View Full Version : Martindale

Helensburghhibs
04-03-2023, 06:23 PM
So a coincidence when we were waiting on the var for the last goal I was watching martindale, at first he was going mental telling his keeper to go down injured (which he did) then he got into verbals with Marshall before giving him what looked to me like the finger and telling him to "do one" shall we say. The lino seen this and I can only imagine that's what the red was for

04-03-2023, 06:25 PM
According to Martindale it was all a laugh and Marshall has said he will speak on his behalf if he appeals it.

Not sure I'm buying that tbh. Guys a slaver.

04-03-2023, 06:29 PM
So a coincidence when we were waiting on the var for the last goal I was watching martindale, at first he was going mental telling his keeper to go down injured (which he did) then he got into verbals with Marshall before giving him what looked to me like the finger and telling him to "do one" shall we say. The lino seen this and I can only imagine that's what the red was for

He’s claiming Marshall shouted to the bench to ask how long was left and he “jokingly” stuck his middle finger up and shouted “one minute”. He claims Marshall has said he’s going to support him in an appeal.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/martindale-sent-off-for-offensive-gesture-after-showing-one-minute-left-with-middle-finger

Helensburghhibs
04-03-2023, 06:29 PM
Haha I never heard his interview. Laugh or not he won't get it overturned as he made a gesture.

After the first 20 mins I though he had played a blinder again putting noouble on cabraja

04-03-2023, 06:31 PM
Sounds like an onfield drug deal to me

Mr Grieves
04-03-2023, 06:32 PM
One finger salute was caught on hibs TV. He's an absolute jaikie

04-03-2023, 06:33 PM
Daft hun dealer.

04-03-2023, 06:33 PM
I didn’t know he had been sent off at the end - couldn’t have been paying enough attention during the circus of goal being ruled out then reinstated.

04-03-2023, 06:34 PM
Daft hun dealer.

Pretty much sums it up.

Torto7
04-03-2023, 06:43 PM
He'a jackey hun fanny and Livvy are a dodgy club.

ads913
04-03-2023, 07:05 PM
he was furious and shout some obscenities before flipping the bird. 1 minute and jokes my arse.David Martindale admits showing David Marshall the middle finger for red card but insists Hibs keeper saw the funny side (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/other/david-martindale-admits-showing-david-marshall-the-middle-finger-for-red-card-but-insists-hibs-keeper-saw-the-funny-side/ar-AA18dXE1?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=3113d7a37d004422a01a32dc2e681604&ei=9)

Helensburghhibs
04-03-2023, 07:20 PM
Just showed it on sportscene,, I'm no lip reader but he definitely wasn't passing on the injury time as he suggests

04-03-2023, 07:24 PM
Just showed it on sportscene,, I'm no lip reader but he definitely wasn't passing on the injury time as he suggests

I can't think of any situation where I'd give someone the middle finger to suggest a minute's left. Def looks to me like Martindale was wound up and did something stupid.

04-03-2023, 07:36 PM
He's a weirdo

Green-Hibee-7
04-03-2023, 07:57 PM
Canny stand him

04-03-2023, 08:01 PM
He's a weirdo

Undoubtedly

04-03-2023, 08:03 PM
Nothing against him, but I'm glad he's not our manager. Would be Butcher mkII. Livi and he are a good fit in terms of ambition and realistic achievable outcomes.

04-03-2023, 08:14 PM
I hope when we next discuss who our next manager is that he's not mentioned. Absolute ****bag.

05-03-2023, 06:05 AM
He’s a lying *******. i watched it in real time and that is definitely not what happened.

05-03-2023, 09:12 AM
He’s claiming Marshall shouted to the bench to ask how long was left and he “jokingly” stuck his middle finger up and shouted “one minute”. He claims Marshall has said he’s going to support him in an appeal.

https://news.stv.tv/sport/martindale-sent-off-for-offensive-gesture-after-showing-one-minute-left-with-middle-finger

The equally charmless Mackay made a similar remark about Marshall saying that Ross County's goal wasn't a foul.

