View Full Version : Block Seven guys

LithgaeHibby
04-03-2023, 04:54 PM
Thought they gave the team fantastic backing today from start to finish. Definitely a 12th man for the players. Ron would have been proud of that display by the team and the fans today.

04-03-2023, 04:58 PM
I got in quite early and the Block 7 were making plenty noise well ahead of KO.

Fans in general were great today. Good numbers and chants starting from other areas , so not just from Block 7.

A most enjoyable afternoon ����

04-03-2023, 05:28 PM
I got in quite early and the Block 7 were making plenty noise well ahead of KO.

Fans in general were great today. Good numbers and chants starting from other areas , so not just from Block 7.

A most enjoyable afternoon ����

Sounded absolutely brilliant on HTV. Non-stop encouragement :aok:

JoeT
04-03-2023, 05:30 PM
Some energy from the boys, well done to them

04-03-2023, 05:35 PM
Class. Well done.

04-03-2023, 05:41 PM
Couldn't hear them up the other end but great atmosphere up there too. Another moronic smoke bomb to delay kick off after such a poignant silence

DIXIHIBS
04-03-2023, 05:44 PM
Just watching game on alba just now and support looks/sounds great. Good to have a performance from the team as well. So often a big travellling support is let down. Great day all round.

04-03-2023, 07:36 PM
Wasn't just block 7. Was all over today 👍.

LithgaeHibby
04-03-2023, 08:25 PM
The Block 7 guys have brought a new songbook too. Trouble for a boomer like me, brought up on the traditional auld east terracing chants of the late 80s, is that I don't know these new songs, and being half deaf I struggle to make out the words. Would be good to join in, if only... There was one about being happy, and something to the tune of 99 red balloons. The Ellie Youan song and something about adoring Hibs. Anyone care to enlighten?

04-03-2023, 08:37 PM
The Block 7 guys have brought a new songbook too. Trouble for a boomer like me, brought up on the traditional auld east terracing chants of the late 80s, is that I don't know these new songs, and being half deaf I struggle to make out the words. Would be good to join in, if only... There was one about being happy, and something to the tune of 99 red balloons. The Ellie Youan song and something about adoring Hibs. Anyone care to enlighten?

Search Hibs Class on YouTube - a link to the lyrics.

Or maybe everyone someone can post them for fans that don’t know the newer songs.

MikeyS
04-03-2023, 09:54 PM
Liked a lot of the new chants today, particularly the Hoppe one! He was looking rather chuffed with himself in the warm up when it got an airing too.

The Kevin Nisbet one isn't great however!

04-03-2023, 10:05 PM
Liked a lot of the new chants today, particularly the Hoppe one! He was looking rather chuffed with himself in the warm up when it got an airing too.

S'up with the Nisbet one?

Keepthefaith
04-03-2023, 10:30 PM
they were superb today - we were just along from them - and enjoyed them being in the ground early to get atmosphere going.

have been saying for ages though we need to post lyrics etc here because too many of us don't know the words and can't make them out when they're sung!

could do with a few shorter songs too for impact?

MikeyS
04-03-2023, 11:03 PM
S'up with the Nisbet one?

Just thought it sounds sh*te if am honest. Like the Nisbet and Jeggo one though.

05-03-2023, 12:55 AM
Watching them on the telly it seems to me the Block 7 guys turn out in bigger numbers and have a better time at away venues than the reverse fixtures at Easter Road .... I presume because they can pick their part of the stadium. The only thing that does annoy an auld fart traditionalist like me about them is the lack of colours, a bit like the Sheep's 'ultras' they seem to favour black with not much green and white in evidence.

Still, more power to them hope the go from strength to strength :aok:

05-03-2023, 07:17 AM
Thought they gave the team fantastic backing today from start to finish. Definitely a 12th man for the players. Ron would have been proud of that display by the team and the fans today.

They need to mix the songs up a bit. Same 4 on repeat. Bring back some of the classics instead of the Instagram pish.

05-03-2023, 07:27 AM

They need to mix the songs up a bit. Same 4 on repeat. Bring back some of the classics instead of the Instagram pish.

Up-the-slope
05-03-2023, 07:36 AM

I know I repeat myself sometimes.... but not after 10 minutes :faf:

05-03-2023, 07:51 AM
I wonder with the team running to Block 7 on a few occasions yesterday along with the celebrations at the end in their corner, traction will be given to house them in the FF lower from within the club.

The fact that there are similarly priced tickets to FFL in other parts of the stadium for ST’s for next year should, imo, be actively encouraged by the club for those currently in the FFL to move to these seats.

