Block7 were sitting. It seems much more natural and the fans were singing songs that the rest of the support actually knows,

TBH, I can't be arsed with the ongoing competition between the various so called 'Ultras' groups, as it comes over as more about them than just supporting the team.

It’s the same tune of songs with different words from all the teams boring

OstKurve Hibs
12-03-2023, 07:50 PM
Raith gave them more of a game than we did