Only to then be contradicted by Marshall.

LewysGot2
05-03-2023, 09:20 AM
He’s a lying *******. i watched it in real time and that is definitely not what happened.

He's shown himself up for what he is here. Imagine doing it by dragging in the most illustrious player on the park, too.

05-03-2023, 12:32 PM
Marshall gets a Osman warning. :greengrin

05-03-2023, 06:15 PM

I didn't buy it either when I heard the interview. As Eyrie points out above, Malky Mackay tried similar BS, that Marshall had said he'd chucked one in. What is it with Managers making stuff up about what Marshall's said to them?

Anyway, Martindale was caught on camera and no danger was it friendly banter with Marshall (who must have been 30 or 40 yards away) and I very much doubt he'd be asking Martindale how long was left. Can't quite lip read what he's saying but it's definitely not the facial expression of someone gaving a laugh and a joke.

Skip to 98 mins 30 on the match clock.

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/video/8065

Donegal Hibby
05-03-2023, 06:48 PM
He's actually embarrassed himself trying to say he didn't mean it .
https://youtu.be/dBEeIUyK4-U

05-03-2023, 07:02 PM

He says it should be taken in context and he's right. The context of the expression on his face at the time tells me he wasn't having a joke.

https://i.ibb.co/sQvkrQg/Screenshot-20230305-195927-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/d601y6f)

05-03-2023, 07:11 PM

He's shown himself up for what he is here. Imagine doing it by dragging in the most illustrious player on the park, too.

Imagine having that roaster as the public face of your club?

Donegal Hibby
05-03-2023, 07:14 PM
He says it should be taken in context and he's right. The context of the expression on his face at the time tells me he wasn't having a joke.

https://i.ibb.co/sQvkrQg/Screenshot-20230305-195927-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/d601y6f)
He's obviously lost the plot and tried to backtrack on his offensive gesture and that's made him look even more foolish.

05-03-2023, 07:34 PM
In the depths of our grim run under Johnson I may have made reference to not minding if he were to become our next manager. I'd like to apologise on behalf of common sense for that, would not want him within a million miles of Easter Road

05-03-2023, 07:35 PM

Absolute ned

05-03-2023, 08:44 PM

He just needs a Rangers top on and that photo would be complete.

05-03-2023, 08:44 PM
In the depths of our grim run under Johnson I may have made reference to not minding if he were to become our next manager. I'd like to apologise on behalf of common sense for that, would not want him within a million miles of Easter Road

He will never get another job, no other club will take him, he is entrenched at Livi and runs the club, at some point in the future he will probably have to sack himself but he will still be there in the background doing the training picking the team, he just won’t be in the dugout during games.

hibeejeebies
05-03-2023, 09:21 PM
I don't mind Davie.

05-03-2023, 09:27 PM
He will never get another job, no other club will take him, he is entrenched at Livi and runs the club, at some point in the future he will probably have to sack himself but he will still be there in the background doing the training picking the team, he just won’t be in the dugout during games.

Sounds like Craig Levein at Hearts

Clarence
05-03-2023, 10:01 PM
His story was bad guy turned good. Now the results aren’t quite as good, recently the behaviour has started to look a bit more questionable. obvs he’s not going to be thrown into jail for shouting and gesticulating in an offensive manner but he’s going to be given very little benefit of doubt from most folk given his track record.

vuefrom1875
05-03-2023, 10:20 PM
His story was bad guy turned good. Now the results aren’t quite as good, recently the behaviour has started to look a bit more questionable. obvs he’s not going to be thrown into jail for shouting and gesticulating in an offensive manner but he’s going to be given very little benefit of doubt from most folk given his track record.
He's a jackeyf##k who got lucky, absolute tosspot
..cannae speak cause nostrils are fu##d.

06-03-2023, 03:56 AM
Absolute ned

My thoughts entirely…

06-03-2023, 07:24 AM
Anyone heard David Marshall's side of the story?

