View Full Version : Game in doubt?

06-03-2023, 01:14 PM
Snow and ice warnings in force for the rest of the week - possibility the game could be off?

06-03-2023, 01:17 PM
Snow and ice warnings in force for the rest of the week - possibility the game could be off?

Not meant to arrive until Thursday.

Lendo
06-03-2023, 01:19 PM
I would stake my house on us not seeing a single snowflake fall in Edinburgh this week.

06-03-2023, 01:44 PM
Hopefully the M8 will be closed both ways after Livingston on Wednesday that will stop half of their support and the Queensferry crossing closed to stop another 30% of their fans from getting to the game.😁

06-03-2023, 02:16 PM
I would stake my house on us not seeing a single snowflake fall in Edinburgh this week.
Granted I’m in West Calder but was in the garden about an hour ago and a few fell in between the pleasant sunshine.

06-03-2023, 02:18 PM
Will be on as long as undersoil heating works.

06-03-2023, 02:21 PM
Will be on as long as undersoil heating works.

And the roads surrounding the stadium are safe for fans. I'd be surprised if the game is in doubt.

06-03-2023, 02:25 PM
And the roads surrounding the stadium are safe for fans. I'd be surprised if the game is in doubt.

Looked at the forecast and seemed to be saying little or no snow but very cold

HibbyStardust50
06-03-2023, 02:27 PM
Hopefully the M8 will be closed both ways after Livingston on Wednesday that will stop half of their support and the Queensferry crossing closed to stop another 30% of their fans from getting to the game.😁

In that case can Hibs maybe have some buses sitting at the south end of the old bridge so us Fife season ticket holders can walk across and still get to the game :greengrin

06-03-2023, 03:03 PM
In that case can Hibs maybe have some buses sitting at the south end of the old bridge so us Fife season ticket holders can walk across and still get to the game :greengrin
The guys from Fife don't need any bridges I heard that you can walk on water😆

06-03-2023, 03:06 PM
There’s more chance of the game passing without any sectarian singing than being called off.

06-03-2023, 03:10 PM

Unless one of the over sensitive Sevco fans falls on the stairs going to get his half time pie.

06-03-2023, 03:25 PM

Changed days,indeed "Elfin Safetae"

Who remembers having snowball fights on the terracing ?

Scottish Cup tie at Airdrie in the 60s .
It was raining snowballs:greengrin
I threw a snowball at Airdrie fans.(pseudo huns)
Unfortunately,a polis sergeants face got in the way of the icy snowball and i got huckled.
Marched round the track to exit gate.
Guess who was sitting in the dug oot :embarrass

:singing:There's never been a doubt
What the game is all about!
Hibernian,give us a GOAL!! :singing:

Bring on the Zombies

We Love Ron

Partyraiser
06-03-2023, 03:29 PM

Hopefully not as it would stop us weegie Hibees getting there as well :wink:

06-03-2023, 04:24 PM
Snow warning is from 3am on Thursday for the Edinburgh area

06-03-2023, 04:29 PM
I think the issue on Wednesday is more likely to be ice than snow.

I recall a game v Rangers a few years back that was midweek and the pavements were like an ice rink afterwards. I think it may have been a defeat in December 2017/January 2018. Forecast is for lows of minus 5 both tomorrow and Wednesday night so would expect similar conditions again.

06-03-2023, 04:32 PM
Jeezo.

06-03-2023, 05:22 PM

I recall a game v Rangers a few years back that was midweek and the pavements were like an ice rink afterwards. I think it may have been a defeat in December 2017/January 2018. Forecast is for lows of minus 5 both tomorrow and Wednesday night so would expect similar conditions again.

That night was unbelievable. My pal fell right outside of the ground, just after I left . Dislocated his knee and snapped a knee ligament. He was lying there in agony and someone slipped right nearby and smacked their head. A very kindly taxi driver took the big fellae home that night, free of charge.

Walking down St Clair st, old boy on the ground and not looking great.

Think we scored early on but they won 2-1, Dec 2017.

The council should be gritting pavements.

06-03-2023, 05:55 PM

Unfortunately,a polis sergeants face got in the way of the icy snowball and i got huckled.

Bring on the Zombies

We Love Ron

Great story! :hilarious

06-03-2023, 07:16 PM
Went to an 1860 Munich game a few years back and the temperature at kick-off was -14C

You lot really are a bunch of wimps.

Trinity Hibee
06-03-2023, 07:22 PM

Aye December 2017. Remember it. Someone in my street slipped and couldn’t get themselves on their feet.

06-03-2023, 07:28 PM
Hopefully the M8 will be closed both ways after Livingston on Wednesday that will stop half of their support and the Queensferry crossing closed to stop another 30% of their fans from getting to the game.��

Hey!

07-03-2023, 04:55 AM
Where I am games get delayed because of the heat!

Cannae say I miss watching fitba in the snow.

07-03-2023, 08:24 AM
Where I am games get delayed because of the heat!

Cannae say I miss watching fitba in the snow.

Hi Fred
Before you were transported to Botany Bay:greengrin you might remember watching games in the snow .
The advent of the orange football .Pre undersoil heating days.
The snowy days could be nice enough if well happed up. Good fun,if we won!!
It was more the below freezing wind and icy temp days you likely wont miss ❄ Brrr.
Be worse now if sitting down.
At least back then,before all seating you could try and dance about the terracing and keep the old toes from freezing.
Was freezing cold days that started the famous North Stand (now west upper area ) feet stomping brigade :greengrin

Bring on the zombies !

We Love Ron

Edit
Am sure early 60s we walked from Clerry to ER for a game cos the buses were off due to snow/icy roads
Or maybe it was industrial action/strike..
Certainly mind walking into town to attend school due to snow disruption.

