View Full Version : Sunshine on Leith tonight

BegbieHSC
08-03-2023, 09:20 PM
It was absolutely stunning. Incredible tribute to Ron - loud enough he’d hear it with the angels high above. I was blubbering half way through, trying my best to belt out the lyrics as loud as I could.

The fans turned up, and drowned out the Billy Boys backing choir from the Hun ****.

Here’s Sky’s clip:

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1633584441720201224?s=46&t=uwBtvnvH7IM-mhAA3NxihA

Well done, all

08-03-2023, 09:24 PM
Highlight of the night, even shut the Orcs out.:hibees
Followed by 10 minutes of good football.
Followed by the roof falling in.:confused:

Cat Stanton
08-03-2023, 09:48 PM
The Rangers fans booed the memory, and pictures, of a man who had died. It's astonishing.

Gorebridge Hibb
08-03-2023, 09:56 PM
The Rangers fans booed the memory, and pictures, of a man who had died. It's astonishing.

They really are the lowest of the low. Scotland’s shame

scuttle
08-03-2023, 10:08 PM
Totally, and the same fans will be up in arms when Celtic boo during Poppy Day. They really are a horrible club

08-03-2023, 10:33 PM
I thought Barrie’s speech before sunshine on leith was spot on too , infact I think they got the whole mood before the game spot on

08-03-2023, 10:47 PM
Beautiful tribute to Ron.

So wanted to do them tonight after their disgusting behaviour, both during Barrie’s tribute, and whilst SOL was being sung.

I know it’s a total paradox to say that you found something to be not at all surprising, and yet totally shocking - but that was how I felt.

They really are an odious football club, supported by the lowest of the low.

09-03-2023, 03:15 AM
That tonight should be the final thing that confirms we always give that vile poisoned club as few tickets as possible.

Please do it Hibernian.

09-03-2023, 05:15 AM
That tonight should be the final thing that confirms we always give that vile poisoned club as few tickets as possible.

Please do it Hibernian.

We won’t. Just like the rest of Scotland. We’re almost as bad as them by allowing it and remaining silent.

09-03-2023, 06:13 AM
Beautiful tribute to Ron.

So wanted to do them tonight after their disgusting behaviour, both during Barrie’s tribute, and whilst SOL was being sung.

I know it’s a total paradox to say that you found something to be not at all surprising, and yet totally shocking - but that was how I felt.

They really are an odious football club, supported by the lowest of the low.

Word for word on all points. The tribute to Ron was very moving and Sunshine on Leith confirmed itself as the best football song ever. Incredible we are now back to having to hear the full repertoire of songs. Well done Scottish football way to go.

09-03-2023, 06:24 AM
We won’t. Just like the rest of Scotland. We’re almost as bad as them by allowing it and remaining silent.

Correct we as a club along with the rest of Scottish football are complicit in allowing this behaviour from them, they think they can do whatever that like and act like animals and they can!
SoL was amazing, a fitting tribute. Just a shame we were unable to honour RG with a minutes silence before that because of the disrespectful ‘fans’ in the south stand. I find The Rangers wholly embarrassing and they are nothing to do with me.

09-03-2023, 06:25 AM
Great video on twitter.

09-03-2023, 06:34 AM
Don’t know if it’s posted but hibs fans were signing “Lizzies in a box” - we can hardly take the moral high ground.

I know tonight was particularly pertinent given how soon Ron passed but as my old dear used to say - two wrongs don’t make a right.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

HIBS NUTS
09-03-2023, 07:07 AM
Don’t know if it’s posted but hibs fans were signing “Lizzies in a box” - we can hardly take the moral high ground.

I know tonight was particularly pertinent given how soon Ron passed but as my old dear used to say - two wrongs don’t make a right.

A small band of young kids, sung “liz is in a box”,very small .
However Walter Smiths memorial at easter road, against Rangers was impeccably adhered too, by all hibs fans.
Hardly the same as belting out terrorists songs, during Ron Gordon’s Tributes.

09-03-2023, 07:26 AM
A small band of young kids, sung “liz is in a box”,very small .
However Walter Smiths memorial at easter road, against Rangers was impeccably adhered too, by all hibs fans.
Hardly the same as belting out terrorists songs, during Ron Gordon’s Tributes.