06-03-2023, 07:33 AM
He's a jackeyf##k who got lucky, absolute tosspot
..cannae speak cause nostrils are fu##d.

Is there not a Scottish folks song called The Nose of Martindale? 😁

06-03-2023, 08:00 AM
Marshall gets a Osman warning. :greengrin

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

06-03-2023, 08:15 AM
This is actually a really good watch and quite insightful.

https://youtu.be/6Op0LfNZLeg

06-03-2023, 08:50 AM

If you’ve managed to sit through an hour listening to Martingale’s weegie nasally whine, then you’re made of sterner stuff than me.

Some effort :applause:

06-03-2023, 09:49 AM
Ah he's done something we don't like so it's back to making fun of his voice. Class, everyone. :rolleyes:

06-03-2023, 09:51 AM
Ah he's done something we don't like so it's back to making fun of his voice. Class, everyone. :rolleyes:

He does have that nasal weegie fortified whine that's hard to listen to!

06-03-2023, 09:57 AM
Sounds like Craig Levein at Hearts

Beat me to it!

Interviews people for the job then ends up giving it to himself - comical!

06-03-2023, 09:59 AM
He does have that nasal weegie wine that's hard to listen to!

Tawny or fortified ?
Four Crown or Buckfast ?

Weegie breakfast before those midday OF kick offs !!.........
and any other match day !

seez a swallie there,mate ! :drunk::party:

06-03-2023, 10:56 AM
Tawny or fortified ?
Four Crown or Buckfast ?

Weegie breakfast before those midday OF kick offs !!.........
and any other match day !

seez a swallie there,mate ! :drunk::party:

Have you not heard of buckfast sniffing? It's all the rage in Castlemilk and weegie overspill west Lothian.

Donegal Hibby
06-03-2023, 08:12 PM
Says it was a joke but apologies now for it.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/i-think-its-a-bad-one-livingston-suffer-injury-to-key-man-as-david-martindale-makes-hibs-gesture-apology-4053210

06-03-2023, 08:15 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/i-think-its-a-bad-one-livingston-suffer-injury-to-key-man-as-david-martindale-makes-hibs-gesture-apology-4053210

I had a headmaster who would say. “The first thing a perpetrator says is that it wasn’t me.”
“The second thing is that I didn’t mean it.”
He wasn’t wrong.

WestCoastHibby
06-03-2023, 08:16 PM
BS of the highest order

Donegal Hibby
06-03-2023, 08:41 PM
I had a headmaster who would say. “The first thing a perpetrator says is that it wasn’t me.”
He wasn’t wrong.
He certainly wasn't . I see in the daily record he's escaped any further punishment from the SFA .

06-03-2023, 08:42 PM
He wasn’t wrong.Big boys made him do it, and then they ran away[emoji16]

06-03-2023, 08:50 PM
He certainly wasn't . I see in the daily record he's escaped any further punishment from the SFA .

That makes no sense he isn't getting a punishment

Donegal Hibby
06-03-2023, 09:34 PM
That makes no sense he isn't getting a punishment
Daily record reporting he's not .
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/david-martindale-escapes-sfa-punishment-29388470

06-03-2023, 09:55 PM

The footage clearly shows he behaves really angrily and aggressively for what he claims is him being light hearted.

Donegal Hibby
06-03-2023, 10:25 PM
The footage clearly shows he behaves really angrily and aggressively for what he claims is him being light hearted.
Yeah if that's him being light hearted and having a joke I'd hate to see him pi**ed off 😂

06-03-2023, 11:09 PM
Big boys made him do it, and then they ran away[emoji16]

https://i.ibb.co/rcWqZCg/9d4f893f2af7eea94141c299a81712ab.jpg (https://ibb.co/8dhGjWJ)

06-03-2023, 11:40 PM
Why should he get punished?

Players tell referees to F off etc every game. Fans shout the most vile insults. Bigots sing sectarian songs.

He's stuck a finger up because he's frustrated. Has he brought the game into disrepute?