Yesterday, I could see clear benefits of housing the B7 guys in a part of a stadium that benefits what they bring to a match day experience.

At ER, that location has to be the FFL.

05-03-2023, 08:35 AM
Watching them on the telly it seems to me the Block 7 guys turn out in bigger numbers and have a better time at away venues than the reverse fixtures at Easter Road .... I presume because they can pick their part of the stadium. The only thing that does annoy an auld fart traditionalist like me about them is the lack of colours, a bit like the Sheep's 'ultras' they seem to favour black with not much green and white in evidence.

Still, more power to them hope the go from strength to strength :aok:

Agree with this. Only issue is that when they choose the part of the stadium they want but don't have tickets for that area so old farts like us have to find seats elsewhere.

05-03-2023, 08:36 AM

I like the Nisbet one

leith lynx
05-03-2023, 01:15 PM

Aye, bring back "The Wild Rover" ( one for the oldies!)👴

05-03-2023, 01:31 PM
I wonder with the team running to Block 7 on a few occasions yesterday along with the celebrations at the end in their corner, traction will be given to house them in the FF lower from within the club.

The fact that there are similarly priced tickets to FFL in other parts of the stadium for ST’s for next year should, imo, be actively encouraged by the club for those currently in the FFL to move to these seats.

Yesterday, I could see clear benefits of housing the B7 guys in a part of a stadium that benefits what they bring to a match day experience.

At ER, that location has to be the FFL.

I certainly think more folk favour this than has been the case in recent years and IMO that was cemented by the BVB game ... there was a decent crowd and quite a few folk got a chance in real time to see what a difference Block 7 in the FF lower could make to the atmosphere compared to their current location.

05-03-2023, 01:35 PM
Ultras at all clubs are just identikits. Same clobber, same tunes. Would really prefer our bunch to not follow the herd as much.

05-03-2023, 02:27 PM

Who could forget some classics such as
"You're gonna get your f'in head kicked in" and "attack, attack,attack, attack ,attack"

Torto7
05-03-2023, 02:33 PM
Different class lads and lassies.

Looking around the Hibs support, it looks quite healthy with a wide array of ages and both genders, migrants etc. Some clubs are struggling to draw a crowd, especially in the younger age groups due to EPL etc and no interest in their dads/local clubs. We seem to be doing all right though in that area.

05-03-2023, 02:51 PM
Different class lads and lassies.

Looking around the Hibs support, it looks quite healthy with a wide array of ages and both genders, migrants etc. Some clubs are struggling to draw a crowd, especially in the younger age groups due to EPL etc and no interest in their dads/local clubs. We seem to be doing all right though in that area.

It's always amazing to me, as an aforementioned auld fart, the number of female fans Hibs seem to have at games now ... when I first started going in the 70s women at the fitba were a rarity to say the least ... Changed days and IMO Hibs and fitba in general are all the better for it :aok:

05-03-2023, 03:11 PM
"You're gonna get your f'in head kicked in" and "attack, attack,attack, attack ,attack"

Like a g , agr, agro agro......

Never let splling get in the way of a football chant.

PHeffernan
05-03-2023, 03:20 PM
It's always amazing to me, as an aforementioned auld fart, the number of female fans Hibs seem to have at games now ... when I first started going in the 70s women at the fitba were a rarity to say the least ... Changed days and IMO Hibs and fitba in general are all the better for it :aok:

Agreed, the increase in women and girls attending games in recent years is hugely positive.
Attracting more female fans is key to increasing our support if we are to match the current Hearts match going numbers.
Let's face it guys that are going to attend football already do and those that are not interested in football never will be so it makes sense to try harder to attract female supporters.

05-03-2023, 03:28 PM
Agreed, the increase in women and girls attending games in recent years is hugely positive.
Attracting more female fans is key to increasing our support if we are to match the current Hearts match going numbers.
Let's face it guys that are going to attend football already do and those that are not interested in football never will be so it makes sense to try harder to attract female supporters.

Cant remember who it was ... somebody like Rayo Vallecano, but probably not them, who a few years back issued a plea to their fans to have more bairns so the club could increase it's fan base .......... c'mon Kensell what are you waiting for, get a grip man :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-03-2023, 03:47 PM
Cant remember who it was ... somebody like Rayo Vallecano, but probably not them, who a few years back issued a plea to their fans to have more bairns so the club could increase it's fan base .......... c'mon Kensell what are you waiting for, get a grip man :greengrin

Don’t know about that but Athletic Bilbao give every child born in Bilbao a free strip

05-03-2023, 03:53 PM
Don’t know about that but Athletic Bilbao give every child born in Bilbao a free strip