There was a song about hating the Royal family clearly audible across in the West including a bit about the Queen dying.
Also the usual hail of missiles from the bottom corner.
Maybe we should ban our own fans too.

09-03-2023, 07:37 AM
Haven't heard "sing in your chapels" for a few years 😏

DIXIHIBS
09-03-2023, 07:47 AM
Haven't heard "sing in your chapels" for a few years 😏

Thought that too. The full repertoire last nite. FTP, billy boys, famine song, UVF, bobby sands etc yet not a thing will be said by the authorities/media. The top deck of the south was absolutely rammed as well with no empty seats elsewhere...must have been hundreds over capacity. The police are terrified of them.

09-03-2023, 07:53 AM
They really are the lowest of the low. Scotland’s shame

Nope, they aren’t.

They are Rangers FC’s shame. People should stop uttering that cliched nonsense. It suits the mainstream media narrative, to somehow deflect from addressing who and what are responsible for the disgrace that are the Huns.

A bunch of reflected glory seeking inadequates and misfits. They aren’t my shame or yours.

09-03-2023, 08:26 AM
Nope, they aren’t.

They are Rangers FC’s shame. People should stop uttering that cliched nonsense. It suits the mainstream media narrative, to somehow deflect from addressing who and what are responsible for the disgrace that are the Huns.

A bunch of reflected glory seeking inadequates and misfits. They aren’t my shame or yours.

09-03-2023, 08:32 AM
There was a song about hating the Royal family clearly audible across in the West including a bit about the Queen dying.

One of the objects thrown from our end looked like a fairly heavy duty padlock. Utterly idiotic.

09-03-2023, 08:37 AM
It was a fabulous rendition a wonderful send off for Ron Gordon. His watching family would have been well warned and offered a brief history about the subhuman hordes who would be in attendance so I’m sure the booing and sectarian songs were ignored and the majesty of three stands in full voice would have been a very special moment for them.

Unfortunately it just went to highlight our very poor run without win against the three clubs we would celebrate a win over with an end of game airing and sing-a-long. Feels like so long since we’ve enjoyed it, and it has been badly missed.

snedzuk
09-03-2023, 10:50 AM
Havent seen it mentioned but we were treated to a slightly lesser version of the same tripe from them during the 68th minute.

Whoever came up with that banner 'Up to your knees in embarrassment' - well done.

GreenGray
09-03-2023, 11:14 AM
Is there an argument that it should be sung before every big match? Granted it didn't affect the result much but it felt special.

archie
09-03-2023, 11:17 AM
Is there an argument that it should be sung before every big match? Granted it didn't affect the result much but it felt special.

I don't think so. It loses it's potency. I want it to be belted out when we beat Hearts at home. I want them to in the dressing room after the game with it dominating their thoughts. I want them to hear it and hurt. Is that too much?

09-03-2023, 11:17 AM

Nope, it felt special because we haven't sung it for years other than Santa Coloma.

GreenGray
09-03-2023, 11:20 AM
Nope, it felt special because we haven't sung it for years other than Santa Coloma.

Aye you’re probably right there. Less the better.

I see some fans of other clubs criticising because we barely sing it so can’t be considered a football song.

Tbf YNWA sung before every Liverpool game and still feels pretty special.

09-03-2023, 11:26 AM
Fair enough some of them do have a heart.

It’s become fair game now to disrespect the tributes that are held for people involved in clubs etc. I didn’t know much about Ron Gordon but I can’t imagine he done anything to deserve his tribute being disrespected like it was last night in front of his family.

Society today is in a really poor place, and people really need to take a look at themselves, our own support are often the first to take the moral high ground when it comes to silences or any other tributes being disrespected but are acting like utter twats recently for other people’s.

The ‘aye but they done this’ argument doesn’t wash either, two wrongs don’t make a right.
Like Reactions:ElBufalo72, ArmchairBear, grande and 113 others

https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/hibs-fans-disrespect-ron-gordon-tribute.236322/

09-03-2023, 11:33 AM

Not remotely the same thing. The Walter Smith respect shown by Hibs fans is the equivalent.

Nor can you draw a line between that and songs about Mercer. Ron Gordon during his entire life did nothing to the huns and they had no reason to be disrespectful, the Royal family and Mercer on the other hand have plenty to answer for.

GreenGray
09-03-2023, 11:35 AM
Not remotely the same thing. The Walter Smith respect shown by Hibs fans is the equivalent.