07-03-2023, 08:41 AM
Remember the days of players wearing trainers to play on frozen pitches and George Best dancing on ice against Rangers

07-03-2023, 08:56 AM
Remember the days of players wearing trainers to play on frozen pitches and George Best dancing on ice against Rangers

Pretty sure I’ve seen a picture of players wearing converse baseball shoes in such conditions!

07-03-2023, 09:08 AM

Bring on the Zombies

We Love Ron

Wasn't born in the 60s but I do remember having a snowball fight away to Airdrie in the early 90s. Didn't hit a coper with one though.

07-03-2023, 09:23 AM
Wasn't born in the 60s but I do remember having a snowball fight away to Airdrie in the early 90s. Didn't hit a coper with one though.

Although familiar with a couple of Lanarkshire towns, i aways imagined Airdrie to be a depressing place to stay.
So i guess a flurry of snow,or forbid,a blizzard would send the natives into raptures of ecstasy :confused:

Now ,Coatbridge !

07-03-2023, 09:26 AM

Bring on the Zombies

We Love Ron I was at the airdrie game ( we lost 1-0 whiteford scored) and remember you getting lifted and walked around the pitch by the polis.

07-03-2023, 09:43 AM
I was at the airdrie game ( we lost 1-0 whiteford scored) and remember you getting lifted and walked around the pitch by the polis.
How do you know me?

Yes, Derek Whiteford ,who played for us as well.

The polis were just going to chuck me out ,but that sergeant had someone search me and found an(innocuous) steel comb. Remember them ?

So "offensive weapon" charge for me.
Taken to polis station.
Cells eventually filled up with Hibbys that afternoon.
I wasnt put in a cell,so saw my fellow fans arrive .
Cos i was a juvenile, they contacted Edinburgh polis to inform my parents. (no phone at home then)
Old man had to comed through for me in his pals car.
He was not amused.
Ruined his domino night at the old Fox Covert hotel public bar.
(he was at that time barred oot the Clerry Inn for fighting)
Back through to court on the Monday.
My Dad thought he was Perry Mason and tried to defend me !
Anyway,i got fined £15 at the finish up. A right few bob for a teenager then.

As old as i am now ,i never forgot my day in Airdrie in the snow.

I was at the SC Final that year and saw The Pars beat our not so noisy neighbours.:greengrin

07-03-2023, 10:28 AM
How do you know me?

Yes, Derek Whiteford ,who played for us as well.

The polis were just going to chuck me out ,but that sergeant had someone search me and found an(innocuous) steel comb. Remember them ?

So "offensive weapon" charge for me.
Taken to polis station.
Cells eventually filled up with Hibbys that afternoon.
I wasnt put in a cell,so saw my fellow fans arrive .
Cos i was a juvenile, they contacted Edinburgh polis to inform my parents. (no phone at home then)
Old man had to comed through for me in his pals car.
He was not amused.
Ruined his domino night at the old Fox Covert hotel public bar.
(he was at that time barred oot the Clerry Inn for fighting)
Back through to court on the Monday.
My Dad thought he was Perry Mason and tried to defend me !
Anyway,i got fined £15 at the finish up. A right few bob for a teenager then.

As old as i am now ,i never forgot my day in Airdrie in the snow.

I was at the SC Final that year and saw The Pars beat our not so noisy neighbours.:greengrin

GGTTHNo don’t know you personally but we all knew you were jimmys brother. Also he kinda gave you a stare when you were getting walked around the pitch. I went to the cup final that year as well and in the Dunfermline end ( Celtic end) great being on the excursion buses with that lot on way home so funny.

07-03-2023, 10:37 AM
No don’t know you personally but we all knew you were jimmys brother. Also he kinda gave you a stare when you were getting walked around the pitch. I went to the cup final that year as well and in the Dunfermline end ( Celtic end) great being on the excursion buses with that lot on way home so funny.

I had a pal in Stenhouse at the time and went with him and members of his family on a bus from BMC Club.
Not sure i paid for any of it. Though that in itself was not unusual in them days:greengrin
No one, i dont recall, recognised the 5th columnist,though .

07-03-2023, 11:00 AM
Pretty sure I’ve seen a picture of players wearing converse baseball shoes in such conditions!
Yes that's right had a pair myself wore them a few times playing on a frozen pitch.

07-03-2023, 12:51 PM

Boom :)

07-03-2023, 12:54 PM
Boom :)

Thundersnow 🤔

07-03-2023, 01:56 PM
Thundersnow 🤔

No that was Lendo losing his house :)

Lendo
07-03-2023, 03:32 PM

Bollocks.

This is why I don’t gamble.

07-03-2023, 04:15 PM
Bollocks.

This is why I don’t gamble.

But you did gamble! :greengrin

Lendo
07-03-2023, 05:53 PM
No that was Lendo losing his house :)

😂😂

08-03-2023, 06:29 AM
Expect livi to get the next 4 or 5 games called off, just as well we got ours in. :hilarious

08-03-2023, 07:09 AM
I ran into work this morning.

It's a beautiful morning albeit absolutely freezing. The pavements are largely free of any ice, not sure if it's because it's such a dry cold. Any grassy areas I passed were frozen solid so hope we have the undersoil heating well turned up, not sure that's good for the pitch in the long term right enough.

A night for sticking on an extra couple of layers.

08-03-2023, 08:25 AM
I ran into work this morning.

That must have hurt... :greengrin

08-03-2023, 04:53 PM
That’s the snow on now in the vicinity of Easter Road: very, very light at present, but it will most likely settle as the streets are completely dry.