Yeh, watched a You Tube documentary about them just a week or so ago where they talked about that. I think that works fine for a club who enjoy the support of practically everybody in their local area, not so sure yer average Jambo family would appreciate such a gift from Hibs to be honest :greengrin

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-03-2023, 03:54 PM
Yeh, watched a You Tube documentary about them just a week or so ago where they talked about that. I think that works fine for a club who enjoy the support of practically everybody in their local area, not so sure yer average Jambo family would appreciate such a gift from Hibs to be honest :greengrin

True, they’re pretty much the national team for the Basque Country [emoji16] not something that can be adopted in Scotland I wouldn’t think

11-03-2023, 05:56 PM
I see Hearts ultras were behind the goals today for their game against Celtic and are being widely praised. Interesting that they trialled it in a high profile game. I can see them being moved there permanently and growing their numbers while we continue with the empty seats in the FFL. Cup derby would have been the ideal time to try it.

11-03-2023, 06:16 PM
I see Hearts ultras were behind the goals today for their game against Celtic and are being widely praised. Interesting that they trialled it in a high profile game. I can see them being moved there permanently and growing their numbers while we continue with the empty seats in the FFL. Cup derby would have been the ideal time to try it.

Didnt inspire them really though did it.
Pumped out the cup with a wimper.

11-03-2023, 06:19 PM
Did they sing songs only all 100 of them knew?

11-03-2023, 06:20 PM

Pansy chants they are lol

:singing:Come ahead if you think yer hard enough:singing:

:singing: You're going home in an effing ambulance:singing:

Bridge hibs
11-03-2023, 06:20 PM

They moved them from section N in the Gorgie main stand end, that then ended up being underpopulated by around 50 seats, they promised no pyro which was fine but an object was thrown at the celtic keeper from that end so I would assume if it was thrown by a hearts ‘ultra’ then that experiment could be short lived

11-03-2023, 06:59 PM

Where are they being praised? I was reading JKB and the majority seem to be saying that being behind the goal didn’t work. The couldn’t be heard past the half way line and the away fans drowned them out. Not sure they had much to sing about to be fair though.

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-03-2023, 07:07 PM
Where are they being praised? I was reading JKB and the majority seem to be saying that being behind the goal didn’t work. The couldn’t be heard past the half way line and the away fans drowned them out. Not sure they had much to sing about to be fair though.

Couple of points to raise about that here, firstly they got gubbed so as you say, nothing to sing about 2) won’t be playing Celtic every week with a full stand of away fans who always make a racket to be fair to them, maybe not the best game to trial something like this at because it’d be more likely to make a noticeable difference against the likes of St Johnstone or Ross County. Gives their ultras and block 7 an opportunity to swell their numbers if they’re moved behind the goal into a less congested area too, should improve over time?

11-03-2023, 07:56 PM
The Gorgie Ultras sound like a fearsome lot.

Season tickets are not applicable for the visit of Ange Postecoglou's team so after discussions with club officials a specific area has been allocated for members to congregate and add to the Tynecastle atmosphere.

And they've promised to be on best behaviour.

They'll be granted prime position for displays and songs - but won't be featuring EVERY element of 'ultra culture'.

The spotlight will be on the group in their new prominent position with Viaplay and BBC TV cameras in the ground - and they have pledged to keep the club OUT of the SFA dock in Saturday's lunchtime kick-off.
And the Gorgie Ultras have promised to tow the line to get similar access at Tynecastle again in future.

Members have agreed they WON'T participate in pyrotechnic use - after the issue of flares and fireworks was highlighted by the Viaplay Cup Final and this week's Hibs v Rangers game.

They told the Edinburgh News: "Pyro is illegal. We would prefer if it was legalised because we obviously use it on our marches.

"We can’t use it during games or anywhere inside the stadium. Especially not on the pitch because that can lead to a fine and then we’ll be in trouble.

11-03-2023, 08:04 PM
Aye, bring back "The Wild Rover" ( one for the oldies!)��

Your wish is my command

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DnR8v7X4zc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLYs5wccMUs

Even as a bairn ,i knew all the words to that song and many others in our Scottish/Irish household in The Market
When my brother returned from his first tour ofthe USA with Hibs he brought loads of Country and Irish Folk albums back
Many at the time you could not get in recordshops here in Edinburgh

Got me hooked on the Clancy Brotherrs and Tommy Makem
I saw them 5 yrs on the trot at the Usher Hall,
Met them backstage twice. Subsequent events over the water led to them not returning.
But they were great concerts and full of Hibbys too !

I would absolutely love Barrie to play this song now and again

Holy Ground
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CjppNvQPbvI

One for good measure

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZXnJ4UYh40