Nor can you draw a line between that and songs about Mercer. Ron Gordon during his entire life did nothing to the huns and they had no reason to be disrespectful, the Royal family and Mercer on the other hand have plenty to answer for.

Exactly, you could see the sad huns on Twitter getting themselves excited about the prospect of booing what we had planned, not because they hated Gordon but because they get off on causing as much offence as possible. They would then cry, moan and greet if called out on their behaviour.

They are offended by everything and ashamed by nothing, **** of the earth.

sadtom
09-03-2023, 11:43 AM
While I thought we all did a fine job belting out SOL and drowning out the h*nsc*m. I was pretty annoyed that the full song was not played. Kind of feels like we capitulated a bit. Perhaps worried by their reaction, someone made a decision to only play half of the song. We should NEVER bow to these cretins. This was our opportunity to give Ron a send off and their behaviour should not have been factored into our club’s decision.

For those trying to make some sort of equivalency between Ron and Betty Battenberg? I just don’t buy it.
The Queen had nowt to do with Scottish fitba and for many of us the royal family are a very contentious organisation, to have that forced upon us was not the same thing.
For anyone who wanted to ‘tug their forelock’ to the passing of an inbred monarch, there were more opportunities to do so than you could shake an ugly h*n at.
For many of us this was our only chance to show our respect and gratitude to Ron and his family.
A far more appropriate comparison would be Walter Smith and Andy Goram, both of their tributes passed without incident.

Also, I’ve seen on other posts lumping septic and rankgers into the same category, which I do think is correct when talking about their stranglehold on Scottish fitba and the obvious advantages that the various branches of the Scottish establishment afford them both. But when it comes to the utter lowlife actions and opinions of the supporters in general, then I don’t buy that either.
There is no doubt that septic have their morons and have disgraced themselves on occasion (as most clubs have at some point). But they are not the same. The frequency and levels of bile that the h*ns spew is on a different level. Celtc may be irritating but if they are itching powder, then the h*nmonkeys are pure poison.
And anyway, when relating to Ron’s minutes applause at the cup final (and I think every event should be discussed on its own merits), then Celtc supporters behaved impeccably and showed the respect that was due. It was completely unfair that some on here lumped them in together on that occasion.

09-03-2023, 11:51 AM

Whilst I agree about not being entirely comparable I don't agree we should be singing/celebrating death.

Anyone's thoughts about other individuals are subjective. We also have to consider that those who have passed have families and whilst we might not agree with an individual's route through life, they often are Mum's, Dad's or grandparents etc that have extended families.

Respect for all or we are just as bad.

09-03-2023, 01:02 PM
First things first ... The rendition of SOL was brilliant and I got the distinct feeling that like me everybody was giving it full throttle in order to drown out the Huns, which we did. But like another poster I was more than a bit disappointed that the whole song wasn't played, if it was indeed for fear that by that point the reaction from the away end would have been drowning it out the club should have A) known better .. and B) not have let such a possibility affect their decision.

As for the folk on here making comparisons between last night's latest disgrace from the Orcs and the reaction at Easter Road to the minutes silence for the queen can they come on here and tell me what era it was where she played for Rangurz or any other club .... at what point did she own the Rangurz or even own a single share in the club that allows them to claim some sort of special connection?

The queen wasn't a football figure, she was a political figure and for many people a highly contentious one ... many of us, not least me, were left asking why it was that we were required by our football authorities to even have a minutes silence for her, a silence that wasn't just disrupted in Scottish football stadiums as anybody who followed events in Liverpool will know ... what sectarian axe did they have to grind?

Ron Gordon was simply a man who realised a dream by owning a football club, in his short time involved in our game he did nothing but work for the betterment of the whole of Scottish football .... With his Peruvian, Australian and American background he would barely have understood the sectarian bile that blights our two biggest clubs, never mind want this club or it's fans to have any part of it.

To disrespect a tribute to the guy not once, but twice, was beneath contempt and no amount of whitabootery, especially based on an utter false equivalence, is in any way a justification of it.

09-03-2023, 01:31 PM
First things first ... The rendition of SOL was brilliant and I got the distinct feeling that like me everybody was giving it full throttle in order to drown out the Huns, which we did. But like another poster I was more than a bit disappointed that the whole song wasn't played, if it was indeed for fear that by that point the reaction from the away end would have been drowning it out the club should have A) known better .. and B) not have let such a possibility affect their decision.

