View Full Version : Match Ball

McHibby
04-03-2023, 06:02 PM
I'm watching the game on Alba and I am absolutely certain the match ball has "LFC" written on it with a marker 🤣

Has anyone else noticed it?!

04-03-2023, 06:11 PM
I'm watching the game on Alba and I am absolutely certain the match ball has "LFC" written on it with a marker 🤣

Why wouldn't they?

04-03-2023, 06:14 PM

All clubs do it.

04-03-2023, 07:41 PM
They get them second hand from Liverpool, decent money saver.

04-03-2023, 07:46 PM
I'm watching the game on Alba and I am absolutely certain the match ball has "LFC" written on it with a marker ��

During the pre match coaching and warm ups ,there could be a couple of dozen or more of balls on the pitch being used by both teams.
So teams mark and check their own ⚽ ⚽s :greengrin
So they dont get chored by the opposition :wink:

04-03-2023, 08:12 PM
They get them second hand from Liverpool, decent money saver.

LFC?
Cannae belong to Larkhall FC
They use orange or blue balls �� ⚽

04-03-2023, 10:15 PM
LFC?
They use orange or blue balls �� ⚽
I have seen nice green and white balls being used on some games on TV. Hope they introduce them in Scotland.

06-03-2023, 01:47 PM
Noticed it

Standard practice

Saves low life clubs stealing yer baws

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-03-2023, 01:54 PM
LFC?
They use orange or blue balls �� [emoji460]

You’re right they cannae, cos it’s Larkhall Thistle FC [emoji16]

06-03-2023, 02:00 PM
I thought every team got a quota of balls supplied from the league branded in their club colours? I think Celtic get gold as the reigning champions.

Not that it really matters but surely that negates the need to write on it. A ball on Saturday trimmed in green and white belongs to Hibs, one in yellow and black is Livingston. Seems fairly straightforward.

HarpOnHibee
06-03-2023, 02:17 PM
Noticed it

Standard practice

Saves low life clubs stealing yer baws

How does that work? Do they use some unique security tag ink?

06-03-2023, 02:22 PM
Have tried to remove it

Never works 😀

06-03-2023, 06:07 PM
Remember a game at Easter Road in the early 70s I was in the North Enclosure ball hoofed out of play and burst on the spikes between the North and centre stand fence. Took about 5 minutes to find a ball to replace it. Didn't warm up on pitch in those days, Hibs players warmed up in gym between North and centre stand.

06-03-2023, 06:27 PM
Remember a game at Easter Road in the early 70s I was in the North Enclosure ball hoofed out of play and burst on the spikes between the North and centre stand fence. Took about 5 minutes to find a ball to replace it.

Proper football :rotflmao:

06-03-2023, 06:32 PM
I remember when there was always a dug on the pitch

Colin Colin Colin Stein or John Greig

Peter Cormack was ‘ Dug Catcher In Chief’

06-03-2023, 06:45 PM
I remember when there was always a dug on the pitch

Colin Colin Colin Stein or John Greig

Peter Cormack was ‘ Dug Catcher In Chief’

Aye,dugs got in free back then.
The rest of us young pups got a "lift over".

Early sixties..
Picture the scene, you younger fans.
Its a huge stadium that has held 65.000 plus.

Cannae mind the opponents .End of season stuff.
Little interest. Just a few thousand in attendance.
Ball is hoofed right up to the top of the vast main terracing,which is empty.
A man, not a wee laddie,goes for the ball and keeps running up the terracing with it and disappears down the stairway out the ground and probably ran doon St Clair Street.:bye:
True story...
Oh how we got entertained and laughed,when times were tough !!:greengrin:LOL:

06-03-2023, 07:08 PM
I have seen nice green and white balls being used on some games on TV. Hope they introduce them in Scotland.

Kin just see the zombies getting a batch

Story about the infamous game at Wembley in 1961 when Scotland lost 9-3.

Scotland's two full backs played for rAngers.
Eric Caldow and Bobby Shearer.
Our goalie was Frank Haffey of Celtic.

England worked a flanker.
They opted for an orange match ball.

Eric and Bobby widnae kick it.
And Frank Haffey wouldnae handle it.

06-03-2023, 10:34 PM
Aye,dugs got in free back then.
The rest of us young pups got a "lift over".

Early sixties..
Picture the scene, you younger fans.
Its a huge stadium that has held 65.000 plus.

Cannae mind the opponents .End of season stuff.
Little interest. Just a few thousand in attendance.
Ball is hoofed right up to the top of the vast main terracing,which is empty.
A man, not a wee laddie,goes for the ball and keeps running up the terracing with it and disappears down the stairway out the ground and probably ran doon St Clair Street.:bye:
True story...
Oh how we got entertained and laughed,when times were tough !!:greengrin:LOL:
Heard you still have that ball Mick😁

Ardenttwo
07-03-2023, 09:04 AM

Noticed the ref got it changed

07-03-2023, 09:11 AM
Heard you still have that ball Mick😁

Aye an auld bruised filly with a burst bladder .
No me ,the Ba':greengrin

You kin explain filly with bladder :greengrin

07-03-2023, 11:23 AM
Aye an auld bruised filly with a burst bladder .
No me ,the Ba':greengrin

You kin explain filly with bladder :greengrin Bloody sore when you headed the laces😡

07-03-2023, 11:28 AM
Bloody sore when you headed the laces[emoji35]Lawrie Reilly played for Scotland with Willie Waddle on the right wing providing the crosses. Waddle asked him if his crosses were OK compared to Gordon Smith's. Lawrie Reilly told him, "Aye, but Gordon usually makes sure the laces are on the outside when the ball arrives for me to header."

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

07-03-2023, 11:42 AM
I thought every team got a quota of balls supplied from the league branded in their club colours? I think Celtic get gold as the reigning champions.

Not that it really matters but surely that negates the need to write on it. A ball on Saturday trimmed in green and white belongs to Hibs, one in yellow and black is Livingston. Seems fairly straightforward.
Unsure if it’s still the case but it certainly used to be, I’ve got an unused Hibs issued match ball from 10/11 and it’s Mitre with green flashes and a Hibs badge.

I think nowadays they’re standard. The yellow ones they insist on using for the majority of the season certainly are. Why can’t we just use white balls unless it’s snowing?!

FastEddieFelson
07-03-2023, 11:52 AM

I remember that was the case from the glory days of Setanta sports about 15 years ago, but pretty sure they stopped doing that a while back. Personally thought it was a really cheap and tacky way of the SPFL trying to influence the branding of things.

As for yellow balls being used... I thought that was in synch with daylight saving hours. Might have just made that up.

The thing I've always wondered about the footballs being used is how different they actually are between leagues. I.e. are the balls used in the SPFL the same weight/stype as the balls used in the EPL? Different brands obviously but I've always wondered how different they are for professionals to play with and how that might affect styles of play etc.

07-03-2023, 12:01 PM
Does anyone remember playing schools/ club games when they used the plastic dimpled mitre footballs which were always over inflated. If one hit you on the leg it took weeks for the marks of the dimples to dissappear