I can't be doing with the bloke but I'm not going to get all prissy about a gesture. (Even if it was a stupid American gesture, the significance of which no-one in the UK actually knows.)

07-03-2023, 06:01 AM
When was the last time he had a fight on the touch line?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

07-03-2023, 06:13 AM
Anyone heard David Marshall's side of the story?

David Martindale apparently.

07-03-2023, 06:33 AM
Why should he get punished?

Players tell referees to F off etc every game. Fans shout the most vile insults. Bigots sing sectarian songs.

He's stuck a finger up because he's frustrated. Has he brought the game into disrepute?

I can't be doing with the bloke but I'm not going to get all prissy about a gesture. (Even if it was a stupid American gesture, the significance of which no-one in the UK actually knows.)

I’m with you on this. I really couldnt care less about it.

07-03-2023, 07:45 AM

He’s just wasting oxygen here.

Martindale must be really stupid if he doesn’t realise that making an offensive gesture in such a public manner might be interpreted as making an offensive gesture. Idiot.

07-03-2023, 09:37 AM
He’s just wasting oxygen here.

Martindale must be really stupid if he doesn’t realise that making an offensive gesture in such a public manner might be interpreted as making an offensive gesture. Idiot.

It's only offensive if you are offended, i choose not to be offended by much these days, especially if it's on a football park.

Nobody got hurt, well some folks feelings apart, he stuck his middle finger up, how will any of us cope? :greengrin

07-03-2023, 10:00 AM
Lee Johnson telling Allan McGregor the score when we equalise after their dodgy penalty.

https://i.ibb.co/cCxgz01/carefree-man-showing-middle-finger-to-his-boss-Baxc5t-IEFl-SB-PM.jpg (https://ibb.co/1dbvH1L)

07-03-2023, 10:06 AM
I’m with you on this. I really couldnt care less about it.

Same. Don’t think it’s a big deal.

07-03-2023, 01:45 PM
It's only offensive if you are offended, i choose not to be offended by much these days, especially if it's on a football park.

Nobody got hurt, well some folks feelings apart, he stuck his middle finger up, how will any of us cope? :greengrin

Don't think its the gesture, just the weird narrative he is weaving around it all! :rolleyes:

PHeffernan
07-03-2023, 02:16 PM

Thanks, that was good

07-03-2023, 02:19 PM
Don't think its the gesture, just the weird narrative he is weaving around it all! :rolleyes:

Dont worry about it, it's just panto for football.

07-03-2023, 03:23 PM
Dont worry about it, it's just panto for football.

Oh no it isn't!

07-03-2023, 04:24 PM
Same. Don’t think it’s a big deal.

Me too.
Don't see what the fuss is about.

07-03-2023, 06:35 PM
I read somewhere today that making gestures isn’t actually breaking any rules now. Not classed as “bringing the game into disrepute” at least. Been so for a while and Lennon’s ear cupping to Rangers fans used as an example of that.

07-03-2023, 06:40 PM
Oh no it isn't!

07-03-2023, 09:07 PM

I’m not offended. But it was an offensive gesture.

08-03-2023, 06:51 AM
I’m not offended. But it was an offensive gesture.

Is it, i do it all the time to my mates, i even pretend i'm reeling in an imaginary fishing reel with my other hand to reveal it at times.:greengrin

08-03-2023, 06:54 AM
Is it, i do it all the time to my mates, i even pretend i'm reeling in an imaginary fishing reel with my other hand to reveal it at times.:greengrin

:faf: le classique

08-03-2023, 09:13 AM

Am sure there are easier ways to tell someone the time though :confused::greengrin

08-03-2023, 09:16 AM
Am sure there are easier ways to tell someone the time though :confused::greengrin

And it only works twice a day.

rodhibs55
08-03-2023, 09:53 AM

Yes it kind of pops out of my inside pocket from time to time.

08-03-2023, 09:56 AM
Yes it kind of pops out of my inside pocket from time to time.

...said George Michael 🤣