As for the folk on here making comparisons between last night's latest disgrace from the Orcs and the reaction at Easter Road to the minutes silence for the queen can they come on here and tell me what era it was where she played for Rangurz or any other club .... at what point did she own the Rangurz or even own a single share in the club that allows them to claim some sort of special connection?

The queen wasn't a football figure, she was a political figure and for many people a highly contentious one ... many of us, not least me, were left asking why it was that we were required by our football authorities to even have a minutes silence for her, a silence that wasn't just disrupted in Scottish football stadiums as anybody who followed events in Liverpool will know ... what sectarian axe did they have to grind?

Ron Gordon was simply a man who realised a dream by owning a football club, in his short time involved in our game he did nothing but work for the betterment of the whole of Scottish football .... With his Peruvian, Australian and American background he would barely have understood the sectarian bile that blights our two biggest clubs, never mind want this club or it's fans to have any part of it.

To disrespect a tribute to the guy not once, but twice, was beneath contempt and no amount of whitabootery, especially based on an utter false equivalence, is in any way a justification of it.

I don't think it is justification of what they did? What they sung was awful and on a scale of 'awfulness' that is to be expected from them.

My point is that we should not be singing about folk that have passed imo, i didnt think it was what aboutery!

09-03-2023, 01:36 PM
On a night designed to commemorate someone's passing, randomly belting out a song about someone else's death wouldn't have been an obvious go-to, I'd have thought.

09-03-2023, 04:00 PM
I don't think so. It loses it's potency. I want it to be belted out when we beat Hearts at home. I want them to in the dressing room after the game with it dominating their thoughts. I want them to hear it and hurt. Is that too much?

Archie, I think it’s fair to say we have a few disagreements on some other topics on here, but may I say on the above:

10/10 👍

09-03-2023, 04:03 PM

What does the royal family matter? Did they own Rangers?

Bunch of racists and nonces. Nothing wrong with hating them really.

Missiles obviously unacceptable.

MountcastleHibs
09-03-2023, 04:35 PM
How do folk feel about the “he’s deid” chant that was audible when singing about hating the Jambos? I know the history there and I know it’s been part of that song for a long time. Just didn’t feel quite right given the occasion last night.

09-03-2023, 04:47 PM
How do folk feel about the “he’s deid” chant that was audible when singing about hating the Jambos? I know the history there and I know it’s been part of that song for a long time. Just didn’t feel quite right given the occasion last night.

It’s never been right, regardless of how many people try to justify it.

Just_Jimmy
09-03-2023, 04:50 PM
Aye you’re probably right there. Less the better.

I see some fans of other clubs criticising because we barely sing it so can’t be considered a football song.

Tbf YNWA sung before every Liverpool game and still feels pretty special.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThey fill anfield every week. SOL won't sound as impressive when it's only 8-11k against St Mirren et Al.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

09-03-2023, 04:59 PM
Fantastic rendition and drowned out the Huns they might as well have been whispering in a hurricane.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-03-2023, 05:16 PM

Pretty comfortable with folk singing about hating the royals tbh. As long as it stays that side of the line and doesn’t descend into “ooh ah up the ra” or something of the like, then we’ve still got the moral high ground over ****bags celebrating loyalist death squads and sectarian razor gangs while we’re paying tribute to our recently deceased owner

09-03-2023, 07:30 PM
People asking what the Queen had to do with rangers?

It was her revenue and customs that had them wound up.

09-03-2023, 07:47 PM

That is totally different as the Queen had nothing to do with football and there are a huge number of non football reasons that fans didn't want football/Hibs to mark her passing, our Irish roots amplified that further.

Throwing missiles happens every week now and I would agree everyone doing so should be banned along with those letting off pyro either in the stand or throwing onto pitch. Walter Smith was a fairer comparison and our fans did what you expect and marked it with great respect.

09-03-2023, 08:38 PM
Fantastic rendition and drowned out the Huns they might as well have been whispering in a hurricane.
Footage of rendition in this mornings edition of The Scotsman

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-fans-sing-emotional-tribute-to-ron-gordon-as-rangers-disruptors-drowned-out-by-sunshine-on-leith-4056596

On our Youtube video/rendition of SOL on Wednesday there are of course,as like 2016.some very nice comments from here and a far. Fans of clubs world wide think its Numero Uno, as far as football anthems go. Even Sir Alex Ferguson.

However ,this comment on utube channel not only caught my eye,but caused a wee tear.
How very thoughtful to make the connection with our two most important rendtions to date,of the anthem.
Sung both in Joy and Sadness

From Zander SM

"The greatest song ever sung by a crowd on their brightest and darkest day."

We Love Ron

h1bs4life
09-03-2023, 08:43 PM
Excellent tribute by the fans last night to Ron . Plenty around us in the famous five upper scarfs in the air loudly singing.
What can you say about the low life cretins tribute act supporters to wait until the big screens started showing pictures of Ron and then start your sectarian bile is a new low even for them .Thankfully the Hibs fans drowned them out.
Have watched the videos on the official website when they show the family close up you can see the pain on their faces with the son Ian singing he never takes his eyes off the away end.
Not long turned 60 been watching Hibs all my days and have managed to be respectful for any tributes there have been at games over the years but last night sickened me to the core and while not right and I never heard any songs about the Queen etc I can see why a handful of people reacted to the cretins.

davhibby
09-03-2023, 10:38 PM
The video Hibs have posted of SOL is brilliant, really emotional moment when the camera cuts to Ron’s family

10-03-2023, 07:31 AM
The video Hibs have posted of SOL is brilliant, really emotional moment when the camera cuts to Ron’s family

It is brilliant. Really emotional. You can also see Ian Gordon staring over at the Huns probably struggling to understand why they are acting the way they did during a tribute to his Dad

10-03-2023, 08:36 AM

It’s a beautiful tribute.

Almost makes it even better than the Huns are drowned out. ****my *****.

10-03-2023, 08:45 AM
Brings a tear to the eye and goosebumps every single time. The greatest football anthem there is, nothing even compares. YNWA is a great song but its been copied by so many clubs, its not unique to anyone.

It's the envy of other clubs every where. You only have to look online at the videos of it in full swing to see people from all over, of others clubs comment on how wonderful it is.

We are incredibly lucky to have it

10-03-2023, 09:04 AM
The video has cropped up a lot on my Twitter feed after being liked or shared by by those outwith Hibs and even Scottish Football circles.

It’s wonderful to see the club presented in such a good light, and even if renditions of SOL are all some people might know about Hibs, then it’s still a positive.

10-03-2023, 09:21 AM
It is brilliant. Really emotional. You can also see Ian Gordon staring over at the Huns probably struggling to understand why they are acting the way they did during a tribute to his Dad

Hopefully it's fueled further the Gordon's family's desire to see out Ron's vision. Bit of fire in the belly to get one over those ****my *****.

10-03-2023, 07:45 PM
The video has cropped up a lot on my Twitter feed after being liked or shared by by those outwith Hibs and even Scottish Football circles.

It’s wonderful to see the club presented in such a good light, and even if renditions of SOL are all some people might know about Hibs, then it’s still a positive.

The past few years there have been so many positive comments from football fans all over the UK and further afield saying SoL is the best ever football song, especially the 2016 Cup Final rendition.

You do get the odd negative response, funny enough normally from either jealous jambos or rabid huns. Most people just ignore them. I feel a bit embarrassed for them, it's all a bit cringey and attention seeking. They just can't accept that we have a unique anthem that they'll never have, something that is universally liked by fans of other clubs.

10-03-2023, 07:55 PM
The past few years there have been so many positive comments from football fans all over the UK and further afield saying SoL is the best ever football song, especially the 2016 Cup Final rendition.

You do get the odd negative response, funny enough normally from either jealous jambos or rabid huns. Most people just ignore them. I feel a bit embarrassed for them, it's all a bit cringey and attention seeking. They just can't accept that we have a unique anthem that they'll never have, something that is universally liked by fans of other clubs.

The 2 main 2016 scottish cup videos of us singing sunshine on leith have a combined views of roughly 4 million.. Thats absolutely mental , and lots of comments from far afield saying they have adopted Hibs as 2nd team..

10-03-2023, 07:55 PM
I've just watched the small film 'My Room on This Earth' on Apple TV about Sunshine on Leith

Got me a bit emotional again!

Scotty Leither
10-03-2023, 08:17 PM

Absolutely spot-on pal.